You are here: HomeNews2013 12 31Article 296574

We have to fight corruption - Rawlings

Read Comments Comments (78)

• kofi 10 years ago

we have reduced ourselves to stupid tribalism when issues of politics and governance come up...instead of looking to question leadership on these things, all we do is whether some one is an akan or not pr whether he is npp or ...

• Proud Ashanti 10 years ago

Who was more corrupt than Rawlings? Does he even know the meaning of corruption? God have mercy on Ghana.

• facts 10 years ago

If Rawlings believes in his own words then he should walk the talk. He designed the indemnity clause to protect himself from his own term probity and accountability. He should first give himself up for all investigations befo ...

• facts 10 years ago

Funny! Rawlings is still insulting the yagbon families; but they still sit mute. When all his promises to find the killers of the Ya-Na turned out to be empty, all his brave talks of secret testimonies were found out to be li ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

Why isn't anyone taking the challenge to court of this indemnity clause in the constitution. Amend this part of the Constitution so we can look at everything in total. Iam not in favor of anyone but I think it's unfair for a ...

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR 10 years ago

PRIESTHOOD:
    ARE YOU A LEVITES OF THE JEWS?

The days of priesthood are over. Who is a priest? Why so many people from different traditions are calling themselves priest? Who deserve to be a priest of God legitimately?

A ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

Very insightful. Yours is full of wisdom. Keep faith alive.

• k.k.egbeomor 10 years ago

nonsense u ve forced me to insult u i am very sorry

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Rawlings to tell the majority people of this nation whereabouts of the fleet of 22 Black Star Line ships?

Ghana was the powerful sea way in Africa with OTI RIVER, AFRAM RIVER, PRA RIVER, BIRIM RIVER, ANKOBRA RIVER, VOLTA R ...

• ICONIC-07 10 years ago

WHAT A FOOOOOOOOOOOOOL WHO HAD GHANA FOR SOLID 19 YEARS JUST TO ENRICH HIMSELF AND COVER HIS DIRTY ACTS.

THE DIVISIVE, TRIBALIST-RAWLINGS GET THE GUT TO RANT TIRADES OF INSULTS ON EVERY PRESIDENT AFTER HIM, AS IF HE IS SAN ...

• YHO 10 years ago

WHERE IS ACCOUNT 48

• k.k.egbeomor 10 years ago

somebody like u will remain cursed U are very far from truth. the rate at which the looting is going on in post Rawlings era if a fifth were to occur in the past JJ could have pass' for the richest in Africa

• BUGA BUGA ATUGUBA 10 years ago

Any meaningful attempt to fight corruption in Ghana should start from Corrupt Alhaji Judas Dangerous mahama (JDM. He is notorious within the international community as an inveterate corrupt person who stole and bribed his way ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

MAINSTEAD OF DOING SMTHING CONCRETE ABOUT CORRUPTION. WAT DID KUFFOUR SAY? RAWLINGS CAME N KILLED CORRUPT PPL. THEN BECAME A HYPOCRITE N STOLE WITH HIS CRONIES. THEN HAD THE NERVE TO TALK ABOUT INTEGRITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY. W ...

TOO LATE TO BUY TIME OR PATIENCE with a reshuffle as the cat is already out of the bag and everybody knows ndc has no plan or agenda to develop the country . in the zeal of hatred fueled by ewe hegemony and northern tribalism ...

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

are you a millionaire?

Yeah right, we should have resisted when you gave Nsawam Cannery to your wife. Can anyone imagine what would have happened if Gen Akuffo's wife had "bought" a state factory? We are to blame! Why should there be a VVIP lounge ...

• Ayigbe Edem 10 years ago

Yes, under his watch three hundred state assets were sold including Kwame Nkrumah's Black Star Line, Ashanti Goldfields, Nsawam Cannery, GNTC to mention a few. All these didn't fetch Ghana one billion dollars even though Asha ...

• Ekow 10 years ago

Hello Rawlings; you are corrupt so what moral right have you got to call for others to fight corruption? What a shame!!

• Rawlings the IDIOT MURDERER 10 years ago

the murderer

• In Jesus Mighty Name Amen 10 years ago

The most corrupted personalities in the History of Ghana are JJ Rawlings and the Tiskaters. I know the laws will catch up with them very soon. They can run but can never hide Amen.

