You are here: HomeNews2014 03 28Article 304535

Gallant Maidens crash out

Read Comments Comments (85)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

GOD WILL DEAL WITH HER. THE GH TEAM SHOULD HVE JUST WALKED OFF THE FIELD IN PROTEST. THIS FOOLISHNESS MUST END. GH OUTPLAYED THE ITALIANS ESPECIALLY IN THE 2ND HALF. GH TOOK THE GAME TO ITALY TIME N TIME AGAIN. THE ITALIANS L ...

• foxnews 10 years ago

The refree just robbed them,l was listening to one english commentator and he was soo sad how the youngters were been robbed,two panelties just for nothing.Africa should forget about this coming world cup in Brazil.

• Prof. Ato Azumah 10 years ago

She is Italian. That was the first mistake by FIFA (or deliberately). Such referees must not be allowed in world cup tournaments. SHAME.

• Higher brains 10 years ago

Are you sure the Italians were better in all aspects of the game? I watched the whole game and Ghana played much better than the Italians despite the referee favoring the Italians with most of her decisions. When you play in ...

• WISE-TALK, UK 10 years ago

hahahahahahahaahahahahahahaha.

• Kojo Agatebe, Oregon 10 years ago

They will do it you too. Just wait and see.

• WOFA WOHOO 10 years ago

Naija you can now see the diference ,who is the OGA now?

• Justine Hargis, Portland OR, USA 10 years ago

No, it was Ghana who were better in all aspects of the game. Just check on the game statistics (Ghana had 58% possession to 42% for the Italians; 12 to 2 corner-kicks in favor of Ghana; and 20 to 14 shots at goal in favor of ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

If such foolishness refereeing goes on in brasil. Gbstars must simply walk off the field! I would rather never participate in a world cup ever. Thanks to be cheated not robbed of wat is due me....

Me ghfuo I call it as I see it. If I say gh was robbed. Trust me they were robbed. The entire match officials, refs etcwere against gh moving on. I saw how the match officials were relating to the gh players in the dug out. B ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

This horrible refereeing could have been avoided if our pressmen had made a lot of noise before the tournament that Africans are always cheated by officials.
    The lazy sports journalists will wait until the robbery occurs bef ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

But do we have Pressmen in Ghana? At their very best, they end up like Kweku Baako or Kwesi Pratt - crawling after and scrounging on the hand-outs of corrupt politicians, political parties and foreign interests.

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

We are going to experience the same fate at Brazil for our senior men national team as well. There is no justice & fairness under the sun!

• Alhaji Rasheedmulor. 10 years ago

What happened to us in Costa Rica is not a determinant of what will happen in Brazil, my brother. Haven't we played other countries where penalties against them were overlooked by referees?. An example is our match against B ...

Did you watch the game? 2 penalties for Ghana were disallowed. A gh goal was disallowed. The ref didn't want gh to qualify. It was a miracle that gh leveled before penalties. The game shouldn't have gone to penalties at all.. ...

Kwasia, who r u calling son? Uno night my watchman. U kola chewing idiot. Did you watch the game live? Yes or no? The gh goal that was disallowed wasn't an offside goal. The player was onside. Are you blind? She slid the bal ...

• Rasheed@the watchman 10 years ago

So, because I am night watchman and chew kola, I am not fit to be your father?.Be careful GHFUO, if God has blessed you and made you rich, don't look down upon the less privileged ones like us. That is my candid advice to yo ...

• Frimans 10 years ago

Rasheed, are you crazy? Perhaps you need a better eye glasses, if you did actually watch the match and you couldn't see anything wrong with the refereeing.

• KojoLee/MRAA@Samba Dance 10 years ago

Hahahaha Alhaji Rasheedmulor, something that was dubious cannot be accepted in good faith. Last night match was a typical day time robbery! Did you watched the match or you just don't care for the young girls. Fifa Boss hav ...

