You are here: HomeNews2014 03 14Article 303343

Legalization of ‘wee’ bad for Ghana – Psychiatrist warns

Read Comments Comments (78)

• kwabena 10 years ago

Mr. Akrasi Sarpong’s dont face any problem of the people who smoke it and go insane, i wish this people find where he live and go with their guns in night as arm rubbers who want money just to go and buy it to smoke. Again ...

• CAKE 10 years ago

KWABENA GROW

• kabokabo 10 years ago

Legalize wee, legalize madness and armed robbery because these three things are three in one.

• GHANAian 10 years ago

If Ghana want to continue enjoying the sanity life, then they should sack this Akrasi Sarpong. His comments surely signifies that he himself takes this "wee". So imagine how many "wee" had passed under his "kolokolo" eye?
    Th ...

• GIRLZ 10 years ago

Everyone is expert in all fields in Ghana.

Akrasi Sarpong too, is an expert in nacortics. Hmmm we live to see.

God save Ghana

• Duker 10 years ago

Tweeaaa DCE WAS SACKED , AKRESI SARPONG SHOULD BE SACKED TOO, HIS COMMENT IS UNACCEPTABLE.

• Duker 10 years ago

Sack him!

• KWAME 10 years ago

try it bro...it is really good

• wayo 10 years ago

Don´t mind them.It better than acohol

• SUFFERMAN 10 years ago

THE KWAME NKRUMAH CIRCLE / AVERNOR BRANCH OF WEE SMOKERS ASSOCIATION HEREBY ENDORSE MR AKRASI SARPONG AS OUR PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE FOR 2016.NO BAGA WIRE....NO WOMAN NO CRY

• ELINAM 10 years ago

The so-called reputable journals that Dr. Donnir depends on for his facts are compromised by big pharmaceutical companies who are stiff scared of losing profits if common herb can heal most disease their expensive drugs can h ...

• Village Food 10 years ago

ELINAM u always make sense in your post and i always agree with u,How can a natural herbs created by God be illegal,then any one caught with kontomire(coco yam) leaves should also be jailed and all herbs,legalize ganja and ta ...

• Dan Kosowah 10 years ago

Dr. Donnir should seek council from bigwigs around the city he lives in. The King may have ideas, his staff and the general public will tell him different. The Weed is not man=made. It is a herb, a natural stimulant that does ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

If AKRASI SARPONG can't do his job well,he must be forced to resign,as early as possible.
    He was just a commercial student at NEW JUABENG COMMERCIAL COLLEGE ,KOFORIDUA,and has no knowledge on the technicalities or the scient ...

• AKMA 10 years ago

There is no Medical proof that Wee makes people go crazy. It has been proven that Tobacco and booze kills more people a year than any war in human history, why are we not talking about criminalizing those two.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

If Ghana has such low thinking idiots in high office, what exactly should we expect? This man should be made to smoke marijuana continuously for two years for medical evaluation.

Ghana is sinking under these societal misfi ...

• wofa Koo 10 years ago

Akrasi is a deem fool period. It is America this and that which torn Haiti the poorest country in western hemisphere apart. If Ghana want same steps as Haiti, they can continue with akrasi's nonsense. Ghana need development .

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

I WAS IN THE BANK WITH A LOT OF MARIJUANA AND MR SARPONG SAID TWEAA HE WANTS A JOINT.

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

Why is NARCO boss still in his job.The government should have thrown him out by now as he is not fit for purpose. How can he fight against the Drug trade if thinks the use of Cannabis should be legalized. The man is not when ...

• dani 10 years ago

IT IS WELL KNOWN AND ESTABLISHED THAT WEED IS NOT AS HARMFULL AS ALCHOL THAT CUSE PEOPLE TO COMMIT CRIMES NO WEED SMOKER IN THE ENTIRE WORLD EVER COMITTED A CRIME WEED MAKE YOU COME AND RELAX NOT VIOLENT LIKE ALCHOL CONSUMPTI ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Just like Vic Hammond, Kwasi Sarpong will one day disgrace his pay masters in public. Mahama is just stubborn.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

He knows the business side of this dangerous drug,but not the scientific aspects.
    Such a novice shouldn't have been given such a post like this.
    HE DOES NOT BELONG.

