ISRAEL SETS EXAMPLE - GHANA MUST FOLL 11 years ago
GHANA TO FOLLOW SUIT - THEN AFRICA ???
Jerusalem (CNN) -- Former Prime Minister Ehud Olmert was sentenced Tuesday to six years in prison for taking bribes while mayor of Jerusalem.
Olmert was also fined 1 million shekel ... read full comment
Jerusalem (CNN) -- Former Prime Minister Ehud Olmert was sentenced Tuesday to six years in prison for taking bribes while mayor of Jerusalem.
Olmert was also fined 1 million shekels (about $289,000), Israeli state radio IB reported.
Olmert was convicted in March of receiving about $161,000 in bribes related to a controversial Jerusalem housing project called Holyland. The judge acquitted Olmert on a third count of bribery.
The developer of Holyland, Hillel Cherney, had been previously convicted of bribing Olmert and other high-level officials in exchange for Holyland approvals.
2012: 'Right-wing dollars killed peace' Olmert was mayor of Jerusalem from 1993 to 2003.
Olmert, an attorney who in 1973 became the youngest person ever elected to Israel's parliament, the Knesset, served as prime minister from 2006 to 2009.
He announced his resignation shortly after police recommended corruption charges against him.
In August 2012, he was convicted of breach of trust and acquitted on two corruption-related charges after a trial that lasted nearly three years. He was given a 3-month suspended jail sentenced and fined about $19,000 in that case.
The allegations stemmed from Olmert's time as mayor as well as prime minister. Prosecutors accused him of double-billing government agencies for travel, taking cash from an American businessman in exchange for official favors and acting on behalf of his former law partner's clients.
PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago
GHANA HAS BEEN RAPED BY NDC IDIOTS. WE DO NOT NEED ANY NATIONAL ECONOMIC FORUM, WE NEED A NATIONAL COURT OF JURISDICTION TO PUT MAHAMA AND HIS CABINET ON TRIAL. GHANA'S HOPELESS ECONOMIC SITUATION, TODAY, IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. NDC HAS OVER THE PAST 5 YEARS PRESIDED OVER THE BIGGEST RESOURCES IN OUR HISTORY INCLUDING CRUDE OIL & STEALTH TAXES. THEY HAVE ALSO CONTRACTED THE BIGGEST LOANS IN OUR HISTORY. IF THEY HAVE NOTHING TO SHOW FOR THIS AND THE ECONOMY IS IN SHAMBLES, THEN,THEY MUST BE PROSECUTED. THEY MUST GIVE THE MONEYS BACK TO THE TREASURY. WE DO NOT NEED ANY ECONOMIC FORUM. SET UP A COURT IMMEDIATELY. IT HAPPENED IN THAILAND RECENTLY
Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago
Maham, respect your employers !
We the people of Maaaame/Daaavi Ghana pay the taxes which you receive as salary,so we are your employers.
As your employers, you need to show us some respect, John Mahama !
How dare yo ... read full comment
We the people of Maaaame/Daaavi Ghana pay the taxes which you receive as salary,so we are your employers.
How dare you lie to Ghanaians for the votes and then exact hardships on them only to turn around now to tell us not to be cynical ?
Should we be hopeful under you and your corrupt, inept and visionless govt ?
Komla Agbeshie ( HO ) 11 years ago
This good for nothing president knows how to loot the nation but very lazy to fix the economy.Well done NPP for not attending the NEF.He said @YENTIE OBIAA.Let him and his incompetent ministers fix the economy.
Kojo-Kumasi 11 years ago
This kinda insult makes me feel sad. Blacks as a matter of fact is behaving as if we are different people coming from different planets to form earth. As a matter of fact, we are all aiming towards making the country good for our children. Do you think the president would want to be named the worst president in modern day Ghana ? But I bet you, they way NPP is making Ghana tough, NDC can worsen it if it comes to the turn of the NPP. NDC is not a small political party to play with considering their presence in the legislative house. PLs let us reason for the sake of the future.
JOHN MAHAMA, BEST PRESIDENT IN AFRICA 11 years ago
NANA ADDO TOOK NPP TO A SHRINE. EVIL PARTY
moyo 11 years ago
NPP has nothing to offer the country as they continue to boycott the forum to discuss ideas about the economy. I thought NPP had leaders with no certificates but also have leaders with no ideas. NDC will make the best out of it.
Damien 11 years ago
.....When it comes to nation building all citizens should put their hands to plough, but when it comes to dissipating the nations resources JDM and his cohorts should be left to do that for someone else to stomach the nonsense, abi?
linda 11 years ago
Mind you john mahama,we made our voices heard thru the ballot box,that is if you truly won the elections,its your time to also do your part,didnt you say you can do it and the people gave you their mandate?dont you and your people still take your fat salaries?
2016 will come
somebody papapa 11 years ago
YENTIE OBIAAAAAA HEHEHEHEHEEE NA U DEY CRY PRESIDOOO NOW YOU WANT TO LISTEN EH YENTIE OBIAAA....HOHOHOHOHOAAAAA
8520 11 years ago
THAT WHAT THIS STUPID MAHAMA DO BEST TALK
Alex 11 years ago
This stupid president doesn't know how to talk. Always talking fuzz.
