You are here: HomeNews2014 01 21Article 298431

MP accused of stealing GH¢293K; summoned by police

Read Comments Comments (98)

• Tawiah 10 years ago

This particular MP stood for elections to escape prosecution when he was at GIPC. I am really sure the family has been short changed and it is simply fair that the MP isn't allowed to even represent his constituency anymore. ...

• YAA NAA KILLER 10 years ago

Only God know what he did as CEO. Thieves inside out. Ashantis wont earn money the genuine hard way. They wont go to school but become shoeshine boys, sell used clothes at kantamanto whilst looking out for who to defraud.

• KK 10 years ago

Wrong - This is a typical NDC Man

• RJ 10 years ago

"The Takoradi Central Police has invited Member of Parliament for Ahanta West and the former Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana Investment Promotion Centre (GIPC), Mr. George Aboagye, for questioning."

So big men are INV ...

• Dr. Appeadu 10 years ago

The main problem facing Ghana is that we have failed to develop strong institutions that PUNISH wrongdoing. These strong institutions are created by leaders and I wish to strongly urge President Mahama and whoever becomes Pre ...

• PUNISH CORRUPTION 10 years ago

THE SOLUTION TO GHANA AND AFRICA'S MS IS TO PUNISH CORRUPTION!! PUNISH CORRUPTION!! PUNISH CORRUPTION!! WHETHER FROM JJ, KUFFUOR, MAHAMA, MILLS, PUNISH CORRUPTION OOOOHH!! PUNISH CORRUPTION!! TOM!! TOM!! GHANAIAN'S DEMAND PU ...

• PUNISH CORRUPTION 10 years ago

I MEAN "GHANA AND AFRICA'S PROBLEMS"

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Unfortunately, Moses Brew was recuperating from a lorry accident and, therefore, directed that the cheque be issued in the name of G.K.A African Trade Service, a company owned by the MP, George Aboagye.

I was initially won ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 10 years ago

My understanding is that the land had already been sold by one agent and it was at the first installment payment stage that the MP was instructed to receive the check on that agent's behalf. The point of the MP selling the la ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

Lots of questions unanswered indeed!
    1. Did Mr Moses Brew, CEO of BREWMO who is the agent agreed with the family that due to his health status Mr George Aboagye the MP was acting on BREWMO's behalf to collect and pay the fu ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

. Is the MP's company tax collection agent for Internal Revenue Services who is mandated to collect taxes for the state? If that is not the case, then criminal charges must be made against both the MP and his company for unau ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Think about it? If the MP company was not involved in the sale of the land, then why was the cheque issued in his company's name? The MP's company was given the responsibility to sell this land at Ghc10,000 an acre and as a b ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

THE MONEY WENT INTO AKONFEM STOCKS BUT IT GOT LOST IN THE PONZY SCHEME.
    HE WILL BE LOOKING FOR SENIOR ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEY TO DEFEND HIM [SADA]
    SADA IS A MUNICIPALITY IN NORTHWESTERN SPAIN WHERE THERE IS BULL FIGHT A ...

• ANANSE KWAKU 10 years ago

Mr Aboagyes's reason for acting the way he did raises some issues:
    1. As the CEO of the GIPC, his main official duty was to "promote investment" in Ghana. So identifying and bringing to Ghana, such an investor fell directly ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Look at the date the land was sold, somewhere in December 2012. Was Mr Aboagye at that time CEO of the GIPC, when in December 2012 he was a member of Parliament?

There are a lot of information missing so let's wait and hea ...

• ANANSE KWAKU 10 years ago

Per the story, Mr. Aboagye stated that he brought down the investors "when he was the CEO..." That statement implies that the only means by which he came into contact with the investor was his office as a CEO of GIPC. As such ...

• Ganyo 10 years ago

Same as E.O. group. All of them are criminals to the core

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

With a purchase in the millions of New Ghana Cedis, one would expect that the initial deposit on the offer would be made in trust to a law firm representing representing the seller which is refundable if the transaction falls ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Ken, do you think the buyers would have issued a Check to Aboagye's company if his company was not a party to the transaction? I don't think the company will do a dumb thing like that.

• KK 10 years ago

Did you read Mr Aboagye's Company was NOT the Third Party Agent in the Sale of the Land? The Third party with whom the agency contract was signed was BREWMO - Mr Brews Company. In any case even if anybody deserves an Agency F ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

If you want an educated and matured discourse, you should cut the insults out because I can do the same but you caught me at the right tim. I can see that you reason like a two year old and have no business background.

