You are here: HomeNews2013 11 30Article 293678

Tsatsu used drill ship like 'Tro tro'

Read Comments Comments (100)

• NAKED 10 years ago

Good one there at least I have seen a sensible person who can reason and think, first and foremost, what is education at all? In a country where I come from, they defined education as anyone who can read and write English lan ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• NANAO!! MOTHER 10 years ago

Tsatsu the Tro tro driver.The Corrupt majestic,evil man is exposed.

• Mactonto 10 years ago

What is his crime? For exposing a crime?

• Togbui 10 years ago

Mahama promised 200 SHS in 4 years (50 SHS every year) for us to vote for him!!! WHERE ARE WE?? NOT EVEN 1 SHS HAS BEEN BUILT!! And you think we are fools eh?? Come again for campaign in 2016 ok? KWASIA!!!!!!!!!!

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

President Kuffour is too linient, he should have left this NDC criminal to rot at the Nsawam Prisons.

It is this kind of Prfesident Kuffour's gestures that has been left
    to increase thievery, loot and share NDC bunch of c ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Here we go again with the usual Daily Guide’s twist, turn, somersaulting and spin to suit their pay master's agenda over what is apparently clear to all and sundry. So, according to this so-called M.K. Tawiah the drill ship ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Keaku Baako says,TSATSU defended the FRENCH COMPANY who claimed US$40 MILLION against GHANA.
    But the same guy is now calling The former President KUFOUR,of being the collector for the the same FRENCH COMPANY.
    The said,marin ...

• TONY- C 10 years ago

TSATSU TSIKATA- YOU SEE WHAT I HAVE BEEN SAYING ALWAYS. YOU WILL GO TO JAIL AGAIN.THE TRUTH WILL COME OUT AND YOU AND YOUR MASTER J.J.RAWLINGS WILL HAVE TO FACE GHANAIANS. THE TRUTH WILL COME OUT AND WHERE IS THE MONEY YOU SA ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

TONY, IS IMPORTANT HOW MUCH THE INDIANS, MEXICANS, AND THE AMERICAS PAID FOR USING THE DRILL SHIP. THE JUDGEMENT DEPT COMMISSION SHOULD START ASKING TSIKATA REAL QUESTIONS.

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

A marine engineer my foot. what does a marine engine know about ship mechanics?

What is preventing Tawiah from presenting himself to the sole commissioner?

• RP 10 years ago

what does a marine engine know about ship mechanics?

what do you know? or beter, what does tsikata a lawyer know.

it is clear that the ship was could not be used in ghana water. so it was of no use.

renting a drils ...

• Prof 10 years ago

Ghana is not worth serving in any capacity. Ingrates, hypocrites, backbitters, evil people reside in that country. Look at a man who helped find GNPC in early 1980 where we had no experts in oil drilling and exploration.

W ...

• SIR JOHN THE FOOL 10 years ago

Very soon we shall see who was the real tro-tro driver and his mates so don't worry at all.

• Obeng Rago - 10 years ago

Who was the President of Ghana at the time of this OIL Drill saga? Answer - John Jeremiah

Rawlings!!! I THEREFORE ASK HIM THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

Was J J Rawlings aware of the loan deal between Tsatsu led GNPC and a ...

• KKO 10 years ago

Here is someone who knows about the D511. Can Tsatsu and his NDC apologetics challenge Mr Tawiah? The people that have to be jailed are those who bought it in the first place. Remember Dr Quaah telling the Sole Commissioner ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

In Ghana everything is politicized, if i were this engineer i will be very ashamed. What is wrong with chattering our drill ship to other countries to help pay for itself? This so called somaya engineer is very stupid, pseudo ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

Ghanaians are not fools to accept what daily guide with low credibility to post here an empty story to attempt painting Tsikatas image black.

If this so Called Tawiah is real and brave, what is preventing him from presenti ...

• RP 10 years ago

tsikatas image is already black because he is a selfmade criminal. tawiah does not have to ask to be invited, instead the sole commissioner has to invite him. but that will not happen because we all know what the purpose of t ...

