You are here: HomeNews2013 12 18Article 295579

Corruption is a threat to Ghana’s peace – Catholic Bishops

Read Comments Comments (88)

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Call a spade a spade, not a digging instrument.

• insurmountable problem 10 years ago

Author:
    insurmountable problem

Date:
    2013-12-18 12:47:48

Comment to:
    Corruption is a threat to Ghana’s peace – Cath

Everybody is talking about corruption. From prominent politicians in the ruling NDC gov ...

• Adwoa Obeng 10 years ago

Thanks to everyone for bringing this issue up. What is the way up? We definitely know JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA can not offer any solution because he is part of the problem. He is equally corrupt and lacks ideas. Please help by com ...

• NEMESIS RADAR, WATCHING YOU!! 10 years ago

Corruption has become a culture — Dr Akwetey
    General News of Sunday, 17 November 2013
    Source: graphic.com.gh

The Executive Director of the Institute for Democratic Governance (IDEG), Dr Emmanuel Akwetey, has observed t ...

• RJ 10 years ago

Was the "Ghana Catholic Bishops Conference" in existence during Kuffour's time? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm !

• william 10 years ago

We are all part of the problem and therefore should be part of the solution. We all both benefit and suffer from the said corrupt practices. The bishops start should start from their congregations(followers)! Stolen money com ...

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

Yes indeed. All citizens should heal themselves after a thorough examination of their commissions (of wrong-doing) and omissions (not doing what they are paid to do).

• DONKING 10 years ago

Why are corrupted people talking about corruption. Vatican is more corrupt and misuse of our money then an country in the world. If you cant fix your house why fix somebodys else.
    Religious people should only talk about reli ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Let the brainies in Ndc explain to Ghanaians how a 90 million Ghana cedis and a paltry 10% ownership is better than 199 million Ghana cedis and 25% ownership.
    This is a blatant stealing by Mahama and his cronies just to prot ...

• NANA KASA 10 years ago

Mr. Sensible Man, I offer you $1M but I will kill your mother as a condition. I make you another offer for $10.00 but the condition is I will marry your sister. Which of these will you go for?

jj and all these foolish criminal ndc politicians again are trying to create a diversion and throw smoke screens in our eyes on the issue of corruption . our corruption is a different kind especially when is rooted in some mi ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A church secretary answered the phone and heard the caller say, “I want to talk to the fat Pig of the Church.”
    “Sir,” she replied, “that is no way to talk about the Reverend. He is the pastor of this church.”

• KWAKU ASUMAH 10 years ago

That was an excellent stance I supposed.God bless u keep on searching!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

What is wrong with all these hypocrites parading as clergies in various capacities in the name of the good book across the country lately? Suddenly, they are expert advocates over corruption, huh? Well, weren't they in the co ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

Listen bro, I think you need to brush the dust off your brain. You just don't make sense, and support blindly the NDC. Why are you so stupid huh? Where did your brains go.

Keep ranting for all I care.

• ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT 10 years ago

TO DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER. How on earth can you support the current corruption going on in our country. You want to tell Ghanaians that during Kufour's regime such things went on so if the current government is doing worse th ...

Nobody is stopping the clergies to voice their disdain to corruption. But, suddenly becoming vocal over something as old as the chapters of Biblical Adam courtesy of Kufuor, spell them out as hypocrites. They should have star ...

Don't spend $2 to dry-clean a shirt. Donate it to the Salvation Army instead. They'll clean it, put it on a hanger. Next morn buy it back for 50p.

Will give it a try, bro.

• S. K. ANSAH 10 years ago

That Bishop with the lies-infested beard is a child molester and an adulterer. and he uses Church monies to fund his sex craze.

• Kwasi Tafritwe 10 years ago

These so called corrupt people are your members and they sit on the head of the pews and make big pledges.do you ever quetion where they got their money from? You the recievers are as guiltyas the givers.

• Yaw Berko 10 years ago

Mr S. K Nkansah, I advise you to consult an ophthalmologist or an optician immediately for you have a problem with your eyes. Where do you see a beard on the face of the Bishop in the picture ? Astonishing !!

