how many phd. holders do we have in ghana. but still the country is sicking. that shows schooling alone is not enough to built our country, we need people with common sense and thinking who knows what it takes to start something and when to end it. booklong methods has failed ghana totally so lets turn our clock from booklong to common sense.
POP 12 years ago
WE NEED GUYS WITH COMMON SENSE NOW IN OUR OFFICES: BOOKLONG HOLDERS ARE MESSING UP WITH THEORY ALONE:
insight to the bone 12 years ago
ndc is trying to make us all foolishly believe that this is all about partisan politics but in reality its a feudal system of governance based on tribalism and ethnic affiliation . there is no partisan politics rather anti Akan movements , north/ south and east/ west divisions . it is the truth and everyone first asks what tribe does someone belong to before they even consider the substance of what was said . yes we have gone back not decades but centuries . personally i do not care who rules as long as they endeavor to do some good and secure sustainable development and jobs for our people irrespective of tribe , ethnic pedigree , religion or social status but that being said i know its impossible due to hegemony and chauvinistic religious tribalism not forgetting the opportunism of the satellite groups like the Gas and krobos. no matter how good the plan i remain pessimistic and realize everything will fail in this climate of greed , selfishness and no direction . ITS ALL ABOUT TRIBAL POLITICS SO WATCH YOUR BACK
Asok 12 years ago
Mahama is funny paa. You steal the country's resources for your family and cronies but you want others to think! Ghana Army shd wake up before Mahama steals again for his brother to pay the Merchant Bank debt use in purchasing plane
Tyo 12 years ago
Shame on to Kwaku Baako for taking bribe to defend and speak for Mahama and his brother. God will rain the same evil Kwaku Barko suffered in prison those days upon him again
GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 12 years ago
BLACKMAN CANT THINK
OLD SOLDIER 12 years ago
Author:...PRINCE KWASI ADADE...
OMANE BOAMA DID NOT GIVE VICKY HER SHARE OF A CREATE AND LOOT BUSINESS, BUT THE POOR YOUNG THIEF SAYS SHE WILL WAIT FOR HER TIME; EBEI NDC!! OYE LITHUR ALSO MET THE JUDGES AND HELPED NDC TO WIN CASE. LOOK AT OUR JUDICIARY TOO; HABA NDC!!*** WHY THROW ALL THESE UNDER THE CARPET AND HARASS THE BUSTY BIG ASS YOUNG LADY THIEF ALONE? DID YOU NOT TEACH VICKY HOW TO STEAL? IF THIS LOLLY POP AND ICE CREAM LICKING LITTLE GIRL HAS PLANNED TO STEAL US$1 MILLION, THEN HOW MUCH HAVE YOU INUSAH FUSEINI, OKUDJETO ABLAKWA, AYAREGA, MAHAMA, ASIEDU NKETIA, BARTON ODURO, BETTY MOULD, AMISAH ARTHUR, OMANE BOAMA AND A HOST OF OTHER NDC CROOKISH CORRUPT BASTARDS AND MONTERS HAVE ALREADY STOLEN??? VICKY'S CONFESSIONS EXPLAIN WHY GHANA, BLESSED WITH MASSIVE NATURAL RESOURCES AND UNDER OIL ECONOMY,TODAY, IS TOTALLY BROKE. TOTALLY FINISHED!!!!!!!
www.owafk-africa.com/Edition_3.html 12 years ago
100 Korean Government Scholarships for 2014
crazy boy 12 years ago
since i came to this world i have never been so saddened by such an imbecile and irresponsible comment by someone we call a president, really Ghana stand up ,is that so called rogue,thief president saying we need graduates who think critically ,lest he has forgotten that he was a graduate but he failed to think critically ,Mahama wisdom is not 4 sale neither is common sense
ALHAJI KANO 12 years ago
I THINK MAHAMAH DIDN´T SEE THIS SPEECH BEFORE IT WAS READ.I THINK FROM THE SPEECH WRITER TO THE ONE WHO READ ON HIS BEHALF.REALLY IF HE HAD A KNOWLEDGE BEFORE IT WAS READ,THEN WE ARE HAVING VERY STUPID PRESIDENT.UST HAS BEEN THERE BEFORE YOU CAME INTO EXISTENCE,YOUR PARTY HAS BEEN IN GOVERNANCE FOR ALMOST 23YEARS WHAT HAVE YOU DONE ABOUT EDUCATION,FROM 10 YEARS NOW YOU KNOW WHERE IT IS NOW,THE CHILDREN HAVE BEING STARTED POORLY AND THE OUTCOME WOULD BE DISMAY.I THINK YOU AND YOUR GUYS HAVE NO KNOWLEDGE THAT CAN TRANSLATE INTO PRATICAL OUTCOMES,SO YOU BETTER GIVE US BREAK ,JUST TO FOCUS ON OUR DAIRLY LIFE.FROM GEARS TO SCHOOLS.HEY MISTER PRESIDENT LET ME TELL YOU, TAKE MORE CARE ABOUT OUR TECHNICAL AND POLY SCHOOLS THAN VASITIES BECAUSE THESE VERY GRADUATES WOULD TURN BE CORRUPT LIKE YOU.UST WAS BUILT FOR INVENTION NOT TO TRAIN CORRUPT LAWYERS WHO COME BACK TO SUCK OUR BLOOD OR BEING A CANCER IN OUR BLOOD.BE SERIOUS A PRESIDENT THAN A COMEDIAN CUM PRESIDENT
Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 12 years ago
I can do better than many of our leaders in Ghana because I have power, knowledge and common sense also experience that is what Ghana needs. Mahama employed graduates who have not worked before and ha gave them ministeria post instead of them to be trained by others. So, how can they do good? mahama must answer me!