Lorgo Ligri 11 years ago
You don't want us being cynical at all times, and also want our voices heard when it comes to national issues BUT, Mr. President, why do you let your inexperienced raw and insulting babies with sharp teeth always tell us we lack the capacity to judge or even contribute the little that we have when we see things going wrong? Everything we say is wrong and can only be seen the NDC way. Is it that bad you now see it fit to ask for the people's input? May be your so called juvenile ministers that never held a job in their lives before they became ministers have all the answers.
CHRISTIAN 11 years ago
NPP IS "MATE ME HO" AND GYIMI GYIMI PARTY !!!
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 11 years ago
MAHAMA HAD SAID HE WILL NOT LISTEN TO ANYBODY, so don't be fool by insulting anybody.
concern citizen 11 years ago
John, Yen Tie Obiaaaaaa!!!!!. This is the time to fix your mess as a great man. No need for any forum and I support NPP 100% for boycotting such event. You chop alone with family and friends so fix it with the same people.USELESS AND IDIOTS IN POWER.
maa may 11 years ago
it is good for all to put party party
atside
and think of Mother Ghana first as the adage says "Do onto others what you want to be done to you. Today is NDC tomorrow will be NPP so pls. a word to the wise is enough
atside
and think of Mother Ghana first as the adage says "Do onto others what you want to be done to you. Today is NDC tomorrow will be NPP so pls. a word to the wise is enough
Amekukumenyeakor 11 years ago
Building a country or a nation calls for unity and a common sense of purpose. Ghana has come a long way. The global economic crisis has caused all kinds of shock waves in countries worldwide and Ghana is not an exception. We all agree that there should be a paradigm shift as far as our economy is concerned. Value addition should be our main focus for now. President Mahama has led this crusade since he became our President. He has propose that we patronize made-in-Ghana items. This forum will give all the stakeholders the platform to share ideas about how to achieve this paradigm shift. It's unfortunate that some group of people have decided to boycott thus all important forum. Ghanaians should take note of the posturing of these group of people when it comes to choosing who will handle the affairs of state.
Double Cross Bone 11 years ago
These stupid NPP and their cronies. You will never win power da. You can go away with your MATE MEHO ideas.
Antiochus - London 11 years ago
Then fix the economy, Mahama.
jijk 11 years ago
WE WANT YOU TO FAIL BECAUSE YOU WERE NOT LEGITIMATELY ELECTED BY THE PEOPLE. NOTHING YOU DO WILL BE SUCCESSFUL BECAUSE YOU STOLE THE ELECTIONS AND YOU ARE CURSED. WE ARE GOING TO SIT ON THE FENCE TO SEE YOU FALL FLAT ON YOUR FACE.
Olmert was also fined 1 million shekel ...
GHANA HAS BEEN RAPED BY NDC IDIOTS. WE DO NOT NEED ANY NATIONAL ECONOMIC FORUM, WE NEED A NATIONAL COURT OF JURISDICTION TO PUT MAHAMA AND HIS CABINET ON TRIAL. GHANA'S HOPELESS ECONOMIC SITUATION, TODAY, IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTA ...
How dare yo ...
This kinda insult makes me feel sad. Blacks as a matter of fact is behaving as if we are different people coming from different planets to form earth. As a matter of fact, we are all aiming towards making the country good for ...
NPP has nothing to offer the country as they continue to boycott the forum to discuss ideas about the economy. I thought NPP had leaders with no certificates but also have leaders with no ideas. NDC will make the best out of ...
.....When it comes to nation building all citizens should put their hands to plough, but when it comes to dissipating the nations resources JDM and his cohorts should be left to do that for someone else to stomach the nonsens ...
Mind you john mahama,we made our voices heard thru the ballot box,that is if you truly won the elections,its your time to also do your part,didnt you say you can do it and the people gave you their mandate?dont you and your p ...
You don't want us being cynical at all times, and also want our voices heard when it comes to national issues BUT, Mr. President, why do you let your inexperienced raw and insulting babies with sharp teeth always tell us we l ...
John, Yen Tie Obiaaaaaa!!!!!. This is the time to fix your mess as a great man. No need for any forum and I support NPP 100% for boycotting such event. You chop alone with family and friends so fix it with the same people.USE ...
atside
Building a country or a nation calls for unity and a common sense of purpose. Ghana has come a long way. The global economic crisis has caused all kinds of shock waves in countries worldwide and Ghana is not an exception. We ...
WE WANT YOU TO FAIL BECAUSE YOU WERE NOT LEGITIMATELY ELECTED BY THE PEOPLE. NOTHING YOU DO WILL BE SUCCESSFUL BECAUSE YOU STOLE THE ELECTIONS AND YOU ARE CURSED. WE ARE GOING TO SIT ON THE FENCE TO SEE YOU FALL FLAT ON YOUR ...