Abedi weeps for Ghana football

Read Comments Comments (89)

• Wanlov 10 years ago

Everything is right on the money.

• GA MAN 10 years ago

Abedi is 1000% right.

• Nana Osie Tutu Akufo Ado Cocain 10 years ago

this guy is getting too known. Was his time different? in any case, if there exist a succession plan, will abedi know if he did not enquire of this? He is just making this statement to let people know he will be a better choi ...

• NIPA 10 years ago

This guy is saying it as it is and that is what most Ghanaians hate ti hear.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

WAT OPINIONS DOES ABEDI HVE TO STOP GAP THIS ISSUE. U CAN TALK ABOUT ISSUES, BUT THINK ABOUT SOLUTIONS AS WELL. THE GFA IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR HELPING YOUTH PLAYERS SEEK PLAYING CONTRACTS ABROAD. TELL JORDAN TO GO N PLAY FOR ...

• ROMANO 10 years ago

JUST THE FUCK UP AND LISTEN TO WHAT ABEDI IS SAYING NA TRUE -TALK YOU ARE TOO BOOM BOOM.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Hmm, I like Dede but his father was just too ambitious and opportunist. Does he remember what he did to AA at Senegal when AA was the Black Stars captain? Some of you are too young to understand why Tony Yeboah never wanted t ...

• Kwame Danso 10 years ago

Abedi has spoken something sensible and instead of you commenting on that,you creating confusion on GhWeb.When will you grow up?.

• Hp 10 years ago

Hmmm ! tell him la.

• Easy Sunday Sistim 10 years ago

The future lies in youth academy football, replicated in all the regions like Marcel Desailly Academy got going in the country.

We want our colt system, and curtain raisers back! Therein lies the future, period! However, A ...

BAN GIFTS TO COACHES!!!
    AA IS STUPID N DATS WHY HE IS LOSING SLEEP. IF HE SELECTS PLAYERS STRICTLY ON MERIT (FITNESS, FORM, NUMBER OF CLUB GAMES PLAYED, CONSISTENCY, JUSTIFY YOUR INCLUSION).
    HE WONT HVE SLEEPLESS NIGHTS. NA ...

• THEY GET LAZY TO WORK HARDER AFTER U1 10 years ago

THROUGH a very hard worked ABEDI PELE became one of the African Legends on football in the world.
    These boys are all now VERY LAZY to work HARDER even more than like GEORGE WEAH or ABEDI PELE or ROGER MILLER and others did i ...

Kwasea and a damn fool. Do you know that Abedi demanded to captain the BS or will not play in senegal? Aboa. Ask Tony Yeboah, Tony Baffoe for the truth to be confirmed. I ws a grown up person and watched those senegal encount ...

• Sien 10 years ago

Frank,
    What's your point in bringing up that 22-year division those idiots, Tony Baffoe, Abedi and Yeboah, caused in our National Team? What they all did back then had nothing to do with developing REAL young players for Gha ...

KWASEA. When can you tolerate contrary views? I will grow up when you grow out from your stupidity and ignorance.

• Alhaji Rasheedmulor 10 years ago

What do you mean by Tony Yaboah never wanted to pass a ball to Abedi?.Who gave Abedi the final pass to go and score the second goal against Congo in Senegal?.Can I ask a question?.Between the players(Appiah and Absedi),who st ...

What do you know? I watched the game live on GBC/TV at that time.Just explain the cause of rift b/n AA and Abedi. Tony Baffoe and Yeboah are still alive. Contact them.

Do not deviate from the main issue my brother.Yes, the captainship was taken from Appiah and given to Abedi,that is a fact.How many Matches did appiah play in Senegal?.You claimed Tony never wanted to passs the ball to Abedi ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

Tony Yeboah and Tony Baffoe were selfish and savages they didn't understood what team work was about,they betrays ghana and them self as professionals

“We go to juvenile tourneys – U-17 and U-20 – with the sole aim to win trophies, so the players who win the tournaments get contracts and in no time they vanish into thin air.

ok, so wat sgould be done to rectify the ...

• Jeff 10 years ago

It is fools like you I'd rather not hear from. Abedi articulated a well thought out observation about a looming problem to hit the Stars, and this is your contribution, genius? Why don't you crawl back to whatever stupid roc ...

