You are here: HomeNews2014 01 03Article 296814

Mahama condemns Rawlings over ’81 coup

Read Comments Comments (125)

• Kwaku Owusu, London 10 years ago

Mr Rawlings please don't waste our ears. No amount of words can justify your coup against a legal constitutional regime.

• Agyeman 10 years ago

He should be put to a hangman's rope for the cold blooded murders he committed.No statutes of limitation or official immunity for murderers.Greedy bastard.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Ghana's predicament is the cause of Rawlings Treasonable Act, which every civilized person needs to condemn it and not to encourage it.

Any body who claim that he or she is a genuine politician and is an NDC member and its ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

ANATOMY OF A STOOPID GHANAIAN!
    A BETTER, PROSPEROUS, MODERN, FORWARD THINKING GH STARTS WITH YOU!
    IF YOUR LIVING SITUATION IS GOOD, THEN GHANA WILL BE GOOD.
    IF YOU ARE CONFUSED, DISORIENTED, UNORGANIZED, FEARFUL, IN DEBT/D ...

• NANA OBUOBI 10 years ago

With your political naivety, no civilize
    Ghanaian will think so foolishly like you. swine.

• rOB 10 years ago

THE BABIES' TEETH ARE GRADUALLY GETTING SHARP AS THE YEARS GO BY!! SOMEBODY SHOULD ADVISE HIMSELF BEFORE THE TEETH BEGIN TO DRAW BLOOD!!

• Anonymous Coward 10 years ago

Rawlings is a murderer and will always remain so.

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.
    WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

31 DEC. 1981 COUP WAS A CRIMINAL ACT. WE MUST PROSECUTE ALL THE NDC CRIMINALS INVOLVED AND JAIL THEM. HOW DARE THOSE CRIMINALS LIFT A GUN TO USURP POWER FROM A CONSTITUTIONALLY ELECTED GOVERNMENT AND IMPOSE ON US CORRUPT , VI ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Rawlings was too proud and do not want
    a Northerners to rule over him,hence the
    coupe of Dr.Hilla Liman.

• Senior citizen Br,weig Germany. 10 years ago

Rawlings should burry his face in shame for his cold blooded murders he pepetrated against his superior officers for his ogocentic views.I could remmember how he and his band of military adventurers chassed Major Odartey Well ...

• consider 10 years ago

please read about china visa free policy. No african countries allowed

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

THE SO-CALLED INDEMNITY CLAUS MUST BE RESCINDED FOR JACK-ASS RAWLINGS TO BE TRIED FOR TREASON.
    WHAT IS BIG-MOUTH RAWLINGS' ACHIEVEMENT FOR THE 19 SOLID ROTTEN YEARS IN POWER?

RAWLINGS ENSURED THAT THERE WAS PARALYSES OF Q ...

• SMOKEN GUN 10 years ago

Very Very Well said Dr. Mahama Rawlings moments have come. What goes up will surely come down. I said to some friends that Rawlings will destroy himself the position he has assumed to lash successive gov'ts. Everything has it ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

RAWLING' 31ST DECEMBER COUP/REVOLUTION,reminds us of nothing

Positive,beneficial,important,significant,successful to the nation BUT:
    BRUTALITY,MURDER,TYRANNY,LOSS,POVERTY,HARDSHIP,LOSS OF FOREIGN HELP, & MOVEMENT OF CITI ...

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Mahama!

• JAK The Ripper 10 years ago

We are mistakenly and wrongly judging Rawlings'79/81 coups looking at current situation of Ghana.

In those days late 1970's Ghana's socio-economic conditions were significantly dire. Extreme drought, little rains... high ...

• LUCKY DUBE 10 years ago

My brother, you've said it all. Most Ghanaians have very very short memories, so any fool can just wake and talk by-heart without recourse to the truth.

• akwasi 10 years ago

Most Ghanaians were very young so they never knew what was going on. I"LL tell them jj is the person who brought coruption, nepotism and disrespect in Ghanaian society. jj is the achitect of all GHANA WOES.

• Anyone got a pic or video of Vicky's 10 years ago

Well what can I say? Unless one lived in those days, one can not make any personal judgements, I had begun my early teen years - 12, 13, 14, 15, 15 when Jerry came on the scene and saw it all, as a young and very clever boy ...

