You are here: HomeNews2014 02 18Article 301095

UG toll booth saga: We’re not in the jungle – Tarzan tells Gbevlo

Read Comments Comments (64)

• Aryitey 10 years ago

It was a very good move by the national security. The management of the university does not think about the students at all. They always think about themselves, how to get money to chop. God will punish them.

• vic 10 years ago

lawlessness begget lawlessness, what law in the constitution of ghana backed the citing of that controversial toll booth?

• joe 10 years ago

THANK YOU VIC

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

FROM THE PRESIDENT TO THE LAST NDC SERIAL CALLER, THEY ALL DISPLAY A LEVEL OF FOOLISHNESS. THE NATION IS BEING RAPED TODAY BY CORRUPT NDC BUT K4 WHO PLAYED HIS PART AND HAS GONE IS STILL BEING MENTIONED WHEN NDC'S STUPIDITY I ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

I guess the left hand does not know what the right hand is doing. Sule, the road ministers commissions the toll booth and gives it thumbs up, then parliament also adds its voice to the go ahead, and then Gbevlo comes from beh ...

kwasea tarzan , we are no in the wild wild west either whereby every sherif or quasi institution has its own law . look at you and you call yourself a wannabe statesman

• dan 10 years ago

THEY GOT WHAT THEY BARGAIN FOR FOR TRYING TO RIPP OFF FALKS

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

In all sincerity, both sides are wrong. When this issue came to the fore, there were so many protestations which demanded immediate resolution.
    In as much I don't agree with Gbevlo, we also have to mention that the UG is not ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Tell Tarzan that we leave the jungle when we account for Ghana@50 really well and performed creditably at VRA. I disagree with Gbevlo but Tarsomthing should just keep quiet.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Wetin National Security de doo for university de demolish barrier ? Na ur job be dat ? The border dey loose for armed robbers; Boko Haram de come; Chinese de come; U no do nothing there. Na university barrier u go de demolish ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Let's set politics aside, is any patriotic citizen happy to see a public official flout govt directives?

• KWADWO A 10 years ago

You are treading into where you do not belong. Did the university authorities obtain the required permits to put up the structure? The university is not above the laws of Ghana. I am surprised that a learned man like you shou ...

• Mawuli 10 years ago

Why do Ghanaians want everything for free? Do they want to forever drive on poor roads? We have reached a stage in our development that we must own up and be ready to pay for the good things that we want to enjoy. We want goo ...

• OHENE AGYEKUM 10 years ago

Yes we are not in the jungle that's why it must be removed. If care is not taken every foolish act of indecresion would be justified under rule of law and have some confused politicians come out and waste our time with these ...

• True Patriot 10 years ago

God bless you.

• SUNKWA 10 years ago

FOR OVER A WEEK, UNIVERSITY AUTHORITIES SAW NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CRIPPLING TRAFFIC THEIR TOLL PROJECT WAS CAUSING ON THE ABURI-ADENTA-ACCRA AND OPPOSITE DIRECTION. AN AMBULANCE WAS STUCK IN THAT TRAFFIC FOR AN UNUSUAL PERIO ...

• joe 10 years ago

GHANAIANS CAN TALK JUST BECAUSE TALK IS FREE.WE MADE A LOT OF NOISE WHEN THIS TOLL BOOTH WAS CONSTRUCTED WE MADE A LOT OF NOISE CONDEMNING IT AND WHEN THE THING IS TAKEN DOWN TOO PLENTY TALK AGAIN.TOO MANY PEOPLE ARE SEEKING ...

• Joe 10 years ago

Fools (NDC) are ruling Ghana.

• Kyei 10 years ago

I pity u for being ruled by fools. Then who are you? A foolish fool? Talk is cheap paaaaaa.

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

JOE NDC IS FOR THE POOR. BUT ONLY THE MILK YOU WANT STOP FLOWING WORWOR FROM THE PIPE NPP BUILD WHILE IN OFFICE.

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

We've seen this stupid irrationalities before, not surprisingly under the PNDC. The target was still Legon, when Jerry Rawlings send his cadres to Legon. The first thing they did was to put gravels, loaded into government veh ...

