You are here: HomeNews2013 11 21Article 292766

African leaders have led the continent backwards – Prof. Ayittey

Read Comments Comments (87)

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

Say it one more tIme Prof.Mahama is worst ever on the continent of Africa

• BEN 10 years ago

WHY NOT GO STRAIGHT AND POINT HANDS ON UP/NPP FOR OVERTHROWING NKRUMAH FOR THEIR SELFISH REASONS?

• JOHN 10 years ago

WELL TOO LATE TO TURN THE CLOCK

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: Gye Nyame...
    This is the way the administration flows, they are only apologizing because the 91 year old decided that she was not going to take it lying down, other wise they would have rolled over her and done the c ...

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.

WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More. Watch You ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

The youunger ones would be worse than those in power now -- check out the caliber of the young ministers/deputy ministers and you will understand what I am saying. Unfortunately, education was dumbed down by JJ for the purpos ...

• The African Patriot 10 years ago

The hopes we have in the youngest generation must be backed with brain redrain measures that will direct the youth to believe in their selves and the country Ghana or Africa. They should, in cooperation with the patriot and c ...

• Psychedelic Romantica - Mbrom 10 years ago

Massa, you name the post you want and it yours.

Do you want to contest for flag-bearer, Chairmanship, or General Secretary? As an avid reader of your columns from Asanta days, I think you have a lot to offer to reshape thi ...

• Nii Ayiteytsebi 10 years ago

Lets be thankful to the Heavens who has come to our aid by opening our eyes to a little level of awareness these days.

People have realised a bit that we have to do our best to sustain our economy by chasing out those who ...

• CANNY 10 years ago

NPP AGAIN TARGETTED?

• Kwame 10 years ago

This George Ayittey guy has never done anything for Ghana, not even taught for a year and he talks rubbish.
    He should leave the US and come down here to help his motherland that gave him free education at Legon University

• parker 10 years ago

prof, hope you are listening it starts with you lead by example not mere words,talk is cheap

• SHAKA 10 years ago

PROF YOU LEAD THE WAY

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Prof Ayittey is dead right and I will not add one more word to his commentary. You only have to look at the countries that gained independence around the time of ours,those that chose the free market capitalist system in the ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

THE PROFESSOR IS DAMN RIGHT.
    IF AFRICA HAS NOT STOOD ON HER FEET,AFTER A LONG TIME INDEPENDENCE WERE GIVEN TO US,FROM OUR COLONIAL MASTERS,then something is wrong with the leaders and the government ministries.
    Let's face i ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

George Ayittey talking thrash as usual,Mr Ayittey what have you taught these youth that will enable them to the african govt effective ?

• CANNY 10 years ago

the do not have balls under them

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

You are so right, Ben. I thought this prof. would be less biased. Can the professor tell us how many cocoa, cassava, tomato, yam, etc. farms Kwame Nkrumah confiscated for his political agenda which this prof. terms 'socialist ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Professor Ayitey, you don't have the answers either, with your economist overloaded ego, you don't even own a kiosk yet badmouthing those who dared create an independent socialist African economy.

What is your road map to ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Thank you repugnant. This Ayittey guy is just another example of the pseudo-intellectual gang of African jokers. They have been manipulated and calibrated to become mere drones of convenience of western imperialism. For them, ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

You are obviously holed in your 14th century mindset. Go to Singapore,Taiwan,Thailand or Malaysia and see for yourself.Ayittey may ont own a Khiosk or a an icebox in Ghana,but he is dead right,socialism that preaches prosperi ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 10 years ago

Prof. you are 100% right if opepeni as a ptresident and ewe are taking control in Ghana that is how things always be. Remember we have seen this before. "Jato Ntumi nye fee!

• ........ 10 years ago

the most useless person ever lived on this planet is Kwame Nkrumah. the beast was over thrown by your home boy Kotoka. The most perfect coup ever made on this planet is one way ticket for nkrumah

• Müller 10 years ago

AFRICA IS DEATH FOREVER

• NANA BAAH 10 years ago

WHO TO BE BLAME FOR ALL THESE SET BACK:

• JOHN 10 years ago

BLAME THE SHAMEFUL DANQUAH/BUSIA PARTY

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

No wonder you are called "John"

• CANNY 10 years ago

MORE THAN MISSING HIM

• ........ 10 years ago

I think U'R PARENTS WERE YOUNG PIONEERS.ONLY USELESS MAN ANIMAL will miss Kwame Nkrumah.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Your masters killed off the progressive leaders and propped up the useless ones . What can you expect?

• Yag 10 years ago

Prof. So what do you expect if all of you keep teaching Adams Smith's"demand & supply "knowledged.You did not create African economic theory so that African money don't go to Swiss banks for illusive and dellusive safety ment ...

• BEN 10 years ago

JUST BE FRANK AND GIVE THE BLAME TO UP/NPP FOR DESTOYING AFRICA DREAM

• KOBLA ZEGO 10 years ago

THE ACADEMICIANS OF WHICH YOU ARE ONE ARE WORSE THAN THE POLITICIANS. WITH ALL THE RESEARCH ALLOWANCES, WHAT HAVE YOU PRODUCED.? PROF AYITEY, GIVE US A BREAK PLEASE.