CARDINAL 12 years ago
Unfortunately, critical thinking is what this disgraceful and clueless Mahama masquerading as a President is lacking. He needs to assess himself if he has what it takes to rule a country. What a mistake and accidental President some morons have foisted on us.
Kanawu 12 years ago
This picture makes Mahama look like a Kusasi watchman, take it off.
MARCUS AMPADU 12 years ago
Insulting the people we disagree with does not solve anything, Cardinal. In fact, it makes matters worse. For what I've learned at school and elsewhere, I picked up that critical thinking starts early in life. BECE and the type of the sameold obsolete primary, secondary, and tertiary curricula we have in our schools in our country is right now hurting us badly.
We have to change the way we educate our children. BECE, WASSCE & our moribund curricula must be replaced. Unfortunately, people like you and our ruling elite are not hip to what is going on. I sincerely hope you are a critical thinker to make a difference in our country.
DEAL 12 years ago
FREE UTILITIES, FUELS, HOUSING,SUVS AND 10% PAY CUT IS INSULTING GHANAIAN ESPECIALLY POOR WHO LACK THE BASICS, SANITATION, WATER, EDUCATION, HOUSING, VERY SAD IN GHANA DEMOCRACY.
Paa Fitz 12 years ago
The old British system of Chew Pour Pass & Forget is old and anachronistic. It is only good for preparing young minds. Once the students get to the Univ level, Creativity,Analytical and Continuous Assessment process ( like the US system) need to be emphasized here in the Universities and Colleges in Ghana.
Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago
You are right. We need to also reform our educ system that still puts emphasis on the 3 Rs.
CITIZEN ONE 12 years ago
The problem with Ghana is simple, and it is the same problem Black Americans have. They live in an English speaking society, born and bred there over generations, yet they choose to create their own forced culture and language in addition to the more refined status quo English. Ghana is thoroughly an English speaking country, but irresponsible traditionalists have been able to establish a false sense of language identity, leaving our most educated and seemingly intelligent class acquiring all the necessary worldly knowledge in science, technology, medicine, arts & humanities and psychology/sociology, yet being forced or coerced to think in TWI. Yes Twi, because it is the predominant language spoken by a mass highly uneducated people, living under the false assumption that just because majority of the population hail from that ethnic language group it is an important element in our advancement. Contrary to that school of thought, it has retrogressed our progress since Dr. Osagyfo Kwame Nkrumah's well planned social fabric for Ghana's advancement.
There is not much I or we can do at this point except to forge alliances that can crush this phenomenon. It is so difficult for me to understand why out of millions of smart citizens, almost no one ever identifies our problems head on, so we can find a resolution to it. Just read all the pettiness and vindictive arguments put forth in this forum against the Presidents call for retrospection.
Atsu Tsatsu 12 years ago
They are not phd holders, they are "permanent head damage" people as thwir learning is not self-discovery but copied ideology of others.
Our universities will not accept anyone with authentic non-western system of thought. ... read full comment
They are not phd holders, they are "permanent head damage" people as thwir learning is not self-discovery but copied ideology of others.
Our universities will not accept anyone with authentic non-western system of thought. All phd in Ghana must follow the western model so how can they be critical thinkers within their cultural realms.
MENSAH 12 years ago
We have to know and celebrate,embrace,honour difference,because:
ONE'S SIGNIFICANCE,IS NOT IN HIS SIMILARITY TO ANOTHER,BUT IN HIS POINT OF DISTINCTIVE DIFFERENCE FROM ANOTHER.
Our leaders tend to copy by heart.They do not ... read full comment
ONE'S SIGNIFICANCE,IS NOT IN HIS SIMILARITY TO ANOTHER,BUT IN HIS POINT OF DISTINCTIVE DIFFERENCE FROM ANOTHER.
Our leaders tend to copy by heart.They do not know what they are about.
JESUS SAID,I MUST BE ABOUT MY FATHER'S BUSINESS.HE KNEW WHAT HE WAS ABOUT EXACTLY.
They normally say:
Such and such a year,Britain did this or that,and succeeded.
BUT THE QUESTION IS:
IS GHANA BRITAIN?NO,OF COURSE.
You can never be somebody,but can become like someone.
Just like:
ABRAM BECAME AN ABRAHAM.
SAUL BECAME A PAUL
JACOB BECAME AN ISRAEL
SARAE BECAME A SERAH.
God made them into being what they all became.
WE LIVE IN BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION,WITHOUT ANY INTEGRITY,INNOVATIVE TECHNICAL SKILLS TAILORED TO PROBLEM-SOLVING,
THEREFORE,WE ARE NOT LIKE GREAT BRITAIN,TO COMPARE OUR SYSTEM WITH.