• Yaw Yaw 10 years ago

lawlessness everywhere. From the university management to the university security (Aryeetey Koti) to the national security. Pigheadedness all over.

• Kuuku Akyeh Ahor Moses 10 years ago

Tarzan go and sack the National Security Coordinator. Do not even ask the Prez. Why are you guys not faithful? If any evil had happen as a result of what had been demolished. You Tarzan would the asking why did we do somethin ...

• True Patriot 10 years ago

The authorities at the University of Ghana should have known better than Gbevlo; they have educated lawyers who know that they cannot erect barriers to collect tolls from the public.
    Even the Parliament should not come in.

• Dog Eater 10 years ago

Thumb up, Gbevlo Lartey this time but I don't agree that your boys went to pull down houses at Adjei Kojo. The University is a public place, few people in authority shouldn't be allowed to take the laws of the land and do wha ...

• Obaa Grace 10 years ago

What the university authorities of UG has done is like day light robbery. It is just like Atta Ayi erecting barriers to collect toll on the high ways

• Whatever 10 years ago

It is not jungle when laws are being enforced. And Gbevlo is doing exactly that, enforcing the law prevent a jungle illegally mounting toll booths and extorting moneys from motorist.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

HOW CAN I BE CHARGED 50 PESEWAS ON TEMA MOTORWAY AND PAY 1 CEDI AT LEGON TOLL BOOTH. ASIDE FROM ITS ILLEGALITY, THE CHARGE IS CRAZY.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

SEE WHO IS TALKING. I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHY ANYBODY LISTEN'S TO THIS THIEF

• CHARLES 10 years ago

THANKS COL. GBEVLO LARTEY

• Robin Hood 10 years ago

Legon has been perpetuating an illegality by building toll booths and collecting money illegally. Legon is not a law unto itself. Gbevlo may be right but he should have consulted the Dept of Urban Roads who have jurisdiction ...

• Baaba 10 years ago

Is anybody in Charge? Does the government foot some of the UG bills?

• JOE 10 years ago

that man brobbey should have been jailed long time but he has been left loose and he is going about talking jagons.thief

• dan 10 years ago

THE UG GOT WHAT THEY DESERVE GHANA IS NO JUNGELL THAT ANYONE CAN PUT TOLL BOOTH AND RIPP OFF THE FALKS

• NANA YAW 10 years ago

UG should go right back and rebuild the toll booth.

• Yendi boy 10 years ago

I don't support you sir.To me what he did is the right.DO THE RIGHT THING

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Jumping on the band wagon. Did the University Authority obtain planning permission to site a toll booth which ended up creating traffic jam leading up to a set of traffic lights?

• TEE 10 years ago

WHAT ELSE DO YOU WANT TO SEE. ZONGO BOYS FULL UP AT THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE LOOT AND SHARE CHECKS AND BALANCES CHOP CHOP GO SCOT FREE SCHOOL BOYS THIEVES

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

GBEVLO SUDIED JUNGLE LAW. HE SHOULD BE SUSPENDED AND NOT SACK OUTRIGHT

• OB 10 years ago

At the moment, I am not interested in who is right. But, what has the National Security got to do with demolishing of tollbooths? Ghana is retrogressing. Sad, Sad, Sad.

• Nana HIGH 10 years ago

Aaaa why ? Why Ghana has been turned into lawless state ? Today demolition at Tema tomorrow Kumasi and now UG . Why ? This tells you that the NDC is a lawless party . Anytime they come to power things goes way ward . The pre ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

TARZAN MEETS JANE
    One day Jane met Tarzan in the jungle. She was very attracted to him, and during her questions about his life she asked him what he did about sex.
    "What's that?" he asked.
    She explained to him what sex wa ...

• ORCA 10 years ago

Ha ha ha haaa Princewilly uv made my day....i rest my case....ha ha ahaaa

• ET PHONE HOME 10 years ago

HA HA HA HA HAAA....I REST MY CASE MAN,,,I REST MY CASE...HA HA HA

• NANA 10 years ago

comments coming from the so called educated is very depressing. How can an Institution put up a toll booth without government approval! Is Ghana in a state of lawlessness? Are we living in an apartheid Ghana? Tarzan needs to ...