Every naive person can decide for Ghana.
    THAT'S VERY S ...

• Kwaku Amexo 10 years ago

Bolivia, Venezuela , Uruguay, Holland are some of the countries that legalized marihuana . Ghana should talk about it, weigh the benefits versus the risks and decide.
    There are more dangerous substances being sold for human ...

• Atugabiig 10 years ago

You folks always quote other countries in support of ideas that can negatively affect our nation. However, when it comes to the issue of homosexuals, you don't use the same yardstick but rather blame these same countries for ...

There are several active ingredients in Marijuana.Drug companies are making money from synthetic form (THC). Why cant Ghana study the beneficial part of the natural plant and sell? Even if it is used as recreational drug it i ...

• Haile Salasi -LONDON 10 years ago

Beacreful what you are legalising.It will breed vagabonds and cause a lot of missing certificates !!!

• KWAME 10 years ago

Weed does not create vagabonds. Societies and joblessness creates vagabonds. Support your assertion with evidence, please. Push for jobs, and ways to improve quality of life for people. Improved diet leads to improved men ...

Mr Akrasi Sarpong should not be insulted. Rather, do research, find out what resources are being used to control the use of Wee? Can Ghana benefit from her own research on medicinal use of Indian Hemp? Compared to cigarette a ...

• dani 10 years ago

THE LIES MUST STOPED MARUANA[ AKA WEED] IS NOT AS DANGER AS ALCHOL ,GOD GAVE THE WORLD THIS MIRECLE PLANT FOR A RESON. 40 STATES IN THE US ALREADY APPROVED IT MEDICAL MARUANA TO TREAT SICK PEOPLE.
    IF THIS PLANT IS SO BAD ...

• Osaka 10 years ago

You rite....take. My respect bro.Always waiting for some one to tell us what to do.cigarret. And alcohol kills and yet it is. O.k and you can buy it from any corner.Does every one smoke cigaret ? And does every one drink alco ...

• Kofi Wee 10 years ago

What is good for the USA may not necessarily be good for Ghana.We in Ghana copy by heart.The population of the USA is bigger and more comfortable than Ghana .We must remember that it as the white man who diminished the popula ...

• Samanpa 10 years ago

You fools like Akrasi-Sarpong think crazily about tormenting Ghana as a whole. There are many other crops that can be cultivated on large scale to earn income and good health to the nation. Ghana should produce technical men ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Govt shouldn't think of legalising "wee" at all because not only is bad for Ghana, is bad for health. There already enough mad people in Ghana and Ghana has not got enough metal hosiptals or doctors to care for them.

• GOVT. 10 years ago

BASED ON THE ADVISE FROM AKRASI SARPONG THE 'WEE GROWERS ASSOCIATION' HAVE CLEARED 1000 ACRES OF LAND FOR CULTIVATION IN APRIL 2014.
    WE INTEND EXPORTING 200,0000 TON OF THE STUFF TO JAMAICA AND THE AMERICAS.JAH RAS

• Village Food 10 years ago

GOVT. Jamaica land if already fertile for Wee and they will not buy it,we can only export them to the Western world and make extra cash,Wee does not need fertilizer to grow,does not need much attention and it's pest free so i ...

• JAMAICA 10 years ago

ALL BALD MEN SHOULD REPORT AT THE NARCOTIC BOARD FOR SCREENING AND HEALING.'SMOKE WEE GET BUSHY HAIR' IS THE THEME.THE SEMINAR WOULD BE CHAIRED BY YAW AKRASI SARPONG.IN ATTENDANCE WOULD BE THE PANTANG MENTAL CHOIR ABLY SUPPOR ...

• woodini 10 years ago

I don't think Ghana has the capacity to control the use of cannabis if legalised. In countries where cannabis is legalised, they have effective mechanism put in place so that people don't abuse or misuse cannabis.We all know ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

it burns your memory.....its especially bad for poor societies where nutrition and healthcare is poor...

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

Take care of it and it will take care of you,don't abuse it and it will not harm you

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

Oh Ghanian Elites,so called Docts,Do not only read,or heard on news,do spent money and take vacation tour the world,is a free world,and see things for yourselves before coming out and talk,Ghanians and As well as African ...

