JJ caused Northerners, Ewes to hate Akans – Ocquaye

Read Comments Comments (369)

• Tommy 10 years ago

TRIBAL ETHNIC GROUIP

• Tommy 10 years ago

TOO MUCH TRIBALISM WITH THE AKAN TRIBE

• champion 10 years ago

how could oquaye say this? has he forgotten about what victor owusu did to the ewes? has forgotten what nana addo said "y3 akanfo"? please npp. stop blaming anybody for your failures. blame your own visionless leaders.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPT NDC MUST TELL US WHAT EXACTLY THEY HAVE DONE WITH THE MASSIVE $20 BILLION THEY HAVE BORROWED IN JUST THE LAST 5 YEARS, IF HE IS SAYING,HE HAS NOT BORROWED FOR DRINK AND MERRY MAKING, WHICH MEANS CREATE, ...

• Frank Thompson 10 years ago

Too many idiots calling themselves professors. How can this buffoon call himself a professor.

Has he forgotten what Ken Agyapong said about killing Ewes and Gas?

• facts 10 years ago

The truth is one. Ewes and their nyebro favoritism is from years. Akans by the Ntafo history were very close to the northerners as brothers. It is in fact true that Rawlings and his tacticians were able to bring some hatred b ...

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana 10 years ago

Rawlings is idiot and everyone that follows him is also full of evil and has demonic power. That is the reason why Ghanaians are suffering now.

• why 10 years ago

An idiot was able to rule u for 20yrs with his idiocity. Than u urself must be a very big idiot

• JULO 10 years ago

The problem was with Victor Owusu and his acrimonious campaign in 1979 where h accused Ewes of backwards thinking. Check your history

• GIRLS SP 10 years ago

You see how stupid some Northners and Ewes are to believe in that thief Rawlings?

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 10 years ago

IMAGINE THERE WAS NO RAWLINGS!

JEREMIAH JOHN RAWLINGS
    The true son of mama Africa
    You came, you saw and you
    conquered your corrupt enemies.

He first appeared on the Ghanaian
    political scene on June 4, 1979.
    Then ...

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

HEY NEMESIS DON'T TRY TO PROVOKE SOME OF US.ARE YOU TELLING US ABACHA TOO WAS GOOD FOR NIGERIA?WHERE DO YOU LIVE IN UK TELL ME AND I WILL BE THERE TO CASTRATE YOU,FOR YOU TO BEAR IN MIND ANYTIME YOU COME ACROSS GHANA AFFAIRS. ...

• STOP AND THINK 10 years ago

WE ARE ONE PEOPLE EXCEPT THE IDIOT POLITICIANS WHO WANT TO CAPITALIZE ON THE WEAK THINKING PEOPLE. THEY SHOULD STOP THE NONSENSE.

POLITICIANS WITH THE POWER THEY WANT, LIKE TO TRY EVERY AVENUE AVAILABLE TO THEM, BY CAPITALIZING ON WEAK THINKING PEOPLE. WHO IS GREATER THAN THE OTHER IN THIS COUNTRY? STUPID POLITICIANS PUT US TOGETHER THAN DIVIDING US FOR ...

• Foli 10 years ago

Stupid professor, You want to lead this country with that mentality? You forgot who said "inward looking people".

• Mark 10 years ago

Is time the leadership of NPP should stand and condemn this type of talks,'MATI MIHUN' was JJ there before this nonsense start?the only Region which is a "Country" in Ghana is Volta Region.Region. Transvolta Togo-land was div ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

WILFULLY BLIND OR JUST PLAIN IGNORANCE?

I have been amused, and somehow puzzled, at the rumpus being raised about what crazed Agyapong said. But what I find surprising is the virtual hypocrisy and mendacious attempts to br ...

• 123 10 years ago

You are really sick and will die as stupid trokosi child molester.

Savage gbemela and dzimakplaviwo!

• francis 10 years ago

and you call this ghana a liberated country! i wonder which part of uk that you claim you live! wise up! and stop that sycophantic behavior

• Fuzzy 10 years ago

It's ur entire generation that is stupid

• BE WISE 10 years ago

Don't mind them, even recently when Akuffo Addo went to the VR, he said a similar thing. Now tht they can't get votes frm these two regions, they want smone to blame it on. Prof. Ocquaye shd stop it right there. They started ...

• INDEPENDENT MAN 10 years ago

HE CALLED EWES INWARD LOOKING

AND EWES ARE TYING TO DIFFUSE THE CAPTIVITY JJ PUT THEM IN. ALL HAVE TO BE FREE TO JOIN ANY PARTY. ALL PARTY ARE CORRUPT EXCEPT CPP, PPP, AND OTHERS WE ARE YET TO TRY.

• IDIOT CAT STEALER EWE 10 years ago

BUT DON´T YOU KNOW IF VICTOR OWUSU DIDN´T EVEN SAY IT,DON´T BE HYPOCRITE!

• dr kwofie 10 years ago

let me tell you out there that we akans are more than any other tribe in ghana so if all akans will vote for the akan party as you have been saying what will ndc be in ghana.please be wise and stop that tribal thing.

• ANNAN AKWELEY 10 years ago

PROF HAS A PSYCHIATRIC PROBLEM LONG TIME AGO. HE STILL SEES HIS PSYCHIATRIST ANYTIME HIS DRAGS RUN OUT.WE KNOW HIM. WE HIS RELATIVES.

• Tony H 10 years ago

A Prof or not a Prof, the person belongs to NPP, nation of primitive people, his thinking is primitive as he is himself.

• jerry junior 10 years ago

thank you for this

• Okey Man 10 years ago

The Ashanti popular prophet said it all. Ashantis by nature are goats and behave by demonstrating the full natural and artificial characteristics of matured, experienced and serious Ghana goat. When have Ashatis started going ...

• i and i 10 years ago

Nonsense like what you wrote.

STOP DIVIDING US FOR POWER, AND UNITE US.

WE ARE TIRED OF YOU.

Listen to me, l have never ever seen any stupid man like you before. Okay? Ofui ba!

• Gonzaga 10 years ago

JJ Rawlings is useless, idiot, foolish, corrupt, opportunist and senseless human being. I don't know why idiots follow him. I blame Boakye Gyan and others who made the coup and made him chairman. AFRC, PNDC, NDC and now see h ...

• Osei Bonsu 10 years ago

The Prof is very right indeed. The need to correct Nkrumah's mistake for the unity with Trans Volta Togo is paramount in any future progress of our Republic. It is more and more becoming clear to our people that Eves have bee ...

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

ANOTHER TROPICAL RAIN FOREST FOOL.

• i and i 10 years ago

Like your bastard tribe who don't have anything to boast off.

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

ALWAYS A THIEF IS THIEF,AS LIARS ALWALYS LIES,BELIEVE IT OR NOT BOTH THE PROF AND OSEI OWUSU WERE RIGHT.RAWLINGS IS THE MOST DANGEROUS HEAD OF STATE THAT MOTHER GHANA HAS EVER GOT.ALL THE PROBLEMS THAT THE COUNTRY IS FACING N ...

• ASANTE MOTHER FUCKERS 10 years ago

If you see him taking your gold take him to court. If you have evidence, what the FUCK are you waiting for?

• IDIOT CAT STEALER EWES 10 years ago

HE KNOWS THAT HE WILL BY ALL MEANS BE JUDGED BECAUSE EVERY THAT HAS A BEGINNING HAS AN END HIS END WILL COME AND YOU WILL CRY YOUR UGLY EWE CRY.IF I SEE HIM TAKING OUR GOLD,JUST WAIT WOWA[BEE]!

Yes indeed. Gen Afrifa, Gen Acheampong, Gen Akuffo, Boakye-Gyan all EWES. YOU IDIOT!!!

• AGYAAKU 10 years ago

It's a pity the Prof.'s aguement is not based on any research finding. Is this what politics can do to a man with such credentials? The Ashanti/Ewe/Northen hegemony dates far long before the advent of Rawlings on the politica ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

And put that Ape-Monkey-Look Alike as King!!! . Ewes will PROGRESS with the rest of Ghana WITHOUT ASHANTIS!!!

• francis 10 years ago

i want to believe that you look like "rosalinda" and the "togbes" in your land.

• IDIOT CAT STEALER EWES 10 years ago

YOU IDOT EWES MUST GO BACK TO YOUR TOGOLAND DO YOU HAVE LAND MOTHER FUCKERS,YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE SAYING,IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE MAJORITY OF THE LAND THEN YOU BETTER LEAVE BECAUSE EVEN YOUR STEALING IS HAMPERING OUR ECONO ...

• gh vi 10 years ago

yes truth. u just told them the bitter truth. hahahahaha. they can go and form the baboon ashanti republic and then nana addo can finally become the president he so desperately wants to become. but as long as this country rem ...