• ofoli 10 years ago

very good patriotic analysis

• ALHAJI KANKANE 10 years ago

JAK YOU ARE A LIAR,WHAT IS THE DIFFERANCE BETWEEN 1970´S AND 2013.I THINK 70´S WERE FAR BETTER THAN THIS MOMENT.THE MADMAN ONLY CAME TO ENRICH HIMSELF AND HIS AYIGBWE CRIMINALS.ALL THESE COUPS WERE USELESS AND HELPED ONLY T ...

• Ofoli 10 years ago

please review economic indices now and then. compare factual results and don't make presumed assumptions. IT IS AN ESTABLISHED FACT THAT THE FOUNDATIONS FOR THE GAINS OF TODAY WERE LAID THEN. What we need to do is to IMPROVE ...

• destroyers party n d c 10 years ago

yu better shut the fuck yu goodfornothing beast

• ofoli 10 years ago

A balanced analysis indeed

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Mahama!

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

THE SO-CALLED INDEMNITY CLAUS MUST BE RESCINDED FOR JACK-ASS RAWLINGS TO BE TRIED FOR TREASON.

We are mistakenly and wrongly judging Rawlings'79/81 coups looking at current situation of Ghana.

In those days late 1970's Ghana's socio-economic conditions were significantly dire. Extreme drought, little rains... high c ...

• jazzboy 10 years ago

kindly provide coherent arguments without insults.
    1. the coup might have been justified by the prevailing socioeconomic conditions
    2. its legality is debatable
    3. the celebration of the revolution may not be necessary to ...

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Mahama!

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Mahama!

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Mahama!

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

DR. MAHAMA HAS SPOKEN. WE HAVE TO STAND UP TO THE IDIOTIC RAWLINGS. THE SO-CALLED INDEMNITY CLAUS MUST BE RESCINDED FOR JACK-ASS RAWLINGS TO BE TRIED FOR TREASON.
    WHAT IS BIG-MOUTH RAWLINGS' ACHIEVEMENT FOR THE 19 SOLID ROTT ...

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Mahama!

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr. Mahama!

• Kadengery Seidu 10 years ago

Rawlings during his so called revolution tried to kill and disband the Police.He denied them uniforms and tools to work with.He was using his gang of criminals called Militias to do his work for him,Although not justified al ...

• abena kwabena 10 years ago

JJ is not one of the oil billionaires, he is not even a millionaire. Is it by accident that after Mahama became politically powerful, especially during his time as assistant to the ailing Mills who was not himself and trusted ...

• Sikamanba 10 years ago

It was not a coup but a REVOLUTION!! You people should learn the difference. It was by the people. Go back and check the record. That revolution saved mother Ghana.
    You may deny it as much as you want but the truth shall alw ...

• KnYc (USMC) 10 years ago

Wise guy. Dr. Mahama. Well said.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Ego tripped "BIG MEN" just wanna sit on their fat asses on radio and undo each other for cheap fame.
    Meanwhile,Lack of conviction,innovation,art, and ingenuity is keeping Ghana behind all nations in nation building.
    Folks, ...

• Ikemens 10 years ago

If the government(s) of the fourth republic continue to misbehave and let the masses suffer whilst their cronies enjoy then, the fifth republic would be possible and needed as the aftermath of another revolution.

• KATAKYIE OF ST LUKE HOUSE. 10 years ago

THE WORST CIVILIAN GOVT IS BETTER THAN THE BEST MILITARY GOVT. AFRIFAH WAS EXECUTED FOR HIS INVOLVEMENT IN THE OVERTHROW OF CPP( A CONSTITUTIONAL GOVT). RAWLINGS SHOULD SUFFER THE SAME FOR THE COUP AGAINST PNP, A GOVT ELECTED ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

CAN NEVER BE A STATESMAN......HIS OVERTHROW OF DR HILLA LIMANN WAS SENSELESS AND WITHOUT ANY JUSTIFICATION CONSIDERING THAT THE VERY SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC EVILS HE COMPLAINED ABOUT WERE WIDESPREAD IN THE TWO DECADES THAT HE HE ...

• Tiffiny Ablorh 10 years ago

Rawlings is a frauster and a murderer!! Go Wey You Rawlings, avo kokro rawlings!!!

• Aem wo maano 10 years ago

JJ Rawlings is more than a mad man. He is being tormented by his attrocities, and for the peace of the nation, he needs to be caged

• OWEN, NEW YORK. 10 years ago

Thank you Mr Edward Mahama for your bravery and the wisdom brought out,for the youth of our great nation to know how Rawlings drew the country backward in those dark days of his selfish dictatorship. His speeches still insigh ...

• jazzboy 10 years ago

Agree that Rawlings may be overstepping his boundaries today but disagree that the coup took the nation backwards

• the truth 10 years ago

a coup always divides a nation. He couldn't have said it any better.

