dont worry idiots like these we will cut off their balls when we start the revolution
Otumfuo 11 years ago
Why will Kuffour and his people lease a tourist center. Only God know how much money the got off it.
max france. 11 years ago
another judgment debt in the making. oh ghana.
DAN 11 years ago
where does it say what he did to break the lease????
Concerned Ghanaian 11 years ago
Just kill that fucking smelling Briton! Why should he be given that opportunity in the first place? Just butcher him to death! H eshould not come and Lord it over us here in our own country. Kill the foolish animal now!
Nana Kweku Arhin 11 years ago
Mr. Concerned Ghanaian, I think it would be unwise on your part to suggest that this white man should be killed. Why? Are you racist? Do you expect to be killed when you go and reside in Europe? What are you going to gain from if he is killed. Do you know this man? You cannot judge him by the colour of his skill but rather the content of his character. After all, he has spent his own money to renovate this huge building. Are you prepared to refund all his money to him. Let me tell you. Racism has no place in this contemporary world. I am also a Ghanaian and would like to say that your comment is very distasteful.
linda Fidler 9 years ago
Rob has done nothing wrong, all he has done is renovate the fort and help the village people at dixcove with many projects and taken and paid for people to go to hospital, saved a few lives and has never stopped any festivals taking place at the fort it is always open for visitors, that has always been his instructions to the staff working there. i am deeply sadden to think someone could cause so much trouble and hatred please these acusations are not true, i know i am his wife and we love all ghanian friends
fucker 11 years ago
this is what you get when u have assholes at the helm of affairs. leaders who got shit for brains. Ghana is one hell of a fucked up country. next thing you know we'll be leasing our entire sovereignty to the Brits. Fuck everybody and fuck Ghana...am out
bokassa 11 years ago
There they go again, using all means available to milk the country.Iam very sure that there is a ghanian behind this.
Obenfo 11 years ago
Bro, you're right!
There is definitely a Ghanaian official behind all these. In the first place, why lease a slave castle in Ghana to a Whiteman on an African shore? Don't you know any history at all? That's why some Afric ... read full comment
Bro, you're right!
There is definitely a Ghanaian official behind all these. In the first place, why lease a slave castle in Ghana to a Whiteman on an African shore? Don't you know any history at all? That's why some African-Americans terribly hate Africans.
The whole transaction is a sign of disrespect to us human beings, and very provocative to the descendants of our enslaved relatives.
POOR GHANA, OUR POVERTY MENTALITY WILL FOREVER KEEP US POOR. A GHANAIAN CAN ACCEPT MONEY TO SELL HIS MOTHER, SHAME!!!
I say 11 years ago
Indeed!!! why lease a slave castle in Ghana to a whiteman on an African shore? Utter madness.
Angie 11 years ago
Oh Ghana, you approve the lease for this man & after investing so much money on this castle, you turn around & accuse him of violating the lease. And people making a fuss about defecating? Seriously?
JK 11 years ago
'Some villagers who spoke to the paper indicated that Mr. Fidler used a slingshot to hurl stones at people defecating at the shoreline of the castle, despite the fact that there are few toilets available in that neighborhood.'
Reportedly, some 28 or so forts and castles were build in Ghana. What few we have left are not maintained by the Monuments Board. If the locals want money from these buildings, they should invest something to improve them.
I say give Fidler a gun and an award.
Just how difficult is it for the people of discove to collect some fees from residents for the purpose of building public toilets.
For God's sake let Fidler stay.
Habaa!
JK 11 years ago
'....that Mr. Fidler used a slingshot to hurl stones at people defecating at the shoreline of the castle ....there are few toilets available in that neighborhood.'
Reportedly, some 28 or so forts and castles were built in ... read full comment
'....that Mr. Fidler used a slingshot to hurl stones at people defecating at the shoreline of the castle ....there are few toilets available in that neighborhood.'
Reportedly, some 28 or so forts and castles were built in Ghana. What few we have left are not maintained by the Monuments Board. If the locals want money from these buildings, they should invest something to improve them.
Just how difficult is it for the people of discove to collect some fees from residents for the purpose of building public toilets.
Habaa!
JK 11 years ago
'Some villagers who spoke to the paper indicated that Mr. Fidler used a slingshot to hurl stones at people defecating at the shoreline of the castle, despite the fact that there are few toilets available in that neighborhood.'
Reportedly, some 28 or so forts and castles were build in Ghana. What few we have left are not maintained by the Monuments Board. If the locals want money from these buildings, they should invest something to improve them.
Habaa!
Mama Tula 11 years ago
How is he going to survive?
Harare (AFP) - Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe has said he gets by on a modest salary of $4,000 a month because of the "hard times" facing the country, state media reported Tuesday.
Zimbabwe ... read full comment
Harare (AFP) - Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe has said he gets by on a modest salary of $4,000 a month because of the "hard times" facing the country, state media reported Tuesday.
Zimbabwe is still recovering from years of economic collapse attributed mainly to government policies under Mugabe, who has run the country since independence in 1980.
"I am earning $4,000 (2,900 euros) just now, because of the hard times. This is what we decided on, that we should recognise the hard times at the moment," Mugabe said in a BBC interview at the weekend, according to excerpts published in state media.
The average wage in Zimbabwe is $300 a month, but unemployment runs at 80 percent and most of the population of 13 million live in poverty.
The report did not say how much the 90-year-old president, who favours designer suits and Rolex watches, might receive in allowances or what he earns outside government.
Mugabe has interests in farming among known business entities under his name.
The president built a plush private mansion on the outskirts of the capital Harare, reportedly worth more than $10 million.
