I think in view of the above and some cultural practices every district has to decide what it should be?
I think it has to remain the same.
Consented sex at 16 but marriage at 18? I am sure many have heard of Mzbel's so ... read full comment
I think in view of the above and some cultural practices every district has to decide what it should be?
Consented sex at 16 but marriage at 18? I am sure many have heard of Mzbel's song "16 years". Some years ago parliament tried to change the legal age for marriage to 16 years but there was a public backclash which means that the MPs did not consult their constituents before voting on the issue.
With many exceptions there is a disparity between Ghanaians of 16 years in Ghana and young adults of 16 years in the developed world (including Ghanaians born there) in terms of vital statistics like height and weight. This is corrected by age 23. Is it due to poor nutrition or the socioeconomic condition of the country? With empirical evidence I know that we are by no means inferior especially with regards to intelligence.
After winning an election a newly elected Parliamentarian must leave his constituency and come to Accra the National capital to represent his constituency while at the same time providing feedback to his constituents. In order to represent his or her constituency effectively a parliamentarian should be able to communicate in the language he or she feels most comfortable in. Many parliamentarians come from constituencies where English is not the first language.
Parliament must therefore provide interpreters for all the major language blocks. Parliament must also provide earphones so that if one MP is speaking in a different language the other MPs can all understand. Language must not be a barrier to effective repesentation. Parliament must also provide a readily available renovated residence to a newly elected parliamentarian.
don`t care !!! Hmmmmm! 11 years ago
LAUGH IT OFF
A group of men gathered at a church
conference on how to live in a loving
relationship with their wives. The men were
asked, "How many of you love your wife ?" All
the men raised their hands. Then they wer ... read full comment
LAUGH IT OFF
the men raised their hands. Then they were
asked, "When was the last time you told your
wife you love her ?" Some men answered
today, some yesterday, majority didn’t
remember. The men were then told to take
their cell phones and send the following text
to their respective wives: I love you,
sweetheart...
Then the men were told to exchange their
phones so one can read the other wife's reply
to the love message.
Here are some of the replies:
1. Have you impregnated someone again
2. That was then, not now
3. You wan borrow money abi?
4. What did you do again? I won’t forgive you
this time.
5. Meaning?
6. Is that a new song?
7. Am I dreaming?
8. If you don’t tell me who this message is
actually for, you will die today!
9. U dis man!! I asked you to stop drinking.
10. Abeg na who be this?
kyikyi 11 years ago
Thanks for your smart thinking
pussy country 11 years ago
Hahaha you are really funny guy.. i feel you, keep your comment, you are the only person who understand life than others. i like that.
Cindy 11 years ago
Parliament running out of ideas & priorities. So what's the punishment if two 16yr olds are having sex?
Anokwa 11 years ago
Still millions are born without birth certificates. How do you determine the age of village girls who do not know thier date of birth and therefore do not know thier ages. WE ARE STILL A VERY BACKWARD NATION. Laws are not enforced. Ask a JSS child his date of birth and his age and he will not know what you are talking about.Sad
CASSAVA REPUBLIC 11 years ago
Consent, Marriage and Drinking should all be returned to the good old age of 21.
It was the perverts in Government who lowered it to 18 in the first place.
Age 16 is an abomination.
Consent, Marriage and Drinking should all be returned to the good old age of 21.
THE GERMAN FACT 11 years ago
THE COUNTRY IS IN DANGER SO FIND A SOLUTION TO FIX THE ECONOMY FIRST, NO YOUNG GIRL WILL GO OUT AT THE AGE OF 14 OG 16 TO MAKE SEX, BUT BECAUSE OF THE HARD SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY SO IT HAS NO SENSE TO INCREASE IT TO 20 OR 40 YEARS. ALL THOSE CRIME HAPPENS TO YOUNG GIRLS FROM THE POOR FAMILIES. NO CRIMINAL WILL JUST SEE A YOUNG GIRL ON THE STREET AND RAPE HER, NO THERE IS ALWAYS A CONTACT AND THEY GET THEM CONTACT BECAUSE MOST OF THESE GIRLS ARE BEGING ON THE STREETS. AND WHAT ARE YOU EXPECTING FROM THOSE YOUNG GIRLS IF THEIR PARENTS CAN´T EVEN OFFER THEM A DRESS BECAUSE THEY ARE POOR? THEY HAVE TO GO ON THE STREETS AND FIND THEIR DAIRY BREAD. THE YOUNG MARRIAGE IS IN THE MOSLEM COMMUNITY IN THE COUNTRY SO NEED TO BE EDUCATED.
