Ghana can only progress if NPP never comes near the reigns of power. NPP spent 8 years sharing every state property to NPP supporters. Kufuor even stole lands along the Accra-Tema Motorway, leaving no room for the expansion into a six-lane carriageway in each direction Nkrumah planned for. And this thief also took all the lands around the Tetteh Quarshie Circle. He gave part of it to his daughter who sold it to South African investors who put up the Accra Mall (ShopRite). The rest Kufuor went into joint-venture with Italians to build the Villageois Estates at the other end of Tetteh Quarshie Circle.
The good old Prof managed to retrieve only some of the state lands and bungalows back. It is therefore shocking the NPP today can turn round and be shouting about corruption. Since Nkrumah's time the UP group have never believed in playing morally right politics. All they know is to use pull-him-down tactics. But sadly they can never be trusted with public resources. Jake's and Nana Addo's fathers as well as Busia were happy to serve as CIA Agents in order to pull down Nkrumah!!!
The UP group have never been patriotic.
Wasting our ears, Bawumia 11 years ago
Hey! Bawumia, go look for a job and stop wasting our ears. The NPP has been in power for the 8years and could not turn Ghana into a manufacturing hub of West Africa until now? You bawumia would never past the position of a vice president in the NPP. You are only suffering for nothing. They will put you into some congress shit, then turn around and pay delegates to vote against you. That is the trick the NPP use, and they call that democracy.. You are not any different from Aliu. The NPP will drag you into election where they know pepeni no dey there to vote for you. You will only receive votes from yourself, your wife and children. .Ha ha ha!! Ask Aliu and family for a briefing. Aliu sponsored the NPP when prsiedent Kuffuor was a brokeman and was awarded the vice president. He made a mistake and forgot he is a northerner in NPp and tried for the Presidential slot, which was when he knew who born dog. Even Kuffor was campaigning against him. You are making a mokery of your self. The Northerners don’t have time for you. You are a joke Bawumia. Stop wasting our ears.
akabawe 11 years ago
u right he is a joker.Bawumia is not serious , was the npp not in power for 8years? why couldn,t they take away the taxes on spare parts and other things he is talking of.Was he not in Ghana to advice his party to make such a good change? He should shut up.up
ZoRRo 11 years ago
They lie to be elected then steal for themselves and do nothing for the people.
The Ghanaian 11 years ago
NDC needs Bawumia but for politics. The government is suffering from economic thinking because it has employed only clueless fresh university gradutes who are only trained to spread propaganda and to insult.
Kwesi 11 years ago
Yes, Ghana can become a manufacturing powerhouse, but why compare to West Africa? There is no manufacturing in West Africa. So please compare with the countries whose import duties you referred to - Brazil, USA and China-.
Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 11 years ago
Dr.Bawumia, a true patriot and ardent disciple of the Danquah/Dombo/Busia fraternity !
Although 24 years of NDC misrule has helped to turn the majority of Ghanaians of voting age into foolsoldiers, all is not yet lost, sin ... read full comment
Dr.Bawumia, a true patriot and ardent disciple of the Danquah/Dombo/Busia fraternity !
Although 24 years of NDC misrule has helped to turn the majority of Ghanaians of voting age into foolsoldiers, all is not yet lost, since we still have the men and brains of the likes of Bawumia to turn the fortunes of Maaaame/Daaaavi Ghana in the near future.
For a highly indebted poor country(HIPC) to become a middle-income country in just 8 years without any oil revenues, speak volumes for the caliber of brains in the Danquah/Dombo/Busia fraternity.
Dan Forson 11 years ago
NANA ADDO MUST MAKE WAY FOR A DR.BAWUMIA PRESIDENCY. TALK TALK MAHAMA WILL BE FLOORED EASILY BY DR.BAWUMIA
Koforidua Flower (fr) 11 years ago
NANA ADDO AND DR MAWUMIA IS A VERY REMARKABLE PAIR TO WHIP mahama AND HIS CORRUPT ndc COMING 2016 IF ONLY JOHN KOFI DUBAI CAN STAND TILL THAT TIME.I DOUBT JOHN CAN STAY TO THE END OF HIS TERM.HE IS ALREADY SHAMBLES.
Abrewa 11 years ago
Interesting analysis! So what happened in 2012? The "remarkable pair" lost to Mahama even though he campaigned for only three months! Well, you can hope against hope, but I don't think the two can ever beat John Mahama!!
MENSAH 11 years ago
VICKY HAMMAH says the verdict of the SC was compromised.
SHE IS A MEMBER OF NDC.
Abrantie Boy 11 years ago
Do better homework and stop the insults and you may win the next election.
Dan Forson 11 years ago
NANA ADDO MUST MAKE WAY FOR A DR.BAWUMIA PRESIDENCY. TALK TALK MAHAMA WILL BE FLOORED EASILY BY DR.BAWUMIA. MASSA, NPP MADE MOST GAINS IN THE NORTH IN THE 2012 ELECTIONS THANKS TO DR.BAWUMIA.
Kofi Kyei Berko 11 years ago
Bawumia would even suffer a more humiliating defeat than Nana. From the way he speaks, he is even more "Talk-Talk" than Mahama. He just wants his presence to be felt, that's all!!
Kwame Dokyi 11 years ago
You made my day!Why were you hiding your intelligence;the raw truth?
consider 11 years ago
ghana can manufacture what? sleeping on seashore? eating kenkey and fufu to waste on stupid empty political talks on radios? think correct my brother
Don Blunt 11 years ago
Is it not Akufo-Addo we must support, to bring Ghana forward?
Your rantings here nowhere incriminates Nana Akufo-Addo. And you would not spare him, if you had anything against him, no matter how insignificant.
You mentio ... read full comment
Your rantings here nowhere incriminates Nana Akufo-Addo. And you would not spare him, if you had anything against him, no matter how insignificant.
You mention Nkrumah's Motorway, and deliberately forget his GIHOC, BLACK STAR LINES, GNTCs etc. You do not say a Rawlings stole them, and therefore... 'no NDC'.
To you, anybody is welcome to loot and destroy Ghana, so long as they are NDC. Would Ibrahim Mahama survive, if he were a member of NPP?
Insight to the bone 11 years ago
Ghana can only progress if NPP never comes near the reigns of power. NPP spent 8 years sharing every state property to NPP supporters. Kufuor even stole lands along the Accra-Tema Motorway, leaving no room for the expansion into a six-lane carriageway in each direction Nkrumah planned for. And this thief also took all the lands around the Tetteh Quarshie Circle. He gave part of it to his daughter who sold it to South African investors who put up the Accra Mall (ShopRite). The rest Kufuor went into joint-venture with Italians to build the Villageois Estates at the other end of Tetteh Quarshie Circle.
The good old Prof managed to retrieve only some of the state lands and bungalows back. It is therefore shocking the NPP today can turn round and be shouting about corruption. Since Nkrumah's time the UP group have never believed in playing morally right politics. All they know is to use pull-him-down tactics. But sadly they can never be trusted with public resources. Jake's and Nana Addo's fathers as well as Busia were happy to serve as CIA Agents in order to pull down Nkrumah!!!
The UP group have never been patriotic.
Repugnant. 11 years ago
Ghana has no need for a vocal sound making president, respecting that Mahama's only gift is to keep talking till his listeners are bored to death without substance.
Tell him that we need a development plan. Also paying ju ... read full comment
Ghana has no need for a vocal sound making president, respecting that Mahama's only gift is to keep talking till his listeners are bored to death without substance.
Tell him that we need a development plan. Also paying judgement debts does not develop a country, not unless he is a debt collector.
Peace 11 years ago
NDC SUPPORTERS CAN NOT ACCEPT ALTERNATIVE VIEWS. SORRY FOR YOU PEOPLE
GH Armed Forces 11 years ago
Ghana will advance without stealers, npp.
Oscar 11 years ago
A full like you go to Ghana and observe how the country has sank through the NDC.
OFF CASE 11 years ago
NDC Supporters won't even understand what Dr Bawumiah is saying when they give them peanuts they go vote NDC and live for 4 years on hungry bellies under mango tress without jobs playing "dame"
Janet Baah 11 years ago
If you talk like this, how can you come back to moderate NDC supporters in 2016 and ask for their vote? You see why your party always wins in only the Ashanti and Eastern regions? This arrogance is what is killing the NPP.
... read full comment
If you talk like this, how can you come back to moderate NDC supporters in 2016 and ask for their vote? You see why your party always wins in only the Ashanti and Eastern regions? This arrogance is what is killing the NPP.
