You are here: HomeNews2014 01 22Article 298565

Mining firms blackmail Ghana over windfall tax - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (135)

• cha 10 years ago

NDC thieves

• Kweku 10 years ago

Is pathetic to see issues like these happening decades after Ghana's rebirth. Leadership in Ghana is consistently waning resulting in ungoverned society. Each successive governance fails the next big time and nothing seems oc ...

nationalize the mines and give them only to our citizens

• Kweku 10 years ago

The mining resources are ours already isn't it. So we are absolute fools to give the chunk of our wealth and cry over crumbs? Oh when will black man think?

• afijato 10 years ago

Mr. President, this your speech is unfortunate and rather unprofessional.
    It implies that your nation can be held by anyone under hostage at anytime!
    I should say your gov. lakes communicating skills- Or is there something ...

• Micky 10 years ago

Pres Mahama, are you trying to tell us that Ghana is a Banana Republic? You should be ashamed of your speech.

• IBM 10 years ago

Mahama should really be ashamed of himself! Was that the appropriate forum to discuss this issue? That shouldn't have been an excuse for your inappropriate leadership. The audience know that you're cheap and a liar. I thought ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

I cannot believe what I just read. Mining companies are holding Ghana to ransom, blackmailing or sabotaging the country. The Parliament of Ghana passes a bill or approves a regulation and foreign mining companies tell the gov ...

• Raymond 10 years ago

Yes, the mineral resources in Ghana are for us. BUT we don't have money to exploit them. It is a capital intensive and highly risky area in terms of investment. A number of Ghanaians could come together, pool their resources ...

• Apraku 10 years ago

Thanks for your comments.It's not only our leaders who can't think,but then our brothers and sisters are also lazy.In whose hands was the Ashanti Goldfields before it was aquired?? See it's like a canker, Ghanaians doesn't kn ...

• Onipa Banku 10 years ago

If local citizens know what gold, diamond, oil, etc are, why would they allow some people to take them in the first place. A people who go on toilet by roadside, beaches, rubbish dump, ok shit in polythene bag and throw it to ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

ANATOMY OF A STOOPID GHANAIAN!
    A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/D ...

• Raymond 10 years ago

You must be ignorant of Ghana's history in terms of state ownership in the mining sector. From the 1960s to mid-1980s, almost all the mining companies in Ghana were state owned and managed by fully blooded Ghanaians. What hap ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Who got the resources,the greedy whiteman or us?
    500 years of history, you got to figure out this snake we think has some power to give us job when he can not give to his own ppl in Europe. Are you kidding me, for him to pl ...

• Wiseman 10 years ago

Elinam what is stopping us from becoming snakes if 'snaky' is the way forward?

• Booboo. 10 years ago

Too soft,Mahamma. Stop complaining and kick some ass.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Kweku, we must wean ourselves away from dependence on foreign investment.

We are capable of managing our own affairs. We must exploit our natural resources ourselves for the benefit of all our people. Let us stop handing o ...

• KWAKU SEI 10 years ago

Sorry Sankofa, you are not helping Ghanaians to know the TRUTH.
    Ask yourself what happened to Siaw, Appenteng and many other CREATIVE AND HARD WORKING Ghanaians when Rawlings came to govern this Country and many others now l ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Kwaku, think again.

Even if what you are saying is true, does it detract from my assertion?

Should we not encourage creative and hardworking Ghanaians to flourish? Should we not take control of our natural resources, in ...

• dr edusei. chicago 10 years ago

if you keep voting for ndc, they will givwe you want you voted for. total stupidy. these nonsense did not occur when npp was in power.

• Story 10 years ago

I support you 1000% and hope the Government heed your advice. This is just daylight robbery on the part of the miners. Imagine the 10% we get from oil extracted from our own waters. Ghanaians supporting the 10% give all kinds ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

You are saying something very important here.The question is,if those of us in diaspora are not even welcomed to help this government,do you think,they will be in to hire a whiteman?
    Inferiority complex and slavery mentality ...

• BOMPATA STONE 10 years ago

How dumb can these guys be? How can a few mining companies hold a whole country with an army and a navy under hostage over some nonsense like this? Can't these african leaders anticipate the future a little bit? Why do they s ...

• OBRONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Krobo Edusei did not allow lawyer Shawcross to set foot on our soil to tell us what to do. That is guts !! Nkrumah seized control of our land and managed it independently without pussying around any suggestions from our colon ...