• Aponkye 10 years ago

Yaw Berko, I am sure you have worse problems with your eyes than S.K. Ansah. The writer is Ansah and not Nkansah!! How did your eyes see the wrong name?

And I don't think the contributor was talking about the bishop in thi ...

• Proud Ashanti 10 years ago

Lets make Dr. Bawumiah and Dr.Frimpong our next president and vice president to stop corruption. Nana Addo must kindly retire. God bless Ghana

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

My Brother, you are a Proud Ashanti and I second your motion. Lets face it Dr. Bawumiah should be the NPP flagbearer for 2016. He deserves to be our next president. Nana is finished, he has deserted us and gone to LIVE in Eng ...

• Aponkye 10 years ago

I am sure you people are just making fun on Ghanaweb. How can the son of a latrine carrier go before the Asantehene?

• Kwame Danquah 10 years ago

Look,there must be harsh punishment for corruption before people will stop embezzling state funds.The reason why corruption is great in our country is that we just talk about it,but we have not put in place laws,policies and ...

• Another boy 10 years ago

Pastors are more corrupted than politicians. I read in a the newspapers that Most Rev. Joseph Osei-Bonsu is involved in a fake will.

• ANA 10 years ago

Good one there,you are now saying what should be said without adding party colours to it. When people like you speak the nation listen. We hope you will now be proactive and not reactive.

• KOKROKOO 10 years ago

WHY ALL THESE SHIT OF CORRUPTION OF LATE?? WHO IS MORE CORRUPT THAN THOSE DECLARING TO THE WORLD THEY WILL NOT MARRY YET SLEEP WITH MARRIED WOMEN AND SMALL SMALL BOYS AND GIRLS. A SOCIETY THAT CORRUPTED MEN TO BE SLEEPING WIT ...

• ANA 10 years ago

YES, THE DEVIL WILL EVEN QUOTE SCRIPTURES TO SUPPORT HIS COURSE. HAVING TO PUBLICLY ADMIT YOUR WRONGS DOES NOT MAKE YOU A WEAK MAN BUT RATHER A GREAT ONE. WHAT IS WRONG IS WRONG NO MATTER WHAT. BE IT NORTH OR SOUTH, EAST OR W ...

• KNYC(USMC) 10 years ago

You are a MORON. You don't see how the country is going down. You backward bafoo, sandbag. Your f ucking mahama can't compare himself to the Bishops.

• Ghana's 10 years ago

If I may ask.

• Gh. 10 years ago

Mahama is aware of all e dangers of corruption but he won't change. God in heaven is watching him.

• Dhuruwah 10 years ago

GH, God don't give a damn about what goes on in Ghana. He has better things to think about. "God in heaven is watching him" MY FOOT

• PILATE 10 years ago

BISHOPS QUIET WHEN KUFUOR CHOPPED WAWAWA

• insurmountable problem 10 years ago

Everybody is talking about corruption. From prominent politicians in the ruling NDC government to the opposition NPP to influential individuals in the country, they are all paying lip service to the issue of corruption. I gu ...

• KOKROKOO 10 years ago

Among some of the allegations is a Ghc45 million Savannah Accelerated Development Authority (SADA) corruption scandal in which state funds channeled into afforestation and poultry projects in northern Ghana toward reducing po ...

• Komla Agbeshie (Ho) 10 years ago

Call a spade a spade.Tell Mahama and his ministers to stop their corrupt attitude and move the nation forward or else..............

• D.K. Osei 10 years ago

Where were all these so-called men of God who never uttered a word when our former President magically conjured $7 million to buy a hotel? In fact, they saw nothing wrong with that including the numerous corruption under the ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

BRIBERY AND CORUPTION STILL GOES IN THE COUNTRY BUT WHERE WERE THE CATHOLIC BISHOPS WHEN KUFFOUR AND HIS NPP, THE SO CALLED ''PATRIOTS'' CORRUPTED THE NATION, STOLE THE IDENTITY OF GHANA AND SQUANDERED THE FUTURE OF THE PRESE ...

• Prof.A.K.Appiah 10 years ago

Folks, stop the talking and do something about the corruption.

