You are here: HomeNews2014 03 06Article 302549

Brazil 2014 budget sparks controversy

Read Comments Comments (82)

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 10 years ago

This man is hot everywhere. The issues raised in this news item must be taken seriously. This Brazil business is going to be another avenue to fleece on our fragile economy.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

As a country, our priorities are screwed big time. If all these countries richer than Ghana are spending less than half of what poor Ghana is spending, it shows how ostentatious we are.

We are people with akpeteshie budget ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

When the African Watch magazine dubbed Ghana republic of corruption, Mahama and his administration were up in arms demanding retraction and apology when everything in Ghana is wearing the newly manufactured cloth with Mahama ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

YA WU OOOOO ! OH NDC SO IF YOU DONT THINK ABOUT AKANS WHAT ABOUT WE THE NORTHERNERS AND EWES? ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! GHANAIANS SAY NO TO THESE SMALL BOY MINISTERS

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

THEY WILL NEVER KNOW PEACE IN THEIR LIVES. FIRE BURN THEM ALL.

• Nana Sarpong 10 years ago

A small fraction of this money can do the Suhum road twice over, what is wrong with the Ghanaian?

• TWEAAAAAA 10 years ago

CAN WE CALL MUTALLAH MUHAMMED, AYARIGA; KWAKYE OFOSU, OKUDZETO ABLAKWA, AFRIYIE ANKRAH, ASIEDU NKETIAH, AND OF COURSE, AMALIBA...of high buildings fame...TO EXPLAIN TO US FOR JUSTIFICATION? WE ARE HUMBLY WAITING.

• katanga 10 years ago

Highway robbery. Oh Mother Ghana when shall we ooooh!!! Its high time my president stepped in and put his foot down.Ghanaians will not take this laying down or will we? Dont forget we voted you into power. We dont need an exp ...

• KKO 10 years ago

Yawuooooooo, Ghana!!
    What a bunch of idiotic thieves! We cannot pay doctors, we cannot pay teachers, we cannot pay pharmacists, but we pay huge sums of money for party foot soldiers to travel to distant places to watch footb ...

• SHAMU 10 years ago

How can a poor country like Ghana spend 20 million at world cup. NO NO. Something must be done. The whole sports council has to go.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

KKO, what are Ghanaians waiting for before they take stones and sticks and march to Flagstaff and Parliament houses and chase these thieves masquerading as Politicians away?

• Kweku Boateng Jnr 10 years ago

Cardinal, than k you.b 10 million is too much. I suggest one million! Ten million dollars can set up a solar park to produce 2 MW or more. Stop the upcoming corruption.

• KB,LONDON. 10 years ago

The budget doesn't make sense, does it? You have a president who approves budget for free range akomfem project and tree planting during dry season. These guys are paid very well, and yet they sit in the office planning how t ...

• yokin 10 years ago

That is the image of Blatter u cant touch FA. Go for sports arbitration. Tell me which of the footballers will spend $100/night in a hotel cant they themselves see they are being sweetened, if so who gets the honey?
    The brea ...

• Togbe Afede 10 years ago

We keep saying we don't need a coup but we definitely need people revolution like what happened in Libya to get rid of all these politicians by lyncing. They did not learn anything from Rawlings buga buga government.

• THE DRONE 10 years ago

THE WORLD CUP WHICH SUPPOSE TO BRING HAPPINESS TO ALL GHANAIANS IS NOW BECOMING CURSE....HMMMM.

• KAKABO 10 years ago

Thisw is the time Ghanaians must wake up and demand accountability. We have crooks and vagabonds in power. If we do not speak the sports authorities will condone and connive with the politicians to dupe the nation. We should ...

• ebo smith 10 years ago

sack all of them for bringing this quotation to try to dupe us again,the sports minister will resign after the world cup booty.another jackpot in the making

• Tawiah 10 years ago

These guys are born criminals and Afriyie Ankrah and his deputy that Yamin dude should be sacked and the entire GFA should also be revamped whether they accept it or not.

We must go back to the books and check who spent wh ...

• Baffour 10 years ago

My heart bleeds so much for Ghana. Did our forebears struggle to get us independence for us to misuse the opportunity? All those who were involved in providing the $20 million bill for the World Bank participation deserve to ...

• jacob 10 years ago

Am sad to be a ghanaian . Why should people in authority always cheat?

