You are here: HomeNews2013 11 03Article 290834

Kufuor did nothing to fight corruption - Appiah-Ofori

Read Comments Comments (100)

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

After DrKwame Nkrumah, we have not had any president in this country. We have had pretenders, epitomised by a GREEDY THIEF & leader of the LOOTING BRIGADE, JA Kuffour

• OSEI 10 years ago

REMeanwhile, documents in the possession of Today detail a long list of names of personalities who have acquired State lands since 1985. Below are the names of the personalities along with the file numbers that deal with the ...

• DOUBLE STANDARDS 10 years ago

This should be expanded and presented as an article.

• GIRLZ GILZ 10 years ago

PARLIAMENT SHOULD PASS A LAW TO MAKE IT POSSIBLE FOR GHANA TO IMPORT ONLY 4 WHITEMEN FROM ABROAD TO STEM THE CORRUPTION THAT IS CURRENTLY GOING ON IN THE COUNTRY.

THESE PEOPLE ARE:

1)WHITEMAN FOR MIN. OF FINANCE (for st ...

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

I believe many have ignored your comment because your brain is the worse corrupt brain on this blog.

Who told you whitemen are not corrupt. Look for the meaning of the word, corrupt. Don't make stupid and insulting commen ...

• may 10 years ago

TTHAKS

• Osei 10 years ago

400 Short Course Scholarships

• OseiM 10 years ago

400 Short Course Scholarships for Africa - Applications 2014 Now Open!
    Visit www.owafk-africa.com

• Bukom Boy 10 years ago

THESE RAT EATERS ARE PROPER AND FULL BLOODED IVORIANS. THEY WERE NOT PART OF THE GOLD COAST TILL 1901. WHEN THE BRITISH BRUTALLY CIVILISED THESE PYGMIES

• Pito Brewer 10 years ago

Kufuor's cronies and henchmen were the most corrupt public officials in Ghana's history. How could he fight them?

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Mahama does not want to end the corruption that Yokogari Rawlings started, that Kuffuor perfected, that Mills ignored, and Mahama is enjoying.

• KATAWERE 10 years ago

HAVE YOU EVER SEEN A THIEF ARREESTING ANOTHER THIEF? GHANA IS A JOKE COUNTRY.

• Concerned 10 years ago

They are here today,gone tomorrow.When you make a good name, generations after you are dead,the value still remains. We need to love ourselves as ghanaians and avoid being used by idiots to protect them whilst they rob us.unf ...

• MAHAMA GBAGBO MAHAMA 10 years ago

PC is wrong president Kufuor dismissed and even prosecute some of his ministers who found to to be corrupt I remember BAMBA the sports minister

today our country has the notorious reputation of being one of the most corrupt in the world thanks to pepeni and his band of thieves . we told everyone we knew he had no plan or program to develop the nation except pillage t ...

• PROPERTY DEVELOPER 10 years ago

YOUR NAME MEANS WISDOM.THANK YOU FOR YOUR ENLIGHTENMENT,THE BLIND WILL HEAR THROUGH HEARSAYING AND THE DEAF CAN READ. AND THE STUPID WILL CHALLENGE.BUT THE TRUTH CAN NOT BE HIDDEN.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

I need a coup d'etat right now with not less than 5000 men and women facing the fire to reverberate through our conscience.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

"A LEGITIMATE QUESTION FOR AMERICA TO ASK ITSELF AT THIS POINT IN HISTORY IS, DO WE STILL AGREE WITH THE VISION OF THE FOUNDING FATHERS"? GHANAIANS CAN WE ASK ourselves THIS QUESTION? THOSE WHO STILL DON'T BELIEVE NKRUMAH VIS ...

• ensore robbie texas u.s.a 10 years ago

eii awurade yewu oman ghana paa nea.
    so could it be that lands meant for developmental purposes has all been sold and bought by the aforementioned names kai ghana don suffer.