• FOOLISH VICTOR OWUSU 10 years ago

Ashanti monkeys should take DNA test

• TEE 10 years ago

TRANS VOLTA TOGO THE BIG MISTAKE MADE BY OSAGYEFO DR. KWAME NKRUMAH AND THAT IS WHY RAWLINGS BASTARD THE SON OF A PROSTITUTE TOGOLESE BITCH COULD COME FROM TOGO AND MADE A COUP IN OUR AKAN NATIVE LAND GHANA

• Nana Kwaku 10 years ago

Frank, I agree with you to the max. In the first place this article refers to him as political historian. How can such a personality belong to a political party? What makes us think he will expose his party's negative past, w ...

• william 10 years ago

a TRUE POLITICAL SCIENTIST WILL NOT MAKE SUCH FACILE AND CLAIMS! A true politician, will not engage in the blame game and self-serving comments but will focus on a dispassionate analysis to help heal wounds and build the nati ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Nana binladdo is not a unifier, but rather a divider. After Nana disgraceful hiding in London for more six months, Nana binladdo came back to Ghana just to create a confusion and divide the country on regional and tribal basi ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

Why is it that Ewes never accept the truth. You said you want unity but you don't want to know what caused the division as long as you are in power, right? This is coming from Prof Ocquaye, a man who is neither an Akan nor an ...

• Amenuveve Kobla 10 years ago

Prof Ocquaye. You have forgotten your history.Stop fanning this tribal sentiment. Beware. You are no good historian.

• okofo 10 years ago

Your words are prophetic Tawiah. Akan hatred will not be in he interest of Ghana. Dr Apaaks,Ayarigas, Humados and so called Fiifi Kwerteys are mainly running things now: the booming economy we're enjoying now are there for al ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Ewes and Northerners do not hate Akans. NLM was the start of it and then Busia came in with his hate of anything Non Akan Apollo 568 and aliens compliance order. Even Kutu Acheampong and Joe Appiah were digusted

You are a damn fool. Was Busia not trying to protect Ghana? Look at Ghana today, full of Trokosis, Moshis and Kotokolis from Togo. How long do you think Akans are going to work for you? You will soon realize that your Ghana t ...

Busia was trying to "protect" Ghana indeed with his reprehensible "Apollo 568 Saga"!!! And who are the trokosis? Southern Volta Region was in the Gold Coast Colony since 1851 after the Danes divested themselves from their ove ...

• i and i 10 years ago

Stupid fool who love your bastard trokosilian imp lout loutish Ewes? No sensible Asante will love your bastard tribe get lot before i bite you with my venom.

• gh vi 10 years ago

u idiots are so bitter just because your tribal party is not in power and because of that u have gone berserk and raining insults on anybody in your way. "get lot before i bite you with my venom." this is an expression of an ...

• YELLOW YELLOW 10 years ago

just listen to this monkey with no tail

• okofo 10 years ago

Listen to your yourself Vodoo Xebieso: Osei Tawiah's grandfather "was... busy raping the giant she-ape in [the] forest..."

But your "own grandfather was born in 1845... recored by the Danish right? Statements like that are ...

• Togbe Amekudzi 10 years ago

Had it not been the wisdom of the great Ewe security consultant Togbe Kondo's brother (Okomfo who hails from Notsei) Okomfo Anokye, the tricky "golden stool" (a trokosi amlima creation), the divided warring states could not c ...

• YOUR STEPFATHER 10 years ago

OSEI "BABOON" TAWIAH a clinical fool like you should better shut up,monkeys like you...

• i will say 10 years ago

no wonder npp will never come back to power with professors like this parading in that party.when did he get his professor's certificate from?shame on you u useless historian

• koffi parker 10 years ago

Npp should stop this nonsense who are the Akans? the Ashantis? the Akyems?If Rawlings hate anyone at all (if any) it may probable be the Ashantis not Akans, neither Akyems nor Ashantis speak for or made up of Akans, Yen Akanf ...

THE TRUTH IS DEFINITELY HURTING MANY OF THEM AS IT DID WITH VICTOR OWUSU'S STATEMENT. IT IS A FACT NKRUMAH MADE THE HUGE MISTAKE WHICH HURT HIM ALSO. MISTAKES NEED TO BE CORRECTED AT ALL COST IF WE NEED TO MOVE ON AND TIME WI ...

He is not only a Yaka Gbomo but a damn hypocrite! A blasted liar! What does he take us for? Morons? Who is JJ to make some of us think the way he JJ allegedly does? When Busia and his PP were demonising, vilifying and target ...

• george aggrey. 10 years ago

Northerners and ewes hate Akans?Strange,northerners love brongs and fantis.be specific.The brongs hate Asantis even more.Is ur arrogant character not bad enough 2 cost this.u think u are better than the Fantis,brongs,Gas,Nort ...

• KB,LONDON. 10 years ago

a bunch of hungry and useless crooks who only formed a party to kill ghanaians and destroy our God given resources. that party is a curse to ghana.

• Joe Canada 10 years ago

how does statement "y3n akanfo" makes one a hater?. and what did victor owusu did to ewes. you can continue to live with your hatred heart for akans. what you to have understand is that at the end of the day its ordinary peop ...

• Patrick 10 years ago

Why wont Ocquaye consult with his tribes man Ayikoi Otu about NPP tribalism first b4 making thw above statement?

He is fast becoming a none entity in Ghanaian politics.

• Antoa 10 years ago

What is this prof talking about? Check the events throughout the Nkrumah era all through to Rawlings era. Tribal politics which pitched Asante/Akyem against other Ghanaians began the day Nkrumah stole the show from the Danqua ...

Go back and read the story all over again. Was Nkrumah a Northerner or an Ewe?

• Tommy 10 years ago

This is how the cowards call Ashantis gain the so call kingdom hiding behind other tribes especially the Northerners to do all thier dirty work for them,only for trhem to enjoy and dump you,I believe the Northerners and the o ...

• James 10 years ago

You are a sick donkey without sense. If not you mother fucker monkey shit eater would have know the seriousness of the dirty and tribal words from your equally foolish and drug addict Akufo Addo. You are out of your ugly blac ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

@James. All you need to do is to start feeling good about yourself and you will stop the insult. Joe did not say anything to arouse such an anger from you. Please work on your self esteem.

• francis 10 years ago

i support you 100 percent be bold, that man needs a psychiatric to erase that inferiority from his head

• joe canada 10 years ago

you have so much hatred in your heart, and I must warn you, you will die young if you don't stop. because, like it or not one cannot wipe out a particular ethnicity from the face of the world in this 21 century. some people h ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

We must celebrate differences and learn from each other because its the only way to develop and improve our country, and make it a place good for all.

• concern citizen 10 years ago

If Nana Addo said "Yen Akanfuo" and Mahama "We Northerners", can someone tells me the difference. Ghanaians should think as human being. I personally thinks the hatred for Akans is only jealousy from the poor ewes.

• Atuguba 10 years ago

The comments on this forum is below par. especially when it supposed to be a cross section of educated Ghanaians. This prof wrote a fabulous piece of this GAY issue. I think we should get this Prof to substantiate his stateme ...

• SHAMU 10 years ago

How can Ghanaians gain access to education if our so called professors can`t think? Look at what someone is talking about. Is that what he understand from his many years of education? God really for bid. If this is how foolis ...

• Nii 10 years ago

This supposed historian wants to tell us the he doesnt know that it is only Akans who have derogatory names they use to refer to other tribes in this country? Of course, he is a Ga! Why wont we sit here and allow the Akans to ...

You see how stupid you are? Is Ocquaye the caretaker of lands in Accra? Your foolish and greedy chiefs sold the land for kenkey. It does not matter whether Non-Akans hate Akans or vice versa. The only thing that's holding thi ...

• tommy 10 years ago

Just ask your self can NPP ever chose a Presidential candidate outside Ashanti/Akyem tribe dont look far you will recognize that fool is not far fetched stay tuned

• Crush, London 10 years ago

Fortunately or unfortunately, that message to the Prof from Osei Tawiah is rather true and a good advise to all Gas. You can never trust the Akan and this stupid man's message is quite reminiscent and reflective of the averag ...

• Kwame Maclean 10 years ago

Fellow citizens of Ghana please calm down. You see, this is one of the problems I have with the soo called Ghanaian professors. Mike Oquaye just talked like a child. Does it mean this is what he has injected into the blood of ...

• francis 10 years ago

shamu you need medical attention now. remember hate akans or love akans, akans or for that matter any other tribe will be there til thy kingdom comes. this earth is dwelled by people of different race, age, sex, ethnicity, re ...

• Noah 10 years ago

I want you to hold your breath. I seriously want to believe that this man is gradually getting out of his mind. If this is not mischief by this hopeless old man, what else is this? Unless this foolish and useless good for not ...