• Kwabena 10 years ago

We can talk of David Addy, Jonathan Mensah, Rabiu Mohammed and Agyemang Badu not only Dede Mr. selfish, may be some of them made the wrong choice in the teams they decided to play. There is no other plan better than graduatin ...

• Ntiako 10 years ago

Kwabena u r not good enough or else other teams will buy u if even Ghana black stars dont.Dede is one of the best player in black stars.Dont bring ur jealousy on Abedi.Abedi is the pride of Africa not only Ghana. ur

• kwami 10 years ago

He is right

• kyere 10 years ago

Nana osei u must be so enviuos,or u are Tony yeboah.Always jealousing Abedi.U see Abedi is blessed bcos God saw he had true love for his country,he killed himself for The nation.In the history of black stars no one has achiev ...

• Emmanuei 10 years ago

Nana osei tutu akufo-ado cocain's name says it all that he is mad and don't see anything in a football legend who advocacy, when taken into consideration, will help the GFA, and the black star team as a whole. Abedi doesn't ...

• him 10 years ago

Stop using your village termnology. The guy said the truth. This applies to the whole nation. hanicup society. 0000000 planning.

• Mr.N 10 years ago

Abedi Ayew Pele is right most Ghanaians are fool by Akwesi Nyantakyi's GFA success story of 3 world cup appearance. Akwesi Nyantakyi and his GFA had created anything our league is nothing to write about the are spending all t ...

• Tuy 10 years ago

Yeah, Ghana is going to win every major tournament. And the inhabitants will live in abject poverty. Adedi,do your know the percentage of Ghanaians who live in filth? Failure in football is nothing compared with the hopelessn ...

• COMANDO 10 years ago

U are one of the Ashantis who never like the true, Lern how to suport the truth in life okey.

• Ghana 10 years ago

Watch your grammar and stop worrying about somebody's spelling, trokosi illiterate.

"U are one of the Ashantis who never like the true,"

Should read

U are one of the Ashantis who never like the true(TRUTH),

• Bono 10 years ago

Blind leading the blind: lern=learn suport=support. Even your name/handle COMANDO=COMMANDO

I just like your spellings and grammar. Keep it on.Hahahahahahaha

• ROMANO 10 years ago

ABI NA TRUE TALK.

• Keen Observer 10 years ago

Abedi talks sense!!!! Nyamtakyi and his cronies are only interested in stealing money and building big mansions at East Legon. So long as the Black Stars are doing well, they don't give a fuck about anything else. Sad state o ...

• Henry Appertey S.A 10 years ago

you are perfectly right my hero,this young stars must not be rush into fake contract and prepare them not only for foreign based players but for our national team.

• JOEMOORE 10 years ago

so what did you do to help? apart from criticism. you were there before so whay cant you come on board and help build the team.

• paul siaw 10 years ago

Joe moore what at all did Abedi say in this statement to provoke your rage? are u really serious of your criticizms?

• Kanawu 10 years ago

Joe, in all spheres in Ghana, when you are not invited, you can't just go and give a helping hand without mistrust. It is in governing the country as well us soccer administration. Just because you would prevent them from ste ...

• paul siaw 10 years ago

Boss you have said it all .you have just nailed it there !!! THEY WILL NOT LET YOU DO ANYTHING FOR THEM BECAUSE OF THEIR STOMACH ! ABEDI AND ROGER MILLER WERE ABLE TO HELP MAKE IT POSSIBLE TO HOST THE WORLD CUP IN SOUTH AFRIC ...

• JOEMOORE 10 years ago

what you just say is very true but what i mean is that we cant just stand and be pointing fingers without doing anything to stop them from destroying the team. especially people like ABEDI who know better.

• Yaw 10 years ago

You make sense but Keadwo Asamoah,Agyemang Badu are not doing bad,
    It's lack of commitment ,the will to win and inferiority complex ,If we especially the players believe they can win,why not?
    When they get the contracts to ...

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 10 years ago

Kwadwo Asamoah was not part of the team that won the U-20 World Cup.

• CEREBRAL 10 years ago

Out of 21 players who featured in the WC U20 2009 7 players are doing alright: Samuel Inkoom, Jonathan Mensah, David Addy, Agyeman Badu, Andre Ayew, Mohammed Rabiu, and Daniel Opare. They may not be playing in top-tier teams ...