Last month the veteran leader gave a $100,000 gift to his daughter and son-in-law at their wedding, which he hosted at his mansion with more than 4,000 guests.
Last month Zimbabwe announced a $6,000 salary cap for executives working for state-owned companies following reports that some of them were grossly overpaid.
The head of the public health insurance fund was a top earner, with a gross monthly salary of $535,499, while the Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation boss took home $37,050 a month.
The country in 2009 ditched the worthless Zimbabwe dollar currency in favour of the US dollar and a raft other regional currencies.
What is the Monuments Board talking about? Are they a bunch of stupid, naive and ignorant officials? Did they not understand from the begining that when you lease your land or property to someone else, you are leasing it for a purpose, either for further development of otherwise? Now it is too late and until 50 years when the lease expires, the Monuments Board can renew it or terminate the lease. I can envisage another huge claim against the Monuments Board and for that matter, the Ghana Goverment, coming up for settelement. When are we going to grow and stop behaving like crawling babes.
Ghfuo, change ur thinking 11 years ago
This is nothing but business. Gh govt must pay fiddler the money he has invested thus far. PLUS pay a penalty for breaking the 20hr lease. If theybdo this, then they can't take the fort back from fiddler. Idiots! Imagine our dumb leaders taking kickbacks room sign off on epa. What do you think will happen. Do we ever learn?
Baafour 11 years ago
I am wondering how some of our decision makers arrive at their decisions. Did they foresee all these crap they are now citing against this innovative British investor? Surely, this is another judgement debt in the making.
Azumah Nelson 11 years ago
Let him continue the Lease.This Guy will do a good job developing this place than any Ghanaian, or any Ghanaian government.
Krikri 11 years ago
This white slave master thought of the future and made his invstment. The Ghanaian authorities only thought of the fufu and bush meat they need for today, nothing else. Why worry the forward planning white colonialist now?
Krikri 11 years ago
Blematsu 11 years ago
That's arrant nonsense! You cannot even see beyond the ordinary......"let him continue..." my foot. can he own a fort in his country?????
Krikri 11 years ago
Blematsu 11 years ago
Don't use rocks and slings to attack ppl defeating around the fort becos they have no where to shit....muahahahahaaaaaaa! Why should I be upset with this British guy? I will prolly do worse. Blame the stupid govt for giving him the lease in the first place. Where was ppp in this development. Public private partnership!
JK 11 years ago
We have to admit this Fidler fellow is a bit eccentric. He also has a sense of humour.
If all he used to try and get people to stop defecating on the beach is a sling-shot, then he did well. I suggest they give him a pell ... read full comment
We have to admit this Fidler fellow is a bit eccentric. He also has a sense of humour.
If all he used to try and get people to stop defecating on the beach is a sling-shot, then he did well. I suggest they give him a pellet gun.
liv 11 years ago
Thank you Azumah. Let him go ahead and develop the place and let's stop this black and white nonsense.
sacred 11 years ago
throw that shit out.they still enslaves us and we have to end that shit.doesn't it bother you that we still have to pay high fees for a common british visa?
Daniel 11 years ago
Why should Mr. Fidler, come to Ghana today and demand the Castle in his name. To hell with him. He has no right to take over the Castle in the eyes of brutal slavery perpetrated by the British government then. Regardless of so called document, the said property belongs to Ghanaian people by right. By the way where is the compensation for slavery? Let the British government face me, and I will tell them about their atrocities committed against Ghanaians and other Africans during Slavery times.
Did fiddler put a gun to your head to buy the lease? What were the terms of the lease? Gh govt, you greedy bitch. U fucked up and now crying slavery? FOOLS.
He jumps before he looks. Then says..awirade me wuooo! And holds their head...lol
Kwasia, u should have held your head, looked and then jump.
He jumps before he looks. Then says..awirade me wuooo! And holds their head...lol
Ataatse 11 years ago
I can not believe my eyes. Do the people in Dixcove want us in this age and time to sympathize with them because they are been stopped from defecating on the beach ? Oh God save us from our own filth and ignorance. Shame on you all.
Foxnews 11 years ago
Wow black african which l am one, there is nothing good in our head,we are expects to steal and destroy.Imagine even our fort and castles have to be lease while the ministry of tourist yearly recieves huge budgetry allocation so my question is where does all does money goes?.We are still primitive,a country with thousands of PHd holder and internationally acomplished children of this country but we still enslave our own people by stealing the little that we have back to the banks in europe,america and asia while our own people die of huger,miseary and poverty.How is the white man going to respect us when they see the babaric nature of our leaders treating their own.Its fascinate them how we think as humans.
foxnews 11 years ago
Correction:experts
Dixcove royal 11 years ago
It's unfortunate that fidleris talking about the state of the castle the castle was very well maintained by the late chief Hima Dekyi of Upper Dixcove and I am sure that attracted him to it.every year the chief paints it white and that's where we celebrate our kundum festival. Unfortunately, it was leased to him just around the time she died. The castle was one of the well kept monuments in the country. The community were not part of the process and was single handedly handed over to him by the authorities of the museum and monuments board at that time. If they have realize their mistake, they should thread cautiously to avoid any judgement debt for the state.
OTTOBA CUGUANO XXV 11 years ago
No entity has the right to lease a national monunument (even one of national tragedy). In the case of the Dixcove fort, the people of Dixcove own the land. Dixcove suffered the injury of the slave trade and is today being made to suffer the indignity and insult of a government that collaborates with a British exploiter to exploit the symbolic tomb of millions of ancestors kidnapped, captured and sold into slavery.