dan 11 years ago
RATHER THEN WORK ON THE ECONOMY THEY ENGAGE IN NONSENSE
Bony 11 years ago
Ok, so NDC apart from stealing from this beloved Ghana, they are also PEDOPHILES. Agyawadwo! they pass this law in 1992 so they can destroy the future of the young folks....
NII 11 years ago
THE MPS WILL SEE THIS AS USELESS AS SOME ENJOY EVEN THE UNDER 16. FROM YOUR RECORDS 16/40 IS IN THE MINORITY
SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago
Okudzeto Ablakwa builds petrol filling stations for girls of the ages of 16
and 17 buy them 4x4 land cruisers which
NDC MPs will allow such a law to be enforced even if it became law?
Tweaaa kwasea bi nti.
uuuuuuuuuu 11 years ago
useless.because te kids demselves start as earl as 13 years. will the mps follow dem?
Chiga 11 years ago
The convention on the rights of the child says that children be involved and consulted on issues that concern them. It also says that with age children be allowed to take certain decisions. So Our people should not continue to think that a child should be treated as an imbecile even at age 16
Asiwome 11 years ago
No one talks about violations when there is a mouth to feed, we hear about hungry babies! Parents should be given permission to shoot boys who have sex with their dependent children. It is bad enough when one of two people who have means loses a partner. Let us stop selfish thinking and no one will have anything to complain about. It has been reported that a father has shot and killed a man who has deviled his 17 year old daughter. Parents, keep an eye on your children and nip this nonsense in the bud.
AKOKO DARKO (U.S.A.) 11 years ago
Are these the people we call 'honourable' I really have my doubts.Whilst the country is engulfed with unsumountable man-made problems,what they are interested in doing is to talk about sex.As Afia Pokua of Adom fame will say 'how could you?' Shame unto you all.None of you deserve to be called honourable. You must are be replaced in 2016 because you have failed not only the downtrodden but every Ghanaian. Not only is the President clueless,every member of parliament is visionless and has neither sense of direction, nor shame.If the leader is supposed to stupid and you can not direct him then you are all stupid.I urge all Ghanaians to vote every member of parliament including the default president out of office come 2016,however in-between that time let's explore avenues of either vote of no confidence or impeechment.Whivhever is applicacable, I entreat my learned friends to act accordingly.Over to you CHIEF.3y3 kokoo....y3n ani br3 kooo...
Kululu 11 years ago
Parliament is more concerned about female issues than the wider national issues, why? have they all been converted to Islam?
KOLIKO 11 years ago
The devil finds work for idle hands....it is true.
What the ffffuck is this when we all know that women are maturing much earlier and some even give birth at 14 or thereabouts? So you want to criminalize this act so that our jailers will find more work to do?
This is what happens when our legislators use their hearts INSTEAD of their minds; which means they refuse to think but consult their "GOD" thru pastors, mallams and family when making laws. Nkwaseasem
KKJT 11 years ago
Tell that to PV obeng when he was having sex with my ....... @ 15 back in the 90s .
DONBOLI 11 years ago
It is a shame to ghana paliament. The way life is hard the MPs and their leader dont know. Cant these MPs do anything thing about the economy and stop talking about useless things like marriage.
The education John Mahama and ... read full comment
It is a shame to ghana paliament. The way life is hard the MPs and their leader dont know. Cant these MPs do anything thing about the economy and stop talking about useless things like marriage.
The education John Mahama and Nana wants if enforced no child will marry before the are over 18 years. MPs should go back and ask John Mahama where is free education is, compulsury education for all.
If any dick is talking about a Law change should be foolish. Education which is the answer to under age marriage is not talked about, instead stupid thing like marriage. Do we really who marry who. We dont care, if we cared it wouldnt have been happening. Laws dont change people, its education that changes everything. Instead of amending the MPs should get the free education going. There is nothing wrong with a 16 years of boy wanting to marry a 16 years old girl.
