You are here: HomeNews2014 07 16Article 317216

BBC documentary on used clothes in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (62)

• me 9 years ago

What a shame.

• FRANK AGYENA-KARIKARI 9 years ago

CAN THIS DOCUMENTARY SHOW HOW GOODWILL IN THE USA TAKE SUCH CLOTHING GIFTS AND SELL THEM, SOMETIMES TOO HIGH TO THE POOR AND NEEDY. DO THEY NOT HAVE A SIMILAR SITUATION IN BRITAIN?

• BRO JOE 9 years ago

IS THIS THE INDEPENDENCE DR. KWAME NKRUMAH CRAVE FOR GHANA?. NO. SHAMBLE ECONOMY ,NO SENSE OF ECONOMIC DIRECTION. BBC WANTS TO TELL US SOMETHING. THEY SAY A WORD TO THE WISE IS ENOUGH.YES INDEPENDENCE, WE HAVE GO IT BUT ARE W ...

• Tokyo 9 years ago

Shameful.. Such a beautiful rich country. been reduced to this shame. Cause we have very stupid leaders !!

• Jason 9 years ago

Why leaders?

Corruption is at every level in Ghana..from the market leader to the president!

• yes 9 years ago

You are right. We do the same thing but keep pointing fingers at others.

• John,Tema 9 years ago

Are the Brits saying they're not aware their own citizens are selling these used clothing to Africa?If so why now?Africa would be able to cloth itself if the likes of the Brits can give us fair prices for our raw materials.

• onetribe 9 years ago

It is up to us to realise the value of our products and demand a fair price not ask for one. who will pay willingly more than they need to?

• eugene 9 years ago

www.goodwill.org,, salvation army has thrift stores and Americans thrift..most take money from selling to american and run programs for poor..And very few clothes are made in America, they are from China,India and Pakistan,Ba ...

• King C. Asante-Yeboa 9 years ago

Eugene, correct, used clothes are sold in America also, but not in the large quantities as in Ghana and other African countries, besides, just try to know which people buy them.

• Me4U 9 years ago

I watched this documentary on BBC earlier this week and wasn't surprised. I don't think any Ghanaian in the diaspora is surprised as this is something everyone knows. The local fabrics are too expensive and that is what has c ...

• Jason 9 years ago

What can you say of Africans and in particulary Ghanaians..

Shame is not even enough...no self esteem, dirty and just self excuse blaming others? I dunno, only know..most(some) living in Ghana lack almost every aspect of h ...

• The Mask 9 years ago

There are many fields where Ghana lacks the needed expertise. To solve this problem the government of Ghana has over the decades made scholarships available for the needed human resource to be trained abroad. In some cases so ...

• PREKESE 9 years ago

I DON'T UNDERSTAND ADE BECAUSE I WATCHED THE DOCUMENTARY AND EVEN CALLED MY COUSIN TO WATCH IT.CHARITY SHOPS ARE NOT FREE AS ITS NAME GOES YOU PAY SOMETHING FOR SOMETHING SO IT IS NOT FREE.THINGS THAT ARE BROUGHT TO GHANA ARE ...

• Obrefoo K 9 years ago

Secondhand clothes are patronized by both rich and poor folks alike here in the USA so this is no big deal.The problem is its detrimental effect on the local industries.

• eugene 9 years ago

labor in ghana is lower than ghana, you can bet cotton is too..So get the electric prices down so that Ghana can compete with imports...imports aren't free..i pay 70-100 duties on barrels i send to ghana, so what is duty on b ...

• stage 9 years ago

This Ade boy is so happy to uncover ghana and cover nigeria. Foolish boy go and do the documentary in Lagos where they import everything. Fool

• James 9 years ago

The factories are in competition with churches for space for their businesses. In fact, the industrial areas of Accra & Tema that used to be the hub of Ghana's light industries have been taken over by churches! Until Ghanaian ...

• J.D. Aponkyi 9 years ago

You're right James. Ghanaians don't want to produce anything. Precious time is spent in churches 7 days a week in useless prayers begging gods for their livelihoods! The sooner Ghanaians mend their ways and start working inst ...

