You are here: HomeNews2014 03 29Article 304655

Four bank robbers jailed 300 years

Read Comments Comments (100)

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Our Criminal justice System should not be for Bank Robbers only. Time to start jailing politicians and Public Servants who abuse the office.

• SHAMU 10 years ago

If Ghanaian judge can sentense bank robbers for 300 years, then our politicians should be sentense more than 3000 years each for corruption. Do Ghanaians really live in this world or outer space? Because, leaving politicians ...

• Ghana-Man. 10 years ago

On what grounds did the Police officer acquitted and discharged? He is the centre of the whole robbery. Ghana judicial service is sick.

• JK 10 years ago

The story can't be true as written, else how on earth was Osae aquitted? He should get 200 years.

• Obournana 10 years ago

You are right. If the story is true then, Osae should even get more years except otherwise.

• TROKOSI LAW 10 years ago

His name is David DELALI Osae. He comes from Ghana's most favored tribe and most probably belongs to a particular political group whose members enjoy immunity against prosecution. Any wonder why he, the mastermind, was allowe ...

• CHIEF TRIBALIST SARPONG 10 years ago

You are a BIG FOOL, TROKOSI LAW.
    HIS NAME IS ALSO OSAE.
    WHY IGNORE THE NAME THAT TRULY SHOWS WHERE HE COMES FROM?

FOOL, KUFUOR IS WALKING FREE WITH GHANAIANS' $6 BILLION.

WHY DO YOU THINK GHANA NEVER SAW THE GAINS FRO ...

• Shocking 10 years ago

Yes, what mystery!
    The judge should be probed for possible bribe-taking.
    The police officer was the gang leader.
    This judge is like the "natural causes" pathologist.
    Disgraceful.

• AdaBoy 10 years ago

Truly shocking. Based on what has been reported here,the police officer organized and led the whole seige.Ghanaians must demand to know why the police officer walked free while his accomplices are incarcerated!

• AdaBoy 10 years ago

Correction,correct word is heist not siege.

• Shocking 10 years ago

"siege" is fine, my brother.
    After all, they had to, in effect, siege the place before heisting it.

Well said, brother.
    Something went very awry regarding the police officer.

• king 10 years ago

The police officer should jail too

• KWAME TWUM BARIMA,MARYLAND-USA 10 years ago

WHAT A MISCARRIAGE OF JUSTICE TO ACQUIT AND DISCHARGE OSAE WHO WAS INDEED AN ACCOMPLICE AND MASTERMINDED THE ROBBERY BESIDES LETTING OUT WEAPONS TO THE ROBBERS.THE JUDGE SHOULD BE QUERIED AND INVESTIGATED FOR A SIMILAR PUNISH ...

• gretchy 10 years ago

did da officer bribe da judge u may ask!!Hav ghana not got a special task force.u got gun happy police who will shoot at anybody.100years well betta to be killed than hang around for dat many years.Judge didnt get any funds d ...

• TWEAAAAAA 10 years ago

MY BROTHER GHANAMAN, ACCORDING TO THE CONSTITUTION OF GHANA, YOU CANNOT BE JAILED WHEN YOUR NAME IS DAVID DELALI OSAE...WHATEVER CRIME YOU COMMIT...YOU ENJOY YOUR SPECIAL IMMUNITY ENSHRINED IN THE ENTRENCHED PROVISION. GO AND ...

• SUCK UR MOTHER FOOLISH JUDGE. SM 10 years ago

TRIBAL JUDGEMENT...EWES ARE DIRTY AND EVIL DOERS..TRIBAL LIFE WILL MAKE YOU PEOPLE REMAIN THE POOREST IN GHANA.. FOOLS

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Idiot for making that silly and stupid comment. If we the Ewes remain the poorest in Ghana, we would never come and eat from your table. Gbeha.

• gh vi 10 years ago

from where did u arrive at the statistic that Ewes are the poorest in this country? the men u would describe as coming from the richest stock were the ones caught robbing ur so called poorest people in this country, and sente ...

• EAGLE EYE 10 years ago

THIS IS WHAT WE CALL AYIBE JUSTICE
    THE JUDGE BY NAME IS EWE, POLICE OFFICER TOO EWE, AND ALL THE 4 CULPRITS ARE AKANS BY THEIR NAME
    SO ONE SHD KNOW HOW THAT MAN (PROFSSOR ...), MAY HE REST IN PEACE, WHO WAS DEAD SHOT AT KEN ...

• L'Osservatore Ghaniensis 10 years ago

The politicians share their loots with the judges so how can they jail them? The judges use the armed robbers as scape goats to demonstrate they are doing their jobs.