• Sheikh 10 years ago

Just to add to what you have just expressed, 'historians' like Ocquaye, let alone 'political,' should be blamed for the retrogression in Ghana at all levels. Why do you have to MISINFORM the newer generation except for you hi ...

• Joshua 10 years ago

The NPP is no longer an Akan party.Is now an Asanti/Akyem party since 2008.Prof. please check your facts well.Again,if the NPP is not an Akan party choose non-Akan as the flag bearer of the 2016 election & till you do that,yo ...

• prempeh 1 10 years ago

As he forgotten about Mate meho party, Okyeame Baffour Akoto the illiterate Ashanti man pushing Busia and co, forcing Osagyefo Dr.Nkrumah to seperate Ghana, Nkrumah had refused that agenda from the Ashantis, but when Busia ca ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

This assertion cannot be true. Akans are the least tribalistic. Go to Kumasi and see how other tribes are accepted and live together, how can you say Akans are the most tribalistic. Go to the public service, where an Akan hap ...

• AHITOPHEL 10 years ago

It is very sad that in the name of Politics, fine academics of par excellence can fall into abyss just to court the sympathy for his parochial interest and convenience.

The issue of tribal acrimony among ethnic groupings i ...

• Nnnn 10 years ago

How can a poilitcal historian forget Victor Owusu's "EWES ARE INWARD LOOKING" statement when JJ was still buying yorkor gari on credit? What kind of political academic is this man

• NOKWARE 10 years ago

OCQUAYE, AS SOME SAID IS A YAKA GBOMO! HIS LIES AND FABRICATION OF TRUTHTO ENABLE HIM DEMONIZE RAWLINGS HAVE BEEN EXPOSED.
    WELL SAID AHITOPHEL

• jj 10 years ago

Indeed ur name matches ur point of veiw

• Pround pepeni. 10 years ago

YES THE OTHER TRIBES ARE LIVING IN KUMASI BY THE SKIN OF THEIR TEETH. ANYTIME THE ASHANT KINGDOM IS BROKE, THEY SINGLE OUT THE VISITORS AND TAX THEM. ONLY IN KUMASI THAT THIS HAPPENS. IMMAGINE IF THE GAS DECIDED TO CHOOSE TO ...

• YET TO HEAR FROM EWES 10 years ago

No matter what you do to EWES, they will never like anything that originates from Akan. Ewes just love to live in AKAN towns.

I can not understand Ewes hatred towards Akans. Akans welcome Ewes in their towns and cities. Ak ...

It is Asantes that hate Ewes because Asantes want to rule Ghana. Ewes OUTSMART them in that.

• FIFI WILLIAMS 10 years ago

The sad thing about these primitive Ewes is that ;they are in their numbers in Akan areas. The Ewes who live in Akan areas are more than Ewes living in Volta Region.

Why do Ewes continue to pour in Akan towns if Akans are ...

• Virgin Cobra 10 years ago

Has any one gone to Eweland or Northern part of Ghana and heard of Asante town, Fante town,but when you go to akanland you see these settlers from Eweland and northern part welcome by the akans and living happily without any ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

The GUY from the OTHER TRIBE is NOT YOUR ENEMY; he is also a GHANAIAN. Some BAD POLITICIANS would want you to believe otherwise. DON'T VOTE for such POLITICIANS. We have attended the SAME SCHOOL, worshiped in the SAME CHURCH ...

• YET TO HEAR FROM EWES 10 years ago

Continue to hold onto the good ideas you have. People like you are our future. Thank you.

• DR KUFFOUR 10 years ago

Tommy, say it again. They are pointing at the wrong person. They are poeple who for their selfishness will stab a Love one. Just look at them within the NPP Party? Just think of the Kuffour and Nana saga or Nana and Alan sag ...

• AKAN AUTONOMY 10 years ago

THIS WILL BRING PEACE.

• DR KUFFOUR 10 years ago

Yaw, no part in Ghana belongs to any single tribe and your lack of knowledge of socialogy is a your big problem. My bro try to learn from others and that can bring peace.

• Akan Unite 10 years ago

then it belong to who, very soon we wil chase u all frm Akan land, u the evils

• DI ASEMPA 10 years ago

ewes don't have a land as you think.

• Nii 10 years ago

Thats why you think the Ga lands belong to you! Why dont you go build your houses in your favourite kumasi and leave us alone here in Accra? We love Ewes, Northerners, Krobos, etc. We'll prefer to have them as neighbours than ...

• fadikafuta 10 years ago

We are here with them in germany and the work they do is aplapla while the other tirbes do better work

• gh vi 10 years ago

ashantis are here in Ghana and because of their fake yellow painted "golden stool" they want to look down on any other Ghanaian. they start hating u when u begin to prosper, yet they will kneel and lick a white man's boot. in ...

Jerry Rawlings is not the wrong person to point at. He intensified 'WE AND THEM' POLITICS IN GHANA

at last you admit it , how can you hate the majority and still hope to participate in power ? your days are numbered

• Peace 10 years ago

Look at this prof. that is not ashamed of lying. He should go and ask his father the late Victor Owusu. A big shame on you prof.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Why Victor Owusu? What prompted Victor to make that "inward looking" statement? If you are sure of yourself, tell us why Victor said that. Look, some body said something that forced Victor to make that statement because the ...

EWES.

• Kwaku 10 years ago

The statement by Prof. Ocquaye need to be discussed dispassionately and examined scientifically from period 1981Decembre to 2000 when Rawlings was the Head of State and President of the country whether it can be proved and ...

• Jam 10 years ago

Tribalism, nepotism, dirty arrogance and looking down on other tribes are the cause of hatred against the largest vernacular speaking party in the world i.e NPP

You called yourself a human being but you have animal brain in your head. What is wrong about what the professor said? Was it not true? Aaaba! Wagyimi do do.

• THE WAY 10 years ago

I DISAGREE WITH MIKE OQUAYE,THE AKANS DISRESPECT THE EWES AND THE NORTHNERS.

• yaw b 10 years ago

And the Ewes and Northerners respect Akans, abi? Are you sure it's not jealousy and inferiority complex on your part?

• Abraham Dia 10 years ago

Inferiority? what bullshit. No Ewe or Northerner feels inferior, they just feel angry that another dirt ugly looking african thinks he is superior to him. So there is no inferiority only anger. Dont ever think that I feel inf ...

• NKETIAH ASIEDU 10 years ago

BUT DON'T YOU KNOW YOU PEOPLE ARE BACKWARD AND INFERIOR,HAHAHHA!YOUR MIND TELLS YOU.YOUR ZONGOS AND AYIGWE TOWNS SHOW HOW YOU PEOPLE ARE.THERE WILL BE NO MISTAKE IF I GIVE YOU DIRTY DOUBLE SLAPS ON YOUR IDIOT UGLY FACE FOR YO ...

• gh vi 10 years ago

the person who calls himself superior goes to the white man's country with a masters degree to go carry toilet whilst the people he thinks are inferior are employed in more respectable jobs. what a paradox. ashantis primitive ...

• Dunga 10 years ago

Ocquaye is talking rubbish, when Akans think they are better than other tribes, the insult being poured on the sitting president because he is from the north.Npp will bring Ghana into war if the president dont stop being soft ...

AKAN AUTONOMY NOW

• yaw b 10 years ago

You see what we've been saying always? Inferiority complex and low self esteem!!! So all the insults on Kufuor and Mills were because they are Akans, eh? Fools, always seeing everything through the tribal lens instead of the ...

• Maame Grace 10 years ago

Kwasea what about the insult on all the other presidents gone before the current one.Though i dont condone any insults Mahama is not the only person being insulted by the current group of youth who think the only way to addre ...

• NANA 10 years ago

Unfortunately most of the comments I am reading are from the young generation who would not understand what the good Prof is saying.Ghana used to be one till Rawlings regime,where he divided us just to be in power.

• Nnnn 10 years ago

When Victor opeened a can of worm with his popular Ewes are inward looking where was Rawlings then? If you are sincere you should have remembered this

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 10 years ago

JJ is in deed a selfish pot bellied man. He is a failure and so always want to ignite tribal passion to solicit sympathy.

• Tackson 10 years ago

Mik u need to know that northerners are wise enough to be manipulated by JJ and also want to think that Mik is saying that ewes do not think.

Mik think againh

Konadu Rawlings is acutally an Ewe and that is why she endorsed her Ewe Husband. Ghana was one ideed....before Rawlings came. Hahaha. It seemed as if Ghana was one because we the Majority decided to watch you these thieves fo ...

• APOLLO T 10 years ago

After our grand parents have lived and engaged them to stay and work with them, they now turn round to fights us.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Little John was standing in front of his mirror with his eyes closed.
    Why are you standing there with your eyes closed? asked his sister.
    So I can see what I look like when Im asleep, he replied.