Fir ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

MOSES BREW HAS TO BE CHARGED TOO.

HE KNEW WHAT HE WAS ABOUT, TO HELP DUPE THE BRUTO FAMILY.

HOW CAN THE NATION SURVIVE WITH SUCH CONTINUED CRIMINAL ACTIVITIES IN THE COUNTRY

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Where is the duping? If you entrust me with your goods to sell for say $100 without me charging you a fee to sell that but rather for my services, I should sell the goods above the $100 you want, why should you cry for me dup ...

• Mea 10 years ago

Where in the story did the family say they sold the land for GHC10,000/ acre instead of GHC15000.00. This Aboagye guy is most probably a con man who has conveniently inserted himself in the transaction after he was caught ste ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Let me give you a good advice. Don't ever listen to one side of a dispute and make a judgment.

You believe what the family is saying but not what Mr Aboagye is saying from the article, why? The whole article has a lot of h ...

• Mea 10 years ago

where in this report was it stated that the MP was part of the whole transaction? what about if he is making up the GHC15000.00 to equate the money he has stolen? some criminal guy who struts around as a Pastor did a similar ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Tell me why the buyer issued a Check in his company's name if he is not an interested party to the contract. Common sense.

• John Essel 10 years ago

As a CEO of GIPC, whose job is to bring investment into the country. He has to benefit from any investment he brings even though he is paid to do the job. He bought the land for 10k from the family and sold it for 15k to the ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 10 years ago

Ken

• TT 10 years ago

TROKOSI TRIBALIST

The MP is not even an Asanti and these trokosis are at it again. The Ahanta West is in Western Region and the Ahantas too have names like Aboagye so where did the Asantis come in here?

• John,Tema 10 years ago

Forgive him he is ignorant and naive,he is not abreast with current issues.This same man had a problem just before the election but managed to go through it.

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

My friend, you must first educate yourself to polish your English language so you can better express yourself. To say that Ashantis don't go to school means they don't attend classes but are trying to say they don't educate ...

• ,,,,,,,,,,,, 10 years ago

The government give them a handouts EVERYDAY...We Know..

• obibs 10 years ago

Kwasea !

• WOYOME 10 years ago

WHAT IS 293K COMPARED TO WOYOMES 5,400K? DONT WASTE OUR TIME.

• KnYc (USMC) 10 years ago

Moron. What school have you been? Sh...it bag.

• Tawiah 10 years ago

Why did you think this corrupt NDC man was an NPP MP anyway? Do you see why your backwardness and stupidity has been made evident on the page for all to read?

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

The MP is called Aboagye and bingo, he is an Asante. Even if he is an Asante so what. Mr Aboagye is from Ahanta. He is of course Akan but not Asante.

• KK 10 years ago

Yaa Naa Killer or whatever you call yourself, you are an idiot.
    George Aboagye is the NDC MP of Ahanta West in the Western Region. You should better check your facts before you open your smelling mouth and talk.
    Foolish dud ...

• Mensema 10 years ago

Stupid argument and explanation from the MP. You were a government official at the time of the transaction. What about the conflict of interest. Thief ...

• REPENT NOW 10 years ago

IF GHANA HAS SUCH PERSONS LIKE THIS MAN IN PARLIAMENT,STEALING FROM THE SAME PEOPLE HE SUPPOSED TO PROTECT,THEN THIS NATION IS HEADING FOR DOOM.TAXING THE PEOPLE HE SUPPOSED TO FEED,WHILES THE GOVNMNT PAYS HIM AS MP.SHAME UNT ...

• wigit guit 10 years ago

Eii!!!! somebody like this in ghanaian parliament anynmost of them are crooks thus why they are there

• Hayes, Amsterdam 10 years ago

MP Aboagye was the CEO of the GIPC at the time of this transaction and therefore is not permitted to use his office for personal gain. This is exactly what Kuffuor's EO Group did and walked away smelling like roses. I do not ...

• Mea 10 years ago

Were the guys in the EO group members of Kuffour's Government or MP's or even Ghanaian civil servants? Stop your stupid NDC propaganda nonsense trying to equate all the criminal activities going on under NDC Government with K ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Pick them up and jail them.

Forever and ever, they will be thieves.. Thieves inside out. They wont go to school but become shoeshine boys, sell used clothes at kantamanto whilst looking out for who to defraud. Those who school are even worst. Cocaine tr ...