Village Food 11 years ago
Foxnews what you are sayin is sad but true
In the mind of the corrupt there is no iimit. No iimit whatsoever of any kind! The Mahamas are racing to catch up with the Kufuors. Kufuor's brother and former Defense Minister became the first Ghanaian billionaire. The Mahamas and others are trying every which way they can to catch up and beat the Kufuors. Today it's not enough to steal $100, 000. From $100,000 to $1 million, then 50, 100...a billion. Not enough! And so we go on and on and on. The daughter of the Nigerian President had a wedding recently, and received about 35 luxury vehicles as gifts from the bigwigs of the ruling class!
K. Ghana 11 years ago
Africans are idiots!
Pontius Pilate 11 years ago
we can't manage anything well. someone comes to manage and look at what they are doing
KING KONG 11 years ago
DEAL WITH THAT OBRONI PETE
Mr. Objective 11 years ago
The locals would have used this facility for nothing apart from defecating. They are simply envious of the guy for turning round the fortunes of the abandoned castle. Let the guy continue to do the good work he has started. Encourage him and many more investors would come to turn this moribund economy around for the benefit of us all. Shelve the envy and let the guy do what he knows how to do best.
Forward Ever!
Backward Never!!
There is Victory for Us!!!
Two centuries plus later, some still connive and collaborate with the slave traders. They cannot even leave alone the memorials to the evil commerce that took my beloved ancestor, "Ottoba Cuguano" (Otu-ba Kogu-ano) of "Ajimaque" (Ajumako).
A sinister fate shall be the reward of those who, like the collaborators of the slavers, commit the same crime all over again in our day. They steal or sell state assets to the foreign oppressor with impunity. Not even the relics of historic memory are spared. What fate deserves a nation that sells its memory? What fate they that sell the tombs of millions of ancestors taken across the Atlantic in chains to a life of torture, imprisonment and hard labour? A life worse than those of animals?
Another shameless tribute to the boundless corruption of both the NDC and NPP!
CHARCOAL SELLER. 11 years ago
NDC&NPP, are arrogantly displaying their neocolonial attributes, they are the darlings of imperialism, from George Bush highway to a return of the slave dungeons, operated by colonialists on African soil in the 21st. Century, is nothing short of appalling.
The actions of these two reactionary neocolonialist political parties, signals an extremely dismal future for Ghanaians, after selling off the nations assets to the lowest bidders and squandering the money, I will not be surprised if their capitalist greed, plus their backward political ideologies, leads them to auction off more Ghanaians to their imperialist masters, in a return to chattel slavery.
We Ghanaians sit around doing nothing. When someone comes in and starts to produce positive results then the retards amongst us with the loudest voices start to agitate against the progress being made. We are too fond of wanting to reap where we have not sown and Christ warned against that. Lazy Ghanaians, get off your duff, put on your thinking hats and start to develop your own incoming generating opportunities.
sulamana 11 years ago
MY BROTHER, THIS IS THE FIRST ARTICLE OR REPLY THAT HITS THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. yES, WE SIT DOWN DOING NOTHING. tHEN SOMEONE COMES AND INVESTS HIS HARD EARNED MONEY AND THEN WE WANT TO REAP WHERE WE HAVE NOT SOWN!!! GHIVE THE MAN HIS DUE, WE HAVE NO RIGHT TO INTERFERE WITH HIS OPERATIONS. WE NEED TO RESPECT HSI INVESTMENT AS GHANIANS ABROAD ALSO HAVE THEIR INVESTMENTS RESPECTED AND EVEN ENCOURAGED. WE ARE NOT AT ALL SPECIAL. WE ALL HAVE TO OBEY THE INTERNATIONAL RULES OF BUSINESS.
Boateng 11 years ago
My friend, the problem is what he is doing to a Ghanaian Monument! He could have bought a land and developed it to his liking and I would not care but we are talking about history and what it means.
Raising the Union Fla ... read full comment
My friend, the problem is what he is doing to a Ghanaian Monument! He could have bought a land and developed it to his liking and I would not care but we are talking about history and what it means.
Raising the Union Flag over the Ghanaian Monument is an insult and he knows that! He is violating the intergrity of every Ghanaian.
He has no right to modify the monument as he pleases. That cannot be done in Britain and it definately cannot be done in the USA!
There are regulations governing renovating monuments. He should be kicked out and be made to pay to bring back the monument to its original design.
I lived in Germany and saw some ancient castles eg. Burg Fischering in Luedinghausen used as a restuarant for Tuorist. All renovations were guided so as to mainatain the original design and the materials used have to be of the same type or be very close to the original material and must be approved!
The guy should know better! He is disrespecting Ghana.
Adjei 11 years ago
I only hope he is not on a treasure hunt as you can use metal detectors and scanners to locate. to locate hidden treasures such as gold coins.
Village Food 11 years ago
Adjei u have made a good point
Fuck 11 years ago
Why did they give to him in the first place?
Boateng 11 years ago
In 2001? Why did the government approve of this deal? Friend, you have a good question.
JOSEPH ATTAH-MENSAH.AKA CAESAR. 11 years ago
BRIT, INVEST IN UPLIFTING THE PEOPLE, NOT REMINDING THEIR SORROWS.
Ghanaman 11 years ago
Guys,
what is a piece of meat to a sheep.
If truth be told, how many of such forts do we have in Ghana and what "effective good use" have we put them. Let him develop it and let it yield money and let us tax him rather tha ... read full comment
Guys,
If truth be told, how many of such forts do we have in Ghana and what "effective good use" have we put them. Let him develop it and let it yield money and let us tax him rather than it to rot as the others are rotten for who maintains anything in Ghana.
