This attitude was exactly what Liz Ohene referred to as Dzimakpla. The man is an asshole, a murderer, a stack illiterate idiot
PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago
AUTHOR: EBO QUANSAH---------------Dear reader, forgive me for diverting from the topic I promised yesterday. I have been compelled by Jerry Rawlings’ outburst in Nigeria about corruption, as if he himself is a saint. I am compelled to do this expose on the former junta head for those who do not know his role in promoting corruption as a national concept. Read on!
In June 1979, eight top military officers, including three former heads of state, were lined up and executed at the Teshie Military Firing range in two batches. Gen. Ignatius Kutu Acheampong, Gen. Frederick William Kwasi Akuffo, Gen. Robert Kotei, Lt-Gen. Akwasi Amankwaa Afrifa, Rear Admiral Joy Amedume, Air Vice-Marshall George Yaw Boakye, Emmanuel K. Utuka and Colonel Roger Felli were accused of corrupting the body politic.
In an interview with New Nation, a monthly magazine circulating in Nigeria and now defunct, the Chairman of the Armed Forces Revolutionary Council, which supervised over the most famous case of extra-judicial killings in the history of the political evolution of Ghana, justified the action of his military junta as a necessary action to rid the body politic of corruption.
“They were jumbo-sized armed robbers whose killings left the world smelling nicer,” Flt-Lt. Rawlings was quoted by the magazine as saying in explanation.
Jerry Rawlings said the officers had to be killed, “because Ghana was faced with their type of thievery breed of criminals who were worse than Nigeria’s armed robbers” in the 1970s.
“Now, I’ll tell you what we have here. We have a breed that is, perhaps, worse than your armed robbers,” he told reporters of the New Nation in an exclusive interview. “They are the pen robbers. These species of vermin have for long perpetrated corruption with impunity.
“They have not only bled the nation white, but as a result of their thievery, Ghana has suffered hunger, loss of national spirit, loss of pride and respect in the military uniform. So, as you can see, while Nigerians have perceived their main social problems to be the proliferation of six Naira armed robbers, we, in Ghana, think that our problem is that of people who take widow’s mite from a bankrupt nation.”
In the words of the ex-junta head: “While you (Nigeria) content yourself at the Bar Beach by watching the executions of mal-adjusted labourers, mechanics or clerks, we in Ghana, have killed the jumbo armed robbers, call them generals or brigadiers – whose going to leave the world smelling sweeter.”
One interesting thing about this claim is that Jerry Rawlings and his righteous AFRC members could not account for monies lodged in AFRC Account 48, which was specially created to lodge huge monies paid by businessmen and other persons and institutions found guilty by a so-called people court to have corrupted the system. Monies from seized goods auctioned to the public at so-called control prices were also lodged in the account.
When President Hilla Limann took power after the AFRC had left the scene on September 24, 1979, the new Head of State complained that there was nothing in the coffers, insinuating that the famous Account 48 could not be traced.
When Flt-Lt. Rawlings, who had refused to accept the new government’s offer to go on course abroad, was questioned on the disappearance of the huge lodgings in the account, he replied that he was not an accountant. Incidentally, the fate of PNDC Account 48, established by the second junta led by the same person, has not been accounted for as you read this piece.
One of the most interesting developments in Ghana’s political evolution was the decision to abolish the General Certificate of Examinations -Ordinary and Advanced levels- by the Provisional National Defence Council. The main reason given was that the old educational system had favoured only the children of the elite class.
At a time ordinary folks of the land were enrolling their children in what became known as the Junior and Senior Secondary schools, whose certificates -BECE and SCCE- were not recognised beyond the four corners of the country, Jerry Rawlings enrolled his children at the expensive Ghana International School in Accra to read subjects that qualified them to sit for the GCE Ordinary and the Advanced levels his PNDC administration had prohibited the mass of Ghanaian children from.
