call a spade a spade and tell the people the truth . because the president is so corrupt the whole system follows suit
Fo. Kwaku - Tanyingbe 11 years ago
IS THE OSOFO SAYING THE GOOD LORD WILL EXCUSE CORRUPTION?. STEALING?
ZoRRo 11 years ago
The increase in corruption is due to the sterility of institutions that are supposed to tackle corruption such as the Police Force, BNI, Ministry of Interior, the Court system etc. What is the BNI doing ? Working for the President to get re-elected ! And we have educated people in Ghana, living in this ZOO ?
PRINCE KWASI ADADE 11 years ago
GHANA IS SICK!!! THE CEDI HAS ALREADY DIVED DEEP DOWN!!!!!!!------ GOD WILL NOT FORGIVE NANA ADDO IF HE GIVES UP THE LEADERSHIP OF THE NPP PARTY. HIS LEADERHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC OPPRESSORS.WE CAN'T PUT OUR TRUST IN THESE YOUNG NDC THIEVES (WITH NO WORK RECORD) WHO WANT TO LIVE LIKE KINGS OVERNIGHT, OWNING JETS, BIG MANSIONS, BANKS, ROLLS ROYCE, DATING MODELS ETC. AT THE EXPENSE OF THE POOR. BEING A PRESIDENT REQUIRES THE USE OF BRAIN NOT BRAWN. A PRESIDENT DOES NOT "THROW" PICK AXE!!! WHO CAN DO THE JOB BETTER THAN NANA, AT THIS TIME IN OUR HISTORY, WHERE GREEDY CORRUPT , SHARP TEETH ROTTEN PLANK NDC SMALL BOYS, PARADING AS POLITICIANS, HAVE PLUNDERED OUR RESOURCES TO THE BONE, THAT OUR OIL ECONOMY INHERITED FROM THE GREAT KUFFOUR HAS HAD NO IMPACT ON THE LIVES OF THE ORDINARY CITIZENS OF OUR COUNTRY???? LONG LIVE GHANA!! LONG LIVE NANA ADDO. MORE GREASE TO YOUR ELBOWS!! EVERY THIEF IN GHANA, TODAY, IS SCARED OF BOLD AND MIGHTY NANA ADDO. NANA IS CLEAN !! CLEAN TO THE BONE!!
Apraku 11 years ago
We all live with hopelessness and desperation, but then what Opuni - Frimpong forgot to say is that God created us as his own image, gave us sense , courage, the thought of hard working , endurance and on top of all God blessed us with so many natural resources to live upon.Are we then utilizing all these resources to our benefit?
Fact is that Ghanaians are lazy but they want to be rich , but you can't be rich without you working hard to achieve that aim.
We have created that hopelessness and desperation with the idea of being corrupt to get rich faster with all means and that is wrong. GHANAIANS ARE LAZY !!!!
GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 11 years ago
LOOK AT HIS PINSTRIPPED SUIT AND TELL ME IF HE HIMSELF AINT KURRUPT....
Omanhene(U$A) 11 years ago
Where the hell has this Priest been all these years?? Is he saying that corruption just started because people are desperate and hopeless now or in recent years? That dog wouldn't hunt, Rev!!
Corruption has been in Ghana, ... read full comment
Where the hell has this Priest been all these years?? Is he saying that corruption just started because people are desperate and hopeless now or in recent years? That dog wouldn't hunt, Rev!!
Corruption has been in Ghana, Africa and the world for thousands of years, but because of the proliferation of modern stuff; nice cars, big houses, clothes, vacations, better education for kids, good food, and many other expensive things—which many people can't afford with their actual salaries—corruption has GONE UP to the skies.
So, reverend, it is not only desperation and hopelessness that make people STEAL (just ask the police, lawyers, judges, MPs, etc.), but because of the “LOVE OF WANTS and not NEEDS”—aka, expensive life style—that propel people to steal or be corrupted.
Possible solution: Well, there wouldn't be a perfect solution for corruption anywhere in the world, but if poor countries would learn how to produce some of the luxury things themselves, prices would go down because of quantity (for quality, I beg oh, oga!!), thus making goods and services affordable to help reduce corruption.
But for the NEGRO, nothing made in Africa is kool, so he would still continue to want things from abroad, which he can't afford on his/her salary—so they have STEAL to buy and enjoy, period!!
===========================================================================
APOLO T 11 years ago
If men of God sit down idle for foolish leaders to have their own way, we the less privilage people in society would not forgive them. THEY TALK ON NATIONAL ISSUES AND CONTEST FOR PUBLIC OFFICES.
Homesense 11 years ago
I hold that the reason for corruption in Ghana differ from one social stratum to the other - those in high places on one side and all others on the other.
While pure GREED and INHUMAN feelings account for corruption in peo ... read full comment
I hold that the reason for corruption in Ghana differ from one social stratum to the other - those in high places on one side and all others on the other.
While pure GREED and INHUMAN feelings account for corruption in people in high positions, desperation and hopelessness are the causes for the rest of the populace.
Find out from people from both strata, and you'll realize that the ordinary policeman, for example, need to hire another room for his family (aside the single room given him at the barracks) in order to have a place for his refrigerator. If not, he would have to keep the fridge in the open place in front of his door at the barracks.
But could the same be said of the Minister of State, the Chief or the top businessperson?
Reverend should not have lumped all together like he did.
CARDINAL 11 years ago
Ghana is on the verge of economically collapsing with the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer. Withouy the middle class non-existant in Ghana to buffer the rich 3%, there is going to be a class Warfare and the poor 97% will slaughter the corrupt Politicians and those charged to be custodians of the country resources.
TRUTH 11 years ago
YOU MAY BE RIGHT REVEREND,BUT NOTE THAT IT IS MOSTLY THE ELITE & PRIVILEDGED WHO MOSTLY STEAL FROM THE NATION,INSPITE OF THEIR JUICY EMOLUTIONS.IT IS PURELY SELFISHNESS,GREED,& APATHY TO OTHERS.
ELINAM 11 years ago
The argument started as we're riding from Accra to Tema via motorway, and my contribution has been very clear and blunt to the others who had deep knowledge of the sewer we've found ourselves.