• Ewurama 10 years ago

If everything in this article is true, then some people need to be arrested. Is Naija better than Gh now? I fear for the future. We talk about it all the time, but the corruption is getting worse. 57 & still decaying!

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Ghana spent $19.5 million on the 2010 World Cup in South Africa? What for? Is the world cup another loot, create and share opportunity? How could Ghana justify such huge sums of money in just one month when children attend sc ...

• KB,LONDON. 10 years ago

Mahama is not fit for a CEO in industry. If he was, shareholders(not even the board) will match straight to his office to remove him. he is clueless.

• kululu 10 years ago

If this gov't can still afford to budget $20million for a world cup tournament, then we are not broke after all, or is it that we are in a rush to finish the bones as much as we can

• C.B. 10 years ago

Are you not part of the "see no evil" group that see no wrong with whatever the NDC government says or does. May be we will all now wake up and smell the coffee - this is only the tip of the corruption iceberg

• aboo 10 years ago

They are all a bunch of thieves.

• FATHER SAMMS 10 years ago

infact,professor well spoken.Nigeria far richer than Ghana even USA look @ their budget.hmm.i bet u ghana will not cross the first round line.bcos there is no way will Portugal n Germany will not qualify.i weep for Gh

• Cindy 10 years ago

Gh is going to be wayomised again? Funny thing is it's been foreseen but will still happen. Maybe Gh has bought the "ye be diii k3k3" concept, and are looking on as the few 'steal', hoping to get a chance some day themselves.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

WEAK PARLIAMENT WITH PARLIAMENTARIANS WHO PREFER TO TALK ABOUT IRRELEVANT THINGS. LET PARLIAMENT QUESTION THE EXPENDITURE OF THE BLACK STARS. HOW DO WE MANAGE TO OUTSPEND NIGERIA BY SO MUCH?

• KOGYAM58 10 years ago

KWESI PRATT,DONT PRETEND, LOOK THE OTHER WAY AND KEEP QUIET OVER THIS. CORRUPTION GALLORE BREWING AGAIN.

• Asabir 10 years ago

Well done Prof, for bring attention to this issue. We need you in Ghana, pls.

• TONY - C 10 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE NOT JOKERS BUT STUPID. LOOK HOW WE ARE ALLOWING GREEDY PEOPLE TO CHOP OUR MONIES FOR US POOR PEOPLE TO SUFFER. WE ARE REALLY FOOLS AND WE MUST WAKE UP OR THE POOR WILL DIE MORE AND THE RICH WILL NOT CARE. IT IS ...

• zak 10 years ago

I am not sure whether Gov't can collaborate with GFA to fix the budget. See below for one of FIFA'S rules.
    One of FIFA's sanctions is to suspend teams and associated members from international competition when a government ...

• Say The TRUTH 10 years ago

THIS IS ON STRONG JUSTIFICATION FOR THE NAME OF GHANA: "THE REPUBLIC OF CORRUPTION"!!!!!!

• PRINCE 10 years ago

Thank you for voicing out the truth. It's all because Ghanaians including all of us are stupid. KIds can't get a chair to sit on and study on mango trees turn into classrooms. Why should we even spent a cedi on something that ...

• name 10 years ago

its not a mandatory to spend tax payers money on football, not all Ghanaian like football, use our money for the generality of the masses and stop this useless extravagant spending

• DICKSON 10 years ago

so now it is no issue of corrupt akans but real issues.of thieves in power whose stealing activities have weakened the local currency and raised the dollar value. ........NDC THIEVES WHAT IS THE HYPOCRITE RAWLINGS SAYING A ...

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 10 years ago

ASEM BEBA DABI YOU MAHAMA. YOU AND YOUR PEOPLE STINK OF CURRUPTION IN EVERYTHING WHY MAHAMA WHYYYYY?

• Kweku Assan 10 years ago

Ghanaians must wake p and stop this nonsense.We understand how important our involvement in the world cup is but we have more problems at home that needs to be addressed. I am a staunch sports fan but in our current situation ...

• BENNETT 10 years ago

GHANAIANS SHOULD RISE UP AND DEMAND ACCOUNTABLE GOVERNMENT. WE ARE BEING TAKEN FOR FOOLS AND IT IS TIME THIS ''UNEDUCATED'' FEW POLITICIANS WHO ARE NOW SEEKING UNIVERSITY DEGREES TO EXPLAINS TO US HOW THEY USE OUR RESOURCES! ...