I do not believe corruption is only putting state money in one’s pocket. Exploiting state resources for one’s advantage could even be a worse form of corruption. That is why I have an axe to grind with Jerry Rawlings for enrolling all his children abroad to study with the GCE Ordinary and Advanced levels, acquired outside the formal sector in the country.
What I call Jerry’s Stupid Schools has debased education up to the tertiary level, where lottery numbers, other than real academic work, determines qualification at the first degree level.
To add insult to injury, when asked to tell Ghanaians how he was funding the education of all the three children -Ezanator, YaaAsantewaa and Kimathi- in expensive universities in Britain and Ireland, Jerry Rawlings looked at Ghanaians in the face and answered that unknown benefactors were picking up the bills for their fees.
The Almighty is a kind Lord. It emerged that companies the state of Ghana was dealing with and which were milking Ghana dry, were picking up the bills of Jerry Rawlings’ children. And such a person has the audacity to complain about leaders being corrupt.
I dare state that corruption was elevated into an art under Jerry Rawlings. The circumstances under which he transformed himself from a military dictator into a civil constitutional President smells of corruption all the way to the Castle.
After eleven and a half years of the ‘Gospel According to Jerry Rawlings,’ a period he himself identified as the ‘culture of silence’, Jerry Rawlings and those who claim to believe in him used the resources of state to convert his military oligarchy and the entire governance system into a political party. With the Electoral Commission and the entire process under his thumb, Jerry Rawlings exchanged his military garb for a description as Constitutional President of the Republic of Ghana. God Almighty should remain where he is.
The eight year administration he led, as Constitutional President of this Republic, eulogised corruption as a state-sponsored event. State asserts were transferred to cronies under the guise of divestiture. As you read this piece, Nsawam Cannery, one of the flagship projects of the now defunct Ghana Industrial Holding Corporation, belongs to Caridem, a company floated by Mrs. Rawlings’ 31st December Women’s Movement, in a purchasing agreement that parceled the company to Caridem for a pittance.
Under the Government of the National Democratic Congress Mark One, corruption festered on a large scale. It would take volumes to chronicle corruption under the NDC. But four prominent issues stand out. Getting to the end of the first term of office, newspapers that had been freed from the bondage of the culture of silence began chronicling evidence of corrupt deals by leading members of the regime.
In 1996, the Commission for Human Rights and Administrative Justice investigated one matter and established massive corrupt deals against Ibrahim Adam, then Minister of Agriculture, Colonel E.M. Osei Owusu, a former Minister of the Interior, P.V. Obeng, a Presidential Staffer, and Dr. Adjei Marfo, a Chief Executive Officer of a state-run company.
Instead of prosecuting them, the Government of Saint Rawlings rather issued a While Paper exonerating the corrupt elements, and rather indicted the media for highlighting the issue.
In Britain, Mabey and Johnson was prosecuted not too long ago for corruptly influencing Ghanaian politicians between 1994 and 1999 to gain bridge contracts, The news in these contracts is that barely one year after completing two bridges in Ghana, including one over River Oti, the Ghana Government had to contract experts from Britain to repair them as they threatened to cave in.
In 2002, the former Managing Director of Ghana Rubber Estates Limited, Mr. Etienne Arthur Marie Popeler, told an Accra Fast Track High Court that he gave millions of dollars to Mr. Dan Abodakpi, then Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Ms. Shirley Ayittey, then Treasurer of the 31st December Women’s Movement, in bribes before his French company, SIPH, could secure GREL.
The case of Ms. Cotton, an unemployed American, secured $20 million of scarce state cash from compromised state officials, ostensibly to grow rice for Ghanaians at Aveyime in the Battor area of the Volta Region. Even when Ghana’s Ambassador to the United States had sent a warning letter about the background of Ms. Cotton, and intimating that she was incapable of undertaking the task, state officials paid the money. As it turned out, the main motivating factor was the cut they all stood to make.
If corruption is endemic in the body politic after the so-called June 4, uprising, the genesis could be traced to Jerry Rawlings who executed eight Ghanaians officials on unproven trivial charges, and out-doored full- blown corruption as a state policy.