I told them, the dept of this p ... read full comment
The argument started as we're riding from Accra to Tema via motorway, and my contribution has been very clear and blunt to the others who had deep knowledge of the sewer we've found ourselves.
I told them, the dept of this poverty will raise a young man to come do nothing but to slaughter from the east to west and from the north right down to the south, and no king,chief or elders would be able to stop him.
When people are pushed to the wall, and have no other place to run to, God intervenes to set the captives free.
It happened to the Hebrews who found their way to all over what we call today Africa, it repeated itself during during slavery and colonization.
And it happened to the French and the Russians. The Haitians had no other way than to behead their slave masters and burned their sugar plantations.
Always a certain Moses is born to free their people.
Children as early as three can sense gross injustices and inequalities their parents undergo just to feed them and nurse the idea of freeing them one day of their pain. It has been like that and weaved into the DNA as a self-cleansing method. Wise people know this and fools who don't pay dearly for it.
Tibonkoso 11 years ago
Oranges! I think you are just as confused as this 'Man of God'by comparing our situation in Ghana to that of Haiti[particularly under the hated Duvalier family with their tonton macoute]. Both of you are guilty of a deliberate exaggeration,perhaps with a view scoring some cheap political points for a particular political persuation/orintation.
Let`s check the facts before we come up with all these absurd notions and suggestions. What is the rate of suicides in this country,as compared to fatalities in vehicular accidents?
I cannot understand why people who should better,will deliberately try to curreny to patently false explantions/causes to the genuiene problems we face as a society, which have no factual foundation!
When church over-emphasize instant prosperity rather than hardwork,sacrifice and patience,what do we expect to happen? How do we as a nation,sinificantly better the lives of the maass of our people,by focusing on "Kotob3ton"[buy and selling],thus creating employment opportunities for outsiders like the Chinese,Americans, Europeans, etc?
How many of our vocal churches and civil society groups have set to encourage and promote the growth of of our local indudtries? All we hear about are agitations to lower import duties on items like cars and other consumer goods,as though such a measure will get us out of our economic predicament! We hear a certain group of people point gleefully to the new oil,and create the impression that it is going is going to remedy our woes,when,in fact the revenue-sharing agreement negotiated by these same people,permits our so-called partners and their Ghanaian front-men, to keep a whopping 90% share!
And btw,when you talk about "the people" do you include the Heads of second cycle insitutions who illegally charge 300-400% fees to students,or the chiefs/family elders who sell lands to locals,as well as foreigners, to destroy our waterbodies and farmlands through galamsey operations?
In a large measure,we are the authors of our miserable life-story! The greed and vanity that engulfed this nation,knows no bounds; and unless we radically change our mindset,the emergence of a Moses, Jesus, or Mohammed will not help.
What are these new 'Messianic' figures you are prophesying going to do; wipe the slate clean?
We Ghanains have been pushing ourselves to to the wall you are talking about.
Asuo-Amponsah 11 years ago
Not committing suicide? When you listen or read some of these deliberately crafted statements,you can decipher the hidden political messages embeded in them! Tune in into any of the Radio stns in this country,and you will be amazed! How can we make any meaningful progress,when citizens are lured to endless prayer sessions - consultations, one-on one counselling encounters[and only heaven knows what actually goes on behind those closed doors]Friday all-night prayers 'virgils',special days for group fasting & prayers, testimonies, etc. In the meantime,we have been inundated with filth along the lenght and breath of this once beautiful and well-kept nation!
Let these senior church leaders deal with some of these issues in their own backyard before casting aspertions on others! They should stick to the late Prof Atta-Mills` dictum,"Dzi wo fie asem".
Nana Ansah 11 years ago
Cardinal, welcome to the class struggle in Ghana/Africa. Kwame Nkrumah observed it and wrote it down in his book "Class Struggle In Africa"
some 50 years ago. Cardinal, don't let the inequality gap get you down but it all po ... read full comment
Cardinal, welcome to the class struggle in Ghana/Africa. Kwame Nkrumah observed it and wrote it down in his book "Class Struggle In Africa"
some 50 years ago. Cardinal, don't let the inequality gap get you down but it all points the conclusion you made that one day there will be an uprising and the 99% poor will hold the corrupt politicians and those charged to be custodians of the cnation's resources accountable. It will be messy.
I am afraid the charlatan pastor can spare us the lame excuses. They are all involved in this huge swindle.In Ghana/Africa thugs and charlatan politicians cum pastors who know the loopholes in the system plan and delibrately steal from the national coffers. Do you call that desperation and hopelesness? I call it criminal intent.
Malawi has been hit with a colossal corruption due to Africans gigantic appetite for material things. They steal in the name of everything. You name it and the pastors get their share of the booty. That is the way it works. Why do think our clueless politicians run to pastors each now and then? Politicians are supposed to lead and not run to prayer camps when they are at their wit ends. We nned a new brand of leadership free from religion. Our leaders should keep their religion to themselves. They were elected to better the lot of the people not themselves. So if they are not ready to fulfil that obligation they must give way to those who will commit themselves to improving Ghana/Africa for the good of all.
Ali 11 years ago
You are right, Kwaku to ask that question Desperation could have led the lord to corruption. So there fore he is corrupt. If not why? He steals from the tithe of his congregation and that is not corruption. Thieving men of God
DER-GBAALE 11 years ago
What the General Secretary is saying is complete rubbish. Hopelessnss and Desperation? Who is to give them hope and affirmation? The Government? Waaaa look oh!!
MR OBJECTIVE 11 years ago
GODs ANGER ON john,the president,MAHAMA;the SHYLOCK ruler of Ghana.
Onipaba of Akyem Maase 11 years ago
The religious organizations in our dear nation have all the moral rights to express concern about the corrupt regime we have now. Mahama and his corrupt government should not loose sight of the fact that these noble institutions of faith are the heartbeats of the countries economic development. Talk about education, health, agriculture and community mobilization which form our economic pillars have been offered for free to compliment government effort. While government on its own cannot provide a fraction of these services to the citizenry, it unfortunately mismanages and fleece on these philanthropic provisions to the detriment of the same tithe givers. Why then should government agents like Kwakye Ofosu lambast the Obuasi Methodist bishop for his criticism? Now is the time. I expect our muslim community to express same. Long live Ghana, Long live NPP, Long live Nana Addo.