• kofi. mozano 10 years ago

I miss him too. There is no another Moses to lead us thru the red sea.by the way is Ghana the world s leading producer of gold?

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

You see this man has big mouth to talk about money but he does not know how to implement it. That is the life style of opepeni president Mahama. Woye kronfo3 dodo.Aaaba!

• dr edusei. chicago 10 years ago

dont confuse mahama with npp leaders.
    what you vote for is what you reap.

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

IF I WERE THE PRESIDENT, WHICH I AM NOT I WOULD CHALLENGE THEM TO LAY OFF THE WORKERS AND TAKE THE 10% CAPITAL GAIN, WHICH WILL EXCEED THE LOW WAGES THE EXTREME CAPITALISTS SKUNKS PAY THEIR GHANAIAN WORKERS.

TAKE THE 10% C ...

• Smart Frempah, UK 10 years ago

Hands are tightened isn't it? Copying from other countries the way they do things is wrong. We have a fragile economy and these industries need to be helped. The loot that goes on in government circles should be checked fir ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Hahahahahaha. Mahama, you are scared of the mining companies so you can't implement windfall taxes? Yet you do not fear Ghanaians and will increase petroleum products, bringing hardship on all Ghanaians. Can they do that in V ...

• kk 10 years ago

John Mahama is not serious. In the first place there are no jobs in Ghana. and how many workers are they going to lay off anyway. The majority of workes in the Obuasi gold mines are casual workers, so who are they going to la ...

• K B 10 years ago

Stop being a cry baby
    Mahama. You think the people at the meeting in
    DAvos care?

• K B 10 years ago

Stop being a cry baby
    DAvos care?

• K B 10 years ago

Stop being a cry baby
    DAvos care?

• K B 10 years ago

Stop being a cry baby
    DAvos care?

• K B 10 years ago

Stop being a cry baby
    DAvos care?

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

The maid, Maria, asked the woman of the house for a pay increase. The wife, not too pleased asks:
    “Now Maria, why exactly do you want a pay increase ?”
    Maria: “Well, Señora, there are three reasons why I want more mo ...

• osei kojo 10 years ago

you dont have balls mahama, tax them we need the money to develope ghana, call the bluff the law is the law

• OLDMAN GYASI 10 years ago

How many workers are they going to sack in other for the companys to pay the windfall tax?The GOV should go ahead and tax them ,as the money could be used /invested in a new producing company to employ the sacked workers and ...

• PASQUIN 10 years ago

SIMPLISTIC INDEED

• African Tiger 10 years ago

Dear Pasquin,
    yes if he had the balls he could go ahead and tell them to fuck off. Mongolia which is less populated than Ghana does that. it tells the western multinationals, take it or fuck off. If you don't have balls, th ...

• Nyemden 10 years ago

I love the way you think.
    You are one of the thinkers.
    I may say thank you.

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

This man talks by heart.

• osei kojo 10 years ago

in canada i do two jobs only to give away 44% into income tax in addition to the gst and pst yet i am happy to pay

• TKN 10 years ago

DAMN DAGATI FACE!

• Raymond 10 years ago

TKN, when expressing our individual views on issues in Ghana, please let's cut out insults on the tribes, regions or the ethnic group that the person belongs to! It is very bad!

I am not an NDC supporter but I am a full-bl ...

• SAMK 10 years ago

WHY WERE YOU ELECTED? WHY GO COMPLAIN? SHEER BANKRUPTCY OF LEADERSHIP!!!! TALK!! TALK!!! THEN CREATE AND LOOT YOUR OWN PEOPLE!!! YOU THINK THEY ARE STUPID WHEN THEY SEE YOU LOOT YOUR OWN PEOPLE!!! ARREST SAM JONAH AND WAYOM ...

• NANA KWADWO ADUSEI 10 years ago

These days ,consultation before passing law is better than imposition of laws on people.Or test their response.It's a disgrace to say you can't enforce the law of the Land .Thanks

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

APART FROM LOOTING AND SHARING WITH PARTY BIGSHOTS AND CRONIES.....TALKING AS IF IT WOULD MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE IN THE LIFE OF THE AVERAGE GHANAIAN....A CROOK OF A PRESIDENT JUST LIKE HIS MENTOR RAWLINGS.

• DSB4YD 10 years ago

Mr Your Excellency ! What do expect. If your the COE of a mining company you will fight back. These mining companies have operated tax free and that is how these companies have always been attracted to Ghana. Now with the oil ...