It will take you forever to win an election again in Ghana, because you are so naive you don't understand how to coax supporters of other parties to buy into your cause. If you think that by insulting them, they would be bullied into supporting you, you are dead wrong!
Besides, who told you NDC supporters are illiterates? This is a myth in your own mind that you believe because your own people have repeated it to you several times. You said the same thing during your election petition, where you were constantly bragging that the NPP had the most brilliant ("akukudam") lawyers in Ghana. What happened? You lost and then started blaming Justice Atuguba.
Even the recent Merchant Bank court case you lost again. It is not enough to brand yourself as better than the NDC. It is the outcome of events that tell whether you are better or worse, not the long talk and constant bragging!!!
PK 11 years ago
"If you talk like this, how can you come back to moderate NDC supporters in 2016 and ask for their vote? You see why your party always wins in only the Ashanti and Eastern regions? This arrogance is what is killing the NPP".
Janet, even in the NDC's own internal politics, you people call the most competent people arrogant and vote for so-called humble and nice guys who turn out to be the most incompetent. But in the end, who loses?
Naturally, competent people are serious-minded and are often tough-talking and impatient to get things done. They don't have time for, nor do they tolerate, fooling around. For this reason, many, especially weak and lazy minds, may seem them as arrogant. But if you care about the future of this country, stop this "humble" nonsense and vote for competent people in spite of their arrogance.
You're right on one thing, not all NDC people are illiterates. But there is no doubt that most are lazy minds. You can go on voting for humble, fine-faced incompetents even in your own party. Nkwaseasem kwa!
thinking 11 years ago
and who says what dr bawmia said will happend when npp comes to power they can achieve it as said. when npp was in power did they reduce tarrifs to creat that opportunity of commpetitiveness. some word are only intended for vote but not actions and who even said that manufacturing is the only means to develop an economy. doc should stop that stone age economics of development and research on transforming ghana into a knowlege base economy
Peace 11 years ago
UNFORTUNATELY YOU SUBJECT IS THINKING BUT NDC GOVERNMENTS DO NOT THINK. JUST DO THINGS BY HEART. SORRY A FOCUS GOVT CAN ACHIEVE THAT. NDC TRY IT
Abrantie Boy 11 years ago
I don't know what Bawumia thinks we would be manufacturing besides what the major economies of the wolrd are already doing, let alone becoming a "hub" at that! Is he talking about automobiles or spaceships?
You can sense t ... read full comment
I don't know what Bawumia thinks we would be manufacturing besides what the major economies of the wolrd are already doing, let alone becoming a "hub" at that! Is he talking about automobiles or spaceships?
You can sense that this is a typical academic who cannot detach himself from the notes about the industrial revolution which he read years ago. In a global economy that is steadily moving towards service and knowledge based products, here is a "Dr" who os still steeped in fantasies about heavy industrial manufacturing!
This is why Ghana needs pragmatic politicians with commonsense and not those straight-jacket academicians with nothing but only a long string of qualifications to show!!!
Patapaa 11 years ago
Where did you get this strange idea from - that people who are "competent" are impatient? It will take patience and diligence to uncover what the real and fundamental problems facing this country are. It is not your usual belligerence and bellicosity.
As far as you are concerned, nothing works (or will ever work) until the NPP is in power. No other party has the competence or the goodwill to make its own contribution to the progress and development of this country! If so, then go change the constitution so that only the NPP will be the single party in Ghana!
George H.W. Bush took the US to war in Iraq and the American people are still counting the costs of his policies in the Middle-East. Is anybody insulting Americans who voted for him to become president because of that? Your stupid impatience does not equal competence, if you care to know. And if you are smart, you would probably think soberly about Janet's postulation that you would only get the so-called "illeterate" NDC supporters on your side if you convinced them by logic and not by brutish bullying and insults.
There is no script that says NPP politicians are more competent and have Ghana more at heart than politicians of any other party. That is the "arrogance" you guys often exhibit and which we talk about. To think that for as long as anybody professes to belong to the NPP makes that person necessarily smarter than everybody else is simply silly.
If Janet does not agree with your point of view, it means she is talking "nkwaseasem"? For the false "democrats" that you NPP call yourselves, you clearly do not to understand democracy. What is she also thought you are also speaking "mmboasem" because you don't agree with her? Don't expose yourself as an intolerant twerp!!
KOKROKO 11 years ago
If you want more illiterate supporters, look into the NPP. What do you guys know at all? You only clamour for the NPP because in your mind it represents the "mesee" cause.
Go to Kantamanto, Abossey-Okai, Asafo Market and K ... read full comment
If you want more illiterate supporters, look into the NPP. What do you guys know at all? You only clamour for the NPP because in your mind it represents the "mesee" cause.
Go to Kantamanto, Abossey-Okai, Asafo Market and Kejetia and interview your noisy guys there and you will get a fair idea which block has more literates than the other!!
You only repeat lies about yourselves in the hope that people will believe them with time. Who no know you people? Don't bring you foolish self!!
OSEI KOFI 11 years ago
Sometimes I wonder the kind of politics that is done in this country. Between NDC and NPP, whose support base comprises mostly of illiterates? Man! Know thyself and think properly.
Desmond Okai 11 years ago
NPp did nothing for Ghana but turned Ghanaians into thieves armed robbers and liars. Get money by all means syndrome today in Ghana is some of the left overs of the stupid NPP party.. They did nothing, they can only talk talk. NPP sold land to cronies and corrupt the whole system for just 8years in power.JJ is so right. You can twist the truth any how you want but it will not stick. God saved Ghana from the NPP because he loves us. President Mahama was just God's work. He will remain and finish the work God sent him to do. You men cannot do anything about what God has put in place.Go to hell!
AMINA 11 years ago
How do you earn a living if you are really Okai but not trokosi Okai? These trokosis are so desperate that they are scared to use their funny names so they impersonate other tribes in Ghana.Ooh What a shame !
SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago
Fellow Ghanaian People, it is only a
stupid Cow and mad Cow disease sufferers, can't see that NDC, the so-called political party is a curse to
this nation, the people of this country and very stupid economical strategy.
... read full comment
stupid Cow and mad Cow disease sufferers, can't see that NDC, the so-called political party is a curse to
If still there are some people in our country, who still think that NDC is
so-called politicians can build our nation, then such people are the most hopeless and mad cow diseases sufferers and have no brains and we can direct such idiots, to go and consult some brain impairment specialists.
Under the ordinary thinking of such a hopeless NDC supporter and their so-called politicians, you need to support Alfred Agbesi Woyome gargantuan crime, GYEEDA corruption practices, Nkomfem stupid cows, Isofotone judgement debt and total
corruption in our country before they
will tell you that you are a good political party.
With every civilized Ghanaian citizenry, we know that NDC, the so-called politicians and that party is
indeed a curse to our nation, which
their thievery and loot and share political practices has brought hopelessness unto our sovereignty.
Kwasea like you if Ghana were to be
one of what even NDC themselves are
expected to see, why should that crook and deceitful Dramani Mahama leave his country and go another person country
to go and spend Christmas? SWINE LIKE YOU.
P. BRODDIE MENDS 11 years ago
Did the NPP have all these ideas during their 8 years in power? If they did, why didn't Ghana become that so-called "manufacturing powerhouse"? After plundering the nation in 8 years, the NPP thinks it can pass through the backdoor to power by emabarking on its strategy of deceiving the people of Ghana again?
Before your people came to power in 2000, they told us they had already made their money so when they come, they wont "chop" money. Some of us thought they would even sacrifice their salaries, but what happened? Before they left power, they had doubled their wealth by awarding themselves lucrative and non-existent contracts from the national kitty!
Give us a break, NPP. We Ghanaians are of age and are past the stage of sweet talks, so no amount of sugar-coated words will deceive us into bringing you back to power!!!
... read full comment
so-called politicians can build our nation, then such people are the most hopeless and mad cow diseases sufferers and have no brains and we can direct such idiots, to go and consult some brain impairment specialists.
Under the ordinary thinking of such a hopeless NDC supporter and their so-called politicians, you need to support Alfred Agbesi Woyome gargantuan crime, GYEEDA corruption practices, Nkomfem stupid cows, Isofotone judgement debt and total
With every civilized Ghanaian citizenry, we know that NDC, the so-called politicians and that party is
their thievery and loot and share political practices has brought hopelessness unto our sovereignty.
expected to see, why should that crook and deceitful Dramani Mahama leave his country and go another person country
... read full comment
So this cattle herder also wants to be president like his senior cattle herder JM? Why don't people know their limit? To me the Veep position should be the highest for anyone who has ever herded cattle, sheep or goats, or has ever reared guinea fowls.