• Kumordzi 10 years ago

Has Prof Mike Ocquaye ever listened to an Akan insulting Ewes and Northerners. He sit back and come again.

• paapa 10 years ago

My name is fordjour but my ewe friends call me fojo thinking am an ewes, I relies it sounded like an ewe name, so I decided to lie to them am an ewe but I av always lv in ksi so I can't speak the language, I tell u is only o ...

• KID 10 years ago

Akyems and Asantes are the cause of their problem. Party is just full of Twi-speaking arrogant empty idiots.

• Worried Citizin 10 years ago

Fool, who are the causes of your problems. Such premitive and stupid people like you are the causes of your own problems.

• ETA 10 years ago

Don't blame the said discrimination on anybody,the Akans shoul learn how to respect other tribes and see them as human beings since they can't be Ghanaians than anybody.

• Mandela Nelson 10 years ago

PROF.,SO WHERE DID JJ PUT THE GA-DANGBES?YOU ARE RATHER CREATING DIVISION IN THE COUNTRY.YOU ARE A BAD HISTORIAN AND FOR THAT MATTER A CHEAP PROFFESSOR.LEAVE JJ ALONE.

• AMA 10 years ago

Prof you are talking nonsense. How come? You are rather dividing this Nation.live JJ alone, and face your music.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Sack him. You cant employ a politician as a CEO of a bank. Are you saying NPP sympathisers should withdraw their moneys from STANBIC? You have one week to respond.

• ETA 10 years ago

The stomack Prof.should learn how prevent fire than to fight it since he can't stop what he is about to start, he suppose to be a Professor but not devisor.

• kofi yalley 10 years ago

when the late best and visionary leader and president, dr osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah was preaching unity and nationalism in Ghana, busia,jb danquah,edward akuffo addo (the father of the Lilliputian),Jake obestsebi lamptey, the bo ...

• kofiga 10 years ago

The only truth so far

• gyan 10 years ago

The Akans were conquered by Ewes as the history will tell. The reason why the Akans are plenty in the Volta region. Prof you are not a proper historian. Do you know the name Ayigbe?

• Obaa Yaa 10 years ago

The NPP too has added to the problem if any by looking down on those who are not akans.

• Sani not Abacha 10 years ago

When this JJ you hate so much wanted to electrify the North, ask yourself, what did you [NPP] say.? If you don't know the answer, request Mr. Dan Afari Yeboah to include it in his questions of 'What do you know?' on Sunday. T ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

ANDANI SHOULD BE SACKED AS CEO OF STANBIC BECAUSE HE IS A POLITICIAN!!!

Don't buy his soap, because he is a politician, Kwabena Darko also became Akukor Darko - What kind of a leader was JJ RAWLINGS? A destroyer.

• Ray 10 years ago

Ashantis are different from all others within the akan group.for ashantis their selfishness and greed has caused their hatred.Am a Ga but will always hate ashantis and avoid them as much as possible.

• Onipanua 10 years ago

Because Gas are fools, lazy and idiots. Avoid Ashantis and who care for your dirty environment. The only thing you know is food that is why all your songs food is mentioned. Who cares about such a foolish Gas hating Ashantis. ...

• Merlic, London 10 years ago

I am not Ga but married to a Ga woman. So, my children are both Ewes and Gas. Before marriage, all my girlfriends had been Akans and I have nothing against any woman. My little worry is this. What makes some tribes hate other ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

This statement from a politician historian is unfortunate,Rawlings should not be blamed for this tribal hatred if he really knows the history of Ghana,This is the time for Nana Addo Dankwa or any NPP presidential candidate to ...

• KK 10 years ago

Somebody ask the Prof said 'yen Akan UFO' in reference to members of NPP? Or was the statement an endorsement of what Prof is alleging and if an endorsement, then Rawlings did the right thing. However, if the comment is not a ...

• Charles Agbenu 10 years ago

Who said You Notherners should vote for me ?

• PROUD PEPENI 10 years ago

THE CAUSE IS THEIR ARROGANCE AND LACK OF RESPECT FOR OTHER TRIBES. IT BAFFLES ME WHY A GROUP OF DARK UGLY BAT EATING MONKEYS CAN BE SOO ARROGANT.

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Because they enslaved you for so many years .Infact ,the enslavement still goes on . They have made you to hate your own language ,you do not have any music of your own etc. They have given you identity as a Ghanaian. You sh ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

The welcome message at the national airport says "Akwaaba". The official language to greet visitors and tourists

• SLY 10 years ago

The NPP hasn't learnt any lesson as far as tribal politics is concerned. It has been their practice from the colonial days yet they can't stop. Remember the "Mate me ho, yen akanfuor die" just a few among others.

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

Rawlings is a nuisance in our county's political dispensation. This creep infiltrated in our socio-political system with his so called revolutions and messed us up big time! Entrepreneurs were branded kalabules and disgraced ...

• KWAME A. 10 years ago

The man is sick. If people like this teach our children then we are in trouble.

• still rastafari 10 years ago

rawlings judgement soon come !!!!!!

• Ahmed 10 years ago

Prof should know better.Remember Rwanda,Central Africa Republic,Ivory Coast,Former Yugoslavia ...the list goes on on on.This tribal politics in not in the interest of anybody.
    Let's cherish the peace we are enjoying in the ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Down memory line, it is on record that former President John Agyekum Kufuor told the whole world that it is like killing a fly with a hammer sledge if the state take Mr. Kennedy Agyapong to court for instigating genocide agai ...

• Roland Ekuban 10 years ago

It's an undeniable fact that the Northerners and the Ewes have always voted for the NDC, but it does not in any way suggest that Dr. Rawlings or the NDC have pitted Northerners and Ewes against Akans. Personally, I think the ...

• agbodzenkple 10 years ago

Is coming from whole learned professor? Is not a historian? Oh! I am afraid.

• Samson 10 years ago

Oh prof, I thought you were above this kind of thinking. How come you have stooped so low and gotten into the type of analysis as illitrates do. This is shameful. What you have done is to stoke the fires of tribalism. We shou ...

• YAW ODURO 10 years ago

RAWLINGS ORHESTRATED THE DEATH OF YA-NA IN TENDI IN A WAY TO DISENGAGE THE FRATERNAL RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE DAGBONIS AND ASHANTIS. THE RAWLINGS GROUP TOGETHER WITH THE TSIKATAS HATCHD A CLANDESTINE MOTIVE CAUSE ATROCITY IN ...

• TTK 10 years ago

All these stupid, unnecessary loose talks must stop in this country.NO TRIBE HATES ANY TRIBE. See how the akans men are now chasing ewe women for marriage.

• Kofi Afari 10 years ago

Did Rawlings ask Nana Addo to say 'yen akanfo dee'? Man, know where you belong and preach. Ruling Ghana is not talking; it's your policies and programmes. Period!!!!!

• Charles Agbenu 10 years ago

Kofi, who said ''You Northenrers should vote for one of your own?'' Why nis there no Ashanti Region representation in Mahama cabinet of 19?

• Kojo 10 years ago

I cannot believe this. Mike, the ordain minister of the gospel, indulging in such foolish talk?

Indeed, politics possesses the soul and dulls the conscience.

• Kwame Osei 10 years ago

Did Rawlings coin the slogans, "Yere gye yen man" and "Akonta besi fom"?

• DAN 10 years ago

THEN WHY DO THEY DISCRIMINATE AGAINST THEM?

• DAN 10 years ago

WHO INSULTED THE EWES?

• Nana Akwasi Boachie 10 years ago

The Prof's assertion is a mere hatred. We must bear in mind that not all Akans are Ashantis. The issue is between the Ashantis and all the other tribes in Ghana; not only Ewes and Northerners. A typical Ashanti-man will never ...

• kofi yalley 10 years ago

the minority leader in parliament once proclaimed that beside prof Ocquaye aka 'Ajasco', no any other Ga was qualified or fit to lead their Akan stricken party, the npp. Gas heard of this insult and yet some fools in their mi ...

• NOKWARE 10 years ago

NA WHO CAUSE AM? DELVE INTO THE POLITICAL HISTORY OF GHANA MY DEAR PROF. OCQUAYE WHOSE HEAD IS BURIES IN THE SAND APART FROM THE POLITICAL BLINKERS HE WEARS - ASK K.A. BUSIA AND VICTOR OWUSU TO EXPLAIN THEIR "APOLLO 568" AND ...

• Joe 10 years ago

A political historian indeed. Perhaps a british political historian. Free talk, no wisdom.

Thank you! Those were the NPP slogans that alienated the Ewes and the other tribes. They were not coined by Rawlings.
    If these guys don't accept and deal with the truth, they cannot do well in non-Akan regions, period!

Thank you! Those were the NPP slogans that alienated the Ewes and the other tribes. They were not coined by Rawlings.
    If these guys don't accept and deal with the truth, they cannot do well in non-Akan regions, period!

