You are here: HomeNews2014 06 26Article 314388

GFA is broke - Requests World Cup prize money early

Read Comments Comments (101)

• Mohammed Awuni 9 years ago

last world cup we got $15million
    we have played several friendlies and money from sponsors and yet GFA is broke. HOW?

• CONQUEROR 9 years ago

They are all confused about the match fixing scandal hanging around their necks! What a shame to bring on beautiful Ghana!

• GHFUO, heaven is NOT for idiots!! 9 years ago

DONT BLAME THE PLAYERS BUT THE FA EXECS. THEY R THE ONES DOING THIS, HOLDING GH GOVT TO RANSOME ON BEHALF OF THE PLAYERS. THE PLAYERS ARE COWARDS N CANT EVEN SPEAK UP FOR THEMSELVES. FOR FEAR THEY WILL BE TARGETTED N EXCLUDED ...

• Amevor 9 years ago

I think you don't have brains hence the hatred you are exhibting.You can go to hell,they will be there untill they retire by themselves.Have you taken part in any sports in your life before?If you don't have anything sensible ...

• GHFUO, heaven in NOT FOR IDIOTS!! 9 years ago

U SON OF A BITCH. EVERYONE KNOWS THIS EXCEPT U U CAT EATER!...SAY MEEOOWW! SEEHOW U THINK? THEY WILL BE THERE UNTIL THEY RETIRE BY THEMSELVES? TAKE UR FOOLISHNESS TO A COMMUNIST/DICTATOR NATION U HEAR...WE HVE WESTERN NATIONS ...

• GHFUO, 30seconds WC BLUNDERS!! 9 years ago

What a pride-fooooooool comment!

UR MODA IS PRIDEFOOL.

• GHFUO, 30seconds WC blunder!! 9 years ago

Did you mean your MODA PUSSY?

• Ghfuo, heaven is NOT for idiots! 9 years ago

No, I meant yours. I want to beat that pussy up!

You can't even hit it with Maame Serwaa, and you want mine? No waaaaaaaay.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

The problem is the government interfering in GFA operations because the government wants to steal taxpayers money by involving itself in GFA affairs.

Where is the so called government money to the Blackstars supposed to be ...

• FACT 9 years ago

THE BLACK STARS HAVE DISPLAYED THEIR LOVE FOR MONEY OVER THEIR COUNTRY.
    THE DAYS OF PATRIOTISM ARE GONE.
    WHY DID THEY NOT ACCEPT PAYMENT INTO THEIR ACCOUNTS?

SHAME ON THE BLACK STARS.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

What do you mean by patriotism? FIFA mandates that each country pays their players appearance fees with the money coming from the FIFA.

With the lies coming from this government, do you believe what they are telling you? T ...

• Issah Musah 9 years ago

Tell our corrupt African leaders to be patriotic and let these footballers who are doing their best be in peace.

BECOS THESE NO GOOD GFA EXECS WANTS A CUT OFTHE MONEY. THEY HAVE INSTUTUTED ALL THESE FEES..APPEARANCE FEES, BONUSES ETC....MEANINGLESS, USELESS FEES...JUJST SO THEY CAN GET THEIR SHARE. U SEE HOW GREEDY N USELESS NYANTAKYI ...

• Bernardino 9 years ago

Yiou talk like a fool. Appearance fees is not instituted by gfa but by fifa. Every country fa gives appearance fees to its players because it is mandated by the fifa. Don't be stupid.

KWASIA...U DONT KNOW ANYTHING.

Some needs to squiz your over blowing balls with an sledge hammer. Be very afraid indeed.

Muahahahahaaaaaaa! Stalker alert, folks! This is getting very interesting indeed. U ain't slick. I'm not a cannibal. Why do u so scared to talk to ppl? ....muahahahahaaaaaaa!

I am your shadow. Are you afraid of your shadow? Why?

• Bernardino 9 years ago

Fuck off you illiterate fool. You run your mouth like a retard you don't know appearance fees is paid by fifa to all players appearing at the world cup. You are a fool.

• Bs F 9 years ago

Don't blame the BS,blame the GFA

• CHARLES OBENG 9 years ago

These players are fabulously rich and they cant sacrifice a little for the nation and play their hearts out until they come back home? This huge sum of money could have been lost in transit. John Boye should never be called i ...

