System failure is cause of Ghana's poor healthcare - Prof. Frimpong-Boateng

Read Comments Comments (32)

• Paul Amuna 12 years ago

The issue is not so much about "systems failure" as it is about 'systems capacity'. There is a need for capacity development to equipt the health system and make it fit for purpose. A Roots and Branch Approach is needed.

W ...

• teddy 12 years ago

Good response Paul Amuna, this exactly true. It take every individual resource to contribute and make it work.

• OWEN, NEW YORK. 12 years ago

Black man in America (African American) is different in thinking from we in African. African black is corrupt, greedy and sit-tight if even he can't do the job. If you give him higher post without perks he accept because he h ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago

Kufuor is the lowest of the lowest African, the nastiest of the nasty Africans, the greediest of the most greedy on earth, and the most incompetent of the most incompetent in the whole world who spent all his days as presiden ...

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

If he does not benefit from 'it', he will not allow it or facilitate it!!! foreign teams who were not willing to grease his palms, were quickly shown the door!!!! shame on you prof!!!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 12 years ago

WHY ISNT THIS MAN THE MINISTER OF HEALTH IN GH?
    CAN THESE ISSUES THAT HE HAS RAISED BE FIXED? SO CANT MAHAMA CONSUKT THIS MAN N USE HIM TO ALLEVIATE GH'S HEALTHCARE ISSUES? OH LOED..EBEI!

• www.owafk-africa.com 12 years ago

14,000 free scholarships for Africans

www.owafk-africa.com

free registration for newsletters

• NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago

Dr Frimpong Boateng has no idea about quality health care. It is these doctors who are messing up the health care system. It is not a doctor's job to manage a hospital. His job is to serve patients. The failure is caused by d ...

• AKWASI 12 years ago

Sgt Fiadxoe or what you call yourself, the bible is explicit that we should honour our father and mother (elderly)in order to have a longer life, do you think by calling former Pres. Kuffour names you will live to eat the fru ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago

NPP were jubilating because Frances Essiam defected top them. Now they know that they got more than they bargained for.

Frances' trajectory: From NDC to Obed Asamoah's Party to NPP. Where next? The only option left is PPP. ...

• Koo Nimo 12 years ago

When Sherry Ayitey needs medical attention she will go to South Africa

• RIGHTMAN 12 years ago

Sherry Ayitey ought to be fired for going to South Africa for health care if her ministry is not capable of providing basic health care to majority of Ghanaians including herself. By the way Ghanaweb, please check your tenses ...

• Sk 12 years ago

Evidence.

• YOOMOBEGA 12 years ago

Define your terms:
    What do you mean by "A roots and branch approach"?
    We are not all at your level, massa.

• Paul Amuna 12 years ago

'Roots and Branch' simply means you tackle the problems from the base all the way to the top. At the 'roots' you find the underlying causes of the systemic issues and at the bracnhes you identify how it is spreading, what is ...

• AKONFEM MAHANI 12 years ago

THE LAND IS RICH BUT THE PEOPLE ARE POOR

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

you are as dum, twisted and confused as your name!!! i know you are suffering from the withdrawal of npp weed cocaine and other drugs!!! fool!!!!!!!!!!! die as stupid as u r!!

• DAN 12 years ago

You prove that GOD gave the monkey a bigger brain than his cousin the black man..

• JH New York 12 years ago

Those in govt enjoyed a privilege out of the Country healthcare,paid for by the Taxpayer in case of any Serious ill health; therefore the leadership over the years refused to this day to fix the problem.
    So,not until govt en ...

• JH New York 12 years ago

Leadership problems in the Country Cries out the beloved Motherland !.

• evababy30 12 years ago

Hi How are you today ? . My name is Miss Eva , i want us to be friends and that is why i am contacting you , if you accept my friendship then write me on (evababy30@hotmail.com) so that i will send you my pictures and details ...

• OBLITEY KOMEY JAGUAR 12 years ago

PROFESSOR1!! TELL US SOMETHING NEW.

WE ALL KNOW WHAT YOU ARE SAYING & DOES NOT NEED THE IMPUT OF A PROFESSOR

USE YOUR PROFESSORSHIP TO HELP SOLVE PROBLEMS - NOT COMING TO TELL US THINGS WE ALL KNOW!! ANOTHER - PULL HIM ...

• EWURA AMA 12 years ago

WE know about all these facts and numbers. What we need is a plan of action. Anybody has any ideas?

• NANA KUFUOR 12 years ago

The plan of action is to ask doctors to attend to patients and hospital managers manage the hospital.

• Nii Sackey 12 years ago

Oblitey, the professor not only diagnosed the problem but also provided solutions that will require dedicated and discipline people, not characters like you, to carry out

• Spiky 12 years ago

A working system works not because the system is par excellence; it is primarily as a result of the calibre of the network of people who are charged with the responsibility to make the system work. It has to do partly with ca ...

• tony germany 12 years ago

IT is a fact that Ghana health delivery Needs much Attention very appaling nurses and doctors Response to patients hmmmmm eye asem ooo.Having experience Scenes whilst on Holidays in Ghana makes me difficult to decide on comin ...

• Nelson Ntiamoah 12 years ago

Congrats Ghanaweb for this insightful package that borders on a critical area of the Ghanaian economy - health. Believe it or not the statistics presented by Prof is not only revealing but a fact of the realities. We joke wit ...

• kusi 12 years ago

Ask this idiot who appear CNN and was talking what he don't and lying to the whole world. prof get away and give us a break

• R.Y.M-A 12 years ago

The Prof generalized abit, but he is right. The SYSTEM FALURE can be 1.) Black outs-bad electricityuy system.2.) Bad inefficient Data collection, storage, retrieval processing. and 3.Human inability to cope. ICT in the Wester ...

• km agyin 12 years ago

Well said prof, but you did not suggest solutions to these problems namely the poor service and unacceptable doctor-patient ratio. The UK has a doctor-patient ratio of 1:500, Kenya 1:3000, an acceptable level.I think the main ...

• asher 10 years ago

my email: asher@jumper-medical.com.A variety of medical equipments like blood pressure monitor , patiment monitor , pulse oximeter , fetal doppler , digital non-contact thermometer and so on are offered by our manufactory in ...