Statement: National Economic Forum: The Senchi Consensus

Read Comments Comments (60)

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 11 years ago

Of course we need to see the full report to make comment as many areas of concern are not included in this report. Typically among them is how all the gargantuan payments to individuals and companies who did not perform any w ...

• Acquaye 11 years ago

Mahama Invited too many people. Only the economic brains should have been there. Most of these people went there as onlookers. About 10 strong economists could have held this meeting successfully

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 11 years ago

Isn't these idiots claiming the country is for them? So where are they now? They don't have to go and contribute, they can go and seat down and fold their arms without offering any constructive idea to solve the current econo ...

• ODURO 11 years ago

Npp is smart .They smelt a rat and so did not show up.

• Sloth 11 years ago

So the report and acting on it are obviously not a priority. When is the GYEEDA report arriving?

• GHFUO, MALLAM MAHAMA BB! 11 years ago

LOOK, IF THE DEMOCRATS IN THE US/THE CONSERVATIVES IN CANADA CALL AN ECONOMIC FORUM. DO YOU THINK THE OPPOSITION WILL SHOW UP? I DOINT UNDERSTAND WHY PPL ARE CHASTIZING THE NPP FOR BOYCOTTING. THE NDC WANTED TO BE THE CHIEF C ...

• cosmastaATyahoo.com 11 years ago

The National Economic Forum (NEF) has been a disappointment because there wasn't broad
    discussions and consultations before the event. Why was such an event not published in papers
    with an e-mail address for the public's ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

Lets face it, all these ashawo journalists and media realized after peddling the propaganda and lies of the NDC that the people immediately saw through them and stopped buying their newspapers or listening to their radio st ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

What is new from Senchi??????? NPP was more than justified for boycotting the NEF. It took 400 NDC brains 3 days to come out with these home grown solutions to Mahama's economic mess??????????? Dr Bawumia too just 3 hours to ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

Mahama created the mess and must fix it alone. It took 400 NDC brains 3 days to come out with these home grown solutions to Mahama's economic mess??????????? Dr Bawumia too just 3 hours to diagnose and provided practical solu ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

Mahama=focusless. It took 400 NDC brains 3 days to come out with these home grown solutions to Mahama's economic mess??????????? Dr Bawumia took just 3 hours not even a day to diagnose and provided practical solutions to Maha ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

Mahama=directionless. Mahama=focusless. It took 400 NDC brains 3 days to come out with these home grown solutions to Mahama's economic mess??????????? Dr Bawumia took just 3 hours not even a day to diagnose and provided pract ...

• Close Observer 11 years ago

Thief. Amasa Namoale Thief. Your personal interest in politics is not everyone's interest if you care to know. If another person in politics poses a threat to your present position, it is up to YOU and your GOVERNMENT to work ...

• Ofori 11 years ago

Yes too many people at the forum. Most of them had nothing to offer.

• The mask 11 years ago

We need a progressive policy. All adverts in Ghana must be created by wholly owned Ghanaian businesses and the songs and celebrities in the adverts must be wholly Ghanaian. The celebrities and musicians must receive royalties ...

• akonoba 11 years ago

You go to a forum and state what the constitution says?????????????? It took 400 NDC brains 3 days to come out with these home grown solutions to Mahama's economic mess??????????? Dr Bawumia too just 3 hours to diagnose and p ...

• Chief Naba 11 years ago

There is nothing in the Senchi Consensus that we have not hear before. The national forum failed to realised that it's the framework of our current development that is the programme. The Senchi forum failed proposed a paradig ...

• Antiochus - London 11 years ago

Mahama and his cronies should cease siphoning monies from the state coffers.

• Ghandi 11 years ago

This is a serious economic situation facing the nation. JJ CAN'T HELP. WHY WAS HE INVITED?

• Wiafe 11 years ago

There is nothing in the consensus that will radically change the downward spiral of the economy.

What Ghana needs is a law that will restrict ministers or managers in the public sector from spending above their budgetary a ...