Nii Tsokor 11 years ago
We have heard more than enough of this talking.Everybody is talking about this and that.Why not act to arrest these problems rather than talk ?
MR OBJECTIVE 11 years ago
THEN HE prez MUST LISTEN TO THE ECONOMIC-WISEMEN like DR BAWUMIA and other NPP economic-gurus to arrest the problems.
Fo. Kwaku - Tanyingbe 11 years ago
WHAT DOES THE RT.REV.SAY ABOUT STEALING OF COLLECTIONS FROM HIS CHURCH
John,Tema 11 years ago
Did you read the story carefully,go back to it b4 you comment.Or probably you thought it was only against your party.
Obournana 11 years ago
Though, everybody is entitled to his/her opinion, we should be circumspect about what we say in the public. Ghanaians including most intellectuals lack critical thinking. Does that means the ex-president Kuffour Ghana's Ambassador to US who dubiously formed a company with other crony to obtain 3.5% share in Ghana's oil production was hopeless and desperate? What about the Drill ship money. All those involved were men who had good positions with good pay and allowance. Look at Woyome's deal and those involved in the transaction. Pastors should stop using their pulpits for politics because it exposes how ignorant they are and who they actually are. Being a pastor is different from a politician. Pastors should not lie but speak the truth because God abhors lies. Politicians lie to fool the people to win election and to get rich. Pastors and Politicians are totally different.
DKB 11 years ago
Where is the lie in what the pastor said? Because it is against your party see how you quickly responded with your comment roping NPP into the discussion. Shame on you. Like a thief or an evil minded person who finds himself in church one day thinks the whole sermon is criticsing him when it's not.
Kondua 11 years ago
Thanks DKB. We need to continuously put some sense into these shallow minds. They think life is all about political parties.
Obournana 11 years ago
You just a follower who never reason but just copy people blindly. Did you read my comment to understand it? I am saying it is not hopelessness that bring corruption because those who commit corrupt practice are well to do and good positions in society. Are those people hopeless? No, not at all but greed and selfishness. That is al I am saying so why the insult. You are rather shallow-minded because you lack wisdom and knowledge to analyse issues.
Obournana 11 years ago
I believe you didn't understand what I said. I don't blame you. Did I mention both NPP and NDC or not. It's not your fault but nature has made you this way. Go back and read my comment.
Mansah 11 years ago
How can a government be run by people described by their leader as greedy bastards, evil dwarfs, babies with sharp teeth etc? How can a leader accept the fact that he is visionless, planless and continue in circles? All things that begin shall come to an end. Thus these stealers should remember this and should be ready for accountability to the people first and God second. Not just talk talk talk and talk, conferences, conferences, workshops workshops; we want action.
Speedy Gonzalez 11 years ago
Corruption is a crime borne out of greed and selfishness.Most of these public servants who commit these outrageous crimes are neither desperate nor hopeless,i therefore disagree with this assertion.These people are criminals and the man of God should not get confused.Very often the men of God dabbles in topics they are not good at,but because of their position,they will say anything to be heard.I hope the next time he gets another platform,he would discourage the public about the crimes of corruption and the effects it has on the economy.Our religious leaders are becoming too political and that is having negative effect on their followers who not well informed.
AB 11 years ago
What about corruption in your church. When corrupt members brings the corrupt 10% of tithe you accept it. What about that one too.
Zangina 11 years ago
Let us all support the church to say what is right or wrong in the society. Our silence or condemnation of people who come out to criticize wrong doing is what has brought about all this chaos in the system. Now the society and the government are corrupt and we must say it
Mr Bond 11 years ago
Talk about immoral lifestyles among pastors and Christians first.
KAY- FADAMA 11 years ago
ITS THE BAD ECONOMY THATS MAKES THE CITIZENS BEHAVE THIS WAY!...THE YOUTHS ARE NOW SMOKING WEE ALL THE TIME. DRINKING STUPIDLY BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO BUSY WORK DOING.. WE SMOKE WEE TO RELEASE TENSION BECAUSE THERE IS NOT EVEN A JOB FOR US.. NDC FOOLS
Mr Bond 11 years ago
WE know that majority of our MPS and ministers are simply thieves and they should never have been elected to any office. That said, it is uncharacteristic for Christians to engage in immoral lifestyles as is the case with many Christians, no matter what the situation is. They are to trust their God who never fails to give them their daily food. I think that make sense!
KWESI 11 years ago
HELLO ARE U HAVING PROBLEMS IN FILLING YOUR USA VISA APPLICATION FORMS OR BOOKING AN APPOINTMENT? IF THE ANSWER IS YES THEN CONTACT AN EXPERT IN THIS FOR SUPPORT. WE HAVE HELPED A LOT OF PEOPLE TO GET THEIR VISAS SINCE LAST YEAR. WHO KNOWS IT MAYBE YOUR TURN?FORGET ABOUT THE PAST AND START FRESH WITH US.WE ARE LOCATED IN CANTOMENTS ACCRA NEAR THE USA EMBASSY. CALL 0249318847 FOR FURTHER INFO. THANKS
Salifu Hamdu 11 years ago
WE NEED INSPIRATIONAL SPEECH LIKE THIS IN OUR DAILY LIFE. GOD BLESS THIS MAN
Koo Nimo 11 years ago
Lets us call a spade a spade and name names: President Mahama siphoned off states money via GYEEDA for his presidential campaign. We are all now paying the price. President Mahama should put his hand up and admit that he is corrupt
Honestman 11 years ago
Politicians have failed Ghana, wake up religious leaders, preach the truth in mosques, churches to restore moral values once again.have heard of NDC and NPP say anything about morals as basis for fighting corruption NO,they cant say it, they are all big thieves.Look 2NPP=NDC means one is smarter and cover up and make a lot of noise about corruption.Religious leaders do not compromise now, rise up GOD is giving you the responsibility to restore hope to the country.