Boateng 11 years ago
If it is a monument then he has no right to do what he pleases with it. He is Brit and he knows better not to modify monuments as he please, that is a violation! That cannot be done in the Whiteman's country.
By the wa ... read full comment
If it is a monument then he has no right to do what he pleases with it. He is Brit and he knows better not to modify monuments as he please, that is a violation! That cannot be done in the Whiteman's country.
By the way what does he mean by raising the Union Jack over a Ghanaian Monument in Ghana? That is an insult! He must be grilled for that.
USMAN 11 years ago
Another judgment debt looms. Thanks to our useless university graduates in authority.
IDDRISU 11 years ago
ALWAYS WANT FREE MONEY. THE CASTLE BELONGS TO THE GH GOV FOR ILLITERATE SAKE! FRANKLY ...
Kofi Mensah 11 years ago
Mr. Fidler is behaving like a FIDDLER and his passport and continuous stay in Ghana should be withdrawn.
He then should be jailed at Nsawam prison until he is dead.
Mr. Fidler is behaving like a FIDDLER and his passport and continuous stay in Ghana should be withdrawn.
Boateng 11 years ago
Kofi, you are 100% right!
JQ2 11 years ago
Slave monument renovated by White British for Tourism--this is unethical and slap in the face of the Black Race in modern day Ghana. Where are all my Black Superstars and millionaires in the diaspora thinking.
I truly miss K ... read full comment
Slave monument renovated by White British for Tourism--this is unethical and slap in the face of the Black Race in modern day Ghana. Where are all my Black Superstars and millionaires in the diaspora thinking.
I truly miss Kwame Nkrumah-the true and only Osagyefo
Nii Joromi 11 years ago
These brainless officials would sell their own children for a few pennies. I am not surprised they gave out such a historic monument to a Brit to develop.
We need a mental revolution in Ghana...Now!!!!!!!!
These brainless officials would sell their own children for a few pennies. I am not surprised they gave out such a historic monument to a Brit to develop.
Kwabena 11 years ago
At least this white man is making money for himself, AND Ghana. Those dumb ass envious Ghanaians cannot even build public toilets in their village!
K. Ghana 11 years ago
Our leaders are so dubm and greedy!
DIXCOVE 11 years ago
As to how this could have happened is unfathomable. What influenced the decision of the Museums and Monuments board to enter into such an agreement with Mr. Fidler? Is Fort Metal Cross not a UNESCO heritage site? And if it is, can it be leased to Mr. Fidler when it's maintenance and upkeep rests solely with the Monuments board? There's more questions than answers but the fact remains that, Mr. Fidler should not be anywhere near Fort Metal Cross let alone, raise the Union Jack over the structure, no way!!!. The people of Dixcove should also not be easing themselves anywhere near Fort Metal Cross if the Monuments Board were to be serious about their mandate.
Nii Joromi 11 years ago
Africans never learn from history. This is so disgraceful and difficult to understand. It looks like another judgement debt is on the way.
Raw 11 years ago
if we allow this man then we are all stupid and we will never learn
Say the TRUTH 11 years ago
GHANAIANS FEAR TO INVEST THEIR MONEY & RESOURCES TO BUILD AND MAINTAIN INFRASTRUCTURES AND ALWAYS GIVES THAT HARD PART TO FOREIGN INVESTORS AND GHANAIAN DIASPORAS!!!!
WHEN THE BEAUTY OF THE INVESTMENT STARTS TO MATERIALIZE ... read full comment
GHANAIANS FEAR TO INVEST THEIR MONEY & RESOURCES TO BUILD AND MAINTAIN INFRASTRUCTURES AND ALWAYS GIVES THAT HARD PART TO FOREIGN INVESTORS AND GHANAIAN DIASPORAS!!!!
WHEN THE BEAUTY OF THE INVESTMENT STARTS TO MATERIALIZED THEY THEN START THEIR "SKIN PAIN" PULL HIM DOWN MENTALITY TRYING ALL SORTS OF MEASURES TO KILL THAT INVESTMENT .....IN THE END IT COMES UP TO "BIG JUDGEMENT DEBT" AGAINST THE STATE/STATE INSTITUTIONS/INDIVIDUALS AND THE DESTRUCTION OF THAT INVESTMENT EVEN IF THE STATE/INDIVIDUALS THAT TAKES POSSESSION IN THAT INVESTMENT & INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPED!!!
IT IS PATHETIC AND A CURSE FOR A NATION TO DO THE AND HAVE THAT KIND OF MENTALITY WHICH IS ONE OF THE MAJOR CAUSES OF THE DECAYING OF THE NATION GHANA!!!!
Kwabena 11 years ago
ghanaians are always envious of what others have made with their hard earned sweat. And the fools at the Monuments board, instead of helping this 'white man', are siding with the envious fellow Ghanaians.
We are so fed ... read full comment
ghanaians are always envious of what others have made with their hard earned sweat. And the fools at the Monuments board, instead of helping this 'white man', are siding with the envious fellow Ghanaians.
We are so fed up with seeing Ghanaians shitting next to our heritage. When you go to these castles they are surround by
Shit! Build a few toilets, where is the government and the tourist board? Leave the white man alone, he is doing good for our country.
Horemheb 11 years ago
If I were this Brit Mr. Fidler,I would start enslaving Ghanaians again in that fort since they were stupid enough not to know the emotional implications of their ill advised lease agreement
MAKAMAMAK 11 years ago
ARREST HIM THEN DEPORT HIM TO WHERE HE CAME FROM
Sassy 11 years ago
Hey there, your country isn't an ideal place for anyone to feel sorry about being deported. You can keep your shit hole primitive country. Uncouth bunch of people, defecating all over the place with unbearable stench in the air, piles of rubbish fills the streets & homes, most corrupt government I've ever encountered.
