You are here: HomeNews2014 07 15Article 316983

Daylight stealing at tollbooths

Read Comments Comments (53)

• GUY MOMONE 9 years ago

If the proper mechanisms are not in place to collect the tolls then the tollbooths should not be put up. In this age of technology advancement how can we put up tollboths that are not automated? The authorities in charge shou ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Road toll tariffs were increased 1000% and while people are coughing up these exorbitant amounts, there is no effort to ensure that every pesewa goes into government coffers.

Firstly, instead of the road ministry collecti ...

• J. J. Rawlings 9 years ago

Not all toll booths are automated, even in the advanced world.

• PATRIOT 9 years ago

THE THIEVERY THAT GOES ON AT THE TOLL-BOOTHS IS A BIG COLLERBORATION AMONGST ALL THE PERSONNEL INVOLVED.THE MONEY HARVESTED AT THE BOOTHS CAN WELL GO TO MAINTAIN THE ROADS,BUT MOST OF IT ENDS UP INTO PRIVATE POCKETS.

• SYDNEY 9 years ago

EVERYTHING TO DO WITH NDC IS ABOUT STEALING STEALING STEALING....WHY WHY WHY?....NO WONDER THEIR BANK ROLLER AND FINANCIER WHO WAS ATTA MILLS BEST FRIEND WAS WOYOME THE THIEF.....ide biiii kekekekee

• ATINGA FRAFRA 9 years ago

THIS BATURE GUY AGAIN. HE NEVER MENTIONED A SINGLE PERSONS NAME IN HIS ARTICLE. WHY DOES HE NOT WRITE ABOUT CORRUPTION AT THE PRESIDENCY, MINISTRIES ETC. I WONDER HOW MUCH THIS BATURE WAS PAID TO WRITE THIS ARTICLE. HE IS F ...

• GhanabaGHC 9 years ago

The toll booths are just road blocks for free stealing just like the numerous road check points at night in Accra.

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

The tollbooths must have sensors to tabulate passing vehicles. In that case, if the attendants pocket some of the money then we would easily find them out.

We should also introduce Fast Track or Easy Pass Technology at th ...

• We can't think 9 years ago

When Ministers are riding in convoy with police escorts and collect bribes to sell the country to foreigners, what can the poor man at the booth do? If he gives the correct account, GMO Oteng Adjei, Yammin, Rashid Pelpuo and ...

• OBIBA-JUDAS 9 years ago

ONLY THE FOOLS WILL VOTE FOR NDC COME 2016

• Osei Bonsu 9 years ago

We still expect people to be patriots - pay them less to work sincerely for Ghana - no checks, no introduction of modern systems to monitor operations, no deterrent measure, no penalty. Poor Stone Age Ghana

• lakiet 9 years ago

I agree with alhage news this time, people are really milking the state through this tollbooth

• Boat 9 years ago

The 'state' has been collecting tolls on the motorway for example since every Ghanaian was born yet for the last 30 years, there hasn't been any substantial upgrades to the motorway.......

There are massive lot homes in t ...

• john boye 9 years ago

you give my toll and tax to Woyome, Subah, Gyeeda, etc and share with them. Build 20 million Cedi headquarters with the moneys and expect me to pay the toll and pay tax so that you can pay Ministers 8000 Ghc. Tweaa!!!!!

• mumuni 9 years ago

I have witnessed this on the Accra-Tema Motorway all the time. It is happening life!!!

• max france. 9 years ago

PRESIDENT dey CHOP MINISTERS dey CHOP TOLLBOOTHS MEN dey CHOP OSOFO TOO dey CHOP. Na so CHOP CHOP without work done. oh ghana when?

• Kofi Madingo 9 years ago

Do Ghana has State Coffers? I don't believe or think so. These people who diligently man de tollboths have equally rights to these monies. Are they not Ghanaians? The problem should be tackle by the horn: let the State stops ...

• Di Nokware & Di Asempa 9 years ago

Folks,
    The whole Ghanaian system is full of ECONOMIC SABOTEURS - from the Presidency down to the porter. It is just pathetic to report on such news, for it is no news at all.

Such monies have been stolen a long time ago, ...

• Ayaatse 9 years ago

Ghana still crazy to be using outmoded methods of revenue collection. Get all these things automated. But of course they will not do that cos all of them benefiting from the manual system. Even in the rich worlds these are au ...

• K. Owusu-Yeboah 9 years ago

What on earth is keeping my country from using modern technology in revenue collection? I feel sick in my stomach when see or read about things of this kind. The same thing is done by AMA and KMA revenue collectors at markets ...

• salinsa 9 years ago

after being vandalized by his own gangsters, it seems ah hajj is going to leave the vocation of politriking and concentrate on economic and social problems. kudos

• Simon Adeti 9 years ago

I wish the Investigators Bring More evidence for us to see the issue in reality, however, I think i will be very difficult to curve that menace except where strict surveillance and CCTV's are put are put in place.

• Kafui 9 years ago

this whole toll booth thing is daylight robbery of Ghanaians anyway. how can an old road that has seen no work in 20 yra suddenly have a toll booth? and where does the money go and who account for it? so i guess anyone can st ...

• Che 9 years ago

Useless al-hajj NDC paper. If I were put there, I will do that 5x more than they are doing. Who does these revenues go to...state? You lie bad. You have no idea. Isn't it a private entity that takes the money and gives part t ...

• KWAME, BELGIUM 9 years ago

This is going on for a very long time. I noticed this last year when I travelled from Accra to Aflao. The Sogakope toll booth is good for thissort of business.

