Kumasi: Military disrupts drivers demo

Read Comments Comments (50)

• Kwabena 10 years ago

Wow

• GOOD NEWS 10 years ago

WE WILL DEMONSTRATE.

• OZA 10 years ago

Did he write about Police harassment? I thought the head of the Ghana Police recently wrote to lament about public "harassment" of the police with bribes.

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

This is what happens if a nation produces unskilled soldiers with nothing to do.

• Asemfofro Eli 10 years ago

u ARE AN ASS .WHAT DO U MEAN BY UNSKILLED .SOLDIERING IS A SKILLED PROFESSION!! DO NOT SPEAK FROM YOUR ANUS

• gretchy 10 years ago

hahaha ur onto it kwabena...shows u how weak the leaders in government are.they have no sense of negotiability.So the military going to bring in tanks,armoured cars,canons,bombs ect hahha (sori just a mannner of speech)howeve ...

• KWAME,BELGIUM 10 years ago

The NPP is using all sorts of tricks and tactis to distable the nation. Why all these???

• backfire 10 years ago

foolish kwame, belgium. so you blame your bad living there on the germans. those living in ghana know how hot things are. just be wise and think wisely.

• SHAMO 10 years ago

THAT STUPID NDC KWAME SAID "NPP"? HAHAHA! THIS MEANS HIS STUPIDITY KNOWS NO BOUNDS

• Pastor Canada 10 years ago

Kwame, you must be very narrow-minded. Don't you know that peaceful demonstration is part of the democratic process? If you have been to ghana recently you will know how those put in authority to oversee affairs are extorting ...

• Moses 10 years ago

These people will not give peace a chance if they are not on the throne. No wonder in the history of Ghana, the UP/NPP tradition has not won any competitive election apart from Kuffour and they will not do soul searching to ...

• ghanaba 10 years ago

your an animal. your useless ewe police officers who come to asante to take bribe from these guys and use the money to clear their skin cancers never learn.we will do it and do it again until you lean that you need to work f ...

• bonsu 10 years ago

is it really possible to express opinions in this forum without degrading intellectual discourse with insults and tribal sentiments? Why do you think all commercial drivers who ply the roads in Kumasi are only ashantis? Turin ...

• Victor 10 years ago

Get away with your unsubstantiated historical rhetoric. 'aboa ba'. When you stretch someone to the 'wire' it snaps. Ukraine! Ukraine!! Ukraine!! here we come.

• Alewa 10 years ago

Foolish illiterates. The soldiers must not give them a breathing space before they end up with Ashanti spring to derail the peace in Ghana. After all what do they lose as a bunch of corrupt idiots accusing the police.

Good ...

• Yiadom 10 years ago

Kwasea, don't forget your tribesmen who are seeking greener pastures in Kumasi will also suffer if Kumasi burns. If there is any place that is derailing the peace in Ghana, you fool should know it is not Ashanti Region.

Ab ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 10 years ago

NDC ABOA DWAN, how can drivers be corrupt? Who pay bribes to the drivers? This shows how foolish you are. If Ashantis wanted to fight, do you think your foolish soldiers can stop us? You must just be joking. You idiots are fe ...

• Ghana ba 10 years ago

ghanaians please think positively and stop politisizing every thing

• Kwamina 10 years ago

They are victims of trotro drivers bribery. The police should be demonstrating against bribes not the other way round.

• ASANTE/KUMASI 10 years ago

POLICE SHOULD ARREST WHOEVER WANTS TO BRIBE YOU AND ARRAIGN THEM IMMEDIATELY BEFORE COURT. REMEMBER WHAT THE IGP TOLD YOU.TAKE THIS AND HELP ME NO LONGER EXISTS IN GHANA OOOOOOOO

• CAPII 10 years ago

LET THE MILITARY UNDERSTAND THAT THE ANSWER TO PEACE IS WAR. NO MORE SENSELESS ZOMBIE ATROCITIES,SUICIDE BOMBING IS THE NEXT OPTION IN GHANA BODY POLITIC.IF YOU SIT ON OUR FREEDOM & LIBERTIES,SUICIDE BOMBINGS!!!! NO MORE "ANI ...

• Joe Kojo 10 years ago

My dear idiot, be the first to come and blow yourself up and see whether vwe will not laugh at you. Hahahahahah......kwasea like that!!!!

• RITA 10 years ago

IS THE GHANA POLICE NOT CAPABLE OF CONTROLLING ORDINARY TROTRO DRIVERS? THE MILITARY MEN SHOULD BE IN TAMALE & VOLTA REGION(NKONYA) WHERE THERE IS CONSTANT VIOLENCE.. KUMASI IS NOT A WAR ZONE!

• ASANTE/KUMASI 10 years ago

Another foolish one called Rita. What do you know about security. An educated fool

• Yiadom 10 years ago

Idiot. Why don't you tell us about what security is instead.

• Dankwa,Busua,Dombo Club 10 years ago

It has always be the case when NDC comes to power.Ashantis will not fall for your incompetency,we have been more wise to beat your imaginations,we are the only people who can derail this government without firing one bullet.D ...

