You are here: HomeNews2014 02 18Article 301067

Mahama postpones State of the Nation address

Read Comments Comments (135)

• MR OBJECTIVE 10 years ago

SHAME ON YOU DRAMANI

• Promise Son 10 years ago

Hahahahaha....Mann this president is a big disgrace to mother Ghana. What was that unforeseen circumstances? Is the address not completed or the Secretary has not finished the typing? hmmm...NDC. I can't wait to see NPP back. ...

• Good servant 10 years ago

What a laugh have you forgotten the decision to boycott anything the president would do in parliament including his inauguration? Now you want to listen to his speech

• Mawunyega 10 years ago

What are the unforeseen circumstances?Jo Mahama must write a letter to parliament to stop his presidency because he is not ready for the job..

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Can’t believe this. It was just two days ago that I directed Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK, to the president's Facebook account. But, some rather unscrupulous beings chose to inundate his tablet by which, I suspect, the prepared ...

• SHAMO 10 years ago

MAHAMA YOU WILL SUFFER THE PENALTY OF ELECTION RIGGING,YOU WILL KICK YOU ASS FROM JUBILEE HOUSE BEFORE YOU COLLAPSE GHANA

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

He cannot deliver the state of nation address because he is still in London attending Aids conference that took place two days ago. This useless President has been in London for a week now attending a conference at a Minister ...

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

What is there to say to the nation?
    Nothing, Nada and Kobo
    With very poor performance under his stewardship as president, why not set aside the constitution and postpone the state of nation address.
    He can run but canno ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Prez. Mahama is stupid and clueless. I blame the stupid justice Atubuga.

• Anonymous Coward 10 years ago

Fools in government. No wonder the country is in a mess. Buului.

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

The unforseen circumstances are that, he has not finished bonking his numerous Northern girlfriends in London. He wants to sleep with all of them before he come back to Ghana.

You and who, Shamolor? His Excellency John Dramani Mahama is mandated by the majority of the citizenry to manage the affairs of the country for the stipulated period given his until the next general and presidential elections ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

How someone like MAHAMA without experience and know-how is imposed on Ghanaians by Afari-Dyan and Atuguba beats the imagination.
    It is a joy to see this corrupt, fraudulent, incompetent liar failing and sweating in all his e ...

• KK 10 years ago

Where is the excellence?

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

You are not making sense, no serious head of state/president would use Facebook page to write a State of a Nation address or any address/write-up from a government office that is still in its draft form and has not been made ...

Gye Nyame, it is not the Facebook account, but the tablet he is always carrying around. At least, that's what am reading from sources, but don't actually know whether that is true though.

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

There are security issues associated with wireless networks (used by tablets) even in a secure environment but regardless, to ensure continuity of service (disaster recovery 101)the president should not save such an important ...

Yes Gye Nyame, and I am almost sure he is using Vodafone-Ghana network out there in England, which is perfectly allowed on the Island.

• Promise Son 10 years ago

Oh my brother say it and say it again. This little college girls are addicting him with Facebook communication.Hmmm time will tell! God bless our homeland Ghana!

• Ede Biiii Keke 10 years ago

Corrupt-cassanova-gay-president - whata disgrace

• yussmont 10 years ago

Pls,ghana`s first northern prez. am almost throwing inn the towel over u.
    stop using a basket to fetch water.
    for the sake of the north.do something about the likages.

• HUMPHREY 10 years ago

Is Mahama the first President from the north? Was Hilla Liman not Pepeni??????

• Nii Moi 10 years ago

And what was Liman's record? So bad that JJ found it necessary to 'save' Ghana for the second time. Tickle yourselves and laugh

• delia 10 years ago

Yussmont he is not the first northern president.

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Afei de awie yo. Why is Mahama running away from this? He knows how to bribe so why can't he bribe Ghanaians then so that the people of Ghana may forget to hear from him. There is time foe everything. We are still waiting for ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

That is the results of not spending Christmas with his people as every president does, and instead taken off to Dubai. First time hearing of a postponement of a scheduled state of the nation/union speech in any country. What ...

