You are here: HomeNews2013 11 08Article 291372

Ghana is broke – George Ayittey

Read Comments Comments (60)

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Ghana Movies, Nigeria Movies,
    Twi Movies etc plus HD Sports TV AND OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Ghanaba, USA 10 years ago

The government MUST pare down expenditure - dissolve/streamline some organizations, eliminate irrelevant programs and the respective lecturers from the universities, get rid i.e. fire some public servants, remove subsidies, r ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

After abandoning your country and using your talent and most productive years elsewhere, don't come and criticize the little we have done ourselves.

• DKB 10 years ago

If he had stayed and offered advice, you same ZoRRo baby with sharp teeth would have labled him too known, NPP supporter or a nation wrecker. Well unfortunately, the little we have done over the past five years is pathetic t ...

• NKRABEA 10 years ago

YOU APPEAR TOO FRUSTRATED AND PESSIMISTIC ABOUT GHANA'S GROWTH POTENTIALS DKB!!!!I GUESS THESE WERE THE SAME SENTIMENTS THAT DROVE YOU TO SLAP OR STRIKE THE POOR SIERRA LEONANIE LADY ZEINAB ON BBA REALITY SHOW IN 2012. BE A M ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

What DKB said is pertinent. MAHAMA IS NOT DOING AND ACHIEVING ANYTHING. He is rather destroying the little he inherited. When those of us who know what can be done to reverse the trend say it, unreasonable and clueless inexpe ...

• Abal 10 years ago

I totally second your opinium!!!!

• Jonny 10 years ago

you are one of the kind of people who dont want the truth. If the criticism is positive i dont see anything wrong with it.

• Pito Brewer 10 years ago

By any definition, Ghana has been broke since the advent of OPEC in the early 1970s.

• Helloooo!! 10 years ago

THE COUNTRY IS BURNING, AND THE KITCHEN IS FATABULOUSLY HOT. IF YOU CANNOT STAND THE HEAT, PARK SOME BAGS, GRAB YOUR PASSPORT, AND LEAVE THE COUNTRY. EVEN AGEEEGE CANNOT SAVE YOU PEOPLE NOW.

• SHAMO 10 years ago

CAN ANYTHING GOOD COME FROM VERRANDAH BOYS?_LOOOTING LOOTING AND LOOTING IS THE ORDER OF THE DAY.... COMPARE YEAR 2009 PHOTOS OF THESE NDC THIEVES TO NOW.... OKUDJETO, MAHAMA AYARIGA, OFOSU KWAKYE, OFOSU AMPOFO, FIIFI KWETEY, ...

• Tee 10 years ago

NDC is the only party that can serve Ghana I tell u with Jesus in the boat John Mahama will succeed Amen

• I & I 10 years ago

Go ahead and bury your head in the sand like the Ostrich, Kwasea!!!

the short memory of these so called journalists is worrying . look at what this same bagbin did as minister or works and housing , there its more evident his corrupt unscrupulous lying character in the stx , chinese and numer ...

• ZAMIA, LONDON 10 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT WHEN A DEPUTY MINISTER IS AIMING TO STEAL AT LEAST ONE MILLION DOLLARS BEFORE QUITTING HER OFFICE OR RETIRE FROM POLITICS. GHANA IS INDEED A FAILED NATION WITH PROLIFIC AND CALCULATED THIEVES AT THE HELM OF ...

• Esi-Nana 10 years ago

A Single-Spine cannot support the current massive financial weight placed on it that is why its broken. Ghana needs a double-spine to survive this weight.

• Bogoso 10 years ago

Hahahaha

the short memory of these so called journalists is worrying . look at what this same bagbin did as minister or works and housing , there its more evident his corrupt unscrupulous lying character in the stx , chinese and numer ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Before the recent gone General Election which Mahama lost, but bribed
    evil Afari Djan to declare him the winner, said to the Ghanaian People that NDC puppet adminisdtration, has
    completely squandered every pesewa in the Gov ...

• Apraku 10 years ago

Can I reflect what Mahama said sometime ago when the opposition started complaining about his borrowing " He said Ghana has enough room to borrow"

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Ghana is broke, and didnt happen over night.This is the climax of many years of poor economic decisions and mismanagement. A public company cannot trade in the position Ghana is in currently. A nation that houses all but few ...

• poor ewes 10 years ago

I won’t quit politics until I make US$1m': Deputy Communications Minister, Victoria Hammah,

• Tuntum 10 years ago

The Prez must stop his corrupt officials and his hollow Ministers from destroying the Country. The Prez himself must stop his corrupt way and stop his infantile behaviour and the way of life.

• poor ewes 10 years ago

I WON'T QUIT POLITICS UNTIL I MAKE US$1M-DEPUTY MINISTER VICTORIA HAMMAH

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

The stupid president no obetie wo a anka eni? He is so stupid and will not listen to good advice from wise persons like you Mr George ayittey. The guy (jon foolish dramani Mahama)is drunk with crimes and foolish idiologies

• IDE BE K3K3 10 years ago

The Mahama Government inherited the "huge structural deficit problem" from the Mills Administration in which Mahama was Head of the Economic Management Team. In other words, Mahama inherited the "huge structural deficit probl ...

• Bukom Ghana 10 years ago

You are right - Mahama inherited a structural deficit of HIS own making.
    However, there is no truth to your statement that "He used State money and resources to finance his campaign" as the reason for Ghana going broke. The ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Ghana is doing okay don't listen to these alarmist street economists.With high growth it means you can borrow more and spend more since both actually aid further economic exansion thus the borrowing and spending actually pay ...