• WATOSI DJANGO 10 years ago

I FEEL SO SAD WHEN INJUSTICES ARE DONE TO BLACK PEOPLE IN EVERYTHING ,WHY THE REST OF THE RACES HATE THE BLACK RACE SO MUCH WHY ? YOU TERM US TO BE UNINTELLIGENT,UNCIVILISED ,POOR ,MONKEYS,ON AND ON AND STILL HATE US INSTEAD ...

They r jealous of us. Blacks are too powerful and the only way to "defeat them" is to trick or lie to them. Why do you think these foreigners rely so much on fake religion like bible and Koran? Media, newspapers, cnn, bbc, ma ...

• Higher brains 10 years ago

I totally agree with your assessment.
    Every time it is the African teams that get robbed. If they don't want African teams to win tournaments, why include them in it in the first place. It is so annoying to see one-sided ref ...

• AK 10 years ago

This was pure hate for the black skin. Japanese like Europeans still sees African as inferior in football.

They want you to weep so they can rejoice. Rejoice! I would rather lose out here than go to finals and be robbed. Be thankful that theyhave showed you their true colors.you have 2choices. You either retaliate with conniving t ...

• B Ranks 10 years ago

That is Fifa`s fair play for you.This is just to show what they`re gonna do to the African teams in Brazil the home of corruption,just like what they did to us in Germany.

• Frimans 10 years ago

It was really a shameful refereeing. This visible and blatant biased act in front of global eyes should go unpunished. The ref. should be banned completely. Ghana would immediately file a report against the ref. if this blata ...

• JK 10 years ago

Why can't the GFA launch an official cmplaint? A clear, predetermined robbery and Ghana is silent! That timid coach shoud have got himslef a red card; he should've been all over the officials right from the first obvious bog ...

• JAMREAH 10 years ago

THESE YOUNG LADIES PLAYED GALLANTLY BUT THEY WERE AFRAID TO SHOOT THE BALL INTO THE NET DURING THE PENALTY SHOOT OUT.THEY MUST ALWAYS BE BRAVE LIKE YAA ASANTEWA.GOOD LUCK NEXT TIME.THEY MUST BE KEPT TOGETHER IN ACCRA TO ATTEN ...

• OBIBA JK 10 years ago

THOSE GHANAIANS WHO LIKE CHIANESE LET ME TELL YOU ! ASIAN DISLIKE BLACKS THAN EUROPEANS. ASIAN THINK BLACKS ARE NOTHING TO WRITTEN ABOUT. CHEATING US MAKE THEM HAPPY

• Raspopo 10 years ago

We need to stop participating in these tournaments, the referees always decide the the game winner. where from the first penalty, what happened? FIFA should watch out because one of this days a team will walk off the pitch fo ...

• foxnews 10 years ago

They were robbed by that primitive racist whore from Asia.

• PAPA-KA-NAWU 10 years ago

Ghana took JAPAN out in AZERBAIDJAN
    three years ago..This is a RETALIATION to Ghana .. The Japanese ref dont wants Ghana to meet the JAPOS agian..That was the REASON that they disallowed that PRECIOUS Goal..GOD wil ...

• NII TEIKO ADUEMI 10 years ago

THE REFEREE WAS NOT HELPFUL AT ALL. SHE WAS THE NUMBER TWELVE PLAYER FOR THE ITALIANS. FIFA SHOULD SIT UP AND ENSURE FAIRNESS NOT ONLY ON THE PART OF THE PLAYERS BUT ALSO THE REFEREES SO WE CAN HAVE CLEAN GAMES. KUDOS TO GALL ...

• SAMO JEWELLERY 10 years ago

Let samo jewellery design yr dream wedding n engagement yellow n white gold rings for u.....we design to yr taste...our finnish products are just superb.....call or whatsapp us on 0244717600.....to send u latest pictures ont ...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris! 10 years ago

Well done with.....Amen! nsemfo binsti i did not which the time nd when it was foot-on.take yr heart nd tomorrow will bee another day my babies!!,fr Samms!....