Yet,we tend to copy blindly everyday.
That's a total mistake we wallow in all the time.
AFRICA NEEDS A CHANGE,SINCE,CHANGE IS NECESSARY IN EVERY SUCCESS EQUATION.
AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 12 years ago
WHEN OUR MOTHER GHANA MOVED FROM FARMING AGE TO EDUCATIONAL AGE, WE STATED MOVING GRADUALLY TO INDUSTRIAL AGE, GRADUATES THEN, WERE MOVING THE COUNTRY FOREWARD WITH HARD THINKING IDEAS. BUT THE COUNTRY'S ENEMIES (MILITARY) STOP THE MOVEMENT, HARD THINKING, BUSINESS VISION,CREATIVITY, SPOIL OUR YOUTH,KILLED THE MIND OF GRADUATE DREAMS. BECAUSE EDUCATION MEANS NOTHING TO THEM AND TURED GHANA INTO A CORRUPT NATION. "HOLY SPIRIT" THEY KNOW THEMSELVES REMOVE THAT EVIL SPIRIT FROM THEM AND SILENCE THEM. THE POWER OF GOD, "HOLY SPIRIT" EMPOWER THE NEW GENERATION GRADUATE TO BE CREATIVE. AAAAAAAAAA AMEN.
Holy spirit will only work in us when we are totally commited to God and without holiness no man can see God that is what the Bible says.
QED. 12 years ago
WE WOULD HAVE REACHED FAR AND HAVE MANY THINKING GRADUATES politicians if MAHAMA HAD NOT IMPOSED HIMSELF ON GHANAIANS BUT ALLOWED GHANAIANS TO USE THEIR common sense to elect CAPABLE PREZ. TO GOVERN THE COUNTRY. Pointless saying THINKING GRADUATES are needed while you head the ESTABLISHMENT of the country. YOU HAVE TO MAKE SURE THE RIGHT THING IS DONE and gain credit from it but not to admonish the establishment which MAHAMA is the head.
Lack of 'COMMON SENSE' DISPLAYED IN THE SPEECH AND THE DISCOURSE. Now he has realised his folly of seizing power, causing death of his superior who appointed him as his VICE.
He is not the right choice FOR THE JOB OF PREZ.
QED.
MENSAH 12 years ago
We need men of integrity,like you on this web always.
POP 12 years ago
SEE GERMANY TODAY; MOST OF THEIR POLITICIANS ARE NOT GRADUATES BUT STILL THE COUNTRY IS MOVING PERFECT BECAUSE THE BELIEVE IN PRACTICAL KNOW HOW
Egya Blay 12 years ago
Hi broth,I can confidently tell you that Germany is one of the European countries with highly educated politicians including their Chancellor-Angela Merkel who is holding PhD in Chemical Engineering.Google will give you a tentative idea/profile about few German politicians.
Ghana is a country blessed with resources (natural resources, human resources, etc) but senseless leaders frustrate people with good intentions. Educated Ghanaians are in foreign lands helping others to build their country. Do you want to tell me all graduates in including without formal education are not critical thinkers. Kokompe in Takoradi and Magazine will tell you a lot about what tallents exist in Ghana.
MORON 12 years ago
Egya, he said most not all like in ghana.
Egya Blay 12 years ago
Great!I do understand him and thanks for your emphasis. Could you please change your name, my brother. Thanks.
MORON 12 years ago
that is it
that is it
Atsu Tsatsu 12 years ago
The system breeds followers and instruction takers not risk takers.
So if one thinks outside the box one is regarded as malevolent. Unless we change the crop of educators, who perpetuate the same thinking how can we have critical thinkers when our educators are not critical thinkers, our leaders are followers and not critical thinkers, our curricular is borrowed and diluted version of western ideology.
Our education system is rigid and permeated by structuralist mentality?
Mr. President, you only accept those who say yes, are you ready to deal with dissent without offense?
Critical thinker speak their mind but our culture forbids those expression as our democracy is young and fragile.
MENSAH 12 years ago
You are right,my brother.
Ghana lacks men of wisdom,as long as, integrity is void in the system.
THE FEAR OF THE LORD,IS THE BEGINNING OF WISDOM,BUT WE LACK THE FEAR OF THE LORD(INTEGRITY).
And that WISDOM,IS THE PRINCIPAL ... read full comment
THE FEAR OF THE LORD,IS THE BEGINNING OF WISDOM,BUT WE LACK THE FEAR OF THE LORD(INTEGRITY).
And that WISDOM,IS THE PRINCIPAL THING,WE ARE INSTRUCTED,ADMONISHED,ENCOURAGED,IN THE BIBLE,TO ACQUIRE.(PROVERBS 4:7)
It continue to say:
IN ALL THY GETTING,GET UNDERSTANDING,which means:
DISCERNMENT,COMPREHENSION AND INTERPRETATION.
Unfortunately,our leaders even lack it,though they seems to acquire deep knowledge in education,but no acumen,wisdom to translate what they have,into solving the so many problems we have.
Hence our total woe.
That have been the problem of an AFRICAN since creation.
