You are here: HomeNews2014 05 07Article 308518

Mahama didn’t speak against Ashantis - Ashanti RCC

Read Comments Comments (225)

• clansl 10 years ago

It is now time for damage control, but this is just a little too late.

• AGYEMAN! 10 years ago

Check the records! We Ashantis are unappreciative! We are on record of going against any govt in power whenever the president is not one of us! We did it to Nkrumah! Have you forgot the "MATEMEHO" gang so soon? I'm an Ashanti ...

• GIRLS SP 10 years ago

According to the Bole-Bamboi Mahama, "even if we construct roads tarred with gold in Kumasi, they will tell us that we did nothing".

Oh! Yes! that's why he, Mahama is rather stealing our Gold through Istanbul/Turkey to Ira ...

• akonoba 10 years ago

Ewes are inward looking. I do not blame Mahama for the infamous statement. Ashantis gave Mahama over 600,000 votes and insulted Ashantis as unappreciative.Mahama infamous statement of facts about the Ashantis is similar to Ew ...

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

THIS IS AN ILL-TIMED STATEMENT. THE PRESIDENT SHOULD BE ADVISED NOBODY HAS TO DEFEND THIS. MAY GOD HELP GHANA

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

Prosecution

• ROYAL AKANLAND 10 years ago

WE WANT TO BE FREE AND HELP OUR LAND

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

Location, location, and location in politics is as good as what one says. This immature and incompetent president is often noted for engaging in nuances, innuendoes and "akutiabo" in attacking the people of places where suppo ...

• facts 10 years ago

Mahama did insult the ashanti's by saying they are ungrateful. It is very bad for a president to say this in public.The PRESIDENI IS WRONG

• Linda 10 years ago

But if I can recall, it was just yesterday the president minister came out to admit & defend Mahama's statement.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

They know that what the President said was wrong and that is why they are in high gear to change the original message. It is called,m DAMAGE CONTROL

Have you realized how they are now trying to bring in "SOME" to change wh ...

• facts 10 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA = THE HEN WHICH DANCES HIS HOSTS, THE ASHANTIS = THE HAWK WHICH CAN NEVER BE PLEASED. yaw Boateng says he was in the Ashanti region for thanks giving, for choosing him as the President. Is that the best than ...

• GHFUO, MALLAM MAHAMA BB! 10 years ago

MOST GHFUO FOR THAT MAGTTER ARE NOT APPRECIATIVE OF WHAT MALLAM MAHAMA AND HIS GOT ARE DOING. THEY HAVENT DONE ANYTHING. I MEAN, HOW MUCH IS A BALL OF KENKEY RIGHT NOW?....THE RATE OF INFLATION IS TOO DAMN HIGH, MORE DUM SO, ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

No, the president did not insult Ashantis whatsoever in his statement. (1) The president was addressing NDC party supporters in Kumasi and of course the capital of Ashante Region. (2) The majority of the supporters could or m ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

I guess it sounds like the "all die be die" blunder. I think no matter what audience a president has, he has to weigh his words carefully otherwise you get the situations we are talking about. He should have stuck to enumerat ...

• Ali 10 years ago

EVEN IF MAHAMA WERE TO PAINT THE INSITES OF YOUR MOTHER'S VIRGINAS WITH GOLD, YOU WILL NEVER APPRECIATE THAT.

WHY DONT U CONSTRUCT STREETS OF GOLD IN GHANA AND WAIT TO SEE WHAT THE PPL SAY ABOUT IT. WE SAY GH IS THE LAND OF GOLD, BUT NO WHERE IN GH CAN YOU GO AND SEE GOLD, NOT EVEN FLAGSSTAFF HOUSE OR THE ROYAL PALACE IN KUMASI. WAT ...

• OBODADE 10 years ago

HE SHOULD FIRST PAINT THE V**** OF BOLE WOMEN, FIRST YOUR MOTHER BEFORE COMING TO THE SOUTH.

THIS GUY WISHES HE WERE EITHER AN AKAN OR ASHANTI. MAKE HIM GOD, AND HE WILL STILL HAVE LOW SELF ESTEEM. ITS NOT ABOUT WHERE U ARE FROM, BUT YOUR DEEDS. WHAT IS YOUR GOVT DOING TO ALLEVIATE SUFFERING, ELIMINATE CORRUPTION AND ...

• Naadu 10 years ago

The Ashanti RCC makes the story worse of, "....even if his government constructed roads made of gold IN KUMASI, it would not be appreciated". You may be the only Anglo-Saxon, but the statement referred to is simple and clear. ...

• Omanhene(U$A) 10 years ago

Damn it, how can't even the feeble minded people understand the President's comments in KUMASI?? How the hell do you make such statements in the capital of the ASHANTIS, Kumasi, and backtrack that he didn't mean the Ashanti p ...

• Brongba 10 years ago

Akonoba, shut up!! Are Ashantis appreciative?
    You think GHANA is yours. You people don't get on well with any tribe, ...not northerners, ewes, or even other AKAN tribes. Its about time you grow.

• Gha 10 years ago

If you are really a benkoto bensore idiot, I am not surprised by your comment because you fools shudder at the mention of the name Asantes.

If Asantes don't get on well with others, how come it is the region that have peac ...

• LEAh 10 years ago

Ghana is not for but ASHANTI IS FOR US

• nana kwasi Badu kumasi. 10 years ago

It is foolish for anyone to say the president insulted the Ashantis he never did, is not true that a chairman in npp said the president since assuming power has done nothing in the Ashanti Region?I see no reason why people sh ...

