You are here: HomeNews2014 06 04Article 311552

Economic Crisis: 2014 could become worse - Prof. Botchwey

Read Comments Comments (44)

• CANNY 9 years ago

IT IS SO EVERYWHERE IN THE WORLD

• CANNY 9 years ago

SPAIN; PORTUGAL; ITALY; TUNISIEN; EYGPT; NIGERIA ALL ARE FACING THIS PROBLEM

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

Essentially Kwesi Botchway trained as a lawyer and is not an economist. Why do we have so many people in government doing things they were not trained to do ? Isn't that the cause of this mess we are in ?

• Objective Adancorata 9 years ago

Better Ghana Agenda in Economic mess! I de bee Ke3 Ke3

• CANNY 9 years ago

KUFOOUR MUST BE BLAME TOO FOR SETTING GHANA ON FIRE BEFORE RUNNING AWAY

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

corruption is encouraged at the highest office of the land , the mahamas are now in less than 2 years the richest family in Ghana worth over 3 billion dollars / euros according to Forbes . not until we organize a proper revol ...

• Mawuli 9 years ago

Canny or whatever you choose to call yourself, just get off this stupid propaganda bandwagon and bit the bullet and accept the undisputable fact that your uselss NDC has nothing good to offer Ghana and that they areincompeten ...

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Is it not the long term Senchi was trying to achieve You na Bawumia offer no solutions but regurgitate the problems. NPP an NDC are the same Bring in CPP and we will show you

• Gyan. Spain 9 years ago

YOU LIE BAD; COME TO SPAIN AND SEE WHOM THEY ARE BLAMING; THEY ARE BLAMING PASS GOVT WHO TOOK THEM TO JOIN EU CURRENCY BUT NOT THE CURRENT GOVT: THE ONE WHO ACCEPTED TO JOIN EURO CURRENCY BROUGHT ABOUT ALL THESE MESSED IN SPA ...

• HONEST CITIZEN 9 years ago

Prof. Boctwey's lecture has come a bit late. Honest comments after Dr. Bawumia's own could have prevented the gathering at Senchi and prevented the spending at that gathering. The conclusion of the two lectures is the same. G ...

KUFFOUR NEW THAT; SUCH A TIME WILL COME SO HE DID NOT WANT NPP TO INHERATE SUCH PROBLEMS; SO HE SUPPORTED NDC TO WIN: NPP MUST SAY THANKS TO KUFFOUR

• MAHAMA - DOING MY JOB 9 years ago

CANNY YOU JUST A STUPID CRIMINAL . YOU BLAME WORLD ECONOMY JUST TO SAVE NDC POOR JOB AND TURN AROUND TO BLAME KUFUOR ADMINISTRATION THAT IS GONE FROM POWER 5 YEARS AGO . THE ARTICLE IS ABOUT THE CURRENT NDC ADMINISTRATION .

• mother 9 years ago

spain and portugal are facing the same shit

So Spain and Portugal are the whole world? How did we suddenly move from the fastest-growing economy in the world to a reverse gear?

• kwadzo - germany 9 years ago

botchwey is a member of the governmrnt's economic management team and the chairman of ghana gas. if the economy is not doing well, it means he and his colleagues on the economic management team has failed and should be fired. ...

• Samini 9 years ago

it probably means the gov is not listening due to their inadequate grasp of economics

• KIKI 9 years ago

THE EXCUSE NDC ALWAYS GIVE IS THAT ITS THE SAME EVERYWHERE & FOOLS LIKE CANNY WILL BELIEVE.. GHANA'S ECONOMIC HARDSHIP IS SELF-INFLICTED BY THIS CORRUPT GOVT..

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

If all the countries he mentioned are going through the same problems then why are Africans risking their lives and lifetime savings to go there? Clowns like him refuse to accept the fact that the corrupt NDC led Ghana into t ...

you lie, all those risking do not know what they are going to face there. there is no employment going on in portugal and spain at the moment, all of them runs to germany ,uk and france for their dailly food.

• Kotoua Selira 9 years ago

When Prof. Kwesi Botchwey was the minister of economics in Ghana during Rawlings time, I can still remember those years as a kid but I knew what economics was all about. They was a hyperinflation in the country and at a certa ...

• gifty 9 years ago

NDC FIX THE ECONOMY. WE ARE SUFFERING THIS IS TOO BAD

• FOYOOSIS 9 years ago

Most of these Ghanaian leaders went to school only to learn how to amass wealth at the expense of the taxpayer and the poor citizenry.