• Abba 10 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF THOSE WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

They have always been innocent, now we see how MORON JJ is, since he is the leader of NDC. What President Reagan said is a FACT about JJ.

• Abba 10 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• D.K. Osei 10 years ago

Putting a cross around someone's neck does not necessarily make him a christian. Some of these pastors are more crook than the lunatics we can find around Tudu.

• rocky jnr 10 years ago

lets educate our children so that they will realized how corrupt our political leaders are Rawlings sit aloof to make his wife konadu bought nsawam kenelry with a peanut.For mahama better we remain quit he is manager of cor ...

• NANA KUSI 10 years ago

EI, CATHOLIC BISHOPS YOU ARE WELCOME BACK TO GHANA ONCE AGAIN. HMMMM! MAY YOU STAY FOR LONG TO OVERLAP OTHER PARTIES IN POWER. DO NOT LEAVE AGAIN WHEN NPP IS IN POWER O. I BEG.

• kk, 10 years ago

He should stay away.

• D.K. Osei 10 years ago

They become "mumu" when NPP is in power.

• Oko Kokuvi Anidu 10 years ago

Stupid, Ben Epson, Rawlings and Mahama are unware. We are preparing for all out war. That is the way forward until Wayome, RLG, Mahama and Isofoton refund our money .Am Ayigbe and have had enough.

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

People should know they will be accountable for their deeds even in death....those who were corrupt in 1979, 1989, 2009 should all be made accountable...People will then know that it does not pay to commit crimes..as it would ...

• Pap 10 years ago

IS THE SALE/DIVESTITURE ALSO CORRUPTION? WHERE FROM THIS CROP OF JOURNALISTS IN OUR COUNTRY TODAY?

• Kumasehene 10 years ago

Catholic Bishops were quiet when Kufuor and his Creedy NPP criminals were plundering the economy of Ghana. Bishops got their share of the booty and kept quiet.

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR. 10 years ago

PRIESTHOOD:

The days of priesthood are over. Who is a priest? Why so many people from different traditions are calling themselves priest? Who deserve to be a priest of God legitimately?

A priest is an ordained clergy or ...

• AKONFEM JDM ATOPAHENE 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS NUMBER ONE BIG CORRUPT IN GHANA HISTORY,AND IS A BIG SHAME TO THE NATION,THE LAND IS RICH,BUT THE PEOPLE ARE POOR,EVIL DWARFS MAHAMA NDC ANANSE GOVT,PERIOD

• Joe 10 years ago

Correuption is inherited beliefs from culture and religion

• travel and work abroad 10 years ago

Reputable Registered Licence Holding A.G.C, Is An International Recruitment Agency Base In Qatar And Ghana Is Looking for Job Seekers to work in Kuwait for good salaries.

Jobs Type:

Heavy Duty Drivers

Fork Lifters

• Anthony Kofi Anan 10 years ago

Thank God you are all now speaking out. Well it is better than late. You should hammer your words in your churches, communities, in the villages, townships and cities, the places of work, the leadership, the youth, adult grou ...

start killing the thieves

• STEVOOOOOOO 10 years ago

eeeeeiiiii Bishop, u are dead for speaking frankly.....the ndc will launch an attack on you that u will never forget...NO NDC LEADERSHIP AGREES THAT THERE IS CORRUPTION AND THEIR SUPPORTERS WHO ARE THE POOREST IN GHANA NEVER ...

• Kofi USA 10 years ago

How can corruptions be solved when our very constitution has been drafted for politician? When our institutions are very weak with no oversight and accountability. There no real separation of powers. Please until these basic ...

• samuel daenmark 10 years ago

my friend start from pope and the behavoir of roman catholic church your people are fucking yourselves advice your church members and stop partian.

One Sunday, pastor Robin Hood asked his congregation to consider giving a little extra in the offering plate. He said that whoever gave the most would be able to pick out three hymns.

After the offering plates were passed ...

• Marieno 10 years ago

WHAT IS THIS (TANII ,PEPENII )IBRAHIM MAHAMA DOING WITH A JET?TO TO IMPOVRISHED NORTH OR WHAT ?CAN,T HE USE THE MONEY TO DEVELOPE AND LEARN TO BE CIVILIZED?