WE HAVE TO CHANGE OUR SYSTEM OF EDUCATION,TO REFLECT ON IDEAS AND STRATEGIES THAT ARE TAILORED TO PROBLEM-SOLVING,OR WE WOULD STILL BE SPINNING ON ENDLESS CIRCLES.
Our natural resources are exported virtually,for free,just because we lack the acumen in its processing,but our leaders have turned death ears to the problems.
THEY HAVE NO PLAN IN MIND,FOR OUR CHILDREN,UNFORTUNATELY.
LARYEAH 12 years ago
GHANA NEEDS THINKING PRESIDENT!
Cookie 12 years ago
Ghana need thinking president with good leadership
NANA 12 years ago
JJ WENT COMMON AND SEE GHANA TODAY
GHANAS CANCER =ASHANTIS 12 years ago
ASHANTIS SHOULD LEAVE MAHAMA ALONE HOW MANY JOBS DID GHANAS MOST CORRUPT PREZ K4 CREATE DURING HIS 8YEARS TENURE IN OFFICE.WHAT WAS THE OUTCOME OF K4S CASSAVA INITIATIVE?WAS K4 ABLE TO CREATE THE 1000 JOBS HE PROMISED ASHANTI SHOE SHINE BOYS DURING HIS CAMPAIGN ?
FAILED UGLY NORTHERN CROSS-BREED K4 WAS THE WORSE PRESIDENT EVER TO OCCUPY GHANAS PRESTIGIOUS CASTLE OSU.
Agbovi 12 years ago
Mr. president,thank you for telling the truth at last.Ghana needs thinking graduates not your type.You must give back your degree to the University who graduated you.You dont deserve it.
Eagle eye 12 years ago
oh another 6,708 more people going to stay home and try to chace non-existing job in the coutry
if i was the president i will be ashame to even send someone to represent me at the graduation celemony why because, i cannot he ... read full comment
oh another 6,708 more people going to stay home and try to chace non-existing job in the coutry
if i was the president i will be ashame to even send someone to represent me at the graduation celemony why because, i cannot help all these student have a decent life that i am currently enjoying with their resoueces.
however, i congraduating all these students for successful finishing their various programes.keep believing, God will change your destiny
KMAN 12 years ago
GOES BOTH WAYS
GHANAS CANCER =ASHANTIS 12 years ago
WHERE IS OSEI TUTUS HEAD ASHANTIS ?
nana 12 years ago
RIGHT; ghana will never have like NKRUMAH again and mahatma u do not deserve to be a president of ghana but rather maybe in Burkina or Mali or Niger
kwame 12 years ago
nan don't talk shit ok,burkina is supplying Ghana tomatoes with dry nature of their country, so stop this bullshit comparasion with countries abilities,very soon they will start exporting rice to Ghana
Repugnant. 12 years ago
You are not on the level Sir! You may be thinking power is critical thinking which is not true. It is rather the ability to manifest ones intelligible intellect.
DONBOLI 12 years ago
If a president cant thing straight how can student. If the govt and John Mahama thinks our student dont understand what they are thought, why not teach our students to understand what you teaching them.
Its a shame John Maha ... read full comment
If a president cant thing straight how can student. If the govt and John Mahama thinks our student dont understand what they are thought, why not teach our students to understand what you teaching them.
Its a shame John Mahama himself couldnt take 10 mins to come and say hi to our graduates instead picking on the hardwork of our professional teachers and student.
Its a Shame John Mahama keep running down of schools universities and teachers. If he John Mahama know what is right and good for our students why wait to make such a stupid comment on this important day of our graduates.
John Mahama should take the cotton wool out and get sime brains. Useless advicers again.
Man 2 Man 12 years ago
It begins at the top. When the president is not thinking, no one else is thinking.
PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI- McA 12 years ago
`A DIRTY MONEY=YOU WANT YOUR JOB
==========KEEP DYING ??=============
BOOM? BUST= BUBBLE-ANYTHING IS
POSSIBLE
====================================
DOLLARS ARE DEBT ==KEEP YOUR GOLD
=================== ... read full comment
POSSIBLE
======================================
REAL VALUE iS GOLD== COAST =HOLD GOLD
PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI (FOUNDER )
AFRIKA MONETARY INSTITUTE
WWW.CUSTOMERMETRO.COM
Yaw 12 years ago
The level of corruption, the unsustainable borrowing over the last five years and above all the investment in unproductive ventures like Akomfem Socialism, Judgement debt and Atuguba-Vikyleak justice clearly shows that Ghana need a thinking President not only graduates.
owusu 12 years ago
we need a thinking President who makes wise decisions
Kofi Madingo 12 years ago
The quality and critical thinkers are already in the system. The question is whether this potential is being taped. Easy to say than done. Ghanaians only have big mouths do not accept criticisms, believe in stupid and dangerous things which does not help anybody including themselves. The president should rather start with a house cleaning with educating the people of authority to make use of things physically available to them than to think about virtuals things, and rituals which is degrading to the sociaty and humanity.
BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 12 years ago
We need a thinking President Not a stupid One like u mahama.
Hamzah Abubakar 12 years ago
Ghana needs a common sens prez not a thief
NON-ALIGNED 12 years ago
Mr. President, empty speeches and delivering of laptops to schools is not the answer to our lack of critical thinking graduates. I hope you were on TIME………………to give the speech.
