You are here: HomeNews2014 01 28Article 299030

Is the black race the most religious of all races?

Read Comments Comments (97)

• ZIGZAG 10 years ago

AND GHANA IS MOST SUPERSTITIOUS OF ALL-

• ELINAM 10 years ago

We have been robbed of our militancy by the very church that intends to empower us. That tells you straight the church is the gate keeper to the forces that are exploiting us.

Before Western Christianity, there's nothing i ...

• kabokabo 10 years ago

Ghanaians are not Religious people but Believers. Religious people are people who are holier than thous but in Ghana you can see a prostitute as an usher or a member of a praise and worship team.
    Africans have a strong faith ...

• MODIN SANE 10 years ago

OUR EDUCATION SYSTEM PRODUCES PEOPLE WHO CANNOT THINK RATIONALLY AND LOGICALLY. SCIENCE EDUCATION IS VERY BAD HENCE WE PRODUCE SUPERSTITIOUS ZOMBIES WHO CANNOT THINK CREATIVELY AND PRAGMATICALLY.

• Murder by the Pastor 10 years ago

Listen, I am black and I can tell that the reason for all this shit is that the Blackman is wicked, greedy, unempathetic and in humane. Look around you and see all the white people who donate their monies to philanthropic cau ...

God must be obsessed with choosing black "prophets".

He created Asians, blacks, whites etc; but somehow the only modern day "prophets" of his are black. Do the math ......

• FEEDINGHUNGRYSOULSWITHJESUS. MINISTRI 10 years ago

YOU ARE A GHANAIAN. YOU ARE AN AFRICAN. WE ARE ALL PERISHING DUE TO LACK OF THE KNOWLEDGE OF THE MOST HIGH GOD WHO CREATED US TO SERVE AND WORSHIP HIM.WE PRAISE,PRAY AND DO ALL THAT WE DO WITH OUR LIPS BUT OUR HEARTS ARE FAR ...

• TRUE TALK 10 years ago

OTUMFUO IS DEAD OOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AFRICAN DONT THINK, WE WANT MIRACLES AND BREAKTHROUGHS. SORRY, THERE ARE NO MIRACLES. THE MIRACLE IS IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY. PRAYER AND FASTING IS USELESS. YOU WOULD REMAIN POOR. ONLY PASTOR WOULD GET RICH.

• stephen 10 years ago

Yes, Ghanaians are religious but they are also the most scammers, right after Nigerians. In Ghana, even members of your own family who claim to be pastors of churches and claim to be very religious are the ones who will scam, ...

• levi 10 years ago

yes you are right.... Europe and America who are less religious are borrowing us Money/Aids all the time and we African/Black man who go to the churches 24/7 even find it difficult in most houses to have 3 square meal a day,

• julo 10 years ago

no statistical facts to back your assertions and that makes this nothing more than a speculative article

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

ARE THE ARABS BLACK?

• KOMFO ANOYE 10 years ago

RELIGION IS POLITICS AND MAN MADE, IT WAS MADE TO CONTROL THE MINDS OF THE PEOPLE. IT'S TRUE THAT THE BLACK RACE, ESPECIALLY AFRICANS ARE THE MOST GUILLIBLE CREATURES ON EARTH.

ALL THE CHURCH GOING BENEFITS ONLY ONE GROUP--THE PASTORS. THE PASTORS LOVE THIS STUPIDITY AND BLIND RELIGIOUSITY. THEY ARE THE VAMPIRES WHO PREY ON THE GULLIBLE AND WEAK-MINDED.

• MANSON UK 10 years ago

Because of poverty and they are confused as ever.They are religious without meaning.

• TRUE TALK 10 years ago

• ELINAM 10 years ago

The black race created all spiritual knowledge in the world.From Africa to Japan.
    But some one tricked him to follow religion.
    SPIRITUALITY LEADS YOU TO GOD WHILE POVERTY LEADS TO RELIGION; thus those who control your relig ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

A well laid out article must be read by the president, politicians and all the thieving pastors. And the JHS AND SSS STUDENTS

• Dr. Red Hot 10 years ago

The 2nd quickest way to get money in Ghana today is becoming a pastor. The 1st is to become a thieving politician.

THE PATORS USE RELIGION TO GET THE MASSES DRUNK, AND THEN ROB THEM. THE VAMPIRES ARE THE PASTORS.

Yeah thieving politico is number 2 instead. Politico has to take a risk of getting caught and being thrown in jail. Pastor just concocts some cock and bull way of separating u from your money without the risk of jail time

• joe ati 10 years ago

in fact cant agree with you more.
    nice peace

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A drunk man who smelled like beer sat down on a subway next to a
    priest. The man's tie was stained, his face was plastered with red
    lipstick, and a half empty bottle of gin was sticking out of his torn
    coat pocket.