• james naru 10 years ago

I totally agree

• Pelicles 10 years ago

If I understood the article well, the Police Officer was knee deep into this robbery so, why was he acquitted? Or just because maybe he knew somebody in a high position?

Armed robbery is on the ascendancy because most of o ...

• KOKOTAKO 10 years ago

Please fellow Ghanaians, dont joke with tribesof the criminals in serious crimes like this.Is armed robbery not similar to murder,treason? why jail them?Even in US,DEATH is usually the reward!!!!!

• Joana K 10 years ago

The Police Officer did not take active part in the robbery so he could not be charged for the said robbery. Prosecution ought to have charged him for abetment of crime, to wit, robbery. Prosecution should have done better tha ...

• Nyasemwhie. 10 years ago

Osae is equally guilty. The judge must go back to school, unless he's part of the robbery.

• KOKOTAKO 10 years ago

ARE YOU INTERPRETING "ACTIVE PART" TO MEAN "..BEEING AT THE BANK" OR "PARTICIPATING IN THE PLANNING,EQUIPING,AND PHYSICALLY DIRECTING THE CRIME?" THE BENCH DOES NOT VIEW THE ISSUES FROM THE BARRISTERS'POSITION AT ALL

• J.BONDD 10 years ago

Read the certified true copy of the judgment to know the reasons for the acquittal.

• Joana K 10 years ago

The Police Officer did not take active part in the robbery so he could not be charged for the said robbery. Prosecution ought to have charged him for abetment of crime, to wit, robbery. Prosecution should have done better tha ...

• JK 10 years ago

Did Osama bin Laden fly the plane into the World Traded Center in the United States? No! Intead, he engineered and inspired the operations. So was a stupid law like that of Ghana supposed to be aplied to bin Laden? Nonsense, ...

• Joe Ohene 10 years ago

Was Osama ever put before any court of competent jurisdiction and charged for killing anyone in the 9/11 massacre?

• Obournana 10 years ago

Conspiration is also a crime so the Policeman Osae should be punished for abetment of crime.

• Amoah Hawa 10 years ago

Did the prosecution charge Osae for anything apart from Robbery?

• Good one, Pelicles 10 years ago

As long as we have systemic corruption, presided over by the President himself, I guess we're damned.

If the President, his cabinet and the lawmakers had integrity, why would the judges not follow?
    Fish rots from the head ...

• Kplamasi 10 years ago

what does it take to be a judge in Ghana? Absolute stupidity or what?

• JK 10 years ago

It is sickening reading the story. It's like bin Laden being aquitted and jailing the those 911 attackers (if hey had survived)!!

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

Wow!! Can't get this. Why was the Policeman Osae was acquited and discharged? He was the chief architect of the robbery. Why? Oh! Why?

• sir 10 years ago

really, what was the reason of his acquitision??? i cannot understand why.

• KOKOTAKO 10 years ago

I CANT GET MY HEAD ROUND THIS:IS IT NOT THE VICTIMS WHO IDENTIFY THEIR SUSPECTS? MAY BE THE REPORTER WAS WRONG,OTHERWISE THE STATE MUST APPEAL AT ONCE AGAINST THIS CROOKED VERDICT!!

• Mike Olongo, USA 10 years ago

KOKOTAKO, the reporter was not wrong. The police officer did not take part in the actual robbery at the bank so nobody in the bank saw him. Those arrested were the ones who alleged he was an accomplice. The onus was therefore ...

• Obournana 10 years ago

Mike did you listen to yourself? To conspire, to aid and to abet in crime are all subject to punishment. Judgement start with conspire to and doing the act. One can be part of the conspire and others doing the act.

• JK 10 years ago

Did the officer not drive the robbers' vehicle past the police barrier, using his position, wearing his police uniforn, to get access? 'His word against theirs', really?

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

Every evidence here shows the police officer Osae was the master planner who informed and instigated the criminals for such horrific criminal armed robbery operation and provided them with deadly weapon, possibly to kill.

• Kwaku Mintah 10 years ago

Go up and read joana's pick on "The Law Speaks" and you will understand why the Police Officer was acquitted and discharged!

• nicman@atl 10 years ago

he is an informant. that is how the police get the hardened crooks

• KWAME TWUM BARIMA,MARYLAND-USA 10 years ago

THIS RULING SHOWS HOW CORRUPT GHANA HAS BECOME !!! STINKING CORRUPTION AND INCOMPETENCE IN HIGH PLACES.

• RICE WATER 10 years ago

HOW ON EARTH CAN A JUDGE BRING TRIBALISM TO HIS RULING SINCE THE FACTS ON THE GROUND PRECISELY STATES THAT DELALI OSAE WAS ALSO AN ACCOMPLICE AND RING LEADER THIS IS A FALSE JUDGEMENT HABAA SENYO HOW CAN YOU RULE IN THIS MANN ...

