You are here: HomeNews2014 07 02Article 315147

Another Rent Scandal: BOST blows $40,000 a month on office space

Read Comments Comments (81)

• jon 9 years ago

yet there is no money in this country to employ others

• AL JAZEERA NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Sulley Muntari CLINICALLY TREATED Ghana’s serious disease, CORRUPTION. He attacked corrupt NDC'S CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE BUSINESS! !!!--------

Below is what led to the brawl.

Sulley: WHAT IS THE USE OF SOO MANY G.F.A O ...

• GHFUO, what is your Purpose/Legacy!!! 9 years ago

CHOBOLOGY 1, 2 & 3!!!
    Now everybody knowS how stupid Ghana President is, He gave $510,000.00 to Brazilian government as taxes with NO work done.
    How DUMB MR. President. DID U TALK TO FINANCE MINISTER TEKPER ABOUT THE TAX I ...

• Corrupt Prez 9 years ago

Corruption everywhere - Mahama has his cut in all these deals as he buys a hotel in Dubai

• Moi Kong in China 9 years ago

Why can't we rise up and confront those in government who are corrupted with GUNS!!! kill all of them and set the country free.

• Sam 9 years ago

From Gyeeda to SADA, and now to BOST, the northerner's are destroying a government led by one of their own, and yet they have no sense of shame or regret whatsoever. How can people be that wicked.
    I now understand why NPP ne ...

• Apraku 9 years ago

But why is the NDC so scandalous?
    Everything that they lay hands on is either spoiled or they try to squeeze money out of that.Look at what has happened to the Black Stars. Lord have mercy on Ghana!!!

• Mr. Figure-Out 9 years ago

“The present location is equally a four-storey building but the space is bigger, it can accommodate the current staff of the Authority which is a little over 200.We can still have some space available and the plan by manage ...

• Akyena Brantuo 9 years ago

I said it here last week this is a grand fraudulent enterprise designed by John and Ibrahim Mahama to line their pockets and destroy Ghana b4 they are booted out in 2016! Over 500 state institutions in are involved in this d ...

• Akua 9 years ago

What do Ghanaians expect when they sing the praises of a person who sings'yebe dii keke and later yen ntie obiaa? He is YOUNG and BEAUTIFUL so Ghanaians must be quiet and enjoy his leadership!!

• k adinkrah 9 years ago

that stupid mahatma must reshuffle all his cabinet,
    Why should Ghana go through this my heart bleeds and i smell gun powder in the air.December 2014 may not see mahatma as president.

• National Liberation Front 9 years ago

Fellow countrymen, we have are directed the security services to ensure that the borders (sea, land, air) are closed immediately. Operations to reverse the rot are starting immediately. No one should stand in the way of the p ...

• NAKED 9 years ago

nation with senseless leaders, is simple as that.John Mahama doesn't even qualify to be a football manager let alone to be a president of a sovereign nation, what do we see now? God choose David to led his people not because ...

• Oh Ghana! 9 years ago

This Mahama boy.......

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD 9 years ago

We steal without shame.

I thought our Father's Generation was bad.We are by far,the worse generation when it comes to Corruption.

We have have no concience as a Nation when it comes to stealing from the Public.
    I cann ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

The public service workers play a significant and shameful role in fleecing Ghana.

• Azaa Government 9 years ago

Once we can tell the owner, we should be able to establish a pattern. But Ghanaians are convinced this Mahama government is a 419 government!

• Joe Oteng 9 years ago

Coup d'etat is imperative.Where are the soldiers?

• Aminatu 9 years ago

npp Ghana's #1 enemies of progress...doing foolish things whenever they find themselves in opposition.

• Aminatu 9 years ago

Be kind enough to tell us how much they were paying before now.

• Nat 9 years ago

Govt. should be bold enough to arrest the culprit after investigation. Put him before the Law court to justify his deeds before the nation. This will give hope th the ghanaian people about govt. fight against corruption.

