Africa must develop hydro power – Kufuor

Read Comments Comments (38)

• capt ninepence 11 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah did a lot on our energy sector and this former president was on the saddle for a good years and yet he could not solve our energy crisis. for the first time in the history of Ghana, Ghanaians slept in darkness f ...

• FUNNY THAT 11 years ago

Who invited this bush man to the conference? This bush man certainly found his way there on his own account.Those who went there were on excursion bases not on scientific based conference.All those named as dignitries to th ...

• Guv 11 years ago

What has he done to you for you to insult him like that? All i can say is that if you throw a ball against the wall it comes back to you. Hope others will take notice. Thank you.

• Osei K Bonsu 11 years ago

Yes, you are right. Kronfuor Kufuor threw a ball against the wall and it is coming back to him. Serves him right. The evil that men do lives and leaves with and after them!

• ZoRRo 11 years ago

During his term in office this guy travelled to every event he was invited to, so long as it was outside the country. Now he is talking about what ?

• GHANAIAN 11 years ago

Nkrumah Started it all; Kuffuor fought to secure the funding of the BUI dam,; what did RAWLINGS do in his 18 years?

FOOL.

• KB,LONDON 11 years ago

Kuffour had nothing to start with. Nkrumah had so much but could only construct hydroelectric dam to meet the needs of 5 million people. Kuffour constructed the BUI dam. K4 gave Ghana oil, free school feeding, metro buses, NH ...

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

kwasea die in your ashante prayer line imbecilic backwardness why should I debate a moron like you. "Nkrumah met only 5million people?" yet HAD the vision to build an infrastructure that has sustained the now millions of ingr ...

• Kofi Amamlema 11 years ago

What a small brain! You gullible fool! When are you going to learn and wise up. Wake up, you fool. You have been eating too much of 'akrantie bini' grass cutter shit and 'dankwasri'-bat meat! Spend some quality time to check ...

• Jay 11 years ago

KB, you are an illiterate. If you really live in London, there are several books to read about Nkrumah and his achievement. Don't come here sounding foolish. Indeed you may be one.

• ELINAN 11 years ago

Most European nations have above 40,000 MW. ENGLAND ALONE HAS OVER 70,000MW.
    So why export part of 40,000MW power from a country that is a size of the whole western Europe and currently with no more than 3,000MW of power?
    D ...

• ELINAN 11 years ago

And that $80 billion could build five (5) of both Grand Renaissance dam in Ethiopia and the recently built largest dam in China.
    The Ethiopians are building the dam for lest than $10 Billion and the Chinese built their own ...

• KAKABO 11 years ago

At least JAK is talking sense unlike those foolish professors who are advocating for nuclear power for Ghana when we cannot even manage the refuse form the Ga kenkey have ave been eating.

• Guv 11 years ago

L hardly support him but he seems he has good ideas for Ghana and Africa. To be honest when he was in power he did a lot projects but his kickbacks and cronyism was his problem.

• Gonzaga 11 years ago

Is this guy on drugs? Hydro-electric power is an old technology. There are numerous new and cheap energy solutions. Anyway what did he do about energy when he was in power. Building on what The most sensible person Kwame Nkru ...

• Ghanaman 11 years ago

No you are wrong. Check your facts properly. It is stills the best and safest and most reliable source of electricity generation. this is basic physics and common sense. I challenge you to show me a better one with facts

• Kwabena London 11 years ago

It is sad to think that it has taken all these years after Nkrumah wrote that book Africa Must Unite before any leader has accepted that Nkrumah has been on the right track for Ghana and Africa after all.

• Nana Jacobu 11 years ago

Sorry to say but I think our former president should look into the future in a strategic manner.

Hydro in this time modern time? Hydro depends on water/river resource which also depends on rain. What happens in times of d ...

• Nana Jacobu 11 years ago

Sorry to say but I think our former president is "Alice in Wonderland".

Hydro in this time modern time? Hydro depends on water/river resource which also depends on rain. What happens in times of draught?

I think with ...

• Abeeku Mensah 11 years ago

With all due respect ex-President Kufour must stick to money manipulation and leave all things requiring foresight and some level of intellect to others who can speak authoritatively. Is there anything natural than the sun an ...