• Mohammed Woyongo 10 years ago

You are an idiot. If the President have said the same thing about your tribe, the smelly chiefsfrom your tribe will be on their way to the flagstaff house.

• agyeiwaa 10 years ago

CALL A SPADE A SPADE and not a digging implement! Who in Ghana does not know what the president said is true, go to the central market in kumasi and hear the women insult and say all kinds of derogatory things abt the kayayie ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Yes, Mahama spoke the truth but the important thing is that it was not the appropriate forum to say that. Besides, it was unpresidential. The people who oppose him in Kumasi are Asantes. Imagine Kuffour or Akuffo Addo saying ...

• w3 10 years ago

Public speaking is a managing act. You have to know your audience very well for future sake

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Considering he studied communications at the university, he flanks communicating with people. Gee! what does this guy do right? And by the way, I am not an Ashanti.

Yeah right! I guess am not a Fanti either. Hmmmm! I may have to check with my parents once more cos am confused.

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Dusty, don't get your point, I am not an Ashanti and it is that simple. Ghanaians have the tendency to label you when you are just being object. I do not like both NPP and NDC, or have nothing against any tribe -- I simply co ...

Well, am sorry there.

MALLAM MAHAMA SHOULD SHUT UP AND LET HIS DEEDS SPEAK FOR HIM. IF HE BUILDS A GOLDEN ST, THE PPL OF SHANTI AND ALL GH FOR THAT MATTER WILL COMMEND HIM. WHAT A VERY STUPID COMMENT TO MAKE. THIS ALONE TELLS YOU THE IQ LEVEL OF T ...

• Plain Truth, Texas 10 years ago

Yes,Everybody is RIGHT THOUGH?
    Mahama= Ashantis=Unappreciative=Right Though?

Victor Owusu=Ewes=Inward-Looking=Right Though?

Akuffo Addo=Yen Akanfo de=Right Though?

Atta Mills=Adze wofie a Oye=Right Though?

Atta M ...

• Matchaw Dikaini 10 years ago

The President is on course there is no cause for alarm.we need to wake up and appreciate the little that is done to us.Don't misinterpret people for your political gain....z

• Oman Ba Pa 10 years ago

Which tribe in Ghana is ever satisfied "...whenever the president is not one of (them)"?
    What did Ashantis do to Nkrumah? Is it a crime to hold a different ideology? Please try and sound a bit more intelligent, rather than b ...

• Plain Truth, Texas 10 years ago

If a self-acclaimed "Communication Expert" would be so IMPOLITIC and NAIVE to declare right in Kumsi, of all places, that EVEN IF HE TARRED KUMASI ROADS WITH GOLD IT WOULD NOT BE APPRECIATED, then God Save Ghana. Then VICTOR ...

• ghana 10 years ago

that is the truth

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Clement Kigeri must not be Akan and Agyeman you must not be very objective. The proverb is well understood and that is why Kigeri is in the damage control mode. By the way, the Ashanti's complained about one of their own call ...

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

He was addressing Party faithfuls not the Populace,who does not know the Ashantis are ungrateful, and did you say Acheampong was clueless? come again, we as a nation hate the truth but cherish lies,go back and check some of t ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

You did it to all of them and that is true . Just read the posts against Kwame Nkrumah

• veep 10 years ago

when are you going to make sense? and can you also say all the other people from the other regions are also appreciative of what Kuffour, an Ashanti, also did? if i remember correctly the Keta Sea defence was constructed unde ...

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

THAT'S A SIGN OF MATURITY WHEN COMPARED TO OTHER 'NYEBRO" TRIBES IN GHANA. ASANTES/AKANS DON'T CONDONE STUPIDITY,MEDIOCRITY, INEPTITUDE,NON-PERFORMANCE AND ETHNOCENTRICISM AND ARE QUICK TO BOOT OR CONDEMN THEIR OWN AS COMPARE ...

• abu okyeman KIBI 10 years ago

HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN NOT FORGET , IDIOT .COME BACK USELESS BROKER .NPP IS THE MAIN PARTY FOR GHANAINS.ASS HOLE /.

• ??????????????????????????? 10 years ago

fa wo kwasia ko...how many ashantis have been president? ghana is more than 57

• JB 10 years ago

Remeber Busia. He was from Brong Ahafo.

• ekuoba gyasi 10 years ago

Wasn't it Ashantis who led the charge against Kutu Acheampong's UNIGOV? Please study your history before making any silly pronouncements.

• Sensible man. 10 years ago

You are not either ignorant of the political history of Ghana,or you are being mischievous or dishonest.
    Was the late Gen. I. K. Acheampong not an Asante? When he attempted to foist his Union Government on Ghana in a veiled ...

• khirsten 10 years ago

Matemeho was a propaganda by Nkrumah n his cohorts, Nkrumah and UGCC which one separated himself from the other. analyse every thing you read. Come on put your thinking cap on.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

What the president said underscores the fact that Ghanaian politicians are always in campaign mode. Everything they sau and do is for the next erection (sorry election). Instead of thinking about the people they are paid to s ...

• Nii Nortey 10 years ago

Clansi be real, get out of your shell and reason wisely.

• Momi 10 years ago

Is this not a tacit admission of the time-tested fact that "political opponents” (NPP) is a synonym for "Ashanti"? It is said that ‘the old lady feels uneasy when dry bones are mentioned’. This clearly is the case. N ...