• be saved 9 years ago

James and J.D APONKYI......
    You are very stupid, spoken like black people with black minds.
    If u take God out of our affairs, we all go down. Look at those nations that have good leaders, they are always struck with hurric ...

• Okomfo,London 9 years ago

You must be the most ignorant person on this planet.Wise up my friend because God is neither a christian nor a muslem.God has no religion.

be saved, you have revealed your ignorance. Go and learn what brings hurricanes, ok? Emancipate yourself from mental slavery. Read Hosea 4:6

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

The church is now prevailing over the world.
    The church will buy your MOVIE THEATRES soon.

James, you have spoken wisdom. There aren't many people who reason like you. It's time Ghana and Africa looked critically into the impacts of church in and on the society - both pro and cos. Church is supposed to liberate, bu ...

• Kuuku 9 years ago

This is no shame, the maker of the documentary is stupid! This is no shame. Don't let us make a big deal about this, most people in the so called advanced and western countries buy used clothing from charity shops.

• metoo 9 years ago

The word you are looking for is "some".

There is a retro fashion craze, which means people buy from second hand stores.The clothes are donated to the shops, which are actually businesses.

The difference is, that when pe ...

• Michael Asiedu 9 years ago

So who are the British or BBC blaming? Why don't they contact the charity shops who received their donation,or those who transport the donations to explain why the donations were diverted to Africa? This article doesn't make ...

• eugene 9 years ago

it will be wasted....better to send something to resell

• Cudjoe 9 years ago

Poor management, serious corrupt practices by our leaders, lack of transparency, deceit, lies and lack of accountability, Ghana will never forward if our leaders are the same old people.

• EDUCATED AND POOR 9 years ago

SECOND HAND CLOTH DO HELP A LOT SO DON'T THINK IT'S DUMPING GROUNDS. LOOK AT THE GOOD SIDE OF IT

• GHANA BOY 9 years ago

Look if we have god leaders no way any one can be corrupted, do you think if we have all that we need good job the govrenment will allow even new cloths always ? Not at all because we are suffering so when people pay bribe it ...

• Eric 9 years ago

This clearly shows how stupid most of Ghanaians are, especially some of our political leaders. Shame is even not enough. Stupid people. Foolish politicians.

• GhanaBa 9 years ago

How dirty the country is.....Will the country ever be clean? Common sanitation

• Asempii 9 years ago

Better Ghana

• 3 three kids better 9 years ago

northern parents never struggle to care for their kids like sensible akans and greedy bastards ewes.

they rather marry plenty wives and produce uncountable kids that not even thief woyome can cater for.

untill an incomp ...

• Senyo 9 years ago

You are a disgrace to the akan tribe! People like you needed to be hanged!

• nii kootse 9 years ago

that is not a real Akan- see he/she cannot even write good Blefo!

• Blessing Sam Brookeman 9 years ago

Although most of are don't like this documentary and some are even insulting.
    But the question is what lessons can we learn from this documentary.
    This doc is teaching us a lot
    -It telling us to start industialising our ...

• KOLIKO 9 years ago

MR. BLESSING THANK YOU FOR YOUR SENSIBLE ARTICLE POSTED HERE. SOME OF THE GHANAIAN AKAN TRIBESMEN/WOMEN ARE THE MAIN CAUSE OF THE ETHNOCENTRIC PROBLEMS IN GHANA. JUST LOOK AT THE ARTICLES THEY POST ON THIS CHEAP WEBSITE EVER ...

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

Foreign Exchange leakage in this country! When restrictions are put in place to curtail this 'crazy' activity,you turn around and complain. Not only are we 'importing diseases of all sorts into our part of the world,we are dr ...

• yes 9 years ago

This tells you how greedy and selfish we Ghanaians have become. May God have mercy on this nation.

• MAN-TO-MAN 9 years ago

THIS IS THE TOP BUSINESS FOR THOSE AHANTI ILLITERATES. THEY CALL THEMSLVES BUSINESSMEN/WOMEN BY COLLECTING GARBAGE ALL OVER EUROPE AND DUMPING THEM IN GHANA. THEY'VE TURN THE COUNTRY INTO DUSTBIN FOR THE EUROPEANS. ARE THESE ...