• SAMMY 10 years ago

WE SHALL ALWAYS WORSHIP NKRUMAH BECAUSE HE WAS A STRONG AND INCORRUPTIBLE LEADER. NKRUMAH WAS NOT PERFECT BUT HE PERFORMED BETTER THAN ANY LEADER OF GHANA TO DATE BUT THE LOOTERS OF OUR RESOURCES CONSPIRED WITH THEIR LOCAL ST ...

• HASSAN RASTA GERMANY 10 years ago

I WANT TO SAY IT IS TRUE BUT IT MUST BEND HERE IMMEDIATELY NO ONE SHOULD CONTINUE IT. OSEI IF THEY CONTINUE THESE CORRUPTIONS AND SELLING OF THE GOVERNMENT PROPERTIES TO THE INDIVIDUALS, WHAT ARE WE GOING TO LIVE FOR THE FUTU ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Mahama is not doing well at all in fighting corruption in fact there rumours he has his agents at the Ambassador Hotel who directs foreign business agents to the Flag Staff house at a fee, but he comes no where near John Agye ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

This face of former president is too scary, remove it immediately before I even deal with his dirty stealing.

• NANA USED BAWUMIA 10 years ago

GOD, bring Kwame Nkrumah back! Our only saviour is Kwame Nkrumah.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Corruption started with Nkrumah and here is why. Do you know any member in Nkrumah's government who was poor including their relatives? They were all rich and where did they get their money from? In those days, people cannot ...

• KWARNING NJ 10 years ago

EXACTLY. REMEMBER THE FORD MUSTANG KWAME NJRUMAH BOUGHT FOR HIS GIRLFRIEND FROM JAMAICA? THAT WAS A VERY BIG DEAL THOSE DAYS.

• GHANAMAN 10 years ago

So were all the milking colonial workers and leaders. Theirs was not to help the people but to milk the nation for their people back home. The only exception who did a bit was Gordon Guggisberg.

We are talking about a pers ...

• OSEI 10 years ago

I ALWAYS CRIRISEZE NKRUMAH FO DENYING GHANAIANS THE FREEDOM OF SPEECH.

TODAY, FOR THE FIRST TIME, I CAN CONFESS I WAS WRONG. GHANAIANS DO NOT DESERVE FREEDOM OF SPEECH. WE NEED A STRONG AND HONEST MAN TO DICTATE. YOU READ ...

• Repugnant. 10 years ago

Corruption is the way it is because our country is pursuing the wrong course.

In a country like ours, you cannot have a minister source for money for any kind of development and expect him not to gain massively. This has b ...

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

Repugnant, Are you out of your mind? What made you think that Rawlings would be the right person capable to root out corruption in Ghana?. Have you forgotten that it was under his watch and his administration that a whole shi ...

• Kondua 10 years ago

PC. You are very wrong. Ghana was already bankrupt when Nkrumah was overthrown. His govt became very corrupt. All govts since independence have had corruption scandals but Mills/Mahama govts corruption are unprecedented and t ...

• OWEN, NEW YORK 10 years ago

Nkrumah used Ghanas money for so many infrastructure so please don't talk about Nkrumah leaving the country bankrupt. Akombo dam, Valco, Tema industrial city, motor- way, Nsawam canary, various colleges , University, polytec ...

• KMAN 10 years ago

he used our money wisely and yes the country went bankrupt but the legacy is there for all of us to see.

• Ama Badua 10 years ago

Ya, that president Dr. Nkrumah was really selfless. Did he build a house for himself? I have not read that anywhere. He did a lot with the money
    the country had then. I was little but I remember he surely built several seco ...

• AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS 10 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE USING THE WEAKNESS OF MAHAMA FOR THEIR OWN BENEFIT

• OSEI 10 years ago

Meanwhile, documents in the possession of Today detail a long list of names of personalities who have acquired State lands since 1985. Below are the names of the personalities along with the file numbers that deal with the ac ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Thanks

• Sariki Zongo 10 years ago

Just like every Ghanaian has a religion, so is corruption. Corruption is in the Blood and Bones of every Ghanaian and it,s openly practiced right from the village Headteacher right to the President.