With their chains of degrees, they were and have always been non-innovative.

• GO 9 years ago

READY TO HELP. STOP THE LOOT AND SHARE BUSINESS. AND IT SHALL BE WELL

• DaDa K 9 years ago

So with this analogy Doc, what should Ghanaians expect in the next two and a half years of NDC's continuous stay in power. Do you think your own party deserve to be in power and continue to push Ghanaian masses into such a de ...

• Robin Hood 9 years ago

If renowned Economists and seasoned bankers are all unhappy with the state of the economy, what makes Kofi Wampah to remain at his post? He is simply incompetent, just like his colleague at the Ministry of Finance, Seth Terkp ...

• Kanta 9 years ago

Fifi Kwetey has been shamed! Dr. Bawumia vindicated!

Can he (kwetey) read Botchwy's comments below.

Prof. Botchwey, on Tuesday evening, said he did not plan to dispute the claims made by Dr. Bawumia.

"I offer no rebu ...

• Fifi Kwetey 9 years ago

Prof. Botchwey, on Tuesday evening, said he did not plan to dispute the claims made by Dr. Bawumia.

"I offer no rebuttals. I do agree with much of what he said," he sai

“I’ll like to repeat without exaggeration that ...

• T. Afrimie 9 years ago

Prophets were talking and thieves and liars were insulting. God should have mercy!

• OWEN.NEW YORK. 9 years ago

They called Bawumia names and insulted him for telling the truth. Fifi Kwotey was the guy who insulted him more than any Ghanaian. Dr Bawumia's crime was, for alerting the government their way of spending, the financial indi ...

• JC 9 years ago

Subsequent events after Independence has proved that ''the Black man is NOT capable of managing his own affairs!!!!

• WALI 9 years ago

OR WE ALL GOING TO STARVE HERE IN GHANA SOON

• Akumasi 9 years ago

w

• Prosper Yao Agbeko-0243719972 9 years ago

Ghanaian's are extremely tired of hearing this sermons on the economy. Why won't you suggest solutions to end this crisis without been paid if you are a patriotic citizens of Ghana. Will you have to come to government to put ...

• Paa Kofi 9 years ago

if Dr. Botchway agrees with the central theme of Dr. Bawumia then what sort of academics rubbished Dr Bawumias assertion

• Akpokavi 9 years ago

he stole monies from the state too. the biggest thief in finance.

• ANANE 9 years ago

I have predicted many times that it will not be long those who are amassing wealth by corruption at the expense of the poor will be running out Ghana leaving their shoes behind very soon. The doom day is inevitable.

• Pontius Pilate 9 years ago

we need to radically change our approach to economic management. our piece meal approach is not yielding the desired results. when you spread resources thinly, you don't see any significant impact.

it is about time we sacr ...

• KWAME NYAME,MIAMI-FLORIDA,USA 9 years ago

KWESI BOTCHWAY WAS JUST A SQUARED PEG IN ROUND HOLE.LITTLE WONDER HE STARTED MESSING UP GHANA,S ECONOMY FROM HIS TIME.HE SHOULD SHUT UP AND LET GHANAIANS REST ELSE VERY SOON,WE WILL COME FOR HIM.WHY SHOULD A LAWYER BE APPOINT ...

• TEE 9 years ago

PERIOD,GHANA WILL BE BETTER OFF WITHOUT

• Ernest London 9 years ago

How did those bags stock with full of monies ended under the same Kwasi Botwheys bed in his house during the time he was a finance minister in the Rawllings government. He should be ashamed and count himself very corrupt
    t ...

• POSSIBLE 9 years ago

Any comments or condemnation from Felix kwasea ofosu and fifi kwettey on this Prof Botchwey's findings and opinion? Hope these cockroaches, naughty combustible materials will learn and follow events in the country,refrain fro ...

• Boss 9 years ago

Look at him too.You made your money from Ghana politics, you were missing and low want to come back and stir up the waters. You are all evil.

• Whatever 9 years ago

When Kwesi Botwe then finance minister, followed the IMF and the World Bank in their reckless path to devalue the cedi 20,000 times by 1990, how was he expecting the Ghanaian economy to stand? You came and wrecked the cedi fo ...

• GBEVU 9 years ago

PEACEFMONLINE PLEASE HE DID NOT AGREE ON EVERYTHING BAWUMIA SAID,PLEASE REPORT ACCURATELY.