• Justice 10 years ago

Even when the NPP rank and file pick up guns/arms against themselves, they will try to link NDC to it instead of stepping up efforts to bring calm, peace and order among their activists. Your mother is dying and have died but ...

• Jay 10 years ago

Please esteemed prof spare us your nonsesne. How can a party like NPP who have Akans at the helm of all affairs suddenly say otherwise? I mean you have the whole party structure consisting of Akans and specifically Ashanti's. ...

• Qwame 10 years ago

What has the reason of Dagbon as the basis of the Northerners hating Akans got to do with the Ewes hating the Akans. The mam Ocquaye is delusional to say the least with this baseless and dangerous statement.

• WOFA YAW 10 years ago

AKANS DONT RESPECT NORTHERNERS.ALWAYS INSULTING THEM.BUT WETHER U ARE EWE,PEPENI,AKAN,GA,NZIMA,FANTI WATEVER YOUR TRIBE IS NDC LOVE U.

• Ghana 4 Ghanaians 10 years ago

Gentleman make ur point properly and stop displaying ur ignorance in public. The Akan in Ghana transcend Ashanti. While it is true that a tribe in Ghana does not respect the rest of the tribes in Ghana, it cannot be said that ...

• Awudu 10 years ago

WHAT PRO.OCQUAYE(PAPA AJASCO) IS SAYING IS TOTALLY NONSENSE,IT IS TRUE THE NPP IS A PRO AKAN PARTY,WE HAVE HAD THE CAUSE TO BELIEVE IT,LOOK AT THE WAY THEY TALK WHEN YOU GET CLOSE TO THEM,EVEN ON THE AIR WAVES.JUST RECENTLY,L ...

• asare 10 years ago

i spent more than 15 years in Volta Region and i can say here and now without any fear or lies that Ewe are not tribalism but we Ashanti are the only tribalist in Ghana..shame on us

• yaw 10 years ago

You have also forgotten statements made by gurus of NPP

• osigi 10 years ago

all the akans especially the ashantis holding senior post lost thier position in so many departments. even in civil servant position. ipersonally know alot of such people 2who run and left their shoes behind relocation from v ...

They lost their jobs, who cares? They can go and commit suicide, we dont care. They have raped Ghana for a long time and this made them more arrogant.

• FA 10 years ago

LOOK, THE NEXT ELECTION WON'T BE LIKE THE PREVIOUS . .WHAT DO WE SEE IN THE MINISTRIES AND THE STATE DEPARTMENTS ? MISMANAGEMENT AND ROBBERY IS THE ORDER OF THE DAY .WE THE AKANS CAN PROVIDE OUR OWN JOBs. Gwene wo ho .

• ERIC MOORE 10 years ago

Ocquaye is not a good historian he should remember what VICTOR OWUSU did to Ewes

• Brian 10 years ago

The hatred for akans in the country these days is too much. Appointees in Mahama's government is a good reflection.

• apuuu 10 years ago

Like they say divide you conquer and Jerry Rawlings had evil mind and some idiots accepted it Ghana wasn't like that before until the evil guy shows up this northerners and ewe were had working people but Jerry Rawlings able ...

• the devils advocate 10 years ago

The Akans are Akans but everyone else is either a northerner or a ewe and they hate the Akans because THEY ARE AKANS.Do the akans love the ewesand northerners?I am a NORTHERNER and long before the coming of J J Ifirst visite ...

• The truth 10 years ago

Maybe it was just you.

• sted 10 years ago

Tribalism is evil whether hidden or not. Love your neighbour as yourself. Even within same tribe brother hates brother ans sister against sister.

Why fight over what you cant take with you when you die? All things belong t ...

• APOLLO T 10 years ago

AFTER OUR GRAND PARENTS HAVE WORKED AND LIVED WITH THEM IN THEIR HOMES AND FARMS AND EVEN ASSISTED IN EDUCATING THEIR CHILDREN, THEY NOW TURN AGAINST THEM BCOS OF JJ UTTERANCES.

• JAMES CONGO 10 years ago

I think Prof Mike doesn't know the history between the Ewes and Akans very well. He must go back and read the history book which talks about the war between the Ewes and Akans.

• Acolatse 10 years ago

pls lets focus as a nation and stop the blame game JJ Rawlings is not an Akan man so how can his sayings or perception be taking by other tribal group this political talk is below the belt.

• KOFI ASIEDU 10 years ago

NOT LONG AGO YOU WERE CARRYING OUR CHITS.I DON'T KNOW THE EXACT DATE THAT YOU STOP CARRYING OUR SHIT. I LEFT GHANA IN MAY 1985 AND AT THAT TIME YOU WERE STILL CARRYING OUR SHIT.OF COURE YOU ARE INFERIOR PEOPLE AND THAT INCLUD ...

• liv 10 years ago

Everyone (all tribes) who grew up in the '60s understand what Ocquaye is talking about. Akans have always embraced other tribes and I can assure you all that no Akan hates any other tribe, deep down in our hearts we all know ...

• selorm 10 years ago

prof.suggest measures to correct it. dont just say it .

• Babs 10 years ago

Sorry for the Prof.

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Prof Ocquaye has pushed the right bottom for a correct lineup.Rawlings has absolutely divided Ghana tribally. How much is it going to benefit the ewes and the northerners?
    It doesn`t make no sense to hate the Akans for the ...

• Kwami - US 10 years ago

Some Prof cannot think straight. Even UP/NPP choose their presidential candidate based on tribalism. If not, why is it that Akufo Addo could not hand over to Dr Bawumia, the man who defended him (Akufo Addo) at the Supreme Co ...

• Asemfofro Eli 10 years ago

It is nit true that Rawlings caused that hatred.It is caused by the Akans themselves when some section of them believe that their riches can rule Ghana others believe the rest of Ghana is inferior to them otherwise why did so ...

• 3fa me ho b3n? 10 years ago

Ewes and Northners are idiots who can't think! Who cares about them anyway, they hate us and yet come to our land to carry our shit! Hahaha idiots!

• koffie 10 years ago

RUMOURS OF WAY ???

• BB 10 years ago

The Alans brought this upon themselves period. You see, you can't expect people you refer to as 'ayigbefuo/trokosis and or ntafuo to love you. I had my primary education at Takoradi. Those of us who ewes were referred to as ' ...

• FA 10 years ago

WHO DO YOU GUYS CALLED THE KABONGA, KOOKOASE AND AHABEMUFOH ? HOWEVER THE AKANS ARE HARD WORKING PEOPLE AND ACCEPT ALL NON AKAN TRIBES TO THEIR AREA.THAT CAN NOT BE SAID OF JJ EWES IN PARTICULAR. THE ONLY PROBLEM THE NORTH ...

• B Ranks 10 years ago

The lines are drawn and tribes are entrenched in their tribal positions,Nkruma`s fake unity has failed,new Ghana-order must be now,federation is the only solution if we want to avoid a near future all out tribal war,and I don ...

• B Ranks 10 years ago

I don`t want to hear anything about any national cake that is being produced by the Akans and their lands.

• Kumapem 10 years ago

Let the ayigbefou go fuck themselves who cares about them.

ONE OF SUCH NEEDED SOLUTIONS

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

I am a true blue Asante; my top man is powerful Otumfuo at Kumasi

- Akufo Ado Danquah Ado Akufo Danquah Akufo Ado is an Akyem; his top man is Okyenhene at Kyebi; we are two different animals yet Kwame Nkrumah Ghanaians; wh ...

• Nii 10 years ago

The problem with you Akans is that your supremacist thinking would land you somewhere. Ashantis think they are the boss of the Akans! or you dont know! Funny people! Secede and leave Ghana alone!

• i and i 10 years ago

Listen when Asantes secede and leave Ghana they can develop their region because they have everything or what it takes to develop a nation so never think about the Asantes.

• Agbedefu 10 years ago

Is this man really a Historian? What a shame to say this.

• Makuna Deee 10 years ago

So you didn't know that the Akan (Ashanti's) are too KNOWN? They should change and change Nana so that you can get our vote.

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

They should change from what to what? If you don't accept this fact, please keep voting for the wrong party and incompetent appointees dstroying the country. So you would rather see the country destroyed than to vote for an A ...

• Ibrahim Adam 10 years ago

The NPP as a party caused their hatred by the Northeners and not the former President Rawlings. The issue of this was eroded from the minds of all Northeners until they(northeners) marshall all forces and supported NPP to pow ...

• Papasee 10 years ago

Ooh! this man paaah were you not there when Ken said ewes & co should be killed?

• Hamsa 10 years ago

Where was Ocquaye when Victor Owusu refferred to Ewes as inward looking people.
    Where was he when Kennedy Adjepong said that all Ewes and Gas should be clubbed to death. Did ursula Owusu not refer to the northerners as peopl ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A woman is standing nude, looking in the bedroom mirror. She is not happy with what she sees and says to her husband, "I feel horrible; I look old, fat and ugly. I really need you to pay me a compliment ..."