Sassy 2 11 years ago
So go back home to your own country.Broni Pete. THIS MAN SHOULD BE CASTRATED FOR BEING GROSSLY INSENSITIVE
BULAALAH 11 years ago
Can Africans claim the tunnels and underground system they were used to construct as slaves? These guys should think twice b4 such stupid claims.
BLACK-STAR-COAST 11 years ago
THE CASTLE IS THE HEARTS OF DIXCOVEANS,MEANING,THIS GOVERNMENT HAS ALSO SOLD THE TOWN TO BRITISH,AT THIS MODERN ADVANCE PERIODS,AS OTHER NATURAL RICH RESOURCES HAS BEEN SOLD TO CHINA,AND OTHER FOREIGNERS
Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 11 years ago
Halelluyah nd.......Amen!, fr Samms!. God bless u oman Ghana nd forward-ever!...
Why 11 years ago
wasi 11 years ago
GO TO ENGLAND GHANA IS FOR GHANA FALKS
MenayeFUAforiwa 11 years ago
Kwame Nkrumah said Neo-Colonialism will come in many colours to fool Africans especially Ghana but the fathers of the NPP led by Kofi Abrefa Busia and others did not believe him now here we are . Which non citizen of United Kingdom can go to Leeds and fly his/her country's flag in UK with impunity as this Fidler guy is doing in Ghana without any questioning from the British government?. This is going to be another Judgement Debt case again in Ghana and these corrupt and stupid Justices are ever ready to award him with whatever sum of money he may sue for. Atimes I ask myself do these people in government and quasi government Corporations seek advice before entering into contract with other people? In Kwame Nkrumah's time no one heard about these nonsense from any quarters. A foreigner coming to claim part of the country because he owned it? Nkrumah may be rolling in his grave. I always say if this Mahama man is allowed to stay in power for another two years Ghanaians will wake up one morning to hear that Ghana has been sold to a foreign entity. An example of it is what we are reading from this column today.
DARK DAYS IN GHANA 11 years ago
This is the sad part of this story:
"In 2001, the Ghana Museums and Monuments Board approved his application enabling Fidler to take up residence in the former District Officer’s room of the fort and began remodeling the castle and its surrounding area". I bet all it took for Mr. Fidler to get the lease were a few bottles of Schnapps and gin. Our people are so stupid.Nkrumah abre agu.
People have always suggested the Ministry of Tourism should spend a few millions to renovate all the Castles and Forts along the coast of Ghana as a way of attracting tourists, particularly African-Americans.Our ministers should come to Europe and see how they preserve their old castles and use them as tourist attractions.
And this same government is sitting at the table right now ready to sign the EPA agreement.That will be the beginning of the end for Ghana.
mr amin 11 years ago
if a country opperate a weak currency its people will be slaves to foriegner. they will buy your lands etc. the cedi should be strong not weak. save the cedi n save ghana.
I say 11 years ago
So now Fidler thinks he owns the Fort ? the thought that in 2001, some stupid people,... enough. have to go outside to scream !!!
Obahemaa 11 years ago
what a shame. Just can't imagine any non-British ever owing, let alone renting a flat miles away from any British historical sites. Here comes any slave master mentality. How dare you, Mr. Red Neck!
Kordiaber 11 years ago
This is what happens when Ghana lacks a Leader. Those in power don't know what is going on around the Country. It is very shameful indeed reading this and we call ourselves an Independent Country. Useless Leaders.
SUCK 11 years ago
THIS FUKEN DISGRACE TO GHANA ONLY IN GHANA CAN THIS HAPPEN!!MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS ARE HYPOCRITES SO THESE THINGS CAN HAPPEN HERE!! WHAT A DISGRACE!!! AFTER ALL NOT UNTIL RECENTLY THE SEAT OF GOVERNMENT WAS IN A KILLING HOUSE THE CASTLE OSU AND NO SAW ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT!!! WE THEN GOT THE INDIANS TO BUILD POULTRY SHED AT FLAG STAFF HOUSE. MAJORITY OF GHANAIAN ARE JUST FUKEN FOOLS AND THEY THINK THEY ARE SAMRT!!! THIS MAN CAN ONLY DO WHAT HE IS DOING WITH THE SUPPORT OF SOME OF THE LOCAL PEOPLE! THEY SAME WAY THEY DID DURING THE SLAVE TRADE!!! WE HAVENT CHANGE!! I CANNT EVEN BELIEVE THIS WAS HAPPENING IN GHANA UNTIL NOW!!! NOW THE FUCKEN PRESIDENT WANTS TO SIGN THE EPA!!! KNOWING VERY WELL ITS NO GOOD FOR THE COUNTRY!!!1 NOTHING HAS CHANGED AFTER 600 YEARS!!! I WISH THE WHITE GUY WELL AND HOPE HE WINS HIS CASE IN COURT!! HE WILL WIN!!! ALL HE NEEDS TO DO IS PAY THE JUDGE SOME FEW DOLLORSVaND THATS IT!!!
tony obroni 11 years ago
Oh dear my beloved Ghana , it is the same old story
dunaa 11 years ago
We Ghanaians have got to learn to respect the sanctity of contracts. A lease is a contract! Once the lease was signed, it must be respected by all parties to the lease. It does not matter whether or not the chiefs of the area think they have to be consuted before any renovations may take place. The Board has the statutory authority to sign that lease. Perhaps the Board should have informed all the interested parties but the tendency of Ghanaians to not obey the law when it suits them is going to be our undoing! Twenty thousand pounds sterling is a lot of money. Maybe the chief would rather continue in their poverty for the next twenty years. If the lease has not lved by the terms of the lease, that would be one thing but if the lease has done everything he is supposed to do then the Board will lose in court. I can see this as another one of those court cases which may end up in international courts and Ghana will surely lose after we spend all that money to litigate. And we think we are so smart!