• Suraju Issifu 10 years ago

Ghanaweb is just plain stupid. That game is the worst case of robbery ANY Ghanaian team has suffered ever in a competition, and you just go to FIFA's site and pick up this lame, lying report on it to show to us? 'See how stup ...

• qwesi.gh 10 years ago

agreed!

So wat do you expect? Ghweb is run by a white Hite Italian boy who speaks pidgins. I don't even understand why?...

• JOE TETTEY 10 years ago

THIS GAME WAS FULL OF BIAS FROM THE REFEREE ....FIFA SHOULD REALLY GO INTO THIS AND INVESTIGATE IT

• Soweto-London 10 years ago

I respect every comment but also very surprised that no 1 is blaming the coach for such a por display since we lost to Canada. During te Canada match, I told my sister plainly that Ghana will loose the next match so I wouldn' ...

• Justine Hargis, Portland OR, USA 10 years ago

Did you guys watched the same game I watched. How could you blame the coach and the technical team when Ghana clearly outplayed and OUTCOACHED the Italians? Just check on the statistics (Ghana had 58% possession to 42% for th ...

• Adama, Texas 10 years ago

Congratulations to the Black Maidens and their handlers for a job well done.

Right now, I am so angry and sad for the way the referee stole this game for Italy. I hope both Japan and Italy crash out.

• Nn 10 years ago

Thanks Justine

It looks like most of the comments are coming from people who rely on radio reportage or ar are just plainly ignorant but will comment at all cost. Those of us who watched the game appreciate the efforts of ...

• bedrock 10 years ago

thank u man,u a true and patriotic citezen who speaks nothing but the truth, keep it up.i dnt quiet know wat our coach was doing wen we were down by 2-1.instead of the coach 2 change issaka and abdul rahman early in the seco ...

• Soweto London 10 years ago

Thanks for ya comments, I was brought up to appreciate a situation as it is and make the best out of it so I have always been fair N firm during my Dinnining Hall Prefect days. Yes the referee was bad but how many chances or ...

• Nnnn 10 years ago

I respect your view buy completely disagree with your assessment. How much can the coach do when all 50-50 duels are whistled against you? What can the coach do when penalties are awarded when there the’re fouls committed i ...

• Aboo Zeze 10 years ago

Infact, the referee really cheated us by disallowing two clear penalties and a goal. Everyone who watched the match can testify that the referee was really biased on the Maidens. All the same kudos to them, they did extremely ...

• bon 10 years ago

This is the ends of bribe

• Osei Kofi 10 years ago

this question of white-over-black has eaten deep into even those who do not know whether their colour is black or white. How can a FIFA-rated referee show so much ignorance (or naked bias?) in a world tornament? Can it be jus ...

• A citizen 10 years ago

I watched the match live and my question is, if FIFA is deliberately tolerating cheating what is the so call"fair play" for? one cannot tell why the first penalty was given against Ghana.And when we rather had a clear penalty ...

• Jimmy 10 years ago

Are we destined to reach only 3rd or 4th position on the world soccer stage?

• Terror 10 years ago

Am really shocked by this article,it just seems the writer did not watch the match but copied it from FIFA.com.He did not even mention our penalties which was not given likewise the clean goal disallowed.Kudos my gals

• AK 10 years ago

How dare you, you report this nonsense or you didn't watch the match. You're the reason blacks are suffering.

• kofi 10 years ago

The girls played their part. But the Ghana technical team had no idea as to how to counter the Italians. A small help from experienced person such as Rajavac could have help. The old way is gone for good. Modern tactics is wh ...

• Ib 10 years ago

I think is now time for All African to come together and made their voices heard on this day light rubbery on the continent. Just reviewing and funding referees who miss-conducted themselves is not enough. Fight for their pr ...

• Jerome 10 years ago

Av been watching football matches for over 30 years,.. and i have never seen such outrageous officiating all my life on an international level like this before. Is this what fifa have selected as a world class referee? i feel ...

• JAK 10 years ago

This is unfair. This referee just wanted to ensure the Black Maidens did not qualify to the semis. Ghana had a penalty and the referee pointed to a spot kick outside the box. She gave the first penalty to the Italians for no ...

