You are here: HomeNews2014 03 18Article 303608

Tema motorway: 30,000 cars pay tolls daily but no facelift

Read Comments Comments (64)

• BLOG 10 years ago

Amidu Sulemana, the Roads Minister said the revenue from the tolls was not enough to "maintain" the Tema motorway and it required money, we are talking about serious money, he said. If the amount from the tolls cannot be used ...

• SHAMU 10 years ago

The beneft of Education in Ghan or among Ghanaians is to come and steal from the country. As a result, most of them go to school just to be future corrupt officials. At the end of the day, how does it help? Ghanaians are too ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

If the figures provided in this piece are accurate, then the Minister for Roads and Highway should be ashamed for saying on Citi FM that the money from the tool is not sufficient to maintain the Motor Way. Where is all the mo ...

• Apraku 10 years ago

See ! this strange minister came to tell Ghanaians that the toll collection can't rehablitate the motorway without backing his claim with any statistics , seriously do they take Ghanaians for fools or what? So without this ge ...

• Bold 10 years ago

Keep it up guys. Not like the other “pay me to write an article” journalist we have in Ghana these days. The Pratt and co.

• E Afful 10 years ago

All toll booths have been contracted to a company owned by the brother of the former Road and Transport Minister (Gidisu). The contract stipulates 40% of the collection goes to this company and 60% goes to the road fund. Why ...

• don`t care!!! Hmmmm 10 years ago

If 30,000 vehicles use the motorway in a day, and assuming each vehicle is charged one cedi per trip, the road would be raking in GH? 30,000 in a day, GH? 210,000 in a week, GH? 840,000 in a month and GH? 10,080,000 in a year ...

• KB,LONDON. 10 years ago

Amazing, and yet not a surprise. A minister come before parliament, the highest national decision making body, to seek approval for loans to rehabilitate an asset that is a 'cash cow'.Uh? The minister has no idea of the cash ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Just less than a week ago, the sector minister was on record as saying with an authority that the money they need is so huge that the toll they collect daily is cedi,cedi and therefore we shouldn't even think of it as money.

• DAN 10 years ago

SAFES MUST BE INSTALL THAT ONLY AN GUARDS FROM MONEY TRANSPORT COMPANY CAN OPEN..THEN MONEY TAKEN STRAIGHT TO BANK FOR DEPOSIT IN GHANA'S TOLL ROAD ACCOUNT!

• JC Bamforth 10 years ago

This morning, at the end of a forty minute jam, there were three workers on site. They were all working feverishly. Leaning against a digger to stop it from falling over. Man hours wasted per day? 25,000?

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

This is what exactly I asked the Minister of Roads to come out with and tell the whole world how much is generated from the tolls collected daily, weekly and mobnthly. Now that we have the figures what is the Minister saying ...

• dani 10 years ago

it is that we have stupid govrenment that is lazy and dont want to repair or do any work

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Nkwaseafo bi nti in Ghana who are leading the nation is now turning the country into ashes. Mahama kwasea bi nti who wanted to be the president of Ghana AT ALL COST has now destroyed EVERYTHING in Ghana yet Ghanaians cannot s ...

• KWAKU SEI 10 years ago

I SIMPLY AGREE TO YOUR COMMENTS, PUMP BILLIONS INTO SUCH ADMINISTRATION AND NOTHING WILL BE SEEN.
    ONLY SHAMELESS ATIGUBA WILL SAVE THEM.

• Nzema Kwasi 10 years ago

It appears most critics of the gov't suffer from amnesia. Rawlings ruled Ghana for almost 20 damn years and most of these infrastructure deteriorated under his watch. This is the same Rawlings who wants the gov't to furnish ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

I would first thank the writers for this good article. The attempt to set the historical background is highly commendable. However I lived in Tema until I completed university and I know for certain Rawlings rehabilitated the ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

I keep on saying it should not be difficult to get a good grip on managing Ghana's development and it's very incompetent citizens.
    If we can't on the other hand, we should pay competent Germans or the British to do it for u ...

