You are here: HomeNews2013 12 30Article 296505

Gov't must enforce spot-fine law – ASP Nortey

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

Rotten from head to toe

• Ningo 10 years ago

Spot fine not a good idea. It will be a gold mine for corrupt police officers.

• Nyametsease 10 years ago

This is the fox guarding the chicken pen. Who's idea is this ? The police will have a field day.

• Pastor logoligi 10 years ago

Judging from the picture displayed with this story I suppose breath alcohol content check is now being used by police to arrest drunk drivers. Whilst this is a commendable improvement in law enforcement the general public sho ...

• KOJO DARKO, Indiana 10 years ago

pls tell me ASP Norteys' fone # and I will prove to him that he is a FOOL

• Nzema K 10 years ago

Just look at the picture. If all people have to breath in and out of this same equipment, what do you think will happen??. spread of TB of course

• Obournana 10 years ago

Ghana Police is corrupt that all monies would end up in the individual's pocket. One disadvantage is that there is no means of check or monitoring. What the ASP should have suggested is to ensure there is a monitoring in the ...

• post 10 years ago

spot fines, and bribery and corruption continues unabated. foolish policy makers.

• Pat 10 years ago

This is a laudable intervention but it will not bring about the desired change. What should be done now is to first of all get a database of all drivers with their bio-data. The first offence will be a warning and an opportun ...

• True Patriot 10 years ago

Can the Police be honest in collecting the fines?
    I bet you large portion of the 'dough' will end up in their pockets.
    can't trust even the Courts let alone these corrupt Police.
    The Police are not Judges and every offende ...

• man 10 years ago

if introduced, this system will make d police more corrupt with bribery fee into d police being increased cos d police service esp mttu wd now b a goldmine, no way. hungry ones will just get into d rd with dysfunctional machi ...

• ASEM DA ONIPA SO 10 years ago

THIS IS A VERY GOOD IDEA SINCE THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS HERE IN EUROPE- BUT INTO WHICH ACCOUNT WILL THE MONEY GO? SPOT FINES PAYMENT NEED NOT TO DONE BY CASH IN HAND. THAT IS WHY WE NEED AN ADDRESS AND ID CARDS SO POLICE COULD BE ...

• KOJO DARKO, Indiana 10 years ago

which part of this is A GOOD IDEA? Mr asem be dabi? judging from what you said, just tell me that ASP phillip Nortey is a FOOL including the MP mr Charles obeng-inkoom

THIS IS A VERY GOOD IDEA SINCE THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS HERE IN EUROPE- BUT INTO WHICH ACCOUNT WILL THE MONEY GO? SPOT FINES PAYMENT NEED NOT TO DONE BY CASH IN HAND. THAT IS WHY WE NEED AN ADDRESS AND ID CARDS SO POLICE COULD BE ...

• Ato 10 years ago

We need to support the President that is a fact, but the President need
    to listing, As a Ghanaian I can't sleep over the way our country is
    right now.
    This are some of things we need to do to fix our country.

1.tack ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A guy was driving when a policeman pulled him over. He rolled down his window and said to the officer, "Is there a problem, Officer?"
    "No problem at all. I just observed your safe driving and am pleased to award you a $5,000 ...

• UNCLE K 10 years ago

WHERE IS THE POLICE TO ENFORCE THE LAW
    WHEN TROTRO AND TAXI DRIVERS ARE ABUSING THE TRAFFIC LAWS.THEY ARE ONLY INTERESTED IN COLLECTING BRIBES.THE MOST CORRUPT INSTITUTION IN GHANA IS THE POLICE.WE CLOTHE THEM IN ADDITION TO ...

• John T 10 years ago

ASP Nortey said major problems confronting drivers are indiscipline and disrespect of the law.

I agree totally with the officer on this one. I have always said a lot of the traffic congestion in Accra is due to driver indi ...

• RAS aktsi 10 years ago

Because is going to be another avenue
    of selfish interest,he is saying this
    as if he ...what he should tell his men
    is that,the policemen should learn to educate and also advice and correct drivers since no one can be perf ...

• KANE 10 years ago

THAT'S ALL GHANA LEADERS KNOW BEST, BULLYING THE POOR AND DEFENCELESS!!

