You are here: HomeNews2013 11 09Article 291449

Harry Sawyerr is dead

Read Comments Comments (61)

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Harry Sawyer. I still remember the Tata buses.
    Onukpa Sawyer yaa wor ye hedzol3 mli.

• YAW 10 years ago

No . It's not Akilakpa Sawyer. It is your criminal father.

• kobiano Germany 10 years ago

U WERE TOUGH SOMETIME AGO!

• Kojo 10 years ago

Harry Sawyerr served as Minister for Transport in the Limann PNP government, and within two years introduced city express buses. You pay 1 cedi to anywhere in Accra, there inter-city buses everywhere, and the amazing thing is ...

• Nana 10 years ago

Kojo, good tribute, but you forgot to add that he was Minister for Transport and Communications (when government was reasonable and not as big as NDC and NPP have done by breaking ministries into small units and multiplying t ...

• Ghana_Muntie 10 years ago

In this country anymore? If these charlatans we have to contend with, made do with just their remuneration,we would not see any of the economics difficulties presently staring us in the face in this nation!
    He was,indeed,one ...

• Counsellor 10 years ago

Rest in perfect peace Harry!

• rkt 10 years ago

thank u kojo, u said it all, but he was not just one of the best in a generation, he was one of the best in a lifetime, a century and more!
    Onukpa Kpakpa Akilakpa, GH's first Chartered Quantity Surveyor, old boy of Bleooo (t ...

• Frank Appiah 10 years ago

Harry Sawyer was a great man but he was not the first Chartered Quantity Surveyor.May his soul rest in peace.

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 10 years ago

Kojo, in addition to the service to Ghana, he provided candidate John Attah Mills a free house at Kuku Hill, which the late president used as his campaign headquarters. Mills later appointed Harry's highly qualified daughter ...

• william 10 years ago

Statesman, above pettiness, you soldiered on and left an indelible mark. Damirifa Due.

• akwesi 10 years ago

Finest minister,like the Col.Bernasco,Minyela in Gen.Acheampong regime.i weep for Harry SAWYER,HARRY SAWYER BUESES,We'll never forget you.RIP.

here we go again with the theater of propaganda tricks making it appear they want to do the right thing by criticizing themselves , its all lies , dont fall for the hype .we respected the call for a truce after they came cryi ...

• Nyorkopio 10 years ago

Hn. Harry Sawyer is NOT Akilakpa Sawyer.
    Aki was the Pro Vice Chanceller of University of Ghana some time ago, and as far as I know, is still alive. Hon. Harry Sawyer was a Chartered Surveyor by training, and a great statesm ...

• Adi-Buer 10 years ago

My friend Aki was never PRO Vice Chancellor. He was Vice-Chancellor. From the Faculty of Law to V-C.

• Nyorkopio 10 years ago

Yes. Aki was the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ghana back in the day when I was there. I Stand corrected. The thesis of my posting is that Aki is NOT Hon. Harry Sawyerr. I think you got that right.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

May your soul rest in perfect peace.

• jackmore 10 years ago

Aponkye sawyer rest in peace, may God keep your soul in peace and receive you in his bossom. Ghana will forever remember you.

• DESTINY 10 years ago

But what age? Did well in life. Probably survived almost every change in government.
    May his soul rest in perfect peace. (KPOO, anyemi).

• PASQUIN 10 years ago

YOU HAVE SERVED MOTHER GHANA WELL. REST IN PEACE.

• George (Sydney) 10 years ago

Rest in perfect peace, my condolences to the family and my friend Stephen Sawyer.

• Nii 10 years ago

George: I echo your comments but unfortunately, I understand Stephen has passed on - really nice guy he was.

• Adjetey King 10 years ago

You were a fine statesman and contributed lot to education in GHana during your term as minister of ducation. RIP

• NAAH BANZIE. 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT THAT,,, HE IS A.GOOD MAN IN GHANA HISTORY... R.I.P MR SAWYER.

• Concerned 10 years ago

May the good Lord grant you peace. Surely one of the greatest men the country has produced. Only mistake was joining the ndc

• Concerned 10 years ago

May the good Lord grant you peace. Surely one of the greatest men the country has produced. Only mistake was joining the ndc

• Concerned 10 years ago

May the good Lord grant you peace.