Useless MPs
Revjay393@yahoo.co.uk 11 years ago
THERE ARE THOSE WHO DREAM OF A BETTER LIFESTYLE
AND
AND THOSE WHO LIVE THEIR DREAMS
THOSE WHO WONDER WHAT TOMORROW WILL BRING
... read full comment
AND
AND
THOSE WHO OWN THEIR FUTURE
THEY HOLD THE KEY TO THEIR TOMORROW KNOWING FULLY WELL THAT THEY ARE THE ARCHITECT OF THEIR DESTINY
PART TIME JOB The Life Changers Group is a Group of Compassionate Individuals from different countries that came together to work as a team with the objectives of reducing the rate of unemployment, empowering people that are constrained financially in their interested area of business etc., but mainly to reduce to its barest minimal the suffering of the less privilege Globally through our system
This Online Business equips member(s) financially and provides them with the opportunity to have a steady growing source of income, giving member a unique feature of earning a standard living and changing a life (The Life of a less privilege).
The importance of financial empowerment cannot be over-emphasized. We provides answers to your numerous financial challenges and puzzles.
Contact me Revjay393@yahoo.co.uk
paponi 11 years ago
So only 16 out of 40 participants signed the documents? Which means the participants themselves don't want the law to be changed! Elders indeed!
NANA KING 11 years ago
THE MOST IMPORTANT LAW MUST BE NO PARENTS SHOULD FORCE THEIR DAUGHTERS IN MARRIAGE.SOME PARENTS WHO ARENT FORCEFUL IN LIFE NOW RELAX ON THEIR DAUGHTERS TO DO SEX EARLY AND GET MARRIED AND BRING DOWRY AND ALSO DEPEND ON THEM.THE GOVERNMENT MUST MAKE A LAW THAT WILL ABOLISH DOWRY AND THIS WILL MAKE MANY GIRLS FREE AND LEARN.MANY OF THE GIRLS LEARN HOW TO DO SEX OR HOW TO PLAY MEN FOR MONEY FROM THEIR MOTHERS.ALSO GIRLS SHOULD HAVE A PLACE TO REPORT THEIR PARENTS WHO STOP CARING FOR THEM BEFORE 16 YEARS THAT AS A GIRL MUST START CARING FOR THEMSELVES.THIS MAKE MANY GOOD GIRLS START SEX SO EARLY AND THE NEGLECTED PARENTS WILL START DEPENDING ON THEM.MANY MOTHERS NOW CALL THEIR YOUNG DAUGTHERS THEIR COCOA FARM OR THEIR OIL FIELD.
Joe from spain 11 years ago
fix the economy and stop making noise fulish people.
Muntari 11 years ago
Hahaha ,bunch of fool .
dan 11 years ago
and stop the nonsense of getting into people busniss and privecy and start the work on the economy that you are destroying with mahama
Mohammed 11 years ago
They are about to destroy Ghanas only Tourist-Attraction "The Ghana babes"! Too bad. if this lay is implemented, I guess you can close down Kotoka International Airport!
akwesii 11 years ago
MONKEYS LOOK ARROUND YOU IDIOTS GHANA IS COLLAPSING BE SERIOUS
Wuofei 11 years ago
Change that shit to 18yrs quickly. Too many pedophiles in Ghana, parliamentarians can only clear themselves by making this happen. Otherwise it's all in their faces!
man of the past 11 years ago
and stop that nonsense not only Ghana all African leaders have nothing to talk about in they are parliament only what the masters in Europe and America told them when they gonna think about our problems not about they are masters or sex life in Africa
KOFI 11 years ago
The is no age of consent in Japan,but adults do not marry girls at 12 or 16.16 is a reasonable age.Stop copying the west.Let us keep a bit of our own traditions.
princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago
An eighteen-year-old girl tells her mom that she has missed her period For two months. Very worried, the mother goes to the drugstore and buys a pregnancy kit.
The test result shows that the girl is pregnant.
Shouting, cu ... read full comment
An eighteen-year-old girl tells her mom that she has missed her period For two months. Very worried, the mother goes to the drugstore and buys a pregnancy kit.
Shouting, cursing, and crying, the mother says, “Who was the pig that did this to you? I want to know!!”