• Agyeman 10 years ago

This Rawlings guy is corruption personified yet he wants to pontificate to others? I can hear the cries of those he murdered calling from their graves for JUSTICE.

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

Yes, it is our own doings that made corruption strong and solid in our nation. Nobody can come out in the open genuinely to say he is not part of the corruption.

Now, we have realised the danger that corruption carries an ...

• Doodya MN 10 years ago

I now understand why the call people who were born through prostitution as "Shejee"Just look at the peace at the north and this San of an Ewe Prostitute
    is there cause troubles.
    'Mma Behi' let us forget this hypo create an ...

• JOE 10 years ago

Look who is talking.You need deliverance. You killed a lot of innocent guys now look at the corruption going on, is a shame 'God have have mercy on you, idiot

Julor Jato Robinhood (JJR) is the last person I expect to call for a fight against corruption in Ghana. Rawlings must be told that he is not a saint. As part of the fight against corruption he should first explain to Ghanaian ...

• PAPSON 10 years ago

Abi this useless man serious so? No bi this same foolish man make law to protect himself after looting we country money finish .Even self na this law open the way for Kufour them to thief we money too? Close that your yeye mo ...

• PAPSON 10 years ago

Abi this useless man serious so? No bi this same foolish man make law to protect himself after looting we country money finish .Even self na this law open the way for Kufour them to thief we money too? Close that your yeye mo ...

• PAPSON 10 years ago

• rapheal ayipah,,,from navrongo 10 years ago

When you travel out of GHANA is when you see how other countries holds thier politicians accountable for thier actions,WE ALL KNOW RAWLINGSIS A JOKE BUT WE KEEP GIVING HIM THE PLATEFORM TO BE THE BIGGEST,,AM REALLY CONFUSE W ...

• PAPSON 10 years ago

• Kofi - USA 10 years ago

WHO OWNS THE NSAWAM CANNERY? WHY DONT YOU ASK THEM TO REMOVE THE INDEMNITY CLUASE YOU PUT IN THE CONSTITUTION? STOP BEING A HYPOCRITE. WHERE DID YOU GET ALL THESE MONEY FROM IF YOU ARE NOT CORRUPT YOURSELF?

• PAPSON 10 years ago

• Kofi - USA 10 years ago

WHO OWNS THE NSAWAM CANNERY? WHY DONT YOU ASK THEM TO REMOVE THE INDEMNITY CLUASE YOU PUT IN THE CONSTITUTION? STOP BEING A HYPOCRITE. WHERE DID YOU GET ALL THESE MONEY FROM IF YOU ARE NOT CORRUPT YOURSELF?

• PAPSON 10 years ago

• OKOE 10 years ago

MR. PRESIDENT, I HAVE READ YOUR SPEECHES ON CORRUPTION BUT WITH YOUR STATURE, I WOULD LIKE YOU TO SPECIFICALLY TELL GHANAIANS OF ANY CORRUPTION YOU CAN PROVE OF. WHY CAN'T YOU INFORM THE AUTHORITIES ABOUT IT. WE NEED PROOF O ...

• Capt. Mosquito, Netherlands 10 years ago

JJ, The holiest in Ghana, indeed !!

• YD 10 years ago

THE AUTHURITIES MUST SHOUT HIS STINKING MOUTH BEFORE HE BRASFERMY

• ABACHA SNR 10 years ago

CORRUPTION STARTED UNDER HIS PRESIDENCY.HE MUST BE AWARE THAT,HE WILL BE BROUGHT TO ACCOUNT BEFORE HE DIES. IDIOT

• ABLETSI 10 years ago

RAWLINGS HAS FORGOTTEN THAT THE CORRUPTION IS BEING PERPETUATED BY HIS OWN GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS. HAS HE SEEN ANY OPPOSITION MEMBER IN DEEP CORRUPTION?

RAWLINGS SHOULD BE POKING THE FIRE ON THE YAA NAA ISSUE. HE HAS FORGOT ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

What are you personally doing now to put an end to the "nowneck-deep" corruption that is currently ailing our country other than by merely talking? We can't wait any longer.

• Joe Durex.. 10 years ago

Rawlings wants to come back and is using the same dirty tricks to arouse some stupid jerks in the army to come to his aid. We have enough of this bofoon and his kind of revolution.Ghana is sick and tired of useless people wh ...