• CEREBRAL 10 years ago

'note' correction

• Amanor ,Isaac USA 10 years ago

Those 7 you mentioned are struggling on their own.our best replacement for john mensah has been neglected,do you remember Daniel Addo?where is Quansah and look at how Adiyea is struggling.thanks Abedi.Assifuah shd be tried in ...

• CEREBRAL 10 years ago

What do you mean by they are struggling on their own? They are playing in international leagues. What can the GFA do if a player like Adiyiah has been called 18 times but only scored 4 goals. Yes he did well in the U20 but hi ...

• lee 10 years ago

True talk GFA does not know anything about BRANDING, considering the ugly jersey they want us to wear to the WC... When you look good, you feel good, and you play well... Good soccer and Nice appearance goes hand in hand towa ...

• Emmanuel Osei 10 years ago

A bed is very right.. GFATV thinks all is about the black stars.

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

IT IS NOT ONLY DEDE WHO IS DOING WELL AMONG HIS GROUP, OPARE, INKOOM, RABIU, AGYEMANG BADU AND A FEW OYHERS ARE ALSO DOING WELL. HOWEVER, YOU ARE RIGHT WITH RESPECT TO THE PLAN FOR THE FUTURE OF THE BLACK STARS. JUST ASK GFA ...

• Coach 10 years ago

Jonathan Mensah, Adjei the goalkeeper are all doing well. The problem is that, the team that won the under 20 world cup were full of twenty five year olds masquerading as under twenty guys maybe except Dede.

• Berima Nana Kweku 10 years ago

I have admired Abedi for so many years throughout his playing career and sometimes i wonder if his great exposure and experience of the field is of no value to the country at all. He needs to be invited to do his part. The G ...

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

Abedi is right but interestingly this is the way we conduct business this part of the world, whether it's politics, economy, social and infrastructure development, health, you name it. We love the good results but we fail to ...

• OGOGLO QUARTER ! 10 years ago

THEY SOLD EVERY LAND/PARKS AROUND WHERE I PLAYED B*A*L*L WHEN I WAS KID GROWING UP

I REMEMBER PLAYING AGAINST ABEDI ,ALABODI AND OTHERS AT A PARK NEAR ACHIMOTA NEOPLAN ROAD BY A WOOD SHOP..

ALL THOSE PARKS ARO ...

What is your problem OGOGLO QUARTER?.The name is Olabode and ALABODE,

YOU FUNNY LUCKY SON OF HAJJIA...I WANT THOSE LANDS BACK .. OR ELSE,ANYWHERE I MEET YOU I WILL FORCE A QUARTER INTO YOUR TROAT ....

• ABOOBAKER ABDULHAMEED 10 years ago

The truth is all Abedi has spoken but I disagree with him to refer the Black Stars as a global brand. Black Stars is not even a continental brand yet because another country rules presently African Continental Championship. G ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

GIVE KANTANKA 4x4 MADE IN GHANA CARS ARE THE WINNING BONUS TO ALL THE BLACKSTAR PLAYERS

• Agbey 10 years ago

Thank you for such a good observation. Ghana need people like you to be on board to assist in this direction. Keep dreaming of how Ghana Soccer can succeed. Even though you have plaid your part, more is still required of you ...

• jamp62 10 years ago

This place stink people have the nerve to call Abedi a scumbag what a shame

• Kwame Adu-Gyamfi 10 years ago

What does he mean apart from Dede? I'm pretty sure Adiyiah,Agyemang-Badu,Opare,Rabiu,Inkoom,Agyei, Mensah are all doing alright. Some players will naturally fall out of the spotlight but for the most part Ghana does very well ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A very logical and somewhat cold calculating professor of mathematics sent this fax to his wife:

Dear Wife:

You must realize that now you are 54 years old, and I have certain needs which you are no longer able to satisf ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

Football players in Ghana are not patriotic because you alway charge our dear nation to represent us, so before you retire the nation coffers will be empty to support you, so safe your appearance fees and bonuses.for your ret ...