• SMOKING WEE EVERYDAY 10 years ago

THE PHYCHIATRIST IS RIGHT . GHANA SHOULDN'T COMPARE THE COUNTRY TO THE WESTERN COUNTRIES WHEN IT COME'S TO LEGALIZE MARIJUANA . WE CAN'T AFFORD IT - GHANA DOESN'T NEED MORE CRAZY PEOPLE ON THE STREET .

• Kwame USA 10 years ago

Do you drink?

Because Alcohol is worse than Marijuana.

• Kanawu 10 years ago

WE DON'T HAVE TO COPY ANYTHING FROM THE WEST. WE SHOULD RATHER COPY HOW THEY BUILD ROADS, FIGHT CRIMES ETC. WE SHOULD USE OUR CONSCIENCE.

• Samanpa 10 years ago

It would do you good if you advised the people of Ghana to turn gold mine pits into fish ponds and sought assistant for fish farmers, you'd see what Ghana will become in a very short term. Stupid arse-hole!!!

• who born dog 10 years ago

are we getting crazy in ghana. why no do away with marriage accountability(dowry and knocking) system and see what happens. we have enough weed smokers in Ghana. just check teh charcoal trucks that come though dodowa, adenta, ...

• abeiku 10 years ago

the one behind the publication that akrasi advocated for the legalization of wee was very mischievous. mr akrasi did not say anything like that. a check can be made about this stupidity!

• Wuofei 10 years ago

I know the "reefer heads" in this forum will support legalization of Ganja, but no so quick. why do we copy blindly? First of all the kind of weed we have in GH is very potent and plus Otomno-food =madman

• OBRONI 10 years ago

pls stop this old fashioned behavior, the US Holland and Uruguay have legalized soft-drugs.
    A large part of the young populations smokes wee including police officers, we can't even maintain the law and it appears that peopl ...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

What about alcohol? Some braindead argument from a so called doctor.

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

just like cigarette and alcohol set the age limit,do you allow kids to smoke below 18 or drink?legalize the stuff.

• DOKORDOKO 10 years ago

PEOPLE SMOOK WEE IN GHANA OPENLY,THE GUY WHO PROPOSE THIS LEGALIZATION IS JUST SAYING ALLOW US TO SELL AND EXPORT WEE. THIS GUY IS THE HEAD OF THE NARCO BOARD.THIS MAHAMAH PRESIDENT IS JUST A JOKE. FIRE THIS ASS HOLE HE IS A ...

• Kwame USA 10 years ago

Alcohol is far more dangerous....This man is not serious

• DR MANSON 10 years ago

CAN THE GOOD DOC TELL US WHICH COUNTRY LEGALISED MARIJUANA AND REGRETTED IT. LIES, LIES LIES.

• Kwame USA 10 years ago

Ghanaians refuse to be educated no wonder why the country is not making any progress.

Every country that has allowed weed has never regretted it.

Weed is safer than Alcohol and that's not even up for debate.

• dani 10 years ago

GOD GAVE US THIS MERICLE PLANET TO HEAL SERUIES MEDICAL PROBLEMS,GOD WILL NEVER PUT ON EARTH ANY PLANT THAT IS GOING TO HURT HIS PEOPLE IT IS TIME TO STOP BEING IGNORATE AND IT IS TIME TO START THINKING IF WEED WAS SO BAD WH ...

• Kwabena Akosa 10 years ago

Legalization of marijuana is key for Africa's development. I believe we should make an endeavor to support Akrasi since the use of the herb is common in our community and we can also make some gains through production and exp ...

• THELMA 10 years ago

I agree because Ghana has no records for enforcing rules and regulations stringently. He opined that Marijuana needs to be legalized because US has done that. But we should bare in mind US has all the means and resources th ...

• KOTWI ASIAMA 10 years ago

I CAN'T UNDERSTAND WHY A PERSON WHO IS BEING PAID BY THE STATE TO PROTECT IT FROM DRUGS IS PROPOSING ITS LEGALISATION.THIS MAN MUST BE CRITICALLY EXAMINE BY THE PRESIDENT.

