You are here: HomeNews2014 02 06Article 299904

Akosa: Nkrumah’s PDA was necessary to deal with terrorists

Read Comments Comments (162)

• HAWA 10 years ago

What is Prof Akosa talking about? So people are terrorist so without trial, you can arrest anyone and imprison him for 5yr? Come again prof. you are selling your conscience for Nkrumah's defense.

• Mozato 10 years ago

Can those idiots spare us some of these unnecessary debates of Nkrumah this Nkrumah that and make their useless black arse useful by helping Mahama to fix the ailing economy.

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

CURRENT AFFAIRS ARE HURTING US AND WE ARE GOING BACK TO THIS DEBATE. PROF. CAN CONTINUE TO DEFEND HIS IDOL BUT HE WAS NOT GOD

• SWEET STACKLEBERG 10 years ago

24TH FEBRUARY The day we watered the tree of freedom with the blood of the tyrant Nkrumah!

• Visionary 10 years ago

I 100% agreed with Dr Akosa that When you live in a country where a certain proportion of the people had taken to nothing but stealing the country assets for their personal gain, gross lies to the people, atempting the wreck ...

• SHAMO 10 years ago

I WONDER WHY NDC/CPP BUGABUGA PEOPLE CAN DIFFERENTIATE A TERRORIST AND A JUSTICE FREEDOM FIGHTER!! NKRUMAH WAS A DICTATOR AND DICTATORS MEANT TO FACE DEMONSTRATIONS AND SUICIDE BOMBS ASK TUNISIA, LIBYA, EGYPT AND SYRIA

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Foo lish people. We considered you and because of that, you think you can somehow use fake emotions to disrespect the image of Great Osagyfio. J.B. Danquah should have hanged for what his activities has done to the children o ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

What at all is wrong with the descendants of these UP/NPP terrorists? Where in the world have they seen that terrorists are given the privilege of legal expression?

They vehemently state that a whole President Nkrumah sho ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

His father , was the District Commissioner for Asante Mampong ,notoriously called D C Kosah used his position to snatch people's wives and trumped up charges to get them incarcerated at Nsawam Prison. Ask any 60 and above yea ...

• somebody papapa 10 years ago

ohhhh professor so your education was founded by a stolen Ghana cedi's by your terrorist father who snatched others wife? Birds of the same furthers ...... like father like son heheheheeee. tweaaaa

• John Mensah 10 years ago

Akosa, if I were Nkrumah, I wouldnt have even allowed him to see prison. When he supervised the throwing of bombs at me, I survive unexpected shoot-outs which kills my bodyguard, etc. We got to be real.

Theres a difference ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Good one there John.

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

John and BOATENG don't appear to be literate. U capriciously dump ur political opponents into jail because without evidence u accuse them of being "terrorists", without due judicial process! Then no one would have political o ...

• Kpakpo 10 years ago

Just like the NPP refused to use common sense in the elction petition but depended on technicalities and hoqwash bullshit, so are u. America, the Kings of democracy are detaining suspected terrorists for the good of the count ...

• MR NEVER 10 years ago

I, quote...WHY WERE THE OTHER MEMBERS OF UGCC NOT DETAINED BY NKRUMAH? Unquote.
    They fled to Nigeria and used Nigeria as their base for bombing the government. Spearheaded and organising all assassination activities by the s ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

GOD PAID YOU ID OTS BACK IN KIND IN 1979

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

Is Ghanaman so ignorant that he does not know that those victims in 1979 were Nkrumahists who had over thrown Busia in the name of Nkrumah? Sadly, he has one vote like each of us.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Like Afriffa's death. Non sense.

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

Like ACHEAMPONG, Utuka, Amedume, Akuffo etc, unfairly though, without proper trials.

Listen to this Togolese Trokosi idiot. Always looking for human blood for their idols.

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

Stop this old fashioned lies called propaganda. R. R AMPONSAH himself was detained without trial and only released after the 1966 coup.how could he have fled to Nigeria to organize bomb throwing. Nkrumah himself knew that his ...

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

THANK GOD FOR RAWLINGS' INTERVENTION IN 1981 AS WELL.