• Kwasea Bi Nti 9 years ago

An independent body must be established immediately (today, not tomorrow) to find out exactly how much of our taxes are used to pay rent for all these statutory bodies! We need action now, now, now! Enough of the cheating!

• Nanayaw 9 years ago

Jailing is the only remedy for this nonsense. We should find a way to start jailing people for this nonsense.

• Nana The Don 9 years ago

YOu can't becos there are big men involved with so many people at the top benefiting. Why can't Woyome be jailed? Becos alot of people at the top benefited. Just be cool God will deal with each one of them appropriately.

• GBEE-TSATSU 9 years ago

MY BROTHER THEN THE CITIZENS OF GHANA IN THE CIVIL SERVICE INCLUDING MP'S AND CUSTOM OFFICERS WILL FIND THEMSELVES IN THE ROTTEN AND DEPILATED GHANA JAIL. EVERY TOM/DICK GHANAIAN RESIDING IN THAT BUSH/DIRTY AND DUSTY BUSH IS ...

• Stupid Eweman 9 years ago

Come 2016 all Ewes would be sent back to Togo. We cannot tolerate these nonsense any more. Evil people

• ONYEA- SORM3 9 years ago

AND THE GREEDIEST AND APELIKE ASHANTIS AND THIER WICKED BROTHERS WHO HAVE LOOTED GHANA FOR LONG WILL BE DEPORTED TO THE SAHEL ( SAHARA DESERT ) REGION. THEY ARE TOO BLACK LIKE CHARCOAL. DIRTY SMELLING MONKIES.
    DO YOU PEOPLE ...

• Tawiah 9 years ago

Bring back firing squad for us to clean house again, but this time, it is the proper house cleaning that is required paaaa, not the fake one Rawlings and his AFRC members came to wrought on Ghanaians some years ago.

Lets p ...

• Tim Owusu 9 years ago

Now is the time for military intervention.If we don't do it the nation called Ghana will cease to exist.

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

ALL THIS AND STILL JOHN DRACULA MAHAMA ALIAS JAGUAR JOKER TALKS OF BETTER GHANA. THE DAMAGE DONE BY THE THIEVERY AND ROBBERY OF THE AFRC/P/NDC GOVERNMENT IS SO DEEP, WIDE AND OVERWHELMING, GHANA WILL SUFFER FOR YEARS TO COME. ...

• Kudonu 9 years ago

We are reaping the legacy of the chief Jaguar Joker Rawlings who bred these crooks and is himself protected by the indemnity clause in our constitution. Oh Ghana!!!

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Let the criminal laws of Ghana apply here.

• Papa Yaw 9 years ago

How

• Okukuseku 9 years ago

Papa, Mahama resigned last week as head of state of the republic of Ghana. He left behind a cabal of kleptomaniacs, led by Clown Prince Ibrahim Mahama.

• asem 9 years ago

99% of successful people in Ghana who r going about shoulder high in big 4 by 4 r criminals who should be sitting in a prison cell. the society is broken from head to toe. from pastors to chiefs, politicians to workers, there ...

• Gandalf 9 years ago

PARLIAMENT SHOULD AS A MATTER OF URGENCY DEMAND TENANCY AGREEMENTS OF ALL STATE INSTITUTIONS RENTING BUILDIING IN THIS COUNTRY AND LOOK AT WHAT THEY ARE PAYING. THIS IS ANOTHER BLACKHOLE THAT EATS UP THE TAXPAYERS MONEY AND N ...

• Ato K. 9 years ago

It's about time these tenancy agreements are looked into.Why do we live in Ghana and transact local agreements in dollars? Where is our sovereignty?I governments, past and present, feel the dollar is better for the country, ...

• JUNE 4 9 years ago

THIS IS JUST THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG.

MUCH MORE HAPPENS IN THE PUBLIC SECTOR, AND THAT EXPLAINS WHY GHANA'S LEADERS CANNOT MANAGE EVEN A PIG STY PROFTABLY.