• elliot aryitey 9 years ago

shows how naive you are about Football, no FA is run or financed by governments and therefore as the GFA always goes to the government "bowl in hand" it is only proper that they ask for accountability .GFA only mentions "no G ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

You seem to have a problem with the English language. If the government will not interfere with the running of gfa, the gfa will not go to them.

Why should the government take the $14 million dollars won in the 2010 by the ...

• Palmwine Tapper 9 years ago

BEATS ME! How is GHFA broke?
    No wonder the players asked for PHYSICAL CASH in US $$$$$$$ or else to HELL w/ 2014 Fifa Soccer.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

GFA is broke because the government took whatever money GFA earned in the last world cup, $14 million to be exact by "comingling" government money with GFA money.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

This has never happened before in the history of FIFA. These boys are giving it their all, and here we have a government just looking for avenues to steal money from the players. It is on your clock so: SHAME ON YOU, Mr. Pre ...

• candler 9 years ago

the fa should all go

• sam 9 years ago

FIFA BEWARE OF GHANA FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION .. THEY ARE FRAUDSTERS

• Bonso 9 years ago

i said it that confusion is coming to the stars due to some outside element controlling the management. is not only Prince & Muntari but many of them are not happy at the stars camp but they are not showing. They should let t ...

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

He has embezzled GFA funds and is now fixing games. shame on him

• shadrack 9 years ago

Nyantakyi why dont u think about ghana but u think about gfa.see the money i have using it only two week and we are here surffling God is watching u and ur people

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

Handing such big amount to each player is a trap for robbery on the players by thiefs in impoveries Brazil GOD forbides that.Let us pray for the team to win and may no one loses a penny of their money amin.May GOD help GHANA ...

• Dutch man 9 years ago

may GOD help Ghana to qualify?what if GOD is not a Ghanian and want Portugal,or USA to qualify instead of Ghana.

• Rara 9 years ago

Our authorities are soo stupid.first of all it is illegal to carry such an amount to brazilian without declaring to customers which in any casewill be subject to heavy taxes(loss of revenue to us and gains to brazilian govt) ...

I WANT MONEY TO KILL THE FF...NYANTAKYI N ANKRAH. THEY R ALL USELESS

Talk is cheap, haba!

If wishes were horses, pigs will fly. Small world. Get ready to have ur mind. And pussy blown the fuck out! I don't want a relationship tho

What a pride-foooooooool comment!

• oyibo 9 years ago

looooooooooolooooooooooseeee

• Kojo 9 years ago

Appearance money is from FIFA to players of each participating nation. These funds are supposed to be paid to national associations (in Ghana the GFA), and then paid out to the players. The players should have been paid in G ...

• don 9 years ago

this kwesi nyantakyi is a disgrace paa ooo,just like mahama!

• HAD IT 9 years ago

I've lost interest in Ghana's World Cup participation because of all the camping in the wrong country, non-readiness of the hotel for the players upon arrival, fielding of the wrong players, the stupid excuse of waiting for t ...

• Gt Oly 9 years ago

For coming up with such crap!
    Where is the intelligence of these people?
    Since when did anyone fly such huge amounts of cash!
    Emom Ghana paaa

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

The Ghana and ghanaians in diaspora feel same way......even non-ghanaians cannot make sense of the fact that ghana will field Team B on a WC match...and that some of team B players would be introduce when Ghana was down 0-1 a ...

• Palmwine Tapper 9 years ago

Everything about GH Gov't. and Gov't. Officials SUCKS to the high Heavens. Mahama is WORSE than Atta Mills.

• concern citizen 9 years ago

What a disgrace to our country. How can this stupid people keep on being corrupt to the extent that they are not even ashamed of it. It is clearly the decedents of the government as a whole which is a clear manifestation of i ...

FOOLS...SEND SOMEONE TO ROB THEIR HOTEL ROOMS WHEN THE GAME IS GOING ON. IDIOTS...IN THIS DAY AND AGE, U CARRYING AROUND CASH LIKE THIS?

Are you one of those Dansomah ARMED ROBBERS? Just asking?

• concern citizen 9 years ago

There is nothing like die for your country in ghana youth now, everyone want to get paid plus bonus even before thry deliver their service, if that is the case then I guess when its world cup season we should buy players who ...

When is all money money thing will stop?
    Why should the GFA hand this kind of huge amount of money to the boys whiles they are in the middle of the competition?
    I am sure the GFA and Ghana government know more about money t ...