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

And Afevia does not know that the main victims of Rawlings's cruelty were Nkrumahists of the Limann regime. Yet he has a vote.

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

YOU THANKED GOD FOR KOTOKA'S MILITARY INTERVENTION BECAUSE IT SERVED YOUR PAROCHIAL INTEREST.YOU CONDEMNED THAT OF RAWLINGS BECAUSE IT BLOCKED YOU FROM YOUR DUBIOUS DEALINGS AND YOU THINK I AM IGNORANT. WHAT A DOUBLE STANDARD ...

• MR NEVER 10 years ago

John, you said it right, I believed you.
    You need to understand that "THE ASHANTIS ARE ALWAYS ONE IN THEIR APPRECIATION OF VICE" and they don't want to accept the downfall of Ghana, came from them. "Ma tie, ma tie", let GHAN ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

They were prepared to kill for their destructive ideologies,but were never ready to die for it. I challenge any sympathiser of the NPP to study the history of the Congo after independence till now and they would know why the ...

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

Hahaha! What has Congo after Lumumba got to do with PDA. IF THE PDA IS JUSTIFIED, THE 1966 COUP WAS EVEN THE MORE JUSTIFIED.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

because Nkrumah was scared to hell what these traitors with eventually do to him. And my recent pleasure is the 1979 executions. It tramped 1966.

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

No wonder Ghanaman lacks morality. How can a human being derive pleasure from executions, more so when they were extra judicial. Even though they were mostly Nkrumahist, I never supported the executions. They were Ghanaians a ...

• Kwaku Aboagye 10 years ago

Nkrumah was the only President in the history of mankind to rule without a Vice President because he was such a mad dictator. He eliminated any one he thought was a threat to his tyranny. See what he did to Tawiah Adamafio, h ...

• THE SOLUTION MASTER 10 years ago

wITH THE HATE ASSOCIATED to him, he couldn't trust anybody for vice as a minority and unexpected first leader of the country.
    Remember he was dealing with ewes, ashantis, okyeaman,kwahu,gas and the northerners as nzimah.try ...

• Danny, London 10 years ago

Mr Aboagye you are a liar, where did you get such information from? Go back and a proper search and you will certainly get the truth.

Dr Nkrumah had a Vice President in the person of Dr Ako-Adjei, who was also the firs Fin ...

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

Hey Danny! U are the only one who doesn't know that Nkrumah didn't have a Vice. And his Presidency was for life! Embarrassing and insulting to Ghana and Africa. Be educated from today, Danny. Indoctrination has done u no good ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

DID BUSIA HAVE A VICE PRIME MINISTER

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

Oh Ghanaman, so u don't even know that Busia had a Deputy Prime Minister in the person of Kwesi Lamptey. The correct terminology was Deputy Prime Minister NOT Vice Prime Minister. Go back to school before u can contribute to ...

• OYIRIFI AMPASACHI 10 years ago

JOHN MENSAH, PLEASE STOP ADVERTISING YOUR IGNORANCE. IF DANQUAH WAS REALLY
    BEING PAID BY CIA, WHAT STOPED HIM FROM BEING PROSECUTED IN COURT AND SENTENCED...EVEN TO DEATH! AFTER OVER HALF A CENTURY, YOU ARE STILL DEFENDING ...

• Kpakpo 10 years ago

YOU ARE A BIG FOOL. IF THE CIA IS PAYING JB DANQUAH, IS THERE PROOF FOR HIM TO BE PROSECUATED? NO. WHAT ARE U GOING TO PROSECUTE HIM IN COURT FOR? THATS WHERE THE PDA AND DETENTION COMES IN. WHY NOT ASK AMERICANS WHY THEY NEV ...

• ...BAD ! 10 years ago

MEN HAVE LOST THEIR REASONS !! HOW CAN YOU AN EDUCATED MAN SPEAK FOOOOLISHLY LIKE THIS ?

You have not read about CIA, and the things they capable of.They are scared of themselves and the don't trust each other. They are the masters of disguise and the professionals of plotting their interest first.

• Lt. Gen Lizard 10 years ago

Nations or countries have no friends.They have self interest.The job of the CIA is to protect the USA from her external enemies!J B Danquah was supported by the CIA and Nkrumah was supported by the KGB.J B Danquah was pro-wes ...

