You are here: HomeNews2013 11 16Article 292219

Minority's VAT boycott was just a PR gimmick - Amaliba

Read Comments Comments (57)

• Jakpa 10 years ago

This 2.5 percent VAT will cause price hikes. We must organise nationwide demo.

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

I want to see how govt will present its 2014 Budget.I hope they will not dare try to increase anything again.Thank you.

• Asem. 10 years ago

The so called 25% reduction of the tariff is slowly coming back to hit Ghanaians. This crooked NDC government has crookishly beaten the so called organized labour (TUC) to it. The 25% reduction is nicodemously coming back to ...

• GHANA 10 years ago

BUT KUFFOUR CAME TO INCREASE VAT MORE THAN 100%

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND, MOVIES, BEST GHANA-NIGERIA MOVIES, LOCAL TWI MOVIES PLUS
    OVER 7500 TV and RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM plus LIVE Scores and SPORTS.

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

HURRAY! HURRAY!! HURRAY!!! NIGERIA BECAME THE FIRST AFRICAN COUNTRY TO QUALIFY FOR BRAZIL 2014. ALL JEALOUS GHANAIANS HATERS CAN GO TO HELL.

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 10 years ago

SO TELL ME, WHAT ARE YOUR SO CALLED NIGERIANS GOING TO DO?

NIGERIA IS GOING TO WIN THE WORLD IJN. AFTER ALL, WE ARE THE AFCON 2O12 CHAMPIONS AND WORLD U17 CHAMPIONS AND THE NEXT STEP IS THE WORLD CUP, COMING BACK TO AFRICA THROUGH THE GREAT NIGERIAN SUPER EAGLES. IGNORE NIGERIA'S FO ...

should read: AFCON 2013

• MY PISTOL NEVER JAM 10 years ago

I CAN WAIT TO SEE AFRICAN WIN THE WORLD CUP . THAT WOULD BE ONE LOVE FOR THE ALL THE BLACKS AROUND THE WORLD .

THANK YOU MY BROTHER FOR YOUR POSITIVE THOUGHT. BUT BE CAREFUL WITH YOUR PISTOL THOUGH.

• Poster man 10 years ago

Bawumia is simply an insult to Northerners. All Northerners should distance themselves from this shameful traitor who calls them names. This NPP stooge who only has book knowledge and lacks what Ghanians call "home sense". He ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 10 years ago

DEATH, TAXES, INFLATION. ARE THESE HIKES IN LINE WITH THE RATE OF INFLATION N PAYING DOWN THE NATL DEBT? THE HIKES ARE TOO MUCH. GENERATE REVENUE FROM SPREADING THE TAX NET, CLOSING DOW CORRUPTION LOOPHOLES, STOP BORROWING FR ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

And they will be the first to come home from Brazil

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

We congratulate Nigeria for their strong effort to qualify for inclusion.We also pray that Ghana wins on Tuesday to show the world the strength of the Africans. I wish two teams from Africa can rise to the final stages of the ...

• Zoiks 10 years ago

Why increase VAT or tax when there is a lot of waste in the system? What money can't Ghana get from the ports and harbours if the massive corruption going on there is eliminated or reduced to a minimum? How are the road tolls ...

• GIRLS SP 10 years ago

I FEEL LIKE VOMITING WHENEVER I SEE THIS MONKEY FACE OF AMALIBA

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Tax and develop the country. Create jobs but we will not forgive you if you loot

• wiseman 10 years ago

who is pushing president in this harsh situation?2.5% ohh why? Now lm becoming to support Rawlings for overthrown president limann. amaliba go fuck your mom ass.habba.Mr president plse hve sympathy for the poor people of Gha ...

• NANAO!! MOTHER 10 years ago

We Ghanaians should sacrificed for you fools to steal the money? NDC always thinks about their pocket but not Ghanaians.Sacrificed for your pockets ,is that what you mean Amaliba?

• Asem. 10 years ago

Mr. minister, all the examples given that in Singapore, USA,etc etc. taxes are collected for development is true. But did you pause to compare the economies of Singapore, and USA to that of Ghana? In these countries, the gove ...

• Teye 10 years ago

unfortunately we have left our dear country's destiny in the hands of people, who just can't cut it. we have cut our nose to spite our face, and now we are in deep dodo. a grown man, probably married with children who gloats ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

If you are going to increase taxes,you should not just wake up one morning and say you have the power so that's it.Stakeholders should know the percentage and prepare the minds of the public for debate and so on.We are not in ...

What can you expect from a a government which charges people for conspiracy without co-conspirators ? Wayome was charged with conspiracy. Who are the co-conspirators ? The idiots always do things wrongly before they settle do ...

What can you expect from a government which charges people for conspiracy without co-conspirators ? Wayome was charged with conspiracy. Who are his co-conspirators ? The idiots always do things wrongly before they settle dow ...

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

NDC is a criminal party. They create loot and share our national cake. NDC is an evil party, they have no better plans to move Ghana forward. They never tell us the truth, always telling lies. How can a nation survive when th ...