• Foreigners 10 years ago

I do not like how the President positioned this problem in blaming the mining companies.

Mining companies operate in the free market and are responsible to shareholders and the stock market as a whole. They have to hit c ...

• JoeA 10 years ago

Well said, foreigners.
    The only sensible comment on this article I have read so far.. There is always a long or short term opportunity cost to every governmental or business decsion.

• JH New York 10 years ago

Thank you !.
    Our problem is,it seems that the leadership in Ghana is not aware of the codes of economic and financial ethics of these multinational companies/corporations.
    The threat was not to be wondered at if they know a ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Please do not hold brief for the foreign companies.

This issue is not just about economics, it is about people's lives and our national sovereignty.

The natural resources are ours. We have given concessions to these com ...

• BETTER GHANA 10 years ago

When can we make a firm decision and say no is no. Mr President do not compromise to their threat. Enough is enough. It's better to keep the gold for galamsey than to adhere to their threats

• Failed leadership 10 years ago

This is an evidence of failed leadership. Get them to pay the taxes and stop crying like a baby.

• Need not know!! 10 years ago

John as a president u need to have some balls.They call out the bluff,you call yours louder.They need the minerals they will pay any amount for them.Turn around and use the money to create jobs and rehire those that were fire ...

• CAPTAIN OCQRA 10 years ago

THIS MAN WHAT IS HAPPENING,WHAT CAN´T YOU TAKE BOLD DECISIONS .WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU?YOU ARE ALLOWING MINING COMPANY TO KEEP 10% OF THEIR PROFITS WHICH IS MEANT FOR GHANAIANS AND THE SAME TIME INCREASING EVERY PETTY THING. ...

• KONFANKO 10 years ago

OH,REALLY THEN ASIEDU NKETIAH TOO IS HAVING A CHIMP BRAIN.HIS CHOICE WAS BOLE DARLING BOY MAHAMAH.MUMU PRESIDENT HE CAN'T TAKE DECISIONS,BUT HE CAN APPOINT TOO MUCH PEPE IN HIS GOVERNMENT.CORRUPT PARTY WITH CORRUPT GOVERNMENT ...

• NanaB 10 years ago

Do not pay heed to their layoff threat. It will be temporary. If they need the gold they will re-hire. Let them pay the windfall tax and use the revenue to create other jobs.

• Pressman 10 years ago

What has this guy taken to utter such words in a forum like that? Who are this guys advisers at all? This guy is a disgrace to the nation! The earlier this guy gives up, the better, as he is not fit for the office he is curr ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

Just as I thought. Mr. Mahama will cower if companies make threats. We need a strong leader who will dare these people on their threats, warn them that you will nationalize their company and then go ahead and implement the ...

• Onipa Banku 10 years ago

Better go for Robert Mugabe

• Swapna Guduru 10 years ago

For succumbing to blackmail is an impeachable offence against the nation.

• Victor A, Young 10 years ago

The West mean greed. They're doing it everywhere. Imagine land owners of Canada on whose land Oil well have been build receiving nothing from the sale of the Oil except royalties from construction of road in their field that ...

• Victor A, Young 10 years ago

When the president of a whole nation like Ghana travels to the U.S. and poses in front of CNN, what do you expect. I guess the West is telling Mahama's govt. bushman how can you ask for more. I'm just wondering.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Who negotiated the oil deals?

Was it not the NPP gov't?

The cheating has gone on under administrations of every political hue.

We must wise up as a people, and not allow ourselves to be held to ransom.

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Well, if your aim is about the Oil which isn't the focus here, then you could better ask who negotiated the contracts of other minerals like Gold, Diamond and Bauxite etc. We're looking at the broader spectrum of business her ...

• me 10 years ago

THINK on finding the solution to the problem instead of complaining.

• Owura kofi 10 years ago

Mr President, aren't you ashamed of yourself for saying what you're saying? Which company won't bluff to prevent tax hikes?

Cowards and spineless bunch of good-for-nothing people, walking around calling themselves honourab ...

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

Akonfem Mahama blackmail the poor tax-payer by giving him free money to his partner in crime Woyome for no work done.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Act and stop complaining!

• Financial Freedom 10 years ago

www.yougetpaidfast.com/asaseaban

• Joseph Baffoe 10 years ago

Osagye Dr.Kwame Nkrumah,this your STONE---After this Companies milking GHANA for all these years ,with all the profits they have made out of these MINES in GHANA ,they don't even think of Compensating us,but rather sabotaging ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

The fmr. Venezuelan President NATIONALISED the oil fields and paid SOME COMPENSATION, of course not what the OIL firms wanted!
    Let's NATIONALISE the MINES and some people will be out of jobs BUT the Gold DUST remains in the ...