Mansah 11 years ago
First of all, a lease is a lease with terms and conditions which spells out the dos & donts for the parties. Let's assume Mr Fidler entered into the lease in 1996 for 20 years. The lease will be expiring in 2016. The lease will expire in 2 years. At which time the Lessor may or may not renew for another term. Why spend money you don't have now to litigate when in 2 years you simply do not renew...That's what corruption brings you!!!
A Tourist 11 years ago
The Brit is trying to cover the dirty history of the Fort which states that a young virgin girl was buried alive when the Fort was built. The British did that. The Brits believed in ritual at that time and not only Africans believed in human sacrifies. The late chief of Discove encouraged Fidler's authority of the Fort as for example when the chief died Fidler fired the Fort's cannons which had not happened for past three hundred years. Besides, the late chief who has a lot of wives used to receive gifts from Fidler who helped the chief to complete his building near the Fort.
ADONGO 11 years ago
THIS IS NEO -COLONIALISM.THE WHITE MAN CAME WITH A BIBLE IN HIS HAND AND A DAGGER ON HIS BACK.POVERTY HAS REDUCED US TO IDIOTS!
ESI 11 years ago
LOOK, WE HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS ON OUR HANDS ALREADY SO PLEASE GET THIS WHITE BRIT OUT OF GHANA ASAP.
NO TIME FOR SUCH NONSENSE!
LOOK, WE HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS ON OUR HANDS ALREADY SO PLEASE GET THIS WHITE BRIT OUT OF GHANA ASAP.
BUSINESS DEVELOPER 11 years ago
Ghana?ans should leave th?s alone ,he ?s a bus?nessman and has done no wrong by ho?st?ng br?t?sh flag and protect?ng the fort from defecat?on,our ch?efs are lazy and must learn a lot from th?s man .
JH New York 11 years ago
Here we come ! The idea that the Fort is lease to Mr Fidler a British national,who have the audacity to raised the Union Jack on our independence day is disgusting in the first place. Mr Fidler's behavior is Treasonous ,Why was he not arrested and Deported within 24 hours. Because,it's just like still having Governor Eden Clark in the Osu Castle.
When would some of our so called CEO's or the leadership in the Country,Stop to Sell out the Country to foreigners,or use Simple Common Sense approach,to the day to day administration and management of the Country.
At the event of the then Gold Coast being granted and declared Independent by the British,all holdings by former Colonialists automatically became the property of the newly formed Nation,Ghana. And therefore ,the British built this and that is only history.
This Fort is on our land in our Country !
Did the Mr Fidler applied and Submitted technical drawings to The Ghana Museum,for the renovation he wanted to Carried out,and was it approved ? If No, Mr Fidler Cannot talk about the money spent on renovation and others.Because he had not the right to renovate the place without approval from Owner of the property-Ghana Museum and Monuments.
I blame the fools who lease a Fort to a foreigner.
Anyway,when would Ghana learn a lesson !
KWAME, BELGIUM 11 years ago
The people of Ghana must know all these before. Why now? Who is to blame now?
Sankofa 11 years ago
Robert is Fiddler by name and by nature.
This idiot has the effrontery to tell us the fort at Dixcove was 'built by the British' so it is a 'British fort in West Africa'. Note that this nincompoop locates the fort in West Africa, not Ghana never mind Dixcove. And the despicable fiddler has the temerity to use a slingshot to hurl stones at people defecating at the shoreline of the castle. Let it be known to this buffoon that the fort is on Dixcove soil, he is only a temporary tenant, and the good people of Dixcove are free to defecate where they want on their own soil.
The Ghana Monuments Board must explain why they granted this twerp a 20 year lease on the fort. We are a sovereign country, and the forts are a ghastly memorial to the barbaric slave trade unleashed on our forebears by Fiddler's countrymen. We have no business leasing forts back to those who subjected our people to such callous inhumanity.
Fiddler is a throwback to another age. He has no respect for our people, and has a neocolonialist mentality.
He must be deported at once!
Seriously thinking 11 years ago
I am sorry to state that what happened at independence was black British replacing white British, and we don't even try to become good at being British!
Kwamina Andrews 11 years ago
Why can't we just stick to legal agreements that we make. The man has taken a risk to develop something we have just been Shxxting around for years and we want to abrogate the agreement. Be ready for another judgement debt!
kaketonti 11 years ago
Deport him.He has no bus ticket.Another EPA in the shadow
Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago
2001 remains a significant year because of who was in power. Sell Baby Sell.
Can anybody account for any payment made by Mr Fidler?
nii atuguba 11 years ago
who built the fort?whiteman or blackman?
it goes back to the person because we have no use and mud houses
N. NYIMPA-BENYAW 11 years ago
Did the authorities find out the meaning of his name – Fiddler? Someone who fiddles with something, to his own advantage. Did he fiddle with the lease agreement. From time immemorial, Ghana has lost billions of dollars because Ghanaian officials cannot author or interpret contracts , local or international. Out of ignorance or out of malice.
linda Fidler 9 years ago
No he has not fiddled with the lease agreement , He is a hard working man who has done alot of good for the community at dixcove. built a bridge, a road, stopped water going into the houses at the harbour side, repaired the big house on the hill, employed many people to renovate the fort with care, please he is a good man.