• Aye Hyeehyeeeeehye 10 years ago

I am not trying to defend president Kuffour. But during his time corruption was not so astronomical as we see under Mahama and his NDC government. There is corruption every where, even in the USA but this corruption under Mah ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

It is a liar. The way he sold GVT alone speaks for it self

• OWEN, NEW YORK 10 years ago

Those who keep on defending President Mahama should come out to challenge P.C Appiah Ofori too. The corrupt first gear driver,can never walk his talk. What I know is that only Nana Akufo Addo can prosecute and imprison anyone ...

• Agonaba 10 years ago

JAK is a saint.

• Abongo 10 years ago

Once more, P call for a revolution in Ghana

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

All in caming presidents are poor like
    Abrefa Bushia, Atta Mills,Kufour they
    come in as Looters but JJ Rawlings
    came to sacrify his life for better life even still fighting agaist corruption,what have you done sofar to
    h ...

• AK47 IS MY FUCKING ADDRESS 10 years ago

JJ JUST NEED MONEY FROM MAHAMA

• KANAWU 10 years ago

THEY WERE NOT AS CORRUPT AS THIS GOVT.

• krupi 10 years ago

appiah your article is half truth if you didnt mention Rawlings under whose gov. the 1992 constitution was formed
    you made a good statement but for political reason failed to call a spade a spade
    ndc you know is far bett ...

• Close observer 10 years ago

My friend we don't need this kind of argument which serves as a perfect fertile ground for politicians to continue to be corrupt. Enough of those stupid names (NDC/NPP) haven't they taken advantage of people like you for far ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

See, i keep tellin ya its the NPP moles and its leftover mafias inside Mahama's govt that are still doing all the graft.Mahama is clean he just needs to get rid of NPP mafias.

• IDE BE K3K3 10 years ago

Agyeman, Mahama will laugh at your naïveté when he reads your comment, because he knows he is corrupt.

• Close observer 10 years ago

Just listen to yourself; you are part of the problem. Why won't politicians take advantage of you, since they know you will always cover them? Think my friend, think!

• Concerned 10 years ago

Surely the current ranking should tell ghanaians who still vote for this dreadful gov, enough is enough. If we are a civilized people,then we should not allow such day light robbery.

• NANA 10 years ago

HOW CAN THE MOST CORRUPT PERSON FIGHT CORRUPTION,

• Parker 10 years ago

Exchange prez kuffour fought corruption more than any other government,just check the number of anti corruption institution he. Implemented during his era."show me where there is corruption and I prez kuffour will go and inve ...

• stone 10 years ago

Kufour was the leader of Atta Ayi,s group.

• Illiasu 10 years ago

Appiah Ofori is not a wise man lets leave to die ,a villager who because of politics can talk anyhow.Big fool

• JAH 10 years ago

CONGRATULATION,THIS IS HOW IT SHOULD BE NO INSULT FROM KRIKRI TO PARKER, I LOVE THAT GOOD PEOPLE

• Philip Agyei Peprah 10 years ago

Hi!! All,

The supporters of the New Patriotic Party and for that matter Ghanaians are now sick and tired of tribal politics. Strong Men like Nana Addo and other Ghanaians who advocated for Democracy didn't know anything ...

• KWAME ACHI (LONDON) 10 years ago

IT IS NICE TO HEAR YOUR VIEWS AND OPINIONS BUT NOT THAT TYPE OF DISRESPECT OUR ELDERS AND LEADERS.THE WORD IS DEMOCRACY BUT NOT THE MOST CRAZY.CONCERN CITIZENS,WE NEED TO BURIED THE CORRUPTION,OTHERWISE THE NEXT GENERATION WI ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

At least, if we can all converge at this point, then we would be half way heading towards finding a lasting solution to our problems.

Corruption will only be handled and managed (notice the word managed) if the institution ...

• sam 10 years ago

It is very amazing to me how as a nation we pretend corruption is only in politics and it is only the president who can fight corruption.
    How many of you will be willing to resist to pay bribe to a policeman(i refuse to call ...