• KK 10 years ago

Even when a die hard NDC man steals, the Propagandist have to twist it to Blame NPP or Demonize Ashantis. They wont talk about his NDC credentials. And sadly, a lot of our gullible masses fall for this stupidity. God help us ...

• TT 10 years ago

The MP is not even an Asanti and these trokosis are at it again. The Ahanta West is in Western Region and the Ahantas too have names like Aboagye so where did the Asantis come in here?

• John Mills 10 years ago

You are on the internet castigating Ashantis as thieves. Tell all your Northern and voltarian brothers to leave Aboabu and Anloga and go back home home to their stinking batakari warehouses and rotten lands in the North and ...

• mmrosa 10 years ago

SO WHAT DO YOU GAIN FROM THIS? GOD FORGIVE YOU.

• Mea 10 years ago

that fool is the illeterate Kola, he can even spell

• codus 10 years ago

Ashantis are far educated than you and your family. Also rich than your NDC party state looters.Remember YOUR FATHER AND MOTHER WENT FOR SIKADURO BUT STILL POOR THAT MAKES YOU TALK FROM YOUR STINKING MOUTH AND RAG CLOTHS

• OTIKORKORSUO NANA 10 years ago

CODUS, GEORGE ABOAGYE IS AN ASHANTE BUT DONT MIND YAA NAA, JEALOUSY GO KILL THEM

• OTIKORKORSUO NANA 10 years ago

YAA NAA BECAREFUL OOOO, IF ASHANTES SACK YOUR BRETHREN IN KUMASI, NORTHERN REGION WILL BE MUCH MORE WORSE THAN SOMALIA

• BE BOLD 10 years ago

How can someone who cannot even express himself make some sense. "They wont go to school" instead of saying they don't educate themselves. Is that the kind of schooling you received? If that is the case then the Ashantiman is ...

• ,,,,,,,,,,,, 10 years ago

remember they get free shitty ass education and government hideoout

• CAPTAIN OCQRA 10 years ago

THIS DOG HAS GOT SMALL FACE AND BIG MOUTH TO UTTER THIS NONSENSE TO HIS MASTERS,WHEN WERE YOU WHEN WE WERE FIGHTING FOR THE LAND,KEEP YOUR STINKY MOUTH SHUT,OR YOU FACE MY TRIBULATIONS,BECAREFUL OR I CURSE YOU TO ANTOA SHRINE ...

• KnYc (USMC) 10 years ago

What school have you been? Ass-hoo, you sh..it bag. Why don't you go Fu..ck urself.

Krunfuor people.. well known thieves.. Thieves inside out. They wont go to school but become shoeshine boys, sell used clothes at kantamanto whilst looking out for who to defraud.

Those who school are even worst. Cocaine t ...

• PAT 10 years ago

foolish yaa naa killer, woyomeism is so much worse than this...thieves thieves...

• KK 10 years ago

We die finish - as they say. If your watchmen are themselves gangsters, then God help you. Can you believe the argument of the MP. As head of GIPC, he brought the investors into Ghana, So he thinks he has the right to sell th ...

• Hmm... 10 years ago

Selfish man is an inward looking man and such people don't develop their community.

A fruit farmer hired two new workers for his fields, but before he sent them out for the day's work, he told them he had just one rule: don't steal any fruit. The two agreed to obey the rule.

After the day was over, the tw ...

• mmrosa 10 years ago

YOU'VE MADE MY DAY

Hahahaha, hohohoho, hehehehehe

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

Why are we always treating each other so shabbily like the way this MP is allegedly conducting himself? The family should pursue this matter and collect every pesewas from this MP if that is the case. This is not NDC, NPP mat ...

• DISCIPLINE HOLLAND 10 years ago

SO AHBA WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS MAHAMA MPS?

• Salifu 10 years ago

The reason they kill to be in power is to steal. Thieves

• Kwame 10 years ago

Since the family did not retain GAK, they should seek redress from BREMWO.

• IN GHANA 10 years ago

LIKE IT OR NOT

• HARD WORKING PEOPLE 10 years ago

THE BACKBONE OF GHANA

• STUPID NORTHERNERS 10 years ago

LAZY PEOPLE IN THE NORTH

• KING 10 years ago

THIS IS AN NDC MP, THE THIEEEVES

• OKOE 10 years ago

POLITICAL PARTIES DO NOT LOOK AT THE BACKGROUND OF PERSONS THAN THEIR POCKETS. YOU CAN BE THE BEST CROOK AROUND, THEY WILL ACCEPT YOU TO STAND ELECTIONS ON THEIR BEHALF. I AM NOT SURE WHETHER OR NOT THERE ARE LAWS EXCLUDING C ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Shame!