• Kwaku Azar 10 years ago

This guy is just too weak and unprepared for the job.

• Peter Azalkpana 10 years ago

I am sad to see my president behaving helplessly! How can they control us in our own country? Implement the policy and warn them: if you lay-off any worker your license is revoked automatically. Period

• Y.Y. Buachie 10 years ago

How can multi-national companies demonstrate this obstinacy? Certainly, our leaders have become pawns and the companies can trample upon us with impunity. Our mining communities must stand up and face the companies because ou ...

• jaga 10 years ago

President what are you saying...KICK these guys out of town and let the GOLD stay in the ground..we will galamsey the Gold sack all of them...

• NANA KWAME 10 years ago

are you serious

• Sankofa 10 years ago

We must nationalise the mines and take control of our natural resources.

How can we allow Anglogold to mine gold in our country for close to 100 years, making massive profits at our expense?

The 10% windfall tax is legi ...

• Sam, Bern 10 years ago

This is blackmail, how can you allow them to do that to the sovereign people of Ghana in the name of employment. They will still lay off the people, it's just a matter of time.

Go get the money and stop being a baby!

• MANB. USA 10 years ago

this is stupid. WHEN CAN FIRE BURN THE SEA? LET THEM LAY OFF. AND TAKE POSITIVE ACTION NO WORK FOR ALL WORKERS UNTIL THEY CALL THEIR COLLEAGUES TO WORK. 5DAYS NO WORK THEY WILL CALL THEM BACK

• peace 10 years ago

question did u sell or use this mines as collateral to benefit yourself

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

This is something you keep to yourself, if you are the last person to act and you can't for very insane reasons.

• Oheneba Osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

IDIOT LEAD AND DAMN THE CONSEQUENCES.

No wonder these mining companies have polluted our local streams and rivers rendering them unsafe for human consumption. They willfully flout laid-down regulations that govern mining exploration and environmental protection a ...

I think Prez. Mahama should alert AU so we'll come together and take a singular stance on mining rules on the African continent. We won't hijack prices but we'll make sure we get our fair share of the world market prices. Rig ...

• Mea 10 years ago

Are you not the President? Does the gold belong to the mining companies or Ghana. If they want abide by the rules of the country, why should they be allowed to operate there. Let them go to China and behave like that.

• ensorerobby tx u.s.a, holidays in Gh 10 years ago

are we not capable of managing our own mines. let the windfall tax fall and let them lay off the workers but let them pack and take their sorry ass back to their country. with the resources we have what kind of mining equipm ...

• ensorerobby tx u.s.a, holidays in Gh 10 years ago

a quote from Nkrumah's independence speech " our dear nation Ghana has come of age and the blackman is capable of managing his own country" unquote what happened to this start nationalizing our mines like in south africa and ...

• MUSAH - IRAQ 10 years ago

SO THIS FOOLISH MAN STILL BE PRESIDENT IN GHANA

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

Mr. Mahama, you are really a disgrace to Ghana and to yourself. As a President, how do you stand there and let those Mining Companies dictate to you?. In the first place, the mining companies are in Ghana to make good money o ...

• 10% 10 years ago

So they currently keep 100% of the windfall-business profits and we want 10% and that is too much for these exploiters to give up?
    They want to continue keeping 100% of those profits?
    Wow!
    JUST NATIONALIZE THEM.

• Kofi B 10 years ago

I think Newmont and their cohort of mining bandits should willingly cough up part of their profits to the State. Relatively lower labour and environmental management costs in Ghana should make this new tax an easy pill to swa ...

• Obiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 10 years ago

The president should keep a grip of himself til 2016.

• GHANA IS FOR DONKOMI- MAHAMA 10 years ago

ASS HOLES BITCHES - BELIEVE ME OR NOT . THE DUMBEST AKAN MAN IS SMARTER THAN EWE AND A PERSON FROM THE NORTH WITH PHD DEGREE . GHANAIANS WILL SUFFER TILL AKAN MAN RULE . MAHAMA IS SOMEONE THAT HAS LOST IN SPACE AND STILL DAN ...

• maxybillien-takoradi 10 years ago

when u mahama go home use these nursing words to ur wife and u will see the way she will shout @ u that u are a stupid man.