• Titugri 10 years ago

I always tell people that Rawlings is the worst criminal Ghana has ever had but some people think that I just don't like him. Rawlings had more time than any leader Ghana ever had yet he was busy mismanaging the country and t ...

• assemblyman,Ahafo Ano South 10 years ago

very corrupt country

• Akamai 10 years ago

Politicians take poor people as fools!

very corrupt country

• Kojo Darko, Indianapolis. 10 years ago

March 6th 1957. Can we govern ourselves? did we need that independence? okay, ALUTA, LETS GO FIND THE MOTORWAY MONEY. OR just say it and brush it under the carpet like we have done, did and will do. GHANA PEOPLE. BYE

• Mozato 10 years ago

We need answers. The auditor and comptroller should tell us what the toll monies were used forl.

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

RIGHT FROM RAWLINGS TO THE SO CALLED FOOTSOLDIERS.....THEY ARE ALL CROOKS AND BANDITS AND LEECHES.....JUST IN POWER TO MILK GHANA DRY....I SERIOUSLY DON'T THINK NDC HAS EVER WON ELECTIONS SINCE 1992.....THEY ARE IN POWER BEC ...

• doug b usa 10 years ago

sometime in the us, they start reparing roads and i for one think there seem to be nothing wrong in th first place. it because the people mony has to go into the maintenance one way or the other. Not us. toll at trotro statio ...

• The Mask 10 years ago

A purposeful educational system and the right economic policies would bridge the gap between the rich and the lower classes of society.

Kwame Nkrumah said that he believed that the only way to fight corruption was to build ...

• PepperJ 10 years ago

do you think we as Ghanaians think that way? we have reversed that notion.do you remember what the deputy minister sacked recently said... she wants the millions as quickly as possible...without working for it.

• Bfire 10 years ago

God bless Nkrumah. Let us see corruption as corruption, not from political party's point of view. We must stop justifying or defending corrupt people in Ghana simple because we hate a particular government.

• prempeh 1 10 years ago

Yes, that was exactly the Al Qaeda terrorist groups in Ghana did to destroy Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah and the people of Ghana, those terrorist group never accepted any good project Nkrumah established in Ghana, beginning fro ...

• CEE 10 years ago

HHHHHMMM EYE ASEM OOOOOOO

• concern citizen 10 years ago

1) The information minister misinformed Ghanaians that they are not realising enough money from the tolls.
    2) Please read your history well. It wasn't Kwame Nkrumah who brought the Idea. He only implemented somebody's idea ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Some Ghanaians and their not-for-any-good arguments. If it was not Kwame Nkrumah's idea what useful information are you trying to give us. At least Kwame Nkrumah implemented it and the motorway has served Ghana excellently.Sh ...

• prempeh 1 10 years ago

Thank you Ghanaba, these are the people who have contributed the destruction of all the viable project Nkrumah built in our motherland, including the Jute factory and shoe factory in Ashanti Kumasi. You can see them from thei ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Return into your mothers belly, and be born again, you are very very stupid. An unimplemented idea belongs to none, Kwasea, Tweeeeeaaaaaa.

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

Tweeeeeeaaaa is he your co equal?

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

Ok it was not Dr.Nkrumah idea but at least he had the willingness to help his people. What other ideas has our pocket politicians done for us?

• Anyone got a pic or video of Vicky's 10 years ago

First silly comment. Why cant you write sensible comments like what your fellow countrymen and women have written before you eh? Or are you a mortoway toll collector? Shame

• Obibini 10 years ago

Does it matter whether it was his idea or not? The important thing is that he was responsible for it's materialization.

