You are here: HomeNews2014 01 31Article 299371

GPHA fights gov't over $400M Lonrho Ports project

Read Comments Comments (43)

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Has President Mahama the interest of Ghana at heart?

pepeni listens to idiots and fools of the basest gutter morals . even in school everyone knows the essence of a country's development is its basic and primary industry and this is best facilitated by good megaports and railwa ...

• Kay 10 years ago

You thief, get off our backs.

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

It is clear that the MAIN FOCUS of one government after the other is to STEAL AND LOOT. All that John Mahama and NDC are doing are not different from what John Kufour and NPP did. What is wrong with these politicians? but the ...

• Neither NDC Nor NPP 10 years ago

Mahama's corruption-specialization is arranging complicated foreign contracts that allow him to take home a handsome cut, damn the consequences to Ghana. Embraer Brazilian Jet planes, the failed but costly South Korean STX Ho ...

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 10 years ago

NDC CRIMINALS ARE TRYING TO SELL THE WHOLE COUNTRY BEFORE 2016.

• Victor 10 years ago

Such a huge investment will definitely need parlimentary approval.

• ROSE 10 years ago

This paliament is toothless, they are there for their selfish interest.Next elections , Ghanaians must see the back of both sides of the divide.We need people with patriotism, people who will be there for Ghanaians and who ar ...

• kuku hill 10 years ago

this is purely a legal matter. GPHA has all the reserve to seek court injuction to be placed on the project because it has the sole right to develop ports in Ghana. These poiticians are giving us too much trouble. Hannah Tett ...

• George Best. 10 years ago

THE CASE OF FORTIZ IS NOT YET RESOLVED AND THIS IS THE NEXT ONE. WOULD THE ENTIRE COUNTRY NOT HAVE BEEN SOLD OUT BY THE TIME JOHN MAHAMA LEAVES OFFICE?
    GHANA, WHERE ARE WE HEADING TO? WITH ALL THE SALES, WHAT ARE WE SEEING; ...

• Joseph Osei 10 years ago

The legality or illegality of the proposed contract should be determined by the courts of the land.Why give monopoly to the Lonrho Ports to develop and operate such a facility to the detriment of Ghanaians.To me , GPHA fo ...

• NII ADUEMI 10 years ago

DID OUR ANCESTORS AND ELDERS FIGHT IN VAIN FOR SELF-GOVERNMENT AND INDEPENDENCE? HOW CAN A FORWARD LOOKING, PATRIOTIC AND NATIONALISTIC GOVERNMENT APPROVE SUCH A DEAL/CONTRACT? I AM GETTING CONFUSED AND LOSING HOPE FOR MY BEL ...

• Santa 10 years ago

MAHAMA PLEASE STOP THIS IMMEDIATELY OR REGRET LATER

• Senior citizen Br,weig Germany. 10 years ago

Hmmmmmmmmmm,eye asem ooo, There is more to the eyes than you can see.Sometimes polititians ceate problems to the people who voted them to power than they can immagine.No Nation can do away with the body politics but sometimes ...

• zomabi 10 years ago

IF THIS TRANSACTION VIOLATES THE LAWS OF GHANA GPHA MUST GO TO COURT TO STOP IT. PERIOD

• Omanbapa 10 years ago

Kudos GPHA but go beyond your petition. Institute legal action straight away. The law is on your side. Stand firm and keep Ghana viable.

• SHOOTER 10 years ago

Would the relevant authorities, the media, the clergy, the Think Tanks, Parliament, the legal fraternity, Civil society organizations, opinion leaders,the masses seek further information on this issue which has been raised by ...

• Alex 10 years ago

Competition, apparently, is bad for every venture. We are hearing this side of the story and find it's rotten. Before we jump into conclusions or summarily hang the politicians, can we hear the other side so we can make an in ...

• Jones 10 years ago

If this is true especially the exclusivity part, all I ask is what is wrong with Mahama?

• Lydia Jones 10 years ago

A phrase which caught my eyes in the report was ''the company is said to have started mobilization towards the project''. In other words, the company have started preparing to go on site and start working.

You know what th ...

• Catapult 10 years ago

Reckless thieves is what they are.