Regrettably many are mistakenly and wrongly judging Rawlings'79/81 coups looking at current situation of Ghana.

In those days late 1970's Ghana's socio-economic conditions were significantly dire. Extreme drought, little r ...

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

ALL THOSE PAINTING RAWLINGS IN SATANIC COLORS TODAY HAVE SHORT MEMORIES. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG ABOUT CONDEMNING THE ATROCITIES OF THE 31ST DECEMBER COUPS D'ETAT. MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS SUPPORTED THE MILITARY INTERVENTION HENC ...

LOOK AT THIS ADAKATO,STUPIDMAN WHEN THIS EVIL SHITS IT IS FOOD TO THEM TO EAT.DUE TO TRIBALISM YOU PEOPLE HAVE TURNED INTO ANIMALS.THE SAME THING HAPPENED IN 1966 WHEN KOTOKA TOOK OVER,YOU THESE STUPID AYIGBWE PEOPLE MADE PRA ...

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

WHAT ELSE CAN WE EXPECT FROM THE TROGLODYTE KANKANE?

• KANE 10 years ago

SO IN GHANA, EX-STATESMEN/WOMEN OR LEADERS ARE ABOVE THE LAW.

THAT'S WHY SO MANY LEADERSHIP CRIMES HAVE GONE UNPUNISHED TO THIS DAY.

THESE HOPELESS GHANAIAN LEADERS ARE LUCKY GHANA IS NOT LIKE CHINA, OTHERWISE 99.9% ...

• peace 10 years ago

hang him SOB

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

Is about time someone puts Rawlings in his place. He has been entertained for far too long. People should go back and read the dossier of the NRC to remind what this low life butcher did to Ghanaians for 19 year.

• KANE 10 years ago

SO IN GHANA, STATESMEN/WOMEN OR LEADERS ARE ABOVE THE LAW.

THESE HOPELESS GHANAIAN LEADERS ARE LUCKY GHANA IS NOT LIKE CHINA, OTHERWISE 99.9% OF G ...

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr Mahama. I think this is what is to happen in Ghana for Ex-president to understand it was not a good idea, the '81 coup! Thank you again Mr. Mahama.

• Chas 10 years ago

Thank you Mr Mahama. I think this is what is to happen in Ghana for Ex-president to understand it was not a good idea, the '81 coup! Thank you again Mr. Mahama.

• KANE 10 years ago

THESE HOPELESS GHANAIAN LEADERS ARE LUCKY GHANA IS NOT LIKE CHINA, OTHERWISE 99.9% OF G ...

• KANE 10 years ago

• Chas 10 years ago

• KANE 10 years ago

• Chas 10 years ago

• KANE 10 years ago

• Kadengery Seidu 10 years ago

Rawling also supported corruption but many people did not know this.I challenge all those who did not know this should go and ask Rawling what he said when one time Ashanti Regional Minister in his regime Col.Osei Owusu was q ...

CAN NEVER BE A STATESMAN.....HIS OVERTHROW OF DR HILLA LIMANN WAS SENSELESS AND WITHOUT JUSTIFICATION CONSIDERING THE SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC EVILS HE COMPLAINED ABOUT WERE WIDESPREAD IN THE TWO DECADES HE HELD THE COUNTRY HOSTAG ...

• Nana Yaw. 10 years ago

Many thanks Dr.Mahama for saying the truth.By his selfish action Rawlings has brought a division and hatred between the Akans and the Ewes.We did this during Dr. Nkrumahs time.Rawlings did that coup de tat for selfish reasons ...

• Stanley 10 years ago

As long as we're practising greedy and selfish politics,Coup will never end in Africa.So those who are enjoying in the name of greedy and selfish politics,should know a day will come.

• jazzboy 10 years ago

the days of coups are over in Ghana. the ballot box is our answer to the politicians

• The Trucker 10 years ago

I would be very very surprised if Rawlings does not face a court of law/ tribunal (whatever you want to call it) before he dies.Of course Konadu would likely face a similar fate.This evil pair presided over the worst mass kil ...

• AKONFEM JDM CORRUPT 10 years ago

NDC DOG BOYS,JJ,MAHAMA MUST GET WOYOME,WATERVILLE,ISOFOTON,OIL,GOLD TO IRIAN,GYEEDA,SADA,AKONFEM,TREES,AND MOER GHANA NEED ALL OUR MONEY BACK,BEFORE,WHAT CAN WE HELP WITHOUT ALL THIS MONEY MAHAMA CORRUPT,WE NEED IT TO BUILD ...