Bawumiah should learn from Alieu Mahama who financed NPP in the the 2000 elections. And he brought in a lot of votes unlike Bawumia who even lost in his own village polling station!
And Bawumia should also not lose sight of how the NPP only adds Dombo to the foudners of NPP when they are in the north or when they are talking to a northern group. I wonder why some northerners don't find it offensive how their southern counterparts are insulting northerners.
I beg Bawumia to read the derogatory comments from his 'friends' to this article, especially he should look out for comments from "Insight to the bone".
Amanor ,Isaac USA 11 years ago
This is not about party but about Ghana.Thank you Dr.Bawumia but these stubon NDC leaders will not listen.Ghana does not make cars but you buy a car hear in the USA $4000 and has to pay VAT and duties as high as $2500 so plus shipping of $1500,this car in Ghana becomes almost a $10000 car.Can we think and get seriuos.NDC will not listen till they loose power just like NPP did .
STUPID FAKE ANANI FIADZOE, GOD PUNISHES YOU.
Peace 11 years ago
hOW DO GO HARD ON THE MAN ANANI FIADZOE. PLEASE ACCEPT EACH ONE'S COMMENT BECAUSE YOURS IS BEEN ACCEPTED BY ALL. IS IT A DISEASE THAT NDC SUPPORTERS CAN NOT ACCEEPT OTHER VIEWS
oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 11 years ago
2016 NPP will make sure that we will collapse your criminal party so called NDC and we shall see whether a fool like you will survive or not?
EZEKIEL 11 years ago
Fiadzoe, you are a TWERP!What do you have against cattle herder ??? Somebody has to do that job too. We can't ALL be University graduates...WITHOUT JOBS !!! Where do you get your BEEF from ???
EVERY TYPE of job IS NECESSARY ... read full comment
Fiadzoe, you are a TWERP!What do you have against cattle herder ??? Somebody has to do that job too. We can't ALL be University graduates...WITHOUT JOBS !!! Where do you get your BEEF from ???
EVERY TYPE of job IS NECESSARY in the Effort to Build Ghana. Let EVERYBODY put in his/her BEST at the job and Ghana will move forward !!!
AMINA 11 years ago
Even you 'ewe' a stranger in Ghana is now a speaker of Ghana's paliament how much more a northerner a true , real Ghanaian who were Ghanaians before the whiteman came to this part of the world doesn't deserve to be president of his homeland? Twerp.We Ghanaians feel comfortable with a northerner being president than an ewe being a speaker of our paliament, no ewe can be president of Ghana by vote , tafiakwa
The founder of your stupid party so called NDC knows very well how to spew insult. If you are living in Jupiter l don't know about that but those living on earth will understand me that stupid JJ Rawlings always insult kufour even when he is having sex with Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings, take this as your cup of tea this morning. Okay?
Patapaa 11 years ago
Onyansani mpo na wokasa tese gyimiifuo yi? Wo kwasea tese fufuo!!
Who told you Kufour is a Saint? When JJ accuses Atta Mills or Mahama you say he is speaking the truth. But when he turns his guns on your corrupt NPP "pen robbers", then you are enraged.
If you want to find the most corrupt politicians in Ghana, look inside your NPP. Your party's philosophy is nothing but money money money, so they are more likely to steal than anybody else.
You forget that you brought about the political cliche called "Property Owning Democracy"? We know governance is to serve the people, but the NPP thinks it is about piling up money and property.... and you have the audacity to describe other people as corrupt. Shame on you!!!
Fufuo Nyansa nkwaaaa 11 years ago
Ha Ha Ha ha!!! NPP on the lose again. so desperate to have power. NPP did nothing for Ghana but turned Ghanaians into thieves armed robbers and liars. Get money by all means syndrome today in Ghana is some of the left overs of the stupid NPP party.. They did nothing, they can only talk talk. NPP sold land to cronies and corrupt the whole system for just 8years in power.JJ is so right. You can twist the truth any how you want but it will not stick. God saved Ghana from the NPP because he loves us. President Mahama was just God's work. He will remain and finish the work God sent him to do. You men cannot do anything about what God has put in place.Go to hell!
So, you are telling me that NDC is performing better for the people of Ghana? Wagyimi papa! Did you hear from Atuguba the opepeni judge who brought the verdict on 29/08/13? What did he say? I want you to tell me? Agya Ghanafo binom agyimi yie. You are one of them. You need to educate yourself in that you are lacked Of a common sense. Okay? You fools called a bitter Ghana as a better Ghana. Shame unto you all. You know how to rig elections to have power but you don't know how to rule. Nkwaseasem nkoaa na mo nim.
What is you problem at all? You are insulting everybody on this platform who does not agree with you, why? Are you so bitter because the NPP keeps losing?
The people of Ghana looked at your track record and decided you ar ... read full comment
What is you problem at all? You are insulting everybody on this platform who does not agree with you, why? Are you so bitter because the NPP keeps losing?
The people of Ghana looked at your track record and decided you are not worth their vote. This is democracy! if you were performing, why did they vote against you? Have you asked yourself why Mahama won with only 3 months campaign? It is because Ghanaians know the NPP too well.
What at all did you do for Ghana in 8 years that you are so pissed off that you were rejected by Ghanaians? Your people went peoperty-grabbing all over the place. Vodafone, Ghana airways, Drill Ship, etc!!! Jake Obetsebi Lamptey had to go as far as the supreme court to grab ONE government bungalow! You think Ghanaians don't have commonsense?
If you don't know, Ghanaians see for themselves what you did in 8 years, so it is not the plenty talk that Bawumia and his ilk engage in that will convince then to turn to the NPP. You don't win elections by insulting people because you cannot force people to vote for you. Keep on insulting and you will stay in opposition forever. You are a true nincompoop!!
I will never ever be a member of that idiots party. I mean NDC what have they done at all for Ghanaians? Apart from corruption, intimidating, hatred and propaganda, That is what l personally know about NDC and their bitter Ghana agenda but not better Ghana agenda. Do you agree with me or not?
Was it NDC that brought the following social incentives to the people of Ghana:
1. NHIS SCHEME
2. YOUTH EMPLOYMENT PROGRAMME
3. SCHOOL FEEDING PROGRAMME
4. CAPITATION GRANT
RENOVATION OF FOUR STADIA, l don't want to go f ... read full comment
1. NHIS SCHEME
4. CAPITATION GRANT
RENOVATION OF FOUR STADIA, l don't want to go further but ask yourself was it NDC that brought those mentioned above? You said kufour did not do anything have you seen how stupid you are? Now, tell me what your party has done so far? I am waiting for your respond. Okay?
We have pampered our leaders too much for so long time and that is the reason why they are taking us for granted. NDC is disgusting and a fool like you cannot see anything wrong with your greedy bastards fools. Listen, l am waiting for NPP to finish their congress and after that Ghanaians will hear from me on the following Fm radio stations: Amansan, Hot Fm, Sources, WBLS, Abibiman radio all in London live and l will teach NDC fools a lesson including your idiot founder that you fools ate worshiping him as an idol. Kwasea bi yem ba ne wo se wa te? Sanbra bio! Ofui!
What! If the NPP allows you to speak on their behalf on radio, I will conclude that the party is truly full of bunk-heads. I hope they don't have many of your type in that party. You are a total disgrace to commonsense! Woye aboa a, anka wobeye aboa ben? Odabo!!!
AMINA 11 years ago
Wo y3 gyimifuo paaaaaa if you have common sense you wouldn't have spoken on behalf of ndc and call yourself Kofi Kyei Berko.Wo maame abr3 agu unless you tell me you are a stomack politician.Idiot ! Next time come to this world with a vision and hope.
I am surprised there are brainless morons like you still in Ghana. You don't inspire me to talk on behalf of the NPP because your arguments are only driven by stupidity and jealousy. I choose to support any party I like. Son of a thief!! All you have been trained to do is to steal and insult. Awiooo, Awi!!!
PHILIPPO INZAGHI 11 years ago
How can this idiot call himself "onyansani". He is "stupid" Onyansani!!
I will keep on insulting you fools till you change. Okay?
What else can you do apart from raining insults on people? That is how you people are brought up. Ghana needs people who think up solutions to problems facing this country, not thwarts like you who specialize in filthy words and obscenities.
Onba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana 11 years ago
Well said. l have been trained by kwasea mu pani Asiedu Nketiah your party General Secretary so l am untouchable. Are you happy now? Stay away from me okay?
YOU ARE A TRUE NIT-WIT. YOU ARE PROUD TO DESCRIBE YOURSELF AS AN IMPUDENT BRAT? I THINK YOU WERE BROUGHT UP IN SOME JUNGLE. BRUTE!