• The Great Americano 11 years ago

If state interest supersedes any other interest why did you guys pay that huge money to woyome? Hypocrites JJ rawlings and his ndc crooks

• Kwaku Azar 11 years ago

Tweaaaaa

• Abu 11 years ago

These are not solutions to stabilize the cedi. This statement reads like someone's Political Manifesto

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Azar, I almost laughed when I read the 22 point Consensus. First, these are not new and second some are too general. For example, point one is actually in the Constitution and no one needs reminding. What is the practice when ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

We cannot always depend on export of raw materials because the market is never stable.What you sell or buy for £1 today may change in some few hours thus rendering the economy into vicious circle.If you diversify your econom ...

• fabulous 11 years ago

we need more of such, please lets unite for there is only one Ghana flag. Reserve politics to election years, after elections, there is only one Ghana

Fabulous, just copy and paste the link below in your browser and see what happened at the economic forum. I think they went for sleeping competition - were they really serious? ...www.scontent-b-cdg.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2 ...

• FORUM 11 years ago

The Mahama NDC gov't has proven again that it is the most wasteful, visionless, highly incompetent and most propagandist party ever to have ruled Ghana.

• j.b 11 years ago

The country do not need development agenda what we need is the Mahama NDC government to stop making new promises construction of 200 new schools shoes without money as contractors are not been paid stop create loot and share ...

Copy and paste the following link in your browsers to see what happened at the just ended economic forum. I think they were there for sleeping competition. If those upfront were in this situation, guess about novices like Raw ...

• AKUAMAHAMA 11 years ago

No wonder we have national disaster on our hands. Donkornomics riding the back of create, loot and share Mahanomics. It is disaster galore !!!

• Zedd Retep 11 years ago

So it took 300+ people with brains + JJ Rawlings at a cost of over $3m, 3 days to come out with these 22 platitudes!!!

I could have produced these vague exhortations in my bedroom in 3 hours!

We all know the problems of ...

• Harry, Banjul 11 years ago

I appreciate the consensus. There MUST BE IN PLACE A NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT AGENDA for the nation that every political party who comes to power should follow. And this should be long term like Nkrumah's 7-10 years development p ...

Agreed! - Yes we need to craft a 7 year development plan. This can be concretised by the inclusion of ALL political shades of opinion in the National Development Planning Commission headed by a non politician eg Busumuru Kofi ...

• KANE 11 years ago

AGAIN, HERE COMES THE DRAMATIZATION OF THE USELESSNESS OF GHANA'S ENTIRE LEADERSHIP.

THIS COMMUNIQUE NEVER TOUCHED ON THE MAIN REASONS FOR GHANA'S FAILED ECONOMY, I.E. PUNISHING CREATE LOOT
    AND SHARE PUBLIC OFFICERS AND ...

• KANE 11 years ago

NPP BOYCOTTED THIS USELESS ECONOMIC FORUM ORGANISED BY MAHAMA ONLY WHEN HE GOT HIS FAIR SHARE OF THE CREATE LOOT AND SHARE.

THIS USELESS FORUM WAS PRECEDED BY RAWLINGS AND KUFUOR FORUMS, THE
    CONSENSUS OF WHICH NEVER SAW ...

• FRANCIS OWUSU 11 years ago

SO THIS IS WHAT THE TAX PAYERS MONEY WAS USED FOR. GOD SAVE US ALL. IF THOSE IDIOTS AND THIEVES RUNING THE AFFAIRS OF THE NATION DID NOT KNOW ALL THESE THEN THEY HAVE NO BUSINESS. WHAT A WASTE!!!!!!!!!

• FRANCIS OWUSU 11 years ago

WAS THIS AN OVERSIGHT OR DELIBERATE. WHAT IS THE SENSE IN THIS IF ALL THOSE WHO HAVE STOLEN FROM THE STATE COFFERS LEADING THE SORRY OF AFFAIRS ARE NOT MADE TO RETURN THEM. ARISE GHANAIANS. LET THERE BE A REVOLUTION. A PROPE ...

• HAWA 11 years ago

Five people must be blamed for Ghana's woos: WOYOME, BETTY IDDRISSU, PROPAGANDIST IN NDC-ASEIDU NKETIA, KWABENA DUFFOUR and MAHAMA.

• AGYABA 11 years ago

THESE ARE ALL BULSHIT. ALL THESE WERE IN PLACE IN GHANA UNTIL RAWLINGS AND HIS "JEROKOPE MAFIANS" ENTERED OUR POLITICAL LAND SCAPE.