• Ajah B 10 years ago

Are there any leaders in Ghana?

• hamzy 10 years ago

nigeria as taken a good step to sack their sport minister for outrageous budget , i dont see why we must keep our sport minister because his budget for world cup is even twice .... he is a bloody thief and c ...

• Nat 10 years ago

If what is said about the world cup budget is true then Ghanaians must wake up and ask for accountability. I hope that the Sports Ministry does not become the new avenue to substitute Concoction of Judgement debts for State m ...

• Joe Boy 10 years ago

I like the premises upon which you started your piece. If what! you see, Ghanaians are funny people. Why do you listen to somebody who pays his tax to the American Government and expect Ghana to develop. That idiot of a profe ...

• john 10 years ago

Joe boy grow up and think as an adult and intelligent man. I had expected you to bring the 2006 world cup figure for comparison instead of insulting the Professor's analysis. Always bringing politics into issue which has noth ...

• RAYMOND NASH, LONDON 10 years ago

Joe Boy (Idiot if that's your name)I think it's you who has a brother in the corrupt government.

The prof is 100% right. Probably we were all sleeping during the other world cups. but he has now woken us up.
    Stupid IDIOT ...

• Ken 10 years ago

Joe boy, by his post, is one of those who hate others just because they are not from side of town. Needs a shrink to snap him out of his inferiority complex. Did you hear the Sports Minister say that he will abandon politics ...

• Obiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

This gov't so so much confused and also in slumber. To be honest they need slap to wake up or better still ousted out if possible. Is this a curse or what? A gov't who has deliberately refused to think for current and future ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

This budget must be rejected outright. The United States is spending $2 million on her football team for Brazil 2014, Nigeria is spending $9.5 million, Algeria is spending $5.8 million, Belgium is pending 4.5 million Euro (ap ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

Prof, "fama Nyame"this is all we can say in Ghana.
    This is the Government majority of Ghanaians voted for,so let them give it to them.If they get enough next time they may vote another way,if not they take five cedis,the mot ...

• Che 10 years ago

All those calling for the head of the sports minister and teh GFA must think again. The scam is beyond them. It is right from the Flagstaff house. How can this be? Mahama is no less than Mobutu. Ghana creis on 06th March and ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

Speak against this. Just saying use the pulpit to preach on squeezing Ghanaians not on issues like TWEAA statement.

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

parliament is the weakest link in our political dispensation. i listened to an MP today contribute to discussion on the floor and it was pathetic. how can such a bunch call the executive to order.

but most unfortunate is t ...

• Mr Tee 10 years ago

GfA n sport well currupt

• bokassa 10 years ago

hope this is not true

• MUNDIAL 10 years ago

This is one hell of a budget that should warrant an outright dismissal the very day, such an amount was even conceived. For what reason, should such an amount be spent on the mundial? The stealing is just too much, the thieve ...

• Villa Kakalika 10 years ago

THEY WILL PAY FOR THIS. ELVIS ANKRAH AND HIS PEOPLE. ALWAYS MILKING THE COUNTRY DRY. LOOK AT THE EUROPEAN AND OTHER NATIONS AND THEIR BUDGETS.
    WHY IS GHANA BUDGETING ALWAYS OUT OF GEAR!!!!!!!
    PRESIDENT MUST SITU UP!!!!!!!!! ...

• Villa Kakalika 10 years ago

WE NEED UKRANIAN TYPE OF REVOLUTION IN GHANA. WE MUST RISE UP OR ELSE WE RISK A WHOLE GENERATION.

• JAQ 10 years ago

Its appalling why this country cant make it a better place for us living abroad to come home and stay. This country ain't getting any better rather keeps falling. Ghanians works so hard and gets nothing out of their labour in ...

• KOFI BONSU 10 years ago

The sports minister says he is going to quit politics after 2016,why not resign and quit politics and let our 20million have a sleep,he wants to amass wealth like Victoria Hammah had wanted to do before quitting politics

• k.duker 10 years ago

GHANA REPUBLIC OF CORRUPTION: WHY
    BLACK STARS SHALL CAMP IN THE U.S. BEFORE BRAZIL 2014? GFA,AND SPORT MINISTER SHOULD BE QUESTIONED. WHY NOT
    CAMPING IN SOUTH AMERICA INSTEAD OF U.S.