• YOBO 9 years ago

IF GHANA'S ARMS OF GOVERNMENT ARE ALL CORRUPT, WHO DO YOU EXPECT TO SET A GOOD EXAMPLE.

PATRIOTISM AND NATIONALISM MUST START FROM THE .

IF THOSE ELECTED TO SERVE ARE "CONSTITUTIONALLY" PAYING THEMSELVES HEFTY SALARIES, ...

• YOBO 9 years ago

IF ALL OF GHANA'S ARMS OF GOVERNMENT ARE ALL DOWNRIGHT CORRUPT, WHO DO YOU EXPECT TO SET A GOOD EXAMPLE?

PATRIOTISM AND NATIONALISM MUST START FROM THE TOP.

EVERYBODY IN GHANA, AND NOW EVEN IN BRAZIL AND THE REST OF THE ...

• DrG 9 years ago

automation

• eugene 9 years ago

for people that drive toll road every day, they have sensor that mount on windscreen and tolls are charge to account electronic

• Musa 9 years ago

How many of these toll booth are on our highways that r not automated ? We were promised of better roads to warrant the increase and nothing to show for its rather loans that are being contracted to build and maintain these r ...

• MNM 9 years ago

THESE GUYS STEAL ONLY PESEWASAND KOBOS HOW ABOUT THOSE IN TEMA HABOUR, PARLIAMENT, INTERNAL REVENUE GFA AND THE MINISTERS WHO GET FREE 4X4 FREE FUEL AND STEAL MILLIONS TO FOREIGN BANK, IT IS THEIR SHARE OF THE NATIONAL CAKE ...

• coldwater 9 years ago

when we are paying so much on fuel tax to road fund, what is the need to pay toll at the booths again
    they must be scraped.

• Anas aremeyaw anas 9 years ago

Fire burn the president and all his workers, they have to bun inna hell and rot. Bloodsuckers 2016 would be WAR in Ghana

• Michael Essien 9 years ago

Badly written article, go back to school son

• OGAZY. 9 years ago

OH IF GHANAIANS COULD BE BRAVE AND BE COMMTTING THIS CRIME THEN I THINK WE NEED FORIGNERS TO COME AND MAND OUR TOLL BOTHS.

• B-WISE 9 years ago

LA-MADINA (LABADI OLYMPIA TO MADINA)is CHARGING 33.33% INCREASE in transport fares(from GH1.50p to GH2.00), thereby creating a lot of problems to passengers.Bent on charging the 33.33% instead of the 15% proposed by GPRTU, th ...

• Mugu Yaro 9 years ago

The poor are suffering day by day but greedy and evil politicians careless about them but remember we wil all account for our deeds b4 our Lord one day!!the end is near repent now coz u can never repent in ur grave!!Allahu Ak ...

• kay 9 years ago

AT THE AUTOMATED ONES, KASOA TO BE SPECIFIC, THE SCREEN WILL SHOW "1", "2", "3" WITH CHARGES OF gh¢0.50, gh¢1.00, gh¢ 2 FOR SALOONS, MINI BUSSES AND BIG BUSSES RESPECTIVELY BUT WHAT THE UNSCRUPULOUS ONES DO IS TO PUNCH SAY ...

• EDTA 9 years ago

The tollboth at Twifo Praso are issuing out false tickets with the assemblies stamp. We I confronted the tool collecting agent he said I could take it anywhere, he doesn't care.

• godsway 9 years ago

Accra-Tema toll booths issue different tickets at weekends why? Who are the checkers? Why are we all killing the spirit of the state? We may think we have another country. Hmmmmmmmmmm

• SMALL THIEVES 9 years ago

They are only learning from the Big Thieves in power who loot from State coffers "Without show of patriotism in the mobilization of the needed revenue to lift the country from its present economic quagmire". Compared to thes ...

• bimbon eric 9 years ago

it happen but worst of it occur @ de police and custom barriers what checks are put in place to curb these act?

• Concerned, Tema 9 years ago

I always complain to the attendants and supervisors at the Tema - Afienya tollbooth for the indiscipline of Trotro and taxi drivers who don't join the queue, and yet get preferential treatment from the attendants; the attenda ...

• Nii 9 years ago

Why are these people so dishonest and shameless? These drivers and these people turn round and blame the Govt. for not investment much in road maintenance and development.

• Yendi boy 9 years ago

put security cameras period.

• SCCOT 9 years ago

This country is a joke where are the surveillance cameras.

• Akyem Mafia 9 years ago

Sir, The problem you touched on is more complex and deep seated and is evident since since we got independence.The practice of stealing state money is prevalent at all levels of revenue generation and ecpenditure in this cou ...

• Great 9 years ago

is this prople talking about Ghana? (boye)

• ensorerobby tx u.s.a 9 years ago

what about tema harbour the giant among such acts.

• Farmer 9 years ago

This practice has been going on for a long time since the return of NDC.
    At Atimpoku bridge the highway employees were forced out by NDC members in the area and they operated the toll booth until the bridge was closed few mo ...

• George YiN. 9 years ago

Prudent management of the toll boots in Ghana can help Government greatly to maintain our roads for future generations. A simple way is to put cameras at all these tollboots that will keep track of all cars that passes each d ...

• Advisor 9 years ago

The only way to stop thievery at the various toll booths in the country is to employ Ghanaians who have Toll Road Operations experience. There are so many Ghanaians who worked at various toll roads in Europe and the USA who ...

• kwame 9 years ago

Oh Boy!