• BROTHER OF REPUGNANT 10 years ago

WHEN IT DOES NOT WORTH IT?

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.
    WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

• RP 10 years ago

who has to be ashamed is the sole commissioner for not inviting relevant persons who know about the ship. instead they are only looking for a way to bring ado in a bad spotlight.

• abbas, london 10 years ago

dont allow ur self to be fooled, read between lines, the question is not about how the ship was used but who sold the ship and where is our money, let be a bit Ghanaian

• Fernando 10 years ago

Daily Guide, you can be childish at times .The article does not make sense ,what has tro tro have to do with this?5

• THE PATRIOT 10 years ago

Let's consider one key fact: To let one person travel abroad to value a ship, negotiate the sale, sign the sale contract, receive the sale proceeds and to go ahead to disburse the proceeds etc cannot be right!

As for the w ...

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

So we have allowed this NDC to take our minds of GYEEDA, SUBA, WOYOME and the rest. Nobody is talking about the Merchant bank sale.This ship is in the past what about the ones happening now, what are we doing as a nation.If w ...

• Observer 10 years ago

WHAT IS THE GENESIS? A PATRIOT SHOULD QUESTION WHY THE SHIP WAS ACQUIRED WHEN IT WAS NOT SUITABLE FOR DEEP SEA DRILLING. HOW THE DEBT TO SOCIETE GENERALE WAS INCURRED. WHY WAS THE SHIP USED AS COLATERAL. THE VALUER BEFORE SAL ...

• Dumega Prosper Jnr. 10 years ago

Any logic in what is being said!!!!
    Tsatsu knows the value of the drill ship so he didn't sell it. In his wisdom, he was surprised that a whiole former president would act like a tax collector to the French company!!!

I t ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Hei Dumega don't attempt to insult anyone out of your ignorance. I hope you've read the article and understood the whole story. How do you justify Ghana holding on to such a ship with many problems esp. when Ghana was losing ...

• JAK The Ripper 10 years ago

If the ship was that dilapidated (disused..., old... unusable...) then why did other companies pay so much for it...?

From what the marine engineer is alleging the ship was poorly MAINTAINED (they replaced bed sheets..laun ...

• JAK The Ripper 10 years ago

different from..... it only needed qualified trained...

• RP 10 years ago

before modificatieo the ship was designed for maximum waterdepth of apr 400m after the modification in 2009 maximum waterdepth is apr 700m.
    jubilee oilfield liea at a waterdepht of 1100m tano oilfield at 1500m. the ship is f ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

FPSO was an old 500 million dollar ship which was converted into 3 billion dollar processing and floating storage tank. 511 drill ship could have been converted to drill at jubilee field. It's just a matter of replacing more ...

• RP 10 years ago

huh???????? "511 drill ship could have been converted to drill at jubilee field. It's just a matter of replacing more powerful and high speed pumps,hydraulics,bigger derrick for more pipes and so forth. Bottom line is Ghana ...

Civil, we are all Ghanaians!! We know the NPP guys before they took power in 2001 and disgracefully left with ill gotten wealth at the turn of 2008!!
    What is there to it that Ghanaians don't know of those so-called "rich" po ...

• Bernard 10 years ago

These are just some of the criminal elements trying to divert attention away from the drillship saga engulfing Kufuor and administration. Two weeks ago, Dr. Arthur Kennedy predicted that those who were accusing President Mah ...

Hi Bernard,
    I cannot agree any more with you!!
    Your critical analysis is been defied by these NPP surrogates!!

I wish they will investigate all the things and para-state organisations they sold to themselves as if they w ...

• Bernard 10 years ago

These are just some of the criminal elements trying to divert attention away from the drillship saga engulfing Kufuor and administration. Two weeks ago, Dr. Arthur Kennedy predicted that those who were accusing President Mah ...

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

After all was said and done, the drill ship was sold. But where is the money?

• ASK 10 years ago

Ask Societe Generale why it is no longer demanding payment of Tsatsu's debt from Ghana. They would be demanding payment if they had not already received payment. As for the Balance of US$3.5million which was lodged into an Ac ...