• OPOKU 10 years ago

If such actions were not taking, just imaging how Ghana would have been today. But yet people like stupid J B Dankwa were named after a circle. And the same people who supproted him at that are now stealing the wealth of the ...

Even innocent people in their houses were eased drop on and electricall evil devices were used on humans with no reasons; either framing to take evil fall of G.w bUSH/Obama's CREATORS ASSIGNMENT in the bible.

• Kwesi Mensah 10 years ago

Just for being an agent of a foreign country, let alone organizing terrorist acts, Danquah would have been executed, especially in that Cold War era. There are famous instances of this in both the UK and the USA. Nkrumah was ...

• Pat Owusuwaa 10 years ago

Hawa, I guess your thinking cap is on.? When something happens in Ghana it is bad but when is happens at other places it is good. You were young, or perhaps not born, so you donot have a faint idea what the opposition, today ...

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

WHERE HAVE BEEN ALL THESE YEARS,HAWA? HAVE YOU HEARD OF GUANTANAMO BAY IN CUBA? USA HAS KEPT PEOPLE THERE WITHOUT TRIAL FOR YEARS. THEY ARE STILL THERE I

• Ada-Boy 10 years ago

How bizzare to find the so called defender of democracy justifying Dr Nkrumah's rule of terror. The simple question is whether Prof Akosa would accept similar measures being intoduced today by a sitting president? It's a very ...

• OTANI ABOA ABANN 10 years ago

Dying in prison is not funny. J.B danquah and co bought and invite him to the party. only for Nkrumah to pay them back with imprisonment. Fear human being

• Boateng 10 years ago

They brought him to Ghana so they can kill him?

The USA would have kept him in GITMO for years!

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

The effect of Nkrumah's communist indoctrination is still lingering on in the empty illiterate minds like those of John Mensah and Boateng. The devil finds hiding place for the ignorant mind.

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

Before Nkrumah emerged on the political scene, Ghana was united politically under UGCC. THE DIVISION HE ENGINEERED HAS PERSISTED TILL TODAY

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

WAS HE? MORE THAN THE UP WHO WANTED A DIVIDED FEDERAL NATION OF GHANA. EVERY PERSON FROM OTHER TRIBES IN THE NPP IS JUST TO SHOW OFF. THE REAL PARTY HAS BEEN HIJACKED BY THE DIVISIVE ABUAKWA AND SOME ASHANTI ID IOTS WHO DON'T ...

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

Ghanaman should keep quiet for knowledgeable people to talk. He still labours under the communist indoctrinated propaganda that federalism is divisive. It is federalism that has kept America, Nigeria and even small Switzerlan ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

IF GHANA HAD PEOPLE WHO ARE PATRIOT LIKE IN THE USA, ANY FORM OF GOV'T WILL WORK. BUT AS WE SEE, MY OWN PEOPLE, THE ASHANTIS THINK THEY ARE BETTER DONE EVERY TRIBE IN GHANA. AND NIGERIA'S FEDERALISM, PLEASE SPARE US THE EMBAR ...

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

When did Ashantis meet to to decide that they were better than every tribe in Ghana? Ur ethnocentric hatred for Ashantis was part of the divide and rule propaganda u were infested with through Nkrumahist indoctrination. Extri ...

• Spiky 10 years ago

Throw a bomb at Mahama, and you will see!JB was better off living and dying in prison for his treasonable felonies. The Generals (Acheampong, Afrifa, etc.) were instantly shot in public for, in Rawlings view, "it was necessar ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Wow! Another learned man telling lies to Ghanaians. If honourable people like Prof. Akosa could agree with Nkrumah's detention without trial, one can only say it's simply unfortunate! Nkrumah was overthrown not only because o ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Why are you guys crying about keeping a terrorist in prison without trial?

I like to see you guys demonstrate in front against GITMO too! There is no room for criminals to operate, that is what detention is about.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

I wish it were possible to go back in time to know exactly what transpired that prompted the passing of the PDA adopted by the parliament. However, it is evident – we all know – that without PEACE a country can’t surviv ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

These phrases should read:
    1. "can’t survive to aspire to its objectives."
    and,
    2. "something we may never get over."