• gretchy 10 years ago

Geeze don't listen to that twerp i agree.Give Mahama space and he will deliver.Its his useless advisors thatneed to sharpen up or jit the high road.Ummm but i wish he get the salary issue back on track at Tema clinic

• Bony 10 years ago

are you crazy,what space does he needs again after 5yrs in office

• Awudu Ghana 10 years ago

I will advise to ask NPP gurus to bring back all stollen moneies from Ghana.Amen

• Bony 10 years ago

Awudu that is a good suggestion, it all depend on the govnmnt today to do that, check how they exploited the country so bad, monitor how they did their transactions, arrest the bad people have sent the to situation. But he do ...

• God's child 10 years ago

Awudu,truth is something neither you or your propagandist party can never hide. Your party paraded all around the globe just before the elections about how unprecedented Ghana's economy was. At home, lead by Fiifi Quartey, yo ...

• Modibo Keita 10 years ago

Mahama should first of all start by reducing his large number of Ministers and their deputies. He should also reduce the large presidential staff at the flagstaff house. They all draining the govt purse. Then reduce ...

• liv 10 years ago

Thank you.

• tiger shark 10 years ago

this is nothing new.Ghana has been broke since Independence,suprising that this guy has now come to realise this.the british left a Nation with nothing.The colonialists after decades of stealing our resources left every sing ...

• KWAME A. 10 years ago

God help Ghana... What country is not broke. Thank God that Mr Ayitte is retired economist. What is wrong with these people... Which country is not broke apart from China?

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

WO MAAME TWE! YOU HERE!!

• real me 10 years ago

,But Ghana is rule by Amateurs leaders with power.. With no idea what they are doing.. And people of Ghana are blinded religion.. They are easy to be fool.. Believe in any BS they throw at them.. Free your brain out the BS re ...

• GOOGLE MY ASS 10 years ago

CHINA HAS NOTHING , U.S.A HAS HUGE INVESTED IN CHINA BCOS OF THE CHEAP LABOUR AND ALMOST 60% THE HOTELS AND THE COMPANIES IN CHINA BELONGS TO THE U.S.A . THERE'S A LOT OF CHINESE HUSTLERS IN GHANA TRYING TO MAKE IT .

• Muhammed Bala Wagon 10 years ago

The country is in crisis, salary of public servant should be reduce by 10% to help solve the crisis. NSS have to pay it's personnel as per October allowance

• TUTU 10 years ago

.....how can he do anything about it?

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Yes, I said that Northerners are poor administrators. Why? Liman and Mahama presidency are a testament to that. When Liman became president, his administration came under intense and unstoppable corruption which brought JJ ...

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

Pelicles, I agree with you that Liman was ineffective and allowed the old CPP hands to run wild with Corruption, offering JJ a more plausible excuse to strike back than what some of us contemplated as JJ's real reason for the ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

PELICLES I DISAGREE WITH YOU. RATHER IT IS THOSE STUPID ONES IN THE NDC THAT ARE BAD. BECAUSE ALL THE GHANAIAN THIEVES-ARMED(FOOT-SOLDIERS) ROBBERS(RAWLINGS),CONVICTS(TATSU), AND TROKOSES ARE IN NDC. EVEN TOGOLESE WILL TELL ...

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Why pay an unproductive workforce so much? Parliamentarians, Ministers of state , govt appointees and civil/public servants don't deserve what has been prescribed under the current SSPP because they are highly unprductive. Yo ...

• NII AYIKAI 10 years ago

HAS THE PROF JUST REALIZED THAT GHANA IS BROKE? WHAT A PITY?

• KOFI NSIA 10 years ago

WHERE WAS AITTEY,WHEN GHANA NEEDED A PRUDENT FINANCE MINISTER?

• NII AYIKAI 10 years ago

PRESIDENT MAHAMA AND ALL HIS MINISTERS SHOULD DECLARE THEIR ASSETS BEFORE BECOMING MINISTERS AND ALSO DECLARE WHAT THEY HAVE ACQUIRED SINCE THEN. LET'S SEE THE GOOD ONES AMONG THEM.

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

George Ayittey must shut the heck up, if he has nothing constructive to offer. He has always criticized Ghana, without offering any constructive suggestions for improving our Economy. He even went to the US Congress to denou ...

• Bukom Ghana 10 years ago

Ayittey made a career out of blaming black people everywhere for everything problem on earth. The white racists of the USA loved him so much. Here they had a black man essentially doing their racist work for them. And they ho ...

Your thinking is part of the reason Ghana will sink further. The truth of the matter is that foreign investors know how corrupt we are so they come to take advantage of us.

• Afeto Kwasi 10 years ago

The truth hurts. Politicians and party sychophants and others cannot expect this level of looting the National coffers to be sustainable. Sooner or later there will be no money for the Government to do anything. Ghanaians sho ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Very interesting observation.

• kojo 10 years ago

Amen to that. He professes without offering solutions. This man is not good.
    If he wants to do something to help here is my suggestion to him with all of his USA connection
    Dr Ayittey
    I respect you a lot and believe you h ...

• mugu1 10 years ago

George Ayittey is foolishman

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

AND THIS HUGE STRUCTURAL DEFICIT PROBLEM, BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION, MANIPULATION, EMBEZZLEMENT AND STEALING
    WERE AS A RESULT OF NPP BAD GOVERNMEMT.

IT IS TIME KUFFOUR AND THE REST OF HIS CORRUPT MINISTERS ARE ARRESTED, CHA ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

And so Ghana is broke; good!

- this is no news; for,

- there isn't a State on the face of Planet Earth that isn't broke; and, Kwame Nkrumah Ghana is doing well comparatively

- what is Geoge Ayittey talking about?; he ...

• Stanley 10 years ago

Oh Ghanaian voters,when're you going to see the light?

• Pito Brewer 10 years ago

Ghana has always been broke. Where has this guy been?