The husband re ...

• DKA 10 years ago

This lacks logic.....

• Oheneba 10 years ago

Mike you are perfectly right. Rawlings sowed that seed for his own stupid and selfish interest. Gone are those days you ayigbe and the ntafo3 were our labourers. Nkwaeafo3, akronfo3!!!!!!!!!!.

• gyan 10 years ago

Ayigbe and ntafo3 born our grandfathers and mothers so we don't hate them ok. Ask your NPP leaders well before the insult.

• IDIOT CAT STEALER EWE 10 years ago

I THINK YOU AYIGWE GYAN BECAUSE YOU KNOW WHERE YOU COME FROM.BORN WHO AND WHO STUPID TALK.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Where was Professor Ocquaye when Victor Owusu took to the stage and saw all Ewes as "in-ward thinking". At the time, Jerry Rawlings did not even have any pubic hair. It was foolish, then and now, for any politician to imagine ...

I'm glad you said Jerry Rawlings contributed to it, and that is an honest comment. It is still stuck in my mind that he intensified 'we and them' politics in Ghana, and it has become a big problem for all of us. We must not r ...

• BUHARI 10 years ago

When the issue of the gambling debacle in Japan was exposed, the Fanti man Dr. Brandful was the one who was accused and made the scapegoat. The current Ambassador was recalled and the story they put on the issue was that, he ...

• Major C J Fulani 10 years ago

Who is not Ghanaian?

• Owusu 10 years ago

With charatcers like this foolish and empty man in charge of affairs in this country, we are doomed. No amount of his rubbish and demetia mind can make any change for these primitive bat and its shit eating Bonobo monkeys. W ...

• OSEI WIAFE 10 years ago

YESSS YOU 1000000% RIGHT PROF. THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT HE DID AND WITH HIS FOLLOWERS WHO NEED THE FREE SHS BADLY, THEY COULD NOT FORESEE HIS INTENTIONS. DIVIDE AND RULE & PUT THEIR HEADS TOGETHER TO FIGHT YOUR BATTLES FOR YOU.

• Solomon Nyaxo 10 years ago

I don't think dis statment is true cos during JJ's time it was akans dat benefited a lot.we de votarians gain less.anyway what about de staments made by Kenedy Agyepong and Nana Akuffo Addo.stop dis statments cos we ghanain ...

• fredsaid 10 years ago

TRIBALISM IS NOW GHANA'S NO. 1 PRIORITY. IT IS NOT ABOUT DEVELOPMENT, HOUSING, EDUCATION, PRODUCTION OF GOODS AND SERVICES, IMPROVING STANDARDS OF LIVING FOR EVERYONE. IT IS ABOUT EXPLOITING TRIBALISM TO POLITICAL ADVANTAGE. ...

• xtina 10 years ago

mike, tell akans to stop insulting, underrating and seeing themselves as superior over other tribes when in actual fact they are not.

• peace 10 years ago

You, are rather dividing GHANA and we shan't go with you.Why can't people accept defeat?

• LuckKOJO 10 years ago

Prof. this is dangerous analysis. this kind of analysis is not healthy for the country. your citing is more seditious than what you think JJ and his people did.

• LuckKOJO 10 years ago

Prof. you have hidden agenda before making this analysis. What didn't you mention Gas?

• EMABI OCRAN 10 years ago

You are 100% right. It is only the NDC fools who will not accept this claim but as Rawlings, he has to pray hard

• STEVE 10 years ago

Why blame J.J. Rawllings for something that was created by the Ashanti/Akyeams? Had there been anytime in Ghana's history on politics that a non Ashanti/Akyeam had been elected as flagbearer of the UP/NPP? They brought about ...

• akyekyedie 10 years ago

Boloney!

• Kofi J 10 years ago

But i believed there are many Akans in the NDC or are the Fantse not regarded as Akans stupid professor. Why are are Most Ashantis NPP stupid Pro

• Kofi J 10 years ago

Why do u keep it to yourself all this years if you know better..Prof.. you are an idot

• ABU MAJEED 10 years ago

PROF. I THINK YOUR PARTY PEOPLE CAUSE AM NOT RAWLING OK. NPP CAN ONLY RULE A DIVIDED NATION, ITS ON RECORD CLEARLY. YOU GUYS HAS BEEN CALLING KUMASI AS YOUR WORLD BANK RIGHT? NO BODY COMPLAIN, SO WHY WILL PAPA J.. CALL NORHT ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

EVIL JJ SHOULD BOW HIS EVIL HEAD DOWN,IS WE CAN BE WITH WHITES WHY CANT WE TOO??? JJ DID IT ALL,GOD WILL PUNISH HIM SOON,PERIOD

• AKANS REIGN 10 years ago

TRUTH HURTS BUT WHETHER ALL THESE EMBITTERED NON-AKANS LIKE IT OR NOT, SOME TRIBES ARE MORE SUPERIOR THAN OTHERS. We all can never be equal. Some will rule and some will slave...lol!! Even the world consider some countries SU ...

• Nana Kwaku 10 years ago

I believe you get very angry when mostly at the world cup, white refs help eliminate the tournaments African competitors. So, if you do believe there is such a negative concept as superiority in we humans, then please allow t ...

• JOJO KODWO 10 years ago

A whole Prof. has lost it this time round. Mike Quaye should be ashamed of himself. He should remember that he has a family and posterity will definitely judge stomach politicians like him.

• Yendi boy 10 years ago

The Akans feel they are better than any other Ghanaian tribe,which I feel is causing the whole problem and not Rawlings.Advice your people that all Ghanaians are equal regardless of your tribe.If the Akans fix these problems ...

• Dan 10 years ago

Ooooh Prof, blame Nana for using the word (YEN AKAN FO)

• Professor Banza 10 years ago

This absent minded professor Ocquaye should realize that if there is any hatred it is coming from the Akans who themselves were enjoying the country's resources namely Gold, Cocao and timber. Their elites are rich and don't r ...

• Kwame Obonti 10 years ago

Please ignore the professor's comments. He says anything whenever he doesn't eat his Kenkey for dessert

• Nii Yemoh 10 years ago

while occuaye want to put dust into our eyes,if i were him i will put my head in shame for supporting such party.We were in this country when they flagbearer said ye akanfo.someone also said they should kill the gas and the e ...

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

Is this man telling us to fights ourselves ??oh Ghanians,cants these old men sit back and let bygones be bygones?the world is moving fast with the youth not old men ,foreget Akans,Ewes,Northerners,Gas,And think Ghana,only G ...

• why 10 years ago

Ah prof did u sleep well last night? I dont think. Jj married an akan roly named his chlidren with other tribal names. What about u. Infact u are a disgrace to the accadermia.

• Nana 10 years ago

Prof well said. Peple like jj &his cohorts will die ®ret that they did this to Ghana. Can u blame them anyway? If u are not confident u resort of these to make ur self relevant. The creation of Rawlings are things like Tsi ...

• THE FACT IS NOT WHISPERED 10 years ago

Over the years, Akans have been perceived as pro-NPP while Ewes and Northerners are seen as pro-NDC.There is nothing worrong wif this fact.its just hundred percent true.
    let as face fact.the AKANS don't respect the ewe and t ...

• MAHOCK 10 years ago

OCQUAYE SHOULD THINK WELL AND STOP FOOLING.THE AKAN RE SOME CLASS OF PEOPLE WHO SERIOUSLY LOVE CORRUPTION AND TAKE ADVANTAGE OVER VERY TRIB THAT COME IT WAY.THE NPP PARTY IS FRANKLY AN AKAN FAMILY PROPERTY,SO NO OTHER TRIB IS ...

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

The damage that J J Rawlings machinated for his self aggrandisement and political gain is there for those who can sort through the smoke screen . He murdered his way to the top and violently ruled for 19 yrs with nothing to ...

• ANA 10 years ago

So why is he married to an Akan?

• Revjay393@yahoo.co.uk 10 years ago

THERE ARE THOSE WHO DREAM OF A BETTER LIFESTYLE
    AND
    AND THOSE WHO LIVE THEIR DREAMS
    THOSE WHO WONDER WHAT TOMORROW WILL BRING

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

Was Rawlings around during Busia and the Progress Party time? I was in Secondary school then and remember very vividly how the Ashantis were calling the Ewes 'number nine' and the Northerners, 'Pepefuoo'. During Hilla Liman's ...

• KWAME GHANA 10 years ago

PROF. SO YOU NOW KNOW THIS? WE KNEW THIS LONG TIME. RAWLINGS KICKED THE NORTHERNERS THE EWES and THE GAS ETC AGAINST THE ASHANTIS.HE SOMEHOW DID NOT SUCCEED WITH THE FANTIS.HE MADE THEM BELIEVE THAT THE ASHANTIS HAVE TRAMPLED ...

