You are here: HomeNews2014 06 11Article 312292

We must blame ourselves for our underdevelopment – K. B. Asante

Read Comments Comments (30)

All Ghanaians cannot meet at a place to plan the development of the country. That is why there are paid "leaders" in the country to see to such activities. We should blame our so-called leaders who have put themselves in posi ...

• AAA 9 years ago

Think before you talk

• Alhassan Gangu 9 years ago

When he said we should blame ourselves it is because we voted them into power. J J, kofuor, Atta Mills and Mahama did not fall from the sky. Let us start throwing out of office incompetent leaders and see if we don't make pro ...

• Vacus 9 years ago

Who voted for these leaders both MPs and Assemblymen? Ghanaians need to stop thinking short term and focus on long term strategies. With all the resources we have in this nation, we should never borrow from any country. Pathe ...

• Kissi 9 years ago

Many Ghanaians excel in their respective fields even though we have had very poor leadership in this 4th republic.
    Imagine what we would be like if we had some proper leaders on board ?
    As much as people criticize Ghana,you ...

• DAVI 9 years ago

NDC THE LONGEST GANG IN POWER IN GHANA'S POLITICAL HISTORY,IS FORMED BY PEOPLE WITH MOSTLY CPP BACK GROUND AND THEREFORE PRODUCT OF DR.KWAME NKRUMAH.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Enforcing stricter laws are the bedrock of any developed nation. That is an undeniable fact. If we go for this "seven year development plan, without enforcing laws that comes with it, the statuo quo will reign.

Do we have ...

• Amalia 9 years ago

Ghana will never develop if we continue to have leaders that are corrupt and only think about themselves.
    How come our roads are in the shape that they are in?
    Where are our rail networks?
    Why the Dumsor Dumsor?
    We have ...

• Dr.adumtumi nyansafuo 9 years ago

Ghanaian's are hypocrites, they claim to love their country, but at the same time they will not contribute to their country until they are forty to fifty years old. Selfishness is killing the Ghanaian. I am glad I resigned as ...

• Kk3 9 years ago

Look inside yourself and tell me how you really feel Joe Blackie!

• Duabah 9 years ago

Thank goodness we offloaded another unproductive,whining sissy like you.
    Go and sponge off the english,they deserve people like you.

• Kk3 9 years ago

Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, non but our own selves can free our own minds....BM

• FACT 9 years ago

BUSIA CONSPIRED WITH THE WEST TO TOPPLE NKRUMAH. THEN, THEY CHANGED THE STRUCTURE OF OUR ECONOMY TO MAKE IT PROFOUNDLY RELIANT ON THE WEST BECAUSE NKRUMAH BUILT A SELF-RELIANCE ECONOMY LESS RELIANT ON THE WEST. SO, THE WEST A ...

• AAA 9 years ago

Good Talking

• Ritewing 9 years ago

Fact,be factual, tell the specific things that Busia did to change our economy to make it profoundly reliant on the West.
    And what do you mean when you say Nkrumah built a self reliant economy.
    If we have not done well as ...

• FACT 9 years ago

IN THE DAYS OF NKRUMAH, WE PROCESSED OUR RAW MATERIALS LOCALLY AND THIS APPROACH CREATED EMPLOYMENT AT HOME AND THEREFORE GHANAIANS STAYED MORE AT HOME AND OUR BALANCE OF PAYMENTS POSITION WAS RELATIVELY POSITIVE.

BUSIA A ...

• Okunit 9 years ago

And that is the simple truth.The basis of today's woes.
    Until we return to that plan.we will just bitch like little girls and nothing will change but get worse for the average Ghanaian .

• Ritewing 9 years ago

Kindly name the local raw materials which were processed locally for export. You may be right that Ghanaians stayed at home and did not travel out much. But I doubt your take on the balance of payment position in the last yea ...

• KK Zurich 9 years ago

Our problem has to do with our mentality.
    The decadence in our society stems from our individual families. What do we value? Easy money through stealing or white collar crimes? Do we value hard work with dignity? Are we alw ...

• DD 9 years ago

We are the most foolish people in Africa. Let us talk about the problem than pointing fingers on others. Whatever the problem is, lets face it rather than blaming NDC or NPP. We are ourselves to blame. Let fix it and we know ...

• HAZOR 9 years ago

This phrase is absolutely correct we should blame ourselves for our underdevelopment because we refuse to honor wise counselling from the Bible,the entire chapter of Matthew 7 and the parable of the fig tree as a call to depo ...

• Kofi kwame 9 years ago

In Ghana ,Top Highest Govts do not go Prison that is why,But if you can amend the Already Corrupted laws,of which gave free ways to loot the nation while holding any position in Government business Ghana shall see no Corrupt ...

• Jojo 9 years ago

OPAYIN ASANTE.

WE CLAIM TO HAVE ''ABUNDANT BUMAN RESOURCE''' WHY ARE THEY NOT IN THE POSITION TO INNOVATE AND TO TURN THE WHEELS OF INDUSTRIALIZATION IN GHANA.

UNLESS, THERE IS A PRESSURE ON THE SO CALLED NOISY EDUCATED ...

• Kissi 9 years ago

Please get it right and call a spade a spade.

• BB Brown 9 years ago

Though I have not read this book yet I would still endorse my recommendation for such a book for we need such a book to first give todays politicians who can not connect the past and move the present towards achieving any goa ...

• Blackman 9 years ago

HOW CAN WE DEVELOP WHEN OUR POLITICIANS IN COLLABORATION WITH THEIR GOVERNMENT COUNTERPART PAY JUDGEMENT DEBT TO EACH OTHER WHEN THE ORDINARY CITIZENS CANNOT EVEN HAVE A 3 SQUARE MEALS IN A DAY

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

EGYA OPAYIN ASANTE.

PLEASE IT IS NOT BECAUSE OF POOR PLANNING- IT IS BECAUSE THE EDUCATED IN GHANA STILL REMAIN ''UNCONVINCED'' OF THE IMPORTANCE OF SCIENTFIC INNOVATION IN CREATING ECONOMIC GROWTH, EMPLOYMENT, INCOME, DOM ...

• SHAKARA 9 years ago

OUR PROBLEMS ARE CORRUPTION, MISMANAGEMENT, POOR PLANNING.NOT UNTIL WE ARE ABLE TO ADDRESS THESE PROBLEMS WE WILL FOREVER REMAIN BACKWARD.ALL OUR RESOURCES ARE MISMANAGED, THROUGH PAYMENTS OF UNNECESSARY JUDGEMENT DEBTS.
    A C ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

Father Ghana gave us the plot.. we should stop rebelling and go back to it

• Odasanii 9 years ago

Although it is no longer important, I would like to know the real date of birth of our first President.
    Officially, he was born on 21 September 1909 which was a TUESDAY (Kwabena). However he is said to have been named Franci ...