• Ato K. 10 years ago

Hello Mr, are you putting your own interpretation and words into what the President said? You are priviledged o have access to the tape. Did the president really used the phrase 'politacal opponents'?Does that ean people are ...

• kwami 10 years ago

What did Ashantis say when JJ was reconstructing kajetia market in kumasi with all the beautiful monuments you see in kumasi, did they not say despite all that he'd step down in twi? akonta be sir fomented yen Tue manu. Maham ...

• Boncus 10 years ago

The President should have left this for Asiedu Nkatia to say, not him at his position. I'm not for NPP but he was wrong.

• YAW 10 years ago

Ashanties should go to hell,the truth hurts.Mahama is 100% right

• GORDON YEBOAH 10 years ago

no matter how Mahama would be defended,this statement and TWEAA message is the same.the VALUE is the same.he should have put where he made the comment into consideration

• KK 10 years ago

What is this idiot clement talking about. This damage is beyond control if you should know. Did he hear what Ayariga said? He said said what his boss said about Ashantis could not be far from the truth....

• Pope 10 years ago

Because some tribes in Ghana are hypocrite, unlike Ashanti,s. This useless president will continue to fool us all. Church rat telling us gold roads why not diamond street. We are all suffering not ashantis alone

• Koko Lon 10 years ago

I think if the president were to be an Ashanti what he said would have been "king Solomon's minds". Is rather pathetic for some people to always think they are the best- lucky with geographical position. However we should no ...

• Ntim Gyakari 10 years ago

We will meet when he goes out of power surely.

• KGB 10 years ago

MAHAMA CRIMINAL ! YOU KILL MILLS AND ALSO STOLEN ELECTION THAT MADE YOU PRESIDENT . GOD WILL FOREVER PUNISH YOU AND YOUR FAMILLY.ASHANTIS ARE BETTER THAN YOU IDIOT

• Koko Lon 10 years ago

Where is your prove.... If non then can I say Kofour killed the over 30 women to become president

• LATEST INFO 10 years ago

THE PRESIDENT NEVER SAID ASHANTIS, PLEASE LOOK FOR THE ORIGINAL TAPE AND LISTEN TO IT. I GUESS NPP IS TRYING TO LAY HAND ON SOMETHING TO COMPARE THE PRESIDENT'S COMMENT WITH NANA ADDO'S "ALL DIE BE DIE MANTRA", AND KEN AGYAPO ...

• ANITA DE DWARFS 10 years ago

YOU NDC PEOPLE THINK YOU ARE SMART. YOU USE WHAT YOUR OPPONENTS' WRONG STATEMENTS AGAINST THEM AND ASK THEM NOT TO USE YOURS AGAINST YOU. YOU WILL NOT GET IT YOUR WAY THIS TIME. JUST AS YOU CLUNG TO THE ALL DIE BE DIE STATEM ...

• LATEST INFO 10 years ago

WELL I AM NOT AN NDC NEITHER DO I BELONG TO ANY PARTY. IN FACT, I HAVE NEVER WASTED MY TIME VOTING FOR ANY OF THIEVES CALLED POLITICIANS BUT I FOLLOW WHAT THEY DO AND MUST TELL THE TRUTH WHERE AND WHEN IT IS REQUIRED. NOW, YO ...

• BBC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

It is not about mentioning Ashantis by name but the problem is why does a President make such analogy when he knows such comment is divisive. One should ask if any of the other regions is satisfied with developments going on ...

• PK 10 years ago

Why not call a spade a spade and a fool a fool? If the president did fool in his utterance in kumasi, why not make it blank to him and maybe apologies to those idiots who voted for him in the region.

• Mr. Right 10 years ago

The President, it is said never mentioned Ashantis. That may be right but he never mentioned political opponents either

• Bro! Ismaeel. 10 years ago

According to what HE SAID, if HE doesnt mean ASHANTIS, my qoustion is WHO ARE THOSE WHO WONT APPRECIATE? if NDC and their supporters have an apology, they should call SPADE A SPADE and render an apology. This statement is cal ...

Did you bother to read the statement below in the write-up before you and understood as well?

“In the course of the statement he said, we have done this and that in Kumasi but for certain people, apparently referring to ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

"The President didn`t say Ashantis"How foolish does these NDC people think Ghanaians are?The President was in Kumasi saying whatever he does the people will not apprecita it,do you mean to tell us he was refering to Kusasas i ...

• JIMI DE BE K3K3 10 years ago

Maybe he thought he was addressing Gonjas in Bole Bamboe.

• VOLTAMAN 10 years ago

Tweaa,pepeni is pepeni no matter how.
    A decorated donkey is still an ass.
    Asshole,dummy prez.

• Uncle Ike 10 years ago

There is a wise saying that we don't stand in ants' den to dig up ants. The president was in Kumasi and his remarks was a hate speech against the people. If he being a communicator as prescribed, he should have been careful o ...

• K.K. 10 years ago

Usage of any local dialect by non indegenes of the dialect is rather appreciated no matter errors in usage or application. In Ghana very few Akans could speak other languages or dialects but unfortunately they are vociferous ...

• REAL ATENGA 10 years ago

WHO ASKED HIM TO SPEAK AKAN?.WHY DO YOU PEOPLE DRAGS THINGS ALONG TILL YOU CAN NO MORE GO DRAG IT .THIS IS NOT ABOUT HOW MANY AKAN WHO CAN SPEAK OTHER DIALECT OR NOT BUT RATHER THE CHOICE OF WORDS BY THE PRESIDENT IS VERY WRO ...