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

Quote:

"" Young talented guys are doing their best for the nation and the stupid politicians are doing things on their own way as if they have no brain.

May God rescue our dear nation from these bad and nasty people. ""

• @@@ 9 years ago

ATSU "we will put it in our bags" ignorance. they have even lost before the game has begun. GFA have themselves to blame if we lose. If appearance fees according to FIFA is paid after the tournament why were the boys promised ...

• Alex London 9 years ago

The inefficiency, corruption and squares pegs in round holes which have bedevilled Ghana is now being displayed in the world stage. President charting a plane to deliver $3 million cash to Brazil to share amongst the player ...

• JANE 9 years ago

SO THIS HULLABALOO ABOUT AIRLIFTING BS CASH PAYMENT TO BRAZIL IS JUST A FLUKE!

• HAMZA 9 years ago

I BELIEVE THE PRAYERS ARE REPRESENTING GHANA AND WILL NOT ALLOW ANYTHING TO DISTURB THEIR FOCUSE, HE WHO IS RESPONSIBLE TO ENSURE THAT THE MONEY IS DELIVERED IN GOOD TIME SHOULD DO SO. MAY ALLAH BE TITH THE TEAM

• Daavi 9 years ago

YOU CANNOT BRING YOUR LAWLESSNESS IN GHANA INTO OTHER COUNTRIES. BANK TO BANK TRANSFER IN 21ST CENTURY IS FASTER AND EFFICIENT THAN FLYING HUGE CASH. CAN YOU COUNT ALL? OPEN DOOR TO REMOVE SOME $$$.

• Dc 9 years ago

FIFA has to arrest this fools now. This are fraudster,

• Ogyakrom 9 years ago

Where on earth in this 21st century do you pay cash in such manner? Can't you transfer the monies to their accounts even if some don't have accounts in Ghana? What country is this? BACKWARD!

• GFA IS SHIT 9 years ago

Soccer fans in Ghana: What are you waiting for? Rise up and sack the bastards. Let's risk FIFA (an equally corrupt organization) sanctions. After all, we really have nothing to lose for the next two or four years, if FIFA ban ...

• bkay 9 years ago

Very shameful act , who does this ?

• Kofi Jata 9 years ago

Cash can be sent no problem.

• f them 9 years ago

this is truly shameful

• Phil 9 years ago

Its jejune that Astu would say they would put the Money in their bags.
    Imagine the Money gets stolen in your hotel room or at the airport when you are boarding to another state in Brazil or even leaving the shores of Brazil ...

• Ntim-Frempong 9 years ago

GFA IS BROKE

• ALPHA 9 years ago

Corrupt and Incompetent Management -what is new? Same as country political leaders.

• nanan joe 9 years ago

this is madness to the gov't official how can dis huge amount of money going out in the name of football, what are we going to felt on, inflation is all over this country.hmmmmmmmmmm god help us.

• Harrison 9 years ago

There no accountability in GFA. They shared money among themselves like it's nothing. All the tournaments BSs played, when did GFA ever say: "this is what we spent and this is the leftover"?
    Even when AA was hired, what w ...

• Solomon 9 years ago

Oh AMA Ghana what happen to us,are we ready to build our country,Teachers ,polices,nurses wake-up hmmmmm

This is simple common sense put the monies into the players accounts. They could check it if it is deposited. GFA wanted to cheat the players simple

• akora oteng 9 years ago

I find it hard to believe my ears that someone had to promise the STARS of payment of BONUS be4 the close of the GAMES when that someone knows clearly that ,first the GFA is broke and secondly, the FIFA payments to GHANA for ...

• Oliver 9 years ago

Why all this disgrace to our country......as a ghanaian here in uk I feel disgraced when mismanagement is always at the core of issues with authorities in Ghana.can't we plan ahead for once ....hum

• WALTZ WALTERZ 9 years ago

How can the GFA make such an infantile and premature request, when we have only a point going into our final group game against a stronger side? Confused and frustrated?

• Abena 9 years ago

This premature request is easy to fathom out. The GFA wants the FIFA money now so the officials would misappropriate it before they get back to Ghana. With all the news surrounding their corrupt dealings - match-fixing etc, t ...

• TABI 9 years ago

The FA is not seriuos at all. How on earth could an amount of USD be flown from Ghana to Brazil. Why not credith their respective beneficiaries' accounts? Is it a way of siphoning some of the money by the authorities?

Now, ...