• rescue 10 years ago

Proffessor you are very right but if we can be bold and challenge any government who does not seem to be telling us the truth as the majority of your type are now doing with Mahama it will good for us all.

• KWAME PRINCE 10 years ago

Sometime ago, somebody said and I quote 'Ghanaians are not smart and that is why they will always be manipulated by mediocrity and political stupidity.
    Right from the beginning when I heard about the $20m budget being advoca ...

• Omono 10 years ago

What many Ghanaians still don't know is that the now Mahama led NDC govt forced their way into power to prosecute 1 agenda: i.e. to Create, Loot & Share; nothing else. It was their mindset far back 2007. That's why they're n ...

• kojo 10 years ago

A good one there. But prof. How much was spent in 2002 and 2006?

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Well said Prof. Corruption, corruption and more corruption!

• Farmland 10 years ago

Prof, why didn't you tell us how much was spent on the 2006 world cup in Germany? A critical analysis would tell you how it all started from our very first world cup appearance in Germany. Is it because the Prof is just being ...

• Amanne 10 years ago

It is no longer only the cocoa farmers money limited Prof.

• KOFF KOFF 10 years ago

AS CONSEQUENCE FOR THIS REASON, AFRIYIE ANKRAH IS RETIRING FROM POLITICS 2016. WHY NOT NOW BEFORE THE WORLD CUP. NYAME MBOA GHANA. I KNOW BRA AFRIYIE VERY WELL,HE IS GOT WHANT HE WANT AND WANT TO BE SMART. 100 YEARS WE WILL C ...

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

LET US THANK TIS PROF THIS PIECE OF INFORMATION. TRULY IF THOSE COUNTRIES CITED ARE GOING TO SPEND THOSE MONIES QUOTED THEN GHANAIANS MUST WAKE UP. $20 MILLION DOLLARS? NOW LET US HEAR THE VOICES OF ALL THE FM RADIO STATIONS ...

• Gandalf 10 years ago

WHAT IS PREZ MAHAMA AND HIS SPORTS MINISTER SMOKING IN THAT FLAGSTAFF HOUSE TO SIT ALOOF FOR SUCH FIGURES TO BE PRESENTED TO US? HITHERTO THEY HAVE NOT RAISED A FINGER. BELIEVE YOU ME, JUST LIKE THE PROFESSOR SAID, WE WILL HE ...

• Sualihu Mohammed Sualihu 10 years ago

Politian will kill ghana

• Gandalf 10 years ago

SOPHISTICATED AND ADVANCED AMERICA IS SPENDING PROBABLY 4 MILLION USD. GHANA THAT GOES CONSTANTLY WITH CUP IN HAND TO AMERICA IS SPENDING ABOUT 5 TIMES WHAT AMERICA IS SPENDING. QUALITY OF LEADERSHIP? VISION?....BAABU...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

If NPP in opposition in government (parliament)could not demand investigation as to why GFA need this humongous budget for Brazil 2014 and help approve the budget may be the reason why president Mahama called them "baloney,fo ...

• Jazz 10 years ago

Just like Cardinal wrote, when will Ghanaian be fed up with corruption. When will we match to the so-called leaders of the country and drive them out of office. If the USA which has the money to spend is budgeting at $2mil to ...

• Bob 10 years ago

It's money to take Kwasi Pratt and other blubber mouth, brown nosers to Brazil at the expense of poor bleeding Ghana. Puutaa, Apii t))!

• Mouthy 10 years ago

NEED MONEY FOR 2016 ELECTION SO THAT NDC CAN BUY US INCLUDING EC & THE JUDGES BUT NOT AGAIN BECAUSE GHANAIANS ARE NOW MORE CIVILIZED THAN BEFORE SO NDC SHOULD LOOT BUT CAN BUY US AGAIN & AGAIN &AGAIN.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Mahama the most stupid leader.

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Create , Loot & Share (CLS)is what we have here. Hello, do you hear me?

• Ben 10 years ago

Ghana money, so long as the govt says okay, and the presidency is aware of it, everyone can chop am nyamanyama!

• DAVID V.K. ARKORFUL 10 years ago

Few thieves and greedy bastards are stealing the wealth of the nation.How long are we going to allow this cheating and stealing to go on unchallenged.Enough is enough.