• DUKE 10 years ago

every ghanaian becomes a millionnaire overnight that is an investment of 25 million cedis from the woyome money and overnight you will see Ghanaians will stop complaining; businesses will start the economy will start growing, ...

• KK 10 years ago

U r wrong, Duke! He'll need more!

• dan 10 years ago

GHANA NEED A LEADER WE CANT AFFORD A LEADER ON THE JOB TRAINING WHILE THE PEOPLE OF GHANA ARE SUFFRING AND TAX TO DEATH WITH HIGH FEES HIGH VAT ,HIGH IMPORT TAX,HIGH BUSNISS TAX AND I CAN GO ON AND ON AND ON ,MAHAMA MUST DO T ...

• Unforseen My Foot 10 years ago

Yate abre! Same old recycled mother fucking, mother nyass lies! Foolish man!

• NDC DEVIL'S PARTY 10 years ago

TWEAAAA GOVT

• chuck wayo -WASHINGTON, DC 10 years ago

No wonder this nation is leaderless, per Dr Aryeh. No serious nations's leader will shirk their duty to report the state of the Nation to its Parliament, pursuant to the Constitution, and travel outside the country during tha ...

• Bole Bamboi Corporation 10 years ago

This just in. John Dramane Mahama has stepped down as president of Ghana! Please stay tuned for more details...

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

FELLOW GHANAIANS WE ARE ALREADY AWARE OF THE STATE OF THE NATION. THERE IS NO NEED FOR ANY ADDRESS AGAIN. THE ECONOMY IS VERY BAD, THE CEDI IS FALLING DRASTICALLY LIKE A PIECE OF STONE FROM THE HIGHEST POINT OF A MOUNTAIN.

• KB 10 years ago

It is more true than just a rumour. Information from a reliable source indicates so.

• Samuel 10 years ago

Awaiting the announcement!

• KB,LONDON. 10 years ago

ede bii keke. At least he avoid developing hypertension.

• Ama Donkor 10 years ago

What makes him shame, has he stolen your father's money?

• George 10 years ago

LATEST NEWS COMING FROM THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE INDICATES PRESIDENT MAHAMA HAS RESIGNED. STAY TUNED.

• abu okyeman KIBI 10 years ago

THIS PRESIDENT IS A JOKE. USELESS PRESIDENT.

• vv 10 years ago

Sorry mr.president what would make you postponed this august opportunity when we are all expecting it.....
    OK maybe u are afraid or what....
    Mr President paaaaaaaa

• Julor Kwakwe 10 years ago

What are those unforeseen circumstances? What difference will one week make to Mahama's fortunes?

• david 10 years ago

what is he going to tell good to the nation?

• Osimandias Konfanko Methussaleh 10 years ago

THIS MAN-John Mahama is the most worthless President Ghana ever had. He needs to be probed and take all his assets from him.
    He is so worthless that "all the enkomfems" he brought to Ghana flewn away. He could not manage the ...

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

JUST THE SAME EMPTY SLOGANS. HE HAS NO NEW IDEAS TO SOLVE THE MOUNTING PROBLEMS HE HAS CREATED.

TIPS FOR THE PRESIDENT.

1. HE MUST STOP STEALING MONEY.

2. STOP WOMANIZING.

3. ASK GHANAIANS TO STOP TAKI ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

The state of the nation is so obvious that I do not think we need any address to appreciate it. However since it is a constitutional requirement, let the address come with solutions to the problems and bring relief to the suf ...

It was just two days ago that I directed Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK, to the president's Facebook account. But, some rather unscrupulous beings chose to inundate his tablet by which, I suspect, the prepared State of the Nation Ad ...

• Abena Kwabena 10 years ago

Mr President, we love to hear your voice all the time, Please don't step down!

• concern citizen 10 years ago

John Mahama is not the man to rule ghana. He thought it was easy to led a country by killing Mills and sneak back door to become a poster president. He can run but cant hide. A disgraceful creature.