MR GBEVLO SECURITY CHIEF AND IGP ARE ONE OF THE BEST WE HAD IN GHANA.YOU THERE NOT.TWEEEAN TARZAN.

• Yiadom 10 years ago

Hey buddy,watch your phrases o! What do you mean by 'You there not"? Hahaha! USA! Don't disgrace yourself for you don't know where others are blogging from. Mr. USA!

EVERY WEEK POLITICIANS HAD SOME NOISE TO MAKE AGAINST THIS NDC GOVERNMENT . PREZ MAHAMA PLEASE FIND SOME JOB FOR THIS NPP GUYS BEFORE THEY WILL CRUSH YOU DOWN.EVERYBODY GET UP TO RADIO STATION TRYING TO MAKE SOME TWEEEEEAN NO ...

• SKY CHICAGO 10 years ago

Wereko Brobbey, now tell me was it a jungle when you were having a Bathroom Installed in your office @ VRA so that you could be having SEX instead of working? The useless Kuffour rewarded you with the Ghana@ 50 Executive job ...

• Yiadom 10 years ago

NDC is a terrorist group. What they know best is torture, stealing,breaking and entering,arson-rebuilt & share,corruption and lies on broad daylight TV! Oh what a people!

• Jojo 10 years ago

lawlessness begats lawlessness,Tolls are taxes it is the Parliament that imposes taxes and not the University of Ghana,Everybody else will start tolling people if the University of Ghana is allowed to get away with this and ...

• ERIC 10 years ago

WHO IS TALKING HERE? ANOTHER CORRUPT MAN IN THE COUNTRY. GHANA @ 50 IS STILL HUNTING YOU.

• Newsite Bansah 10 years ago

This is the type of lawlessness that has resulted in numerous judgement debts against the government. People in government just act "by heart" and then get the government into legal trouble.

How does this matter fall unde ...

• azintakanyatinka 10 years ago

University of Ghana was the first in taking the law into his own hands and using brute force to undertake an exercise for which he has absolutely no legal standing by erecting a toll booth and charging exorbitant illegal fees ...

• Anaman 10 years ago

Because the good old prof mills failed to send some criminals to jail those criminals are today telling us that they know better than Ghanaians. If such characters are behind the bars could such criminals walk free on our str ...

• Anaman 10 years ago

I am surprised that UG where lawyers are trained, the authorities there have decided to join land guard activities that have promoted illegalities especially in tema and Accra. The law demands that any person or group of pers ...

• Newsite Bansah 10 years ago

You have already formed your opinion by comparing the university to land guards..so why are you now asking if they have a building permit? Of course they have a building permit!

• Justman 10 years ago

TARZAN IS SHOT OF IDEAS.HAVE NOTHING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT. TARZAN SHOULD GO AND SLEEP. HE IS ONLY RIDICULING HIMSELF IN PUBLIC.

• Okpo Chi Chi 10 years ago

Did UG get the required permit to contruct the booth in the first place? If not, what is all the noise about act of barbarism and hooliganism? Some of these politicians have no solutions to offer to age old problems; all they ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Come on Tarzan, you belong to the Jungle. If you want attention go to Nima and jump in front of one of those Trotro trucks. You are going to kick the bucket before the next Ghana 50.

• Kofi Nti 10 years ago

Tarzan, you don't think that by building toll booths left right and centre, the VC and his UG high-horse cronies did not send a strong message that we now I'm a jungle in Ghana?
    UG leaders arrogate to themselves the power ...

• SUSURIBIBI 10 years ago

Tweeeaaa useless TANZAN soon before a police man arrests a thief or criminal they should first go to court and secure an arrest warrant. Everthing President why. Can the security apparatus and Ministers act on behalf of the P ...

• kay 10 years ago

Look who is talking. Did you not put a bed in your office at VRA when you were in charge there? What happened to the Ghana @ 50 funds? Did you know the amount of vehicular traffic caused as a result of the illegal toll booth? ...

• GHANANI 10 years ago

We are back to the old days of the AFRC when Rawlings and his band of lawless soldiers were going about demolishing buildings,arresting ghanaians
    and beating them in public,seizing the properties of hardworking ghanaians an ...