• kofi 10 years ago

Its easy to spew gabage around than to put them at the right place.All this professors for nothing should give us a break,they are all enemies of progress probably CIA agent who knows.l am not saying our politicians are angel ...

• Seth, UK 10 years ago

The academicians have also miserably failed us. Since independence they could not LOCALISE and modernise our education to suit our own problems. As of now, we still read useless books in hopeless courses which do no means con ...

• gyataba 10 years ago

can this professor tell me what he has done for Africa and for that matter his motherland Ghana? .People should just not say anything like that because they have access to public address system.Please spare us this trash alw ...

• SOLDIERMAN 10 years ago

Prof. is blowing hot air, what did he do in his capacity as an Economist to help Mother Ghana. Prof Ayitey , Dr Apreko, Dr. Osei Akutu, Mpianim etc BIG Economists for nothing. Go to other Countries and see what your colleague ...

• SULE 10 years ago

And they continue to lead the country into the abyss. A typical case in point is the Mahama/Amissah Arthur administration's recklessly corrupt and unfathomable ineptness and incompetence, which has sent the country back by ab ...

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

I am also optimistic about the future because I believe in the tremendous potential of the HUMAN BEING which is yet to be uncovered and could be put to good use for all and sundry.

However, this is not going to be easy be ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

Come home and lead one of the dominant parties OR.....

COME AND FORM YOUR OWN NEW PARTY TO PUSH AFRICA FORWARD !!!!!!

• Ras Kumar 10 years ago

I am afraid this prof only knows how to run his mouth. He cannot run foko.

• joe 10 years ago

you r a piece of shit,you talk from you ass,the way you talk,i bet if your ass is on fire,i wouldn't show where the toilet is!!!

• joe 10 years ago

the politicians in Ghana are not afraid anymore to chop money cos there are no coup anymore,i think we are due for one now to cleance the bad ones out!!!!

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Otchere Darko you seriously want this idiot to come to Ghana and compound our problems by forming his own political Party? Whats the matter with you?

• KTX 10 years ago

Pro have you observed "the new and young Africans coming up" that were in Atta Mills government and are also in this government? For them, state-robbery is a hobby. They 'eat' our resources with their four limbs. Their thieve ...

• Kk3 10 years ago

At least this dude always calls the 'game' right and fearlessly. It's up to doers to action his words. That's you.....and me, otherwise GH is down for the count!!!

• Prof Ayittey 10 years ago

This guy is a hypocrite.Where was he When Kuffuor and his gansters were looting the country?

• Ras Kumar 10 years ago

Africa simply needs competent and uncorrupt leaders period. Age has nothing to do with it. Ayittey likes to indulge in sensational talk without real substance.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

LET US FIRST REFER TO THE MANY ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL DIFFICULTIES AND CHALENGES FACING GHANA, BEFORE REFERRING IT TO THE WHOLE CONTINENT OF AFRICA.

LEADERS ARE APPOINTED TO LEAD A NATION, BUT, WHAT HAS BEEN THE CONTRIBUTION ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Talk is cheap!!!

• william 10 years ago

very right prof!!!

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

MOTHER GHANA/AFRICA; THOSE SOLD OUR IDUSTRIES AND NOW RICH WILL BE CURSED. BUT NEVER TOO LATE LET US ALL COME TOGETHER AND MOVE THE COUTRY FOREWARD.

• ALEXANDE KOFI 10 years ago

THAT IS THE FACT,,,,BUT I KNOW THAT THE RULE OF LAW IS NOT PENDING IN GHANA AND AFRICA HAS A WHOLE.

• KB 10 years ago

That time sure is coming when Africans will rule their own and the world's destiny.But not until we have reset our minds to the reality that people of all other races evolved out of us and therefore need us to direct world's ...

• Dr Red Hot 10 years ago

Ayittey is RIGHT !!!

The greedy bastards have driven Ghana into a hole.

• Frederick Botchway 10 years ago

I want to thank Prof. Ayittey for positive and encouraging criticism , above all for the hope he has in the young African. I completely agree with his saying.

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

WHOEVER WANTS TO IMPRESS OTHERS SHOULD FIRST TRY TO IMPRESS HIMSELF.

IT IS TIME FOR THE YOUNG GENERATION KNOW PROFESSOR AYITTEY'S OWN CONTRIBUTION WITH HIS EARNED ECONOMICS TITLE, TOWARDS THE SOCIOECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT O ...

• Kwame Addo 10 years ago

In rewriting I will say, much reading is an oppression of the mind, and extinguishes the natural candle, which is the reason of so many senseless scholars in the world. Prof. Ayittey should know that, in the same way that we ...

• Mike Gizo 10 years ago

I used to listen to prof on VOA n he has been proactive n vocal for the African continent but the corrupt n greedy bastards continue to lead the nation by propaganda n subterfuge.
    Thanks foe being there foe Africa always n h ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Capitalism imported by Busia and co set us back. Socialist state worked for us. Before independence Africa was under colonial rule... going backwards. Leaders like Nkrumah won independent for the continents slide to stop. Tha ...