• HUMAN RIGHTS FOR ALL 10 years ago

EVEN IF THE WHOLE ARMY IS POSTED 2 KUMASI, THAT WON'T STOP THE ASHANTIS FROM FIGHTING FOR THEIR RIGHT... WE STAND 4 OUR RIGHT, WE STAND FOR TRUTH & FREEDOM... TO EVERY ACTION, THERE IS AN EQUAL & OPPOSITE REACTION.. & SO IF F ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

Why on earth should Mahama authorise the use of the military on the streets of Kumasi? Mahama and NDC govt are increasingly showing their hatred for the people of Ashanti and this is not good for the security of Ghana. Mahama ...

• citizen 10 years ago

military men should be protecting the nations resources from illegal chinese miners, stop the in flow of arms at our borders for robbery etc and leave these miserable drivers alone.. Ghanaian soldiers are only good at display ...

• Akufo Addo, Abr3 10 years ago

Who cares about them

• Yiadom 10 years ago

Listen to that brainless fool. You should care because if any bad thing befalls Ashanti Region, thousands of your tribesmen who live among them will also suffer. Kumasi is home to every tribe in Ghana so think twice before yo ...

• KWAKU MANU 10 years ago

When the Late Atta Mills stood at the GPRTU office to declare "there will be no Police arrests of Taxi and Tro-Tro drivers (even when they broke the law" You hailed him, even though the vain promises were not attainable, you ...

• kpega, 10 years ago

WHAT DID ASANTEMEN DO TO DESERVE THIS ARROGANCE SHOW OF WEAPONS AND POWER?

WHY THIS SUPRESSIVE SHOW OF GUNS IN ASANTEMAN?

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

Open your eyes and think and see what is going on. People must be free to voice their views in a peaceful manner. But see what happens any time Kumasi comes into the News. A demo at Kenyase is shut down as the police shoot an ...

• Akoraba 10 years ago

Tweaaa. Military to stop trotro drivers demonstration? What happens when the whole nations erupt in demo. NDC, you are afraid of even Kumasi trotro drivers. Shame on you.

• Gilbert Dakora 10 years ago

I was on holidays in Kumasi this year . What I saw around the Adum, Kejetia and where KNUST tro tro turn . The City Guards collects monies and harrass drivers . The drivers are doing good services to the public but look they ...

• bonsu 10 years ago

I cannot express my admiration for these drivers for standing up to what has been going on in kumasi for a long time not only to commercial drivers but to all drivers. The activities of the police in this metro area is incred ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

mr president very good action,keep more military men arround any corner in the country,
    there's population control going on under hiding agenda,when you allow your country to fall in demonstrations you will never get it back ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

When will the NDC ever wean itself from the military? What's a peaceful demonstration got to do with the military? Even if the demonstration is against the police, they (the police) still have the duty to make sure the demo g ...

• BUGART 10 years ago

WHY SOLDIERS AGAINST DEMONSTRATING CIVILIANS? MAHAMA IA A SHAME TO GHANA'S PRESIDENCY.

• TONY - C 10 years ago

IS GHANA CURSED??- LOOK OUT NEXT TIME WHEN I COME OUT OF MY TRANCE FOR MORE INFO. MAHAMA HAS STARTED HIS TRICKS IN KUMASI. DON'T WORRY MAHAMA WILL GIVE BIG BRIDES AND YOU WILL SWEAR ON gods AND VOTE NDC FOR YOU TO SUFFER TO D ...

• Genuine Observer 10 years ago

Most serious disruptions start with stupid moves. NDC leaders must be very careful how they handle sensitive issues amongst its citizens. Remember, the Force is NEVER stronger than the will of the masses.

• Ali 10 years ago

NDC harassing Akans. Why else do they always send the military to Akan areas, and not to the north or volta

• King Marcus 10 years ago

The law must be enforceable Go on men!

• King Marcus 10 years ago

Do they asked for permission to demo?

• Asanteniba 10 years ago

I am telling you Ghanaians are evil. It has been over 57 years, and we as Ghanaians cannot get along. Ashanti region is neglected. We need independence. We have plenty of business man and economist abroad that know how to bui ...

• Dr. J. Val-Addo, USA 10 years ago

O GHANA, WHAT IS THE NEED FOR THE MILITARY PRESENCE OVER DEFENSELESS DRIVERS' DEMO? THE POLICE IS SUPPOSED TO BE IN CHARGE OF INTERNAL SECURITY TO PROTECT THE DEMONSTRATORS AND THE MILITARY FOR ... ARE THE HANDS OF THE POLICE ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Disrupting labor action must be a police duty as opposed to the military.

• Nokware 10 years ago

Kojo Bonsu Said he is special and no one can advise or control him ,he use soldiers to brutalise nursing mothers. Women, and we have leaders who do not care for us ,to stay in Asante region this days is very risk especially ...

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 10 years ago

WHERE WERE THESE DROPOUTS WHEN THE ARMED ROBBERS INVADED KUMASI? LEAVE THESE STRUGGLING DRIVERS ALONE PLEASE