Agyeman 11 years ago
Very hard for Ghana to be a manufacturing powerhouse with erratic pwr,water shortage,a highly politicised regulatory framework,scant history of manufacturing,no work ethic and a weak legal system.Any good foundation on this venture can be undone by corruption,poor connectivity to world mkts and an inefficient port surrounded by poor nations known for instability. There's good reasons why multinationals set up base in either Kenya,Egypt or S.A and operate their businesses to other african nations from there.Ghana is still a raw commodity exporter nation,not a manufacturing mecca.
Buabeng - On Earth 11 years ago
And that is why he is saying with the proper implementation of import duties including abolishing some on other goods and implementation of other measures including the regular supply of electricity, the country can become a manufacturing powerhouse.
It is a laudable idea but the NPP had the chance over 8 years to change the import duty issue but didn't. Ghana doesn't manufacture vehicles and other machinery but the import duties on these commodities that will help production are way too high. Just unacceptable.
Government must reduce import duties and change bad governance practices such as corruption or we will forever remain in our poverty.
Fox Bat 11 years ago
Dr Bawamia talks like your typical African politician.How does Ghana become a manufacturing hub with the current skill labor constraints, cronic power supply,poor road network and almost no rail systems? How does a trained economist think that a landlocked entity like Suame,hundreds of kilometres from any sea or river port,is going to rely on imported spare parts to become our engineering showcase? The higer tariffs are a mirror of the narrow tax base in Ghana, and they must be addressed to broaden revenue steam. I am not impressed with his partisan political economics,even for someone like me with no economics training.Ghana's problems are not so simplistic as he put them,and I am amazed by his naivity.
Baah 11 years ago
The same can be said around your comments of unstable countries surrounding Egypt, SA and Kenya,. Ghana's utilities stability is 100% better than it was 2 years ago.
The author of this article writes a lot of fact I onl ... read full comment
The same can be said around your comments of unstable countries surrounding Egypt, SA and Kenya,. Ghana's utilities stability is 100% better than it was 2 years ago.
The author of this article writes a lot of fact I only wish there were more leaders in both current government and opposition that were aligned for the better good of Ghana.....
Agyeman 11 years ago
True but on balance Kenya,Egypt & S.A are in more prosperous neighbourhoods with fewer unstable neighbours and have more advanced manufacturing bases,better communication and transport infrastructure and bigger internal +external mkts.Our area has unstable Mali,I.C, Nigeria,Liberia & Sierra Leone.
Idi Amin Mobutu Mokassa Jr. 11 years ago
"Adding that 22.5% of tax revenue in Ghana is from trade taxes as compared to 2.69% for Brazil, 4.44% for China, 3.96% for South Africa and 1.25% for the USA."
And what was Ghana's tax revenue percentage for trade taxes du ... read full comment
"Adding that 22.5% of tax revenue in Ghana is from trade taxes as compared to 2.69% for Brazil, 4.44% for China, 3.96% for South Africa and 1.25% for the USA."
And what was Ghana's tax revenue percentage for trade taxes during the 8 years NPP was in power? And why didn't Ghana become the manufacturing hub in West Africa during NPP rule?
DARK DAYS IN GHANA 11 years ago
Foolish hypocrites...the CPP Seven Year Development Plan was going to make Ghana the development leader of the entire continent of Africa from whom our sister nations will emulate. Everything was set up for that purpose; a hydro-electric dam, and integrated aluminum plant, a steel plant, just about the necessary infrastructure was in place to make Ghana a developing country leading into the 21st century.
Now here come the very people who sabotaged this development plan talking about what? These people are the real enemies of Ghana. What is he talking about.Listen Bawumia and the NPP, opportunity comes but once.We missed the chance to become an industrial nation due to your Party"s hatred of Nkrumah's socialist program. What is Ghana going to manufacture and sell to whom? Ask yourselves that question before you come out and spill this illiterate nonsense. Nea ebeye mo a na aye mo no.
Kweku Boateng Jnr 11 years ago
As far as 1964 the CPP had planned the Tamale International Airport, see page 100 of Nkrumah's great book DarkmDays in Ghana. And the UP and the West stopped it with their coup! Airports lead to development.
It seems Mamud ... read full comment
As far as 1964 the CPP had planned the Tamale International Airport, see page 100 of Nkrumah's great book DarkmDays in Ghana. And the UP and the West stopped it with their coup! Airports lead to development.
It seems Mamud Bawunia has not read history. Go ask HE Kufour why thevBritish High Commissioner asked him to stop talking about developing chicken farms in Ghana?
Victor A. Young 11 years ago
Increase in taxes has been the philosophy or the AFRC/P-NDC since 1979. They increase taxes on virtually everything; that was when Dr. Kwasi Botchwey was Secretary for Finance and Economic Planning. Folks will recall that there was separate taxes on vehicles that were gasoline and air condition and diesel vehicles etc. and as well, colour TVs and VCRs demanded 500% taxes by govt. on their domestic items.
Late Atta-Mills who the NDC always boasted to be Tax & Law Professor didn't see it differently; he also brought high taxes thereby stifling economic growth.
Since the NDC came into power, the Cedi continues to lose it's value against all major international currencies eg: US $ 1.00 = GHc 1.00 in 2008; US $ 1.00 = GHc 2.15 at current. that's more than 100% decline. Isn't that horrible? et the NDC want Ghanaians to believe that everything is just right with the nation's economy. I wonder where they had their education on economics? Wow!
Let us be thankful to the Lord because He does things mysteriously and that's why we're seeing all these things. The Lord has a purpose for everything. I'm optimistic that Ghana won't be the same when Nana Akufo-Addo and Dr. Bawumia win the elections. Things continue to fall apart for Ghanaians prices have reached unbelievable levels as the NDC continue to deceive people each day.
OSO 11 years ago
NDC is a party lack Ideas on how to move a country forward. This explanation by Dr. is simple a strategy to move Ghana forward, if look carefully all the countries that are developed export goods and services, but what do Ghana export? Our raw-materials talents in terms of human resources. Simply because you have people in power who only see generating income is through taxes on condoms...What myopic minded part with constipation of ideas....NDC is cursed party....Our currency is free falling, growth rate declining, inflation hitting high in the skies, taxes on every agricultural implements when majority of the population are farmers....Did these short sighted government even think through this tax increases????
Suuk Daniel Daadaamin 11 years ago
the only Doctor of the decade. we are highly in need of you to come 2016 to implement your good policies
Kofi Kofi 11 years ago
Did the NPP have all these ideas during their 8 years in power? Why didn't they implement it?
mohammed amin abdallah,adenta,fafraha 11 years ago
DR.BAWUMIA YOU STILL DID NOT TELL US ANY ALTERNATIVE SOURCE OF REVENUE FOR THE NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT.THIS IS HOW TO CUT REVENUE,IT SEEMS TOO MUCH FOR YOU.DR.MAGIC MAN,DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT,WE ARE NOT GULLIBLE PEOPLE,STOP USING DECEPTIVE POLITICAL NARRATIVES.SORRY MATE BE SMART,
Delaw 11 years ago
Why did u not give this advice to the NPP when they were in power 8 years ago.
Preacher 11 years ago
When you were in power for 8 yrs what did you do, dont just go about telling lies just for power or to come back to power. You will never come back. I can see you Bawumia you are not to be trusted. You have nothing to offer Ghanaians.
km agyin 11 years ago
Electricity, water, nation wide first class roads and railways are the fundamental ingredients needed for industrialization. These are what the government should make available and the rest (factories, skyscrapers housing) etc will be built by the private sector.
KANE 11 years ago
Dr. Bawumia stated that the trend in the aforementioned countries was in sharp contrast to the situation in other countries like Ghana which had an average import tariff of 15%.
UNQUOTE.
AGAIN I QUOTE DR BAWUMI ... read full comment
Dr. Bawumia stated that the trend in the aforementioned countries was in sharp contrast to the situation in other countries like Ghana which had an average import tariff of 15%.
UNQUOTE.
AGAIN I QUOTE DR BAWUMIA.
".....Ghana which had an average import tariff of 15%".
AGAIN, I UNQUOTE DR BAWUMIA.
HOW SAD!!!
MY TAKE ON THIS "COCK & BULL" STATEMENT BY DR. BAWUMIA IS AS FOLLOWS:
IT'S STRANGE THAT DR BAWUMIA THINKS THE AVERAGE IMPORT DUTY TARIFF IN GHANA IS AS LOW AS 15% OF THE CIF VALUE.
GOODNESS ME!!!
WHAT THE HELL IS HE TALKING ABOUT?