• Chris 10 years ago

Are you God to really confirm that Mills was killed by Mahama? God have mercy on the ignorant

• BE WISE 10 years ago

Leave them to say what they like under the guise of free speech. These are the reasons why at times military rule is good. If not for democracy & free speech, will this good for nothing open his smelling mouth & accuse the Pr ...

• Bugri Naabu 10 years ago

My brother, are you in this world or you have been hiding in Jupiter? Even school children of this country know the truth that Mahama killed Atta Mills to become president! Welcome home!

• Sunyani boy 10 years ago

Even in ndc all of them know this!!! To let power go? Never Atta Mills must go and they put stamp

• EDENSU 10 years ago

My brother, the fact is even when a lunatic roaming in the street dies, a post-mortem is performed to establish the cause of death. A sitting President in the person of Prof. Fiifi Atta Mills died, not from a sick bed but wa ...

• Kofi Opoku Agyemang, CA 10 years ago

Killing Mills was as easy as drinking "koko" but addressing the nation is as hard as the rock.
    People should look before they leap.

• kojo 10 years ago

oohh. mahama knows he sponsored the killing of mills.

• Joe 10 years ago

What a shameful president!

• Philip 10 years ago

You and your government have let the Ghanian People down you don't know what to say because you are all corrupt.God will punish all of you.

• Onipanua 10 years ago

A clear case of lack of vision if this 'unforeseen circumstances' excuse is to be believed. And this lack of vision is depicted in how the ecomini..sorry economy is being managed.

• george 10 years ago

This man csnt b toiling with ghanaians he need t reseign

• KT 10 years ago

You can run but cnt hide ...susket!!!!!

• george 10 years ago

Reseign mahama

• SHAKAMORA 10 years ago

senseless president amey3 huuuuu

• OSO 10 years ago

A Chinese proverb states that, every one lie requires 1000 lies to defend it; hence the postponement of the president's address.
    Oh, you are going to be viewed in all over the world so make sure your akonfem hair are shaved, ...

• george 10 years ago

He should resign .it clear that he can't manage e ecpnomy

• Ghanani 10 years ago

Actually looking forward to what twist the supposed communications guru we have in the President will put to the abysmal performance of his government. Do we expect him to clear doubts about the actual number of employees at ...

• cappo 10 years ago

Mahama, to become a president is not by mouth talk,have U SEEN a terrible accident GHANA has had,now our nation is beyong repairs,bro better park the nation for conpetent driver,we are still in the first gear,but rather the i ...

• Pressman 10 years ago

Left to this clueless moron, Ghana will die. He cares less about others so far he has his share in dissipation of the national resources. This guy is just not cut for a leader role. He just forced himself through graft, brib ...

• MAJEED KOKUVI AMADIE 10 years ago

NO BODY IS SURPRISED ON THIS TURN AROUND AND CHANGE OF DATE. THIS TWEAAA MAN HAS SIMPLY LOST HIS BEARINGS. NOT EVEN THE CARDINAL POINTS CAN GET HIM BACK. IS IT TRUE PAA KWESI TURNED IN HIS RESIGNATION LETTER LAST WEEK? WAY FO ...

• Dzimapkla Rawlings 10 years ago

Nothing good can come out of mahama

• kay bee 10 years ago

He's got nothing tangible to tell Ghanaians!!!

• ME 10 years ago

TWEAA

• GHANA MAN 10 years ago

Everything Is OUT-OF-ORDER
    Just Resign before you are Resigned soon

• VERDICT 10 years ago

Because he has got the "apoo" from Alan K and needs to go back and rewrite the story dripping with their propaganda that they gave him, so doesn't look out of sorts with what he had prepared to talk about on Thursday.
    Oh ND ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Need you hear it from me?