• gh vi 10 years ago

as usual, ashantis will defend an armed robber just because he is one their own. criminal tribalists.they are even lucky cos they should have hanged for their crimes

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT the WHITE COLLAR THIEVES ????
    Ghana is a FUNNY country!!
    The "white collar THIEVES" in Govt should ALSO be SENTENCED as a DETERRENT but what do we see....they WALK ABOUT and are Free!!!

• Oyarifa 10 years ago

"The court, however, acquitted and discharged a Police Officer, David Delali Osae."

Can someone help me understand this part of the story?

Wasn't he, the officer, who masterminded this whole operation and whose total c ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 10 years ago

Oyarifa, please note that the police officer did not take part in the actual robbery; it was those apprehended who named him as an accomplice/mastermind. It was their responsibility to prove their allegation and if they could ...

• KOKOTAKOUK 10 years ago

You see, the charge of "conspiring to..and actually robbing" needs only an evidential burden of proof by the prosecution,in this case the Police.(1 Osae signed for the wea[ons used inthe act;(2 Osae LED the robbers, etc. In C ...

• foxnews 10 years ago

What is the difference between WOYOME and this small arm robbers.Woyome is enjoying his loots while a small hungry thief is going to prison for life.

• edico 10 years ago

Acquint and discharge the master architect? is not clear...

• Onaana 10 years ago

The court acquitted the police officer on count that, just because some stupid thieves say they had inside help with police doesn't mean they should be taken serious. When your father were to be the police officer and some cr ...

• omanba 10 years ago

The brain behind the robbery, who is the police officer is acquitted for what reason. What kind of justice system is this. The Police Officer is acquitted to become a police officer again or what. God save Ghana.

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Osae planned the operation, signed for an AK 47, handed it over the operatives, gave them information and directives, drove them close to the bank ... and he was still free of any crime? By the way, did the court also find ou ...

• APEETOOO 10 years ago

Police officer Osae is the initiator of the whole robbery, according to the article so why was he acquainted and discharged?

• MAWULI 10 years ago

Because of his middle name. He could be from the same village as Woyome.

• SUCK UR MOTHER.. 10 years ago

TRIBAL JUDGEMENT.,, FOOLISH EWES

• TEE 10 years ago

SO GHANA HAS TURNED INTO ARMED ROBBERY COUNTRY BUT RATHER ARRESTING PROSTITUTIONS INSTEAD OF ARMED ROBBERS

• Lambilla 10 years ago

What on earth could the police, the brain behind the crime, be ACQUITTED? This judge must be investigated and fired! Look, the Afoakwahs are Akans and the judge being an Ewe let Delali(sounds Ewe to me) go. This is silly!

• SUCK UR MOTHER FOOLISH JUDGE 10 years ago

IF WE DON'T CLEAR EWES FROM OUR GHANA LAND THEY WILL COURSE PROBLEMS.. FOOLISH OLD MAN JUDGE, YOU JUDGING WITH TRIBE.. MAY THUNDER KILL YOU AND YOU, WIFE AND YOUR FIRST CHILD.. FOOL

• Yawed 10 years ago

How

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Obviously, ewes are truly tribalism with their audacity of no shame.They never changed and they are not willing to change.These are the people who can kill a coworker for no parent reason.The judges decision here is nothing m ...

• Ben 10 years ago

If the prosecutor and the armed robbers were on the same page, why was the police officer who engineered everything was acquitted?

• Kwame 10 years ago

I think the Prosecution and the Judge should trade place with the Robbers for the acquittal of the Police Officer, Osae.

• Mikee 10 years ago

The judge is insane and sick in the head what amount of money did these people steal to Give them such insane sentence even if they killed the whole bank staff they won't rot this sentence it's humane their family needs to ...

• Agbee 10 years ago

why was the police officer acquitted and discharged? did he not conspire with the others in the robbery? hadn't he had his share of booty? was he not he one who initiated the whole act? was he not the one who successfully fac ...

• kboat 10 years ago

am hoping the journalist made a mistake,how on earth was the police officer aquitted?.pls tell us it was a typo.

• BIG TROUBLE 10 years ago

If these small time bank robbers get 300 years for stealing just GHC13,061.00, how many years does WOYOME deserve for stealing GHC51 million? A 1000-year jail term will be too little punishment for this gargantuan thief.

• sara davids-Rotterdam 10 years ago

my most worries is the use of the dangerous weapon(AK47).Even in america,where guns can be bought on the high street,gun offends in the US are not associated with AK47.that policeman must be brought to face the full rigors of ...

• Afi 10 years ago

how did you come up with a 100 year sentence? At your discretion or the law? Anything to do with the robbers with Akan name vs. a Judge Senyo (you know where he's from)?