Akwasi (london) 11 years ago
Itis not enough to condemn the wanton greed and selfishness of our politicians. The Council must also give voice to the voiceless as well as hope to the hopeless.This could be done by using the power that they have to preach liberation Christianity and as well as being bold enough to offer non partisan oppositional critique to the policies and practices that foster desperation and hopeless in our society.
M. Y 11 years ago
Leaders and Pastors in ghana dont let people see GODS GLORY, our Father has given us every thing that will makes HES children rich,but has the leaders are stolen it, the pastors too are making people poor from collections for their needs,woe on to u, because HE is coming soon.
Isaac-HAMBURG, GERMANY 11 years ago
Ghana needs a leader.The President we have now is visionless.He is just a figure head.
NANA SAKA 11 years ago
do you juju powerful man from bening to ghana there is powerful man in ghana stop let others cheate you sikaduro
is not about taking more money to juju
there is old man from zugu in ghana
if you need ring that turns to sna ... read full comment
do you juju powerful man from bening to ghana there is powerful man in ghana stop let others cheate you sikaduro
if you need ring that turns to snake to vommet money if you need belt that voment money if you need magic mirro to command any money if you need motia for business lost medicine knife medicine fight medicine if you have storre you want them to buys your product any product you sell aday the money double at the store them get to this man he will not leave in ghana for more time ok 0342197527
[From: benin spritual man for holidays ]
DIANA-SALTPOND 11 years ago
BREAKING NEWS!! GHANA IS DEAD!!!
PAT 11 years ago
GYEEDA SADA SUBAH FORTIZ, WOYOME, CP, ETC ETC AND YET CHRISTIAN COUNCIL FAILED TO RAISE THEIR VOICES,,,,,,NOW THE COUNTRY IS DESTROYED BY CORRUPT POLITICIANS AND SO WE ARE ON THE DECLINE VERY FAST......THIS NDC CAME WITH AGENDA TO STEAL AND STEAL AND STEAL AND THAT IS WHY BETTYMOULD AND BARTON ODRO QUICKLY LAUNCHED INTO PAYING FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS EVEN THO NORTHERNERS AND EWES AND FANTIS WHO ARE THEIR STRONGHOLDS ARE SO DESPERATELY POOR AND IN DIRE NEED OF ECONOMIC INFRASTRUCTURE FOR DEVELOPMENT.....THEN THEY FOLLOWED UP WITH GYEEDA, SADA, SUBAH, FORTIZ, BUILDING SIX CLASSROOM BLKS FOR 350,000.00 GHC EACH INSTEAD OF THE 80,000.00 NPP WAS BUILDING....THEN 8.7 BILLION GHC OVEREXPENDITURE IN 2012 JUST FOR MAHAMA AND NDC TO WIN ELECTIONS......WE ARE DEAD IN THE HANDS OF THIS WICKED NDC GOVT...
KANE 11 years ago
TO MAKE IT "BIG TIME" IN GHANA, JUST GO INTO GHANA POLITICS OR BE A PROMINENT PARTY FUNCTIONARY LIKE TSATSU TSIKATA AND WOYOME ARE, GET A BIG POLITICAL APPOINTMENT OR CONTRACT OR WHATEVER, THEN CREATE, LOOT BIG, SHARE PART OF THE LOOT AMONG ALL STAKEHOLDERS AND GO SCOT-FREE.
FOR INSTANCE
IF I WENT INTO POLITICS AND LOOTED US$50 MILLION, GOT CAUGHT, THEN SHARED US$20 MILLION OF THE US$50 MILLION LOOT AMONG THE JUDGES, THE POLICE, THE EXECUTIVE, LEGISLATURE, THE PRESS AND WALK FREE, I MAKE A COOL PROFIT OF A WHOPPING US$30 MILLION.
THAT'S WHY WOYOME, WEREKO-BROBBEY, TSATSU TSIKATA, ASABEE, MPIANI, ADDO KUFUOR, JOHN KUFUOR, ISAAC EDUMADZE, TOTOBI-KWAKYE AND MANY MANY OTHER LEADERS OR EX-LEADERS OF STATE INSTITUTIONS ARE STILL WALKING FREE IN GHANA.
IN A COUNTRY WHERE ALL THE STATE INSTITUTIONS ARE STRUCTURALLY UNSOUND, WEAK AND CORRUPT FROM TOP TO BOTTOM, INCLUDING THE EXECUTIVE, THE JUDICIARY, THE LEGISLATURE, THE POLICE AND THE PRESS, THAT'S THE HIGH LEVELS OF CORRUPTION YOU GET.
SO THE HIGH LEVELS OF CORRUPTION AND CRIME IN GHANA HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH DESPERATION AND HOPELESSNESS OR THE FEELING OF A BLEAK FUTURE.
HIGH LEVELS OF CORRUPTION AND CRIME IN GHANA HAVE A LOT TO DO WITH VERY WEAK AND CORRUPT INSTITUTIONS WHOSE MAIN JOB IS TO MAINTAIN CHECKS AND BALANCES IN ANY ECONOMIC SYSTEM LIKE GHANA'S.
US PRESIDENT BARAK OBAMA, ON HIS LAST VISIT TO GHANA, MADE THIS VERY VERY CLEAR, IN BLACK AND WHITE, TO GHANAIANS AND ALL THEIR LEADERSHIP.
OTCHERE DARKO 11 years ago
Woyomi was not poor and needy when he cheated!
JENGBERA JENGBE 11 years ago
I'm uncomfortable with this subtle encouragement from a man of God that it's alright to cheat and steal. Isn't sin sin no matter how small? The theft which hurts us and our country is committed more by the haves than the have-nots. The building inspector at my Municipal Assembly who embezzled £27,000 is not destitute. Kufuor wasn't a poor man before he made his sons into millionaires. Was Woyome homeless and leking out a hopeless existence? This pastor really ought to have listened to himself. And what's this rubbish about suicides? Does he hae the statistics to back an assertion that suicides are on the rise? I cannot believe this!