KOFI 11 years ago
Surrey farmer suffers blow in fight to keep 'castle'
The property built by Robert Fidler at his farm in Salfords, near Redhill The home was built secretly without planning permission
Continue reading the main story
Relate ... read full comment
The property built by Robert Fidler at his farm in Salfords, near Redhill The home was built secretly without planning permission
Related Stories
Fight to save hidden castle fails
Farmer loses hidden castle fight
Fight to save hay hidden castle
A farmer who is trying to prevent the demolition of a mock-Tudor mini-castle he built secretly in the Surrey countryside has suffered a setback.
Robert Fidler kept the luxury home, complete with turrets, near Redhill, hidden from view behind bales of straw.
He believed that once he had lived there for four years, he no longer needed planning consent.
But following a legal ruling, a planning inspector has now rejected his bid for the home to be declared lawful.
The inspector, Sara Morgan, said she agreed with an earlier Appeal Court ruling that because Mr Fidler had deliberately concealed the development, at Honeycrock Farm, the four-year period began only once he had removed the bales.
Now he is pinning his hopes on the council approving his retrospective planning application for the building that he and his family have been living in for more than 11 years.
“Start Quote
The bales of hay that hid the construction of the home
That [residential] use was concealed in the same way that the dwelling house itself was concealed”
Sara Morgan Planning Inspectorate
Mr Fidler, who farms a herd of Sussex beef cattle on 250 acres of land in the village of Salfords, has been fighting Reigate and Banstead original council's enforcement notices, requiring the home to be torn down, since 2008.
He has vowed to take his case to the European Court of Human Rights if necessary.
'Unacceptable' precedent
He, his wife, Linda, and son, Harry, moved into the home in 2001 after their attempts to win permission to convert a neighbouring cowshed on the site dragged on for years without resolution.
But the council says that if Mr Fidler had succeeded in getting the council's enforcement decision overturned it would have created "an unacceptable precedent for development in the green belt".
Mrs Fidler said of the latest blow: "It will be very hard [to knock it down]. It will feel a complete waste of time and effort when we have put a lot of love and attention into the place."
Her husband said of the four-bedroom property, which also features a gravel forecourt, ramparts and replica cannon: "It's just a family home. Who is it hurting?"
In her ruling, the inspector said: "That [residential] use was concealed in the same way that the dwelling house itself was concealed."
The council says it will not decide what action to take until councillors have considered Mr Fidler's retrospective planning application.
Mr Fidler, who says he is happy for a clause to be included in any planning consent, tying the home's future sale to the continued use of the farm, said: "Hopefully [the council] will have the decency to realise we are not bad people and will find a way of allowing us to have a home on site.
"But I can assure you, we are never going to knock it down."
Yaw manu 10 years ago
My heart breeds
My people lack leaders
Where are my Ahantas?
My heart breeds
My people lack leaders
Where are my Ahantas?
linda Fidler 9 years ago
Hi This is Mrs Fidler, Mr Fidlers wife, to my horror i have happen to see this article. My husband has always had the fort open to any visitors or ceremonies this is a complete lie. we can only apologise to all the people this must of insensed and hurt, as it has hurt us as much to think someone would try to cause such confusion to so many people. We have been coming to Ghana for over twenty years and have many very dear Ghanian friends who we would gladly call family, we are currently supporting over twenty christian churches between dixcove and kumasi and my husband teaches and visits them when he can. We took over the lease of the fort in 2001 with a contract for tourism so it would be against our venture to stop any festivals taking place as these are part of ghanas traditions . I hope someone finds out who has spread these very unhelpful lies and again i apologise for this ever happening. yours faithfully Mrs Fidler.
AYA 9 years ago
hmmmm, Ghana for you...it really something which is there tho**Arex my case**•
U broke ur lease Mr fidling in my country..
Mr. Concerned Ghanaian, I think it would be unwise on your part to suggest that this white man should be killed. Why? Are you racist? Do you expect to be killed when you go and reside in Europe? What are you going to gain ...
Rob has done nothing wrong, all he has done is renovate the fort and help the village people at dixcove with many projects and taken and paid for people to go to hospital, saved a few lives and has never stopped any festivals ...
this is what you get when u have assholes at the helm of affairs. leaders who got shit for brains. Ghana is one hell of a fucked up country. next thing you know we'll be leasing our entire sovereignty to the Brits. Fuck ever ...
Bro, you're right!
There is definitely a Ghanaian official behind all these. In the first place, why lease a slave castle in Ghana to a Whiteman on an African shore? Don't you know any history at all? That's why some Afric ...
'Some villagers who spoke to the paper indicated that Mr. Fidler used a slingshot to hurl stones at people defecating at the shoreline of the castle, despite the fact that there are few toilets available in that neighborhood. ...
Reportedly, some 28 or so forts and castles were built in ...
'Some villagers who spoke to the paper indicated that Mr. Fidler used a slingshot to hurl stones at people defecating at the shoreline of the castle, despite the fact that there are few toilets available in that neighborhood. ...
Zimbabwe ...
What is the Monuments Board talking about? Are they a bunch of stupid, naive and ignorant officials? Did they not understand from the begining that when you lease your land or property to someone else, you are leasing it for ...
This is nothing but business. Gh govt must pay fiddler the money he has invested thus far. PLUS pay a penalty for breaking the 20hr lease. If theybdo this, then they can't take the fort back from fiddler. Idiots! Imagine our ...
Don't use rocks and slings to attack ppl defeating around the fort becos they have no where to shit....muahahahahaaaaaaa! Why should I be upset with this British guy? I will prolly do worse. Blame the stupid govt for giving h ...