• Queen 10 years ago

CONFUSED BEYOND COMPREHENSION.THAT IS WHAT YOU GET WHEN YOU FORGET THE ALMIGHTY GOD AND USE ALL KINDS OD "NKONYA" TO RIG ELECTION.IF YOU PUT ON A GOWN THAT DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU, IT WILL NEVER FIT YOU.

• TOGBE AGBOMOBIASE 10 years ago

HE HAS NOTHING TO SAY APART FROM PROMISES AND HE KNOWS GHANAIANS ARE FED UP WITH SUCH THINGS SO HE IS NOW WAITING FOR THE BISHOP TO DIRECT HIM ON SUNDAY THROUGH THE HOLY SPIRIT TO FIND OUT SOME WORDS FOR HIM.EYE GHANA DIGINI ...

• ALHAJI KANKANE 10 years ago

I ALWAYS SA THIS PARTY MEMBERS HAVE NO BRAINS TO POLICIES HE IS GOING NOW GOING TO TABULATE FROM WHAT ALLAN HAS JUST SAID.THESE MA TRY MAKWE PEOPLE HAVE FAILED THE GOOD CITIZENS OF THIS COUNTRY,I MEAN GOOD CITIZENS WHO WANT T ...

TYPE FAULT MY PC IS SICK BECAUSE OF NDC USELESS PARTY I THINK THEY HAVE HIJACKED THE PC: I ALWAYS SAY THIS PARTY MEMBERS HAVE NO BRAINS TO MAKE POLICIES.THE MA TRY MAKWE POLICIES HAVE CRIPPLED OUR ECONOMY.ONLY NPP CAN SHOW TH ...

• dan 10 years ago

AND IS IN HIDING ,HE SIMPLY HAVE NO ANSWERS TO THE FALL OF THE CEDI AND THE DESTROYED ECONOMY .MAHAMA YOU DISSAPOINTED GHANA BIG TIME DO THE RIGHT THING NOW STEP DOWN GIVE A CAHNCE TO SOMEONE SMARTER TO SAVE GHANA,WE CANT H ...

• Togbe 10 years ago

LATEST NEWS!!!

HE CAN'T RESIGN.IF HE DARES HE CAN GO ON.THEN WE ARE GOING TO FORCE HIM TO BRING US BACK TO WHERE WE WERE.YOU THINK HE CAN STEAL AND JUST SAY I AM GONE.GO AWAY WITH YOUR FAKED RUMOURS.ANOTHER LIAR FROM AYIGBWELAND.

• Peeps2 10 years ago

The rumous is becoming too much so Pls let the day comes before anyone make his comment.Nothing shall remain above the skies

• warehouse 10 years ago

YOU VE NOTHING GOOD TO TELL US.

ALL THE LIES ARE FINISHED.

OR YOU WANT TO HUMBLY STEP DOWN???

AND HAND OVER POWER????

• Kwasi. 10 years ago

Mahama doesnt have anything to address. Shame Mr Prz

• jonh 10 years ago

Government said he has paid all sa larie

• GBEVU 10 years ago

I BELIEVE THAT THIS NANA ADDO WHO HAS NOT BEEN MADE PRESIDENT BECAUSE OF WHICH HIS FOLLOWERS ARE ALWAYS SHAMEFULLY INSULTING THE SITTING PRESIDENT WILL SURELY BE RETIRED COME 2016 FOR THE FOLLWERS TO KNOW THAT GHANA IS NOT FO ...

• DOING MY JOB - MAHAMA 10 years ago

DON'T BLAME MAHAMA FOR THE POSTPONEMENT BLAME THE DUMB GHANAIANS - WHY VOTE FOR HIM IF YOU DON'T LIKE HIM ?

• Whatever 10 years ago

What's all the fuss about? Is Tuesday far away? Don't tickle yourselves, all you naysayers

• Okonori 10 years ago

I know who you are. Thief! You're one of those crooks benefitting from the mess of Mahama. Wo mame twe kankan tuo zaafi!