3. "Sir Clarke would have rather have used the military against terrorist campaigns and other viol ...

• KOO NIMO 10 years ago

Tell that to the fathers of DEMOCRACY, USA, to open the GUANTANAMO BAY and let at least the INNOCENTS ones to go home. I mean those the US has searched in all their legal books yet cannot find a charge against them yet are ke ...

His father was the District Commissioner in Nkrumah's terror regime.His father snatched peoples's wives and trumped up charges against them and sent to Nsawam prisons.

• Wisdom Speaks 10 years ago

Ama Ghana Is blessed with Brainless, Vissionless, Clueless, idealess, hopeless, ueseless, and heartless leaders. Ama Ghana.

• Egya 10 years ago

Why even attempt to justify somebody's death in "detention"? What is the point?

• Boateng 10 years ago

You guys would even protest the demise of Mr. Ladden because he was not given a trial?

• Ambrose 10 years ago

While millions were living in squalor and slums, Kwame Nkrumah was giving Mali and Guinea millions of pounds as bribe to promote him to be the President for life for Africa withour a Vice President. Any one who opposed the ss ...

• Repugnant 10 years ago

You were not even part of anything until 1902 WHEN YOUR ARSE became a protectorate. MBOASEM AKWAKWA!!

In 1902, the British annexed Ashanti and Northern territories. Later, Britain declared Ashanti, Northern territories pro ...

• SOCCERMAN 10 years ago

I can't believe Nkrumahists of today call for the head of Mugabe but defend the one party rule of Nkrumah who had insultingly declared himself as President for life without a Vice President.

• Kwame Asante 10 years ago

Can you imagine that the US give millions of dollars in aid to third world countries and yet Americans sleep on the street in the US. Think and donot exhibit your ignorance on international affairs.

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

lISTEN TO A FOOL AND IGNORAMUS SPEAKING.PERHAPS YOU WERE BORN AFTER GHANA HAD ACHIEVED INDEPENDENCE.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

You don't have a clue how much we have lost over the years because the Danquah/Busia' subversive activities.God will punish you people for always seeking to bring Ghana to her knees. The troubles we've faced since your fo oli ...

A great day for PPP anti-Nkrumahist propaganda work against arch-enemy Akosa, isn't it, Egya? No matter the immorality of your stand.

• jack 10 years ago

This old bullshit and retard history should let it be,why do we always go back and bring things which are not important.The country is sinking while a whole professor can't sit and think how best to solve the problems we have ...

• KWASI. Accra. 10 years ago

Yes he was a traitor!!! and must be in prison.
    Thats why ghana is suffering. Ghanaians don't want the truth.
    let somebody through bomb at you and experience how it feels like.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

We have been lied to then and now and the lies keep on coming. What is a fair trial and was Ghana under a dictatorship during those days? Professor Akosah should come clean and tell Ghanaians if JB was given a fair trial and ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

You would even protest against Mr. Ladden not given a fair trial? How about all the guys in GITMO?

If he was denied medication, I will say that was injustice but he deserved being detained.

• Paa Frank 10 years ago

In Nkrumah's Ghana, Sekou and Samia would have been arrested under the PDA. My father spent 6-years under the PDA. How dare you refer to my father as a terrorist. Ghana is faced with enormous leadership problems that need ser ...

• Paa Frank 10 years ago

And by the way Doc, why did you lobbied and accepted an appointment from the son of a terrorist. President Kuffour's mother was in detention under the PDA. Let us find a way to build a nation and stop this old worn out debate ...

• COS 90 10 years ago

What is ofori ata talking about? how can a nation wreker be entertaind in a country? DR. Kwame Nkrumah did the right thing. Is't not J B Danquah who said ghana is not ready for independence? The same J B Danquah and his UP pe ...

• ATTA MENU 10 years ago

Atta Akyea shutup. somebody is seeking justice against you sort that out first

• John Mensah 10 years ago

If I were Nkrumah, I wouldnt have even allowed him to see prison. When he supervised the throwing of bombs at me, I survive unexpected shoot-outs which kills my bodyguard, etc. We got to be real.