• Akwasi Asempa 10 years ago

Can GHPA fight its own government which is its boss? What kind of stupidy is this? Someone is bringing US$400 million, and here is a government owned company throwing its weight about. It is only in Ghana that such nonesense ...

• Lydia Jones 10 years ago

I am sorry, Kwasi, You do not appear to understand the issues at stake. The issue is not about a private company doing business in Ghana, it is rather about the government of Ghana not acting in accordance with the establishe ...

• Kobina 10 years ago

No man...I think you got it wrong this time Akwasi! As much as I respect your point of creating opportunities for young people I feel you should be more sensitive to the plight of the nation as a whole. You do not sound like ...

• YAKUBU 10 years ago

Who in the "gov't of Ghana" signed that agreement with Lonrho? Was the decision to sign and give the mandate to Lonrho to build a private free zone port discussed at cabinet level, in view of all the facts as raised by GPHA c ...

• Yaw ADO 10 years ago

Mahama the BIG TIME THIEF

• Yaw ADO 10 years ago

God will surely Bring his judgement at his own Time.

• Sam, Bern 10 years ago

Ghana is getting sick with this administration

• Kanawu 10 years ago

Lonrho Ports is not part of LONRHO Group which is FTSE 100 listed in the London Stock Exchange. So who is conning Ghanaians with the name Lonrho Ports Ltd. We want to know?

• Kobina 10 years ago

What I don't understand is how some people in this country think that for some reason we owe them something!!! When they are elected to serve this nation they begin to act like we owe them some huge amount of money, so they h ...

• Mankind 10 years ago

Will these idiots ever leave a future for our children and grandchildren? Everything in their monkey heads is to fatten their overseas bank accounts!! Has anyone checked the history of Lonrho? How, they took almost all the Sh ...

• kofi gbede 10 years ago

This is a government of create and loot so am not surprise John mahhama is pretending he is unaware he is a direct beneficiary time will catch up with him shameless bole boy

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Lonrho has been in Africa since kingdom come.Owned by an extremely wealthy british vampire of an old man.
    This man has bribed his way through almost every African leader since God knows when.
    Lonrho made Sir Sam Jonah who h ...

• ASSIN BOY 10 years ago

I SWEAR, SAM JONAH KNOWS SOMETHING ABOUT THIS DEAL.HE WILL SOON BE GIVEN A HIGHER AWARD!!!!

• Gandalf 10 years ago

frankly, this whole deal smells like the fish from the T'di sea, not transparent, and crooked even to the simplest of minds. These deals are becoming too much. Expect to hear 'experts' rise from the woodwork to defend this pr ...

• Agebah Toffey 10 years ago

President Mahama and team go ahead and build the port, do not give this contract to any GPHA or a Ghanaian entity.They will squander the money.
    When Dr KWAME Nkrumah was building Akosombo Dam.It was the same Ghanaians who sa ...

• Papa Otu 10 years ago

My heart bleeds when I read some of these stories. This story is not being told by any politician but a mandated body like the GPHA. Mr President stop this rot for Ghanaians to have some faith in you. Thank you.

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Is Mahama not satisfied with the monies he's stolen since his party came to power. I can smell a rat that he has a share if this contract goes through. Are the Ghanaian soldiers watching!!!!!!!

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Gov't must stop this project at once!

This is a rip-off!

Lonhro owns Anglogold which has cheated us of our gold from the colonial times.

Why should we allow them to continue to cheat us again?

• KOGYAM58 10 years ago

A CLEAR CASE OF CREATE,LOOT AND SHARE.THE LEGACY OF NDC.HMM I WOULDN'T BE SURPRISE TO FIND A DESPERATE ARMY OFFICER TAKING OVER THE NATION IF THIS INTRANSIGENCE CONTINUES.

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

Mr. Mahama, for how long do you want your integrity to be drag into the mud? You are always jumping from frying pan into fire, What brand of a person are you? I would have thought that with the insults that people throw at yo ...

• Public Interest Citizen 10 years ago

Under Ghana laws, the GPHA is the only authorized body in Ghana charged to operate and manage ports. The government should direct Lonrho to partner GPHA for the development of this facility. The GPHA has similar arrangements ...

• Public Interest Citizen 10 years ago

With this project announcement, the government is sending the wrong signals to the investor community that there is no predictability and reliance on the laws in this jurisdiction. GPHA is currently seeking investments on the ...