• muugunyaaro 10 years ago

that was just what he meant to say. He is absolutely incompetent. He gives me the impression that Ghana's politics is still young. I guess U.s barak Obama wil not go to any state and claim they woud not be satisfied with any ...

• concern citizen 10 years ago

If Nana Addo had said this to the ewes or northern region, it would have been a big disaster in ghana. Ghanaians should be honest abd treat any tribe equal not only ashantis are rude. We must to respect each tribe as one ghan ...

• NPP IS CURSED BY GOD 10 years ago

MAHAMA CAN EVEN CUT OFF HIS HEAD FROM AN ASHANTE PERSON AND WILL STILL SAY BAD THINGS ABOUT HIM.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

There is an adage that "If you fear to wear mud shoes you will wear its cloth" It means if you don't want to walk inside a mud you will finally fall into the mud.
    If Clement Kigeri is refuting that the President didn't ment ...

• KoBakor 10 years ago

I am still surprised that Asante is still referred to by our so-called political elite as 'a tribe'. Any historian in Ghana will tell you Ashanti is a nation with various tribes within it. It was colonised by the British and ...

• TEE 10 years ago

HE TALKS BASABASA BCOS HE IS A PEPENI FRAFRA NTANI NORTHERNER

• power 2016 10 years ago

we dont care about what mahama will do

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

OUR IMMATURE POLITICIANS, LIKE THEIR CIVIL SERVICE COLLEAGUES, FOOLISHLY EXPECT GRATITUDE FOR DOING THEIR DUTY. IF PRESIDENT MAHAMA PAVED THE STREETS OF KUMASI WITH ASHANTI GOLD, WHY SHOULD ASHANTIS BE GRATEFUL TO HIM?

• K.K. 10 years ago

This proverb which not restrictve an akan adage is used to empathise with an under dog. Between NDC and NPP or Akans and other tribes what determines the underdog position. TWEEEAA. See who is complaining or ridiculing the P ...

• TEE 10 years ago

PLAY THE RECORDING PERIOD. HE IS FUN OF INSULTING THE AKANS WHY. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME MAHAMA AND RAWLINGS ARE DOING THAT. THSES IDIOTS EWES AND NORTHERNERS.

• VOLTAMAN 10 years ago

Blame osei tutu11for all this insults.

• Frafra Ha 10 years ago

He mean the ashantis, not Akans. And Is he wrong? That's how the rest of GHANA think about ashantis, discriminative, ungrateful, bias, blind, living in past glory, primitive....name it.

• Dj. Daabodaabo 10 years ago

HE IS IN ROYAL LAND, A KING THAT HELPED HIM WON SC JUDGEME THE DEEM LAND FOR KUFFUOR, THE BACK BONE TO GHANA AND THE WISEMEN'S LAND WHERE A FOOL WILL REMAIN TO BE A FOOL. THIS Is ILL JUDGEMENT FOR mahama.

• Joseph ganyobi 10 years ago

Mr President You nailed the nail straight to it's hole People can say all they want but are very Wright. ...Don't Pay the kumasi people no mind by their fruits they shall be known

• Djake Koku Salif 10 years ago

What grade did Mahama cone out with in Comms studies. He opens his mouth and its all cow droppings. No wonder he has so many communicators to always clean up his bullshit. I lose hope in this man by the day.

• Victor 10 years ago

If the President was addressing NDC supporters at the RCC why come to his defense ? He has goofed, he should make a similar statement in Accra , substituting Kumasi for Accra people and the Gas will keep quiet.

• PLAIN TRUTH 10 years ago

First he calls on Northerners to vote only for their fellow Northerners. Then insults The Akims by calling Kibi the "Headquarters of Gallamse". And finally, as a birthday present to the Otumfuor, and as gratitude to the Asant ...

• Akwasi 10 years ago

Please dont called the Pot a Kettle Black

• Aminatu 10 years ago

what do we care if they choose to misinterpret what His Excellency said?

• DB 10 years ago

You many not care today, but trust me, you will care in 2016.

• TWEAA 10 years ago

TELL MAHAMA TO GO AND SPEAK IN TAMALE OR HO AND EXPLAIN THAT HE IS NOT TALKING TO DAGOMBAS, MAMPRUSIS, OR EWES...WE ASANTES DEEPLY UNDERSTAND WHAT HE SAID MORE THAN HIMSELF AND YOU THE SO CALLED RCC. WE SEE, CLEARLY WHATEVER ...

• K. Tawia 10 years ago

I think Mahama - NDC is right to use 'YENTIE OBIAA' as their campaign song or slogan for 2016. This is where I miss Chairman Rawlings! Rawlings will not bloody care about whatever interpretation you give to his statements/spe ...

• AKAN UNITY NOW 10 years ago

S3 ontie obiaa-a, obiaa betie efi 3n3 kosi 2016.

• TWEAA 10 years ago

MAHAMA COULD NOT INAUGURATE THE KUMASI-ACCRA ROAD, THE SOFOLINE INTERCHANGE, THE INLAND PORT, AND WANT US TO PRAISE HIM TO HEAVENS..EH!

• kate 10 years ago

POLITICAL LEADER SHOULD SPEAK GUARDEDLY, DIPLOMATICALLY, WEIGHING THEIR WORDS BEFORE THEY OPEN THEIR BIG MOUTHS SO AS NOT TO OFFEND OR PERCEIVE AN OFFENCE TO ANYONE. RATHER THE PRESIDENT SHOULD NEXT TIME SPEAK IN A MORE CONC ...