15% AVERAGE IMPORT TARIFF IN GHANA?WOW!!!!
THIS CLEARLY INDICATES THAT DR. BAWUMIA HAS NEVER EVER BEEN SADDLED WITH GHANA'S FRAUDULENT IMPORT DUTIES PAYMENT THROUGHOUT HIS LIFETIME.
HEI! BAWUMIA, KNOW THAT THE CURRENT IMPORT DUTY TARIFFS IN GHANA EASILY AVERAGES OVER A WHOPPING 60% OF THE CIF VALUE OF IMPORTS THAT ARE NOT ZERO-RATED.
BLACKMAN 11 years ago
No wonder why we feel comfortable living in a putrid country called Ghana and we seem not to care about it.This is because Ghana is more and more producing idiot and stupid people than commonsense people.The comments spew on these websits are a true reflection of what I just said.
If a fellow Ghanaian makes a suggestion irrespective of his/her political affiliation/ethnicity that should not be a predicate for an insult,but rather counteract it with a meaningful suggestion. What do we benefit from all these incendiary comments throwing out there?
KANE 11 years ago
UNQUOTE.
AGAIN I QUOTE DR BAW ... read full comment
UNQUOTE.
AGAIN I QUOTE DR BAWUMIA.
".....Ghana which had an average import tariff of 15%".
AGAIN, I UNQUOTE DR BAWUMIA.
HOW SAD!!!
MY TAKE ON THIS "COCK & BULL" STATEMENT BY DR. BAWUMIA IS AS FOLLOWS:
IT'S STRANGE THAT DR BAWUMIA THINKS THE AVERAGE IMPORT DUTY TARIFF IN GHANA IS AS LOW AS 15% OF THE CIF VALUE.
GOODNESS ME!!!
WHAT THE HELL IS HE TALKING ABOUT?
15% AVERAGE IMPORT DUTY TARIFF IN GHANA? WOW!!!!
THIS CLEARLY INDICATES THAT DR. BAWUMIA HAS NEVER EVER BEEN SADDLED WITH GHANA'S FRAUDULENT IMPORT DUTIES PAYMENT THROUGHOUT HIS LIFETIME.
HEI! BAWUMIA, KNOW THAT THE CURRENT IMPORT DUTY TARIFFS IN GHANA EASILY AVERAGES A WHOPPING +60% OF THE CIF VALUE OF IMPORTS THAT ARE NOT ZERO-RATED.
FACTOR IN THE EXPLOITATIVE CLEARING AGENCY CHARGES, BRIBES AND OTHER CONTINGENCY EXPENSE, AND YOU COULD EASILY END UP WITH A WHOPPING 80% OF THE CIF VALUE OF YOUR IMPORTS, PARTICULARLY IF THOSE INCLUDES AN ENVIABLE CAR OR SUV.
WE, GHANAIANS, SHALL CONTINUE TO SWIM IN THIS SHIT IF WE CONTINUE TO MAINTAIN THE BACKWARD STATUS QUO BUT EXPECT POSITIVE RESULTS IN GHANA.
OWURA 11 years ago
Dr BAWUMIA, the you for ur analysis for comparing Ghana tax revenue to other counties lyk chain , brazil etc . but i want to ask if you did compare their population with that of you country GHANA and the employment rate of there as to GHANA.you politician also try to throw dust into our eyes all bcos of powere. you come and sit on seat and do the same things. GOD HELP MOTHER.
Fox Bat 11 years ago
Bawumia is not presenting a credible economic argument.What you see there is a silly,ill-thought,baseless political argument that would not see light of the day even if his party come to power.Ghana cant change so long as we rely on antiquated education system, tax laws and other economic impediments. He was at the helm of the BOG and interest rates were high,and what did do? I am amazed at the height of his stupidity!
Frank 11 years ago
I THANK HARUNA ATTAH. BECAUSE OF WHAT HAPPENED THE OTHER TIME, BAWUMIA IS TRYING TO AVOID BIASED AND UNINTELLIGENT POLITICAL ECONOMIC ANALYSIS.
Kweku Boateng Jnr 11 years ago
Yes you are right, but Alhaji Attah must write his experience into a book. Brother Attah start now! No more dark days.
concerned ghanaian 11 years ago
Ghana cannot become a manufacturing power hub in West Africa with the type of political system and myopic political parties like the NPP.
We are not working as a people,our salary levels and wage demands could never make ... read full comment
Ghana cannot become a manufacturing power hub in West Africa with the type of political system and myopic political parties like the NPP.
We are not working as a people,our salary levels and wage demands could never make our products competitive.
Stop throwing dust into our eyes.
Ghanababa! 11 years ago
This figures are false! Where did he get the data from? Class one economist knows this man is empty berrel! China Import relatively low but has higher taxes so get more revenue. importing 1% getting 4.4% revenue insn't bad at all.
USA Get more revenue from imports. I cant give you the exact figure but is in the region of 18-24% import revenues. Braizl Imports more capaital goods and import less consumer goods.
In Ghana, the tax system is not bad as compared to other countries. The main problem is Corruption!
Companies Reclaim the taxes from the revenue authority but tend to buy cars, machines and others for machine dealers in the name using it for production. A factory i know bought 10 generators for a retailer and forged the document as using it for back up power.
This is the problem otherwise MR aspirant Bawumia does not even know the tax system in Ghana but want to be a president and more so someone who has worked in Bank of Ghana before should do a proper analysis. His followers are also blind that no one actually challenged his empty talks!
Baffour 11 years ago
Please stop putting up falsehood and displayung crack dishonesty. Know that you are defining your future and that of your children and your childrens children. The data Dr Bawumia gave are all correct and to cross check go the World Bank database and look at Economic indicators. Stop being foolish.
Say 11 years ago
Ghana can become manufacturing powerhouse if...' Bawumia will never be a president
omanba 11 years ago
Mr Bawumia kindly go to Afrifa and Kotoka's graves pour libations to invoke their spirits and ask them what happened to all the industries Osagyefo established to set the nation on the path for industrialization.That is how the coup of 1966 contributed towards the industrialization of Ghana.We thank Busia,the CIA,Afrifa and Kotoka for that.GHANA'S FAILURE TO INDUSTRIALIZE IS MAINLY DUE TO THE COUP OF 1966 AND SUBSEQUENT POLICIES OF GOVERNMENTS INCLUDING THE NPP GOVERNMENT OF KUFFUOR.Ghana is now just a warehouse for foreign goods.Even pencils we import them.
prempeh 1. 11 years ago
Thank you, this is the fact, and Ghana will suffer for far too long, Osagyefo himself said it in his exile in Guinea.
Repugnant. 11 years ago
May God bless you mightily! I mean it with all my heart. Thanks again and again for your honesty.
"GHANA'S FAILURE TO INDUSTRIALIZE IS MAINLY DUE TO THE COUP OF 1966 AND SUBSEQUENT POLICIES OF GOVERNMENTS INCLUDING THE NP ... read full comment
May God bless you mightily! I mean it with all my heart. Thanks again and again for your honesty.
"GHANA'S FAILURE TO INDUSTRIALIZE IS MAINLY DUE TO THE COUP OF 1966 AND SUBSEQUENT POLICIES OF GOVERNMENTS INCLUDING THE NPP GOVERNMENT OF KUFFUOR.Ghana is now just a warehouse for foreign goods.Even pencils we import them."
Hmm... 11 years ago
Why we are not developing as a nation and lack an adequate knowledge to bring about what is to mature us. We claim to know God but lack the power to fear him and looking upon him to direct our paths. If the way we understand worship God to equate to his fear in our lives Ghana would have been a better place for us to live in. But we worship God with only our lips; his fear and love is not in our hearts and so we do what please us. We believe in ourselves rather in God, lies become our paths to walk in and we are ready to proclaim to those we seem to be smarter than with clouds of calculated words then feed in selfish and arrogance; how can we go forward? Let's stop believing in ourselves and try to leave room in our hearts for the fear of God to dominate our conducts and behaviors.
prempeh 1. 11 years ago
master developing a nation is not GOD who will build roads and schools for us, it is the BRAIN GOD gave us to use it to develop,
Hmm... 11 years ago
Please, do you really understand my comment before replying? I don't think you understand what corruption is all about, do you?
Hmm... 11 years ago
God won't establish that which is dirty, never. We don't see God in politics rather, we see politics as a way to amass wealth for ourselves. Majority of politicians are thieves, they use paper and ink with their dirty smartness to amass wealth of dishonesty to themselves. For if we see God in politics, we'll carry out purpose of God for establishing politics. One thing you politicians don't know is that you may accumulate wealth to yourself today but tomorrow you will not make to heaven. You may have all that the world may give but eternal life is a gift of God and is not part of the world of today but those who but those who see that gift working towards it shall have it by faith in Christ Jesus.