PAT 11 years ago
WHEN NARROW AND SHALLOW BRAINS LIKE SOLOMON NKANSAH, ANITA DESOSU, ALLOTEY JACOBS, ETC ETC ARE LEFT TO PLAY THEIR TRIBAL POLITICS AND ALLOW THE NDC TO DESTROY AND DESTROY THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS TO US.....THIS NDC CAME WITH AGENDA TO STEAL AND STEAL AND STEAL AND THAT IS WHY BETTYMOULD AND BARTON ODRO QUICKLY LAUNCHED INTO PAYING FAKE JUDGEMENT DEBTS EVEN THO NORTHERNERS AND EWES AND FANTIS WHO ARE THEIR STRONGHOLDS ARE SO DESPERATELY POOR AND IN DIRE NEED OF ECONOMIC INFRASTRUCTURE FOR DEVELOPMENT.....THEN THEY FOLLOWED UP WITH GYEEDA, SADA, SUBAH, FORTIZ, BUILDING SIX CLASSROOM BLKS FOR 350,000.00 GHC EACH INSTEAD OF THE 80,000.00 NPP WAS BUILDING....THEN 8.7 BILLION GHC OVEREXPENDITURE IN 2012 JUST FOR MAHAMA AND NDC TO WIN ELECTIONS......WE ARE DEAD IN THE HANDS OF THIS WICKED NDC GOVT...
Joel Asiamah 11 years ago
I indeed pity this so-called Reverend.For this Reverend (Dr.) to attribute the difficulties Ghana is going through simply to 'desperation and hopelessness' tells me that he is one of the Reverends who read the Bible as a story book and as the word of God.
Can this Reverend tell me why in spite of years of preaching the gospel, church members still maintain their stony hearts? Has this Reverend read the prophecies in the Bible about happenings in the last days? Has this Reverend come across 2 Tim. 3:1-3 of the Bible? Honestly, workers of the gospel are the real causes and not 'desperation and hopelessness' for the difficulties around the world and for that matter Ghana. Materialism has become the hallmark of most workers of God in the country that when they pray the Lord ignores their pleas. God's workers will want to buy lands and build huge mansions, buy the latest 4-wheel vehicles, wear designer suits and expensive shoes, eat in the best restaurants, send their kids to the best schools in the country and outside institutions; indeed, all practices of the 'evildoers' are unconsciously being done by these Reverends and Pastors in the country. Is it possible that because the so-called Arch-bishops, Bishops, Reverends, Prophets and the workers of the gospel have incurred the wrath of God is the reason of the difficulties in Ghana today?
This is the time the workers of God should manifest abundant faith in the Lord and stop project 'desperation and hopelessness' to the people - the heathen will laugh and say 'ye men of little faith'
Heb 10:23 says we should hold fast the faith without wavering because Our Lord will surely fulfill his promises. Why are our Reverends and Bishops wavering in the faith? Our Reverends have the right to speak about events in the country, but should remember that their pronouncements must edify God who has given us the spirit of love and not fear. Some of our Reverends need the prayers of the saints so that they will have the gift of spiritual discernment and holy spirit to God's work earnestly in this last days.
In a very short time to come, the Lord will expose the 'wolves in sheep skin' and like Judas, God's wrath will befall them one after the other.
My beloved brothers in the faith let us not allow events in the country to cause panic and wavering in our faith;let us put our trust and hope in the Lord who never fails in HIS promises; the gospel work is extensive and so let us focus on the sheep because we shall given account of how we shepherded them.
Nii 11 years ago
Don't blame corruption (evil deeds of people) on desperation and hopelessness. Is more of greedy, selfishness and dishonesty of those Ghanaians that lead them into corruption and stealing. There are many, many Ghanaians who are desperate and hopeless but never corrupt.
goofy 11 years ago
IF THERE IS NO UNITY EVERYONE BE COME DESPERATION AND HOPELESS
Abeeku Mensah 11 years ago
Ghana's Christian Council must be the most corrupt institution in the country if they continue to release press statements like the one they just did. The leaders of the various churches that make up the council are either stupid or need to do some serious praying for God to give them wisdom. They have to be blind, deft and dumber not to have seen bribery and corruption anytime in Ghana till now.
There has not been a single member of parliament and or a person at an administrative post in any of the civil service agencies in Ghana who has not been or is not corrupt. The test of bribery and corruption can easily be verified by matching the official salaries/wages against their respective personal and family assets. What the Christian council is engaged in is nothing short of selective outrage brought on or induced by political and or tribal bias. They should pray for God's wisdom and blessing and stop the childish games they play. Can anyone of them explain how anyone in Ghana with more than $2million in assets came by their riches?
Mr Bond 11 years ago
Yes, you are right! "There has not been a single member of parliament and or a person at an administrative post in any of the civil service agencies in Ghana who has not been or is not corrupt. The test of bribery and corruption can easily be verified by matching the official salaries/wages against their respective personal and family assets."
Opener 11 years ago
If they do not speak according to this word(Word of God/Jesus) then there is no truth in them.
Another scripture: You believe in lying words that profit not.
When we listen and believe ling words them we would not profit us ... read full comment
If they do not speak according to this word(Word of God/Jesus) then there is no truth in them.
When we listen and believe ling words them we would not profit us in the long run
Opener 11 years ago
Paul and the church sold and shared. Why don't the church share collection among church members who are hopeless and desperate?
kwabena ohemeng,london 11 years ago
I will be very surprised if Ghanaians vote the NPP and the NDC into power again.These two parties have woefully failed to deliver the hope and prosperity Ghanaians yearn for.Ghanaians should choose between the NPP and the NDC which have failed the nation and the CPP which believes in a united nation moving forward for progress and prosperity for all Ghanaians.The mission of the CPP'IS TO MAKE GHANA PROSPEROUS FOR ALL(RICH,POOR,EDUCATED,NON_EDUCATED,THE SICK,THE DISABLED) TO ENJOY'.