• KOFI PAPABI 10 years ago

That TSIKATA guy with his ugly face, red lips like a cocoon, and mouth smelling like a skunk has caused more debt to Ghana than any individual in the country today. Yet there will be fools who will come out and defend him. Th ...

• MAHAMA 10 years ago

The Kufuor Administration not only did well in realizing US$24 million from the sale of a near scrap drill ship, they also did marvelously well in negotiating Tsatsu's US$47 million debt down to a mere US$19.5 million. They d ...

• Chris 10 years ago

So are we saying that the person or company that bought the drill was going to scrap it? NO, I don't think so.They are going to put it in GOOD use, so this drill was never a scrap.
    Mr.Tawiah claimed to know everything about ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Get to know that guy and you'd understand he is no "Engineer" but someone who learned his job as engine room assistant. He would not be saying this crap.

The ship was under contract in Mexico and India according to him, wh ...

• RP 10 years ago

An engine room assistant always knows more about technology than 10 Tsikatas.

The point is this: The Ghana National Petroleum Corporation (GNPC) purchased the Discoverer 511 in 1992 at the cost of US$12 million for use in ...

• Kweku 10 years ago

THIS IS A USELESS STORY.

THE FOCUS SHOULD BE GHANA'S MONEY. WHAT DID WE DO WITH THE USD3.5.
    WHY ONE PERSONS WHO KNOWS NEXT TO NOTHING IN MARINE SHOULD BE ENGAGED IN DISPOSAL OF A SHIP WHILE WE HAD EXPERTS IN GHANA SHIPPE ...

• Justice Kpegah jnr. 10 years ago

Mr. Tawiah,the most qualified Marine Engineer in Ghana, how are you?
    I am just surprised why you were not involved in the negotiation and sale of the drill you claimed to know everything about? What could you say about that ...

• Ns3mhuhuarakwa 10 years ago

Focus of the discussion, then the DG has failed miserably. The issue under review of the sale of call this so-called 'Tro-Tro ship, if you like,and what happened to the residual cheque for $3.5 m which, according to Kweku Ba ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 10 years ago

You don't have the analytic mind to understand what is at stake here. And if you do, you would realize that the incompetent sole commission's aim is not to trace the 3,5 million dollars but on a fault finding mission that wou ...

• Tarimbia 10 years ago

Massa spare our ears dis long, winding and unending Ananse stories. D issue to a large degree isn't abt d sale, but d whereabouts of d remaining proceeds fm d sale. Where's d $3.5m? Period.

perfect bro

• Atanga Abanga 10 years ago

When a deputy minister for information stated that the drill ship was sold like tomatoes, some of us predicted that 'Daily Guide' would do everything both possible and impossible to come out with some equalization of a sort, ...

• PlainPlainTruth 10 years ago

Does this "qualified" marine engineer know what he's talking about when he admits he doesn't know "a whole lot"?

Anyway, I wish the Daily Guide would attach "Qualified Lawyer" to Akuffo-Addo's name!

• NANAO!! MOTHER 10 years ago

And he will attach corruption Gold medals certificate to John Mahama`s name because it fits him.

• Kwame Kofigah 10 years ago

This man can talk papa. Was he paid some thing in black polythene to have verbal diarrhoea or he is genuinely sharing expert knowledge on the D511?
    He admits not knowing a whole lot but wants us to believe he is en expert m ...

• ANA 10 years ago

What a foolish story, u re just using Tsatsu's name to get readers to read you story. Very foolish Daily guide

• SENIOR CITIZEN 10 years ago

YES AN ENGINEER WHO DOES NOT KNOW THAT THE MORE THE DRILL SHIP IS USED THE LONGER IT FUNCTIONS EFFICIENTLY. IT IS LIKE MOST OF THE BIG AIRCRAFTS WHICH ARE USED AS TROTRO BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT MAKES A GOOD AIRCRAFT AND NOT PURC ...