Kwesi 11 years ago
After talking plenty, not even a single one alternative did he advance to show he has the right policies to turn Ghana's manufacturing sector around. And mind you, all the complain about import duties and his theoretical rebutting of that really mean nothing. The majority of our imports in Ghana are not raw materials but finished goods. Should we as a country not charge high taxes on finished goods that have alternates in Ghana? Sometimes, critics talk to much and see some of us as zombies.
It is true with the right policies we can turn the manufacturing sector around, but I will not reduce those policies to just taxes. I will rather the government inject capital, deliberately to identified businesses that have the potential to grow. For instance, we can begin by ensuring that we add value to our raw materials in Ghana. Let the government set up a gold refinery in Ghana. Let the government add to processing our raw cocoa into at least mid-level paste for the manufacturing sector. Let the government spend more in ensuring we have a vibrant aluminum plant to process aluminum. Let us encourage our steel companies to grow and let them do well. All of these are already ongoing. The problem is modernizing their operations to make them competitive globally and sub-regionally. Those are the policies we need to put in. And in so doing, we deliberately work out tax regimes that do not burden such manufacturing sectors. So Dr. Bawumia should be telling us what to do and not what is wrong. We are tired of listening to what is wrong always.
Fox Bat 11 years ago
I read your response and I believe you have a better understanding of macro-economics than Bawumia does,unless he is being plain silly and didnt mean what he is ranting on about!
Baffour 11 years ago
Am not surprised with you and your Kwesi. Go speak to the AGI people and they will confirm what Bawumia was saying. How comes that the manufcaturing sectors contribution to the GDP has been falling. Between 2003 and 2007, the NPP consitently reduced the corporate tax rate yet there were phenomenal increases in tax revenue. Do you know where that came from. Go check the World Banks Cost of Doing Business and reflect on Ghana's performance and stop being loud mouthed half baked intellectuals.
still rastafari 11 years ago
when can GH become a powerhouse??
Ernesto, Takoradi 11 years ago
Ghana need wise and intelligent people like Dr Bawumia to lead us to deliver us from hardship.
Richard Adu 11 years ago
This is sense. This is intelligent Economics but NOT the 'buga buga' economics that we see in Ghana today.
How on earth do you tax condoms?
Why is the government not taxing venereal diseases like gonorrhea,syphilis a ... read full comment
This is sense. This is intelligent Economics but NOT the 'buga buga' economics that we see in Ghana today.
Why is the government not taxing venereal diseases like gonorrhea,syphilis and HIV?
Clueless Bawumia 11 years ago
What shows that u have any better idea after ur testimony and evidence " on the face of the pink sheet"
BENNETT 11 years ago
NDC HAS SHOWN THAT THEY ARE BAD MANAGERS OF GHANA'S ECONOMY. ONCE UNDER JJ, AND CONFIRMED UNDER MILLS AND MAHAMA. WE NEED MINDS LIKE THIS TO MOVE FORWARD!
Abongo 11 years ago
They will be hiding under your fathers bed right
Abongo 11 years ago
When did you know that?
Lou 11 years ago
What I don't understand is Ghanaian politicians like Bawumia who travel abroad to canvass the votes or win sympathisers to their party when really they should be doing this in Ghana where they need the votes and listeners the most. Where are the voters in the US or in Ghana? A word of advice to Bawumia do your posturing in Ghana than in the US.
CONCERT BAWOMI 11 years ago
HAHHA MUGU MUGU.IN FACT I DONT WANT TO LAUGH THIS MORNING,HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
nii 11 years ago
do you need a malaysia visa.waste no time call 0245886343 now.
AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS 11 years ago
BELIEVE ME OR NOT - EVERY NPP IS SMART NOT EDUCATED FOOLS LIKE NDC . CAN WE IMAGINE THAT OUR PREZ MAHAMA WAS IN DUBAI FOR THE NEW YEAR. MAHAMA IS THE FIRST PRESIDENT EVER IN THE WORLD HISTORY TO DO THAT . PREZ MAHAMA DO NEED TO FIRE HIS ADVISER AND ASEIDU NKETIA .
Koforidua Flower(fr) 11 years ago
Why can't the ruling ndc government stop spending massively on Fm stations and other rented media houses to borrow the INTELLIGENCE of this Young talented Dr BAWUMIA for economic reconstruction.mahama is empty minded surrounded by irresponsible illicit nation wreckers and corrupt elements.Where do we stand as a Country and people ??????
Jeff, UK 11 years ago
You think he is intelligent bcos you are daft. The analysis has no basis because the skill levels of the examples he used is far higher than that of GH. Even technicians in Japan will outperform most GH engineers and that is a fact, they even outperform some UK engineers
kom 11 years ago
What skill level are you talking about? We are all complaining about the right skills. What is the right skills?
Jeff, UK 11 years ago
How many of engineers in GH are into robotics? That is just one. Vibration engineering, How many know about foundries? You are better-off talking about flower plantations and stuff like that, if you what I mean. Manufacturing is engineering, am not talking about fitting. You want people to bring a multi-billion factory over and spend millions bringing in expatriates to work it, because all that is available is semiskilled labour
Aduse Poku 11 years ago
Ghana can go places if knowledgeable and honest people like you and Nana Addo is in the helm of affairs. Unfortunately we have STEALERS in power.Come to think that FIIFI KWEETEY is financial guru of this create loot and share brigade and you will realized why we are in this mess.
Ashfaq 11 years ago
the countries used for your comparison are rather far ahead of Ghana. you would have done us some good if you were using figures of other African countries.
kpakpo osu 11 years ago
One thing Ghanaians know how to is talk, talk, dream, dream.I t has been going after inkrumah. Start off with your dirty politics, the weak institutions, the bad constitution, the bad roads, filth n bad sanitation, inept ECG n Ghana water co., corrupted judiciary and other institutions. Stop deceiving Ghanaians with feel good speeches. The little that Ghana has, Kufuor came to plunder n pillage a greater part of it. NPP thieves n nation wreckers
KWASI JAMES 11 years ago
Listen to this walewale bush cow again! This man knows no shame. Why are some people so stupid like this! Why can´t this young man go look for a good job and build his future, instead of fooling himself for these tribalistic animals? I am yet to hear his name after the diabolical case was thrown out of court. People like this man are the ones disgracing the northerners. What does he want? After he was push to go and tell lies under oath before the supreme court to save the face of these criminals, they have started shouting for Allan Kyerematen to lead the party. Sadly, this bush cow called Bawumia is not learning anything from this. Very pathetic. Eight years, you couldn´t make Ghana the export hub of Africa but you want Mahama to do it within less than a year. You are a confused foolish man! It´s only the NPP and your family that you can tell such rubbish. Hopeless fool!
AYAMBA 11 years ago
Ghana will remained backward if we refuse to know reality and still passes this educated illiterate comments on this article. this is self centered self-fishiness.
Kaaya 11 years ago
This is the hypocrisy of technocrats. Why does he not compare Ghana with similar countries but with USA, China and Brazil?
DAVE 11 years ago
In fact you are too good and brilliant,Bawumia.
ananseba 11 years ago
This will remain a pipe dream until we sort out our electricity and water supplier problems.Currently our leaders have no plans (they have not published any plans) to resolve these problems.
Africa is suffering from VISIONLE ... read full comment
This will remain a pipe dream until we sort out our electricity and water supplier problems.Currently our leaders have no plans (they have not published any plans) to resolve these problems.
Africa is suffering from VISIONLESS 'leadership'.
Jeff, UK 11 years ago
What are you going to manufacture, chop sticks or tooth pick. To many of semi-skilled workers. You need highly skilled workers to have the likes of Ford, Toyota, VW to setup in GH. I watched the CEO of VW in an interview on TV and he didn't mention any African country for possible siting of a manufacturing plant. You don't know what you are talking about. You must be thinking of flower, banana and citrus plantations and not manufacturing of anything hi-tech
KnYc (USMC) 11 years ago
You have to start somewhere, comparing VW, FORD, and Toyota, is like mixing apples with oranges. We as a country have to produces about 50% of what we need. Depending on China is the wrong way to go. Our import duties is so high, and as a investor why will I do business in Ghana, which will increase my overhead cost because of import duties? What Dr. Bawumia talking about make sense. In today's market you have to be competitive, this what Ghana is lacking.
GOWAN 11 years ago
The NDC party has never demonstrated that they have the cranial capacity to address the difficulties they have by themselves plunged Ghana into, and the figures and numbers as well as the state of the economy, speaks truth to the position raised by Dr. Bawumia.