Firstly, the basic problem we ha ... read full comment
Mr. President, empty speeches and delivering of laptops to schools is not the answer to our lack of critical thinking graduates. I hope you were on TIME………………to give the speech.
Firstly, the basic problem we have in Africa, especially Ghana is that, our understanding of ‘Education’ is all about perfecting other peoples ‘powerful tools’ (language) based on collecting knowledge without the basic understanding of its origins and values. It is all about aping other humans’ lifestyles, totally contrary to our good cultural values, heritage and good traditional beliefs.
A system which basically breeds ‘educated illiterates’ who behave like ‘zombies’, posing around with other people’s ‘lingos’. This breed of our people then go on to become AFROPEANS……..who see no good in their own citizens and as a result, grow to collaborate with their slave masters to rape their nations dry, at the expense of their children’s future.
Which I am sure you, Mr. President, would agree to be a product of – as you clearly demonstrated recently demonstrated, posing in front of the CNN logo in the US (like an African student who just arrived in the US) – without even realizing the PR and marketing you have offered to them, free of charge. (That kind of so-called education does not produce critical thinking graduates but, English speaking educated illiterates like you. Please don’t take it wrongly).
Secondly, the application of other peoples’ collection of experiences and observations without our own research based analysis cannot be considered as education to produce critical thinking graduates.(That produces non-thinkers, waiting on other human beings to do the thinking and analysis in the form of books to be sold to us).
Thirdly, our so-called ‘Education’ system is deeply-rooted i n the concept of reading books (in someone else’s language), memorizing it again, again and again, regurgitating it out of the ‘memory box’ (that is, if one has one), unto an exam paper, get good grades and eventually attain a degree/masters and forget everything after the process.……………Another sequence for this kind of education system is called – ‘chew’, ‘pour’, ‘pass’ and ‘forget’. (That gives no room for any form of analytical thinking throughout our formative years to adulthood and as a result hindering our own development).
Fourthly, we have and are still embarking on a colonialist system of education, devised for us Africans, to keep us subservient to our slave masters forever. A system that teaches us how POOR we are as Africans……….even though we are sitting on most of the world’s richest natural resources. A so-called education system designed to encourage brain drain. A system that breeds the make-belief that everything African is EVIL and POOR…..EVEN to the extent of demonizing our own ‘lingos’.
Finally, our lack of critical thinking graduates, stems from all the above and that makes it virtually impossible to even think of solutions to our problems as a people. We have citizens believing that by achieving ‘Masters degree’ is the answer to all their woes, whilst the filth we live in seems to be piling up day in and day out under our noses. (Please think deeply about it).
If we, as a people, can encourage the importation of toothpicks and TOXIC WASTE on to our lands, for our children to be scavenging on them…………..Then, I wonder whether we do understand how producing CRITICAL THINKERS is all about, without the application of the basic COMMON-SENSE freely bestowed upon us by GOD.
I am afraid we’ve got it all wrong as a nation and need to find a new path to our true destiny.......and that, will only come from our true positive history we fail to teach our children in our schools. Because, without the knowledge of our past, we will NEVER be able to understand our present, in order to prepare for our future. The solutions are in our own hands and not in the hands of foreigners whom we respect and treat much better than our own people.
GOD BLESS GHANA! AFRICAN FOREVER!
Emelia 12 years ago
Right there. Our universities have failed us. They churn out non thinkers. Robots are able to think better than them. The key is improving our polytechnics. Hopefully next year, when our polytechnics graduates are awarded bachelors degree instead of diploma, this will attract lots of smart people into these schools. We need more of blue color jobs, that will start their own businesses instead of looking for jobs in our Ministries.
barima 12 years ago
incompetent leaders , set good footsteps for the young generation to follow
royal 12 years ago
Mr prez u mean graduate are useless.thank u for rendering as such.i wonder whether members of your govt are critical thinkers haha
kanga 12 years ago
Ghana, needs common sense and thinking president, who think with his brain not is dick, as we now have. Mahama is good at making babies not making decisions, that why Ghana is stuck in the first gear.
COLLINS 12 years ago
CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME SO WHAT ABOUT THE SHS 3 YEAR THING.INDEED IT IS NOT HELPING AT ALL
COMANDO 12 years ago
ato achieve this goal u need to change the CJ first bk. she is currupt.and will never surport good things.
QED. 12 years ago
Under his nose, modern challenges are crippling problems of economy, sanitation, unemployment, high cost of living and govt spending deficit crises of the country that GRADUATES POLITICIANS INCLUDING HIMSELF CAN NOT SOLVE THEM AS 'NON-THINKING' WORKING AND UNEMPLOYED GRADUATES.
If the TREE/SOCIETY GETS ROTTEN it is the HEAD that gets rotten first before the LEAVES/MINISTERS, THE STEM AND THE ROOTS/COMMON PEOPLE.
YOU HAVE TO GIVE WAY NOW BY YOUR OWN ADMISSION. 10 YEARS IS TOO LONG STALEMATE/DORMANCY/HIBERNATION.
QED.