• JK 10 years ago

Ghana had two clear PKs denied. First the ref called the foul which was committed inside the box, and placed the ball outside the box. The second, the ref decided not tot call it probably because she could not place it outsid ...

• Danibo 10 years ago

But africans also cheat by using players some of who are over 20 years so what do you say about that.

• Natty Biscot 10 years ago

After keeping wake after a hard day's job to watch the match I only came to the conclusion that it was the aimless kicking and bad officiating that cost us the semi final slot.

There were too many inaccurate passes and poo ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

Yes the referee was bad, but a bit more composure in the final third could have led to a convincing win in this game.

• Seisek 10 years ago

The referee was one of the bad referees, i have ever come to know.Two clear penalties and a goal all disallowed for nothing. May almighty help Africa in world cups. we were lucky she did not even show red card. What a shame t ...

• saint Amazayoni 10 years ago

Crashed out please

• JUJUMAN 10 years ago

BIASED OFFICIATING MUST BE CHECKED IN BRAZIL COME JUNE

• KRISTO 10 years ago

I congratulate the ladies for a good job done. You cannot be a winner always. I do however have an issue with female footballers's in Ghana looking like men.

Why is this obsession with low cut hair in Ghana? I watch Arsen ...

• Edem 10 years ago

I believe that Our Ladies were punished by the referee for allowing Canada to qualify for the quarter finals.

• MOMO 10 years ago

Ref was very Biased, the first goal was offside and second goal was not a penalty... Biased

• flip 10 years ago

the ref should be shamed. and the shouldnt be happy cuz they didnt deserv the victory. dey only kick the ball way with passes!!!

• Neoland NY 10 years ago

To be honors with all my brothers and siters in Ghana I'll say the Ghanaian girls won the game but the refree is the one who denied them the semi. I like the Ghanaian girls style of play and I wish my country can do that. I'm ...

• Matchaw Dikaini 10 years ago

Just say well done girls.although painful as it is...stolen glory..

• Hannah 10 years ago

Where is the GFA President or Hon. Ankrah. They are all waiting for the World Cup, they don't care about the women's football.

• flip 10 years ago

Stupid ref

• Emmanuel 10 years ago

i was waching the match and a German commentator said I can´t believe what the referee is doing is a really bias

I don't need a commentator to tell me if a team is being robbed or not.I don't need someone to tell me if I'm hungry before I eat....

• Kobi 10 years ago

It hurts to lose but that game is history. I suggest we look ahead - let's keep these players for the U-20 in 2016. They play well but the technical team should work on their approach at goal - so that their superior possessi ...

• ********* 10 years ago

Never seen so such bad officiating in my entire life. What a shame.

• AK 10 years ago

I watch the whole match and I was really impress about the way maidens played. However in the world and every body knows in football and in boxing, never wait for white supremacy referee to decide. I don't care if she is Jap ...

• AK 10 years ago

I watch the whole match and I was really impress about the way maidens played. However in the world and every body knows in football and in boxing, never wait for white supremacy referee to decide. I don't care if she is Japa ...

• anokwale 10 years ago

These underage tournaments use experimental referees so we always have to understand that during the tournaments there are going to be some bad calls. The real issue was that we should have scored more than two. We played v ...

• Kofi Agyin 10 years ago

Anyhow you look at it the match officials were of one mind set. To see the maidens out of the competition. Good show girls. Italy did not defeat you. The match officials did.There will have been no penalties. You will have wo ...

Just mark it anywhere. Italy will lose their next game. They don't deserve to be in the semis.

• A citizen 10 years ago

I agree with you totally,i watched the match the officials just had one thing in mind, to ensure that Italy win the match and they did just that, so where is the so call "fair play"?

Gud work by de players. Our keeper however have a problem with aereal balls.

• ellis moses 10 years ago

I think we have to redraw of going to the world cup. The official will give us headache, we the football lovers.

• Old Soldier 10 years ago

Stop making these girls look like men.