The clear absence of the ability of the NDC party led by John Mahama-the President, and who was the head of the economic management team as a Vice President and the inability of the current Vice President, who was formerly the Governor of the BoG, and is currently, the head of the Economic management team of the NDC gov't, to address the gargantuan difficulties is the reason why, Ghanaians are being taxed senseless with a shrinking tax base and further sending Ghanaians into a state of hopelessness and despair. The fact has been established time and again that, the NDC gov't lacks the ability to do it and Ghanaians cannot wait in their quest to lead meaningful, healthy and prosperous lives led by a gov't with the brain power and experience of getting the job done. Be bold and vote out the NDC in 2016, because the NDC gov't has demonstrated that, they cannot do it, but can create, loot and share.
Nana Egyir Aggrey 11 years ago
Talk is cheap for african politicians especially when they do not have to pay to open their beaks to spew out grap to their ignorant listeners.According to UNESCO,any country with 33% of illiteracy cannot develop.Ghana has 65% plus illiteracy,-this figure includes those at the helm of affairs,ministers,public servants and mayors etc,etc,etc. Dr.Bawumia,- will you tell me any achievement by the past and present government since the demise of the visionary Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah.Fifty six years after independence we still drink guinea worm infested water from lakes,rivers and ponds with animals.There are no medicines in the hospitals,our towns and villages are dirty.we defecate everywhere like animals,'corruption is the middle name of Ghana'.Nowhere in this world would you find poor students who were struggling to pay their loan to run a government.It can only happen in Ghana.The end result is what we are paying.Every thing is upside down because we are not educated-having a degree does not make you educated man.In a real world,educated people who are appointed to serve the citizens,do not rob the citizens they are supposed to serve.In Ghana and else where in Africa,the politicians are the armed robbers.The visionless leaders in Ghana have sold all the state own assets which we cannot ever replace because of stupidity and greed.We are victim of our own stupidity,ignorance and backwardness.We need patriotic,selfless and leaders with vision and not book long educated fools without common sense.Let's talk common sense-Dr.Bawumia,your generation of politicians are materialistic,thieves and despicable.Wake up Dr.Bawumia-let us learn how to crawl before walking and don't be a sleep walker or zombie.-Nana Egyir Aggrey Snr citizen
KnYc (USMC) 11 years ago
Tell me about it Nana. The Ghana I know is moving backward, all in the name of party politics. This what JJ came to achieve, make sure many of the population are illiteracy. 19 years of JJ education system has caught up with us.
princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago
A young executive of a Manufacturing plant was leaving the office late one evening when he found the CEO standing in front of a shredder with a piece of paper in his hand.
"Listen," said the CEO, "this is a very sensitive an ... read full comment
A young executive of a Manufacturing plant was leaving the office late one evening when he found the CEO standing in front of a shredder with a piece of paper in his hand.
"Listen," said the CEO, "this is a very sensitive and important document here, and my secretary has gone for the night. Can you make this thing work?"
"Certainly," said the young executive. He turned the machine on, inserted the paper, and pressed the start button.
"Excellent, excellent!" said the CEO as his paper disappeared inside the machine.
"I just need one copy."
AKOS 11 years ago
NPP HAD 8YRS TO DO THAT. ONLY CHOP CHOP
CONCERT BAWUSHIIIIT 11 years ago
WO YE JUNKY WAE....HAHAHAHAHA
NDC 11 years ago
THE NDC PEOPLE ALWAYS HAVE BIG MOUTH THEY'D TALK SH******IT.
Ewe pride 11 years ago
Ghana can't become a manufacturing powerhouse due to ashanti greed and corruption which always destroys any venture or good plans.Solution is to drive these pests back to their native Ivory Coast and Mali and you're left with more ethical tribes that can pull off an industrialization revolution.
AMINA 11 years ago
Ghana can never go no where with these primitive, backward ewes in our mist, one foot forward four feet backwards people, they think the way they live in their area is the way every one must go.Ashantis want a better life hence Kumasi Magazine go there and see what these young guys are inventing, who brought KVIP first to Ghana? Backwards people of what use are you to Ghana? The only thing you are best at is to create, loot and share .It pains you so much that some northeners are in the NPP especially Dr Bawumiah so you envy him so much that you get convulsed when you here his name, he and most of them who love their country will never follow your diabolical plans even those in the ndc are rejecting to your create, loot and share brigade.Shame on you
Isaiah General 11 years ago
Dr. Bawumia you are on top of issues. Turn their eyes from darkness unto light. NDC must bow down in shame.
we still believe in you dr. and Nana
Ghana can only progress if NPP never comes near the reigns of power. NPP spent 8 years sharing every state property to NPP supporters. Kufuor even stole lands along the Accra-Tema Motorway, leaving no room for the expansion ...
Hey! Bawumia, go look for a job and stop wasting our ears. The NPP has been in power for the 8years and could not turn Ghana into a manufacturing hub of West Africa until now? You bawumia would never past the position of a vi ...
u right he is a joker.Bawumia is not serious , was the npp not in power for 8years? why couldn,t they take away the taxes on spare parts and other things he is talking of.Was he not in Ghana to advice his party to make such ...
Although 24 years of NDC misrule has helped to turn the majority of Ghanaians of voting age into foolsoldiers, all is not yet lost, sin ...
SHE IS A MEMBER OF NDC.
You mentio ...
Ghana can only progress if NPP never comes near the reigns of power. NPP spent 8 years sharing every state property to NPP supporters. Kufuor even stole lands along the Accra-Tema Motorway, leaving no room for the expansion ...
Tell him that we need a development plan. Also paying ju ...
"If you talk like this, how can you come back to moderate NDC supporters in 2016 and ask for their vote? You see why your party always wins in only the Ashanti and Eastern regions? This arrogance is what is killing the NPP". ...
and who says what dr bawmia said will happend when npp comes to power they can achieve it as said. when npp was in power did they reduce tarrifs to creat that opportunity of commpetitiveness. some word are only intended for v ...
You can sense t ...
Where did you get this strange idea from - that people who are "competent" are impatient? It will take patience and diligence to uncover what the real and fundamental problems facing this country are. It is not your usual bel ...
Go to Kantamanto, Abossey-Okai, Asafo Market and K ...
NPp did nothing for Ghana but turned Ghanaians into thieves armed robbers and liars. Get money by all means syndrome today in Ghana is some of the left overs of the stupid NPP party.. They did nothing, they can only talk talk ...
Did the NPP have all these ideas during their 8 years in power? If they did, why didn't Ghana become that so-called "manufacturing powerhouse"? After plundering the nation in 8 years, the NPP thinks it can pass through the ba ...
So this cattle herder also wants to be president like his senior cattle herder JM? Why don't people know their limit? To me the Veep position should be the highest for anyone who has ever herded cattle, sheep or goats, or has ...
This is not about party but about Ghana.Thank you Dr.Bawumia but these stubon NDC leaders will not listen.Ghana does not make cars but you buy a car hear in the USA $4000 and has to pay VAT and duties as high as $2500 so plu ...
EVERY TYPE of job IS NECESSARY ...
Even you 'ewe' a stranger in Ghana is now a speaker of Ghana's paliament how much more a northerner a true , real Ghanaian who were Ghanaians before the whiteman came to this part of the world doesn't deserve to be president ...
The founder of your stupid party so called NDC knows very well how to spew insult. If you are living in Jupiter l don't know about that but those living on earth will understand me that stupid JJ Rawlings always insult kufour ...
Who told you Kufour is a Saint? When JJ accuses Atta Mills or Mahama you say he is speaking the truth. But when he turns his guns on your corrupt NPP "pen r ...
Ha Ha Ha ha!!! NPP on the lose again. so desperate to have power. NPP did nothing for Ghana but turned Ghanaians into thieves armed robbers and liars. Get money by all means syndrome today in Ghana is some of the left overs o ...
So, you are telling me that NDC is performing better for the people of Ghana? Wagyimi papa! Did you hear from Atuguba the opepeni judge who brought the verdict on 29/08/13? What did he say? I want you to tell me? Agya Ghanafo ...
The people of Ghana looked at your track record and decided you ar ...
I will never ever be a member of that idiots party. I mean NDC what have they done at all for Ghanaians? Apart from corruption, intimidating, hatred and propaganda, That is what l personally know about NDC and their bitter Gh ...
1. NHIS SCHEME
4. CAPITATION GRANT
RENOVATION OF FOUR STADIA, l don't want to go f ...
We have pampered our leaders too much for so long time and that is the reason why they are taking us for granted. NDC is disgusting and a fool like you cannot see anything wrong with your greedy bastards fools. Listen, l am w ...
