You are here: HomeNews2013 11 09Article 291495

Defunct national carrier turned into a restaurant

Read Comments Comments (43)

• aristotle 10 years ago

If the NPP erred in mismanging the airlines,NDC should have done something better rather than letting this happen. At least an airline that could fly once a week to a destination. I was very surprised the late Atta mills said ...

• TOGBE FIAWORSIMEH 10 years ago

Aristotle,

Please note that, the NPP did not mismanage the airline. By the time the NPP took over from NDC (who had been in power for 2 decades), the airline had already been mismanaged to the point of collapse and had bec ...

• aristotle 10 years ago

Thank you for the school of thought.
    I said that NPP mismanaged it because anything that goes bad on the side of the NDC was caused by NPP as they use to say. They have only put this country on its knees by looting and shari ...

• K.Y. Asante 10 years ago

So you want to tell us it was an NDC Minister of Transportation Hon. Richard Anane who illegally took $10,000 from Ghana Airways coffers in New York to pay an Ashawo African-American woman who later had a child for him?

If ...

K.Y. Asante,

You are entitled to your own opinion. However, I think I'm telling the truth as it is. Can a $10,000 misappropriation kill a whole national airline?

Assuming Richard Anane's alleged diversion of funds is t ...

• aristotle 10 years ago

Tobge,now you see how the NDC scold NPP for all their failures? They will always push to the blame to NPP as I said.

Aristotle,

Don't worry, I understand your point. In the end, nobody benefits from the blame game. We can only grow as a nation if we genuinely own up to our mistakes and failures and resolve to put them behind us and do be ...

• aristotle 10 years ago

Very yes my bro,NPP did somethings that made them unpopular in terms of governance and are paying dearly for it. Is a fact they failed,so I was thinking these guys would fix it.

• Yorkeshire 10 years ago

am coming to enjoy some of the givens hope I can eat organic Ghanaian food there hallelujah.

• Senior citizen Bs. Germany 10 years ago

This is a fine renovational project which is second to non gloally, I say so for the fact that I have never seen some in my travels nor read about this kind of turning an unsed aircraft into a resraurant.The company must ensu ...

• prd Ghanaian 10 years ago

srry
    to our former leaders that died for nothing..

Ghana our beloved country is not free and will not be free until some ppl account for all this BS

• wawa 10 years ago

An airconditioned well insulated place with only one main entrance and lots of flammable materials...

• kwasi 10 years ago

and pay big money for their foods

• DAN 10 years ago

that serve american foods..I can get pizza for $5 (10 cedi) for large size..Try getting that in ghana..Beef burger is only $1 for small one in usa..Since they make their profit on Coca-cola($1.75-$1.9) order water!

• DAN 10 years ago

or in your cardboard home you dumb Nigger???? When you lite candles and burn the paper you place your head on??? They have installed sprinklers and hopefully the real kitchen(not the galley) is on ground!

• KOFI YEESU 10 years ago

Toronto, Canada had a similar aircraft-turned-into a-restaurant at the airport hangar in the late 1970s.
    Ghana is NOT the first..."This is your captain speaking......Enjoy your meals on board our disabled DC10, and THANKS fo ...

• mka Ltd 10 years ago

thanks to DR KWAME NKRUMAH (first prez of GH). will forever not forgotten

• Ghfuo, be serious $ change ur thinkin 10 years ago

Really. This is why we fought for independence? I hate gh.

• Choo Boi 10 years ago

It surely has some srings to K4 and family or friends,.Mark my words.

• buyaa 10 years ago

Like what?Afterall,the owners of the restaurant are Indians.You can't link them to NPP.Think with your head

• kwamina andrews 10 years ago

Carrier is the airline. the carrier is defunct and one of its planes has been turned into a restaurant. are there any editors left in Ghana? The story of ghana airways is a disgrace and this is a sore reminder that we couldn' ...

• SECURITY ANALYST 10 years ago

I am afraid this facility might be an easy target for terrorists.

• kwasi 10 years ago

TERRORIST CANT MISS SUCH A BIG OBGECT

• DAN 10 years ago

only foolish muslims kill each other! look at Boko Harem or Syria...Muslims are killing there own brothers more than christians!

• Kyekyeku 10 years ago

That is Ghanaor you, the black star of Africa by mouth, go to Ethiopia and Kenya and see what Africa should be and not too known Ghana ,

• COCONUTHEAD 10 years ago

Ghana Airways must fly again! And if it does, none of the previous employees need apply for a job. They were the cause of this national pride going belly up.

When Ghana Airways flew from New York to Accra, you could have ...

• YOU AND I 10 years ago

after a year or two of its operation you would need a boarding pass. this is ghana for you.

• NINA MAE BOATENG (Austria) 10 years ago

AN ACCOUNTANT OF THE FORMER GHANA AIRWAYS???

CHECK IT OUT!!!

NEPOTISM.

• DAN 10 years ago

do you own your tin shack? or do you pay rent Do you have clay fired toilet to sit on or do you squat and shit on poison ivy(ha,ha)

• Catherine 10 years ago

Any way people who can't fly on plan can go on resturant areoplan.

• LAMBOGINI 10 years ago

Ghana has more intellectuals who are thieves than 50 years ago. They are expects in chewing and destroying what one man established about 50 years ago. These incompetent, senseless and greedy leaders should go and learn from ...

• ......... 10 years ago

that we deserve animals to control us?

• Ghfuo, be serious $ change your think 10 years ago

I would rather delete gh from Earth than have an Indian management anything there...indiafuor no no....

• Uncle Mends, Western Region 10 years ago

How foolish can we be! Every serious nation has a national airline.

• prempeh 1. 10 years ago

That was the reason why obadwemba Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, the only visionary leader in Ghana told the Parliamentarians in the 60s that the British Oversease Airways Coperation ( B.O.A.C) which cater for Ghana-Nigeria-Sier ...

• sad man 10 years ago

its sad to say but i cant even imagine where ghana will be in the next 10 years

• Janet..UK 10 years ago

Our leaders must think before they act. How can they allow this at the Airport?

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

U don't say....

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

"This is a manifestation of government creation of an environment conducive for sustained business and growth of the aviation industry in Ghana". Wasn't this the aircraft Limann bought in 1980 but was ran down by Jerry Rawlin ...

• JB Ansong 10 years ago

What has gone wrong with GNA journalists?

A carrier is definitely NOT a plane but an entire airline - like BA, Virgin etc so how could a carrier be refurbished into a restaurant?

• odunga 10 years ago

Ghana is truly a disgraced country indeed. The gov't should immediately bring down the national flag standing high on the plane. I weep for Ghana. Shame to those who attended the innaugration.

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST ok www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Oga yum yum 10 years ago

ghana is sick