A GFA PRESIDENT TRAVELS TO WORK FOR GHANA IN BRAZIL 2014 WC. HE ...

• Jason 9 years ago

Ghana is lost mate..never thought to dislke Ghana government and people like this..

YES the PEOPLE!! Because most of you keep quite..specially if someone buys you a fufu ... WTF

• Cudjoe Amuashie 9 years ago

I daresay, there are more stories to come.No one should feel sorry for ghanaians.
    Anyone involved from lanlord , to all signatories should be sacked and money refunded to the state. simple solution Govt should take this up ...

• makaamaka 9 years ago

so do these people have brains at all?
    6months of this money can build a full story building for office complex.

bunch of chipmunks leading us, HAMAHMA pls sit up!!

• CALM 9 years ago

its must be obvious to all by now that NDC isn't a political party but a criminal Democratic congress......JJ is not aware of this because he is soooooooooo biased against kuffuor and akans..........heheheeeeeee.....side biii ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

UNLESS we RE-START EXECUTING people at the Teshie Shooting Range, Hanging people at the Opera Square and CONFISCATING their PROPERTIES, Ghana will NEVER ENJOY anypeace for development!!!WHY IS THE GOVE SO LAZY and In-effectiv ...

• Fiifi Miles - Ghana International Vic 9 years ago

Can Mahama and his Minister of Transport see how unfair their government is, when money is being flashed about loosingly while Ghana International Victims are still chasing for their refund

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

How can one rent an uncompleted beuilding for $40,000 dollars!

• ABBA 9 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHERS WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• MA HAMMERED 9 years ago

OPERATION FEED YOURSELF ?????

IGNORANT BUT REALISTIC

• ABBA 9 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• GBEMII 9 years ago

I DO NOT AGREE WITH YOU ON THIS ISSUE. GO ASK "DIEWUO" KUFFOUR THE ASHANTI THIEF. HE AND HIS COHORTS OWN THE GHANA OIL RESERVE IN THE WESTERN REGION. THEY OWN THE WHOLE OIL RESERVE. HOW CAN A BUSH-MAN COME AND OWN OUR OIL RE ...

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

Tawia i fully agree with you but who is to take the initiative as we are not at home? Are these officials brains filled with sand? Have they forgotten about the French revolution which brought order afterwards?

• KUNTA KINTE 9 years ago

SULLEY MUNTARI FOR PRESIDENT.....SALUTE TO YOU... WE NEED TO YOU COME DOWN AND FINISH THE UNFINISHED BUSINESS... WE NEED YOU TO COME AND SLAP THIS STUPID SO CALLED BIG MEN. THUMBS UP....MAHAMA AND HIS GOVT HAS REALLY DESTROYE ...

• afua 9 years ago

Mr President please can people be hold responsible for once to serve as a deterrent to others. if possible sacked or some cases be made to pay back monies spend unguarded

• agyakwaku 9 years ago

Same NDC agenda to steal money for their selfish interest.

• IRON LADY 9 years ago

SHAMEFUL GOVERNMENT

• achiba austria 9 years ago

aii these people are giving the president headech

• NANA 9 years ago

PATRIOTISM? WHAT PATRIOTISM??
    THEY ARE ALL AT IT;FROM TOP TO BOTTOM.
    DELVE INTO IT AND YOU WILL COME TO KNOW THAT THE LANDLORD IS EITHER ONE OF THEM OF A KNOWN FRIEND.
    REMEMBER THAT SONG-:"AFRICA MONEY"
    EVERYTHING ABOUT G ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 9 years ago

OMG! What a country? Shame, shame and shame!

• NANAKATA 9 years ago

WHY CANT SUCH A BIG COMPANY BUILD ITS OWN OFFICES?
    I DON'T EXPECT THE GOVERNMENT TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.
    WHAT A COUNTRY?