• PABRO CORREA 10 years ago

Mahama was very stupid to have said that.It's on record that.he has not proof to suggest that Ashantis and Akans in General do not appreciate the NDC Government.What basis does he have to say this loose talk.
    Look at the tre ...

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

THIS IS A USELESS DAMAGE CONTROL, AND TO HELL WITH MAHAMA BEING A COMMUNICATOR AND SO ON. EVEN IF HE USES GOLD TO CONSTRUCT STREETS IN KUMASI....... AND DOES KUMASI NOT BELONG TO THE ASHANTIS? DOES MAHAMA UNDERSTAND THOSE PRO ...

• KWAME 10 years ago

you are serious. This is coming from a President of country? How did we get here?

His spokesperson came out to defend what he said. What is the stupid RCC talking about?

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

Amateur president

• AKAN UNITY NOW 10 years ago

It would become the NDC's campaign weapon and song from this day up to the end of election 2016. This is an opportunity for the NPP and other Parties to pay the NDC in its own coin. Let Mahama's anti Akan statements in Kibi a ...

• makaamaka 10 years ago

look at this fool oo, have you heard what Ayariga said, between you and him, who should we consider more credible when it comes to govt communication machinery...just give us a break!!

• STEVE 10 years ago

In my opinion, the president said nothing that is not known by all Ghanaians and around the globe. Ashanti region is and has been a stronghold of the UP/NPP for generations, and so far as they are not in power, any party give ...

• DB 10 years ago

Based on your analysis it means Ewes are also inward looking because no matter what NPP does for them, they will never vote for NPP. Does the Volta region need a change of attitute as well? How many votes did NDC get in the A ...

• FRANCIS, DENMARK 10 years ago

INAPROPRIATE LANGUAGE. THE PRESIDENT AS A COMMUNICATOR SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER.THE CONTEXT INDICATES THAT THE PEOPLE OF KUMASI ARE UNGRATEFUL.ELECTIONS ARE OVER AND MAHAMA INSTEAD SHOULD BE A UNIFYNG PRESIDENT. IT IS INAPPRO ...

• CALM 10 years ago

did john mahama visit only NDC or the whole Ashanti kingdom .........why did he speak as if speaking to only NDC ?????........AND YET HE IS SUPPOSED TO BE PRESIDENT OF ALL GHANAIANS......... THIS IS TOOOÔOOOOOOOOO CHEAP OF H ...

• Meman Nti 10 years ago

The Adom Fm repeated what Mahama said,and he did speak against Ashantis.Why is it so hard to accept the fact and render apology.

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Mahama must control his anger under any extreme provocation.It`s unprofessional in making such statement as president even though, the meaning of it is true physically is impossible to construct a gold road.

• Ugly Akufu Addo 10 years ago

2016 npp will suffer for this useless tribal comments

They (npp) use tribal politics in kumasi bt they lost elections why didn't they vote n win

• w3 10 years ago

Anus

They (npp) use tribal politics in kumasi bt they lost elections why didn't they vote n win

• w3 10 years ago

Asantes are titanic tolerant tribe

• CALM 10 years ago

U can insult akans ,Kumasi ,npp all u can but NDC can't deliver and are busy looting.........why do u think Ghanaians are suffering much worse now...........lol......

• Kojo 10 years ago

My take, let's have a referendum, Akans should decide if they want to be part of Ghana or opt out. Let's end this hatred. North and ewes can stay together and be happy for ever.

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

YOUR MOTHER HAS WASTED HER TIME FOR CARRING YOU FOR NINE MONTHS IN HER WOMB FOR NOTHING,ARE YOU A GHANAIAN?.IF YES THEN GO AND READ YOUR HISTORY IF NO THEN YOU BETTER SHUT YOUR CURVED MOUTH UP.YOU WANT TO LIVE WITH EWES IN OU ...

• Kwaku Vi 10 years ago

This is a stupid, infantile defensive argument. The President mentioned KUMASI, which is the Capital City of the Ashantis. He was speaking in Kumasi about his development projects in Ashanti. He never mentioned any political ...

• dc 10 years ago

RCC do you wanna do damage control.
    Listen to Ayariga before you come out with your damage control. This man Always insults when he gets the platform.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A farmer wanted to have his hens serviced, so he went to the market looking for a rooster. He was hoping he could get a special rooster - one that would service all of his many hens. When he told this to the market vendor, th ...

• JAK 10 years ago

THEY THINK THEY OWN GHANA SO NOBODY HAS A RIGHT TO RULE GHANA EXCEPT THEM ALONE,WHEN THEY ARE IN POWER IS OKAY BUT WHEN ANY TRIBES MAN IS IN POWER THEN THEY INSULT HIM,GO TO KEJETIA AND LISTERN TO WHAT THESE ASHSNTI WOMEN SAY ...

• KGB 10 years ago

You will continue to be slave for Ashantis ! Let us go to your region and see dirty. Your foolish tribe even you like it

• KOJOVI 10 years ago

STUPID MAHAMA YOU ARE RUBBISH

• STEVE 10 years ago

Anyway is your opinion, but despite the fact that the people in the Volta region never votes for the UP/NPP, under no condition have they attempted to sabotage a ruling party, compared to the UP/NPP. The Volta region in my op ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

The RCC should not have wasted its time in explaining anything. Check the media houses that are reporting this untruth and you will understand what I mean

• w3 10 years ago

Was it necessary or appropriate?