• Bo 10 years ago

you said it right

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Are ghanaians really serious? Tribalism was never a problem in Ghana when Osagyefo's CPP was in power.Ghana was a nation united for progress but now what do we see.Since February,1966 tribalism has reared its ugly head in Gha ...

• Obiba J.K 10 years ago

Dear people of Ghana,what pro.Ocquaye said is a lie to himself its not Rawling who brought trabalism in Ghana but by ourself because some people things they are superior and others are inferior but we have to respect every tr ...

• kpakpo osu 10 years ago

Ocquaye the fool, the Ga ingrate. Northerners hate u becos of Ashanti denigration, derision n disdain for northerners from time immeorial. U use them then dump them. They never vote for npp until u shake off the Ashanti/Alan ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Oh! dear. I never have seen a Prof. talk so loosely like Pro. Ocquaye. Akan caused their own hatred by their behaviour. Prof Ocquaye should stop spreading political hatred and division as an elderly politician.

• kpakpo osu 10 years ago

Npp always stoking inflamed tribal passions.

• Shame on you Oquaye 10 years ago

Was it Jerry Rawlings who forced Nana Addo to make the Yen Akanfuo statement?

• Yaw 10 years ago

The professor is losing his mental faculty. Has not read about the ''inward looking'' speech by Victor Owusu? Shame on this professor

• seidu gamel a.k.a honda 10 years ago

to an akan man espeially ashanti, nothing good in this country deserves northerner nor ewe i remember going to vote from nsawam to akomadan, i fell i was not a ghanaian infact the insults & humiliation alone is enough to call ...

• jayme 10 years ago

rawlings is a pathetic ewe

• kofi Antwi 10 years ago

I'm an AKAN , yet I don't give a darn about the liars, corrupt, selfish , and cheating NPP. So there, professor !!!!

• kretz - d 10 years ago

No doubt JJ Rawlings is the cause of many problems in Ghana not only hate between different tribes but also he is the cause of our political problems

• Afua US 10 years ago

Kofi save your breath on this saying of Ocquaye he is from a confused party blaming everybody on everything excerpt themselves

• AKU JASIKAN 10 years ago

HAVE YOU JUST FORGOTTEN WHAT VICTOR OWUSU SAID? HAVE YOU JUST FORGOTTEN WHAT URSLA OWUSU SAID THAT ALL NORTHNERS WOULD BE CATLE REARERS? HAVE YOU JUST FORGOTTEN WHAT KENNEDY AGYAPONG SAID THAT WE SHOULD BEAT AND KILL THE EWE' ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

HAIL DR OPUNI. DR OPUNI HAS BROUGHT REVOLUTION TO COCOBOARD, ARE YOU FOLLOWING THE CHANGES? SOME CRIMMINALS WHO HAVE ENTRENCHED POSITIONS HAVE BEEN MOVED FROM THEIR POSTS AND DEPARTMENTS TO NEW SCHEDULES, DR OPUNI YOU ARE A S ...

• w3 10 years ago

Obvious. He used other ranks against officers in the army, police etc for his own benefits. Why? Because he knows we are stupid.

• Abdul Fatao of Ahenkro 10 years ago

Oh Ghana
    Why tribalism
    We need all hands on deck
    Too much undeveloped resources
    Each side of the divide has enough rich folk thanks to corruption
    Do not pretend, my bro/sis
    Lets cease fire and go to work
    For God and co ...

• MAHAMA - DOING MY JOB 10 years ago

JJ DID MURDERED MORE AKANS - BUT JJ DIDN'T TURN NORTHERNERS AND EWE AGAINST AAKAN .

• w3 10 years ago

Recently the same JJ was saying Kussasi Mahama should help Mamprosi people to get into govt. Was it necessary? Of course not.

• w3 10 years ago

Demon on earth

• Batuuro Baba Mujeeb 10 years ago

How could prof. Mike Oquaye says such a thing? Is he saying the Northerners and Ewes can't think or what? They shouldn't again start their tribal politics.

• Man O War 10 years ago

In the US, Northerners pro democratic party and southerners are pro GOP. They may dislike each other in terms of policy.

• genesis 10 years ago

Who made gas hate akans too becos i knw the same way the akanns hate the gas is the way the gas hate the akans too.so who caused that

• Iwan 10 years ago

Political lying git. This man cannot differentiate between his imaginations and the truth. He comes out with stories as if he was the only person in this country at a certain time.

• EMEFA 10 years ago

The National Security should quickly invite Prof. Ocquaye for inciting these tribes against each other. Ghana has gone past such mischievous comments.

• apuuu 10 years ago

Let blame Jerry Rawlings everything that goes wrong in Ghana because he deserves apuuu man

• jim 10 years ago

pathetic man

• Amenuveve Kobla 10 years ago

It was not Rawlings. Remember long before Rawlings was a Progress Party flight bearer and minister who refered to the Ewes as inward-looking. He started it all. Before then the Ewes and Akans were very cordial. They even sta ...

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

You are very correct with your point here. The PP did and said a lot about the Ewes. I am not an Ewe but do remember this very well.

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

This Mr. Prof does not know what he is speaking about. I wish to know where he was during the PP era with Busia. Can he recollect the SALLAH case in Ghana. Does he remember what Victor Owusu and J.H. Mensah said about the Ewe ...

• Ugly Akufu Addo 10 years ago

Look at the comments that short devil made

• ghanaba 10 years ago

so for so long now that you have seen it.

• Agbee 10 years ago

Is prof. Ocquaye a stranger in Ghana? Has he forgotten Nana Addo's 'ye akanfo' slogan? what. Prof. allegation lacks merit. Ghanaians know that EWES, NORTHERNERS, BONOS, FANTES AND GANS are in good terms with one another.ARE F ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

A whole professor talking like this?

• AKAN MAN 10 years ago

WE DON'T GIVE A DAMN ABT HATERS. THE ANSWER IS SIMPLE... THE AKANS ARE RICHLY BLESSSED & SO ITS NATURAL FOR OTHERS TO HATE US. WHEN JOSEPH WAS BLESSED, EVEN HIS BROTHERS HATED HIM BUT THAT DIDNT STOP THE BLESSINGS.. WHEN ABRA ...

• fuseini Issaka 10 years ago

No Ewes don't hate Akans they hate theme self

• Serum spa 10 years ago

When JJ was not born ,Akan do not allow their children to marry ewe , stupid old man!

I Vodoo Xebieso have read all the comments. My only suggestion right now is that there should be a national confab to chart or agree on the way forward.

If some sections feel Ghana belongs to them only and demand for feder ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

I would love that. They should have THEIR OWN COUNTRY. You know what gonna happen?
    Asante man born 1 mile away from the Asantehene Palace thinks he is better than the one born 2 miles away. The one born 2 miles away thinks h ...

• DOKORDOKO 10 years ago

JUST TAKE A LOOK AT ELECTION TRENDS IN GHANA AND YOU WILL SEE THAT EWES ARE THE MOST TRIBALIST IN GHANA. AKANS ARE NOT,JUST LOOK AT ELECTION RESULT IN GHANA.

Idiot, wash your mouth first before you speak on this forum.

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

I thought you were going to dispute what he said .

• DOKORDOKO 10 years ago

WO MAAME TWE GREEN.

• joe 10 years ago

prof. you have hit the nail right on the head.some people would call you names but you have said the truth.jj is the cause of the woes of this country being tribal, socially, politically,economically.you may hate the akans bu ...

• Gaisey R cape coast 10 years ago

Stop the arguments and express some constructive ideas. Mahama is running with Ghana.

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 10 years ago

Listen to this FOOLISH Professor. And he calls himself a Reverend? There is no way Ghana can develop because we have many of such FOOLISH "Big Men" and worse ones in the helm of affairs in this country.

• mugu1 10 years ago

Prof Ocquaye says the time of Dagbon crisis as Prof Ocquaye put it was the govt at that time akan govt !!!

the npp destroying ghana at any means neccesary.
    and you have very foolish professor who waist all his time not fo ...

• Yaa, Orange U S . 10 years ago

Mr. Ocquaye are you serious. If really Rawlings is the cause of all these, and NPP is innocent, then why did you by pass the Late Vice President Aliu Mahama and went in for Akan man? Answer me this question. Is that one also ...

• Edward 10 years ago

Prof, this is not a fair statement to make. Dagombas are part of Northerners but not all Northerners are Dagombas. Dagombas are just a small fraction of Northerners. Therefore, if JJ was instigating Dagombas about Yana's murd ...

• Al Hajj AAA Rashid(OH. USA) 10 years ago

Mike Ocquaye has not changed a bit since I got to know him in Legon, decades ago.

