You are here: HomeNews2013 11 27Article 293439

Much ado about Ghanaian foreigners ID policy - Nigerians speak

Read Comments Comments (63)

• Activist 10 years ago

Whoever wrote this plead didn't put his or her words properly together!!
    Just read even the last paragraph, which is totally not clear & wrongly concluded.
    Oga, this is too book-long!!!
    You ...

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

14,000 free scholarships for Africans

www.owafk-africa.com

free registration for newsletters

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.
    WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More.

• Herbert, Sweden 10 years ago

Yes, this is a very good move. Further suggestion is, not only the ID cards, but also every Foreigner who enters the Country for a Period of 3 Days or more latest 7 days must be registered, of his or her residence(ecept Diplo ...

• consider 10 years ago

why are they complaining? when we pay 200 $ to renew 1 year visa in china they are complaining what?

• Gak 10 years ago

A nigerien is a nigerien and have destroyed their country and want to destroy others!!! Mention that Name anywhere worldwide and people immediately raise eyebrows. Sort out yourselves...you are too corrupt and violent, is tha ...

• DAN 10 years ago

everybody knows about sakawa too..And about Mahama stealing Ghana blind so open your eyes and look at Ghana being destroyed by its own gov.

• JOSHUA ITUA FULL TIME NIGERIAN 10 years ago

Don't worry Ghanians should get ready to pay 5000USD for I.D card in Nigeria.I trust our government..Hungry people.

• lee 10 years ago

Does anyone still visit that hell-hole called Nigeria anymore... Please do, because we don't want our people in thAT filthy country.... Only 419gerians in their delusional dream think Nigeria is great... I guess Chinua Acebe ...

• MY PISTOL NEVER JAMMED 10 years ago

Idiota laughing at things fall apart yet you read it while at school, so was your family and up till today a must for all Ghanaians. So who's laughing now. Name just one world class and well known literary giant from Ghana ...

• delia 10 years ago

Just go back to nigeria.

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

It is interesting that people from ECOWAS nations would hide behind the spirit of ECOWAS. We tend to ignore the ingrained and or acquired taste for fraudulent talent and capacity, unauthorized duplication of any document in e ...

• Greetings 10 years ago

We article of such calibre is put across, I think we should treat it with utmost intelligence. All countries around the West Africa sub region has their security challenges.. A common Nigerian wouldn't hv thought there would ...

• shandy. 10 years ago

I support what the government is saying cos that is the law.comply or deportation

• Activist 10 years ago

The Nigerians I know from the Gold Coast era (before Ghana) were hard workers & very honest generation.
    Most of them were then officially undocumented & unregistered in our our national system & but yet still, they ...

• KWASI 10 years ago

BERTHA ,WE NEED PEOPLE LIKE U .

• Abongo 10 years ago

Zimbabwe is even deporting Nigerians. Criminals as they are Ghana will not allow them safe haven in Ghana. Nigerians should go home

• Abongo 10 years ago

Zimbabwe is even deporting Nigerians. Criminals as they are Ghana should not allow them safe haven. Nigerians should go home period

• Oghenero 10 years ago

Why would you open ur mouth in public n called a Nation of 170 million criminal... The rejected stone could be the one that will feed u tomorrow... The fact that the nation had his challenge does not mean a brighter light won ...

• bob 10 years ago

That is a Ghanaian policy,so Nigerians should our laws.Ghana is not the only ecowas country.

• DAN 10 years ago

or produce a passport & visa...Mahatma will burn in hell for Eternity!

• lee 10 years ago

All Nigerians want us to believe Nigeria is soo great, so I don't see why this should be a problem... Ghana is OUR LAND, and we make the rules... If you don't like it, go back to that hell-hole called Nigeria....

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

DO NIGERIANS NEED A VISA TO COME TO GH? IF SO, HOW LONG CAN THEY STAY IN GH FOR? IF THEY DONT, HOW LONG CAN THEY STAY IN GH FOR WITHOUT A VISA? AND WHEN DO THEY BECOME ILLEGAL CITIZENS? IF U BECOME AN ILLEGAL ALIEN, WAT IS TH ...

• Proudly Pepeni, USA !! 10 years ago

Most of the Nigerians are giving money to girls in Accra for residence permits. My Nigeria colleague here in the USA told me of how his brother Tema is married to a Ghanaian and engages in 419 yeilding lots of Dollars.

• ACCRAMAN 10 years ago

Ivory Coast, Ghana, Burkina Faso, and Togo should be united as one country for the good of the region.

Nigeria can add Benin if they want.

• Mumuni 10 years ago

No, I have been saying for sometime now that Ghana, Togo and Benin should be united as one country under the name Ghana. These 3 countries are too small to be by themselves.

• JP 10 years ago

If you cannot manage a country like Ghana, how are you going to manage a country with the size of Ghana, TOgo and Benin

• Yamo 10 years ago

This foreign ID card is nothing but a money grab by the Ghanaian government. I believe that all countries should give tit for tat in situations such as this. Ghanian's should be made to pay for an ID in their host country t ...

• DAN 10 years ago

make them pay the $80 that they charge in Ghanian embassys...Ghanians must pay to enter nigeria,togo, ivory coast! And be fined or barrred on return if they stay longer on expired visa

• Ola 10 years ago

I think its time the ecowas is scrapped because it does not help Ghana in anyway. It only intriduce 419 Nigerians, raise general crime level, our universities are chocked with them practicing occul ...

