You are here: HomeNews2013 11 14Article 292025

Treatment in Ghana’s prisons humanly degrading - UN

Read Comments Comments (39)

• william 10 years ago

Now when government makes the move some people cannot politicize it and even claim freedom of religion rights!!!!
    BUT WHY CAN'T THE FAITH-BASED BODIES CREATE THEIR OWN PEER REVIEW MECHANISM AND SPARE GOVERNMENT THE 'WAHALA' ...

This victoria hammah affair is of major concern , let us not forget even in America president Nixon was forced to resign or face impeachment for much much less as all he did was eavesdrop. here pepeni has confirmed he was abl ...

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND, MOVIES, BEST GHANA-NIGERIA MOVIES, LOCAL TWI MOVIES PLUS
    OVER 7500 TV and RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM plus LIVE Score ...

• DR SOLOMON ACQUAH 10 years ago

“We saw children shackled. Children who evidently did not have mental disorders, they had Neurological disorders. Some autistic others epileptic and the shackling does not help them at all at least not from a medical perspe ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Our nation in the doldrums,here is the 21st century with minds shackled to the 14th.Law makers themselves are aloof and no better off in their understanding of what they are elected to do, if they do,they would legislate to b ...

• SK 10 years ago

GO TO NIGERIA AND SEE!!!!!!!!!

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

What is the prison meant for? To
    punish the offenders,with good behavious you are not expected tobe
    there.Even they should die in prison.
    That will be better for them.

• DR SOLOMON ACQUAH 10 years ago

“We saw children shackled. Children who evidently did not have mental disorders, they had Neurological disorders. Some autistic others epileptic and the shackling does not help them at all at least not from a medical perspe ...

• Karma 10 years ago

Sk you are a fool for involving Nigeria in your shit! Get it right that Ghana is gradually sinking!

• BETTER GHANA 10 years ago

We need the UN recommendations as. Soon as possible. thanks you UN

• Sakawa Boy 10 years ago

30YEARS FOR A GOAT THIEF AND A POLITICTIAN STEAL MILLIONS OF CEDIS AND WALK FREE AND SENTENCE FOR 5YEARS...STUPID JUDGES WE HAVE IN GHANA..UN AND THE WEST MUST INTERVENE OR SOONER OR LATER THERE WILL BE REVOLUTION AND THIS LA ...

• Sakawa Boy 10 years ago

And Woyome is still free man

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

Look at the homeless and kayakaya around Accra and see how the MP's live large on tax payer's money for little or no work.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

WHEN "HOLY SPIRIT" IS AT WORK WHO CAN STOP 'HER'. SHE WILL SEE EVERY CORNER OF THE COUNTRY WELL-FAIR. "HOLY SPIRIT" REMIND EVERY CITIZEN BE RIGHTEOUS TO FIX OUR BELOVED MOTHER LAND GHANA/AFRICA. AAAAAAA AMEN.

• Philip 10 years ago

The prisons are not holiday camps. the prisons are there for punishing and correcting law breakers especially convicted armed robbers.

• boys abr3 10 years ago

prisons are suppose to be a place where by one gets help after committing a crime, to be able to function in society again when they get out. it is suppose to be a therapeutic place for crime committers. and they are not supp ...

• Kofi Lawyer 10 years ago

UN officials must visit courts such as the Juaben Court where the courts allow a mentally retarded patient to be put on trial. This is the corruption and degrading phenomena happening in our courts. The corrupt policemen hav ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

This is an act of sovereign nations. I doubt, the UN can say the same about the China, Guantanamo Bay, Indonesia,etc.

We are a poor nation and can not afford the re offending rates of the USA, UK etc.

If the UN wants b ...

• OSEI, usa 10 years ago

YOU CANNOT PUT KIDS IN SHACKLES BECAUSE YOU ARE A POOR NATION. ALTISTIC KIDS NEED TREATMENT , NOT TORTURE. TOO MANY OF OUR PASTORS ARE ILLITERATE OR SEMI-LITERATE. THE ATTRIBUT MENTAL ILLNESS TO DEMONS, MAMI WATA, WITCHCRAFT ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

@Osei.. I never raised the issue of mental illness because every Ghanaian knows and understands something must be done about it. The pastors are under problem altogether.

My issue was with the treatment of prisoners which ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

YOU HAVE A BUNCH OF GOON godless animals in charge and do you think they care for prisoners?

• STEVE. 10 years ago

Do we really have to wait for an "OYIBO" to visit our country to tell us we are doing the wrong thing? Well Nkrumah said the "Black man is capable of managing his own affairs" So, where lies that capability?

• KOFI 10 years ago

It simply means Nkrumah was dreaming. He was wrong! After 50 years of independence, we have to give contract to Koreans to build 'residential homes' for us. After 50 years of independence, people still shit at the beach. ...

• Kpeglo 10 years ago

It's a shame when a few years ago Ghana was the envy of all other west Afican countries and even the rest of Africa but now look at us. We doesn't need the UN to tell as epilepsy , autism can be treated or managed, not be qui ...

• MY PISTOL NEVER JAM 10 years ago

PUNISH THEM SEVERELY WAY TO CHANGE , SORRY FOR THE INNOCENT ONES.

• Kpeglo 10 years ago

People like you also make me feel we have a long way to go. Yes prison is meant for correction and how do we correct.? I think sensible people will say via education,trade and vocation learning. Prisoners came out worse than ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Sometimes i hate democratic government, that should be the place for thief kufour, nana addo, jake obetsebi , and Kennedy agyapong for instigating akan's to kill our allies the Gas and Ewe's and also lynch any security perso ...

• AHMED YACOB 10 years ago

This is what she is suppose to be seeing to rather than going to see JUDGES.

• Efoe 10 years ago

This is rubbish. Why don't you make a report on the Guantanamo Bay detention camp? Stop bothering us with all the lie you make about Africa.

• Opeele 10 years ago

Who told you that they have not made reports condemning Guantanamo Bay detention camp? We did not even need a white man to tell us these problems. A lot of renowned scholars and journalist have been pointing out these problem ...

• We The People 10 years ago

Incredible as it sounds. The hammer falls on the heads of all politicians from Nkrumah's time to Present. There is no need for such a Curse to befall Ghana. Blessed with Natural Resources ion Abundance, our Politicians have s ...

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

The prisoners deserve what they are going through. I'be no empathy for a prisoner, afteral how would they change their attitudes if they get a fair treatment?

• Kk3 10 years ago

There is supposed to be a minister handling such issues....,

• LONDON 10 years ago

PLEASE VISIT AGAIN AND BRING IT OUT . BUT WHAT CAN WE DO . WE WANT TO HEAR ITS NOT JUST SAYING IT

• mama 10 years ago

this is not new, mental health seen as demonic affair, it's time someone stands up for these poor individuals

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

The UN is always making noise even to the extent of castigating nations which do not support lesbian and gay lifestyles. If Mendez is not happy he should tell the UN to give the nation the much needed funds to improve condit ...

• Stan 10 years ago

it's sad the food they eat..how they sleep..the toilet ..no medicine no cars to take prisoners to hospital..prisoners have to borrow money to help officers take them to hospital and most die on the way cos of the delay..pls U ...

• james Antwi 10 years ago

it is very poor,but if they can realease them through general remission or reduction of sentence. cos they are from us and we could all go there. Ghana is poor in investigations n have long sentences too much. Some of these p ...

• Fire 10 years ago

The ghanian judgess r ful be'cos is not there childrem ful contry