• Albert Parry 9 years ago

In fact African leaders are very wicked

• GHANA & HOLLAND 9 years ago

VERY NICE SHOW - IT'S TELL US HOW FAR WE ARE AS COUNTRY . CAN GHANA GOVERNMENT DO SOMETHING ABOUT CHINA FAKE PRODUCT ? HOPE DR NDUOM WILL WATCH IT - OUR EDUCATION SYSTERM IS NOT HELPING US TO PROGRESS .

• Yeboah 9 years ago

I feel ashamed

• Lexus 9 years ago

Man pass man.
    Shegelege.
    He he he he he he he hehe!!
    Just cracked a couple of ribs.

• Akwasi Kwarteng 9 years ago

It is time the government of Ghana comes out to step up plans to stop this trade. Considering the textile factories on their knees, workers wishing to work but cannot get. The export from it that we cannot get are reasons to ...

• VICE-A-VICE 9 years ago

DEAR MR KWARTENG I DO NOT BELONG TO ANY OF THE LOOTING AND DISHONEST GHANAIAN POLITICAL PARTIES BUT MY QUESTION IS THIS : WHY SHOULD NDC STOP THIS SECOND- HAND AND WASTE BUSINESS WHILST NPP PROMOTED AND SUPPORTED IT FOR MORE ...

• Asem 9 years ago

Politicians one day when dead & gone you will account for that?

• ADABRAKA 9 years ago

This nigerian thought he is wise, he should have gone to his homeland, Nigeria. Nigeria imports everything used from abroad, even used toilet basins, used condoms, used toilet papers, used baby diapers, used toothbrush, used ...

• KWASI 9 years ago

STUPID NIAJA MAN. GO NIAJA AND DO THE DOCUMENT. EVERYTHING THEY IMPORT, EVEN SHIT

• eddy 9 years ago

Has this Nigerian done similar documentary in his home country?

• Buzanganyo 9 years ago

I don’t think we should blame the messenger…. At the very least we have to be thankful that he has exposed the problem for us to start thinking about solutions.

• Charles - Turkey 9 years ago

Its really sad....boxer shorts and used plates f?nd the?r way to our mother land wh?les theres nothing done by government to help us produce these stuffs.....

• ABDULHAMEED ABOUBAKERR 9 years ago

One of the reasons why Ghanaians hate and envy Nigerians is the Nigerian glowing and flamboyant traditional wear lifestyle Nigerians exibit when occations demand so, which is virtually average in Ghanaian wears. Obroni Wawu i ...

• Joseph Boadi-Boateng 9 years ago

It is not shameful buying and wearing used clothes. Afterall, according to the programme, they are initially given to the charitable shops who in turn sells them at cheaper prices to the under privileged who could be white Br ...

• ASEM BEBA DABI 9 years ago

SOME PEOPLE ARE AFRAID TO FACE REALITY, OTHERS, UNAFFECTED OR JUST IGNORANT.
    THE IGBOS OF NIGERIA BROUGHT THE SALE SECOND-HAND CLOTHING TO GHANA AFTER 1966 AND SOME FEW GHANAIANS, ESPECIALLY THE KWAHUS PICKED THAT UP AFTER T ...

• concern citizen 9 years ago

the british wants to come back,they are telling mahama that he has failed and will wish we contunue to fail till we make a sos call to them to take over the country again.

• concern citizen 9 years ago

Their plan is that we fail,that is why they help our leaders to cheat the country and distroy all our infracsture and put the country into huge dept.
    unlucky for us some of the visionless leaders have made it possible for th ...

• samafon 9 years ago

I have 2 issues related to the quality of the documentary itself. First the i think the burial was too intruding. Secondly, there was too much emphasis on how the Abe moves around that it almost disrupts attention from the me ...

• ama 9 years ago

i think i enjoyed watching this.at least he showed us how we get these cloths.but one thing i want to know are the disinfected before coming?

How pity that Ghanaians still don't produce enough cotton, etc. and eventually enough garments! How do they fight for equality with the when they use their throwaways? Hmm!