VICKY LEE BENTON 12 years ago
YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE A GRADUATE TO BECOME A THINKER. IT IS THE ENTERPRENUERS WHO CREATE THINGS, THEY ARE THE BACKBONES OF EVERY COUNTRY.
GHANA HAS A MINDSET THAT IF YOU BECOME A GRADUATE, THEN YOU ARE THE BEST IN SOCIETY, ... read full comment
YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE A GRADUATE TO BECOME A THINKER. IT IS THE ENTERPRENUERS WHO CREATE THINGS, THEY ARE THE BACKBONES OF EVERY COUNTRY.
GHANA HAS A MINDSET THAT IF YOU BECOME A GRADUATE, THEN YOU ARE THE BEST IN SOCIETY, AND THAT IS NOT TRUE.
LOOK AT THE ADVANCED WORLD AND YOU WILL SEE THAT THE PEOPLE THAT ARE RICH AND FAMOUS , EVEN SOME DIDN'T COMPLETE HIGH SCHOOLS. VERY FEW OF THEM WENT TO UNIVERSITY.
WE GO TO SCHOOL TO LEARN TO READ, DO MATHS & SCIENCE. THE REST IS UP TO US AS INDIVIDUALS.
VICKY LEE BENTON 12 years ago
REFRAIN FROM RELIGION & POLITICS, THEY ARE THE TWO MAJOR FORCES THAT HAS ROBBED YOUR SUCCESS IN LIFE, AND BY DOING SO, YOU WILL IGNITE THE LIGHT THAT GOD HAS PUTTING INTO YOU AS AN INDIVIDUAL TO FIND YOUR WAY IN LIFE.
Castro 12 years ago
Is the President telling us that the
Graduates in his team are not thinking.
SULE 12 years ago
I presume he's also one of those graduates because he also went through the system and even for him, because of his privileged upbringing, he had the opportunity to acquire a little bit more knowledge outside the shores of Ghana, and has actually had some exposure and experience.
What does that say about the critical thinking capabilities when they preside over Woyome, about an economy which is hiccupping, about measures to drive employment and the creation of the necessary environment for businesses to flourish and expand, what does that say about the critical intellectual input that should go into addressing the challenges of our educational system, agriculture, our finances, environment, sanitation etc, etc? Recently Dr. Christine Amoako Nuamah was talking about critical policy formulation and implementation which is well thought through with greater stakeholder participation. It's a two way street, and where the graduate is thinking, if the leadership cannot reason as per Dr. kumbour's profound statement, all the Ghanaian trained graduates from all the world cannot make an impact. Critical thinking of graduates should necessarily mirror that of leadership, and where leadership shirks it's responsibility to think, it reflects off the graduates. What informed the admonishment of the confirmed ministers to think outside of the box? Was it because they appeared not to show this trait or what? The advanced systems continue to expand and grow and lead the thought processes of the world because they invest their resources in staying ahead of the pack, the development of the brain. In Ghana what are our resources used for, where do they go and what informs those choices?
Kwaame 12 years ago
Thank you very much. We are really fed up with the "fire-fighting" policies of our governments (PNDC, NDC and NPP). Without any drastic changes to national policies Ghana is doomed.
Kwaame 12 years ago
Mr. President, Ghana needs thinking leaders to provide graduates with the big picture of where you guys want to lead the nation.
ASIEDU NKETIA 12 years ago
Ghana needs a thinking president. Not one who will increase his pay by 100% and then, later a 10% pay-cut to fool those fools who voted for him. A president who will creat jobs for the youth, instead of planting trees in hot dry season and watch them die whiles his guinea fowls fly to Burkina Faso. Thinking starts from the top down and not down to up
Joe 12 years ago
Ghana with her UNMARKETABLE graduates everywhere
AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 12 years ago
"HOLY SPIRIT" THE POWER OF GOD, HELP US TO THINK HARD THINKING TO BECOME INDUSTRIOUS NATION. AAAAAAAA AMEN.
wofa atta 12 years ago
Ghana rather needs common sense leaders who can
think and move the from this chopping create,loot and share ideas.
Yaw Agyeman 12 years ago
Your ministers can't think May be that's why.
usa 12 years ago
This is foolish talk. What is wrong with this criminal? You need common sense. Rubbish.
QED. 12 years ago
MAHAMA taking picture in front of CNN Building says it all. HE IS NOT FIT FOR THE PURPOSE OF LEADING 24 MILLION PEOPLE.
He has a low mentality, low aspiration, low imagination, low sense of priority, low self-esteem and l ... read full comment
MAHAMA taking picture in front of CNN Building says it all. HE IS NOT FIT FOR THE PURPOSE OF LEADING 24 MILLION PEOPLE.
He has a low mentality, low aspiration, low imagination, low sense of priority, low self-esteem and low sense of judgement, low sense of estimation and analysis (e.g GEC cost analysis)and very, VERY, very low I.Q. from the performance of His Duty as president.(52 yr old behaving like 25 yr old) when J.J., Afrifa, Acheampong in their 30s were performing at national level not like his village Wa level of performance. Interesting!!!!
QED
Kwame Angel 12 years ago
Even more than thinking graduates, Ghana needs a thinking president and a thinking leadership, NOT hungry politicians who are there to make millions and leave.