• Quarm 10 years ago

and ye shall tell the truth and the truth shall make the people liberated....AMEN

• pk 10 years ago

Very sad. Very unfortunate. A pay-to-use road left to rot. Why?...Hmmmm

• obibs 10 years ago

All the more reason why the roads and transport minister should have been kicked out for his recent crass statement about the motorway not making enough to repair the potholes on it.

• fidelity 10 years ago

The leaders of Ghana should learn from this motorway landmark and see thenselves as lunatics who do not deserve to lead a nation in any circumstance.

• Sarpong 10 years ago

no comments

• TUTULAPATO 10 years ago

WE ARE OUR OWN ENEMIES. TOLL BOTH CLERK STEALS, ORDINARY CITIZENS STEALS THE CABLES MEANT FOR THE STREET LIGHTS. GOVERNMENT CONTRACTORS STEALS. GHANAIANS ARE HYPOCRITES. THEY KNOW WHAT IS GOOD BUT WHEN GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY T ...

• DAN 10 years ago

NO CABLES TO STEAL..

• Kofi Osei 10 years ago

And their keep saying that Dr. Nkrumah did nothing for Ghana. We should not be afraid to say and point out that our leaders are just stupid. Foolish pocket politicians all of them.

• bogoso 10 years ago

the government should manage this motor way. no private public partnership. it is partisan

• Nanaba 10 years ago

I completely agree with the TUTULAPATO who commented here.
    Ghanaians are our own enemies. Almost everyone seem to be corrupt and is involved in bribery and no one is making sure to deal with this. The law keepers are floutin ...

• ron 10 years ago

They are just qualified THIEVES

• KANYE EAST 10 years ago

WAA LOOK AT THE ACCRA-TEMA "MOTORWAY" MEDIAN STRIP LOOKING LIKE A TOMATO FARM.

PAVE THAT MEDIAM STRIP WITH QUALITY COLOURED BRICKS FOR GOODNESS SAKE.

AFTERALL, WHAT DO YOU PEOPLE USE THE COLLECTED TOLLS FOR? MAINTAININ ...

• KANYE EAST 10 years ago

WAA LOOK AT THE ACCRA-TEMA "MOTORWAY" MEDIAN STRIP LOOKING LIKE A TOMATO FARM.

PAVE THAT MEDIAM STRIP WITH QUALITY COLOURED BRICKS FOR GOODNESS SAKE.

AFTERALL, WHAT DO YOU PEOPLE USE THE COLLECTED TOLLS FOR? MAINTAININ ...

• ANGEL 10 years ago

FELLOW GHANAIANS: BE AWARE THAT HUGE SUMS OF MONEY FROM THE TOLL GO INTO INDIVIDUAL POCKETS. THIS IS ROBBERY1 JUST CHECK: FROM A TO Z ALL ARE STEALING. PLZ PREZ MAHAMA, PAY SURPRISE VISITS LIKE MILLS AND YOU WILL KNOW THE TRU ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Mahama the most stupid.

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

We are all concerned with the state of our national properties and their maintenances. I wish you could come with some good working ideas that could help put our nation forward.

The Tema motorway has become a great concer ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

If 30,000.00 is generated daily on the Tema motorway, why is the road minister telling us that there is no money to rehabilitate it? This is a clear indication that the tolls go right into some individuals pocket who are th ...

• EFUA 10 years ago

If this amount you are quoting is not serious money to repair the road then which serious money was the minister talking about I am sure they rake in mor money than the amount quoted but Ghana for you some one or some people ...

• fellas 10 years ago

cry beloved ghana, crying forever!

• Whatever 10 years ago

The current state of the Tema Motorway is the direct results of failure by successive Governments to carry out what Nkrumah started. We only pay lip service to Nkrumah and abandon his plans and works

• Coach 10 years ago

By your calculations multiply the GHC 10,080,000 by 2 if round trip usage is taken into consideration....

one could conclude that several MOTORWAYS would have been constructed with the type of revenue being generated.

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

All the money has been gave to wayome