• k. s. a 10 years ago

Please! don't put fire on us we need peace and unity u advice our brothers kusasi n mamprosi to leave as brothers n sisters who are two trype while we as one trype to put fire on each other. Allah is in controal we are going ...

• Omint's 10 years ago

Who create that tribal sentiments serious in this country?not you JJ?

• www 10 years ago

Only to protect you and your corrupt family.

• www 10 years ago

Shit off your deadly dangerous so-called principles and give us a break

• DONATE BLOOD & KIDNEY SAVE LIFE 10 years ago

MR JJ CONDEMN MILLS , KUFUOR AND MAHAMA EXCEPT HIMSELF . NAWAAH FOR JJ OOOOOO

• Akwasi Montreal 10 years ago

should mr Rawlings fight corruption in his own house before fighting elsewhere?

• KANE 10 years ago

WELL, JUST CONSIDER THE CORRUPTION GOING ON NOW IN GHANA, AND UNDER KUFUOR'S NPP.

EVERY POOR PERSON IN GHANA NOW IS CRYING OUT FOR A REVOLUTION OR COUP TO WEED OUT ALL THOSE NPP AND NDC CRIMINALS WHO HAVE HIJACKED OUR ECO ...

• Kwaku Yaw 10 years ago

This Rawlings is campaigning for come back

• Songchebe 10 years ago

Yes, we must all fight the corruption. Mostly, it is the political parties that doing it 100% of the time. Listed here are some of the friends, cousins, generators, acquaintances, and connectors to world’s deadly sins peopl ...

• Abukari Bashiru 10 years ago

Our former President has once again reiterated his obsession about corruption.Indeed,the issue of corruption can not be left unattented too.It has eaten up the moral fabric of our dear Nation Ghana.Every where you go it flows ...

• ALHAJI BISHOP 10 years ago

THE ONE WHO CAME TO FIGHT CORRUPTION TURNED BE A CORRUPT HIMSELF.LETS PRAY TO GOD THAT RAWLINGS WILL RETURN OUR STOLEN GOLD HE HAS DEPOSITED IN ZWITSERLAND.THUMB LOW FOR EVO KROMFOUR.MAY ALLA BLESS OUR NATION GHANA.INSHA ALLA ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Stiff jail sentence will make a dent.
    Nobody has been jailed yet.
    I wonder why not.

• ALHAJI BISHOP 10 years ago

YOU AND WHO MUST FIGHT CORRUPTION,STUPID COMMENTS YOU AND YOUR GANGS HAVE STOLEN EVERY THING,WE ARE GOING TO FIGHT YOU AND RETRIEVE OUR STOLEN MONEY BACK,NANIAMA,YOU THINK WE ARE STILL SLEEPING. IN AYIGWE COMMUNITY A THIEF IS ...

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

Starting with your wife. You stole the Nsawam Cannery and extorted US$5million dollars from a dying man- Mills. Was it a loan, a gift or simple extortion. Tell Ghanaians what it is. We call this accountability.

• Capt. Mosquito, Netherlands 10 years ago

JJ should vanish from the scene. He is the root of all corruption !!

• John Kool 10 years ago

Jerry, spare us our ears! With have had enough of your nonsense.Corruption was riped under your rule, and you did nothing about it.At a point in time, the little sticky fingers was in the national coffers - taking kick backs ...

• goofy 10 years ago

Shut up you're not mother Theresa mind your business what did you do when you have your time in case you forgot you were killing people that's your way of frightening corruption your time has past ghana do not need your help ...

• Akua AU 10 years ago

Corruption, corruption, corruption is all that he can preach. As if there is no corruption anywhere in the world. I hope he is not trying to brainwash people. Damn psychopath.

• KUTRIKU 10 years ago

I HOPE RIGHT-THINKING GHANAIANS WILL NOT ALLOW THIS MURDERER TO POLLUTE OUR AIWAVWS BY INVITING HIM TO DELIVER HIS" HYPOCRITICAL SPEECHES" ANYMORE. CAN SOMEBODY ALSO TELL HIM TO SEE A PSYCHYTRIST FOR HE IS IN THE INFANCY OF A ...

• TEE 10 years ago

Son of a bitch TOGOLESE