Theres a difference betwee ...

• MADIBA 10 years ago

PLEASE BE REAL J B DANQUAH WAS NEVER ACCUSE OF THROWING ANY BOMB.RECORDS AT THE COURTS INDICATE THAT IT WAS NKRUMAS OWN PEOPLE WHO WERE ARRESTED.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

JB was never accused of throwing any bomb anywhere in Ghana and his links with the CIA? Well, what about Nunoo Mensah the former Army commander who openly said that he was working for the CIA while still serving the Ghana arm ...

• SOKODE 10 years ago

You Ayigbe julor...Nunoo Mensah did not say he worked "FOR" the CIA...He said he worked "WITH" the CIA. All nations work together for intelligence gathering to track down terrorists.So the Ghana and Ghana Police both work wit ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

Whatever role Nunoo-Mensah claimed to have played for the CIA does not make Danquah's alleged traitorous act right. Besides, both operated in different eras under different circumstances. Subsequent regimes have been cooperat ...

• Akoraba 10 years ago

Dr. Akosa, I thought you were better than this. You have shocked me, anyway, your father was the idiot DC in those days, so I should have known better. If you had lost a parent to some of these draconian laws of Nkrumah, you ...

• Analyst 10 years ago

It is not possible for us to go back into the past and make any changes. It is however possible to avoid the mistakes of the past.
    Thank God we presently have far better political situation today whereby every person can p ...

• Terrible Terror Amsterdam 10 years ago

YOU ARE A BIG FOOL AKOSA

• MADIBA 10 years ago

HOW CAN GHANA DEVELOP WITH SUCH PROF'S IN THE SYSTEM. WAS J B DANQUAH GUILTY THROUGH FAIR TRIAL. LETS THINK OF HOW TO MOVE FORWARD AND STOP THIS NKRUMAH THIS AND THAT. NKRUMAH IS THE CAUSE OF ALL OUR PROBLEMS NO MATTER THE PL ...

• Efie 10 years ago

Shame on Akosa. Your sins will find you out. How is CPP doing? CPP is dead.

• OYIRIFI AMPASACHI 10 years ago

AN IDIOT IS AN IDIOT WHETHER HE GOES TO SCHOOL OR NOT. PROF, EVEN WITH HINDSIGHT, CAN'T YOU STILL GET IT?!!!!

• oppong london 10 years ago

nkrumah with his wicked mentality died younger than jb danquah,who helped him to be somebody,brothers be careful of helping brainless people,jesus suffered the same fate through judas iscariot.

• Joe 10 years ago

KWAME NKRUMAH WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO ACHIEVE ANYTHING FOR GHANA IF THE PDA HAD NOT BEEN PUT IN PLACE COS AT THE TIME THE 'UP' TERRORIST WERE SABOTAGING HIM HENCE THEIR DETENTION. I WISH WE COULD DO SAME TODAY INOORDER TO ...

• Okokroko Tafiakpa 10 years ago

Of course Ahosa is right if people want to be subversive without cause and without passing through parliament the government has any legitimate right to apply any means to curb their activity.

• Okokroko Tafiakpa 10 years ago

You are really a true Nkrumahist the rest and some are just paper tigers

• John 10 years ago

Dr Akosa will you say the same about PNDC

• Facts 10 years ago

Just face the facts. The man was a terrorists. He wanted the leadership, but didn't get it so he tried other means. Whether or not you like it that is what happened. Move on and worry about today.

• Kwame 10 years ago

The U.S. and her NATO members have been detaining people who are suspected of having something do with 11th September, 2001 terrorist attach and others at the Guantanamo base without trial for the past 13 years.

• Bonne 10 years ago

Inculding Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo

• Tete 10 years ago

Without the PDA, Nkrumah couldn't have done some meaningful development. PDA was actually necessary if you look at the events on the ground at the time.

Even this time round, it is very applicable to allow development to ...

• JOE 10 years ago

Nkrumah was right. Events latter proved that J B was a CIA agent & colaborator. ATTA KYEA should go and read CIA declassified files to educate himself.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Stupid talk. If what Akosa is saying is right then those others should be brought back as terrorism is a bigger problem these days than Nkrumah's time. He Akosa will probably be incarcerated at Nsawan.
    I still really don't ...