TANTE 11 years ago
same selfishness has infected the cpp with everybody wanting to be presidential candidate. even the chairperson Samia who failed as a parliamentarian and failed big time as party chairman has now declared she wants to contest presidency in 2016. how can such a poorly managed party manage the country. ndc and npp failure is not equal to cpp success. so dont decieve yourself. you must get your party in order first before ghanaians can beleive that you can implement the ideas you propose. so far it is all talk and talk is cheap. examine yourselves honestly.
GoodMan - Kumasi 11 years ago
AND SO THE CHURCH IS NOW CORRUPT.CORRUPTION EVERYWHERE.HYPOCRICY EVERYWHERE AND ALSO IN THE CHURCH AS WELL.
TEE 11 years ago
WHY DONT WE GHANAIANS GO FOR DEMONSTRATION AGAINST MAHAMA FOR REFERENDUM. WHAT ARE GHANAIANS WAITING FOR AND ONLY JUST TALKING. WE SHOULD STOP THE TALK AND ACT PERIOD. WHAT HELP ARE WE TO GIVE TO MAHAMA? HE SAID HE WON THE ELECTION SO LET HIM RULE, WHO THE CAP FIT LET HIM WEAR IT PERIOD
TEE 11 years ago
MAHAMA THE USELESS HOPELESS AIMLESS VISIONLESS CLUELESS LEADER GHANA HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED PERIOD. WELL NEXT TIME I THINK GHANAIANS WILL THINK TWICE WHEN VOTING
Asem Beba. 11 years ago
The calamity befalling Ghana now was created by our so called leaders, empty-headed, visionless leaders; spearheaded by that notorious JJ Rawlings. They are close to the money and so dip their hands into it, sell property to themselves just as the Merchant Bank or whatever has been sold to Mahama's brother. Where did he get the money to pay for it? In which bank account was the money sitting when he withdrew either through a cheque or in cash to make the payment? Our leaders and family and partners in crime are running Ghana down. Now the answer to the citizenry hardship is simple. If they steal the money during the day, you attack them with guns, bows snd arrows, clubs and machets for all of the money during the night!!! If poor leaders who turn rich overnight are attacked daily they will start thinking.
Anali 11 years ago
Corruption is in your DNA.
Concerned citizen 11 years ago
Listen to a so called Revn. Minister. Giviving an excuse for crime! How many within the grassroots get the chance to commit pen and paper armed robbery? Isn't those in high places including the so called men of God, with their numerous houses,cars and propertie? You must be ashamed of youself,Revn. Minister; for finding excuse for crime!!! What good example are you setting fo the youth?
Samy 11 years ago
Corruption started seriously from our junior Jesus JJ who everybody jumped for joy when he came onto the scene empty killing generals and all manner of business folks he perceived to be rich or had various assets under the deceiving theme so to say house cleaning but lo and behold what happened and what do we see now he and his family now have all manner of assets,booties and riches so since that era corruption has become almost accepted as a norm cutting through the very fabric of our society because every folk also want to rich and also get the booties the JJs have if not even more.So look back and you see folks such as Totobi Kwakye,Huudu Yaaya,Tsikata etc.are all now rich so talk all you want about corruption and it is just like talking hollow into the air because now it is everywhere police,army,churches,customs,ministries of education,lands,forestry cocoa etc.so just sit back and think through the whole canker.It can only be solved if JJ and family agree to give all their booties back to the state then that will start to send a huge message to eeveryone.Thanks.
GC/USA 11 years ago
REALLY??????? GHANAIANS ACCEPT YOUR SALARY, LIVE WITHIN YOUR MEANS, WORK HARD; NOT 10AM TO 3PM, WHEN THE COUNTRY IS PRODUCTIVE SALARIES WILL IMPROVE. BE VIGILANT CITIZENS TO UPROOT THE BAD TREES.
Yaw 11 years ago
Where was this man of God when Thief Kuffour and cronies were chopping waawaa.
Rev Isaac 11 years ago
He was the General Secretary by then
Zip Up 11 years ago
Rev Dr Opuni you might be right that hopelessness could be the cause of Ghana been engulfed with Corruption, but I think it is not exactly so, it is rather Imperial Colonial Polical Intimidation mounted upon the Indigineous People of this Country for far too long so that it has zipped and sealed the mouth and brain of common Man in this country to such and such extend that we are engulf with fears and trembles so much that we are unable to question the Corrupt Political fablic in this Country, This Country has become a kind of George Owell's Animal Farm,anyway Rev Dr Opuni less I forget Christainity is also a Colonial Tool
Songachebe 11 years ago
Still people do not understand what corruption is about. It is mostly government officials are corrupt (political parties). The rest of the population may be dishonest.
KWAA 11 years ago
Most Ghanaians are primitive,all they for is NOW,they forget there will be tommorrow.They say even the Bible says don`t think about tommorrow,for tommorrow will take care of itself,what a people.
Therefore people will do ev ... read full comment
Most Ghanaians are primitive,all they for is NOW,they forget there will be tommorrow.They say even the Bible says don`t think about tommorrow,for tommorrow will take care of itself,what a people.
Therefore people will do everything,like stealing,corruption,even killing to make money to live for now.So most Ghanaians have lost any sense of moral responsibility,Pastors are noit ashamed to use Church money as their on property,Politicians don`t feel guilty,hen they steal from the nation.Even 16year olds are in "juju" to make money.What a shame
It is only education which can help us as a Nation to come out of this vicious circle.
Education is expensive,and unfortunately Ghanaians have rejected free education,because they live for today,and a day doesn`t need education to be lived.
Untill atleast 95% of Ghanaians have basic(minimum)education,we are going nohere.
K. O. Amaning 11 years ago
This sermon has contributed immensely to my fading belief that there might still be some religious leaders out there who still allow the spirit of good(God) to inhabit their minds rather than the obsession with money,prestige and power.God bless you Pastor.
xhlemiso 11 years ago
Nonsense! There is corruption because it is tolerated. You have a police force whom we pay salaries to, we provide them with uniforms, housing, we provide them with vehicles and most important invest them with the AUTHORITY to stop anyone regardless. We give them everything so they can work for us the people and yet they go out there and blatantly and openly engage in extortion. Openly collecting fines on the spot and pocketing it. This is going on every minute of the day in every part of the country. This vile institution must be thoroughly transformed and changed. Hopelessness is not the cause it is lack of enforcement and an incredible tolerance on the part of the people.