• Kwame Addo 10 years ago

In rephrasing a quote, much reading is an oppression of the mind, and extinguishes the natural candle, which is the reason of so many senseless scholars in the world, and one such example is Ayittey. Prof. Ayittey should know ...

• Martin 10 years ago

George Ayittey is either naïve or delusional to suggest that the next generation of African leaders coming up will be more capable than the current leaders in solving the continent’s economic and political problems. Leader ...

• B H 10 years ago

and mahama is an example of the selfish leaders (misleading at all time)

• bd 10 years ago

statism

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

Prof Ayitey is woefully wrong in his analysis.As a western brainwashed economist he blames socialism for Africa's problems. Greed is the credo of capitalism and the armed robbers - western europeans - did not stop robing Afr ...

• Panucci 10 years ago

I had a debate with him; he was exposed. Capitalism is the reason for Africa's backwardness; you don't have to be proponent of socialism to know that. Capitalism was why Africa suffered the slave trade and colonialism and neo ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Great points there Panucci. Where have you been hiding with all these great ideas and leaving the field to clowns like Ayittey? We need more of such contributions

• MASTER BRAINS 10 years ago

BEN AND JOHN YOU BETTER GO BACK AND READ WHAT THE PROF IS SAYING.HE DIDN'T MENTION BUSIAH OR DANQUAH, ASHANTI OR AKYEM.DON'T TRY TO HIDE THE NKRUMAH'S DISGRACED ONE PARTY SYSTEM.TRY TO CLEAN YOUR EARS AND YOUR READING GLSSES ...

• KPOKPONKU 10 years ago

COWARDSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• Yaw 10 years ago

All African leaders need to refrain from taking IMF and World Bank loans.Even if we such loans we must make sure put them into areas that are relevant to our development

• YEBOPOWER 10 years ago

J.J and Mahama are typical examples of Ghana'a plunder. Until all the old dump politicians leave the scene, Africa is not going anywhere. The old man mentality and so called wisdom is also the problem facing Africans.Old age, ...

• Glo 10 years ago

So true. We need to find African solutions to this problem. I doubt, however, with the attitude of some members of younger generation that things will improve. Greed and selfishness are the killers in our society.

• NII 10 years ago

These so-called intellectuals are now becoming a nuisance.What do they know at all that their colleague politicians dont know.Always condemning their kit and kins on bad leadership but they have not written or published any b ...

• Panucci 10 years ago

He hangs out with conservative think tanks in America. This man's view of moving Africa forward is free market capitalism. Ayittey does not even realize the american model is failing America. Ayittey blames Nkrumah anytime he ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Most African scholars graduate into ignorance, always committed to nuisance.

Ayittey's penchant to render himself as the foremost African economist is laughable, this punk hardly live on the continent and has published not ...

• Kwame Philly 10 years ago

Here we go again. Uncle Tom Ayittey is sticking out his neck from his shell. Over in America, Mr Ayittey is famous by downing Africans and blacks to the glee of his white racist supporters. He's all too ready to cover his ey ...

• vl 10 years ago

I couldn't agree more with the Professor. He is on target about the failure of his generation. I hope the younger generation do not depend too much on facebook.

• Spiky 10 years ago

This is too simplistic; Ayittey should tell the West to hands-off Africa. They set up Africans, whether leaders or not, to fail; eliminate progressive African leaders like Nkrumah and Lumumba, and pat on the shoulders of trai ...

• Hebert, Sweden 10 years ago

Mr Prof. you are right, we all know what you are saying, but please can you suggest how we go out of this mess?

• kwadwo totobii 10 years ago

The westen imposed democracheat or democrashit which is working nowhere in Africa nor Asia nor in the Middle East
    has been the woe of many african countries because we are not allow to improve on the traditional democracies

• OGBOMOSHO 10 years ago

Your damn right. And the nail in the coffin of Africa's woes is CHRISTIANITY.

• Oheneba osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

You appear on American TV, slamming your country. Do Americans do that?
    You ought to be ashamed of yourself, and the empty headed books you've written.

• Sam 10 years ago

Unfortunately the SSS graduate don't have what it takes from analytical, senergilistic, deep thinking point of view. They are too shallow to take the country and actually make an impact. You must have seen and felt it in you ...

• Tiger Bay 10 years ago

That is the reason why you should joined the New and upcoming movement called The Progressive Alliance Movement in NY.

• Afua UK 10 years ago

I totally agree with the guy's comment about the up and coming progressive alliance movement which is for a change on the youth of Africa.

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Another talkfest,why do we need all these exoctic names in order advance Africa and humanity? Africa should be looking at is better edcation at all levels.Enough of the socialist talkfest,roll up your sleeves and go to work!

• kusi 10 years ago

Stupid prof where were you at that time now that your memory chip is week you coming to disturb our ears with useless talk get a way with this idiot talks