This Akosa man is making himself less and less irrelevant. Please, PDA was wrong, accept it and move on. Nkrumah was not a saint!

"less and less relevant". I get too pissed off when supposedly learned people behave like idiots.

• Agyere 10 years ago

That was the only way the Government of Ghana at that time could have dealt with these imperialist servants at time. They caused a lot of harm at that time, just to serve their masters. Innocent children and young pioneers d ...

• K-DE-K 10 years ago

Akosa I don't blame you because your primary six father was a district commissioner. You enjoyed so you have to support the PDA. What do you expect from him , somebody who says the CPP was democratically elected government. ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

His father was definitely a more efficient and competent administrator than Busia was with his higher education. DC Akosa not only educated his children but was a philanthropist who helped educate so many peoples children.

Blowing children up, young pioneer youths, and civilian sports fans are all great intellectual pursuits.

• Adjei, Kwadjo 10 years ago

EVEN IN THOSE DAYS BUSIA, JB DANQUAH, RR AMPONSAH, MALAM TULA, ANUM YEMO, IC QUAYE, OBETSEBI- LAMPTEY, JOE APPIAH, OKYEHENE, NANA OFORI ATTA AND CO WERE MORE THAN OSAMAN BIN LADEN. THEY CAUSED HEIRNOUS AND ATROCIOUS ACTS TOWA ...

• DK Gyamfi 10 years ago

Listen to another twit, Isaac Osei only interested in young girls 'asie hor' All these nonentities, people with no moral credibility and love for Ghana want to lead the nation. JB Danquah did not care for the lives of Ghanaia ...

After 9/11 have the bastions of western democracy not passed the Patriots Act to deal with terrorists and traitors? Even the USA that he was an agent for would have treated him with greater severity and contempt. Check out Gu ...

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

No wonder that graduates from our Universities are useless after graduation because they are taught by foolish Professors like foolish Akosa

• Wabee 10 years ago

This os one of the foolish people Ghana has spent money to educate them . Whenevar he speaks you can tell this man does not deserve to be a Profesor. He speaks from his stomach and not from his head.

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

Mr. Atta Akyea and other NPP stalwart need to use their "God-given" common sense or grow some if theirs have been on the decline. The NPP touts itself as a party seeking democratic ideals of a multi-party, free market and pro ...

Say it as it is and damn the intellectually dishonest brigands.

Listen to this bloated carrion of an idiot, Tsikata was imprisoned by competent courts and not arrested in the middle of the night and thrown into jail.

• Mr. Haircare 10 years ago

prof, don't be silly. what you are saying is false.

• LUCK 10 years ago

NKRUMAH HAD FORESIGHT IN CHECKING TERRORISM IN GHANA BY ENSURING THAT PARLIAMENT PASSED THE PDA. A SIMILAR LEGISLATION HAS RECENTLY BEEN ENACTED BY UNITED STATES TO FIGHT TERRORISM. GHANA ATTAINED INDEPENDENCE IN MARCH 1957 A ...

• michael 10 years ago

Mad Akosa

• KKO 10 years ago

What an idiot. TUC leaders were jailed under the PDA for calling strikes. My friend's father escaped and eventually died in Britain. They were going to jail him for cutting his son's Young Pioneer uniform to pieces. In elemen ...

• NANA 10 years ago

WE HAVE TO REMEMBER GUANTANAMO BAY,ABU QUATADA,THE INTERMITTENT ADMINISTRATIVE DETENTION OF PALESTINIANS BY THE ISRAELIS,ALL CARRIED OUT BY "WESTERN" DEMOCRACIES BEFORE CONDEMNING THE LATE KWAME NKRUMAH.
    J.B.DANQUAH BECAME K ...

• K-DE-K 10 years ago

Akroaba , J.B. was right after independence what have achieved as a nation?

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Well said Akosa.Danquah,Busia and Obetsebi Lamptey were all terrorists who deserved to be arrested and jailed under the PDA.Who cares if he died in prison?That was his fate.So Nkrumah should have allowed these terrorists who ...