Agya muha 11 years ago
pastor u ve done well. paaa
de country is not moving well de prez even know
jacob ayab 11 years ago
the president first gear is not favouring ghanaians at all and the economy is realily a hell.things are knocking things because there is no real measures to tackle the corruption issues in the country and i bet you that if situation continuous this way,the will not be peace in the country because ghanaians are taking for granted;jokes.
naa 11 years ago
keep blaming our leaders alone for a whole national problem. you are not doing anyone any favours. go after all the leaders in the country and let let the corrupt citizens who have been collecting bribes be and see if we will go any where. if austerity was the problem, may be the police with their single spine salaries would not take bribes anymore. but now they even dont take one cedi anymore. call the leaders our..... and call the citizens out too. that will be useful.
Paa Kodwo 11 years ago
SOFO PAYIN.
PLEASE,IT IS NOT THE QUESTION OF DESPERATION AND HPOLESSNESS THAT ARE THE CAUSES OF CORRUPTION IN GHANA.
WHEN A COUNTRY DOES NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO DELIVER IN SCIENCE AND USE TECHNOLOGY AS A DRIVE TO INNOVA ... read full comment
SOFO PAYIN.
PLEASE,IT IS NOT THE QUESTION OF DESPERATION AND HPOLESSNESS THAT ARE THE CAUSES OF CORRUPTION IN GHANA.
WHEN A COUNTRY DOES NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO DELIVER IN SCIENCE AND USE TECHNOLOGY AS A DRIVE TO INNOVATION TO TURN THE WHEELS OF INDUSTRILIZATION TO STIMULATE ECONOMIC GROWTH, JOBS, INCOME AND QUALITY OF LIFE, ITS CITIZENS BECOME CRIMINALS, THIEVES AND CROOKS AND USE ALL AVENUES TO STEAL AND PLUNDER THE RESOURCES OF THE MATION FOR THEIR OWN SELFISH INTERESTS.
ANOTHER SERIOUS PROBLEM LIES ALSO AT THE PUBLIC SECTOR WHERE ITS EMPLOYEES ARE STILL UNSKILLED IN FINANCE, MANAGEMENT AND ADMINSTRATION,GIVING WAY TO OFFICERS TO MANIPULATE AND EMBEZZLE STATE RESOURCES.
LASTLY TO MAKE THINGS WORSE, MOST OF THE PEOPLE THEN USE POLITICS AS A PREOCCUPATION TO SATISFY THEIR LIFE STYLES.
IN SUCH A VICIOUS CIRCLE,THE COUNTRY BECOMES BACKWARD, UNDEERRDEVELOPED AND EXTREME POOR.
WITHOUT A COMPLETR OVERHAUL OF THE SYSTEM, WE WILL NEVER FALL SHORT OF THESE ARGUMENTS AND ARTICLES.
Babs 11 years ago
Including the pen thiefs are they also desperate looking for more to steal Pastor
The increase in corruption is due to the sterility of institutions that are supposed to tackle corruption such as the Police Force, BNI, Ministry of Interior, the Court system etc. What is the BNI doing ? Working for the Pres ...
GHANA IS SICK!!! THE CEDI HAS ALREADY DIVED DEEP DOWN!!!!!!!------ GOD WILL NOT FORGIVE NANA ADDO IF HE GIVES UP THE LEADERSHIP OF THE NPP PARTY. HIS LEADERHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WIL ...
We all live with hopelessness and desperation, but then what Opuni - Frimpong forgot to say is that God created us as his own image, gave us sense , courage, the thought of hard working , endurance and on top of all God bless ...
Corruption has been in Ghana, ...
While pure GREED and INHUMAN feelings account for corruption in peo ...
Ghana is on the verge of economically collapsing with the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer. Withouy the middle class non-existant in Ghana to buffer the rich 3%, there is going to be a class Warfare and the poo ...
I told them, the dept of this p ...
Oranges! I think you are just as confused as this 'Man of God'by comparing our situation in Ghana to that of Haiti[particularly under the hated Duvalier family with their tonton macoute]. Both of you are guilty of a delibera ...
Not committing suicide? When you listen or read some of these deliberately crafted statements,you can decipher the hidden political messages embeded in them! Tune in into any of the Radio stns in this country,and you will be ...
some 50 years ago. Cardinal, don't let the inequality gap get you down but it all po ...
You are right, Kwaku to ask that question Desperation could have led the lord to corruption. So there fore he is corrupt. If not why? He steals from the tithe of his congregation and that is not corruption. Thieving men of Go ...
The religious organizations in our dear nation have all the moral rights to express concern about the corrupt regime we have now. Mahama and his corrupt government should not loose sight of the fact that these noble instituti ...
Though, everybody is entitled to his/her opinion, we should be circumspect about what we say in the public. Ghanaians including most intellectuals lack critical thinking. Does that means the ex-president Kuffour Ghana's Ambas ...
Where is the lie in what the pastor said? Because it is against your party see how you quickly responded with your comment roping NPP into the discussion. Shame on you. Like a thief or an evil minded person who finds himself ...
You just a follower who never reason but just copy people blindly. Did you read my comment to understand it? I am saying it is not hopelessness that bring corruption because those who commit corrupt practice are well to do an ...
How can a government be run by people described by their leader as greedy bastards, evil dwarfs, babies with sharp teeth etc? How can a leader accept the fact that he is visionless, planless and continue in circles? All thing ...
Corruption is a crime borne out of greed and selfishness.Most of these public servants who commit these outrageous crimes are neither desperate nor hopeless,i therefore disagree with this assertion.These people are criminals ...
Let us all support the church to say what is right or wrong in the society. Our silence or condemnation of people who come out to criticize wrong doing is what has brought about all this chaos in the system. Now the society a ...