• FRANKIE 9 years ago

what was the vice- president doing in Brazil if such issues exist and as a former financial administrator did not nothing while attending the event. This's a disgrace at the highest level. Kwame Nkrumah Ghana paa nei,edikan ...

• FRANKIE 9 years ago

there's something fishy about this whole episode. how can the players request cash payment of such huge amount? Imagine walking the street of Brazil with $75,000 in your backpack. Are u a drug dealer? Right now, they've comp ...

• African Consciousness 9 years ago

The Ghana FA does not need to ask for an advance from FIFA, this whole money issue is an embarrassment to Ghanaian football fans all over the world. This is an issue of discipline, the Ghana FA and the Coach must bring the pl ...

• Martin 9 years ago

FIFA should deny the GFA's request to advance them their prize, as such payments are usually made after the tournament. Players aren't starving to death, so why the need for payment before the conclusion of the tournament.Mea ...

• Kofi kwame 9 years ago

Typical African ways of Doing things,Because of Corruption,anything done by using simple common sense would be done the risky and the hard way,Confused the whole world and puts the blame on These two boys Muntari And Buateng, ...

• rasta 9 years ago

what a shame?i learn't in the statement that the bonus is usually paid by the FIFA after the tournament,why is it that Ghana is the only country who insist for the payment? Forget those shameless players. Ghafa must also resp ...

• apia 9 years ago

BEFORE THEY ARRIVED IN BRAZIL. AFRICANS...OUR LEADERS HAVE VERY LOW MANAGERIAL SKILLS

• HARMATTAN WARRIOR 9 years ago

GO BACK AND READ THE ARTICLE. THE MONEY HAS NOT YET BEEN PAID TO THE GOVT. YOU ARE THE AMONG THE FOOLS FORMENTING CRISIS IN GHANA.GOD WILL TURN IT ON YOUR HEAD.

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

THE ENTIRE MANAGEMENT OF THE GHANA FOOTBALL ASSOCIATIO SHOULD BE RELIEVED OF THEOR POSTS ON THEIR RETURN TO GHANA.

WAS IS NOT A SIMPLE HOME WORK,FOR THEM TO HAVE SETTLED THE BONUSES OF THE BLACK STARS.

ANY WHERE A GHANA ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

The world is now seeing for real the effects of election fraud that the NDC gov't used to wrestling their way into power. Now everything they touch becomes a failure. The evidence is as clear as daylight. It's happening live ...

• shadrack 9 years ago

Nyantakye haveu see what ur have done u have giving them the money and see what they doing

• E.S 9 years ago

Get rid of everyone involved in the planning of this fiasco

• TEX 9 years ago

This team talent wise was second to Germany...unfortunately it was proven today they had the worst FA in the group...I feel really bad for the players and Coach Appiah. I hope they learned their lesson and gear up for Russia ...

• Kofi Kofi 9 years ago

The government must request a full account of all expenditures from GFA for the last 7 years. The corruption in GFA and Ghana government cause the Black Stars to exit from the world cup early than expected.

Nyantakyi and K ...

• GHANABASTARS 9 years ago

ASSHOLES

• bob 9 years ago

What a disgrace to Ghana and its corruptleadership.

• bob 9 years ago

Is over with all the corruption in GFA and its cronies. To fly a cheated airplane with money to stop the bleeding of the stealing from the boys,is shameful. Even though the money was from FIFA.

• joojo2014 9 years ago

Since when did the GFA find out that it was broke? What a shame! Ghana with all its mineral resources: diamonds, gold, bauxite, timber, etc, etc, & now oil to top: has its national soccer association complaining of being bro ...

• her 9 years ago

Keep on disgracing africa

• KoteiBrazil 9 years ago

All of that money and we still can not win against Portugal.

• Sam Jones 9 years ago

Do not blame Fifa for your financial woes GFA. If this money is supposed to be remitted to Ghana after the tournament, why chasing it now? Because you were exposed for match fixing that did not materialized? What a shame.

• Alah 9 years ago

If you knew Ghana was that broke financially to participate in the tournament, why did you answer the call to participate? Just pay whoever you owe and be quite GFA.

• Confused 9 years ago

This article does not seem to be based on fact. This is 2014. It is unlikely that the government of Ghana would do a western union money transfer of any kind to the players. How can the players be expected to pick up such lar ...

• kpl 9 years ago

fools

• Kwabena Yeboah 9 years ago

Despicable Africans - corrupt in nature and irresponsible by design.