Ghanaians

You see the hardworking Sheik Maktoum of the UAE in Ghanaweb of yesterday sitting next to lazy create loot and share Mahama, this Sheik a ...

• KANAWU 10 years ago

WHAT ARE TALKING ABOUT? WE NEED TO INSTITUTE ELECTRONIC PAYMENT OF FINES DUE TO THE GOVERNMENT SO THE MONEY WILL NOT GO INTO THE DIRTY POCKETS OF THE CROOKS WHO ARE GOVT. OFFICIALS BE IT THE POLICE, CEPS OR AT THE HARBOR

• Foreigner 10 years ago

Electronic payment will not work. Why? There is no intention to collect the money at point of catching the person. Do you know how big the spot fines will be? It will be between 60 and 100 ghana cedis. So now the police ...

• KUTXA. Bayone, France 10 years ago

I think this is a very laudable idea in all respect. But it is not all that easy. This practise is everywhere and many of us living in Europe have on one way or the other, fell victim to it and had pay accordingly. But knowin ...

• Foreigner 10 years ago

The plan is to have drivers pay directly into a bank account, however, you should know this won't work well in Ghana.

The police will threaten the driver with the higher fee and know he will pay a lower amount as a bribe.

• omint's 10 years ago

Not only the drivers,but those nutorious police officers who drunk during their duties those who collect bribes b'cos the law has no respect for any idiotic once

• Koforidua Flower (fr) 10 years ago

A SUGGESTED EASY WAY OF POLICE GETTING RICH AT THE SHORTEST POSSIBLE TIME.HOW MUCH OF THIS FINES COULD BE ACCOUNTED FOR THROUGH THE HANDS OF OUR GRADED CORRUPT POLICE FORCE.THE POLICE FORCE CONTRIBUTE GREATELY TO ACCIDENTS ON ...

• KWABENA ASAMOAH 10 years ago

the police are using this as a means to extract money from drivers. I believe the this monies must be charged at the court so that we know how much is collected. how do we even know the authenticity of the receipts they are ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

Do they change the mouth piece each time they use it? We have to be careful not to transmit diseases. It is a good idea but should observe good hygiene.

• clarence 10 years ago

The police must be seen to be doing right. Most taxis, cars are owned by the police, judges, politicians, MPS and many more so drivers go away free from been banned, prosecuted or even fined. The police must adopt the UK syst ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

LINES TO SAY TO VICTORIA HAMMAH THE POLICE OFFICER IN TRAFFIC.

The word of the day is "legs." Let's go back to my place and spread the word.

That outfit would look great in a crumpled heap on my bedroom floor tomorrow m ...

• John,Tema 10 years ago

Can these corrupt policemen do this?

• Chairman 10 years ago

This Commander could not make enough money this year. Look at what is asking for. Spot fine will prevent accident? Which particular accident can spot fine prevent? Tell us!! \trained thieve!!!!

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

GHANAINS IN EUROPE AMERICA CANADA AND AUSTRALIA KNEW VERY THAT IF YOU DRINK AND DRIVE IS PUNISHABLE BY LAW.BUT WHEN THEY RETURN TO GHANA THEY JOIN THE HOME BOYS DRINK AND DRIVE KILLING INNOCENT PEOPLE AND GO FREE.TIME TO ACT ...

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

We do have spot fines in Ghana. The only trouble is, the money goes into the policemen's pocket and not to the Ghana Government

• DAN 10 years ago

MOST PEOPLE KILLED IN GHANA ARE BUY FOOLISH DRIVERS LIKE YOU BEHIND THE WHEEL OF A TRO-TRO OR A TRUCK WITH BALD TIRES..YOUR A TRUE NIGGER DARK AS THE SKY WITH NO MOON OR STREET LIGHTS, INVISIBLE IN DARK...GOD GAVE YOU THAT CO ...

• DAN 10 years ago

PAYMENT FOR MINOR FINES SHOULD BE DONE BY MAIL OR INTERNET OR IN PERSON..MAJOR ACCIDENTS(DEATH)--DRUNK DRIVING...MUST VISIT JAIL AND COURT WITH FINES STILL PAYED TO COURT..