• ELINAN 11 years ago

Which scientific theory you pulled that one from that the sun has negative effect on black skin in Africa?
    Melanin which is a blessed chemical that forms the basis of dark skinned people especially Africans, works perfectly ...

• papillon 11 years ago

Prevailing global weather patterns doesn't make it feasible. The political climate in that region is too dangerous to sustain any serious project of this kind. Typical fantasy project to line the pockets of greedy politicians ...

• Dr 11 years ago

Sorry Mr President
    I think you got it all wrong.What is happening to your BUi dam.It cannot run at full capacity because of lack of rain. Please Hydro in this modern time? What happens in times of draught?

I think other ...

• JAK 11 years ago

YOU SEE HOW VISIONARY THAT GREAT MAN NKRUMAH WAS,HE PROPOSED THIS PROJECT LONG BEFORE HE WAS OVERTHROWN BY USELESS GUYS IN GHANA FOR THEIR SELFISH INTEREST AND THEY ARE NOW MAKING IT LOOK AS IF IT IS THEIR IDEAS.HYPOCRITES IN ...

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

For these anansem prayer line ashantes the least said the better! Look at what is happening to the Blackstars under Akwasi Appiah and what Ghana became under Akwasi Amankwa Afrifa after their useless evil intentions. Ooh Lord ...

• liv 11 years ago

The dam was not Nkrumah's idea. it was conceived by Albert Kitson in 1915

• military man 11 years ago

But it was the great man who turned the idea into reality.
    Before then, it was just a dream and he made the dream come to life even though he was brutally and unfairly criticized at the time.

Give due where it is deserv ...

• Jeff, UK 11 years ago

This guy is an old fashioned thinker. He is still thinking of hydro power when the almighty Bui has not solved the problems of power in GH. Who told him it is the cheapest source of power, anyway?

• HE'S NOT AFFRAID 11 years ago

AFRICA MUST DEVELOP HYDRO POWER-KUFOUR

• KELLY MAN(NY) 11 years ago

I WILL CONTINUE TO SAY THIS UNTIL I'M BLUE IN THE FACE-TROPICAL AFRICAN COUNTRIES MUST STRIVE FOR SOLAR ENERGY USE.TRAIN STUDENTS AS EARLY AS SECONDARY SCHOOL LEVEL IN THE KNOWLEDGE OF HARNESSING SOLAR ENERGY. TEACH THEM HOW ...

• Flowerman 11 years ago

Good idea but SOLAR energy is still better

• Barimaba 11 years ago

Three Gorges Dam and the One in Brazil are examples of President Kuffour statement.

• Kwame Kyeremeng 11 years ago

Rhetoric, only good at empty talk as usual. What did you do on this matter when you were the head of our country besides looting the coffers, emptying the left over cedis as a result of redenomination, selling our drilling sh ...

• Paa Joe 11 years ago

WHAT DOES HE UNDERSTAND BY CLIMATE SMART AGRICULTURE POLICIES.

DO AFRICAN COUNTRIES EVEN HAVE A WELL DEVELOPED FARMING PRACTICES IN SECURING FOOD SECURITY ON THE CONTINENT.

TIME TO ANALYSE WHAT WE TELL AT INTERNATIONAL ...

• Chase bamuhene 11 years ago

Kuffour you are better than mahama, rawlings, mills,& addo any day

• James Naru 11 years ago

Why is this man trying to steal the limelight from Mahama.
    When George Bush left office we haven't heard from him since then.
    It is now all about Obama.
    You have done your best for Ghana. Please come home and enjoy your r ...

• military man 11 years ago

Half of the money ear-marked for such projects always ends up the private bank accounts of corrupt and thieving African leaders.

What did you do for Ghana except sell good government enterprises to multi-nationals and get ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 11 years ago

The energy-mix for a sustainable Africa must include the following:
    1. Solar
    2. Wind farms
    3. Geothermal
    4. Bio-fuels
    5. Micro-Hydro Projects (see UNDP's Action4energy.org video)
    6. Waste-To-Energy conversion systems.