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

PLEASE MAHAMA YOU HAVE IGNORED A VITAL FACT. ARE YOU AFRAID OF RAWLINGS? HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD.

WHAT IS THE ESSENCE OF OVERTHROWING LIMAN? WAS IT BECAUSE OF CORRUPTION?

PLEASE MAHAMA DO NOT EVADE THIS VERY VITAL FACT ...

• braveman 10 years ago

no statement of killing now adays on comment especially democracy and acievement peace fully country like ghn

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 10 years ago

Rawlings is a coup maker and not a revolutionary.Revolutionaries do not wear Indemnity Label/Labels.He is arrogant,ignorant and greedy bastard with greedy bastards in power as his followers.He thrives on chaos-i do not blame ...

• Mensah Otabil jnr. 10 years ago

The revolution has opened up Ghanaians to the reality of the time.

• John Tamchugi 10 years ago

Rawlings's mad dog barking is over Ghanaian s should forget of him. A leader who doesn't respect himself and very greedy bastard.

• sam USA 10 years ago

Rawlings is loosing respect as a stateman if he continues to make statements that people think doesnt make sense .He used to be my Hero but now i think Kuffour is my Hero .

• Abongo man 10 years ago

Without JJ you will not be enjoying these happy times in Ghana.why are you all short sighted.what was Ghana like in 81 when he came back? And to you Mahama what kept you so long to come up
    with this talks.why didnt you under ...

• ogya 10 years ago

rawlling is the best prez ever rule ghana

• Chris 37 10 years ago

Please all those who talking rubbish
    about our brother,becareful,eyes fully
    awake,try him and see fire works,don,t
    make no mistake

• DONATE BLOOD & KIDNEY SAVE LIFE 10 years ago

GHANAIANS DO SCARED OF HIM THEREFORE HE CAN DO WHAT EVER HE WANT TO DO .

• GHANANI 10 years ago

Rawlings should have been arrested long,long ago for treason for the overthrow of the democratically elected government of Dr Hilla Limann.Look at what happening in Pakistan now;former military leader Musharaff has been charg ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 10 years ago

There are bastards like Rawlings who are born in Ghana everyday.When Rawlings staged his coup/uprising,-guess who went to Rawlings to beg for political appointment?He was no any other person than the big old NPP guru,-John Ku ...

Regrettably many are mistakenly and wrongly judging Rawlings'79/81 coups from the perspective of the current situation of Ghana.

In those days late 1970's Ghana's socio-economic conditions were significantly dire. Extreme ...

• Gado 10 years ago

Rawlings created Institutions that should work that is why ordinary people in the grassroots can speak against the rot we are experiencing today. Things could have been worse without the interventions of two uprisings call ...

• jazzboy 10 years ago

Let us strengthen those institutions and not leave it to individuals to direct the whole nation on everything. Ghana belongs to ALL OF US

• JEFFREY STONE 10 years ago

JAK the Ripper could not have said it better. All the latter day saints of Democracy do not have a clue as to how democracy came to be through revolution. Blood was shed, it is true. Engels, said "force is the midwife of any ...

• Zip Up 10 years ago

The Facts Is Sluggish Governance Can Triger Agitation Or Revolution Without Regrets So Dr Mahama Should Be Holding Symposiums On How Dangerous Sluggish Or Corrupt Governance Can Cripple A Naturally Rich Country Like Ghana Ins ...

• Bernard 10 years ago

Before Rawlings emergence on the political scene, Ghanaians could not even afford to buy toilet rolls. Only the rich could afford even then through 'kalabule'. Even worse was post offices could not have stamps to sell, wher ...

• YES, HE IS !!! 10 years ago

Persons who use weapons to take what does not belong to them are criminal armed robbers. That is what Rawlings is. He took up arms, stole what does not belong to him and killed hundreds of innocent citizens in the process. Wo ...

• Baba Musa 10 years ago

Thank you, This Guy killed our Generals for nothing,

• Adipa Kwodwo 10 years ago

Dear Dr. Mahama. As you rightly said "in an attempt to prevent another coup factors such as corruption must be fought hard against". In other words Dr Mahama is calling for another coup. This is because corruption is very ri ...

