"The interpreter at Nelson Mandela's memorial service has been convicted of theft."
If what I am reading is a new conviction, I think it's unnecessary. Who got him there in the first place? Did he get there by his own vol ... read full comment
"The interpreter at Nelson Mandela's memorial service has been convicted of theft."
If what I am reading is a new conviction, I think it's unnecessary. Who got him there in the first place? Did he get there by his own volition? Why didn't the authorities do the necessary background check before sending him to the world stage? Leave him alone, we African's are too reactionary.
We fail to do what needs to be done ahead of time, and react negatively when our actions fall on rocks. Set the guy free to go and enjoy his popularity!
Sethoo 12 years ago
It is a wrong decision they should have set up a committee to look at what forced him to that.That is how we do it in Ghana,they should ask John Mahama.Is he not a member of ANC they fought apartheid hahahaaa
Grace Ama 12 years ago
Somebody who is about 34 years old now was too young at that time to fight against apartheid. His parents might have done it and being a member of ANC which is the ruling party doesn't mean he must be condoned. Crime is crime and court is the right place to deal with criminalities not a committee. Looking at his background he had sent some people to their early graves and this is the time their ghosts and Mandela's ghost are hunting him. According to him he was hearing different voices when interpreting and this must tell you how ghosts are angry at him.
EFUA 12 years ago
WHO PUT HIM THERE TO DO THE INTERPRETING SOMETHING IS WRONG SOMEWHERE WHICH I DONT GET IT.DID HE JUST JUMPPED THERE TO INTERPRET OR WHAT WHOEVER PUT HIM THERE MUST BE QUESTIONED
Sika Nchendi Ghana 12 years ago
You are wondering who put him up there? It's as mysterious as Ghana's judgement debt payments and the sale of the drill ship! Ghanawoman, chop you house mattah oooh! Di wo fie asem!
Assempa 12 years ago
What a disgrace! Africa. No wonder President Zuma was booed at. Since Africans can never govern themselves, I wouldn't be surprised if the white South Africans gain power democratically some day.
AMA 12 years ago
That description in the first paragraph fits most of Africa's politicians of today. Leave the guy alone. How much was this guy paid? If you follow that money right now, you will find one crooked politician who used this poor guy.
Agyeman 12 years ago
South africa had two fakes at the this memorial-this crazy Jantjie and Rawlings. One playing like he knows sign language and the one that played for 20yrs like he knew how to be President yet he did zero.
56?9?
South africa had two fakes at the this memorial-this crazy Jantjie and Rawlings. One playing like he knows sign language and the one that played for 20yrs like he knew how to be President yet he did zero.
56?9?
Wahala 12 years ago
There surely were more than 2 fakes at the memorial. The biggest of them all was he that claims to be the 1st Black President of the mighty and only superpower yet plotted with European leaders to overthrow and murder Gaddafy, then install racist-fascist terrorists who have been massacring and imprisoning thousands of black Libyans and African immigrants. This same super-fake "Black President" of the US also keeps in place the terror watchlist from the 60s with the names of many ANC veteran freedom fighters and activists.
Then there were all the representatives of the Western countries and Israel which supported the Apartheid murderers, while benefitting from the fabulous riches of South Africa and its woefully-exploited black labour. And not one apology was offered!
princewilly@ymail.com 12 years ago
For decades, two heroic statues, one male and one female, faced each other in a city park until one day, an angel came down from heaven. "You've been such exemplary statues," the angel said, "that I'm going to give you a special gift. I'm going to bring you both to life for thirty minutes, during which time you can do anything you want." And with a clap of his hands, the angel brought the statues to life. The two approached each other a bit shyly and dashed for the bushes, from whence there came a good deal of giggling, laughter, and shaking of branches. Fifteen minutes later, the two statues emerged from the bushes with wide grins on their faces. "You still have fifteen more minutes," said the angel, winking at them. Grinning even more broadly, the female statue turned to the male statue and said, "Great! Only this time you hold the pigeon down and I'll shit on it's head!"
JOHN 12 years ago
Any sense in this at all??
Wahala 12 years ago
This incident exposes the rot in South Africa, and is indeed a fitting tribute to Jacob Zuma's leadership in particular and ANC corruption in general. It is not Jantjie alone who is a fake but the entire leadership of South Africa, which has also betrayed Mandela's sacrifice and the ideals of the liberation struggle.
We see the corrupt South African government going through its corrupt motions as usual. First, they didn't know Jantjie was. They referred to him in the media as a "mystery interpreter" and claimed not to know who hired him! Then when that lie was exposed by Deaf organizations, they started spinning stories about mental issues that Jantjie was supposedly plagued with. The truth of the matter, attested to by pictures, is that Jantjie had been "interpreting" for the ANC long before this latest incident, and had drawn complaints from Deaf advocacy organizations for his incompetence.