• TOGBE 9 years ago

GHANAIANS ARISE. THIS STUPIDIDTY IS NOT AKAN, GA, EWE, OR NORTHERNERS PROBLEM, BUT ALL GHANAIANS. IT AFFECTS ALL OF US. HOW MUCH MONEY WILL BE LEFT AFTER 2016? KOFI WAYO, KWESI PRATT, JJ RAWLINGS, WHY ARE YOU NOT SPEAKING NOW ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Oh God we are so miserable come and save us from this wickedness!

• Kudonu 9 years ago

Your Excellency President Mahama as for this please please please do something. We be on our knees.

• john , Madina 9 years ago

TIGO, BE PLAIN N SHOW HOW MUCH O CHARGE FOR CALL. Back up or leaq e the net work.

• KWAA 9 years ago

They didn`t creat,but they are looting.Infact NDC with Mahama at the head really mean to distroy Ghana.
    How can a group of individuals,be so greedy,insensitive,wicked and self -Centered?
    When these officials drive around Ac ...

• Brobbsnet-USA 9 years ago

Unless there is an invisible technical group working with military-police to start arresting this vomit-soaked corrupt officials, nothing will change.

• ALLOSSMAN 9 years ago

The goody-goody two shoes starts complaining when somebody comes along and lop their fucking corrupt heads off.

• Aboatea 9 years ago

Ghanaians now feel helpless. I challenge the Ghana Armed forces to overthrow Mahama's Government - the most incompetent and corrupt government ever in the history of Ghana. Ghanaians are too coward, I cannot see the public ri ...

• MAN 9 years ago

wouldn't it be interesting to know who owns the said structure? Please, investigate and let us know.

• AMA 9 years ago

What president is this..under whose watch corruption flourishes...what does he know eh!

• GOWAN 9 years ago

Just two institutions ie the NPA and BOST under the Ministry of Energy and Petroleum have managed to within just a year commit a whooping amount of almost $1.2million dollars to fruitless ventures. The combined sum of these r ...

• nana sarpong Kumankoma 9 years ago

You will get one idiot to come and justify this, yet we have a govt who is
    cash strapped

• C.Stephen Sackey 9 years ago

Just shooting breeze here, but has anybody on this space ever leased a commercial space to run a business ?

I don't know the operation of these two entities and thus can't tell the space they need to op ...

• TEE 9 years ago

GOD IF IT WILL BE THOU WILL LET THIS NDC ALL POLITICIANS BE DEAFS OERIOD

• TEE 9 years ago

GHANAIANS WE TOLD YOU SO, GOOD FOR YOU, NEXT TIME YOU THINK TWICE PERIOD

• ogyam 9 years ago

These young guys who were the crusaders of Rawlings revolution are the very people in government. They were not even in university at that time. They are now ministers or deputy ministers for just going to radio stations or t ...

• Kantinka 9 years ago

the corruptions in ghana are so bizzare that to eradicate this problem, we need to stop talking and hire people to holes to the heads of these fools. Once we start killing them, i am pretty sure that corruption will start to ...

• NII ARMAH 9 years ago

INSANE SICK INVOLVEMENT. LORD HAVE MERCY. RAWLINGS THIS IS YOUR DARLING PARTY.

How much tax does the landlord pay on such income? It makes no sense to let someone pay taxes of $5000 on a car he ships from abroad with value $4000 when people inside Ghana collects $40,000 from government without paying ta ...

• Brains 9 years ago

JUST IMPRISON THEM ALL

• Janet - Tema 9 years ago

I wish to draw the President's attention to the fact that a former BOST Managing Director has occupied the official residence of TOR's Managing Director at Coom.10, Tema illegally for over 10 years. Payment of utilities, ren ...

• Flowerman 9 years ago

Wake up. Mother Ghana is bleeding to death slowly

• Aba 9 years ago

TELL US HOW MUCH WE PAY FOR THE GHANA EMBASSY OFFICE IN UPPER EAST SIDE OF NEW YORK. THE MOST EXPENSIVE PLACE IN THE WORLD TO RENT AN OFFICE