• Ibn Abudu @CANADASHEABUTTER@LOOK.CA 11 years ago

No directives for government & citizenship to stop the galamsey nuisance plaguing the nation, destroying our ecological & topography. The long term effects of toxins in the water systems is cancer , child mortality

• Asampanye 11 years ago

When economics gurus meet without the social scientist they are likely to fail. If there were Development Planners in the NEF then I am disappointed that they failed raise issues Social Cohesion. Our country is polarized by p ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

We don't know how Mahama's administration fell from GDP 14% to 7%,we equally don't know why inflation rate from 9.8% has rocketed to 17%,how the cedi is depriciating everyday.I think these are the issues govt should address.A ...

• USMAN. 11 years ago

We can only develop by going back to basics by finding an effective way to till the land and consume our local healthy products. Any thing besides this is bogus. This is how far our useless university education has brought us ...

In the 1970s there was no Economic Forum with big big english 22 points blah blah blah! Just3 words 'OPERATION FEED YOURSELF' and virtually overnight Ghana changed from an importer to a net exporter of foodstuffs!!! Let' revi ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

Diversify the economy and stop depending on exporting only raw gold,cocoa and oil.Let Agriculture be improved.Thank you.

• Diana 11 years ago

Yaa tia abre

• Imoru 11 years ago

They know all the tricks in the book about how to take power, fair or foul. But have so far demonstrated so precious little success when it comes to running a little economy such as ours because they really don't know how. T ...

• Angelo 11 years ago

I feel really disappointed. All d noise for this. Waste of time and money

• KGD 11 years ago

Ghanaian are real jokers!
    So, is that all those noise about economic forum to secure Ghana's economic?
    These bulletins here could have been put down by the Gov. herself instead of wasting tax payer money for a week. And if ...

• shabo 11 years ago

Interesting when more than 250 of the 400 did not say a word at the forum. Nothing is new in all these statements. Give us the hotel bill.

• Eye zu eyeza 11 years ago

I could have written this in a day at my desk. Nothing knew. I am glad NPP did not attend. Poor Ghana

• Okyeame 11 years ago

I totally agree with Acguaye that a few economists could have been invited for this forum. Nothing meaningful will come from that forum its a waist of time and national resources. If the Mahama hasnt got competent economists ...

• appiah 11 years ago

These people organised a talking shop to waste our money and time.
    Ministers in Ghana should be reduced to 30, and MPs reduced to 140.
    Everybody in Ghana including ministers, military personnel and police should pay for the ...

• amonana 11 years ago

Consensus without pressuring Govt to fight corruption is meaningless and wasteful. Nothing will work efficiently without real effort by the govt to seriously and proactively fight corruption. Actually, I'm not surprise that c ...

• KWAKU GBLOENAWO 11 years ago

What came out of this dialogue. NOTHING!!!
    Did we have to go and camp for three days to again identify our shortcomings?? Does Mahama and his ministers not know that they have to do these things?
    I am ashamed of sympathizin ...

• C C 11 years ago

Ghana as a country has witnessed poor governance over the years and this has being largely due to our lack of courage to fight or eradicate corruption, mismanagement nepotism, favoritism and this is greatly affecting developm ...

• NATHAN ANYIGBANUA 11 years ago

POINTS 15 & 16 OF THE SENCHI CONSENSUS STATE THAT...

15. An investment programme to deal with the energy crisis must be put in place as a matter of urgency in order to propel growth, employment, competitiveness, and macroe ...

• NATHAN ANYIGBANUA 11 years ago

Central Govt transfers to the DACF are not received on time, so how do we talk about monitoring their use.

The point should be that these funds must reach the MMDAs in time so that they can be used at the appropriate time. ...

• LEONARD ARHINFUL 11 years ago

ONE DOES NOT NEED THE FULL REPORT TO CONCLUDE THAT WE ALREADY HAVE AND KNOW THE REMEDIES TO OUR SELF INFLICTED WOES. THE 22 POINTS SUMMARY SPEAK FOR THEMSELVES. WE NEED TO THE OPPORTUNITY COST OF ORGANISING THIS WORKSHOP IN T ...