• Yawed 10 years ago

How

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 10 years ago

KOFI DUBAI BETTER ANNOUNCE YOUR RESIGNATION TO SAVE YOU FROM FURTHER EMBARRASMENT

• DOING MY JOB - MAHAMA 10 years ago

FUNNY

• Joe 10 years ago

This President is confused and I believe he has nothing to say , so this will give him the chance to think about another lie to Ghanaians. By the way is he is Ghana or still overseas. There is no unforeseen circumstances, t ...

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA INCOMPETENT USELESS AIMLESS HOPELESS CLUELESS SHAMELESS VISIONLESS LEADERLESS THINKLESS RULELESS PRESIDENT-LESS IDEALESS STILL LEARNING HOW TO GIVE HIS BEST SHORT. MAHAMA AND HIS PEPEFU FULANI ZONGO BOYS ARE ALL UNDER ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

What was he going to say anyway?

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS A FOOLISH SO CALLED PRESIDENT. MAHAMA CLUELESS AIMLESS USELESS LEADERLESS CHEAP PRESIDENT GHANA EVER EXPERIENCE. BRIBE GIVER MAHAMA KILL PAY BRIBE FORCE BECOME A PRESIDENT SHAME GOD IS GOD THE IS NO ONE LIKE HIM. MA ...

• Kofi Dubai 10 years ago

Why push Kofi Dubai to come to parliament ,if the coming is just to raise taxes to collapse businesses let him live in peace with his numerous children. This lad has aready told ghanaians he can't take bold décisions so w ...

• Ghana Muntie 10 years ago

Tweaaaikaei

• Sunkwa 10 years ago

That's what occurs when you steal what doesn't belongs to you---who are the culprits in this instance
    1.Kufour---who should have removed Afari Gyan before he left--why?--there was the potential for rigging--this Afari had be ...

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

Yes, One Touch win and now what? Do the job or resign. You continue to occupy space and wasting precious time of our lives by lying all the way since Atta Mills. Do you have conscience at all? Just do the right thing.

By ...

• Ebo Mends 10 years ago

Ha ha haaaaaaaaaaaaa!

• ALLOTEY PAPOE 10 years ago

HOW COULD HE DELIVER THE STATE OF THE NATION ADDRESS WHEN NATIONAL SECURITY IS ON RAMPAGE DEMOLISHING STRUCTURES INCLUDING A STRUCTURE ON UNIVRSITY CAMPUS!!!!!!!!!?

• JOHNSON 10 years ago

MAHAMAH THE MOST STUPID PRESIDENT OF GHANA CAN RUN BUT YOU CANT HIDE. ALL YOU ARE INTERESTED IN IS TO STEAL OUR MONEY AND MAKE YOURSELF A MILLIONAIRE.
    YOU REALLY DONT CARE ABOUT SECOND TERM IN OFFICE. YOUR AGENDA IS TO AMASS ...

• Mr.Blankson 10 years ago

People of Ghana the only way out is for us to rise up and get rid of this incompetent no-nothing president and his bench of corrupt ministers.

Are Ghanaians coward or what? You talk and talk but cannot do anything. Look at ...

• Musah 10 years ago

Why posponing

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

BECAUSE IT IS NOW ABUNDANTLY CLEAR MAHAMA IS NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE......BRIBING EVERYONE TO BECOME PRESIDENT, MAHAMA NOW REALISES THAT THE PRESIDENCY IS NO CHILD'S PLAY.....HE IS JUST CONFUSED AND OVERWHELMED.MY BET IS THAT HE ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

This son of asshole is giving stupid excuse about "unforeseen circumstances". What is he attending to that is stopping him from delivering the State of the Nation Address? If it had been a foreign trip with allowance attach, ...

We all know the state of the nation. No one needs to tell us about it especially not someone who is taken care of the state.

• ABBA 10 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF THOSE WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• DUKE 10 years ago

In addition to the 3 judges (who were not proven to have committed any crimes in a court of law) the following also were, innocently killed and today the innocent (from all tribes) blood ; still speaks and cries for justice:

• ABBA 10 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• Amega Megawoe 10 years ago

Some disgruntled elements allegedly want the President assassinated. Can't wait for 2016.