He o ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Prince, you're just great! How do you MOSTLY get the matching joke to the caps??? Keep it up!

• Law 10 years ago

Wonderful piece Ben, you re right on point.

THEY WILL CAL U THE DEVIL IF U SAY THIS IN GHANA.

• moyo 10 years ago

It is poverty that make the black race looks like we are more religious. The truth of the matter is that white race are more generous and humane than their black counterparts. If we are religious, it should reflect in the way ...

• Gagantuan Ganaman 10 years ago

Blacks cannot win the race towards technological development and financial self sufficiency, but we can win the race to heaven by stepping up with prayers and praises. so, the battle for heaven is where we stand a good advant ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Black man is living in hell already and will not see no heaven after death.
    Create your own heaven with your own resources here on earth.

• BOWONDA 10 years ago

Uncle Moyo, I am sorry but I am tired of this pedantic unsustainable argument that the 'Whites are Better'! Please read your history books very well and ask yourself who enslaved / and still enslaves the Blacks? Where do our ...

• Gagantuan Ganaman 10 years ago

They are problem solvers, more creative and innovative than blacks, like it or not. blacks are also better in singing and in sports than the whites, sounds foolish but true. how? White are able for instance to grow food to fe ...

• AGYA ADOFO NEW YORK. 10 years ago

IN GHANA WITH MANY CHURCHES AND MANY WORSHIPERS EVERYDAY BUT EVILS KEEP INCREASING I DONT GET IT."PRESBY MODERATOR"

• COS 10 years ago

you have hit the nail right on the head.currently we are being exploited with the tithe and offering.the pastors are more richer than businessmen and entrepreneurs.Lets use our head to think.

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

Has it also got to do with the fact that amongst ourselves we are very lazy and do not like hard work unless foist on us, thus we are keen on a supreme being who we have been told would provide all your needs and protect you ...

• Dr. Kay Hamburg Germany 10 years ago

Well done. You have said the truth and this shows that you are really an analyst of socio-political and economic problems. Hope you often travel to Ghana and talk with the politicians. When I hear black presidents(esp.Ghana p ...

U CANNOT PRAY TO MAKE ACCRA CLEAN. YOU CANT PRAY TO IMPROVE THE ECONOMY. WHAT WORKS IS HARD WORK.

PRAYER CANNOT FIND A VACCINE FOR MALARIA. IT TAKES HARD WORK. IT TAKES USING THE BRAIN. STOP THE FASTING AND PRAYING AND SPE ...

• Adongo 10 years ago

What a wonderful piece. Instead of spending time to think solution to our problems,a greater part of productive hours are spent praying. Tell us more.

• Pastor Francis Asante-Boadu 10 years ago

Hi, Ben, are you aware that all the Biblical Personalities including Jesus Christ had African roots and they were black origin?

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

Pastor, who wrote that Bible?

If the whole mankind homo sapiens is supposed to have originated from southern Africa, why should Biblical personalities have other roots?

• Yemi 10 years ago

While I agree with Ben to some extent, I still believe that he was not totally correct in his assertions that black race is still very poor as a result of his religious activities. Some black people all over the world still h ...

Do we really get value for money from paying tithes? We are only subsidizing the lifestyle of some fat alley pastor.

THE JAPANESE AND CHINESE AND GERMANS WHO DONT PAY TITHE ARE GETTING RICHER AND RICHER. THE AFRICAN PAYS TITHE ALL THE TIME AND REMAINS POOR. ONLY PASTORS ARE GETTING RICHER AND RICHER.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Yes, maybe and we are PROBABLY the MOST CORRUPT and STUPID, waiting for some Manna from heaven INSTEAD of ALSO putting in HARD WORK!

• I.Quansah 10 years ago

Heaven is not a location but a state of inner fulfillment.You do not need to die before experiencing this state.To worship God is to extol the virtues of God and embody them in your life.Religion here in Ghana is full of dogm ...

BLAME GREEDY PASTORS LIKE DUNCAN WILLIAMS FOR MAKING THE MASSES BRAINLESS BUMBLING ZOMBIES.

• NII ZEBLIM SAGOROGORO 10 years ago

YES THAT IS THE TRUTH BECAUSE MY GRANDFATHER ALWAYS USE TO SAY"ONLY THE SAD AND POOR PERSON KNOWS GOD"

• KWABENA 10 years ago

I have personally always been against this rather retrogressive attitude of the black, especially Ghanaians who would have the gut to use greater proportion of productive hours singing, dancing and praying as though that will ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

No the Black Race is not the most Religious Race.We are just lazy mentally,so we have surrendered our ability to think and use our God giving brains.Therefore, we believe in anything or anybody whom we think will do everythin ...