• Billy He Who 10 years ago

what a hell Nigerians doing in Ghana.we do not need them here as they all criminals.look at circles they crowded the whole place.please my people let us get them out.we may have book haram among them,this is the time for us t ...

• Billy He Who 10 years ago

they have been giving our Ghanaian girls money for fake marriage forresidence permit.please this should be checked.Please look at them whom moving around and doing lot of dubious things here

• Kwaku Sam 10 years ago

U people complain about everything, don't you pay for services that other nations provide when you need them. Ask you brothers in Europe and America

• Simingue 10 years ago

The government of Ghana is right and if care is not taken, the Nigerians will soon be importing Bokon Haram into Ghana. Ghanaians once woke up to the reality of 419 scam and how these group wanted to use Ghana as their base a ...

• Dog Eater 10 years ago

These Nigerians are like a group of physical disabled people who are fond of complaining all the time. Nothing good satisfy these people anyway.

• DddySam 10 years ago

what's the use of WCOWAS then?Ghanaian leaders please think of whatever decisions u take carefully ur citizens are in other countries too!!!!!.

• Ceeboy Dangerman 10 years ago

Am a Ghanian resident in Gambia.We as ECOWAS peoples have fail. Is a shame. While politicians call for unity with one breath and another with separations to me is worrisome. Please let get our policies right.

• Hussein A Ibrahim Atta 10 years ago

To be frank Nigeria is a great nation blessed with much mineral and human resources But rather unfortunately our fellow Nigerians distorted their image in the world a Nigerian has become as dangerous in USA, UK EU countries a ...

• george tawiah 10 years ago

Can a passport be faked or not. The ID can is but one form of checking crime and should be enforced.

• george tawiah 10 years ago

Can a passport be faked or not?. The ID too is but one form of checking crime and should be enforced.

• ALATAFUO SMELL KURAA TOO MUCH 10 years ago

NIGERIANS STINK..PERIOD.

Nigerians probably smells better than your stinking dirty mouth.

• Alhaji Salifu 10 years ago

Ivory Coast did it, and it ended in WAR as they started to discriminate each other. North names = Burkinabe; East names = Togo; West = La Cote divoire. pointless, and our ECOWAS brothers will go

• Village Food. 10 years ago

nigerians can lie,the nigerian man said Indians are more than any foreign nationals in Ghana,it is a lie nigerians are scattered all over Ghana everywhere you go you see nigerians,nigerians are more than any foreign nationals ...

The journalist who wrote this piece is no much a lair than daily gutter..oops (guide )journalist.

• delia 10 years ago

Nigerians are too much. I say deport them. Nigeria needs them more than Ghana does. They eat people, involved in kidnapping for ransom, armed robbery, and the list goes on. Deport them.

• 4wwww 10 years ago

Boka halem will cost your life

• 4wwww 10 years ago

Mogabe's policy worse

• TUNDE 10 years ago

We Nigerians have short memories. We have forgotten the wicked things we did to these Ghanaians. It rather surprises me how magnanimous Ghanaians are.

• OGA 10 years ago

Do you know 70% of the houses in Lagos Town Now Accra New Town belong to Nigerian.
    Those houses were taken from Nigerian .

• TUNDE 10 years ago

Who in this world doesn't know that being a nigerian is synonymous with criminality? How many Ghanaian passport do you have, in addition to your Nigerian passport?

Sakawa kortibortor boy.. Isn't it true that when Nigerians were sacked in the early 50s and 60s that all their properties that were left behind were stolen. Seek and tell the truth and you shall be set free

• 419 ALATA 10 years ago

Your fucking country is so degenerated you people don't even want to be known as Nigerians. Why has the Ghanaian passport become the must-have for most Nigerians? I know it is not all Nigerians that fit into this criminal mol ...

Check your memory from the 50s and 60s who sacked nigerians first from Ghana

• Nelson Doe 10 years ago

What are these Nigerians up to? If they cannot obey the rules of Ghana,they MUST go back to their country.after all who invited them here.If their country were to be good for them,they should have stayed there.they are only h ...

• Roy 10 years ago

You are just here in Ghana and never travel out to see for your self , the gas you used today was not paid for , that is not good from Nigeria , or the 1,000 unit police car that was Nigeria pay for you people the year 2004 ...

• lee 10 years ago

Take your 419 lies somewhere else... Even the jaguda boys on the Niger delta cannot get free gas, let alone Ghana... Every Ghanaian pays for the gas they use, so is our govt. to the Nigerian Govt. It's called international tr ...

• Delawson, Algeria 10 years ago

these measures are in the right direction, more can still be done, we're even sleeping; it's about the borders are well secured, if we dnt take care these people will overun the country;not only nigerians but the togolese, ...

Wonder shall never cease. Amazing, isn't. It. You are residing in a foreign but yet you can still talk . Aponkye unlimited paaaaaaa

• kofi 10 years ago

go to hell, olowushe

• liv 10 years ago

5 years ago I paid $100 for a 1yr renewable resident permit. The ECOWAS 90 days permit is a temporary visa, meaning you leave before it expires, but these nationals stay indefinitely. Penalize them like you d0 Ghanaians with ...

• kofi 10 years ago

This hatred and between these two countries is so childish - it cracks me up -only if they know the benefits of working together to bring good development across west africa - this is 2014 africa must wake up !!

• crorkz matz 9 years ago

Aix4J8 I think this is a real great post. Really Cool.