What! If the NPP allows you to speak on their behalf on radio, I will conclude that the party is truly full of bunk-heads. I hope they don't have many of your type in that party. You are a total disgrace to commonsense! Woye ...
Wo y3 gyimifuo paaaaaa if you have common sense you wouldn't have spoken on behalf of ndc and call yourself Kofi Kyei Berko.Wo maame abr3 agu unless you tell me you are a stomack politician.Idiot ! Next time come to this worl ...
I am surprised there are brainless morons like you still in Ghana. You don't inspire me to talk on behalf of the NPP because your arguments are only driven by stupidity and jealousy. I choose to support any party I like. Son ...
What else can you do apart from raining insults on people? That is how you people are brought up. Ghana needs people who think up solutions to problems facing this country, not thwarts like you who specialize in filthy words ...
Very hard for Ghana to be a manufacturing powerhouse with erratic pwr,water shortage,a highly politicised regulatory framework,scant history of manufacturing,no work ethic and a weak legal system.Any good foundation on this v ...
And that is why he is saying with the proper implementation of import duties including abolishing some on other goods and implementation of other measures including the regular supply of electricity, the country can become a ...
Dr Bawamia talks like your typical African politician.How does Ghana become a manufacturing hub with the current skill labor constraints, cronic power supply,poor road network and almost no rail systems? How does a trained ec ...
The author of this article writes a lot of fact I onl ...
True but on balance Kenya,Egypt & S.A are in more prosperous neighbourhoods with fewer unstable neighbours and have more advanced manufacturing bases,better communication and transport infrastructure and bigger internal +exte ...
And what was Ghana's tax revenue percentage for trade taxes du ...
Foolish hypocrites...the CPP Seven Year Development Plan was going to make Ghana the development leader of the entire continent of Africa from whom our sister nations will emulate. Everything was set up for that purpose; a hy ...
It seems Mamud ...
Increase in taxes has been the philosophy or the AFRC/P-NDC since 1979. They increase taxes on virtually everything; that was when Dr. Kwasi Botchwey was Secretary for Finance and Economic Planning. Folks will recall that the ...
NDC is a party lack Ideas on how to move a country forward. This explanation by Dr. is simple a strategy to move Ghana forward, if look carefully all the countries that are developed export goods and services, but what do Gha ...
DR.BAWUMIA YOU STILL DID NOT TELL US ANY ALTERNATIVE SOURCE OF REVENUE FOR THE NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT.THIS IS HOW TO CUT REVENUE,IT SEEMS TOO MUCH FOR YOU.DR.MAGIC MAN,DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT,WE ARE NOT GULLIBLE PEOPLE,STOP USIN ...
When you were in power for 8 yrs what did you do, dont just go about telling lies just for power or to come back to power. You will never come back. I can see you Bawumia you are not to be trusted. You have nothing to offer G ...
Electricity, water, nation wide first class roads and railways are the fundamental ingredients needed for industrialization. These are what the government should make available and the rest (factories, skyscrapers housing) et ...
UNQUOTE.
AGAIN I QUOTE DR BAWUMI ...
No wonder why we feel comfortable living in a putrid country called Ghana and we seem not to care about it.This is because Ghana is more and more producing idiot and stupid people than commonsense people.The comments spew on ...
UNQUOTE.
AGAIN I QUOTE DR BAW ...
Dr BAWUMIA, the you for ur analysis for comparing Ghana tax revenue to other counties lyk chain , brazil etc . but i want to ask if you did compare their population with that of you country GHANA and the employment rate of th ...
Bawumia is not presenting a credible economic argument.What you see there is a silly,ill-thought,baseless political argument that would not see light of the day even if his party come to power.Ghana cant change so long as we ...
We are not working as a people,our salary levels and wage demands could never make ...
This figures are false! Where did he get the data from? Class one economist knows this man is empty berrel! China Import relatively low but has higher taxes so get more revenue. importing 1% getting 4.4% revenue insn't bad at ...
Please stop putting up falsehood and displayung crack dishonesty. Know that you are defining your future and that of your children and your childrens children. The data Dr Bawumia gave are all correct and to cross check go th ...
Mr Bawumia kindly go to Afrifa and Kotoka's graves pour libations to invoke their spirits and ask them what happened to all the industries Osagyefo established to set the nation on the path for industrialization.That is how t ...
"GHANA'S FAILURE TO INDUSTRIALIZE IS MAINLY DUE TO THE COUP OF 1966 AND SUBSEQUENT POLICIES OF GOVERNMENTS INCLUDING THE NP ...
Why we are not developing as a nation and lack an adequate knowledge to bring about what is to mature us. We claim to know God but lack the power to fear him and looking upon him to direct our paths. If the way we understand ...
God won't establish that which is dirty, never. We don't see God in politics rather, we see politics as a way to amass wealth for ourselves. Majority of politicians are thieves, they use paper and ink with their dirty smartne ...
After talking plenty, not even a single one alternative did he advance to show he has the right policies to turn Ghana's manufacturing sector around. And mind you, all the complain about import duties and his theoretical rebu ...
Am not surprised with you and your Kwesi. Go speak to the AGI people and they will confirm what Bawumia was saying. How comes that the manufcaturing sectors contribution to the GDP has been falling. Between 2003 and 2007, the ...
Why is the government not taxing venereal diseases like gonorrhea,syphilis a ...
When did you know that?
What I don't understand is Ghanaian politicians like Bawumia who travel abroad to canvass the votes or win sympathisers to their party when really they should be doing this in Ghana where they need the votes and listeners the ...
BELIEVE ME OR NOT - EVERY NPP IS SMART NOT EDUCATED FOOLS LIKE NDC . CAN WE IMAGINE THAT OUR PREZ MAHAMA WAS IN DUBAI FOR THE NEW YEAR. MAHAMA IS THE FIRST PRESIDENT EVER IN THE WORLD HISTORY TO DO THAT . PREZ MAHAMA DO NEED ...
Why can't the ruling ndc government stop spending massively on Fm stations and other rented media houses to borrow the INTELLIGENCE of this Young talented Dr BAWUMIA for economic reconstruction.mahama is empty minded surround ...
You think he is intelligent bcos you are daft. The analysis has no basis because the skill levels of the examples he used is far higher than that of GH. Even technicians in Japan will outperform most GH engineers and that is ...
How many of engineers in GH are into robotics? That is just one. Vibration engineering, How many know about foundries? You are better-off talking about flower plantations and stuff like that, if you what I mean. Manufacturing ...
Ghana can go places if knowledgeable and honest people like you and Nana Addo is in the helm of affairs. Unfortunately we have STEALERS in power.Come to think that FIIFI KWEETEY is financial guru of this create loot and share ...
One thing Ghanaians know how to is talk, talk, dream, dream.I t has been going after inkrumah. Start off with your dirty politics, the weak institutions, the bad constitution, the bad roads, filth n bad sanitation, inept ECG ...
Listen to this walewale bush cow again! This man knows no shame. Why are some people so stupid like this! Why can´t this young man go look for a good job and build his future, instead of fooling himself for these tribalistic ...
Africa is suffering from VISIONLE ...
What are you going to manufacture, chop sticks or tooth pick. To many of semi-skilled workers. You need highly skilled workers to have the likes of Ford, Toyota, VW to setup in GH. I watched the CEO of VW in an interview on T ...
You have to start somewhere, comparing VW, FORD, and Toyota, is like mixing apples with oranges. We as a country have to produces about 50% of what we need. Depending on China is the wrong way to go. Our import duties is so h ...
The NDC party has never demonstrated that they have the cranial capacity to address the difficulties they have by themselves plunged Ghana into, and the figures and numbers as well as the state of the economy, speaks truth to ...
Talk is cheap for african politicians especially when they do not have to pay to open their beaks to spew out grap to their ignorant listeners.According to UNESCO,any country with 33% of illiteracy cannot develop.Ghana has 65 ...
Tell me about it Nana. The Ghana I know is moving backward, all in the name of party politics. This what JJ came to achieve, make sure many of the population are illiteracy. 19 years of JJ education system has caught up with ...
"Listen," said the CEO, "this is a very sensitive an ...
Ghana can't become a manufacturing powerhouse due to ashanti greed and corruption which always destroys any venture or good plans.Solution is to drive these pests back to their native Ivory Coast and Mali and you're left with ...
Ghana can never go no where with these primitive, backward ewes in our mist, one foot forward four feet backwards people, they think the way they live in their area is the way every one must go.Ashantis want a better life hen ...
Big blow to NDC. Big shaaaaaame