• w3 10 years ago

He knew exactly what he was saying but was it appropriate

• EC 10 years ago

I wonder why they are falling back over themselves to defend just one of the numerous insults the Mahama led NDC gov't is noted for. We were all in this country when the NDC gov't said, Ghanaians who shared a contrary opinion ...

• Agyabo 10 years ago

Yes ede bee keke why should Ashanti Region be Appreciative to a non performing Gov`t.Yes this NDC can continue building castles in the Air,Construct underwater landing pads for Aircrafts,turn our running taps into milk n hone ...

• Quophie 10 years ago

Now a northerner, Kigeri, is interpreting Twi spoken by the president to Ashantis. What an irony!! We all heard what the president said, and it means exactly what the public is saying. Always defending the indefensible

• WIASE 10 years ago

;TANI OBU EBE (

• KOGYAM58 10 years ago

KOSI KEDEM SAID EVEN WORSE.
    HE SAID IN PARLIAMENT THAT EVEN IF NPP GOVERNMENT CONSTRUCT ROADS WITH GOLD IN THE VOLTA REGION ,THEY THE VOLTARIANS WILL NEVER APPRECIATE IT. CHECK FROM HANSARD.

• WIASE 10 years ago

TANI A OBU EBE

• LEXIS 10 years ago

Ashanti/Akyim stomach politicians struggling to remain relevant in the eyes of Ghanaians by making mountains out of mole hills and blowing blowing matters out of proportion.This seemingly treacherous and empty propaganda will ...

• Mad 10 years ago

The President did not mention Ashantis Who are the people in Kumasi is it not Ashntis ?do not try to change anything we got the message alright

• Joe Mensah 10 years ago

you fool, read what the President said, because you and I was not there, stupid

• F Obeng 10 years ago

To even make such statement sounds stupid.

• Kofi - USA 10 years ago

MR. RCC I THINK MOST ASHANTIS UNDERSTAND THE AKAN LANGUAGE MORE THAN THE PRESIDENT. SO WE UNDERSTAND OUR THE AKAN PROVERB AND WHAT HE SAID SPEAKS FOR ITSELF

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

My goodness, what an airhead. Just stop the lies and propaganda. If a president of a nation comes out and even suggest that " if you construct roads made of gold in the Ashanti Region, the Ashantis will not appreciate it" it ...

• monkey man 10 years ago

The Ashanti's are not the only people with vote,If they don't gives you their votes do not worried,We are NDC and know how to play our cards more than any politics in this world,If they like it or not you will be the presiden ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

was that coment necessary at all? No. He should speak like a president and not just an ordinary man speaking to his coleagues.

• KOBLA ZEGO 10 years ago

KUDOS TO THE PRESIDENT FOR BEEN FORTHRIGHT AND SAYING THE TRUTH.
    THOSE RAISING ISSUES CAN GO AND BURN THE SEA.
    DID THE ASHANTI'S NOT TELL RAWLINGS THAT THEY WON'T VOTE FOR HIM EVEN IF HE TARS KUMASI ROADS WITH GOLD?

• Ghanabausa 10 years ago

I hope NPP is not boxing themselves into a corner. Tribal politics do not help NPP at all.

• Ntim Gyakari 10 years ago

NDC is full of loons!!!

• Paa Bobo 10 years ago

The whole idea that some people must be taken care off at the expense of others is yielding what has become of Ghana's political leaders. We did not all play on level field. Why some have to sweat to pay school fees others ar ...

• Mad 10 years ago

I am just asking Can Nana or Kufour say this in Volta Region?we Ashantis are proud to Ashanti's and Kumasi is our City so if he says Kumasi is the the Ashantis he is talking about

• tomtom 10 years ago

It is about time leader or intended leader watch what they say inpublic. As a communication expert he must know, from the history of our people that people are going to read into whatever he says, whether it is intendedfor th ...

• ANKOBEA-HENE 10 years ago

He was very humble and careful in the delivery. there are many ways to tell the truth and its all about how you say it too.

• Fidelis 10 years ago

The NPP, instead of devising the strategies needed to capture power are again busily doing propaganda which definitely will only make them loose massively. I can promise the NPP of an NDC coming up with some impressive 38 to ...

• Dr 10 years ago

A hungry man, who uprooted five tubers of yams from a neighbour's farm was sentenced for twenty-three years with hard labour. A-22-year-old boy, who stole a mobile phone from an elderly person was slammed with forty-five year ...

• me 10 years ago

what sort of country are we leaving the next generation. they all have their kids in good schools, free petrol free houses etc. how much do they earn to be able to have what they are thieves its become part of their life the ...

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 10 years ago

I HOPE THE PRESIDENT WILL USE HIS HEAD WHEN ADDRESSING PEOPLE NOT FROM HIS STOMACH.

• Mahama 10 years ago

Who cares he is the most useless leader in the world.

• TIGER BAY 10 years ago

AYARIGA HAS CONFIRMED WHAT MAHAMA SAID,CLEAR AND LOUD. SHIT! I HAVE SAID AGAIN AND AGAIN THAT MAHAMA IS POLITICALLY IMMATURE. A MATURED LEADER DON'T TALK LIKE THAT.

• Hilo 10 years ago

Wish he could maintain that same level of sincerity in his public duties as a president.
    Nobody living in Ghana can dispute that,a sizable number of Ashanti's fall under the bracket he is referring to.