• Adwoa smart 10 years ago

We are not interested in who used the drill ship as tro tro or whatever. Our question is simple and short: who sold the drill ship? Who served as debt collector? And where is the money? That's all we want to know. Don't try t ...

• Obournana 10 years ago

Kweku Baako has exposed himself as full paid PRO for NPP and its crooks. What does this story got to do with the issue at stake? Mr. know all Baako thinks we are all ignorant and illiterate like him. No, not at all. This is w ...

• LOVEJOY-US 10 years ago

There is nothing like 2nd chief engineer.Cooked story.Employ qualified journalists,please.

• ....... 10 years ago

WHO MURDERED COUNTABLE GHANAIAN.AMEDUME WAS KILLED SIMPLY COS THESE CRIMINALS HAVE KILLED A LOT OF AKANS.

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Just another attention seeker that spends his time sitting under palm frond sheds drinking palm-wine. He is called as and when he is needed and so was he expected to know how was going on in GNPC apart ensuring that there was ...

• KK 10 years ago

You live in UK and you are so stupid.

• James 10 years ago

You can see from the way the NDC is shouting about the Drill Ship story that they are desperate to cling to any story that has the slightest hint of an NPP involvement.

The NDC have caused numerous financial loses to the S ...

• guitar boy 10 years ago

FOLKS IT'S NO MORE GHANA'S BLACK STARS.

• Mactonto 10 years ago

“it was going to end up as scrap.”>>>>if so why would anyone buy it for that amount of money? Whether or not it was used as 'trotro' is not the issue. The main issue is the rationale behind its sale, the process of sale, ...

• Mohammed Mutala 10 years ago

Mr.M K Tawiah must come out clear or Daily Guide should retract and apologis to the so called Enginere and Ghana for reporting contradicting statements.How can the Drill Ship in Dubai be sold out in NDC era and again sold out ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A magician worked on a cruise ship..
    .....the audience was different each week so the magician did the same tricks over and over again.
    There was only one problem: The captain's parrot saw the shows each week and began to u ...

• Martin/PA 10 years ago

It makes a whole lot of economic sense to rent out the ship. The ship was acquired with the intent of using it when we eventually discover oil. Instead of letting it dock perpetually, renting was the best option. If Mr. Tawia ...

• Martin/PA 10 years ago

If Mr. Tawiah was such an expert and patriotic, he should have made a complaint to the appropriate authorities. The question at stake is what happened to the money? Are there documents to account for disbursement of the money ...

• RP 10 years ago

renting was the only option because the maximum water depth the ship can operate in at this time is about 700 m. before modification it was about 400m jubilee lies at a water depth of 1100m, so wat is the use of this ship for ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

So why wasn't the company to which the ship belonged part of the negotiating body that sold it eventually?

We were told the ship was to have been "re-engineered" to deeper operation reaches. Did you ask why the GNPC which ...

whether he used it as trotro or dropping, that is not the subject matter. they one who sold the ship and used them on his self is what ghanaians want to know. this diversionary tactics can not sway anybody ok, thank god that ...

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

The usual media hype. This does not indict Tsikata any way. The ship never ended up as scrap though. There was alway need for its services hence the purchase by the Norwegians. Have nothing to say, just shut up.

• Santo 10 years ago

Thanks for your uncalled advise Mr Tawiah but we still want to know where the $3.5Million is even if you had recommended the sale.

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

Tastsu is damn rot! Claiming intellect elitism in our Ghanaian society to shelter his crimes.He is very dangerous, always living on the edge, shifting always for crimes on crimes.What is the essence of his education if it per ...

• Proud Pepeman. 10 years ago

MR TAWIAH WAS JUST EMPLOYED TO RUN THE SHIP'S ENGINES. WHAT DOES HE KNOW ABOUT DRILL SHIP CONTRACTS? IF YOU HAVE A DRILL SHIP LYING IDLE AND IS CHARTERED IS THERE ANYTHING WRONG WITH THAT?

• RP 10 years ago

tsikata can say whatever he likes to any of you nitwits. the ship was a miss buy from gnpc. other companies bought it because they are specialized in oil drilling and have more of this rigs for different purpose.

now abou ...