• obibs 10 years ago

The mp is a thief and should be arrested forthwith. The police should a t immediately rather than invite him at his leisure.

• OBRONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

The President has openly said he cant arrest these criminals and deffered to the police. Now the Police invites the criminals at their leisure - not arrests them. We are in deep trouble !

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

This MP is proven the overriding credential needed to be an elected member of Ghana's parliament is a non-apprehended thief who masquerade as a businessman. Each one of Ghana's members of parliament is a businessman or woman ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Even a rapist like Doe Adjaho is the Speaker of Parliament and Captain Nfodwo, Alba Bagbin, all accused rapists who should be in prison are called HONOURABLES, Ghana for you.

WHEN YOU LEAVE PARLIAMENT YOU DRIVE A TRUCK TO HIDE YOUR STOLEN MONEY.
    AS YOU ARE BORED YOU GET A WHORE TO PLAY WITH YOUR COCK ON THE HIGHWAY.
    SOON THE TRUCK HITS THE TAKORADI GAS PIPE LINE.
    THE EXPLOSION DESTROYS THE POWE ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

ABEEKU MENSAH.

YOU HAVE TRULY DESCRIBED THE BRUTAL AND CORRUPT NATURE OF SYSTEM THAT PREVAILS IN THE COUNTRY.

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT,IN KUFFOURS EIGHT YEARS OF ADMINISTRATION MESSENGERS,TYPISTS AND PUBLIC OFFICERS AT THE M ...

• Ghanaba Kwateng, Afukruwa 10 years ago

After stealing votes, you are now stealing money from families. Thief give them their money. Next time you cannot steal votes and become MP. How can such people lead their citizens?

• CROOK? 10 years ago

2012 passed.
    Did he forward the tax to Revenue Service?
    2013 has just passed.
    The Revenue Service must make sure that he forwarded the tax deduction over to them.

And why did he not send proper accounting records to the ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

THE LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS IN TAKORADI ARE INVESTIGATING THE CRIMINAL CASE LEVELLED AGAINST HON GEORGE ABOAGYE, MEMBER OF PÜARLIAMENT FOR AHANTA WEST.

HOWEVER,THE MOST IMPORTANT QUESTION IS; TO WHAT REVENUE DEPARTMENT I ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

MP Aboagye is a thief and must cough up the money and after that serve time in jail.

• Nii Ablorh 10 years ago

straight to jail. a government official bringing in investment and turning round to exploit for your personal again? my God what a country?

• Ekow Essandoh 10 years ago

Please leave him alone, all the MPs do it.

• OKESS 10 years ago

THIS IS HAPPENING EVERYWHERE - LAND IS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE SOLD IN OUR GOOD OLD CULTURE.

• solah 10 years ago

This animal who calls himself an MP is very stupid.useless man

• Nyamsasem 10 years ago

What is the police going to do? The aggrieved should just take him to court.

• unknown 10 years ago

Just found this article on Modernghana website. Ghanaweb could you please publish this. Thanks

Christine Agbagba is a 14-year-old girl who attends Asukawkaw Evangelical Presbyterian Primary School in the Krachi East of the ...

• dandarey 10 years ago

Crock member of Parliament .you must to step down

• jd, usa 10 years ago

ARE YOU A TAX COLLECTOR? DON'T TRY TO BE A SMART THIEF. LET ME TELL YOU THESE DAYS EVERY FAMILY HAS ELITES IN THEM SO BE CAREFUL OF THE BUFOONARY TRICKS YOU ARE PLAYING ON ILLITERATES IN YOUR AREA. YOU ARE GOING TO DIE LIKE A ...

• Alex 10 years ago

Conflict of interest, he sold it with 5.000 profit, what kind of MPs are we having, paliament should investigate and sanction him for the disgrace if its really true.

• Gina Eghan 10 years ago

It is true, and my question to this so called businessman /MP is , how can you trade with something that doesn't belong to You? You will be tried in a court of law,and you will vomit this money, This will serve as a warning ...

• Johnny 10 years ago

THIS ARE LAW MAKERS.OH MOTHER GHANA WHY BRING FORTH THIS THIEF'S INTO UR LAND OR NATION GHANA.?

• Gina Eghan 10 years ago

Paapa ,Im proud of you for
    Exposing this crook. Let him sweat the money back . Cudoo uncle Mo.

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 10 years ago

Are armed robbers not better than the so called Honourable MP ?: