I think suing politicians is a healthy move to cut their overgrown wings to size. I am not optimistic but would love to see how this pens out in the court of law. Out politicians have become lawless, while decrying the same. They have made themselves the police, prosecutors and judges according to the positions they occupy.
HON SHAMO 12 years ago
THE END THIS CASE WILL BE INTERESTING! UNDER NDC BUGABUGA RULING EVERYWHERE IS MESS
PRINCE KWASI ADADE 12 years ago
AUTHOR: EBO QUANSAH---------------Dear reader, forgive me for diverting from the topic I promised yesterday. I have been compelled by Jerry Rawlings’ outburst in Nigeria about corruption, as if he himself is a saint. I am compelled to do this expose on the former junta head for those who do not know his role in promoting corruption as a national concept. Read on!
In June 1979, eight top military officers, including three former heads of state, were lined up and executed at the Teshie Military Firing range in two batches. Gen. Ignatius Kutu Acheampong, Gen. Frederick William Kwasi Akuffo, Gen. Robert Kotei, Lt-Gen. Akwasi Amankwaa Afrifa, Rear Admiral Joy Amedume, Air Vice-Marshall George Yaw Boakye, Emmanuel K. Utuka and Colonel Roger Felli were accused of corrupting the body politic.
In an interview with New Nation, a monthly magazine circulating in Nigeria and now defunct, the Chairman of the Armed Forces Revolutionary Council, which supervised over the most famous case of extra-judicial killings in the history of the political evolution of Ghana, justified the action of his military junta as a necessary action to rid the body politic of corruption.
“They were jumbo-sized armed robbers whose killings left the world smelling nicer,” Flt-Lt. Rawlings was quoted by the magazine as saying in explanation.
Jerry Rawlings said the officers had to be killed, “because Ghana was faced with their type of thievery breed of criminals who were worse than Nigeria’s armed robbers” in the 1970s.
“Now, I’ll tell you what we have here. We have a breed that is, perhaps, worse than your armed robbers,” he told reporters of the New Nation in an exclusive interview. “They are the pen robbers. These species of vermin have for long perpetrated corruption with impunity.
“They have not only bled the nation white, but as a result of their thievery, Ghana has suffered hunger, loss of national spirit, loss of pride and respect in the military uniform. So, as you can see, while Nigerians have perceived their main social problems to be the proliferation of six Naira armed robbers, we, in Ghana, think that our problem is that of people who take widow’s mite from a bankrupt nation.”
In the words of the ex-junta head: “While you (Nigeria) content yourself at the Bar Beach by watching the executions of mal-adjusted labourers, mechanics or clerks, we in Ghana, have killed the jumbo armed robbers, call them generals or brigadiers – whose going to leave the world smelling sweeter.”
One interesting thing about this claim is that Jerry Rawlings and his righteous AFRC members could not account for monies lodged in AFRC Account 48, which was specially created to lodge huge monies paid by businessmen and other persons and institutions found guilty by a so-called people court to have corrupted the system. Monies from seized goods auctioned to the public at so-called control prices were also lodged in the account.
When President Hilla Limann took power after the AFRC had left the scene on September 24, 1979, the new Head of State complained that there was nothing in the coffers, insinuating that the famous Account 48 could not be traced.
When Flt-Lt. Rawlings, who had refused to accept the new government’s offer to go on course abroad, was questioned on the disappearance of the huge lodgings in the account, he replied that he was not an accountant. Incidentally, the fate of PNDC Account 48, established by the second junta led by the same person, has not been accounted for as you read this piece.
One of the most interesting developments in Ghana’s political evolution was the decision to abolish the General Certificate of Examinations -Ordinary and Advanced levels- by the Provisional National Defence Council. The main reason given was that the old educational system had favoured only the children of the elite class.
At a time ordinary folks of the land were enrolling their children in what became known as the Junior and Senior Secondary schools, whose certificates -BECE and SCCE- were not recognised beyond the four corners of the country, Jerry Rawlings enrolled his children at the expensive Ghana International School in Accra to read subjects that qualified them to sit for the GCE Ordinary and the Advanced levels his PNDC administration had prohibited the mass of Ghanaian children from.
I do not believe corruption is only putting state money in one’s pocket. Exploiting state resources for one’s advantage could even be a worse form of corruption. That is why I have an axe to grind with Jerry Rawlings for enrolling all his children abroad to study with the GCE Ordinary and Advanced levels, acquired outside the formal sector in the country.
What I call Jerry’s Stupid Schools has debased education up to the tertiary level, where lottery numbers, other than real academic work, determines qualification at the first degree level.
To add insult to injury, when asked to tell Ghanaians how he was funding the education of all the three children -Ezanator, YaaAsantewaa and Kimathi- in expensive universities in Britain and Ireland, Jerry Rawlings looked at Ghanaians in the face and answered that unknown benefactors were picking up the bills for their fees.
The Almighty is a kind Lord. It emerged that companies the state of Ghana was dealing with and which were milking Ghana dry, were picking up the bills of Jerry Rawlings’ children. And such a person has the audacity to complain about leaders being corrupt.
I dare state that corruption was elevated into an art under Jerry Rawlings. The circumstances under which he transformed himself from a military dictator into a civil constitutional President smells of corruption all the way to the Castle.
After eleven and a half years of the ‘Gospel According to Jerry Rawlings,’ a period he himself identified as the ‘culture of silence’, Jerry Rawlings and those who claim to believe in him used the resources of state to convert his military oligarchy and the entire governance system into a political party. With the Electoral Commission and the entire process under his thumb, Jerry Rawlings exchanged his military garb for a description as Constitutional President of the Republic of Ghana. God Almighty should remain where he is.
The eight year administration he led, as Constitutional President of this Republic, eulogised corruption as a state-sponsored event. State asserts were transferred to cronies under the guise of divestiture. As you read this piece, Nsawam Cannery, one of the flagship projects of the now defunct Ghana Industrial Holding Corporation, belongs to Caridem, a company floated by Mrs. Rawlings’ 31st December Women’s Movement, in a purchasing agreement that parceled the company to Caridem for a pittance.
Under the Government of the National Democratic Congress Mark One, corruption festered on a large scale. It would take volumes to chronicle corruption under the NDC. But four prominent issues stand out. Getting to the end of the first term of office, newspapers that had been freed from the bondage of the culture of silence began chronicling evidence of corrupt deals by leading members of the regime.
In 1996, the Commission for Human Rights and Administrative Justice investigated one matter and established massive corrupt deals against Ibrahim Adam, then Minister of Agriculture, Colonel E.M. Osei Owusu, a former Minister of the Interior, P.V. Obeng, a Presidential Staffer, and Dr. Adjei Marfo, a Chief Executive Officer of a state-run company.
Instead of prosecuting them, the Government of Saint Rawlings rather issued a While Paper exonerating the corrupt elements, and rather indicted the media for highlighting the issue.
In Britain, Mabey and Johnson was prosecuted not too long ago for corruptly influencing Ghanaian politicians between 1994 and 1999 to gain bridge contracts, The news in these contracts is that barely one year after completing two bridges in Ghana, including one over River Oti, the Ghana Government had to contract experts from Britain to repair them as they threatened to cave in.
In 2002, the former Managing Director of Ghana Rubber Estates Limited, Mr. Etienne Arthur Marie Popeler, told an Accra Fast Track High Court that he gave millions of dollars to Mr. Dan Abodakpi, then Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Ms. Shirley Ayittey, then Treasurer of the 31st December Women’s Movement, in bribes before his French company, SIPH, could secure GREL.
The case of Ms. Cotton, an unemployed American, secured $20 million of scarce state cash from compromised state officials, ostensibly to grow rice for Ghanaians at Aveyime in the Battor area of the Volta Region. Even when Ghana’s Ambassador to the United States had sent a warning letter about the background of Ms. Cotton, and intimating that she was incapable of undertaking the task, state officials paid the money. As it turned out, the main motivating factor was the cut they all stood to make.
If corruption is endemic in the body politic after the so-called June 4, uprising, the genesis could be traced to Jerry Rawlings who executed eight Ghanaians officials on unproven trivial charges, and out-doored full- blown corruption as a state policy.
In other exposé next week, I intend to draw the link between the free for all looting that assails the body politic in the Mills-Mahama regime, and the adventure of Jerry John Rawlings as Head of State of this Republic. I shall return!
OLD SOLDIER 12 years ago
Author:-Hon. Martin A.B.K. Amidu.
...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there was no provision for dismissal under my contract of employment as a Minister or that of any Minster.
I reserve the right as a citizen of Ghana to protect and defend my honour and integrity should this civilized challenge for the truth be ignored.
This is not the price I should be made to pay by the Government of Ghana for defending the Constitution of Ghana in the Waterville and Isofoton unconstitutional payments declared by the Supreme Court.
SGT ANANI FIADZOE 12 years ago
This particula crook and power drunk
minister be asked to get out of his post and go and defend his case and if
he is found not guilty then he can apply for his post again.
Stupid Cow Dramani Mahama does not know this or ... read full comment
Stupid Cow Dramani Mahama does not know this or even if he knows that
because of incompetency, corruption,
thievery and cowardness cannot administer Justice instead will preach
"asomdwee" instead of preaching Justice.
Mahama does not know that without Justice there will be no "asomdwee",
stupid NDC cows.
Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago
Let our politicians know that we can now work under law and justice. The BUGABUGA system of governance is past and gone. Now, the idiot journalists must also be sued big time for foolish and false publication. For this minister, Mahama should have fired him long time ago for all to know he means business. Ministers think they are above the law.
Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago
The suit is even too small. It should have been in the millions and the poor driver would never work again. Foolish minister.
Bibini 12 years ago
Assault is criminal offense. Ghana Police must investigate this matter and should prosecute the minister and all involved if there are sufficient evidence.
If there is enough evidence for a start, the President must ask th ... read full comment
Assault is criminal offense. Ghana Police must investigate this matter and should prosecute the minister and all involved if there are sufficient evidence.
If there is enough evidence for a start, the President must ask the minister to resign or step aside while the investigation is conducted by the police.
k the h 12 years ago
Another judgement debt in the making.
It is all because people in authority do not respect the courts
KOFI JIMMY BA LITTLE JIMMY 12 years ago
THE DEBT THAT CAN BE UNCURED IS A DIFFERENT ONE. THE ACCUSED WAS NOT ON GOVERNMENT BUSINESS AND DID NOT THINK OF WHAT THE OUTCOME WOULD BE. THE LAWYER DOES NOT SEEM TO WANT TO WIN THE CASE. THIS IS A CASE OF ASSAULT CAUSING BODILY HARM AND WITH AN ELEMENT OF KIDNAPPING etc. BUT THE LAWYER SEEMS TO BE ARGUING. ANYWAY, LET US WAIT AND SEE.
KOFI JIMMY BA LITTLE JIMMY 12 years ago
UNCURED SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCURRED.
GHANABA 1 12 years ago
This man Sarpong is so arrogant and disrespectful person and his constituency is full of rubbish, no good water, no good school blocks and electricity but he has bent on slapping and torturing the poor people who voted him to power.He has no respect for any human being on this planet.These are some of the factors that will push ndc out because the President would not act on this issue. Mahama instead is roaming about about just to earn his 15% in all projects in the country.God will punish this particular mp Sarpong.I wish the driver will not be convinced to withdraw the case from court to set an example to other mp's
nana yaw sunshine 12 years ago
NEXT TIME U WILL LEARN HOW TO BEHAVE, IF U ARE JAILED FOR THATIT WILL SERVE U RIGHT.
Joe 12 years ago
Jail who? under NDC ,have you heard somebody had been jailed?Let pray for poor Boy who voted this Minister to power.Yhis Boy at the end would be jailed for careless driving mark my words.
Sydney Baarfi 12 years ago
I pray that this so called Minister will be made to understand that nobody is below or above the law. Our politicians can leave us alone to lick the wounds they have inflicted on us through the incompetence, corruption and recklessness.
Wiase ye sum 12 years ago
Another Central Minister assault??? Edumadzie, had a similar problem which made him unpopular. Sarpong you should learn a lesson - Edumadzie was something else an d we do not expect you to earn that bad name. Do not let some of these unnecesary things mess up the good things that you are doing for the region. A word to a wise, is enough. Tighten up. Why do Central Regional Ministers like to beat drivers??????
CAPE COAST BOY 12 years ago
AM VERY SORRY FOR THE TRUCK DRIVER BUT HIS CASE WILL NOT THE LIGHT
Kwesi Agbenu 12 years ago
Progressive move; BOLD MOVE:L
Kudos to the driver.
May God deliver you from this NDC scorpion
Kudos to the driver.
ROGUE LAWYER 12 years ago
steps in the right direction, this had nothing to do with the government- if found guilty he should bear the cost as a Person but not a minister-
it is highly unacceptable for any government official to buly a citizen, eve ... read full comment
steps in the right direction, this had nothing to do with the government- if found guilty he should bear the cost as a Person but not a minister-
it is highly unacceptable for any government official to buly a citizen, even the Police who had the Mandate to use Maximum force to Arrest had no right to subject any Person into beatings.
if the Driver had committed any offends let the law deal with him in court but you as a Person had no right to order for his beating
Dan 12 years ago
you think if you are mp you finished 'm'ani awu ama WO papa.
Corrupt Justice 12 years ago
All they know and indulge in, is anarchy and not knowing how to govern the nation. Looting is their expertise.
kWAKUVIE 12 years ago
JAIL THE MP AND HIS PEOPLE TO LEAN SENSE THAT GHANA IS NOT FOR POLITICIANS. NO BRIBE MR JUDGE.
MOHAMMED MASAHUDU 12 years ago
WHERE IS THIS COUNTRY HEADING TOWARDS? WHEN PEOPLE OF HIGH STATUS ARE BEHAVING THIS WAY THEN VERY SOON WE WILL HAVE NOBODY TO LOOK UP TO AS A MENTOR.THIS MINISTER SHOULD BE INTERDICTED.
HE SHOULD NOT ONLY BE MADE TO PAY FOR ... read full comment
WHERE IS THIS COUNTRY HEADING TOWARDS? WHEN PEOPLE OF HIGH STATUS ARE BEHAVING THIS WAY THEN VERY SOON WE WILL HAVE NOBODY TO LOOK UP TO AS A MENTOR.THIS MINISTER SHOULD BE INTERDICTED.
HE SHOULD NOT ONLY BE MADE TO PAY FOR SUCH AMOUNT OF MONEY BUT SHOULD ALSO BE SENTENCED TO PRISON FOR SOME SHORT PERIOD SO AS TO DETER OTHERS.
Sanku 12 years ago
This Plaintiffs request must be upheld by the court.
These Ministers and others in power think they own Ghana and as such above the law.
They must be punished severely and either suspended or dismissed from office.
These Ministers and others in power think they own Ghana and as such above the law.
FIRE 12 years ago
Point Of Correction, This Cruel Minister Has Never Been Elected, He Is Just An Appointee. He was Kma Boss And Now A Minister.He And His Son Took The Law In Their Hands In Kumasi.He Is Very, Very Arrogant I 've Ever Met.The Law Shld Take It Course.
Fred 12 years ago
I hope this also leads to the resolve of the bigger problem of them driving any how in traffic! You have to make way because some land cruiser wants to jump traffic! We all need to support this driver! I will even make stickers for him....lol
Joe Tetteh 12 years ago
I hope Ghanaians learn how to sue people for damages
yaw bronx ny 12 years ago
HE SHOULD HAVE SUED MORE THAN 100,000 CEDIS COS THAT MINISTER IS INSANE AND NEEDS TO BE TREATED AS SUCH.