• Concerned 10 years ago

May the good Lord grant you peace.

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

These JSS journalists did not even know that Harry Sawyer served as Transportation Minister under the Limann government - the same government that his coup addict, Jerry Rawlings senselessly overthrew. He jumped on the PNDC m ...

• Wuorfei 10 years ago

At least he wasn't the one wielding the guns, anyway I join you in saying rest in peace Mr. Sawyer!

• Adiatogbor 10 years ago

Harry Sawyer was not the only one that served in the PNDC govt. Kuffour also did.

• James 10 years ago

I am just curious.Was he a Quantity Surveyor or a Land Surveyor or what type of surveyor?

• Nyorkopio 10 years ago

Hon. Harry Sawyer, like Dr. George Benneh, had the political maturity to serve Ghana regardless of the party in power. They served accross party lines. That is what I would call "principled". Smartness and common sense should ...

I concur.

• Kan Na wo 10 years ago

May his soul rest in perfect peace.

• ras 10 years ago

rip

• Steve 10 years ago

May his soul rest in peace

• Gaana 10 years ago

May your soul rest in peace but Please tell Agya Atta to keep haunting John 'killer'Mahama.

• Americano 10 years ago

Agya Atta will call all of the corrupt politicians home very soon including JJ Rawlings, Tony Aidoo, and ET Mensah

• tijani 10 years ago

oh im sad today, my condolence with the family. may his soul R.I.P.

• EX-AYIGBE 10 years ago

Harry had something to do with the demise of BLACK STAR LINE. He did not serve Ghana as you the young ones might think.

• CAPE COAST BOY 10 years ago

GHANA NEED PEOPLE LIKE HARRY SAWYER

• Maxi A 10 years ago

Old Boy Rest in peace. man is not the judge

Bleoo accra aca

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

Harry (and not Akilapka) Sawyer may have done some good things and he might be credited with introducing Tata buses from India into Ghana. My main direct encounter with him was when he served as Chairman of the Korle-Bu Teach ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

MAY HE REST IN PEACE! (RIPP)

• Ceeboy Dangerman 10 years ago

Dead and so what??

• KK USA 10 years ago

FOOLISH MAN ONE OF NDCMEN IS GONE GO GO GO AWAY

• EB uk 10 years ago

KK USA , your father is the biggest fool of all, and if he hasn't gone I pray to God He takes him soon

• Oga yum yum 10 years ago

may his soul rest in peace,....

indeed, he was an opportunist.

what did he say about the death of thousands ghanaians rawlings killed?

there is an african proverb which says that show me your friends and i will be ab ...

• Private Mensah 10 years ago

Your services to Ghana respected

• ALHAJI KANO 10 years ago

THESE WERE THE PEOPLE WHO SOWED WHAT WE ARE REAPING TODAY,MAY THE LORD DEALS WITH HIM AS HE DEALS WITH EVERY BAD PERSON.MAY HIS SOUL REST IN THE SATAN DEN.

• Joe boye 10 years ago

How do u report a death without the age, the cause, the family and some vital details abt the man? What a shoddy reportage of news. By the way his soul R I P

• natty 10 years ago

Great Guy really

• grace 10 years ago

May his soul rest in peace½

• Felix Tetteh 10 years ago

Harry was also the minister for Transport and Communication under the Liman administration;ordered TATA buses from India, City Express.I think he must be honored for that as well.

• Mma 10 years ago

rest in peace, i used to like him a lot

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

kk usa is this a name? Kwasea, when we talk of men, is your grandpa near Sawyer? May youd soul rest in peace.

• F. T. Dzodzegbe 10 years ago

Rip

• XXX 10 years ago

GET UR FACTS TO REPORT WELL

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST look www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• Ashkenazi 10 years ago

HARRY SAWYER WAS MINISTER OF TRANSPORT AND COMMUNICATIONS IN DR. HILLARY LIMANS GOVERNMENT AND HE INTRODUCED THE CITY EXPRESS, CITY LINE, AND GREEN LINE TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM IN THE COUNTRY WHICH WAS COLLAPSED UNDER A NEW NA ...