You are here: HomeNews2014 02 12Article 300505

Stop charging fees in dollars - Education Ministry warns

Read Comments Comments (64)

Unfortunately i am always right , we have a govt that has introduced a system of govt which encourages people not to work rather they all perch on strategic posts or positions like vultures stealing , being bribed and facilit ...

• consider 10 years ago

Once they are in Ghana, they have to charge everything in Cedis,they won't comply,revoke their license and ley them go back to their ountries to run their racial schools

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

Mahama=leaderless. Mahama=visionless. Mahama=leaderless=brainless=policyless. Presidential advisers????????????? OMG and Mahama-led NDC govt is clueless.

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

NDC has been in power for 5YEARS and still are clueless. They inherited Kuffour's policies=NHIS=SCHOOL FEEDING PROG=LEAP=METRO MASS TRANSPORT=NYEP=CAPITATION GRANT=FREE MATERNITY=OIL. What new policy has Mahama brought on boa ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Okudzeto Ablakwa have stop stealing from the majority people of this nation for own selfish interest?

Look at the face a so-called politician who is trying to advise someone who cannot even advise himself, Kronfuo like tha ...

Okudzeto Ablakwa have stop stealing from the majority people of this nation for own selfish interest?

Look at the face a so-called politician
    who is trying to advise someone who cannot even advise himself, Kronfuo
    like t ...

like t ...

Look at the face a so-called politician who is trying to advise someone who cannot even advise himself, Kronfuo like tha ...

like t ...

like t ...

• Fo. Kwaku - Tanyingbe 10 years ago

NA WHO CAUSE AM?

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

I don't think it is the business of Ablakwa whether a private school charges COWRIES or Kola-nuts, as long as the children are educated well

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Just funny. If the cedi is stabilized and strengthened, many people will not do business in Dollars. People have just just lost confidence in the Cedi. This tells us that government is not working well.

• ORIGINAL STRAIGHT-TALK 10 years ago

The credit crunch which hit America between 2007 and 2008 is considered by many economists the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression of the 1930s therefore we needn't need to over-stretch the situation as if Ghana ...

• Akoraba 10 years ago

The $$ has been the currency the world pegged it's currency against. Who wants cedis. Because we import almost everything our currency is not in demand anywhere. If we stop corruption, do not play with our oil money, we could ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

So did the Fed and Treasury solve it by going after individuals and threatening them?

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

HOW DO YOU MAKE GH MORE ECONOMICALLY COMPETITIVE, U ASK?
    A/upgrade and improve infrastructure: road systems,airports, ports, the entire infrastructure, and IT infrastructure IN GH IS LAGGING. IMAGINE THE JOBS THIS WILL CREAT ...

• Ama London 10 years ago

You know what Mr Straight Talk America did something about it, they didn't just attack anybody who commented about the situation.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Don, there are laws, rules and regulations in every country and citizens, foreigners who reside, visit and do business there as well as all institutions must operate within such laws, rules and regulations. Ghana is becoming ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Greetings Kofi. You are right about that; it is the responsibility of the Minister to see that laws are obeyed in the educational sector.

However, this is stupid and knee-jerk reaction to the problems of the falling cedi. ...

Well spoken Nyansasem

• obtt 10 years ago

I DON'T AGREE WITH YOU IN THE AREA OF ONLY FOREIGN STUDENTS TO PAY IN DOLLARS IN GHANA. WHY? WHY SHOULD FOREIGN STUDENTS PAY DOLLARS IN GHANA? JUST AS INSTITUTIONS BOTH LOCAL AND FOREIGN SHOULD NOT CHARGE FEES IN DOLLARS THE ...

• yapo 10 years ago

he's right but not in dollars please?black are too slow we should value our own money thanks if not lip services,

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Nonsense,where do you live Don Blunt?

• obtt 10 years ago

ANOTHER IDIOT.

• Tibaa 10 years ago

How are they going to enforce this? The other time, the deputy secretary of communication insisted that intelligence officers will be the enforcement agents, that is, they will disguise themselves, then do foreign exchange tr ...

• Okai 10 years ago

It is normal for people to hold on to other currencies if they see the cedi as volatile and likely to devalue. What do you expect, if you want people to use the cedi, make it stronger, and advise government officer to stop h ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

All government department and apparatus must be computerized to keep track of things, and exchange inter-department information.

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

EGYA MARCUS.

PLEASE,LET US KNOW WHERE WE ARE IN THE 21st CENTURY BEFORE COMING UP WITH SUCH AN EXPENSIVE SUGGESTION.

AFTER ALMOST FIFTY SEVEN YEARS OF STATEHOOD, PRIMITIVE BLACKBOADS ARE STILL TO BE SEEN AT ALL SCHOOLS ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

This should happen with a simple diective from the finance ministry.We cannot continue to put big and costly organs in place that end costing us more more money than they collect.Hard to believe that our government sat on the ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Why should these school charge fees in dollars when we don't pay in dollars. Most parents with kids in these schools would buy the dollars from the black market thereby pushing up the price of the cedi against the dollar. Thi ...

• Bosoe 10 years ago

Don Blunt had the first question right when he said who cares if schools get paid in cowries. But the proper answer is, good schools in Ghana have to order their books, teaching supplies such as laboratory equipment, computer ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Now, you can care less about the guy who is paid in cedis? How does he pay his daughter's tuition?

Two economies? That is one reason the cedi is falling against the dollar. Few dollars being chased by the cedi.

• yapo 10 years ago

poeple like you are selfish co's you can afford it is ok right, look at you this law should be inforce i leave in the u.s but i still care about my country ghana ,and is always in my mindsorry sir?