Wamfie 12 years ago
Let's pray for this poor driver because if there is an Atuguba on the bench then he's got a lot of wahala.
ANOMABA 12 years ago
what is wrong with these ministers,he should pay the fine or go to jail.FOOLISH MAN.
LEXIS 12 years ago
NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAWS OF THIS LAND
Kumasinii 12 years ago
This sarpon was doing the same thing in kumasi sometimes he pull gun and his son too ll do the same when fight erupt between them.he is too power drunk and arrogant if care it's not taking one day he ll kill someone . The court should deal with him paaaaaaa
JM 12 years ago
ABUSE OF POWER FROM CORUPTION TO ABUSE OF POWER ON THE POOR
abi 12 years ago
people are vying for power to help eradicate the poverty which has become the national anthem in the country Ghana. whilst others look at what they are using their powers for . the high court shd teach them a lesson
Kofi 12 years ago
I applaud the plaintiff and his attorneys. It is about time beasts roaming the corridors of power were made to face the law. When idiots get political power, they feel they are above everyone and must be worshipped. Maybe, it is even time to drop that so-called "honourable" title they use since we all know they are everything but honourable.
Danny 12 years ago
when will ministers and security officials understand they are just like any other citizen of Ghana. the driver has a fine case...
tetteh 12 years ago
The old Ghanaians are no more. We have new generation Ghanaians. If If this is really true, the bully minister must resign and still pay the amount.
KOFI ASANTE 12 years ago
"NKONTOPO" Another way for these THIEVES and their collaborators(Reporters)to fool the public into beleiving their lies to extort money from government officials and other unsuspecting people of good economic sound. Ghanaian open your eyes. We've saw them did the same in the famous "JUDGEMENT DEBTS" saga and the government is still thinking of what to do to them. Somebody tell this minister not to panic but to fight to the last drop of blood. THIEVES and their equally THIEVES collaborators.
Emmanuel Boye 12 years ago
abuse of power jail the motherfucker
B-WISE 12 years ago
This very bad and sad incident must be dealt with. The President should have immediately removed this r.minister from office for lack of discipline, and for his violent attitude. Would the victim be wrong to have defended himself using any available weapong on the minister and his guards? Should the public quietly look on while the same people chosen as leaders bully them?? This is so shameful and disgraceful,and this minister must be made to resign immediately, even if he single handedly funded the rulling party. After all, he is only a human, and an evil kind.
This world 12 years ago
This greedy monster.liar minster should needs to go
Amegaxoxo 12 years ago
Obviously the Regional Minister was re:enacting his old days in the AFRC/PNDC as a Cadre in the Revolution.As they say,"Old Habits Die Hard"
Koo the boy 12 years ago
Driver is subject for court settlement .
ADWENFI BASSARE 12 years ago
I WANT TO SEE HOW GHANA HANDLES THIS PARTICULAR MATTER. THE MINISTER HAS NO RIGHT TO TOUCH ANYBODY LET ALONE PUTTING THE PLAINTIFF IN SUV. IF YOU ARE MINISTER YOU ARE JUST THE SAME ANYBODY ONTHE STREET. ONLY IN GHANA THIS CAN HAPPEN WITHOUT ANY OBLIGATION.
Onipa Bone 12 years ago
Nothing will come out of it. Not that I agree with the minister, but this is Ghana; and the reality? Power show!
GASKIYA 12 years ago
That this so-called Minister is still walking free is indicative of the total rot of our leadership and institutions. This idiot and his cohorts should have been arrested immediately, pending investigations. Why Prez Mahama still keeps him at post is incomprehensible, and I pray and hope that the unfortunate driver prevails - inspite of the corrupt odds against him.
Kwaame 12 years ago
Just let this guy go bust to make him humble. I will advise the tipper truck driver to go for 50 million new Ghana cedis (GHC50 million). These politicians must know they are voted in or appointed to serve not to lord over us.
gretchy 12 years ago
Good luck there's no place on the road's for that sort of carry on geeze.Don't forget to jail the bastard
KATAKYIE OF ST. LUKE HOUSE 12 years ago
No politician in America will do this.The Judge must be fair.