In other exposé next week, I intend to draw the link between the free for all looting that assails the body politic in the Mills-Mahama regime, and the adventure of Jerry John Rawlings as Head of State of this Republic. I shall return!
moyo 11 years ago
The economy woes in Ghana was/is created by NPP to sabotage the govt in power. When it came to finding solution to the problems , they once again refused to take part in solving the problem. Ghsnaians should never allow NPP back to power.
seth CALL 07737190496 11 years ago
moyo tell the ex.president rawlings to account for the 50 cedis note he collected and also account for A.F.R.C account 48 please.
G.G. LAWRENCE 11 years ago
Don't mind that BASTARD(fatherless)J.J. Rawlings, son of an "ASHAWO EWE WOMAN"
insight to the bone 11 years ago
Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the Israelis we are the chosen people of God and he in his great design has made us diverse but unified in spirit. the ashantis like the tribe of Judah are and will remain an integral part of our being to to attack any one part we all end up feeling it sooner or later. they have succeed in turning some of our chiefs and kings against us and work for their evil ungodly agenda but we still see clearly . God has brought us into the 21st century and with that a new system of governance and state of mind based on democracy since it is HE alone who blesses the individuals with the gift of leadership wisdom and justice irrespective of status at birth. he has shown us the blue print of the way forward in the bible and other holy books and the time has come to free ourselves from this man made bondage called Ghana. just as in the Ukraine we must fight so the truth will come out , fear not the battle as they will crumble like the walls of Jericho . cast away our so called fake leaders and politicians who are nothing but cowards and like our enemies fear even their own shadows . yes God has put a million fears in their empty bodies as he who does not fear the Lord , the Lord will ensure all fears of the world will reside in him. They threaten us with superstition , juju and what have you and we say fuck you and go to hell as the divine power is with us . Yes all the tribes of Akan are fingers on the same hands and God has ordained we remain united so our strength and light will be visible throughout the whole world and universe , our time has come . everyday its becoming clearer and clearer to all children of Akan that we must prepare mentally for a battle of freedom . they come with tricks that say we must take a non Akan as our leader because its nice ? do they not think that out of 30 million Akans we can not find sensible down to earth leaders and warriors to lead our own people to our own destiny? a govt of the people and by the people is what the 21st century democracy is all about . let them continue to play with the consensus and other figures that justify their fantasy and enable them to marginalize the participation of the Akan majority in the Affairs of their own land , to marginalize us thus preventing us to afford a better standard for our people . The had of God has given them pestilence after pestilence but they refuse to let our people go , soon they will be swept away like chaff in the hurricane of fury . Long live the republic of Akan and don't you forget it as now the Fanti speakers, Twi speakers, Ashantis and other tribes of Akan are now one .
KB,LONDON 11 years ago
In fact, Rawlings makes me sick! What does he know? In an attempt to say something about the economy, he has exposed his stupid ignorance. Even a fool, when quiet is considered, wise person. Oh, Rawlings. If not for the help of the gun, where on earth would you be considered a president?
NDC foot soldier 11 years ago
Obviously
Obviously
DR KUFFOUR 11 years ago
Mr Manu, after all said and done, just answerMr Rawlings question. What happen to the old currency? By doing so, most Ghanains will do as you say. ' Not to listen to Rawlings' Untill that is done, Rawlings will not stop. Simple!!!
kwesi 11 years ago
JUST SPEAK TO THE ISSUE RATHER THAN BEATING ABOUT THE BUSH, MR MANU.
KOO 11 years ago
Why do you need any explanation of what happened to the old currency?.The old currency circulated with the new ones until all end up at the Central Bank to be destroyed.If Jerry Rawlings does not know this simple arrangement then he is naïve.Who had enough space to keep all the tons of old Cedis?.Jerry is thriving on propaganda and it will not help him.