ITS THE BAD ECONOMY THATS MAKES THE CITIZENS BEHAVE THIS WAY!...THE YOUTHS ARE NOW SMOKING WEE ALL THE TIME. DRINKING STUPIDLY BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO BUSY WORK DOING.. WE SMOKE WEE TO RELEASE TENSION BECAUSE THERE IS NOT EVEN A ...
WE know that majority of our MPS and ministers are simply thieves and they should never have been elected to any office. That said, it is uncharacteristic for Christians to engage in immoral lifestyles as is the case with man ...
HELLO ARE U HAVING PROBLEMS IN FILLING YOUR USA VISA APPLICATION FORMS OR BOOKING AN APPOINTMENT? IF THE ANSWER IS YES THEN CONTACT AN EXPERT IN THIS FOR SUPPORT. WE HAVE HELPED A LOT OF PEOPLE TO GET THEIR VISAS SINCE LAST Y ...
Lets us call a spade a spade and name names: President Mahama siphoned off states money via GYEEDA for his presidential campaign. We are all now paying the price. President Mahama should put his hand up and admit that he is c ...
Politicians have failed Ghana, wake up religious leaders, preach the truth in mosques, churches to restore moral values once again.have heard of NDC and NPP say anything about morals as basis for fighting corruption NO,they c ...
Itis not enough to condemn the wanton greed and selfishness of our politicians. The Council must also give voice to the voiceless as well as hope to the hopeless.This could be done by using the power that they have to preach ...
Leaders and Pastors in ghana dont let people see GODS GLORY, our Father has given us every thing that will makes HES children rich,but has the leaders are stolen it, the pastors too are making people poor from collections fo ...
if you need ring that turns to sna ...
GYEEDA SADA SUBAH FORTIZ, WOYOME, CP, ETC ETC AND YET CHRISTIAN COUNCIL FAILED TO RAISE THEIR VOICES,,,,,,NOW THE COUNTRY IS DESTROYED BY CORRUPT POLITICIANS AND SO WE ARE ON THE DECLINE VERY FAST......THIS NDC CAME WITH AGEN ...
TO MAKE IT "BIG TIME" IN GHANA, JUST GO INTO GHANA POLITICS OR BE A PROMINENT PARTY FUNCTIONARY LIKE TSATSU TSIKATA AND WOYOME ARE, GET A BIG POLITICAL APPOINTMENT OR CONTRACT OR WHATEVER, THEN CREATE, LOOT BIG, SHARE PART OF ...
I'm uncomfortable with this subtle encouragement from a man of God that it's alright to cheat and steal. Isn't sin sin no matter how small? The theft which hurts us and our country is committed more by the haves than the have ...
WHEN NARROW AND SHALLOW BRAINS LIKE SOLOMON NKANSAH, ANITA DESOSU, ALLOTEY JACOBS, ETC ETC ARE LEFT TO PLAY THEIR TRIBAL POLITICS AND ALLOW THE NDC TO DESTROY AND DESTROY THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS TO US.....THIS NDC CAME WITH AGEN ...
I indeed pity this so-called Reverend.For this Reverend (Dr.) to attribute the difficulties Ghana is going through simply to 'desperation and hopelessness' tells me that he is one of the Reverends who read the Bible as a stor ...
Don't blame corruption (evil deeds of people) on desperation and hopelessness. Is more of greedy, selfishness and dishonesty of those Ghanaians that lead them into corruption and stealing. There are many, many Ghanaians who a ...
Ghana's Christian Council must be the most corrupt institution in the country if they continue to release press statements like the one they just did. The leaders of the various churches that make up the council are either st ...
Yes, you are right! "There has not been a single member of parliament and or a person at an administrative post in any of the civil service agencies in Ghana who has not been or is not corrupt. The test of bribery and corrupt ...
When we listen and believe ling words them we would not profit us ...
I will be very surprised if Ghanaians vote the NPP and the NDC into power again.These two parties have woefully failed to deliver the hope and prosperity Ghanaians yearn for.Ghanaians should choose between the NPP and the NDC ...
same selfishness has infected the cpp with everybody wanting to be presidential candidate. even the chairperson Samia who failed as a parliamentarian and failed big time as party chairman has now declared she wants to contest ...
WHY DONT WE GHANAIANS GO FOR DEMONSTRATION AGAINST MAHAMA FOR REFERENDUM. WHAT ARE GHANAIANS WAITING FOR AND ONLY JUST TALKING. WE SHOULD STOP THE TALK AND ACT PERIOD. WHAT HELP ARE WE TO GIVE TO MAHAMA? HE SAID HE WON THE E ...
The calamity befalling Ghana now was created by our so called leaders, empty-headed, visionless leaders; spearheaded by that notorious JJ Rawlings. They are close to the money and so dip their hands into it, sell property to ...
Listen to a so called Revn. Minister. Giviving an excuse for crime! How many within the grassroots get the chance to commit pen and paper armed robbery? Isn't those in high places including the so called men of God, with thei ...
Corruption started seriously from our junior Jesus JJ who everybody jumped for joy when he came onto the scene empty killing generals and all manner of business folks he perceived to be rich or had various assets under the de ...
Rev Dr Opuni you might be right that hopelessness could be the cause of Ghana been engulfed with Corruption, but I think it is not exactly so, it is rather Imperial Colonial Polical Intimidation mounted upon the Indigineous ...
Therefore people will do ev ...
This sermon has contributed immensely to my fading belief that there might still be some religious leaders out there who still allow the spirit of good(God) to inhabit their minds rather than the obsession with money,prestig ...
Nonsense! There is corruption because it is tolerated. You have a police force whom we pay salaries to, we provide them with uniforms, housing, we provide them with vehicles and most important invest them with the AUTHORITY t ...
the president first gear is not favouring ghanaians at all and the economy is realily a hell.things are knocking things because there is no real measures to tackle the corruption issues in the country and i bet you that if si ...
keep blaming our leaders alone for a whole national problem. you are not doing anyone any favours. go after all the leaders in the country and let let the corrupt citizens who have been collecting bribes be and see if we will ...
SOFO PAYIN.
WHEN A COUNTRY DOES NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO DELIVER IN SCIENCE AND USE TECHNOLOGY AS A DRIVE TO INNOVA ...