You are here: HomeNews2014 02 20Article 301321

Dr. Nii Moi Thompson speaks on CPP, economy, other issues

Read Comments Comments (42)

• Patapaa 10 years ago

NDC is EWE and PEPE Party. Akans are very few in the NDC. Most of the standing committees of the NDC do not have Akan representation. To balance the equation they use EWES and PEPEFUO who have shamelessly adopted Akan names. ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Good step Dr Thompson. The nPP is envious because they want Ghana to fail so they can come to power to loot. Dr Thompson you failed to mention the failure of the PRIVATE SECTOR. With all the state interventions they have fail ...

• charles obiri 10 years ago

cpp will come back at the right time. I Believe that.

• Savana man 10 years ago

I have always admired your thoughts, DOC. Hope you will put up your best for Ghana. Thumps up for you.

• nii 10 years ago

We need everybody on board.

• Jake 10 years ago

CPP yes, no tribal boudaries, NPP a big NO.

• Mohutu Heyhey Heyso 10 years ago

What have Nii Moi achieved as an economic advisor to the government? We would have gladly praised him and not be bothered by his party affiliation, if he and other govt economist had achieved positive results in the economy. ...

• SUNKWA 10 years ago

PEOPLE LIKE YOU GO ABOUT POINTING FINGERS AND CONDEMNING OTHERS FOR NON-ACHIEVEMENT. MEANWHILE, YOU ARE HOPELESS IN YOUR PRIVATE AND PUBLIC LIVES. WHAT GOOD HAVE YOU DONE TO YOUR COMMUNITY? THAT IS THE QUESTION YOU HAVE TO AN ...

• Ken 10 years ago

CPP only reminds Ghanaians of the horrible and abominable past when Nkrumah treated Ghana as his personal property and ruled with fear and terror. Now no more one-party state, President for life without a Vice President and k ...

• KO 10 years ago

....So these economist never had direct private sector business exposure.. ...Thompson & Amissah-Arthur.
    Acting deputy resident representative blah blah blah, honestly does not mean much...

• Gonzaga 10 years ago

We have all these booklong people who has worked for UN, World Bank, IMF giving leaders of Africa bad advise through the help of the Western Nations. He has not worked with any private corporation where real technocrats are. ...

• king jnr 10 years ago

Bravo Mr Thompson God Bless you

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

WHAT ECONOMIC ADVICE DO THEY GIVE TO THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA IN A COUNTRY WHERE GHANA'S EARNED FOREIGN EXCHANGE FROM THE EXPORT OF COCOA AND MINIERALS ARE SPENT IN PAYING SALARIES AND WAGES AT THE PUBLIC SECTOR.

WHAT DO THE ...

• km agyin 10 years ago

This appointment to me is the best decision ever to have been made by the president. Nii Moi Thompson is not only good, he has an independent mind and it is left to Mahama's government to either listen to him or not. I know h ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

Dr speaks wisdom in addition to his expertise on the economy. many of our technocrats on econs lack wisdom. in fact long chain of degrees do not necessarily make one wise.

• Woara 10 years ago

In all these past years, in spite of the colonial and neo-colonial structures of the economy,major hits on cocoa, gold etc, did the economy tank this bad? This is not the only period that external forces have impacted the wor ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Well I think the man had listed myriad of things that are the root causes which we all knew but had refused to tackle. He mentioned our appetite for foreign imports that can not be sustained.
    On external factors like slump i ...

• Joe 10 years ago

NDC is not a party, it is made up of CPP and other disgruntled members of other parties, so for some one to say that other CPP members have worked with NDC is unattainable. If all these people find their way back to their fo ...

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

After all this is the real mind that Ghana needs, because they were all educated and trained with the resources of Ghana so why do we choose to do it better for other nations, but when it comes to our own nation then the spir ...

• Mallam Tula 10 years ago

Massa; never trust an appointed messiah from the world bank or the IMF to fix your economy for you ; they all 'BULL -SHITTERS'; they never solve any problems they are there to collect their allowances and sing the tune of the ...

• Egya 10 years ago

So when Nduom served under the Kufuor Administration it was bad. When Thompson, Safo, Akosa, Dowuona, Pratt and others serve under NDC administration that is good? It is about time we all realized that it is good for knowle ...

• Kwesi Guyman 10 years ago

Surely we want our country to Progress and we don't mind using the best Ghanaian talents and specialists available.Political Party affiliation must not be a problem. Nduom proved this under President Kufuour's NPP Gover ...