• Awuradebasa 10 years ago

Your name is not Adipa Kwadwo but
    'KWADWO ADIPA'
    KWASEA

• MP ON RETIREMENT 10 years ago

DR MAHAMA AND ALL WHO HAVE NORTHERN GHANA AT HEART SHOULD RESOLVE THE ALLIGATOR CHILDREN PROBLEM IN THE NORTH AND STOP FOCUSSING ON JJ!! JJ MUST ATTACK EVERY PRESIDENT USING TRICKS HE LEARNT FROM BOOKS ON ...

• jo 10 years ago

“What Ghana needs are institutions with systems to work.”

• abuzo 10 years ago

he rawlings that killed his way to power shuld keep low profile b4 some brave man in ghana will drag his ass to court to account for the killing of ghana judges and other political opponats

• JUSTICE 10 years ago

GHANA IS CORRUPT FROM THE TOP TO DAY NURSERY SCHOOL.NO LAWS IN GHANA EVEN FORIEGNERS ARE DOING THE SAME IN GHANA. RAWLINGS TIME WAS BETTER THAN TODAY GHANA. ARMED ROBBERS, 419, GALAMSDAY ETC. GHANA NEED SOMEONE LIKE RAWLINGS ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

If there were not ever any genuine reasons for any coup, tell us or forever shut the heck up or leave J. J. alone. Use your energies and any intelligence you have to tackle the massive corruption going on now that is denying ...

• Ghanavia 10 years ago

You are really a fool. Your rantings did not convince anybody. The coup against Nkrumah was a justified coup as he made himself President for life therefore denying voters their right to choose who they want to rule them. The ...

I am not surprised at your epileptic rage with my comment. I am aware of your kind being why we can never have a sensible, constructive debate on issues that afflict us in Ghana.

The fact we have unrepentant supporters li ...

I am not surprised at your epileptic rage with my comment. I am aware of your kind being why we can never have a sensible, constructive debate on issues that afflict us in Ghana.

The fact we have unrepentant supporters li ...

• Ekow 10 years ago

Ghanavia or whatever your name is; I pity you. I STRONGLY believe you havent read much. Your little mind and block-headedness has made you a BIG FOOL, STUPID and ignorant of developments in the country. Please go get some edu ...

• jazzboy 10 years ago

both JJ and 1966 coups were justified.
    we don't need any coup again.
    We have the ballot box

• Ofoli 10 years ago

You have attempted to present a balanced view. we should now focus on how to keep Ghana from sliding into those conditions again.

DR MAHAMA YOU ARE VERY SENSIBLE GHANAIAN MAY YOU LIVE FOR LONG TIME.GHANA NEEDS PEOPLE LIKE YOU.HAVE A HAPPY NEW YEAR AND LIVE LONG TO TELL TRUE TO THOSE WHO HATE IT.GOD BLESS YOU.

• TEE 10 years ago

RAWLINGS IS PLANNING ANOTHER COUP VERY SOON. GREEDY SON OF A BITCH PROSTITUDE TOGOLESE THIEF MURDER

• abu okyeman 10 years ago

RAWLINGS IS AN ASS HOLE .HE NEEDS TO GO TO THE FIRING SQUAD LIKES KHADDAFFI AND SADDAM.HE WAS SO SMART OTHER WISE USA WAS GOING TO ASSASINATE HIM .FOOLISH CHINEESE MONKEY LOOKS.

• Konoreyawa 10 years ago

Rawlings would love to know his father people but will any of them have him no. This is the problem we have and therefore we have to live with this. Sometimes he talks as if he is easing himself.

• Awuradebasa 10 years ago

RAGS to RICHES.
    What else will he say?
    This BASTARD now has $4 billion in his bank accounts.

• obiba kwadwo 10 years ago

Sensible talk Dr E. Mahama.God bless you.

• EMMA 10 years ago

With my political ideas gained in United States, Ghana would have been better if PNC were in power till date. Why? Tell me what economic development can we remember during PNDC/NDC,or Kuffuor administration? I don't want any ...

• goofy 10 years ago

President Mahama can fight corruption by himself he doesn't need help what he has to do is put one of his corrupt minister in jail and everything will be okay as for Jerry Rawlings he go a long what people a saying and I thi ...

• pushy 10 years ago

Rawlings predicted that 1981 coup is to be moyher of all coups and it appears it is beoming reality.
    Lrt's bear in mind that those days coups were fashionable ;but not today.let's us not blame Rawwlings.The fact is he is now ...

• concern citizen 10 years ago

What does insult have to do with wisdom. Ghanians grow up.

• alex 10 years ago

it seems that the only objective of dr mahama by entering politics is to rehabilite the late limann. what rawlings did in december 1981 conducted ghana on the road of democracy and economic development. that is the result of ...