• jetmoney 10 years ago

How many yrs ago was kufour in power, so u u guys telling me if he didn't fight for corruption that means every president who comes should also not fight against corruption? I wonder the sort of father u will be to ur childre ...

• GHANA GIRLS TWE YE DE 10 years ago

WHAT DID YOU DID IN KUFOUR CORRUPTION TIME? ABOA DWAN

• COOLMAN 10 years ago

if the western world like you,it means you are corrupt,take alook at Mugabe,answer the question your self

• Amanshianyebi Joe 10 years ago

How do we expect Kuffour to fight corruption when he himself is the embodiment of corruption.

Kuffour was shameless in his pursuit of wealth, the day of reckoning will come.

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

Kufuor and Mahama,birds of a feather.
    Ghana is a country which shouldn't be poor.We are blessed, abundantly, with human and natural resources.What we lack is good,selfless,firm ,honest and foresighted leadership.
    I don't th ...

• KAY 10 years ago

GHANAWEB USES SPYWARE TO COLLECT INFORMATION ON YOU. ANYTIME YOU BROUSE FOR STUFF ON LINE AND COME BACK TO GHANAWEB, YOU FIND THEY ADVERTISE THE SAME THINGS YOU LOOKED UP BEING ADVERTISED TO YOU.... STOP IT GHANAWEB OR I WILL ...

• Canadasheabutter(GhUWR) 10 years ago

Ghana is a democratic nation. What is the Role of the Judiciary arms of gov't.
    What is the purpose of the Police Force , BNI and all the securities agencies inclusive the Chief Justice waiting.

When crimes are committed ...

My friend democracy in Ghana is relative, it has never been realistic. Albeit the agencies whose roles you have been questioning are always headed by officials appointed by who ever is in power or the government of the day an ...

• Canadasheabutter(GhUWR) 10 years ago

Therefore what is the solution now, an Arab style spring to cleanse society or what ? Let's keeping looking for solutions for a brighter glorious future for Ghana , our motherland

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

The whole nation is corrupt. We'll need a revolution in consciousness to end it.
    Let's start it as a mass media & mass education campaigns. All the religious bodies must also join in.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

Nice choice of words. In fact, what you have here is what we all have to assign to. But, not the brouhaha coming across the political divide any time corruption is mentioned in our part of the world.

The ignorant mass complex is what is killing us. We and our so called leaders think alike often purposeless, yet animadvert!

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

YOU ARE 100% RIGHT. NO ONE IS CLEAN. STARTING FROM NKRUMAH TO THE WORSEN MAHAMA. THEY ALL DRINK FROM THE SAME BOWL OF THE CORRUPTION COOL AID. IT IS TIME FOR THE CITIZENS OF GHANA TO UNITE AND TAKE OUR COUNTRY BACK. WE NEED ...

• MAKEMAKE 10 years ago

The media houses are not helping by calling out and naming those who are known to be corrupt. Neither are they heaping praises and honouring those who resist any form of corruption.

• OBIBA UK 10 years ago

ARE YOU SURPRISED? HOW COULD A CHIEF THIEF FIGHT HIS TRAINEES?

• Cool Cat USA 10 years ago

Oh God help me to say the truth, nothing but the truth,
    Kufuor himself was corrupt, so how can he fight corruption in the nation.

• A. Aggrey 10 years ago

Kuffour prevented it,he put fear in his ministers and as such you dare not mess up,that's why there wasn't numerous corrupt practices by his men.Ask Annane and co.,so PC please shut up

• Kwabena Gyamfi 10 years ago

Nkrumah never fought corruption. There is no evidence of this. Nkrumah himself was aware of the corruption in his govt but he did nothing. His ministers amassed wealth and that was the genesis of corruption in public life. If ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• kujo 10 years ago

Sorry to say this every Ghanaian is corrupt.its only those who dont get the opportunity to steal who complain.put them in positions where they can thats the end of it,It has entered our DNA.Everyone wants to drive a 4*4,a man ...