• Sincerity 10 years ago

It is said that Negros [Black people]discuss events while caucacians [White people] discuss ideas...hence Monsieur Abedi Pele, you are right,but how? I would like to suggest that you and the current coach smoke peace pipe on ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

Footballer in Ghana use the nation's appearance us a stepping stone to acquire big contracts, but they charge us huge amounts before represent Us with appearance fees and winning bonuses, so before you retire there will be no ...

• jahlove 10 years ago

THE OBSERVATION SHERIFF SURE IS WORTH TAKING NOTE OFF BY GFA BEFORE GHANA SOCCER STARTS TO NOSE DIVE AS HAPPENED TO IVORY COAST AND UNTIL RECENTLY NIGERIA.

• Asibey 10 years ago

BLACK STARS NEED ABEDI FOR ITS MANA GEMENT!

• Cobby Joe,USA. 10 years ago

Most national coaches pay attention to their national leagues for the purpose of building their national teams.AA flies from country to country picking individual players to form the national team for whom he has no strategy. ...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris! 10 years ago

Amen!, nd what do u have for us with....,after the explanation,nd the unification papa at this time, then! nd.... annaa erekoaa ba?,fr Samms!nd God bless oman Ghana! with.....

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

who dont want to pursue his career or dreams just as you did,you led the way for mass soccer exodus to Europe paving the way for them,look im head like football,these lads are doing exactly what you did,you let ghana for a gr ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

Abedi i for one have no doubt about your dedication and commitment to Ghana but your only shortfall during your playing days was your divisive manner which deprived you and the many talented chaps in the team to win more silv ...

• pk 10 years ago

I thought that's the rationale behind having the starlets, satellites, meteors to serve as feeders for the BS. While some players go through the ranks, others skip, others emerge from nowhere and a few through change of natio ...

• football analyst. 10 years ago

A man of integrity anytimes he talks l become excited.He make a good comments GFA must takes lesson out of it.I always throw challenge to the entire Ghanaian sport fraternity that Abedi Ayew Pele was the overal player Ghana h ...

• Mogya Mono 10 years ago

Who is to be blame? Everything must be put aside and pay attention to de word of de wise.

• ike 10 years ago

our GFA board members are not thinking about that...all they do is to think about money...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 10 years ago

I agreed with Abedi Pele.Ghana GFA should Pay attention to the Colts League.Ghana GFA must invest more Money to train the Colts Players for the National Team the Black Stars.

THE GIRLS HAVE WON THEIR FIRST MATCH.

The girls have won their first match...

• solomon 10 years ago

Abedi should take the hold problems of Ghanablackstars because what happens in 1992 about under 17 players your the person we put everything on your head because you. Didn't do righting on that time

• solomon 10 years ago

1992 where is abedi! 17&20 players playing black stars did you said any thing to gfa people

• NII KELEKE 10 years ago

FOOL

• WASTY 10 years ago

ANY GHANAIAN JUST REMEMBER WHEN THE FOOD IS DONE BUT THEY DONT REMEMBER WHEN IT'S ON FIRE, APART FROM EGYPT AND GHANA MATCH ALL THE OUR MATCHERS WAS TRY YOUR LUCK,WHAT ABEDI IS SAY IF WE JOKE BRING OUR SHAMELESS BACK TO GHANA

• WASTY 10 years ago

YOUR PEOPLE SAYING ABEDI SHOULD FUCK OFF,ABEDI DIDN'T KILL HISELF FOR HIS FAMILY LIKE THE WAY HE DID FOR GHANAIAN AND THE SAMETHING TO APPIAH,

• Vijay 10 years ago

oh my God, Ghana needs u is true talking oo yes...mmmh

• Nana(RSA) 10 years ago

I've been following Ghana football for quiet sometime now but I've never seen a player who would sacrifice everything on the pitch for Ghana than Abedi Pele. Had Abedi played in the final in Senegal 92, Ghana won't be crying ...

• bashings 10 years ago

but i thought players from the junior national teams should be promoted to the national senior team so why is Abedi crying????? i am surprised.

• mk 10 years ago

He has said it all. We shd learn to develop the younger ones and use our local coaches

• kk 10 years ago

It is for this reason that I always say Nyantakyi has not achieved anything for Ghana football. All that he does is to manage stars who have been groomed by Ben Koffie.

• Humphrey Hossoo 10 years ago

Abedi, you can say that again