• oppong london 10 years ago

this shouldn,t be verbal but a law that ,the dollar should not be a legal tender in the country,all foreign currencies must not be accepted to be paid for anything in hotels,schools or commodities in the market.everyone mus ...

• Dick 10 years ago

The government should be the starting point to stop using the USD. to stipulate duties on imported goods at all harbours. Ghana has used the value of the dollar to calculate duties on imports over the years, and no one knows ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Government should take the first step in the dollarization process by stopping the practice of adjusting import duties to the daily rates of the dollar. That is simply another form of dollarization.

• JJ 10 years ago

Abolish all foreign currency charges, transactions and bank accounts and the Cedi WILL drop like the Zim dollar! Fools; they know nothing about economics.

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

can someone establish how many of our ministers hold dollar accounts and how much they have in there?

i think this guys are pushing us too far to the wall. they prescribe all manner of medicines for us by refuse to take a ...

• Dodonu 10 years ago

The NDC government with its "top" people like Ablakwa continue to shamelessly expose their ignorance regarding the running of the country. That some charge in dollars is why the cedi is falling is a joke. We also use the cefa ...

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

Incompetent Mahama/NDC govt.Go and look for new export markets so you can bring in more foreign exchange. Reduce gov't expenditure.

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

PLEASE, WAS YOUR OUFIT NOT AWARE THAT, SCHOOLS IN THE COUNTRY WERE CHARGING FEES IN DOLLARS.

IF,YOUR MINISTRY FAILED TO KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON AT THE SCHOOLS THEN, YOUR MINISTRY HAS TO BE BLAMED FOR WHAT WENT ON AT THE SCH ...

• Robin Hood 10 years ago

Warn GIS and Lincoln first. Are you scared of them, Mr so-called deputy minister ?

• DESSY,toronto 10 years ago

gov,t should shutdown any school who will refuse to comply with the measures

• KOFI AGYAPONG 10 years ago

Is Ghana back to the anti capitalist mood of J.J Rawlings' initial rule in Ghana whereby possession of foreign money was punishable by death? Go back to the period and see what happened to Ghana? AFRC and PNDC have no place i ...

• Tijani 10 years ago

build more schools and decides on the kind of currency to charge, liars

• Tijani 10 years ago

• Phantom 10 years ago

It is about time these things stop. Everyone is charging for their goods and services in dollars why? Is Ghana USA? Even the groundnut and waakye sellers are charging in dollars. If one goes on the Ghanaweb and all other webs ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

Those who failed to comply must face ten years imprisonment penalties it is time those in government take harsh measure to save the Country and the poor mass

• Mensah 10 years ago

I peg my fees to the $. Parents pay the Cedi equivalent i.e. the local currency. Imagine in 3months telling 50 parents that the value of the cedi has changed hence the fee has to change. Will this be fair?

• MR GREEN 10 years ago

What about the health Ministry.Where private hospitals are charging dollars,who is addressing that issue?

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

Now you may realize the stupidity of
    steal and be damned policy since you came into government.

When you steal the peoples' money all for yourself, the country suffers and it is very likely you may not live to enjoy your ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

How in the world could this unemployed toad looking buffoon who had no gainful employment prior to landing a post in politics through propaganda peddling be elevated to a critically significant position of deputy min of edu ...

• BINGA 10 years ago

the mob will lynch u n asiedu nketia one day for also paying in dollars

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

IT IS A TRITE KNOWLEDGE THAT FOR ANY ECONOMY TO BE SEEN DOING WELL AND ALSO VIBRANT IT DEPENDS ON THE SIMPLE ECONOMIC THEORY OF DEMAND AND SUPPLY AND HOW EFFECTIVE MONETARY AND FISCAL POLICIES PLAY THEMSELVES OUT.
    THAT THOUG ...

• NASSIR HASSAN YAAYIMA - Jasikan 10 years ago

Arrant nonsense

• agosta 10 years ago

@ inside the bone...u are so stupid to ur information Samuel okwadzeto isn't an ayigbe...foolish boy...now let go to my main point.. I would like to understand one thing is this so called deputy minister of education saying f ...

• ANTWI BOASIAKO 10 years ago

GHANAIANS OR LET ME SAY AFRICANS EXCUSE ME TO SAY ARE SO STUPID. WHAT IS ALL THIS DOLLAR NON-SENSE, WE LIVE IN GHANA AND NOT IN U.S.A SO WHY SHOULD WE ALLOW SOME INSTITUTIONS TO CHARGE IN FOREIGN CURRENCIES IN OUR COUNTRY? AN ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS BIG FOOOOL,EDUCATION MINISTRY TWEAAAA WHO BORN DOG?????

• Kwame An 10 years ago

What about GIPC and the other gov institution? All the fees are in USD!
    Hypocrites

• obtt 10 years ago

GOD SAVE GHANA. INSTITUTIONS CHARGING FEES IN DOLLARS? PLEASE STOP THIS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. I DO NOT THINK WHEN A GHANAIAN ESTABLISHES A SCHOOL IN AMERICA WOULD BE ALLOWED TO CHARGE FEES IN CEDIS. IT IS DISRESPECTFUL TO OUR ...

• Amos Obi Nipa 10 years ago

This has been long over due. The integrity of the Cedi has been undermined for years. Business in Ghana should be done in Cedis. Only exception should be where it is an international transaction. Schools based in Ghana should ...

Who started this dollar business, is it not Ghana government, this country doesn't produce cars but when you bring your car from abroad they give you the price and in dollors. I remember vividly well buying a car from the con ...