• Jean Gyima 10 years ago

What is wrong with you? He did not fight and you are not going to fight too. Why are you always fools. This might be the reason he was voted out. Do not compare but straighting it ok? Voting means somebody is not doing it rig ...

• Ghana Ba 10 years ago

that's why they didn't want Akufo Addo to be come the president,both NDC and Kufuor's group

• south 10 years ago

The truth oneday will come out. How can Kuffor fight corruption while's he is corrupted himself?

• south 10 years ago

When Kuffor was busy looting with his two hands he thought that's the end. He said corruption begins from Adam, meaning that corruption is sweet but is difficult to fight.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Appiah-Ofori, you are totally wrong. Nkrumah himself was corrupt by dishing out 10,000,000.00 pounds sterling each to Guinea and Mali without parliament approval when both countries attained Independence from France to consol ...

• seeMe 10 years ago

Corruption during the NPP era was unprecedented. It is the turning point in the country economic history. 18 years of Rawlings regime better than Nkrumah, Busia, NLC, SMC Kuffour, Mills all put together when you talk about co ...

• Agyaku NYC 10 years ago

People, is time to look forward and focus for the nation`s future. With the mentality of looking back will do nothing good for the nation but rather damage our progress and that`s what we are experiencing now. Ghana needs a d ...

• Woman's wisdom 10 years ago

Rawlings corrupted Ghana for a total of 24years. How do you expect President Kuffour to fight a full blown 24 year old corruption with an eight year old young girl. the 24 year old was already in the University so it was not ...

• Justman 10 years ago

THE COLONIAL GOVERNMENT THAT HANDOVER TO NKRUMAH WAS NOT CORRUPT.EVEN IF THERE IS CORRUPTION IT WAS HIDDEN FROM THE INDIGENS.OUR IN ABILITY TO DO THINGS AS IT WAS DONE BY THE COLONIAL MASTERS THAT GAVE RISE TO CORRUPTION.

• Kofi Agyemang USA 10 years ago

proverb say if dog bite fellow dog there will not be blood means Mahama himself is number one corrupt how can he stand ferm and fight corruption,let me bring your mind to last year there a report on 25th oct,2012 Thursday the ...

proverb say if dog bite fellow dog there will not be blood, means Mahama himself is number one corrupt how can he stand ferm and fight corruption,let me bring your mind to last year there was a report on 25th oct,2012 Thursda ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

Corrupt Ghana and Ghanaians. It doesn't matter who roles it is in their DNA.

The only thing to stop these corruption is, we need house cleaning exercise to wakeup sleeping dogs the country has turn loot and share we need military to bring people to justice.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Kufuor was aloof about corruption taking place under his nose for 8 years.

Kufuor participated in corruption according to Haruna Esseku, NPP chairman

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Appiah-Ofori, it not necessary to mention Kufuor`s name in this picture even though you hate the man, his era is come and gone. Ghanaians including you with respect to democracy have voted for Mahama to successful do the jo ...

• Joop 10 years ago

I'm supporting any goverment who is able to Fight corruption in our Country. Espectially Jugdement Debt which is eradicated in Ghana for alongtime. Our Leaders Know it so what are we doing about it.Please Fight & Fight to br ...

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Talk is cheap, especially in an era of mushroom radio and television stations manned by untrained JSS graduates. What did Appiah-Ofori do as an MP, either in his constituency or in parliament to fight corruption. Is there any ...

• NANA GHANSAH 10 years ago

TAKE NOTE;THE ONLY M.P. I KNOW WHO TRANSFORMED HIS CONSTITUENCY IS HON. APPIAH OFORI FIND THE TRUTH FROM ANYONE INSIDE THE CONSTITUENCY.ODOBEN-ASIKUMA-BRAKWA ;OKEY'

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

You said it right Paa. To the contrary Kufuor himself was collecting the 10 pct commission on contracts awarded at the castle. courtesy of former Chairman of the NPP. Unfortunately Ghanaian is so ripe and rotten with corrupti ...