What a stupid statement to make! Is Mike trying to suggest that Northeners, and Ewes can not think for themselves and it is Rawlings who th ...

• ananseba 10 years ago

Mr. Ocquaye reads his History through tainted glasses. For a Professor, his recent public comments display a level of ignorance that beggars belief.

• Kwasi 10 years ago

Prof is not telling us the truth, i remember during JJ's era there wasn't anything like tribalism, we were all one, we eat, drink,play football together, do everything together without pointing fingers at anybody in regards t ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

OCQUAYE,YOU ARE WARNED TO BE CARFUL WITH YOUR TRIBAL ANALYSIS.

TO NPP AKANS ARE ASHANTIS AND KYEBIS,AND EXCLUDES FANTIS, ASSIN, DENKYIRAS,BRONGS AND AKWAPIMS.

ONCE AGAIN,DO NOT TRY TO INSULT THE INTELLIGENCE OF THE PEOP ...

• KWAME 10 years ago

WELL SPOKEN PROF. GOD BLESS YOU

• Saman Pa 10 years ago

is it not true that even the Akans in NDC still label NPP as Akan party? Why? If NPP is an Akan party then why do the Akans find themselves as stalwarts in NDC. Mention them, a tall list. I continue to say that NPP should sum ...

• christian brotherhood 10 years ago

Kennedy Agyepong called upon Ashantis to kill GAS INCLUDING you MIKE OQUAYE because you are a GA by tribe and EWES so don't forget that unfortunate statement by a law maker and for that matter a parliamentarian from your N ...

• OXYGEN 10 years ago

U GUYS GET TU CONCERNTRATE ON FORMING UR OWN PARTIES, AM TIRED.U WOULD NOT TALK ON LORRY FARES N U RE ALL CRAZY 4 NOTHING

• Whatever 10 years ago

Was Jerry Rawlings the one who said "Akans should rise up to reclaim their birthright like their tribesmen in Ivory Coast did" or the one who referred to himself as "Yen Akanfo"

Kofi Awoonor was Akan, right?

• Whatever 10 years ago

Jake said that Akans just like their brothers and sisters in Ivory Coast did, should rise up and reclaim their birthright. I mean... Will this message endear Akans to other tribes? I don't know about Kofi Awonor or whatever h ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

Mike Oquaye must boldly tell the truth on the trajectory of our now worsening ethnic rifts, or shut up. He should not blame Rawlings alone for this deplorable state of affairs in our inter-tribal relationships. The proble ...

• Yaw, USA 10 years ago

Mr. Berko, your analysis is on point and well written. Thanks you sir!

• Kwadwo Asare 10 years ago

You did a great job educating this professor because this so called "hatred" existed before Rawlings.
    You are a Professor.

• KKO 10 years ago

GK,
    One thing you missed is the fact that being the majority, Akans are probably more forgiving than any of the ethnic groups in Ghana.

Victor Owuus's quip in Parliemant was actually in reaction to a remark that Dr Agama ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

You are a TRUE SON of Ghana,saying it AS IT IS.Thank you fou your MATURE STAND.
    That Oquaye-man is a DUNCE.....telling us TO PRAY for Engineers Not to leave TOR,because EVIL SPIRITS were drawing them away!!

• Jt 10 years ago

I have a question for u aque, serim- ni and Agnoloni are not words from Jj ask Kwabena Agyepong for his motives.

• Shafiu 10 years ago

This sort of hatred is too ridiculous!!!

• chris 10 years ago

Not true! Akans have always felt they are superior to other ethnic groups. Dr. Busia was extremely tribalistic. This problem has been around for a very long time.Just saying!

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

CHRIS OR WHATEVER YOU CALL YOURSELF, IT'S A PLAIN FACT THAT AKANS ARE ECONOMICALLY SUPERIOR TO OTHER GROUPS IN GHANA BY DEFAULT. THIS IS ALL OVER THE WORLD AND QUITE EVIDENT IN INDIA AND OTHER PLACES. RAWLINGS AND HIS SATANIC ...

• Kodzovi 10 years ago

U, Akans thinking that you know are rather fooling yourself. GBEHAWO

• DAGADOO NY USA 10 years ago

Oh shut the f_ck up. What are you talking about? If anything at all, JJ 's timely action was that of Emancipation. Thank God he did what he did. A dangerous outcome was looming. Political historian indeed. A bigot of a histo ...

• ...... 10 years ago

LOOK AT #9 MURDERER FACE.DR. DEATH IS NOCKING UR DOOR NOW.ASIEDU NKASEE WAS EATING UR KIDS LEFT OVERs NOW,JJ DUE TO UR STUPIDITY U WILL EAT ASIEDU NKASEE DOG SHIT.YOU STARTED THIS NDC SHIT AND TURNED IT TO ASIEDU NKASEE HE IS ...

• EFO 10 years ago

The BASTARD J J do not know his father and wanted to devid ghana.

• Onslopogas 10 years ago

Who say na lie?

• DUNAA, Chorkor 10 years ago

So where are the Gas in all these? And therefore what is the crime of the Gas to incur the wrath of the NPP in calling on Ashantis to kill the Gas and the Ewes? Never has there been a stupid Ga as we are experiencing in this ...

• AM-GERMANY 10 years ago

I THOUGHT THE PROF WOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER, TO CALM DOWN THESE UNNECESSARY HATRED. WE NEED FOOD ON OUR TABLES, GREEDY BASTARD "PROFETISIANS"

• Big Jay 10 years ago

Prof. Mike Oquaye is right. Rawlings and his Ewe tribe are inward looking.

• ADONGO 10 years ago

TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT ,THIS IS THE GOSPEL TRUTH!!!

• Uncle Al 10 years ago

Prof. Ocquaye you are an idiot, stop your nonsense.

• nunana 10 years ago

NONSENSE, NONSENSE, NONSENSICAL

• afuath 10 years ago

Yes he did,you can say that again

• afuath 10 years ago

Yes he cause it the division

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOLE OF FRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA,-POLITICS- CAN BE DONE WITHOUT IT BEING DONE AT THE EXPENSE OF -NATIONAL PEACE, SECURITY, STABILITY, UNITY AND ADVANCEMENT. PULSE. ...

• The truth 10 years ago

Let them hate all they want, they are only deceiving their self

• Dale Johnson 10 years ago

It is unfortunate that this idiot who is supposed to be a teacher and a former Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament under the Kufour government, would concoct an uncouth story like this one. Under whose government did Twi beco ...

• Tweaa 10 years ago

This ocquaye guy is an idiot....may be he just finished banku and shito so he has the need to say something....Next time Mr. ocquaye, do us a favor, shut the fu**k up!!!

• Tweaa 10 years ago

This is guy is an idiot. He probably just finished eating banku and shito so he felt the need to say something. Next time, please do us a favour...shut the fu**k up!!!

• USTARZ 10 years ago

Ocquaye, you are big foolish, stupid, crooked and useless man of all time. How come in these era you are writing such story's. You are a disgrace person to Ghana. Hopeless professor.

• Aba 10 years ago

IS IT NOT TRUE WHAT THE PROFESSOR HAS SAID? IT IS SO INTERESTING HOW PEOPLE CAN RESIST THE TRUTH. THAT IS THE GOSPEL TRUTH!

• Frimpong Enoch. Harrisburg, PA 10 years ago

Is about time Ghanians we see ourselves as one people, one ethnic group with a common destiny. Let us use words that will promote National Unity and stop this Akan - Ewe- Northern divisions.Gold Coast was there even long befo ...

• raskimo 10 years ago

Don't being afraid fill mentions your name ok don't abravation again ok. Thanks, by nnn

• kantinka 10 years ago

@ tommy. when you go to ashanti we have ayigbe town and aloga ,they all go to manhyia palace. can the akans in volta be accorded the same at asogli? kofi adam is a known togolese.

• Kwame 10 years ago

The akans should blame themselves because to them,no other tribes matters.

• YELLOW YELLOW 10 years ago

Mike Acquah onukpa amalelor,onukpa shamorlor...

some people dont realize outspoken people like sir john and ken agyapong dont need some position or party post to build their careers or remain influential . All they need to do is continue speaking the truth and defending th ...

• William K. Kyei 10 years ago

We,the Akans always think we are superior to the rest of the tribes in Ghana. That has always been our assertion and notion. Rawlings was, and has been the second best Head Of State Ghana has ever had, aside of Dr.Kwame Nkrum ...

• TEE 10 years ago

WHY IS IT A PROBLEM FOR THE NORTHERNERS BY SAYING NPP IS AN AKAN PARTY, YES WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT. IF THE NORTHERNERS WANTS A PARTY WHY THEY DON'T FORM THEIR OWN PARTY AND STOP DISTURBING OUR PEACE WITH NPP AKAN PARTY PLEAS ...

• jacobo 10 years ago

Prof you got it wrong, cross check issues just before and after independence.