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

To accept pronouncements from politicized Roman Catholic Church elders in Ghana is to accept the tribalism and all its ills in Ghana as promises from the Christian God or Muslim Allah.
    The sad truth about these robe wearing ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

OPAYIN ABEÉKU MENSAH

PLEASE, YOU MAKE ME ANGRY WHEN YOU DECORATE NON-PERFORMANCE SO CALLED EDUCATED AS ELITES.

THESE PEOPLE HAVE DONE ANYTHING TO MERIT THESE TITLES.

ELITES IN THE MIDST OF BACKWARDNESS, UNDERDEVELO ...

you do not have to be abusive and call the clergy clowns when they express concern about the effect of massive corruption on the viability and peace in the nation...just look around africa in the last month- CAR and South Sud ...

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

OPAYIN RASTAFARAL.

THE CHURCH AS AN ISTITUTION HAS THE RIGHT TO DO POLITICS.

BUT THE QUESTION IS,WHERE WERE THESE MEN OF GOD, WHEN bRIBERY AND CORRUPTION, MANIPULATION, EMBEZZLEMENT,MISSAPRPRIATION OF STATE FUNDS, FRAUD ...

You want "We the People" should be mute because you think NPP were corrupt, so NDC should do the same thing. You have the balls to write "The sad truth about these robe wearing clowns is they step out from their protected cl ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF FOR SUCH A BAD ENGLISH:

• jim 10 years ago

Ghanaians got what they want. President Mahama then vice President led the Ghana delegation to South Korea to sign the infamous STX deal. Each member of the group was given $2000 dollars. Mahama maintained that the money was ...

• Law Speaks 10 years ago

What pains me is that the people who see corrtption they don't mention names. For me leap before you talk.

• PAPSON 10 years ago

Oh Mahama, you must be ashamed yourself.

• Kwawu Agbemenu 10 years ago

Thanks to the bishops for highlighting this national cancer. What about setting up an office where anyone who knows of some corrupt behaviour/action/request, etc., could file a report? This office could publish its register ...

• jb 10 years ago

OH I THINK THAT WAS A GOOD CALLED BUT WHAT HAVE U DONE ABOUT THE CORRUPTION IN UR CHURCH AS U SPOKE???? U CAN ALSO HELP TO FIGHT THE CORRUPTION

• sas 10 years ago

It has become part of us right from the grass root including those who can check it, its not the fault of the ministers and the president.think about it.

not all Africans are like that....Botswana does not have this level of corruption..It is run as a civilized and modern democracy...It is also an African country....

• A.M.Mahama 10 years ago

OPEN LETTER TO PRESIDENT JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA
    PROPOSAL FOR THE FORMATION OF A NON- PARTISAN TRUTH AND RECONCILIATION PRESIDENTIAL ANTI- CORRUPTION COMMISSION IN GHANA.
    THE FIRST STEP IN THE FIGHT AGAINST CORRUPTION.
    Dear P ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

I find it difficult to understand why my good catholic church all out from no why now every day banging on only Mahama as if corruption just started during Prez Mahama aral. May I ask are they not in this country during NPP e ...

• Johnny USA 10 years ago

Catholic Bishops please stop the blame game if not you will loose people,since u Bishops are disgracing the church. Can u name the people who are corrupt? Pls advice Gov. and educate ur congregate,s in ur church on how to pre ...

• ADAM & EVE 10 years ago

Hey papa osofo meko, Kufour says corruption has been with Ghana since Adam. Are you are fool or you are just playing dumb?

• Whatever 10 years ago

So when Kufour and his NPP proclaimed that corruption is as old as Adam, that was an opportunity which kept Ghana's peace that's why you went mum and never whimpered a word. Nothing happening today can come near the scale of ...

• Favour Darko 10 years ago

Why cant GHANAIANS speak the truth,report what the facts are so that we form our own opinions? Ure always doing GHANA more harm than good putting false information on the net. Try to report acurately. JMD has nothing to benef ...

• Jazzie 10 years ago

change is next,for this group is zero

• QUITE 10 years ago

Oh God have mercy on GHANA