• moses 10 years ago

Doctor pls which country regreted by legalizing mariwana? and cant they retreat the low or counceal it? doc you are lying, what about the Akpeteshi that is killing people live let the nation decide and dont lie to us.

• Nana adjoa Matekole 10 years ago

The legalization if wee should never be mentioned in th ghanain society. If the use if indian hemp is legalized, it is going to give rise for a lot of things to come up to be given the same attention and status. So it is a no ...

• kweku kweku 10 years ago

I don't know why this man is still at post? i can say with certainty that he is a wee smoker. if anybody at all would propose this idea it should not be this man.Ghana which way?

• Nana Amoateng 10 years ago

Criminalizing marijuana is like telling God he made a mistake planting the herb.
    Wander is the beginning of knowledge

• Aba 10 years ago

God created all animals but gave rules on some animals not to eat - read Leviticus.

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

I SUPPORT THE IDEA OF LEGALIZATION OF MARIJUANA (WEE)IN GHANA.IT DOES NOT MAKE SENSE TO PROSECUTE A GHANAIAN IN POSSESSING OF ONLY ONE JOINT WEE.THE LEGAL COST,TIME WASTED COULD HAVE BEEN WISELY SPENT DEALING WITH THE ARMED R ...

• peace 10 years ago

only mad people will suggest a thing like legalizing wee. whoever suggest that should legalized 'that' in his home.

• peace 10 years ago

People in leadership positions need to go for check-up in psychiatric hospitals.who knows they may be having some mental problems if not how can a man in his right senses suggest a thing like that.

• OKKI 10 years ago

NEITHER WEE NOR AKPETESHIE IS GOOD WHERE ONE IS LEGALIZED ITS AS IF BOTH SHOULD BE LEGALISED. TO BAN WEE,BAN ALCOHOL

• Kofi K 10 years ago

How is still at post defies reason, Mahama behaves anyhow, tells the people some people say l should sack tekper???? Akrasi go and arrest drug peddlers n if they are more than you so you have to join them!! then Mahama is lis ...

• dani 10 years ago

GOD ALMIGHTY GAVE THE HUMEN RACE THIS MIRECLE PLANT TO HELP US HEAL MANY MEDICAL CONDISIONS,WE CANT BE CLOSE MINDED AND IGNORATE WHEN IN THE USA 45 STATE OUT OF 50 STATES ALLOW MARUANA TO BE USED FOR MEDICAL TREATMENTS AND 2 ...

• koffie 10 years ago

WEE IS AUTOMATICALY LEGALIZE ...

• Tekonline.org 10 years ago

Mental illness linked to heavy cannabis use

Source:
    Centre for Addiction and Mental Health

People with mental illnesses are more than seven times more likely to use cannabis weekly compared to people without a mental i ...

Source:
    BMJ-British Medical Journal
    Cannabis use during adolescence and young adulthood increases the risk of psychotic symptoms, while continued cannabis use may increase the risk for psychotic disorder in later life, conc ...

Heavy marijuana users have abnormal brain structure, poor memory

Date:
    December 16, 2013

Source:
    Northwestern University
    Teens who were heavy marijuana users -- smoking it daily for about three years -- had abnormal ...

• fai 10 years ago

i had athsma,after a friend introduced me to herb,am now an athsma free,Someone in my community was born an epileptic guy who trough it is getting better with herbs,Why do we use it for hair food?why is it in almost all the d ...

• ------------ 10 years ago

AKOFFO ADDO WILL BE VERY VERY HAPPY IF THIS GOES AHEAD.

• Concerned Ghanaman 10 years ago

US RESEARCH SHOWS THAT WE NEED THE WEED THAT HAS MORE "CBD" WHICH IS HIGH IN MEDICINAL PURPOSE. THE WEED THAT HAS MORE "THC" HAS LESS MEDICINAL USE. SOME ON TELL ME, IF WE HAVE THIS IN MIND OF DIFFERENTIATING BETWEEN THE CBD ...

• dominique 10 years ago

So prozac and marijuana which is worse?
    Mr. Sarpong, legalization is good for medical purposes!

• dominique 10 years ago

U are just following what u believe but not what u have found out!