KK 12 years ago
We need thinking Presidents first before we can get thinking Graduates.
concern ghanian 12 years ago
WE NEED THINKING LEADERS FIRST
Ghana does not need corrupt leader like you mahama. The whole world knew from the supreme court of Ghana that you are fake President to lead Ghana now. So, Mahama you are just deceiving your own self and that is the reason why you don't know where to start it from. You will continue to stress yourself till something happens to you. Trust me!
jetmoney 12 years ago
Empty barrels makes most noise, let ur actions represents u not ur mouth man
nana kk 12 years ago
GHANA NEEDS THINKING AND COMMON SENSE PRESIDENT AT THIS MOMENT.AS USUAL TALK CAN NOT PUT FOOD ON THE TABLE.
MAHAMA IS A DICK-HEAD 12 years ago
TAANI-KWASIATOO
STUPID-PRESIDENT 12 years ago
MAHAMAIS A JOKE
MOST STUPID PRESIDENT 12 years ago
THIS TOILET CARRIER IS THE PRESIDENT ?
YOOMOBEGA 12 years ago
Just like your idiotic father.
AKONFEM MAHANI 12 years ago
OH MAHAMA NOT GOOD,VERY BAD,WHAT A SHAMEFUL,MAHAMA IS BIG FOOOL,
LIZ 12 years ago
What your president was trying to say is that Ghana needs graduates who have the ability to use the Scientific Method of Problem Solving techniques to solve the country’s problems. The Scientific Method of Problem Solving Skills challenges you to think and allows you to make better decisions. This particular problem solving techniques are taught only at a higher learning institutions. GOOD THINKING MR PRESIDENT!!
Adwoa 12 years ago
Critical thinking must start from the kindergaten so that these children will know how to rationalize and think through things. If critical thinking is supposed to be done at the university level then I am afraid it will be too late
Shamu 12 years ago
Mr. President, I agreed with you about critical thinking graduates. Do we really need thinking graduate or critical thinking people in Ghana? Beside that, don`t you believe we need critical thinking President, Parties, opposition, Ministers, parliamentarians? What we have today in Ghana is, criminals and gangs in Ghana politics. It is time for Ghanaians to vote for the right people who have good vision for the people and nation as a whole. Is unfortunate that, even yourself is not one of those that we need today in Ghana politics. Most especially the fake and and the most criminal opposition groups that we have in Ghana today. It is now time for Ghanaians to think twice before making a choice. If I were to be one of the right ones, I would have disqualify all criminal and gangs politicians that we have today in our politics.
charles koduah 12 years ago
The president is right.The issue is not with our education system but rather with our culture as a whole.critical thinking starts very early in our infancy when you look at other advanced nations.we have a culture that doesn't believe kids have any sense. adults doesn't respect thoughts of the younger generation.If ghana wants to produce a generation of critical thinkers ,it needs to look at the culture that suppressess the thoughts of it's children.
Lawrence Agyenim-Boateng 12 years ago
A total of 6,708 students just graduated. I wonder if there is going to be jobs for them? Mr. President, in my own small idear, I think if you could introduce an incentive programs to encourage our small scale businesses and companies who could help employ five or more student at a given period, I think that motivation alone would help solve or bring down unemployment.
ADABRAKA 12 years ago
.....and Mahama isn't one.
Atuku 12 years ago
Ghana needs right thinking presidents Not ladies panties remover presidents.
ASIEDU NKETIA 12 years ago
100% pay raise - 10% pay cut. You do the maths as Bill Clinton will say. Ghanaians are not fools to be tricked into these cheap propaganda
WE LACK COMMON SENSE IN GHANA
how many phd. holders do we have in ghana. but still the country is sicking. that shows schooling alone is not enough to built our country, we need people with common sense and thinking who knows what it takes to start someth ...
ndc is trying to make us all foolishly believe that this is all about partisan politics but in reality its a feudal system of governance based on tribalism and ethnic affiliation . there is no partisan politics rather anti Ak ...
Mahama is funny paa. You steal the country's resources for your family and cronies but you want others to think! Ghana Army shd wake up before Mahama steals again for his brother to pay the Merchant Bank debt use in purchasin ...
BLACKMAN CANT THINK
OMANE BOAMA DID NOT GIVE VICKY HER SHARE OF A CREATE AND LOOT BUSINESS, BUT THE POOR YOUNG THIEF SAYS SHE WILL WAIT FOR HER TIME; EBEI NDC!! OYE LITHUR ALSO MET THE JUDGES AND HELPED NDC TO ...
since i came to this world i have never been so saddened by such an imbecile and irresponsible comment by someone we call a president, really Ghana stand up ,is that so called rogue,thief ...
I THINK MAHAMAH DIDN´T SEE THIS SPEECH BEFORE IT WAS READ.I THINK FROM THE SPEECH WRITER TO THE ONE WHO READ ON HIS BEHALF.REALLY IF HE HAD A KNOWLEDGE BEFORE IT WAS READ,THEN WE ARE HAVING VERY STUPID PRESIDENT.UST HAS BEEN ...
I can do better than many of our leaders in Ghana because I have power, knowledge and common sense also experience that is what Ghana needs. Mahama employed graduates who have not worked before and ha gave them ministeria pos ...