• Smoken Gun. 10 years ago

ALL OF YOU ARGUING ON THIS SUBJECT ARE STUPID FOOLS. PERIOD !!! INSTEAD OF TALKING ABOUT HOW TO FIX THE ECONOMY, YOU THE SO CALLED, PROFS, Drs, LAWYERS& STUDENTS etc.ARE SENSELESSLY DISCUSSING IRRELEVANT ISSUES OF THE PAST 5 ...

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

PARLIAMENT IS NOW A JOKE. J.B. DANQUAH ONLY SAT IN PARLIAMENT AS NOMINEE OF THE JPC DROM1951-54. HE NEVER WONANY ELECTIONS IN HIS LIFE. SO WHY WERE ELECTED MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT COMMEMORATING DANQUAH'S DEATH.THE MPs SHOULD RA ...

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

Nkrumah was a communist/socialist dictator and cared less about the democratic rights of ghanaians. Danquah and others who fell victim to Nkrumah's tyrannical and dictatorial rule were freedom fighters and died fighting for ...

• ADONGO 10 years ago

WELL SAID MENSAH,AKOSA HAS SHOCKED ME!!!HYPOCRITE!!!

• LUCK 10 years ago

THEY WERE FIGHTING FOR INDEPENDENCE BUT BEHIND THE SCENE, THEY WERE ON THE PAYROLL OF THE CIA.THIS IS SERIOUS DISHONESTY OF THE FIRST ORDER. MANY OF US DO NOT RESPECT THEM FOR THIS DISHONESTY AND TRAITOROUS ACT. NKRUMAH FOUG ...

• Visionary 10 years ago

I 100% agreed with Dr Akosa that When you live in a country where a certain proportion of the people had taken to nothing but stealing the country assets for their personal gain, gross lies to the people, atempting the wreck ...

• Dr kwadwo kufuor U.S of A 10 years ago

The truth is an offence but not a sin

• ADONGO 10 years ago

Is Akosa getting demented?Only a pathologist will talk this SHIT!!!

• NANA APINTOHENE OF OBURONIKROM 10 years ago

PROF, we know your allegiance to Nkrumahism and the CPP brand is unflinching, and undeniably your right. However your justification for PDA is one too many. Detention without trial was unjustifiably wrong. We had inherited an ...

• SAY IT AS IT IS 10 years ago

Atta Akyea, i think you were not born when all this foolishness was going on in our beloved Ghana, but it is a pity that you and your kind will never be truthful with truth. our people are made to know and believe that whatev ...

• Nana Tawiah 10 years ago

This is the reason why Ghana is in these mess because we have people whose still believe in Nkrumaism and communism No matter their educational background

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

YOUR FRIENDS, IVORY COAST HAS BEEN LICKING THE WHITE A-S-S-ES FOR DECADES, WHERE HAS IT SEND THEM.

CONTINUE BELIEVING IN A SYSTEM THAT WAS NOT DESIGNED FOR AFRICA.

WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT WHITES AND THEIR PROTECTIONISM ...

• Newsite bansah 10 years ago

As they say, hindsight is always 20/20. Looking back at the PDA, people can come up with all sorts of romantic criticisms because they did not live in those times nor live in Nkrumah's shoes.

The opposition Nkrumah face ...

• Asoreba 10 years ago

Prof. Akosa is frustrated that he's not going anywhere with his party. This CPP folks have allowed Rawlings to destroy thier party. They are finished in Ghana

Tensions always rise when we go back to talk about this issue. But we would be better off to learn some lessons from it that can help us deepen our young resurrected Democracy.

People who favor Nkrumah, especially, thos ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

Adu Boahen intentionally set the party on a footing to avoid these divisive debates, but since the Abuakwa people resumed ownership of the NPP, they have been trying to rewrite history and show Nkrumah as bad and themselves a ...