• BLACK-STAR-COAST 10 years ago

ALL THE TIME,"WE"THE NORTHERNERS ARE BEEN USED AS DRIVERS"MATE"IS THAT TRUE?

• CASAVA-FARM 10 years ago

CAN ANY BODY AT ALL,BE APPOINTED AS LEADER,OR PRESIDENT OF A NATION?

Why are we showing the world that we are heartless and uncivilized people? What country doesn't have issues? What ever happened to Respecting our leaders? If grown ups are acting like children then how are the kids suppose to ...

• DUKE 10 years ago

HEARTLESS, COLD, UNCIVILISED, ILLITERATE, UNCOUTH, UNEDUCATED, RACISTS, TRIBALISTS, SAVAGES, DISRESPECTFUL TO OUR ELDERS, THIS IS WHAT THE JJ RAWLINGS REVOLUTION DID TO GHANAIANS. OUR LEADERS ARE WORSE

• sly 10 years ago

this guy is a stupid arrogant illiterate highly unwarranted president wake up ghana

• sly 10 years ago

u stupid too illiterate tell all Ghanaian where in this world u see president have office in the same building u not for Ghana u for that stupid doing nothing ndc

So you are for Ghana by calling people names! I hope by calling me names Ghana has improved! No matter what party runs Ghana, LAZY people will always cry!

• KK 10 years ago

Got to get the printout of the speech first, my people...

• Anibany 10 years ago

Allow him to function,he is a very bizy president he must think before talking.he knows his people how they can talk

• DUKE 10 years ago

This is because critically Mahama and the NDc administration have been under the cosh of an assault of constructive criticisms and now he is thinking again how to respond to them; that is why he needs more time for his speech ...

• Tibaa 10 years ago

The speech is dead on arrival. I am very dissappointed in Mahama.

Knowing very well that you have to give a scheduled speech, and knowing very well that critics will read too much on an abrupt re-schedule, why did he do th ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 10 years ago

Why? Isn't there a fixed time for this address? Or does the Constitution leave this at the whim of the Prez? If the latter, then a revision is in order to fix a time!

• Dzimapkla Rawlings 10 years ago

Eeeeeeiiii Kofi Dubai you have failed miserably, this is a first, pack up and leve. This is a constitutional provision, my goodness

• mahama tuo zaafi,said ndc 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF,CORRUPT AND CRIMINALS,KILLED MILLS FOR POWER,NOW RUNAWAY,MAHAMA HAVE NOT SEEN ANYTHING YET,GOD IS NOT SLEEPING

• Kweku 10 years ago

This Man WHO was voted for by majority of Ghanians will rule till 2016 and beyond. To Char-grim of all you haters. Go Mahama Go.

• roland 10 years ago

Sir ,dont listen to the noises out there do it at your own time ,you are on course God will give you the wisdom .

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

THIS GUY HAS NOTHING TO SAY IN THE ADDRESS

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Mahama has exhausted all his spinning tactics, as such he has nothing encouraging and convincing to tell us, hence the postponement. Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown!

• osmani 10 years ago

by the way where,s asiedu nketia and anita de soso that togeless prostitide woman. so now you guys want to tell me that ide bee keke party are runing away from state of the nation adress ? then ghana we have long way to go

• Tibia 10 years ago

If it is true that the president intends to resign, then all our borders must be closed to prevent any politician from running away!

• sikdo 10 years ago

Mahama.u.have.sin.against.ghanaians.so.tell.the.trueth.and.be.free.and.if.dont.u.are.going.to
    sheet.in.u.paint.and.the.world.wil.here.about.the.and.u
    wil.see.what.afari
    gyan
    and
    atuguba.has
    dan
    to
    u

• Not from Ghana 10 years ago

Your Ghanaians is it part of your constitution that your president on the date mentioned should address parliament on the state of affairs of the country? If so, he the president is in contempt ...