Shame to Cyril Ramaphosa, the organizer of the memorial. This is the former Trade Union leader who is now a multi-millionaire "businessman" and like so many other ANC veterans sits on the boards of the white-owned multinational corporations including LONMIN (formerly LONHRO, to whom Busia gave our own Obuasi mine). It is in servitude to LONMIN that the ANC government led by the rapist and penis-mind Jacob Zuma, gave the order for the South African police to massacre 32 miners in cold blood.
SASAMBONSAH 12 years ago
BLANE THE INCOMPETENT SOUTH AFRICAN SECURITY SERVICES
Solo Pobee 12 years ago
Why worry the poor man? Why did the responsible department not make due diligence for such an august function? This has really exposed the security lapse in the South African security service as this man could have hid a weapon on him. Let us be very careful and serious.
Nzema K 12 years ago
A criminal is always a criminal. "Foolish person can never engage in crime". This guy must be jailed again for embarrassing the the whole of Africa.
Nii Oshiki 12 years ago
Africa has always been the laughing stock of the world. No news...yawn...zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
DOTSI 12 years ago
WE CAN'T ORGANISE A PISS-UP IN A BREWRY
Tango 12 years ago
I am tempted to believe that South Africa is not a serious nation. Such a treacherous fellow to get this close to all these prominent Heads of States? This is an indictment on state security. Shame!
Tango 12 years ago
South Africa was well represented on the stage that day. Mandela represented the Good while Thamsanqa represented the Evil that is so much battling South Africa today. God was telling South Africans something which they have to widely open their ears to hear. It is spoken!
VICKY LEE BENTON 12 years ago
THIS SHOWS HOW INCOMPETENT JACOB ZUMA'S GOVERNMENT IS. THIS IS A DISGRACED TO THE CONTINENT, NO WONDER WHY WE GET LOOKED DOWN FROM THE REST OF THE WORLD.
THEY WERE TRYING TO DO EVERYTHING BLACK, AND THEY'VE SHOWN THAT THEY ... read full comment
THIS SHOWS HOW INCOMPETENT JACOB ZUMA'S GOVERNMENT IS. THIS IS A DISGRACED TO THE CONTINENT, NO WONDER WHY WE GET LOOKED DOWN FROM THE REST OF THE WORLD.
THEY WERE TRYING TO DO EVERYTHING BLACK, AND THEY'VE SHOWN THAT THEY ARE INCAPABLE TO STAND ON THEIR OWN.
HOW CAN YOU HIRE SOMEONE WITHOUT A BACKGROUND CHECK ? OR WERE THEY TRYING TO CUT COST ? I AM SURE THE WHITE SOUTH AFRICANS ARE LAUGHING AT THE BLACKS.
WHAT A SHAME, BY THE WAY NOTHING WILL BRING THE WORLD LEADERS TO THEM ANYMORE. THEY BLEW IT AND IT'S IN THE HISTORY BOOKS FOR GOOD.
If what I am reading is a new conviction, I think it's unnecessary. Who got him there in the first place? Did he get there by his own vol ...
Somebody who is about 34 years old now was too young at that time to fight against apartheid. His parents might have done it and being a member of ANC which is the ruling party doesn't mean he must be condoned. Crime is crime ...
That description in the first paragraph fits most of Africa's politicians of today. Leave the guy alone. How much was this guy paid? If you follow that money right now, you will find one crooked politician who used this poo ...
56?9?
There surely were more than 2 fakes at the memorial. The biggest of them all was he that claims to be the 1st Black President of the mighty and only superpower yet plotted with European leaders to overthrow and murder Gaddafy ...
For decades, two heroic statues, one male and one female, faced each other in a city park until one day, an angel came down from heaven. "You've been such exemplary statues," the angel said, "that I'm going to give you a spec ...
This incident exposes the rot in South Africa, and is indeed a fitting tribute to Jacob Zuma's leadership in particular and ANC corruption in general. It is not Jantjie alone who is a fake but the entire leadership of South A ...
Why worry the poor man? Why did the responsible department not make due diligence for such an august function? This has really exposed the security lapse in the South African security service as this man could have hid a weap ...
South Africa was well represented on the stage that day. Mandela represented the Good while Thamsanqa represented the Evil that is so much battling South Africa today. God was telling South Africans something which they have ...
THEY WERE TRYING TO DO EVERYTHING BLACK, AND THEY'VE SHOWN THAT THEY ...
kwaku ananse story
Smart guy dol