You may be right on the resumption of verbal hostilities surrounding this most sensitive topic. But it takes two to tangle. Therefore we will have to abide by the adage of our Elders that says: "As you admonish the Cat to ref ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WAS IT NOT THE SAME LAW THAT WAS PUT IN ENACTED BY CONGRESS IN GEORGE BUSH TIME OF OFFICE TO FIGHT TERRORISM IN THE US

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

IN FACT, KUFUOR SIGNED TO HAND OVER ANYONE AMERICA DEEMED A TERRORIST ON GHANAIAN SOIL. THIS PEOPLE HAVE NO SHAME TO TALK ABOUT THE PDA. IT WAS FAIR AND JUST BY THEIR OWN STANDARDS.

• Me 10 years ago

What was the state of Ghana at the time of the overthrow of Nkrumah. Apart from the fact that Nkrumah made himself the president for life, the country's economy was also in a mess because of that stupid idea of forming the un ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

I WOULD CHOOSE A DICTATOR WITH A LOVE FOR HIS PEOPLE OVER A TERRORIST WITH A LOVE FOR FOREIGNERS ANYDAY.

This is where I vehemently disagree with the anti-Nkrumah folks like you. Did Nkrumah ever solicit for that kind of Presidency? The fact is his enemies only speculated that his exuberance in championing the African Unity amo ...

• sefah 10 years ago

I am surprised to read about Nkrumah vrs Dankwah when Prof.Akosah was talking about the justification of the use of PDA to deal with political terrorists. This law wae there when the country was ruled by the British and Nkrum ...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

KOTOKA nd crookman..., NARA MPO NOHO YE EHI IN THE AIRPOR, ND..... MORE THAN Dankwa naara mpo with Amen!, nd.....!Ogyamanase yi speaking nd if u play with Naana Nkrumah Dr, i will play with u Femsenfemsen( stero crook of u) A ...

• Alex Kojo Sammy-Paris 10 years ago

nd thancs a lots Mr, Akosa!.....

• Nana HIGH 10 years ago

YES Kwame Nkrumah detained most of his political opponents in order to impose one party state on the good people of ghana . This led to attempt to end his life and his overthrown in 1966 . Nkrumah was a real dictator . Had it ...

• BEN, Takoradi 10 years ago

Protecting the peace in Ghana was far more important than appeasing your ethnic matemeho terrorists.

• SADIQ BRAIMAH 10 years ago

J.B. DANQUAH; OBETSEBI-LAMPTEY; YAW MANU;KOFI ABREFA BUSIA IN MODERN TIMES WITH THE WAR AGAINST TERRORISM COULD HAVE STOOD TRIAL AT THE INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL COURT IN THE HAGUE. THIS IS BECAUSE THESE MEN INTRODUCEMENT TERROR ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

The Preventive Detention Act (PDA) was an Act of Ghana Parliament and not an Order; for, there is a legal difference

- an Act or Legislation is the Law; whereas an Order derives its legal powers from an Act or Legislation

• adwoa kwaku 10 years ago

His words are hollow

• joedusu@yahoo.com 10 years ago

this man has no brains.

• Frank Akoto 10 years ago

Well said, Prof. The PDA was well justified. Has anyone questioned the Americans about prisoners in Guantanamo Bay?

Long live the great ideas of Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah. RIP

• Prof Akosa 10 years ago

I am prof akosua and I speak from my anus. Mekasa fre meto

• Dzifa 10 years ago

Why should anyone think idiotic genes will leave a person once the one undergoes some tutelage? This Akosa is just stupid, period.

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

This kind of stupidity about Akosa are the major disturbances of peace. Nkrumah "the power drunk" proclaimed himself and CPP one party state and president for life. Who gave him such power and authority.He Nkrumah preached ab ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

SO JDB DANQUAH WAS A TERRORIST,SONS LIKE FATHER.

• Meshack 10 years ago

In the early hours of February 24, 1966, the absolutely corrupt Convention People's Party suffered a gargantuan cardiac arrest and gave up the ghost. There was spontaneous jubilation across the length and breadth of the land ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

We wrote about how a man chased his mother's lover with a machete but laid bed for his wife's lover to have sex with the wife right before his very eyes. In the case of Ghana we shall say that such "witted" man even held the ...

• kankanyame u s a 10 years ago

akosa you are the first to be imprisoned for 5 yearsm or 10 years.u are d terrorist liveng in ghana.foolish prof.idiotic man