• Joseph Baffoe 10 years ago

Dear Editor of the Dialy Guide what I want to know from you is ,DID the Tro Tro money go into Tsatsu. Tsikata's. pocket or GNPC'S covers? If it didn't go to his pocket but the Company accounts , then praise Tsikata fo ...

• venom 10 years ago

Why was Tsatsu jailed by NPP Mr Tawiah? The fact is in his capacity as the CEO of gnpc he took innitiatives on behalf of the company that went bad incurring series of liabilities to the company. I think that led up to the sei ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Thank you Sir. That's the single most pressing agenda on the enquiry's table at the moment.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Tsatsu was jailed for Aveyime projects.

• Billy He Who 10 years ago

we do not need to hear any story just where is thebalance of usd3.5 million?
    period

• GHANAMANBA 10 years ago

YOU ARE ASKING FOR 3.5 AND RATHER LEAVING 51.2 OH GHANA

• Simingue 10 years ago

obi ne yem gbriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

• Whatever 10 years ago

Whether Tsatsu used drill ship as tro tro or a limo is neither here or there. You've gone and sold our drill ship which was not collateralized and 'chopped' the money. We want you and your NPP to account for it

• RP 10 years ago

why keep a ship wich barely covers its expences and is not usable for drilling in own waters.

tsikata can say whatever he likes to any of you NDC nitwits.

the ship was a miss buy in the first place from gnpc. other co ...

• Abrantie 10 years ago

where is the balance of $3.5M from the sale? Kronfour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• RP 10 years ago

50 million woyome against 3.5 million. what are you talking about

• Mansah 10 years ago

You are a patriotic citizen, congratulations. God bless you.

• Ghanaba 10 years ago

Mr.Tawiah well done.At this moment the said. Ship has been sold. All we are looking for is that money that some people have stolen. In America even before you go for a labour' s job background checks are taken. In Ghana, ther ...

• Prof 10 years ago

Ingrates, hypocrites, backbitters, evil people reside in that country. Look at a man who helped find GNPC in early 1980 where we had no experts in oil drilling and exploration.

With a vision to find oil for his country and ...

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

I reason with you prof.
    people have forgotten the fact that the current oil production did come about as a result of these "small" beginnings by the GNPC under Tsatsu. Tsatsu and his GNPC did really well even without the so- ...

• Martin/PA 10 years ago

Tsatsu was vilified and imprisoned so that these guys could cover their butts. There will always be a question make on Tsatsu's achievements because of the imprisonment. However, the truth will be made known to eventually. Gh ...

• Kwesi Daquah 10 years ago

This is nonsence whether trotro or not troro where is the money?even if it was used for borla car we want to know where the money is,if it was pndc era they would said the truth long time ago. Npp is diverting the issue.

• Obed Adore 10 years ago

What is wrong with renting out an idle drill ship to make money to defray any associated cost? To me, it was a wise move by GNPC at that time.
    Also, I have my doubt that the Drill ship would have been scrapped. Did the new ...

• victor 10 years ago

The only flaw is that even by renting out the drill ship, they still did not make any money ?? Did they? If they did, where is it?

• nunana 10 years ago

We heard all thank you... but where is the balance of $3.5ml
    Mr. KT Hammond
    Mr. Kan Daapah
    No amount of twist and bounds is going to save anybody. The commissioner is watching and listening.

• Nii Okai 10 years ago

It is all about the said amount of 3.5 million dollars that could not be accounted for, that everybody wants to know where that money is, and not the foolish comments appearing in the daily news papers always.

Is it a sham ...

• FILLER ELLEMBELLE 10 years ago

THE MAN IS MAN NOT SERIOUS AT ALL. NPP GURUS ARE GIVING THE COUNTRY A PROBLEM, HOW CAN NPP SOLD OUR ASSET JUST LIKE THAT. NANA ADDO MUST BE INVITED. BRAVO TO HON JOSEPH YAMMIN DEPT. SPORTS MINISTER.