• Dkn 10 years ago

How dear you speak against Ashantis you do thing president, what you have done for the country , only thing you have done is more corruption in your addmistration, you corrup , you brother is corrup,

• KING OF KING 10 years ago

ashantis discrimination never ends in Ghana how long common sense is not common for common people

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

MAHAMA LACK OF BRINS,USELESS MAHAMA OS INSANE,KWASEAPANI MAHAMA IS AN ASSHOLE,TUO ZAAFI ABOA

• KDK 10 years ago

HE REMAIN IDIOT PRESIDENT EVER RULE GHANA ! WHY ON EARTH USELESS PERSON LIKE THIS RULE OUR COUNTRY

Ashantis are just common in sense Mahama used a verbe is not an offense or misdeed

• Hmmmmmm. 10 years ago

Waka, waka period!

• Namu RK 10 years ago

OH! oh! aabaee!! Prez JM was only picking a bone of contesting with the political parties opponents and not Ashantis (Asantefooo)per se,why Ashantis dey talk too much politics like that?

• Bad Boy 10 years ago

Thief

• Kofi Kofi 10 years ago

It is true he did not mention Ashantis. If he is wise enough to quote an akan saying he should be intelligent enough to know that Kumasi is not in Crimea and that such reference cannot be meant for the Russians.

• seidu 10 years ago

DR. ADU BOAHEN MADE THIS SAME STATEMENT SOMEWHERE IN THE 80S

ashantis should go to school of science-knowledge and attitude to change their behavior

• seidu 10 years ago

REMEMBER DR. ADU BOAHEN

• Habib .Tamale 10 years ago

this is just pure damage control it wouldn't help .

• Rev fada 10 years ago

let Akuffo Addo say 1/10 of what this divisive president said and you will hear them on radio. Are they more Ghanaians than the rest of us? he talks more than he works. Mr. President we need the monies you paid to Woyome,SADA ...

• apuuu 10 years ago

President Mahama think he so arrgance that he doesn't respect his fellow country man he can say any stupid thing that comes to his head this is not a leader apuuu

• Nana Short 10 years ago

What was and is wrong with what the President said? After all when have his opponents shown any appreciation for his leadership. One evidence is that NHIS Capitation pilot is being sabotaged in Kumasi as a sign of non-appreci ...

• Seko 10 years ago

Tell me when an NDC man/women appreciated President Kuffuor for any project (once) in any part of the country. As far as am concern, Ghana is a backward country like Somalia. It will never develop no matter what resources we ...

• Seko 10 years ago

It is absurd for anybody to want to wait for the President to mention Ashanti people before you understand what he meant. No matter anyhow you would want to explain this I think there are several wise men and women in Ashanti ...

• Seko 10 years ago

What specular things has Mills/Mahama done in Kumasi that require so much commendation to warrent this statement. It is really a big insult to the Ashantis even though am not one.
    Please regards this as a friendly joke betw ...

• nagg 10 years ago

lets call spade a spade to shame the devil, else it will be too strong another time. know very well that by forcing to put square pole inside round hole do not make u look stronger but a...... thank GOD THAT OUR PRESIDENT IS ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

If we go by what the Article reported as the Speech made by the President, he did not say anything offensive against Ashantis.

He was referring to his political opponents, not Ashantis, as those who would never appreciate ...

Mahama have it in mind why it's comes from his mouth.The none Akans hate the Ashantis too much.Agyeman or whatever you call yourself,let me tell you your not Ashanti because the Ashantis are very appreciative people in Ghana. ...

• Joseph Boateng 10 years ago

It is quite incredible to hear these words from someone who serves as a President of a country. I am lost for words for a President who mismanages the country's administration leading its people to suffer hardships yet abusiv ...

• NANA JUMOH- ATOSU 10 years ago

NPP ARE THREATEN BY JM VISIT

• Son Of Man 10 years ago

MAHAMA, THAT STATEMENT WAS UNCALLED FOR. THOSE OPPONENTS ARE EQUALLY ASHANTIS. REMEMBER, YOU WERE NOT ADDRESSING YOUR CHILDREN.
    ALSO REMEMBER THAT YOUR DAYS ARE NUMBERED.

• HAZOR 10 years ago

Those that are there knew he did and they are not fools to be tell lies.What a shame.

• real man. 10 years ago

asante will not appreciate whatever u do for them it said by daddy lumba.asante nkae.please do not forget.

Mahama was have it in mind,tha's why it's comes from his mouth.The none Akans hate the Ashantis too much.Agyeman or whatever you call yourself,let me tell you, you are not Ashanti because the Ashantis are very appreciative pe ...

• JC 10 years ago

Village President! John Mahama has no program.

• nagg 10 years ago

MAHAMA speech at Ksi remember me my first day at class one when the illiterate teacher assigned to our class started with the usual 1 plus 1 and abc issues and was bold to tell us that 1 plus 1 is equal to 3. he took us as kn ...

• aabah 10 years ago

everybody calm down. President Mahama's mouth is not a gun. This statement does not only to 1 tribe, I say again calm down the mab does not mean any harm, and truly this statement is general.

• PAPSON 10 years ago

Mahama actually spoke against the Ashantis.The spokes man said he did not mention Ashanti, did he not mention Kumasi?and if he did, Kumasi belong to which of the tribes? It is simply an insult to Ashantis and Akans as a whol ...

• okofo 10 years ago

In the first place, using "GOLD" to buttress his point, in this case referring to tiring of roads in itself is sarcasism.