If all he used to try and get people to stop defecating on the beach is a sling-shot, then he did well. I suggest they give him a pell ...
Why should Mr. Fidler, come to Ghana today and demand the Castle in his name. To hell with him. He has no right to take over the Castle in the eyes of brutal slavery perpetrated by the British government then. Regardless of s ...
I can not believe my eyes. Do the people in Dixcove want us in this age and time to sympathize with them because they are been stopped from defecating on the beach ? Oh God save us from our own filth and ignorance. Shame on ...
Wow black african which l am one, there is nothing good in our head,we are expects to steal and destroy.Imagine even our fort and castles have to be lease while the ministry of tourist yearly recieves huge budgetry allocation ...
It's unfortunate that fidleris talking about the state of the castle the castle was very well maintained by the late chief Hima Dekyi of Upper Dixcove and I am sure that attracted him to it.every year the chief paints it whi ...
No entity has the right to lease a national monunument (even one of national tragedy). In the case of the Dixcove fort, the people of Dixcove own the land. Dixcove suffered the injury of the slave trade and is today being mad ...
In the mind of the corrupt there is no iimit. No iimit whatsoever of any kind! The Mahamas are racing to catch up with the Kufuors. Kufuor's brother and former Defense Minister became the first Ghanaian billionaire. The Maham ...
Africans are idiots!
The locals would have used this facility for nothing apart from defecating. They are simply envious of the guy for turning round the fortunes of the abandoned castle. Let the guy continue to do the good work he has started. E ...
Two centuries plus later, some still connive and collaborate with the slave traders. They cannot even leave alone the memorials to the evil commerce that took my beloved ancestor, "Ottoba Cuguano" (Otu-ba Kogu-ano) of "Ajimaq ...
NDC&NPP, are arrogantly displaying their neocolonial attributes, they are the darlings of imperialism, from George Bush highway to a return of the slave dungeons, operated by colonialists on African soil in the 21st. Century, ...
FORGETABOUTIT!!!
We Ghanaians sit around doing nothing. When someone comes in and starts to produce positive results then the retards amongst us with the loudest voices start to agitate against the progress being made. We are too fond of want ...
MY BROTHER, THIS IS THE FIRST ARTICLE OR REPLY THAT HITS THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. yES, WE SIT DOWN DOING NOTHING. tHEN SOMEONE COMES AND INVESTS HIS HARD EARNED MONEY AND THEN WE WANT TO REAP WHERE WE HAVE NOT SOWN!!! GHIVE THE ...
Raising the Union Fla ...
Guys,
If truth be told, how many of such forts do we have in Ghana and what "effective good use" have we put them. Let him develop it and let it yield money and let us tax him rather tha ...
By the wa ...
I truly miss K ...
As to how this could have happened is unfathomable. What influenced the decision of the Museums and Monuments board to enter into such an agreement with Mr. Fidler? Is Fort Metal Cross not a UNESCO heritage site? And if it is ...
WHEN THE BEAUTY OF THE INVESTMENT STARTS TO MATERIALIZE ...
We are so fed ...
Hey there, your country isn't an ideal place for anyone to feel sorry about being deported. You can keep your shit hole primitive country. Uncouth bunch of people, defecating all over the place with unbearable stench in the a ...
Kwame Nkrumah said Neo-Colonialism will come in many colours to fool Africans especially Ghana but the fathers of the NPP led by Kofi Abrefa Busia and others did not believe him now here we are . Which non citizen of United ...
"In 2001, the Ghana Museums and Monuments Board approved his application enabling Fidler to take up residence in the former District Officer’s room of the fort and began remodeling the ...
THIS FUKEN DISGRACE TO GHANA ONLY IN GHANA CAN THIS HAPPEN!!MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS ARE HYPOCRITES SO THESE THINGS CAN HAPPEN HERE!! WHAT A DISGRACE!!! AFTER ALL NOT UNTIL RECENTLY THE SEAT OF GOVERNMENT WAS IN A KILLING HOU ...
We Ghanaians have got to learn to respect the sanctity of contracts. A lease is a contract! Once the lease was signed, it must be respected by all parties to the lease. It does not matter whether or not the chiefs of the area ...
First of all, a lease is a lease with terms and conditions which spells out the dos & donts for the parties. Let's assume Mr Fidler entered into the lease in 1996 for 20 years. The lease will be expiring in 2016. The lease wi ...
The Brit is trying to cover the dirty history of the Fort which states that a young virgin girl was buried alive when the Fort was built. The British did that. The Brits believed in ritual at that time and not only Africans b ...
Here we come ! The idea that the Fort is lease to Mr Fidler a British national,who have the audacity to raised the Union Jack on our independence day is disgusting in the first place. Mr Fidler's behavior is Treasonous ,Why w ...
This idiot has the effrontery to tell us the fort at Dixcove was 'built by the British' so it is a 'British fort in West Africa'. Note that this nincompoop locates the fort in West ...
Did the authorities find out the meaning of his name – Fiddler? Someone who fiddles with something, to his own advantage. Did he fiddle with the lease agreement. From time immemorial, Ghana has lost billions of dollars be ...
No he has not fiddled with the lease agreement , He is a hard working man who has done alot of good for the community at dixcove. built a bridge, a road, stopped water going into the houses at the harbour side, repaired the ...
Relate ...
My heart breeds
My people lack leaders
Where are my Ahantas?
Hi This is Mrs Fidler, Mr Fidlers wife, to my horror i have happen to see this article. My husband has always had the fort open to any visitors or ceremonies this is a complete lie. we can only apologise to all the people t ...