• Nyebro Justice 10 years ago

This certainly appears to be a very strange judgement, especially to a layman! Could you kindly explain, Justice Senyo Dzamefe, why the policeman was acquitted and discharged? Was it because he is the only policemen or, as th ...

• nicman@atl 10 years ago

THE Police man was the reason there was no shooting he was the informant. do you want to know how police do their investigation. never trust even the khebab seller at the bar , trotro driver the merigugeya. you will be shocke ...

• Rans F 10 years ago

We want to hear this from Justice Senyo Dzamefe or from the Police service!

• MENSAH 10 years ago

ARMED ROBBERY IS DANGEROUS TO ANY ENTITY,ENVIRONMENT,BODY,NATION etc.

WOYOME STOLE MORE THAN THIS,ANYWAY,BUT STILL WALKING FREELY IN TOWN.

Will all see the aftermath of the case.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Armed robbery shouldn't be entertained,is the right thing I was trying to cut across.
    Sorry about the mistake.

PLEASE.

• wanders 10 years ago

may be the police man set the armrobbers up if not,how on earth was the police officer acquitted

• Abdul 10 years ago

I wonder if there are laid down principles for sentencing by judges in Ghana, hundred years for robbery when no one is even hurt. Is the police officer really ecquited?

• Abdul 10 years ago

Politicians and public officials are authority thieves and they are protected by the law because they can pay lawyers to defend them from the money they have stolen. Poor pickpockets who couldnt be provided lawyers by the sta ...

• Adorkenu 10 years ago

Who of you on Ghanaweb knows the law please explain why the police officer was acuitted or set free.

• Joe 10 years ago

I don't understand why the police officer was acquitted and discharged. Nooo friends educate me on this.

• Man 10 years ago

We are baffled because of poor journalism. How come the journalist who reported on this case did not tell us why the Judge let the police officer walk?

• JOHN 10 years ago

How on earth could OSAE,the Police Officer,be acquitted? Without him,the weapons would not be in the crime scene.Also after the operation,the booty or the money was given to him and he kept it in his car.He is guilty and even ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

Journalists sometimes do a poor job of explaining things, and readers are left baffled. The judge in this case probably has more information about the situation that we do, hence the reason for her/his ruling.

Joana K, did ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

Third paragraph: and the press isn't privy to that information.

• CHIEF TRIBALIST SARPONG 10 years ago

SO THE CRIMINALS FROM THE VILLAGE OF SARPONG CARDINAL JUSTICE SAMMY THE SHERIFF HOUDIN HOUDINI THE DON LE DON FANTE MAN FROM CAPE COAST KOBBY AGYEMAN CY, THE MORON IMBECILE DAFT CAGEMAN BAT SHIT NO BRAIN WENT TO HIS HATEES' H ...

• ERIC ROCKSON 10 years ago

some thing serious is wrong with the judgment.what about the police man ?????

• ERIC ROCKSON 10 years ago

why the master minder is free and others are inn, unbelievable.

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

The story is not complete.
    Why was the Police Officer Osae, an accomplice, acquitted?
    Poor reporting or??

• Damango - USA 10 years ago

These terrorist should all be put to death as deterrent and also help the victims. NDC government has been too soft on crimes because they have their 24/7 hours protection by Ghana Armed Forces. The criminal legal system i ...

• ghost 10 years ago

the criminal politicians r looting the country even more than the robbers n der r walkin freely in our street

• Philips 10 years ago

It appears we are not told the whole story. According to the story, the police officer was clearly involved in the robbery, but may be the robbers were known to the police and in an attempt to get them arrested, the police of ...

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

WHY SETTING THE BIG ROBBER ,THE PLICE MAN FREE????!?

• king 10 years ago

POLICEMAN IS ROBBER TOO

• kofi 10 years ago

Yes, sometimes the prosecution couldn't found him guilty and besides in criminal prosecution before you can sentence someone into prison custody then the state attorney must prove beyong all reasonable doubt that indeed the p ...

• AGEORGIA 10 years ago

Injustice at its highest level. The judge should bow down his head in shame. Why acquit the police officer.

• Kojo 10 years ago

Stuip judge sentence the police office

• wise 10 years ago

why acquitted the police man, he should go for 10,000 years because he is the arm robber not those you stupid j, have jailed. bribe,

• KANTANKA 10 years ago

WHY SHLD THE JUDGE PLANT VICE INSTEAD OF UPROOTING IT ???THIS FUCK/STUPID POLICEMAN HAS TRULY DEMONSTRATED TO THE WHOLE-WIDE WORLD THAT THE PROFESSION IS INDEED THE NO-01 CORRUPTED INSTITUTION IN THE COUNTRY!!!!!! GOD SAVE GH ...