The girl picks up the phone and makes a call.
Half an hour later, a Ferrari stops in front of their house and a very mature and a very distinguished man with gray hair gets out of the car.
The man, impeccably dressed in a very expensive suit, steps up to the door and enters the house.
He sits in the living room with the father, the mother, and the girl, and tells them, “Good morning. Your daughter has informed me of the problem. However, I can’t marry her because of my personal family situation, but I will take charge.
If a girl is born, I will bequeath her 2 retail stores, a townhouse, a Beach villa, and a $1,000,000 bank account. If a boy is born, my legacy will be a couple of factories, and a $2,000,000 bank account. If it’s twins, a factory and $1,000,000 each.
However, if there is a miscarriage…”
At this point, the father, who had remained silent, places a hand firmly on the man’s shoulder and tells him,” If there’s a miscarriage, you’ll have to fuck her again.”
Islam 11 years ago
Muhammed's wife was 9 years old.
Kwame VS Kofi 11 years ago
The pedophile mohammed lived 1300 years ago. His followers are still preaching his sick and pedophile teachings. Islam is backwards, pedophile, woman discriminating, backwards and a shame for Ghana. Moslems are on the rise and boko-haram is coming for Ghana! Wake UP Ghana!
DAN 11 years ago
and marriage at 18 or 21 unless parents sign or girl pregnant
Saddam 11 years ago
Even at 13 they are having sex with whom. Get back to work because sex in childhood had been since gama gama.
nicman@atl 11 years ago
or an man who make any school going girl pregnant. to dter all the awingaaahs
Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris! 11 years ago
Starting from 18 marrage is ok with.......Amen!,fr Samms!...
Antiochus - London 11 years ago
I think 21 will be ideal.
dan 11 years ago
WITH THIS STUPID LAW
Forgive 11 years ago
Go to Redlight at Lapaz in the evening and see things for yourself{13-16}displaying.
Consented sex at 16 but marriage at 18? I am sure many have heard of Mzbel's so ...
LAUGH IT OFF
the men raised their hands. Then they wer ...
Still millions are born without birth certificates. How do you determine the age of village girls who do not know thier date of birth and therefore do not know thier ages. WE ARE STILL A VERY BACKWARD NATION. Laws are not enf ...
THE COUNTRY IS IN DANGER SO FIND A SOLUTION TO FIX THE ECONOMY FIRST, NO YOUNG GIRL WILL GO OUT AT THE AGE OF 14 OG 16 TO MAKE SEX, BUT BECAUSE OF THE HARD SITUATION IN THE COUNTRY SO IT HAS NO SENSE TO INCREASE IT TO 20 OR 4 ...
Tweaaa kwasea bi nti.
The convention on the rights of the child says that children be involved and consulted on issues that concern them. It also says that with age children be allowed to take certain decisions. So Our people should not continue t ...
No one talks about violations when there is a mouth to feed, we hear about hungry babies! Parents should be given permission to shoot boys who have sex with their dependent children. It is bad enough when one of two people wh ...
Are these the people we call 'honourable' I really have my doubts.Whilst the country is engulfed with unsumountable man-made problems,what they are interested in doing is to talk about sex.As Afia Pokua of Adom fame will say ...
What the ffffuck is this when we all know that women are maturing much earlier and some even give birth at 14 or thereabouts? So you want to criminalize this act so that ou ...
The education John Mahama and ...
AND
THE MOST IMPORTANT LAW MUST BE NO PARENTS SHOULD FORCE THEIR DAUGHTERS IN MARRIAGE.SOME PARENTS WHO ARENT FORCEFUL IN LIFE NOW RELAX ON THEIR DAUGHTERS TO DO SEX EARLY AND GET MARRIED AND BRING DOWRY AND ALSO DEPEND ON THEM.T ...
Hahaha ,bunch of fool .
and stop that nonsense not only Ghana all African leaders have nothing to talk about in they are parliament only what the masters in Europe and America told them when they gonna think about our problems not about they are mas ...
Shouting, cu ...
The pedophile mohammed lived 1300 years ago. His followers are still preaching his sick and pedophile teachings. Islam is backwards, pedophile, woman discriminating, backwards and a shame for Ghana. Moslems are on the rise an ...
WITH THIS STUPID LAW