• yeng 10 years ago

Yes man is a tripartite being. you don't resign all efforts to one of the three but you strike a balance. Life is not all about only material achievements it is also about spiritual achievement. Both compliment each other and ...

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD... 10 years ago

WE ALL GO TO CHURCH ON SUNDAYS AND BEHAVE DIFFERENTLY ON MONDAYS AND THE REST OF THE WEEK..

IF WE CALL OURSELVES CHRISTIANS,WHY IS
    CORRUPTION THE ONLY INSTITUTION THAT
    WORKS IN GHANA?
    IF WE CLAIM TO BE GOD-FEARING,WHY D ...

• GIDEON ATONGO 10 years ago

Ben, don't allow yourself to be influenced by your Japanese atheist friends to fight God. You better repent before the judgement of God comes over you.

• Serebour 10 years ago

Repent from what? what has he done or do in his mothers womb for God to condemn him even before he was born?

What judgement are u talking about? is it the one the Babble (bible) talks about? those were written on the walls ...

• Ps. E.K Okunor 10 years ago

its our ancestors who held christianity when it came to Africa,they lacked knowledge and that has resulted in the perishing nature of African countries. As a new creation u are expected to dominate in all circumstance because ...

BLAME THE LIES OF ALL THE GREEDY PASTORS. THEY MAKE MORE MONEY WHEN THE PEOPLE ARE BRAINLESS ZOMBIES.

• nii 10 years ago

To start with no Akan can ever be called BEN.It is an abomination of the highest order.Noone in his right sense would wear the name of the murderers of his mother and father,how much more believe in his lying and fake bible.A ...

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

Our status in life has nothing to do with religion but every bit to do with culture. In developed and civilized nations a PhD is not synonymous with a plush climate controlled office neither is it preferred over wisdom and or ...

RELIGION IS PART OF CULTURE. WHN WE PRAY ALL THE TIME AND SPEND ALL THE TIME IN CHURCH AND DONT QUESTION ANYTHING BCOS WE BELEIVE GOD WOULD SOLVE ALL OUR PROBLMS THEN WE ARE DOOMED.

WHEN PASTOREXPLOIT US AND WE SAY SAY NO ...

• Don Blunt 10 years ago

May be true, but the reason behind it all is our ignorance. We claim to understand things better than the one who is doing his best to teach us.

Many of our so called "men of God" are in the trade because it offers cheap ...

• Mr. tina 10 years ago

thank you brother. Black man is sick from the brain-wash. The black man to me is also lazy but want quick money.You can see it in ghana, more churches more evil.

• kwame 10 years ago

in church because of guilty conscience.
    africans r liars, corrupt, thieves & prideful

• David Schnepper 10 years ago

I don't think blacks have more potential to be religious than other races. It's the circumstances that make them more religious. Therefore the biggest goal in this century should be to give more and more africans access to (h ...

• papa Korsah 10 years ago

l believe that deep inside, athiest can still not deny that God. The evidence is all around us... We put Him first bc '...you shall love the lord with all yr heart and all yr soul and all your mind...'Luke 10:27. Yes, we need ...

• chilly brown 10 years ago

i believed what big man.we the most religious race yet we are poor cux of our mind set.one thing we dont is we think spending time singing and dancing in church will solved our problem.we for get that our created the with a s ...

• Erika Kwaku 10 years ago

hmmmm

• Jon Marfo Ziggy 10 years ago

Thank u sir.What I would like every African to understand is that GOd created every livingthing on this Earth to dwell,live and survive within its environs.Europe n its weather for the Europeans as to d way they think and do ...

• eddypapa-Fin 10 years ago

There is no way a black race can be compared to even a poorest European country? our leaders always think to loot and share to themselves. Hypocrisy, greediness and selfishness on the part of blacks.

• wise 10 years ago

brother you said it all . i don't have anything to say. black folk are actually ignorance people on the planet .black people are worship what they don't even know but they think is a god but they don't question it in any way. ...

• boss 10 years ago

Religion is the opium of the people so says Karl Max. I am a christian and a proud one at that however I am appalled at the level of religiosity in Ghana. I used to do dawn broadcasting in Ghana. Now I think about it and reco ...

• wise 10 years ago

i like your image of jesus. thank you for open the eyes of the blinds.

• xyz 10 years ago

I think the problem are the pastors who are only preaching about prosperity, wealth,money etc. This is also one root cause for sakawa etc. because they are telling the people that Christianity only values money.

They dont ...

• BRAINWASHED. 10 years ago

IN AFRICA WE WERE WORSHIPPING BEFORE THE OYIBO BROUGTH HIS BROTHER JESUS. SO WE STOPED OURS AND WORSHIPPED THEIRS, JESUS, TODAY, WE WORSHIP THE PASTORS. BRAIN DEAD PEOPLE.