I think suing politicians is a healthy move to cut their overgrown wings to size. I am not optimistic but would love to see how this pens out in the court of law. Out politicians have become lawless, while decrying the same. ...
AUTHOR: EBO QUANSAH---------------Dear reader, forgive me for diverting from the topic I promised yesterday. I have been compelled by Jerry Rawlings’ outburst in Nigeria about corruption, as if he himself is a saint. I am c ...
...The Government exercised the latter option when we disagreed over the judgment debt and other Gargantuan crimes. The Government, and my colleague Ministers at the time know that there w ...
Stupid Cow Dramani Mahama does not know this or ...
Let our politicians know that we can now work under law and justice. The BUGABUGA system of governance is past and gone. Now, the idiot journalists must also be sued big time for foolish and false publication. For this minis ...
If there is enough evidence for a start, the President must ask th ...
THE DEBT THAT CAN BE UNCURED IS A DIFFERENT ONE. THE ACCUSED WAS NOT ON GOVERNMENT BUSINESS AND DID NOT THINK OF WHAT THE OUTCOME WOULD BE. THE LAWYER DOES NOT SEEM TO WANT TO WIN THE CASE. THIS IS A CASE OF ASSAULT CAUSING B ...
This man Sarpong is so arrogant and disrespectful person and his constituency is full of rubbish, no good water, no good school blocks and electricity but he has bent on slapping and torturing the poor people who voted him to ...
I pray that this so called Minister will be made to understand that nobody is below or above the law. Our politicians can leave us alone to lick the wounds they have inflicted on us through the incompetence, corruption and re ...
Another Central Minister assault??? Edumadzie, had a similar problem which made him unpopular. Sarpong you should learn a lesson - Edumadzie was something else an d we do not expect you to earn that bad name. Do not let s ...
Kudos to the driver.
it is highly unacceptable for any government official to buly a citizen, eve ...
HE SHOULD NOT ONLY BE MADE TO PAY FOR ...
Point Of Correction, This Cruel Minister Has Never Been Elected, He Is Just An Appointee. He was Kma Boss And Now A Minister.He And His Son Took The Law In Their Hands In Kumasi.He Is Very, Very Arrogant I 've Ever Met.The La ...
I hope this also leads to the resolve of the bigger problem of them driving any how in traffic! You have to make way because some land cruiser wants to jump traffic! We all need to support this driver! I will even make sticke ...
This sarpon was doing the same thing in kumasi sometimes he pull gun and his son too ll do the same when fight erupt between them.he is too power drunk and arrogant if care it's not taking one day he ll kill someone . The cou ...
I applaud the plaintiff and his attorneys. It is about time beasts roaming the corridors of power were made to face the law. When idiots get political power, they feel they are above everyone and must be worshipped. Maybe, it ...
"NKONTOPO" Another way for these THIEVES and their collaborators(Reporters)to fool the public into beleiving their lies to extort money from government officials and other unsuspecting people of good economic sound. Ghanaian ...
This very bad and sad incident must be dealt with. The President should have immediately removed this r.minister from office for lack of discipline, and for his violent attitude. Would the victim be wrong to have defended him ...
I WANT TO SEE HOW GHANA HANDLES THIS PARTICULAR MATTER. THE MINISTER HAS NO RIGHT TO TOUCH ANYBODY LET ALONE PUTTING THE PLAINTIFF IN SUV. IF YOU ARE MINISTER YOU ARE JUST THE SAME ANYBODY ONTHE STREET. ONLY IN GHANA THIS CAN ...
That this so-called Minister is still walking free is indicative of the total rot of our leadership and institutions. This idiot and his cohorts should have been arrested immediately, pending investigations. Why Prez Mahama s ...
Just let this guy go bust to make him humble. I will advise the tipper truck driver to go for 50 million new Ghana cedis (GHC50 million). These politicians must know they are voted in or appointed to serve not to lord over us ...