Unfortunately, critical thinking is what this disgraceful and clueless Mahama masquerading as a President is lacking. He needs to assess himself if he has what it takes to rule a country. What a mistake and accidental Preside ...
Insulting the people we disagree with does not solve anything, Cardinal. In fact, it makes matters worse. For what I've learned at school and elsewhere, I picked up that critical thinking starts early in life. BECE and the ty ...
The old British system of Chew Pour Pass & Forget is old and anachronistic. It is only good for preparing young minds. Once the students get to the Univ level, Creativity,Analytical and Continuous Assessment process ( like th ...
The problem with Ghana is simple, and it is the same problem Black Americans have. They live in an English speaking society, born and bred there over generations, yet they choose to create their own forced culture and languag ...
Our universities will not accept anyone with authentic non-western system of thought. ...
Our leaders tend to copy by heart.They do not ...
WHEN OUR MOTHER GHANA MOVED FROM FARMING AGE TO EDUCATIONAL AGE, WE STATED MOVING GRADUALLY TO INDUSTRIAL AGE, GRADUATES THEN, WERE MOVING THE COUNTRY FOREWARD WITH HARD THINKING IDEAS. BUT THE COUNTRY'S ENEMIES (MILITARY) ST ...
WE WOULD HAVE REACHED FAR AND HAVE MANY THINKING GRADUATES politicians if MAHAMA HAD NOT IMPOSED HIMSELF ON GHANAIANS BUT ALLOWED GHANAIANS TO USE THEIR common sense to elect CAPABLE PREZ. TO GOVERN THE COUNTRY. Pointless say ...
Hi broth,I can confidently tell you that Germany is one of the European countries with highly educated politicians including their Chancellor-Angela Merkel who is holding PhD in Chemical Engineering.Google will give you a te ...
that is it
So if one thinks outside the box one is regarded as malevolent. Unless we change the crop of educators, who perpetuate the same thinking how can we have cri ...
And that WISDOM,IS THE PRINCIPAL ...
ASHANTIS SHOULD LEAVE MAHAMA ALONE HOW MANY JOBS DID GHANAS MOST CORRUPT PREZ K4 CREATE DURING HIS 8YEARS TENURE IN OFFICE.WHAT WAS THE OUTCOME OF K4S CASSAVA INITIATIVE?WAS K4 ABLE TO CREATE THE 1000 JOBS HE PROMISED ASHANTI ...
if i was the president i will be ashame to even send someone to represent me at the graduation celemony why because, i cannot he ...
GOES BOTH WAYS
Its a shame John Maha ...
POSSIBLE
=================== ...
The level of corruption, the unsustainable borrowing over the last five years and above all the investment in unproductive ventures like Akomfem Socialism, Judgement debt and Atuguba-Vikyleak justice clearly shows that Ghana ...
The quality and critical thinkers are already in the system. The question is whether this potential is being taped. Easy to say than done. Ghanaians only have big mouths do not accept criticisms, believe in stupid and dangero ...
Firstly, the basic problem we ha ...
Right there. Our universities have failed us. They churn out non thinkers. Robots are able to think better than them. The key is improving our polytechnics. Hopefully next year, when our polytechnics graduates are awarded bac ...
Under his nose, modern challenges are crippling problems of economy, sanitation, unemployment, high cost of living and govt spending deficit crises of the country that GRADUATES POLITICIANS INCLUDING HIMSELF CAN NOT SOLVE THE ...
GHANA HAS A MINDSET THAT IF YOU BECOME A GRADUATE, THEN YOU ARE THE BEST IN SOCIETY, ...
I presume he's also one of those graduates because he also went through the system and even for him, because of his privileged upbringing, he had the opportunity to acquire a little bit more knowledge outside the shores of Gh ...
Ghana needs a thinking president. Not one who will increase his pay by 100% and then, later a 10% pay-cut to fool those fools who voted for him. A president who will creat jobs for the youth, instead of planting trees in hot ...
He has a low mentality, low aspiration, low imagination, low sense of priority, low self-esteem and l ...
Ghana does not need corrupt leader like you mahama. The whole world knew from the supreme court of Ghana that you are fake President to lead Ghana now. So, Mahama you are just deceiving your own self and that is the reason wh ...
TAANI-KWASIATOO
MAHAMAIS A JOKE
What your president was trying to say is that Ghana needs graduates who have the ability to use the Scientific Method of Problem Solving techniques to solve the country’s problems. The Scientific Method of Problem Solving ...
Critical thinking must start from the kindergaten so that these children will know how to rationalize and think through things. If critical thinking is supposed to be done at the university level then I am afraid it will be ...
Mr. President, I agreed with you about critical thinking graduates. Do we really need thinking graduate or critical thinking people in Ghana? Beside that, don`t you believe we need critical thinking President, Parties, opposi ...
The president is right.The issue is not with our education system but rather with our culture as a whole.critical thinking starts very early in our infancy when you look at other advanced nations.we have a culture that doesn' ...
A total of 6,708 students just graduated. I wonder if there is going to be jobs for them? Mr. President, in my own small idear, I think if you could introduce an incentive programs to encourage our small scale businesses and ...