DR KUFFOUR 11 years ago
Mr KOO, that is what happens in the really world where nations and goverments are run by sensible and decent poeple. In the case of Ghana's currency change in 2007, it was completely done by crooks and in a way not single old currency note went back to the central bank of Ghana. So therefore the question by the likes of Rawlings. Mr Manu, Pls can you answer the simple question?
JC 11 years ago
Even 'O' Level he could not pass and he wants to compare himself to Former President Kuffuor.
Kwabena Danso,Gbawe-Accra 11 years ago
Rawlings assertion is very true but just that the outcome did not fall on the NPP you will look at it as if the mess has been created by the NDC
Nana akwasi boachie 11 years ago
Agya Danso, note that Rawlings has never taunted his educational prowess even though he was good at what he decided to do and trained in-as a Pilot. He excelled in his discipline of choice. However, what of your leaders/ The former and the latter- Kuffour and Akuffo Addo both claims to be Lawyers. Do you say astute Lawyers/ whilst we cannot still trace the certificate of the latter, the former never practiced as a lawyer at all and has nothing to tell or show. Wise Ghanaians know that the academic prowess of your two leaders are all political gimmicks. So don't you guys (NPP) talk about Education. Rawlings was and is a Man in his chosen field.
Joeman 11 years ago
JJ, the human saint did nothing? You are a joker who deserves no attention from any rational Ghanaian. Jerry electricity to the entire north and UDS
Tettey 11 years ago
These are the things who were in parliament! Rawlings diverting attention from what? Is Rawling the president of this country,for which reasons he will divert attentions from what is happening? What type of genes are you people made of? Hey man! Listen to your fucking self, if the stupid you are churning out is reasonable! You people are genetically curse. Nonsense and stupid! Rawlings diverting attentions for what and on what? Stupid nonsense. A dirty wee smoker like you.
pj 11 years ago
if he can tell me something about the effect of redomination and tell wasnt any other means to solve that issue than redomintion of the cedi if he is a good economist he should have adivice kufour who does not know what he was doing to refraine from doing that.i see he is not good to hold that office
BALO 11 years ago
Rawlings speaks every June 4.Mr.kwaku Agyeman must revise his comments.
KOFI 11 years ago
Don't worry, just ask Rawlings what he did with the five Cedi notes he collect from the people of this country when he was in power. His was not re-denomination he collected peoples money and did not account to anybody.He is a criminal
Zangina 11 years ago
Everybody agrees that Rawlings is clueless with nothing in the head so anybody who sees sense in what he says is even more clueless. Guys ignore this guy and lets go on with our Wahala economy created by his sons and daughters.
KOMOO FRANCE. 11 years ago
Could someone please tell me where sgt. Akata Pore of AFRC is?
DR KUFFOUR 11 years ago
Mr, come to London and you can see Akata Pore live and well.
KOOBAAH. 11 years ago
AGYEMAN MANU SHAME UNTO YOU,YOU ARE SAYING RAWLINGS DID NOTHING FOR GHANA.WHAT DID YOUR DULL AND TIMID KUFUOR DID FOR GHANA?KUFUOR ONLY CAME AND USED OUR MONEY/HE BOUGHT HOTELS FOR HISSON /BUILT SUPER MARKET FOR HIS DAUGHTER/USED OUR MONEY TO MARRY AN ARAB WOMAN :THE MOTHER OF THE TWIN CHIDREN:YUO AGYEMAN MANU,DURING THE/YOUR SOCALLED REDENOMINATION EXERCISE YOU GOT THE CHANCE TO STEAL TWO ANTO BAGS FULL OF GHANA CURRENCY NOTES FOR YOUR POLITICAL CAMPAIGN TO WIN 2008 DORMAA PARLIAMENTRY SEAT.