• GHANA 10 years ago

NPP IS ALWAYS THE SAME SABOTAGER

• Ahensan 10 years ago

ooooh N.D.C gvt why rr u doing dis to our dear Nation?Today dis,Tomorrow dat why ?so wat shd we do 2 survive in our own cntry?The Minority took a gud step.Now ,our own company's productivity is going down,Big Hotels rr now co ...

• ph. 10 years ago

who is Lawyer Amaliba? How old is his kids? how much tax has he contribute to Ghana development? Am sorry for you.

• kwesi kwesi 10 years ago

Why is it always right to approve financial matters? i have never heard parliament pass a single law. the motherland is a big mess

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Why are Ghanaians allowing such USELESS to take us for ransom?????

What are the other minority parties doing?
    Stand up and be counted!!!! For goodness sake!
    Just because the two most USELESS parties have majority in powe ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Just recently, Senator Cruz stood on his feet for hours trying to let everyone know that he was against Obamacare. Even though it was a fool's errand, he did it to make a point.

Instead of minority staying there to debate ...

• Tony DEE 10 years ago

Real suckers all NDC think is to suck the populace. Can the NDC majority ever think that the populace also deserve something? Increase in tariffs now increase in VAT. Okay , the government need financies fine, does the govern ...

• NANA YAW 10 years ago

EVERY ONE WHO VOTE FOR NDC WILL BE DELT WITH BY GOD

• Yaw Kusi 10 years ago

They walked out the very first time VAT was introduced by the Rawlings administration, and later, when the NPP came to power, they came and chopped the VAT money NYAFU, NYAFU. Leave them. The NPP will never learn. They think ...

• this is your chance ladies 10 years ago

travel opportunity for women in Oman.

female house helps are needed in Oman in the Gulf, everything has been sponsored by our partners in Oman all we need is your passport and in 3 weeks time you are gone

free:visa

f ...

• Ibn dawud 10 years ago

In fact the NPP boycott of parliamentary proceedings was actually a political gimmicks, it was like something they had already planned to do.However, even look at the kind of words the Minority leader was using,obviously unca ...

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

This cheap NPP behaviour is out of order. Without taxes nothing can be done. Look at the measures being taken by even developed countries. Why Ghana we always make fuss of nothing. The Opposition must not be paid for the day ...

• SAINT NUA KRONKRON 10 years ago

THE TAX ALREADY COLLECTED, WHAT IS IT BEING USED FOR

HOW CAN YOU TAX WHEN THE GOVERNMENT HAS NO IDEA HOW TO CREAT JOBS AND MAJORITY OF THE GHANAIANS ARE SUFFERING TO FEED THEIR KIDS?

• SAARA-MENSA 10 years ago

ADD MORE PEOPLE TO THE TAX NET. THAT'S EASIER.

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

YOU DON'T TAX WHEN THERE'S NO MONEY IN SYSTERM AND THE ECONOMY IS DEAD.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• OH GHANA 10 years ago

BECAUSE EVERYTHING IS GOING WELL WITH YOU, YOU THINK IT IS THE SAME FOR EVERYBODY. THEY WAY GHANA IS BEEN BUTCHERED, BE CAREFUL YOU DON'T TOUCH THE HEART, ELSE, THAT WILL BE ITS END

• Abongo 10 years ago

When Kufuor sold our drill ship without passing through parliament did you guys walk out dam idiots

• SHAKAMORA 10 years ago

kwasea amaliba

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

One should na be surprised. Anyone that is, woz born just abt 7yrs ago

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

Look at his face like a chuli.

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

YOU CAN'T RUN THE COUNTRY BY A REPEATED TAXES.
    CUT DOWN YOUR GOVERNMENT. IT IS TOO BIG. WE HAVE 275 PALIAMENTARIANS, THAT NEED TO BE CUT ALSO. GET RID OF YOUR DEPUTY MINISTERS, YOUR STAFFERS ARE UNHEARD OF, THEREFORE,IT NEE ...

• OWEN, NEW YORK. 10 years ago

Ghanaians are enjoying because they are now in the middle and high income groups. Life is now better than before and people have enough to eat and drink. Thanks to the good management of the super N.D.C party and their better ...

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

ARE YOU SERIOUS OWEN? OR YOU ARE BEING SARCASTIC ?

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Cut your salaries and other benefits to accommodate the 2.5% tax raise. your big salaries are not justified to your poor and corrupted serves to the nation. Is so embarrassing that nobody in NDC able to make sensible statemen ...

• Stanley 10 years ago

This is the only way for you to serve your people?If you don't have the ideas to run the Country,Pleeaassee quit! After all no one force you people to be President.

• librahim 10 years ago

Don't u kw them this is how they are..npp

• MOHAMMEDTABA IDDRISU 10 years ago

The Minority was right because Majority keeps increasing Taxis for their own selfish interests not for the good people of Ghana.I am urging the good people of Ghana to remain calm In sha-Alah whatever the increment is it will ...

• Efo Kobla 10 years ago

The govt know the TUC is a pack of empty heads hence they reduce electricity tariffs and converted it to VAT. With VAT every Ghanaian is going to pay unlike electricity where only users pay. Cheating govt.