• The Trucker 10 years ago

These foreign companies must not be allowed to pillage the country's wealth.The government must stand firm.Gold mining companies are now taking advantage of the current bear market in the sector to arm twist the Ghana governm ...

• modibo 10 years ago

Ghana and Africa as a whole have sold their birthright - Gold, Oil, Diamonds, Timber, Iron and all our natural resources for just few pennies!! All because of greed, selfishness, corruption, stupidity, ignorance and slavery m ...

• DOGO 10 years ago

It's so pathetic that our leaders are displaying their weakness in public like this. So these people don't have BALLS to fight for us? I wonder where we go as a nation.

• GHANA IS FOR DONKOMI- MAHAMA 10 years ago

ALL THIS SHIT CAN HAPPENED WHEN DEALING WITH NDC LEADERSHIP.

• Otsibu Darko 10 years ago

Are you a leader or a coward, tell them to pack their equipment and go back to their various contries, close the mines, after all we know how to fish and farm and we shall not die; as a executive president you have to take th ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

So the mining companies threatened the government and the government "had not been able to implement the policy". Aren't there any policy analysts in the NDC government of cadres and barbers. Where are the wise barbers?

• OGYA 10 years ago

Are you kidding me that this idiotic president is standing in front of the world and clowning out. That you have a natural resource and you are allowing an outsider to come in and dig it and pay you less than 10% of its value ...

• Igp 10 years ago

You are the only president of Ghana to go to international forum and complained that the mining companies have blackmailed Ghana. They have seen a weakness in you, buoyed by the expansive corruption that has engulfed your reg ...

• Abroampa 10 years ago

Mama have some balls,the gold fields belongs to Ghana not the mining companies let them pay the taxes or pack their machinery l guess you haven't thought about how many companies will like to file that void.In a way where did ...

• odasanibi 10 years ago

Now Mr. president, are you surprised?
    Lesson for today is never give out something you right back.
    Now think about giving the Breeders{GMO} the right to control the seeds of plants and foodstuff that we already have. In a ...

• Nii Ablorh 10 years ago

So let the. Mining companies go and Ghanaians take over? Don't we know what gold is? Jesus Christ help help our leadership

• Raymond 10 years ago

Nii Ablorh, do you have about US$500 million to start a gold mining company, to create jobs and pay taxes and royalties on your operations to government? Do you think that it is so easy to sack all of them and takeover the co ...

• K B 10 years ago

What a cruck. The whole world is laughing at Mahama. Childish talk.
    They will not allow me to.....what a weak president.

• K B 10 years ago

• Spiky 10 years ago

Mahama, you are pathetic, and I am ashamed that you are the president of my country. Going to Davos to cry is very disingenuous. You have been given power and you don't know what to do with it. If I were you I would implement ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

YOU WENT ALL THE WAY TO COMPLAIN TO THE PEOPLE GATHERED AT DAVOS THAT MINING COMPANIES ARE PREVENTING YOU TO TAX THEM AND YOU EXPECT THIS GROUP AT THE FORUM TO DO WHAT? IN DEVELOPED COUNTRIES, ALL COMPANIES MAIN AIM IS TO MAK ...

• KAK 10 years ago

So Mr President, we are under hostage and being treatened in our own country. Be courageous.

• augustine 10 years ago

GOD HELP GHANA

• Kofi Andoh 10 years ago

Please come to South African countries and you would get best practices in handling mineral resources. First start empwering competent and entrepreneurial people in your country to run things. Go to a mine in Botswana,Zimbabw ...

• Moses 10 years ago

His brother has the biggest mining contract in all the mines around Tarkwa and the Sister supplies diesel to some mines as well so he has to compromise.

• ama 10 years ago

IS MAHAMA AFRAID TO USE THE TERM NEOCOLONIALISM? GHANA IS ON ITS KNEES. VERY PATHETIC!

• Kiddo 10 years ago

I have always said that we have pocket politicians who have come to power for their own good. They have not a care in the world for the masses in our beloved country. As for this President I would vote him out myself for he d ...

• Sic Ghanaian s 10 years ago

Then we will not sell our oil we keep it until whenever...thanks for president he is a good man...now is the time for all the parties in ghana to stop the political rivalism and bring out idear the help ghana ......sometimes ...

• Fred, London 10 years ago

Foreign investment is a global phenomenon. Even here in UK the govt is begging the Chinese to invest here but the difference is the foreign investor must adhere to the investment laws of the country! Omg! Nkrumah would be tur ...