YOU THIEF AGYEMANG MANU DO NOT HATE RAWLINGS AND DISGRACE HIM.IWANT TELL YOU THAT WE DONT HAVE UNTOUCHABLES IN GHANA,WE ARE NOT IN INDIA.ANY TIME/ANYTIME SOMEONE CRITICIZES KUFUOR,S MISDEEDS YOU INSULT HIM OR HER.WHAT KIND OF INSULTS DIDN,T GIVE TO RAWLINGS WHILE HE RAWLINGS WAS IN OFFICE?EVEN HE BANNED RAWLINGS FROM BURMA CAMP WHEN HE VISITED FRIENDS THERE,FEARING RAWLINGS WOULD OVERTHROW HIS GOVERNMENT.
KUFOUR HAS SAVED MONIES THROUGHOUT ALL THE WESTERN COUNTRIES,THIS WAS REVEALED BY HIS ARAB WIFE/ BECAUSE OF THIS HE DID NOT GIVE HER A VISA TO GHAN TO EXPOSE HIS SECRETS.
AGYEMANG MANU IF YOU READ THIS INEED YOUR REPLY.YOU THIEF.NB.1.YOU.2.DIDN,T HE GIVE TO RAWLINGS?4.I NEED YOUR REPLY.THIS HOW YOU ARE.NPP CRIMINALS.:KOOBAAH:
mensa 11 years ago
This Kwaku Agyeman Manu is tooo partisan.... aaaaah why!!!
AUTHOR: EBO QUANSAH---------------Dear reader, forgive me for diverting from the topic I promised yesterday. I have been compelled by Jerry Rawlings’ outburst in Nigeria about corruption, as if he himself is a saint. I am c ...
The economy woes in Ghana was/is created by NPP to sabotage the govt in power. When it came to finding solution to the problems , they once again refused to take part in solving the problem. Ghsnaians should never allow NPP b ...
Nobody can hide the light and true destiny of the great nation of Akan. they use all kinds of schemes and tricks to undermine or deny a proper standard to us but we shall never surrender. we shall change and adapt as like the ...
In fact, Rawlings makes me sick! What does he know? In an attempt to say something about the economy, he has exposed his stupid ignorance. Even a fool, when quiet is considered, wise person. Oh, Rawlings. If not for the help ...
Obviously
Mr Manu, after all said and done, just answerMr Rawlings question. What happen to the old currency? By doing so, most Ghanains will do as you say. ' Not to listen to Rawlings' Untill that is done, Rawlings will not stop. Simp ...
Why do you need any explanation of what happened to the old currency?.The old currency circulated with the new ones until all end up at the Central Bank to be destroyed.If Jerry Rawlings does not know this simple arrangement ...
Mr KOO, that is what happens in the really world where nations and goverments are run by sensible and decent poeple. In the case of Ghana's currency change in 2007, it was completely done by crooks and in a way not single ol ...
Agya Danso, note that Rawlings has never taunted his educational prowess even though he was good at what he decided to do and trained in-as a Pilot. He excelled in his discipline of choice. However, what of your leaders/ The ...
These are the things who were in parliament! Rawlings diverting attention from what? Is Rawling the president of this country,for which reasons he will divert attentions from what is happening? What type of genes are you peop ...
if he can tell me something about the effect of redomination and tell wasnt any other means to solve that issue than redomintion of the cedi if he is a good economist he should have adivice kufour who does not know what he wa ...
Don't worry, just ask Rawlings what he did with the five Cedi notes he collect from the people of this country when he was in power. His was not re-denomination he collected peoples money and did not account to anybody.He is ...
Everybody agrees that Rawlings is clueless with nothing in the head so anybody who sees sense in what he says is even more clueless. Guys ignore this guy and lets go on with our Wahala economy created by his sons and daughter ...
AGYEMAN MANU SHAME UNTO YOU,YOU ARE SAYING RAWLINGS DID NOTHING FOR GHANA.WHAT DID YOUR DULL AND TIMID KUFUOR DID FOR GHANA?KUFUOR ONLY CAME AND USED OUR MONEY/HE BOUGHT HOTELS FOR HISSON /BUILT SUPER MARKET FOR HIS DAUGHTER/ ...
No further comments!