• Ghana 10 years ago

Th shortest route to Akate Farms is through airport roundabout to Kenyasi and straight to Akate farms.The party members including ministers know the nature of the road and the shame it will bring to them.Please Kenyasi road i ...

• Geniune Ghanaian 10 years ago

Don't be a liar, and don't pretend. Were the Ewes or the Northerners ever appreciative for what Kuffour and the NPP did?

• Obahemaa 10 years ago

is that what you expect a head of a nation to say. So,so silly and childish for him to talk like that. His inferiority complex and what he think about the Ashantis and has been saying in private now comes out the public!!!

• NANA AKUFFO ADDO DANKWA TETTEH QUARSH 10 years ago

EVERYBODY SHUT UP...

NO ONE IS RIGHT HERE, BOTH MAHAMA AND ALL GHANAIANS NEED TO GO BACK TO THE CLASSROOM. EVERYONE IS A PAIN IN THE ASS.. WE MAKE NO ROOM FOR DEVELOPMENT.

EVERYONE IS TO BLAME...

• mohammed 10 years ago

any time a northner is president, ashanti people will never like it why? because. look at our former president Dr. liman,aliwu mama.bamia,but,they 4get abt achanpong,afrifa,akufu nana ado, kuffour,since 57years of independen ...

• Obahemaa 10 years ago

Ashantis didn't say anything. It's your president who's insulting he Ashantis. Is this another case complexity by your president???? Just wondering......

• me 10 years ago

evil leaders how do u go to bed and sleep. because you all steal nobody has the stomach to prosecute. thieves you lot don't have shame anymore. armed robberies without guns

• Obahemaa 10 years ago

Humm, is this inferiority complex of your president? Just wondering....!!

• OWUOMPOSURO 10 years ago

Don't blame Mahama for saying what he said. Blame Kwaku Dua the corrupt and greedy bastard.

• NPP HYPOCRITES 10 years ago

NPP is a party of hypocrites. Am a fanti and leaves in Kumasi. Does that make me an Ashanti? Kumasi is not occupied by only Ashantis, just as Accra is not occupied by Gas alone.

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

TO BEGIN WITH, YOU CAN'T "LEAVE" IN KUMASI AS YOU CLAIMING. YOU HAVE THE NERVES TO ATTACK THE NPP AND YET YOU CAN'T DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN "LIVE" AND "LEAVE". IF YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT IS AT STAKE HERE, YOU'LL NOT ENGAGE IN PARTI ...

• Kofi Opoku Agyemang 10 years ago

What is your point argument? If two hundred Fantis woke up in the middle of the night and sprayed the NDC RCC office with toilet. Without being noticed, which ethic group be accused of not taking care their city?
    MY GREATES ...

• obiako 10 years ago

the media only used it to sell ztheir papers.

• Kwaku Amexo 10 years ago

Ghana will be a better place if Ghanaians address the issues of tribalism instead of hiding them. It is no secrete that every tribe claims superiority and or victim of disrespect. Political parties are tribal related instead ...

• JKP 10 years ago

Does hawk appreciate anything that the chick does? NO! Has any NPP member of parliament including the minority leader ever appreciate the efforts of the other side? NO! In my village in Volta, NPP can build mansions but many ...

• Tony H 10 years ago

Mahama is so stupid to go to the bastion of primitive people to try to reason. And you Ayariga, you are politically naïve trying to explain to these bastards of primitive ashantis/akan what your mentor has said. The truth of ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

" even if his government constructed roads made of gold in Kumasi, it would not be appreciated."
    ............................................................................................................................... ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Nowhere in the transcript or recording did Mahama ever mention Ashantis yet NPP Media houses assisted by Joyfm, the very people the president was talking to, deliberately add the word 'Ashanti' to his message to twist it to g ...

• Prof Kofi Anyidoho 10 years ago

Ashanti's are criminals. This is not a poem. It is a fact.

• i ad 10 years ago

M

THIS FOOL THINKS HE IS SMART. HE IS INDIRECTLY INSULTING THE PPL IN THE ASHANTI REGION. A PRESIDENT IS JUDGED ON HIS IDEALS NOT WHAT HE BLABS ABOUT. U AS A PRESIDENT SHOULD KNOW BETTER THAN TO COME TO KUMASI AND SAY THIS. YOU ...

HE IS A CYNIST, INWARD LOOKING ETHNOCENTRIC. HOW CAN A PRESIDENT OF A NATION, FADA FOR ALL SPEAK LIKE THIS? SHAME ON MAHAMA. THE PPL OF ASHANTI ARE NOT INWARD LOOKING. IF YOU DO YOUR DEEDS AS PRESIDENT, THEY WILL BE THE FIRST ...

• Gorgorme 10 years ago

Luk at u mahama insulting Ashanti's in proverbs

• Obiri Yeboah London. 10 years ago

I am much disappointed about the president's words when he went to the Ashanti region.Mahama is like a robot to his own communication ministers.that idiot called Ayariga and the zombi useless ofosu kwakye,his own ministers ar ...

• Sarfo 10 years ago

The fact that we are in democracy doesn't mean to insult our president, please Ghanaians let us respect our democracy. Mr president apologise to Ashanti's if it's fact.

• Christian 10 years ago

Their guilty hearts are disturbing them. The prez was refering to political opponents. Tose accusing the prez shd clear off

• Abrekyie ba UK 9 years ago

Was he(prez)addressing Gonja co-coordinating council?,was there no Asanti's amoung the addressees,i.e the party members,shame unto you,that he was addressing party members,why not say Gonja members