You are here: HomeNews2014 03 07Article 302709

Media will start 'war' in Ghana if... - Historian predicts

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

... and I have also said this so many times on this forum. First, the plethora of substandard radio stations has made access to the airwaves very easy - even by very illiterate people. By illiterate, I mean people who have no ...

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

Fully agree with this learned visisionary and we need to take this warning seriously. The writing is on the wall and unless the way our so called journalists put things in the public domain for consumption is checked, we will ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

It is the state of the economy, the standard of living of the people and how people feel that could cause unrest and not what is merely said in the media. Back in the “aluta” (during Acheapong’era) days in Legon the stu ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Nobody is gagging anybody from his or her freedom of speech under this so-called democracy all are now enjoying and singing about daily. I believed what she is talking about in here is just for our media houses to be circumsp ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

I got what she said but unless we live in utopia we are not going to get a well oiled and behaved media. The media is the same in every democratic country -- the only way you keep them straight is to hit them in their pocket ...

mr pepeni kwasea president, continue blaming the innocent and those who can not defend themselves as thats all your bullying buga buga mindset knows . stop the foolishness and fire all those involved in the organization of th ...

• Press 10 years ago

The media is only airing gargantuan corruption by govt officials against the state. Under normal circumstances a coup had long occured even during Atta Mills reign. Its Mahama's exessive corruption that will cause the forced ...

• adam 10 years ago

You ugly hairy black dwarf cocoaasi bush man a son of ashanti woman fuck by a moshe man. Thank the Moshe men. the Europeans would have run away from you if you had remain in that your monogenous ashanti. Today you can stand ...

kwasea fool like you , God will continue to punish you for the whole world to see

• GHANAian 10 years ago

Those substandard media houses must be shut and the government should monitor all the media houses in the country. Those illiterate and half baked journalists are the ones spewing garbage and rot on radio and t.v. thinking t ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Where was she when Ken Agyapong used his own media to call for the killing of Ewe and Ga people?

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Those kinds of rants are exactly what she is attacking. It has only got closer to a breaking point.

• Omanba 10 years ago

Say it over and over and louder and louder

• dan 10 years ago

IT IS THE PILLAR OF REAL DEMOCRATY WHERE THE MEDIA HAVE ARIGHT TO FREE SPEECH AND EXPRESTION JUST LIKE THE HAVE IN THE USA AND THE WEST AND THERE IS NO WARS THERE SO PLEASE STOP THE LIES BROTHER DONKER

• MBZaman 10 years ago

I wonder what happened to freedom through responsibility. Thanks for being so direct with the truth...... I really fear for Ghana if we don't consider responsibility first instead of abusing freedom of speech granted under th ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

NCCE, another waste of tax payers money. Does anyone monitor them?

• Kojo T 10 years ago

These people do not understand freedom

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

Political unrest will start not because of excesses in the Ghanaian media landscape BUT because Ghanaians have BAD Governors with IMPURE MINDS.

THE APATHY among Ghanaians is stunning. Why do Ghanaians accept such mediocr ...

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

THERE WILL ONLY BE WAR IN GHANA BECAUSE OF DEEP-SEATED CORRUPTION AND NOT THROUGH THE MEDIA. CALL A SPADE A SPADE. THERE IS MUCH SUFFERING IN THE COUNTRY WHILST OTHERS ARE SQUANDERING THE MONEY. FOR HOW LONG CAN THE PEOPLE W ...

• ASEM WO MANO 10 years ago

They should be stopped before we get there.
    What A Nation?

• Oko Akuzdi Adamu 10 years ago

We remember the role the good for nothing radio gold did in 2007 and 2008. Am happy that the fall out is that the little market share they have been taken over by much younger stations all over. Its a shame and i pray the mar ...

• oppong london 10 years ago

media doesn,t create war if only they will stick to the right information.ndc ,s strategy is to create one party state and bind media work,they like to listen to only information that favours them.free press is free media and ...

• Mr K 10 years ago

If there are jobs,food and everyone is living comfortably there Will be no war

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

ABUSED OF FREEDOM OF SPEECH AND NPP DO NOTHING EVIL GUYS GOING TO STATION TO STATION DOING THAT.THEY LOSE POWER AND ELECTION AND CANT SLEEP AT NIGHT.ALSO HAS NO JOB AT HAND ARE TO BE BLAME.

• Oko Akuzdi Adamu 10 years ago

I can bet my last cedi that you are one of the fools emplyed by a fool in the Jubilee house. Its amazing the time out in the USA to write this bull always. Why dont you come down to help poor Mahama if you are really a social ...

• AL Hajj AAA Rashid(OH. USA) 10 years ago

I am surprised, you are referring to the lecturer as SIR when her name is WILHELMINA...So it should be MADAM not SIR

• KKD 10 years ago

THE RADIO STATIONS AND THE MEDIA ARE TOOOOOOO MUCH WHEN IT TO ISSUES.WE SHOULD PUT A STOP TO IT.

• Readi 2 dye 10 years ago

We just someone to kick motherfucking mahama in the balls n send him back to the north...what happened to us...how did we end up with this dumb motherfucker running gh...a head of state is suppose to put the RIGHT people in p ...

• apuuu 10 years ago

I think multimedia is good for the country and good for democracy if I don't like to listen to junk I move to another station it's all about message

• goofy 10 years ago

We use to have one radio station and one tv station Rawlings make a coup no war now we multimedia we complaining what war it fun to have a lot of stations so we can listen to different topic it depends on the information it ...

• jack 10 years ago

poverty,corruption and ignorace breed mistrust and that triggers violence and probably war.But in the case of Ghana it would be more henious than that of Rwanda.

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

when the controversial Arcbishop gave us the warning on this issue couple of weeks ago,many were those who insulted him and call him all kinds of names.
    That,s what triggers the war in Burundi,radio station.

• KOBINA EBO 10 years ago

Yes u are right,KABA at Asempa fm should advice him when he is hosting the ekosi sen program.

• KOBINA EBO 10 years ago

Yes u are right, KABA at Asempa fm should advice himself when he is hosting the ekosi sen program

• dan 10 years ago

THE MEDIA SHULD HAVE RIGHT TO FREEDOM OF EXPRATION AND FREEDOM OF SPEECH JUST LIKE THE WEST AND EUROPE MAINTEN AND THERE THERE IS NO PROBLEMS ONLY PEACE.STOP LOOKING FOR WAYS TO SHOT THE MEDIA THATS BULL-SHIT

• south 10 years ago

Most media house is own by bloodly drug guru NPP, and they used it to channel their propagandas and insult.

• Dessy(totonho) 10 years ago

Government should regulate the the registration of the radio station..more fines should impose on the radio stations who will air unedifed news and comments...and security eh envy must pay attention to any threat from fm and ...

• Awurade kasa 10 years ago

Information is powerful and very useful only when they are produced with sanity.
    There must be, if not available a body to check the mushroom media houses and close them down. A lot of lies and character assassination is get ...

• koffie 10 years ago

Mmmmm