• Isaac Kusi, Bronx, NY. 10 years ago

A staunch member of CPP myself, I volunteer for www.Panafbooks.com. Whatever we have to do to get the country out of the tentacles of neocolonialism, we must do now. I applaud what you and the economic team are doing. Can you ...

• Conventional Youth 10 years ago

The sooner Ghanaians embraces comprehensive STEMICs the good.Economic salvation lies in innovation with effective communication skills and system.

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

IT SOUNDS VERY SORROWFUL TO HAVE THESE MEN AS SO CALLED EXPERTS ON ECONOMICS IN GHANA AND OUTSIDE AND FOR THE NATION TO BE IN THE MIDST OF POVERTY.

OUR DUE PRAISES AND CONGRATULATIONS SHOULD GO TO THE ILLITERATE POOR PEASA ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Do not forget that America,the World Bank and the IMF have some of the best brains in economics in the world and yet the american economy and the world economy in general are in shambles.Our ecomists should not be underrated ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

ARE YOU REALLY AN ECONOMIST. PLEASE,DON'T CAMPARE AMERICA TO A POOR STATE OF GHANA.
    ARE WE PRODUCTIVE-ARE WE ABLE TO PRODUCe COMMON THINGS LIKE CHALK, PENCILS AND RULERS, ETC, ETC, EXPORT AND VITAL SERVICES IN THE COUNTRY.

• QUEEN 10 years ago

SNEAKY MAN! YOU HAVE BEEN CAUGHT.

This proves beyond any doubt that the CPP has got the men capable of ruling the country and solving the problems this nation is faced with.Even though i am not a member or supporter of the NDC Dr Nii Moi Thompson's decison to ...

• Danso TDOT 10 years ago

You guys are not making any sense. All these CPP guys working with Mahama's NDC hasn't brought an iota of improvement in any of the areas they are heading or advising on.

The thing is, the average ghanaian intellectual ...

Danso i beg to differ with your view that the best economista are in the privare sector.In America and the UK some of the best brains in economics work for the government.Not all economists prefer to work for the private sec ...

Ridiculous but typical Ghanaian head-in-the-sand partisan attitude to opportunism. What did Duffuor (allegedly a CPP member) achieve as Finance Minister? Wasn't he the same person who connived, colluded, approved and delivere ...

• KING LOMOTEY. 10 years ago

dr.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Nii Moi has the right and my support in serving the government of Ghana but does not have to denounce the CPP. There are differences in the political ideology separating NDC from CPP at the core. NDC is not nkrumaist.

Same old treachery when money is waved under their noses. I always was suspicious of this Nii Moi guy when during the Ghana-at-50 events, he strongly expressed his opposition to any reparations by the West on BBC! What busine ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

Doc, I take my hat off my bald head for you. If a handful of us think like you Ghana will be on the top ten in the World progressively.
    Don,t mind these jealous individuals. Help Mahama to get the cedi back on track. Me so ...

• Paa Osei 10 years ago

You see the appointment of Dr. Nii ist evident of the fact that NDC has no competent people. More so ist it true, they lack competence when you hear the prominent woman organiser propagating motia economics. A clearer demo ...

• KING LOMOTEY. 10 years ago

Dr. Nii Moi Thompson was defitelyght for stating that "we must change course". Yes, and we must do it very soon. We must reverse the urban bias

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Nii, thank you! Your stand is very commendable! Some people think ONLY NDC party members should SERVE under NDC govt."COUNTRY broke, I NO BROKE, we day inside"Some FOOLS will never realise that the COUNTRY IS FOR ALL Ghanaian ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Who does not understand that "low productivity and low production paired with high consumption and an expanding appetite for imports" is unsustainable, and a veritable recipe for disaster? Apparently, most of the ever insulti ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

We already have rural banks in most districts.

We need to evaluate their economic impact, and get them to be an engine for rural development as they were meant to be.

We must learn to do things for ourselves instead of ...

• Abudu i adam , MBA, Canadasheabutter 10 years ago

ALL SECTORS OF THE ELCETORATE PROPAGATES ALL INCLIUSIVE GOVERNMENT , WHAT ARE THE CRITICS AFTER AGAIN

WE HAVE CRIED FOR THE WINNING PARTY TAKES ALL , NOW THAT THE GOVERNMENT IS ACCEPTING THE PLEA OF THE ELECTORATES , ANOT ...