• Prof. A.K.Appiah 10 years ago

What a question? The Black race in Africa even though the most religious yet, very controvertial.Read my article 'Religion and Responsibility'Somehow, we have scewed religion,spituality and values training all in one pot and ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Religion is a SOCIAL EVENT but BELIEF IS personal.
    Since the Blackman likes singing and dancing, he prefers religion to Spirituality!! Just look at the way we generally behave!NO discipline, no standards,no Ethics(gone to th ...

• Agbezuke Richard 10 years ago

Say this and you'll be given names here in my country Ghana beside what you are saying is the right thing.stay blessed

• Nana Antwi Buabeng X1. 10 years ago

God Bless You Bro.I wish many would wake up and live.

• Tango & Cash 10 years ago

Many simply go to church but never practice the teaching of the Scripture. How else would one explain the evil deeds of Pastors, the flock and Politicians?

WHAT SCRIPTURES?. THE BIBLE IS NOT THE WORD OF GOD. IT IS THE ROOT OF OUR DEAD BRAINS. RELIGION, POLITICS AND ORGANIZED CRIME ARE THE HOLY TRINITY. WAGADRILLLLLL. AMEN

• ewing galloway akaatey 10 years ago

we have not learnt to be responsible enough.we do not yet understand that we have a responsibility to make life comfortable for ourselves.god never built houses for people since creation.the problems that we face were created ...

• jean-germain gros 10 years ago

Well put.

• Anji 10 years ago

Don't be silly. Of course not. Its the people in the Asia Pacific region that are the most religious.

• NO FEAR 10 years ago

Blacks live in fear with so called god or allah.Fear of heaven and hell which doesn't exit.The churches,mosques they have committed sins against you bcos they dont want u to use your brains to think.The bible and koran are ma ...

• George 10 years ago

The Black race with regard to religion, is a 'lost race'. It does not practice its original religious believes but seems to only imitate and exaggerate religious believes espoused by other races.The black race considers its o ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

Religion is like cocoa, it came form Africa rich in antioxidants taken to Europe, mixed with sugar and milk then brought back to Africa, devoid of it's antioxidants.

Europe produced no religion, all European bible versions ...

Third paragraph should have read: those who do, can never read it objectively.

• Dzifa 10 years ago

You are living in country that's too deep into idol worshipping that I don't know if even 10 per cent of the poulation know anything about God-the Supreme Creator of all. To them Shinto is their god. You don't know anything a ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

The UNKNOWN,is what we term God! Have you met God before ? If Shinto is the God of the japanese,SO WHAT?? They are NOT even ashamed of it but worship HIM/HER.
    Africans KNEW God before the christians brought us Christianity.L ...

MAY BE, JUST MAY BE IF WE WORSHIPPED SHINTO, WE WOULD HAVE BUILT TOYOTA, HONDA.... DO KNOW THAT YOUR CHRISTIAN NATION GHANA BOUGHT HER FIRST SATELITE FROM THE SHINTO JAPAN ?. JAPANESE HAVE THE LONGEST LIFE EXPECTANCY IN THE W ...

You are one of those who is held mentally captive by this falsehood about christianity.

• Heavy D-USA 10 years ago

I think Ben got his title right but missing one element in it. Could he posit "is Black race religious Extremist?" When they label you as Extremist, it has a negative connotation. The black race is too religious but heading t ...

• Serebour 10 years ago

Let's start by saying our names to our own hearing.....and then think about it for a moment, then maybe the message will sink in...

One two:

John this, Mark that, Stephen this, Michael that, Emmanuel this, Frank that, G ...

• Anokye 10 years ago

The Problem facing the black race is not about being Too Religious.....but it's about being hypocrites.....people are just "churchgoers",fake moslems and azaa traditionalists.A true religious personality is not lazy.All the ...

• Tony 10 years ago

I used not to respect time when l was in Ghana in 2011.Afterall,l was a salary worker and didn't mind about hours.Was always praying for the month to speed.Then l luckily won lottery,let me say by the grace of God.l started m ...

That's from personal experience.

• Kwawu (GA. USA) 10 years ago

I am surprise that a renowned economist would leave out a vital economic sense: and question to ask the"politicians" how GOD's natural gifts to the nation is multiplied and spread to all.

The glow around the head of Religious deities represents the sun disc, which our African Ancestors used symbolically to represent the SUN as the creator of life on earth, God the Sun, and us being the sons and daughters of th ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

If Africans are the most religious, they believe in the bible and accept the words as 100% true. Why then is there so much corruption, greed, hatred jealousy?
    Why did GOD make Africa the riches continent in the world and le ...